Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The greatest adventure of all time begins with Star Trek, the incredible story of a young crew's maiden voyage onboard the most advanced starship ever created: the U.S.S. Enterprise. On a journey filled with action, comedy and cosmic peril, the new recruits must find a way to stop an evil being whose mission of vengeance threatens all of mankind.
    The fate of the galaxy rests in the hands of bitter rivals. One, James T. Kirk, is a delinquent, thrill-seeking Iowa farm boy. The other, Spock, was raised in a logic-based society that rejects all emotion. As fiery instinct clashes with calm reason, their unlikely but powerful partnership is the only thing capable of leading their crew through unimaginable danger, boldly going where no one has gone before! (Paramount)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Paced at warp speed with spectacular action sequences rendered brilliantly and with a cast so expert that all the familiar characters are instantly identifiable.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    100
    Blasting onto the screen at warp speed and remaining there for two hours, the new and improved Star Trek will transport fans to sci-fi nirvana.
  3. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    90
    It's hard to imagine anyone caring much why we're plunging ahead at warp speed, when the ride is so insanely satisfying.
  4. Reviewed by: Patrick Parker
    88
    We were also glad to see they didn't ignore the humorous elements that made the original so great. Plus, the casting is spot on.
  5. Abrams and his writers (Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman) have come up with a way to make you dig the souped-up new scenery while pining for the familiar--a good thing.
  6. 75
    There is considerable fun in discovering the hows and whys the crew of the U.S.S. Enterprise came together, and each member has at least one moment in the spotlight, including the esteemed helmsman Sulu.
  7. 50
    A relatively mindless thrill ride that would have made the old NBC execs grin from ear to ear.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 64 out of 533
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    A very enjoyable action extravaganza. I loved it pretty much from start to finish and laughed out loud in parts. Chris Pine did a great job as Captain Kirk and Simon Pegg as Scotty!!! Expand
  2. BillB.
    May 9, 2009
    10
    Saw it yesterday in IMAX. My first reaction, WOW. After it was over, I said to my wife "we are going to have to see it again and buy it on DVD when it comes out. This is the best of the Star Trek movies. Expand
  3. KarenK
    May 22, 2009
    10
    My son and I are original trekkies,so was my husband but he has passed away and did not get to have the incredible joy we had watching this movie. I found the characters spot on,what a casting job! I even found myself in tears wishing and wanting more of our beloved Star Trek,and seeing the old Spock and young Spock just did me in. What a movie,what a ride,what a wonderful job they did in in bringing this movie to us.,please let this not be the last one,I couldn't stand it. Live long and prosper. Expand
  4. BikeX
    May 7, 2009
    9
    It was a great film. I am not a hardcore trekie and I really enjoyed it. Go see it on the big screen, its worth it,
  5. EricE
    May 18, 2009
    9
    Went into the movie expecting it to be terrible and way off canon. But was pleasantly surprised by how good the movie was and how they appeased us hardcore fans. Can't wait for more. Expand
  6. ceej
    May 18, 2009
    7
    This movie was a pretty good space opera considering there were zero instances of realism. But it was more interesting than the last 3 Star Wars films by far. It wasn't as good as any season of The Wire, but nobody expects it to be that good. Buy some popcorn and enjoy the drama. Also, am I the only one that saw the introduction of Bones and was completely fooled into thinking that Jack Nicholson's disembodied ghost took over his body? Expand
  7. MeganJ.
    May 8, 2009
    0
    Very poor film due to incoherent script. At the end, Captain Kirk orders his crew to open fire on a crippled ship full of civilians, making him a war criminal. This is after he tries to use "compassion" as a cynical ruse against his opponent. The script is flimsy and illogical; Nero's motivations make no sense. There is virtually no science fiction element; this is an action film set in space. Very, very poor. Expand

See all 533 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies

    The Best and Worst Time Travel Movies Image
    Published: March 23, 2010
    We've traveled through the history of cinema to uncover the best and worst time travel movies -- as well as everything in between. Where do your favorites stand?
  2. To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames

    To Boldly Play: The Best and Worst Star Trek Videogames Image
    Published: February 19, 2010
    The new Star Trek Online is only the latest in a storied line of Star Trek-related videogames dating back to the early 1970s. Voyage with us as we chart a course through Star Trek history.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2009

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2009 Image
    Published: January 4, 2010
    Which films from the past year are worthy of praise, and which should be forgotten forever? We cover all the bases as we look at the best and worst wide releases and limited releases of the past year, and run through the critics' Top 10 lists.