User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 594 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VincentV.
    Sep 28, 2008
    3
    Dear George, the story was okay, just okay, but the very boring race, jar jar binks and the failed tries to be funny just made it a long annoying movie...
  2. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    George Lucas dumped all over this travesty of a movie. How can you not compare it to the original Star Wars episodes 4, 5, and 6? And in comparison I cannot sit through this entire movie and watch the painful train-wreck that it is. Like watching a computer generated video game that frequently throws miserable one-liner humor at you.
  3. BitBurn
    Oct 8, 2004
    7
    Liam Neeson's performance saved the day! And that baddie Darth Maul is wicked cool!!
  4. CameronS.
    Mar 3, 2004
    7
    Episode I: The Phantom Menace is a grand display of visuals, and the first chapter in which Lucas lost sight of what was great about Star Wars. Episode I is by no means a great film, and now it is almost painful to watch it. Once Jar Jar Binks appears, it just grows annoying. However, the visuals on the screen and the noises of the soundtrack are greatly appealing. While today, Episode I Episode I: The Phantom Menace is a grand display of visuals, and the first chapter in which Lucas lost sight of what was great about Star Wars. Episode I is by no means a great film, and now it is almost painful to watch it. Once Jar Jar Binks appears, it just grows annoying. However, the visuals on the screen and the noises of the soundtrack are greatly appealing. While today, Episode I seems fairly mediocre, especially when being compared to the original trilogy. However, I saw it way too many times in theatres and home video not to reccomend it. I don't plan on watching it until it gets a grand 2005 IMAX release, when it can be seen the right way, not analyze with inanities. The film is slightly inferior to Attack of the Clones, which is nearly just as painful. It was fun when it came out, and it's painful now that it's old. The Phantom Edit is much better, I strongly reccomend downloading it in all its shortened glory. Expand
  5. feliped.
    Apr 24, 2005
    9
    In the middle of the movie i was bored. but after that it was an action pack. this is a true star wars movie!
  6. LoganA.
    Apr 6, 2005
    8
    I'll be brutally honest, this is the worst Star Wars installment of the series. That said, it is still a decent movie. The acting may not be stellar in all respects, but once again, THIS IS STAR WARS. IT IS IN A DIFFERENT TIME AND GALAXY. Besides, Liam Neeson, Ewan Mcgregor, and Natalie Portman did good jobs for what they were required to do. And asking everyone to give a "Castaway" I'll be brutally honest, this is the worst Star Wars installment of the series. That said, it is still a decent movie. The acting may not be stellar in all respects, but once again, THIS IS STAR WARS. IT IS IN A DIFFERENT TIME AND GALAXY. Besides, Liam Neeson, Ewan Mcgregor, and Natalie Portman did good jobs for what they were required to do. And asking everyone to give a "Castaway" Oscar nominated peformance is absurd. I know that's not what people said specifically, but I'm growing tired of ill-tempered imbociles comparing everything to an overtly critical scale of judgement when reviewing movies that weren't meant to be a typical film. This movie did what it was supposed to do; set up the series for the next episodes. I think it does a decent job of that. And in the end, "Duel of the Fates" is possibly one of the best lightsaber duels of all time. Expand
  7. IanE
    May 25, 2005
    8
    This movie is not the best star wars movie, but the lightsaber duels and overall performance doesn't deserve all the 0's 2's and 3's that this movie is getting, it gets an 8 from me.
  8. BobB.
    Sep 27, 2006
    8
    Okay, it wasn't the best, but it did include lots of things which were absent in Episode 3. The droids didn't run away from battle like un-trained civilians, they marched steadily forward, like a droid is supposed to. Also, the pod racing scene wasn't too shabby, either. All of this included with the best lightsaber duel in the series makes this movie very much worth watching.
  9. PaulF.
    Apr 27, 2007
    8
    When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the destroyer droids rolling into action and the Darth Maul battle at the end? Yes it isn't as good as the originals but IMO it's more than good enough When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the destroyer droids rolling into action and the Darth Maul battle at the end? Yes it isn't as good as the originals but IMO it's more than good enough to sit alongside them. Expand
  10. Telimaktar
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Till today I can watch this movie over and over again just like the rest of its family. Thank you George Lucas for this works of art.
  11. YashS
    Mar 17, 2009
    8
    Darth Maul and Qui-Gon-Jinn are the BEST Obi-Wan went crazy at the final battle scene That was the best battle scene of the series I hate that Darth Maul died He is so cool Same with Qui-Gon Everything else was okay
  12. mikek
    May 27, 2009
    8
    I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of the clones..the darth maul is one of the best lightsaber duels in all the movies it was a sin the amount of time he got in the film after all the I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of the clones..the darth maul is one of the best lightsaber duels in all the movies it was a sin the amount of time he got in the film after all the publicity it was an upset but what we get is great and qui gon was quite possibly the best performance in the whoel prequal trilogy. Expand
  13. Gilbert
    Nov 17, 2002
    7
    Not a bad movie in and of itself...no worse than "okay"...but not much better either. Neat idea - the fall of the Republic, the rise of the Empire, galaxy tumbling into a World of Sh.t - but poor execution. In fact, such poor execution that I have no idea what's going on. At all. It smacks of extended-toy-advert, with precious little film to hide it, unlike the other three. Not a bad movie in and of itself...no worse than "okay"...but not much better either. Neat idea - the fall of the Republic, the rise of the Empire, galaxy tumbling into a World of Sh.t - but poor execution. In fact, such poor execution that I have no idea what's going on. At all. It smacks of extended-toy-advert, with precious little film to hide it, unlike the other three. Especially the pod race: what the hell is the point in spending ten damn minutes on it? And that sub-Disney commentator arsehole! Why didn't someone beat him to death? And what, ANAKIN made C3PO? When he was a kid? Heck as like he did! Still, good preformances from Leeson (I mean Neeson), and Ewan, Portman and McDiarmid. Great design for the senate. Jar Jar Binks isn't really much more irritating than, say, the Ewoks, or those little jabbering desert twats from the first movie. Look, 7 out of ten is about what it deserves. It's got some great bits, but an equal number of crappy bits, and a hefty majority of average bits. It's one of the most average films ever made, and, since it must sit next to three of the best ever made (well, two of the best and a great one) makes it look sh.tty. Cemented George's (undeserved) reputation as a "hack". Hello? A New Hope and Empire Strikes Back (and Jedi) still exist, you damn ingrates! Expand
  14. SimonD.
    Jun 26, 2003
    7
    To my surprise, I find that this film improves with each re-watching. OK, I wait to fast forward through the pointless journey from the Gungan city to Naboo's capital every time, but otherwise, this film is fun. It's not profound, or sharp, and Jar Jar is every bit as annoying as ever. But if you can accept this as a film for kids, you can perhaps let your inner kind enjoy it. A To my surprise, I find that this film improves with each re-watching. OK, I wait to fast forward through the pointless journey from the Gungan city to Naboo's capital every time, but otherwise, this film is fun. It's not profound, or sharp, and Jar Jar is every bit as annoying as ever. But if you can accept this as a film for kids, you can perhaps let your inner kind enjoy it. A great performance by Liam Neeson, a good performance by a young Ewan MacGregor, and some spectacualr action scenes carry viewers through the slow parts. Also of note is John Williams' score, featuring a good deal of original music that serves to enhance the film. Watch this. Bring a kid. Make some popcorn, It's not the origianl Star Wars, but it's not half bad. Expand
  15. AndrewM
    Aug 31, 2004
    9
    I am astounded that so many people were disappointed by this movie...seriously folks, surely you weren't expecting new re-creations of the first three!?! (Episodes 4-6) By that I mean new stories, of course, but given the same filmmaking treatment and methods as with the early films. For a start, they were made two decades ago - and in those 20 years since, technology (not just I am astounded that so many people were disappointed by this movie...seriously folks, surely you weren't expecting new re-creations of the first three!?! (Episodes 4-6) By that I mean new stories, of course, but given the same filmmaking treatment and methods as with the early films. For a start, they were made two decades ago - and in those 20 years since, technology (not just filmmaking) has changed dramatically. That alone should suggest that The Phantom Menace was always going to be somewhat unique amongst the Star Wars chronicles. At least until the sequels came out anyway. Secondly, the plot and most of the characters are totally new. This ain't the same time and place that Ep's 4-6 were set - how could the movie possibly feel the same? Anyway, I'm just a little confounded why so many people (including friends of mine) were expecting the impossible. Now, what did I think of this film? I liked it. I liked it a lot! Actually, I don't think Lucas could have done much more in opening the trilogy, than what he's done here. The script is not the strong point, but it never is in these films. It is however typically and appropriately storybook-style and it more than adequately illustrates the story. The characters are fascinating - though I too found Binks more than a little annoying - and the production sets are undeniably Lucas-worthy. It's a magnificent feat this film, and is truly up to Lucas's usual standards. What I like most about it, as is the case with all the Star Wars films, is that it is incessantly replayable. Plus, you will get more out of it each time. That's value for money! The film plays half an hour shorter than its' length and for me that is always a sign of an enjoyable film. And this is an immensely enjoyable one! Bring on the sequels! Expand
  16. Sam
    Jun 16, 2005
    6
    A huge dissapointment. Lame acting, they kill 2 of the 3 cool characters (Qui-Gon and Darth Maul) and i wish Anakin wasn't Anakin so they could kill the little dorky bastard. However, it's got great action scenes though, and the pod-race was one of the most thrilling star wars scenes ever, but they could've used more of them. I hope Lucas remakes this one and number 2, A huge dissapointment. Lame acting, they kill 2 of the 3 cool characters (Qui-Gon and Darth Maul) and i wish Anakin wasn't Anakin so they could kill the little dorky bastard. However, it's got great action scenes though, and the pod-race was one of the most thrilling star wars scenes ever, but they could've used more of them. I hope Lucas remakes this one and number 2, which rumor has he will, but all he really needed to do was redo the dialouge and acting, that's it. Do it George, do it. Expand
  17. Tonydannie
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    I can't believe How much this movie is hated so. Granted it is not the best of the Star Wars films. And Jar jar is Annoying,But not as annoying as those pesky ewoks. Once you get pass all of that the movie is a great ride. This is suppose to be the first chapter of a biggier story. It sets everything for the other films. Palpatines plans. The Sith Urge for revenge. And The I can't believe How much this movie is hated so. Granted it is not the best of the Star Wars films. And Jar jar is Annoying,But not as annoying as those pesky ewoks. Once you get pass all of that the movie is a great ride. This is suppose to be the first chapter of a biggier story. It sets everything for the other films. Palpatines plans. The Sith Urge for revenge. And The Relationship of Anakin and wife to be Padme. As well as his Relationship with Obi-wan. The Visual Effects are expectacullar. And the Music Soars when it should. Expand
  18. Kip
    Jun 14, 2009
    6
    By far the weakest of the Star Wars episodes. It only gets a 6 because it is Star Wars. Jar Jar Binks is perhaps the most annoying character ever created. Remove him and cut 80% of that damn pod race and I'd give it 7.5, maybe even an 8.
  19. Aug 9, 2011
    5
    Jar-Jar Binks didn't bother me that much. The attempts at comedy were pretty rough though as was the rest of the script. But this movie had some incredible moments. The bad acting couldn't destroy all the genius battles and other entertaining sequences such as the podrace
  20. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace is nostalgic, silly and campy fun filled with cheesy dialogue and hit-and-miss performance. It may not be as good as the originals, but it still manages to entertain, especially in the film's third act.
  21. Nov 16, 2011
    8
    It may feel stretched out too long and the story may not be too powerful compared to episodes IV, V, and VI, but it still does have a strong tale to tell.
  22. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    The Phantom Menace is one of the worst movie in the whole Star Wars saga. It has uneven pacing, wooden acting, weird screen play; on the other hand, it has some of the best set pieces in the whole saga. Lucas seems to be paying more attention to ILM compared to his actors and it really shows. I still watch it regularly from time to time, but it shows how the master is starting to get leftThe Phantom Menace is one of the worst movie in the whole Star Wars saga. It has uneven pacing, wooden acting, weird screen play; on the other hand, it has some of the best set pieces in the whole saga. Lucas seems to be paying more attention to ILM compared to his actors and it really shows. I still watch it regularly from time to time, but it shows how the master is starting to get left behind in the type of films (blockbuster movies) that he 'created' more than thirty years ago. Expand
  23. Jul 12, 2012
    6
    The first of the three Star Wars prequels. The story and character development are mediocre, making this a considerable downgrade from the original Star Wars movies, but on the good side the special effects add more depth to battle scenes and make them all the more impressive.
  24. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    For me this is the perfect family action film. All of George lucas' film making led to this point where lucasfilm could seemlessly integrate the first full screen cg character jar jar. I love jar jar! I love the complex political plot this new trilogy enabled and anyone who takes issue with jar jar need only look at mordern animated film like despicable me to see how forward thinking thatFor me this is the perfect family action film. All of George lucas' film making led to this point where lucasfilm could seemlessly integrate the first full screen cg character jar jar. I love jar jar! I love the complex political plot this new trilogy enabled and anyone who takes issue with jar jar need only look at mordern animated film like despicable me to see how forward thinking that character design was. The perfect example of a perfect cinematic 'ride' encapsulating everything previous star wars worked to show at a digestable pace wrapped in high art. Expand
  25. Jan 19, 2015
    0
    Star Wars I: the Phantom Menace is abysmally structured. I'm honestly having a very very hard time figuring out where all three Acts begin and end. Perhaps, it was meant to be that way. One can ask, is that ambitious or flawed? I vote for flawed. Not simply because I feel Lucas severely lacks the writing capabilities to write an abstract narrative but also because it's nothing like anStar Wars I: the Phantom Menace is abysmally structured. I'm honestly having a very very hard time figuring out where all three Acts begin and end. Perhaps, it was meant to be that way. One can ask, is that ambitious or flawed? I vote for flawed. Not simply because I feel Lucas severely lacks the writing capabilities to write an abstract narrative but also because it's nothing like an abstract narrative. The problems start right from the opening shots and this is a problem in all the Star Wars movies. It starts off with backstory, with lines of narrative, scrolling up as John Williams' soundtrack plays along, serving as exposition for the upcoming events. Why couldn't they create a quick montage - a series of rapidly edited shots or just a basic sequence of still photos or simply start off before that. The entire purpose of film is to convey a story through the wonderful language of images. And when Lucas throws narrative at us, just as it appears in the script, let's just say it's a very underwhelming opening. Terrence Malick was able to briefly portray evolutionary progression and natural selection from the most elementary to the most multiplex of creatures, all in about 20 minutes in the Tree of Life. Lucas was asked to carry no such burden.Ewan McGregor is a decent actor but his role is so poorly written in the movie. For the most part, his job consists of 3 basic exercises. He walks alongside Liam Neeson stating the obvious, he looks up when he enters rooms and he keeps questioning Liam Neeson's "high intellectual Jedi converse" so that Liam Neeson can start explaining the plot. The entire Jedi counsel exists so that Lucas' characters can sit around and explain the plot to the audience. Jar Jar Binks may be the most annoying character I've ever had to witness on screen. But there are so many versions of him in this movie. It's intolerable.
    Since, all of us have already seen Lucas' pantomime 1977 original, we should all agree that he's the master of oversimplification. The characters are all so black and white. There's not a single character even remotely leaning towards the second dimension. And in fact, this is a problem with all the Star Wars movies. They all show us distinctly, which characters are good and which characters are evil but none of them tell us why. In fact several movies like Apocalypse Now, Rashomon, Taxi Driver and in more recent years, Pans Labyrinth and the Dark Knight, have explored this idea of the relativity of morality so brilliantly. But of course Lucas doesn't bother with interesting objectives of that sort. The entire "dark side of the force should rule the galaxy" is as cliched as it gets. How many movies have been made where the bad guys want to take over the world? Too many to count.
    But the part where I began to despise it, was the last 45 mins, which was literally jam-packed with mind-numbing CGI action. I found it amusing that Lucas thought he had the ability to juggle multiple story lines (rather I should just use action sequences instead of storyline) from the "epic" battle between the droids and Jar Jar's, to Anakin's random "attempts" to destroy the "what-ever the hell that was" all accompanied by a triumvirate lightsaber dual between Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor with the man with the double ended light sabre. And then on top of all that, we have the dialogue. Now this is something that I am infuriated by. Lucas' writing skills are pre-school. A 10 year old could write better lines of dialogue and convey more emotion. Greeting Cards have exuded more passion than Lucas' raw use of words. It's as bad as I've ever seen (and that's not in any way an exaggerated statement).
    The Phantom Menace is a disgrace to everything that contributed to the world of cinema and it opened the door for several other mindless action movies. It's over-filled with computer imagery and is completely hollow within. There's no psychology, no philosophy, basically no ideas in it whatsoever. It's the work of a machine rather than an artist and it was as entertaining as filling out your Income Tax forms. It may be appealing to adolescent boys who grew up with those characters but to me this is just a sad money making practice targeted at a series run out of control.
    Expand
  26. Jun 30, 2014
    0
    Jar Jar Binks. That's all I need to say...............................................................................................................
  27. Jun 15, 2014
    0
    Everyone knows it,
    Anyone who pardons e1PM is simply in server denial,
    It will always be known as one of the great
    disasters in cinematic history.
    Sad but oh so true.
  28. Aug 2, 2014
    9
    Some may wonder why i have rated it so highly im comparison to the average user score, well its just because of my age, it was the first star wars film i watched and its always stuck in my head as the favourite, however i dont believe its better than the older ones its just this is a special memory from my childhood and i really do rate this film highly.
  29. Dec 2, 2014
    10
    A very good and fantastic movie. A very good screenplay good acts and good special effect. It is the best movie from Star Wars sries. I like this movie more than the others.
  30. GlennL.
    Nov 11, 2009
    9
    Excellent film which starts the prequel series of the Star Wars Trilogy.
  31. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    Holds a special place in my list as the first movie I can remember seeing in a theatre with my father. It's a good movie, but the prequel trilogy is no comparison to the original films.
  32. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Alongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previous films. Lucas wanted to go beyond what he did before, when people were expecting the same. People wanted a movie that had some happy characterAlongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previous films. Lucas wanted to go beyond what he did before, when people were expecting the same. People wanted a movie that had some happy character development that reinforced their happy little lives, but they got way more than that, and all it did was piss them all off.

    Episode I has high political commentary including the nature of politics and warfare, nearly unmatched special effects, depth of world and lore that only great sci-fi's have, and much more. Next time you want to not like this movie, really consider if it's based on what your friends say or how you felt while watching the movie.
    Expand
  33. Jan 8, 2013
    3
    Okay, let's face it: If episode I would have been the first star wars movie, there would not have been a episode II. If the only (good) thing everybody remembers about a movie are some eye-candy scenes (and I am talking of course about the pod race and the double light sabre duel), you know your movie is in trouble, because it fails on all other levels: storytelling, character development,Okay, let's face it: If episode I would have been the first star wars movie, there would not have been a episode II. If the only (good) thing everybody remembers about a movie are some eye-candy scenes (and I am talking of course about the pod race and the double light sabre duel), you know your movie is in trouble, because it fails on all other levels: storytelling, character development, acting, pacing and tone. This movie feels like a well-calculated commercial product that should deliver to all audiences, but it's all about a shiny surface and nothing beyond that. And let's not forget about Jarjar, the most annoying character ever to be put in a movie. Expand
  34. Feb 5, 2012
    4
    When people say this movie is good, they can't back themselves up with the story, only with the effects. The movie continuously adds on to the characters character, we always question their decisions, and don't understand why anyone doesn't act like a normal person.
  35. MarkS.
    Jul 2, 2003
    7
    Before seating myself in the theatre to watch this highly anticipated prequel, I had already accepted the fact that it wouldn't have the same effect on me as Star Wars did when I was 5 years old. It's simply impossible -- a notion that many die-hard fans (who would later turn out to be the movie's harshest critics) were reluctant to entertain. The Phantom Menace isn't Before seating myself in the theatre to watch this highly anticipated prequel, I had already accepted the fact that it wouldn't have the same effect on me as Star Wars did when I was 5 years old. It's simply impossible -- a notion that many die-hard fans (who would later turn out to be the movie's harshest critics) were reluctant to entertain. The Phantom Menace isn't perfect. In some places it's shockingly lax, but it's not the complete disaster that many would have you think. There's a lot going for it -- Liam Neeson steals the show as Qui Gon Jin, the cinematography and special effects are occasionally breathtaking, the sound design is faultless and John Williams is clearly enjoying himself where the score's concerned. The film's major set pieces, particularly the pod race and the three-way Jedi duel are everything that good Star Wars should be. Naturally, there are also problems. Jake Lloyd is terribly miscast as Anakin, Jar Jar is a commendable CGI experiment but a dramatic albatross, the Trade Federation droids are too goofy and the screenplay itself is horribly unbalanced, needlessly overcomplex and in desperate need of a dialogue overhaul. Despite these shortcomings, The Phantom Menace still manages to entertain, expand the Star Wars mythology and set up the characters for the next two movies. It's just a shame that George Lucas wasn't willing to place his trust in another director to help realise his vision (Steven Spielberg was up for it -- with his keen eye for structure, a Darabont script polish and Haley Joel Osment on board as Anakin, this would have been the jaw-dropping, heart-breaking 10 out of 10 spectacular that everyone wanted). The Phantom Menace remains merely an enjoyable hi-tech matinee romp, which is good enough by any other standards, but we can't help but wish George Lucas had turned off his targeting computer and used the Force instead. Expand
  36. RobC
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    Due to the bad rap this movie has, i'll sequence this review in sections. I'll state a common complain and answer, explaining why this is a great film. ---The dialouge is too formal/proper!---- This is a different time period. It is before the fall of the Rebublic. A different time has a different dialect. (Do really think people are goning to be say fer-shizzle in 30 years?) Due to the bad rap this movie has, i'll sequence this review in sections. I'll state a common complain and answer, explaining why this is a great film. ---The dialouge is too formal/proper!---- This is a different time period. It is before the fall of the Rebublic. A different time has a different dialect. (Do really think people are goning to be say fer-shizzle in 30 years?) ----The CGI ruins it!---- This topic angers me! If it had rubber puppets and strings on the ships, than the movie would be laughed out of the theaters. Were in the computer age, get used to it. ----The acting was bad!---- IT IS A MOVIE ABOUT ANOTHER GALAXY! IF YOU ARE CONCERNED ABOUT THE ACTING, YOU DONT GET IT!!! ----It was too long!---- And Titanic wasn't? ----Jar Jar is a disgrace!---- Yeah, he should die. Expand
  37. KyleM.
    Dec 22, 2005
    10
    This is the best star wars ever. a terrifc beginning to the saga. a little predictable but u dont even notice it.
  38. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    I just watched this for the first time since the theatre in 1999 and have to admit to rather enjoying. Back when it was released, I felt the same as nearly everyone else did but now, with 12 years and not a lot of thought about the Star Wars universe until the Bluray edition came out. I can say, this isn't as bad as I remember or as most people say. Its a children's film that a lot ofI just watched this for the first time since the theatre in 1999 and have to admit to rather enjoying. Back when it was released, I felt the same as nearly everyone else did but now, with 12 years and not a lot of thought about the Star Wars universe until the Bluray edition came out. I can say, this isn't as bad as I remember or as most people say. Its a children's film that a lot of adults spent way to much time getting upset about, take it for what it is and you can enjoy it. Expand
  39. Jan 1, 2014
    3
    Yes it does have impressive action and visual effects to spare, but Star Wars: The Phantom Menace fails to match the original trilogy's unique blend of characters, moments and scale.
  40. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    "The Phantom Menace" is a decent movie that I would overall recommend only to those obsessed with the franchise because the film is a explanation film that connects what happened before the age of Luke, not amazing CGI or powerful quotes like the other ones did.
  41. May 10, 2011
    10
    The Phantom Menace is an UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE!!!!!

    "The Phantom Menace" WOW! The audience went ape s-(well you know the rest) every time I saw it. I couldn't get it out of my head, I read the novel 3 times (after I seen the film) that summer, as well as the screenplay. Man I love this film, and the more I see it the more I love it. Qui-Gon, Darth Maul and Watto three of my top ten
    The Phantom Menace is an UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE!!!!!


    "The Phantom Menace" WOW! The audience went ape s-(well you know the rest) every time I saw it. I couldn't get it out of my head, I read the novel 3 times (after I seen the film) that summer, as well as the screenplay. Man I love this film, and the more I see it the more I love it. Qui-Gon, Darth Maul and Watto three of my top ten favorite characters. 8 times between May and Dec. of '99, and every time I seen it the crowd cheered, and at the end erupted in applauds. It was cool, very cool. For me I didn't want to see a rehash of ANH, and what I got was a new twist to and old universe. I was pleasantly surprised by the out come, of all three prequels.

    To this day I still LOVE this movie. It's just gets better and better!
    Expand
  42. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The locations and scenery are beautiful and exotic; the extremely well-done overall design of each planet and the specific places we are taken to is proof of that. From the lush and delectable beauty of Naboo to the vast and overwhelming city-planet of Coruscant, the environments are simply wonderful to behold. I simply don't understand why the use of CGI in the film is ridiculed as it is-CGI is something created by humans, just like animatronics-I don't believe CGI is "less human" than animatronics. The CGI enhances the visual quality of the environment and the characters that are CGI; this was what CGI was created to do, after all. The action sequences are amazing to behold, especially in the film's 20-minute climax; the pacing was perfect-the quick cuts between the three major conflicts matched the intense, fast-paced style of the battle-George Lucas' mastery in the visual arts was evident in the film. The symbolism and mythology-a Star Wars hallmark-is still a force to be reckoned with. Darth Maul's image, the duality in characters like Palpatine, and the symbiosis between prevalent organizations are all compelling, as well as the character types. Speaking of characters, I enjoyed Qui-Gon, Obi-Wan, Padmé, and Anakin. I was interested by each of their journeys, and where they began and ended. I cared about them, as well; they weren't "wooden" and "boring," and nor were the performances behind them. The writing was good-not written by a 5-year-old-Lucas kept me interested in the characters and the story. I liked the politics involved in the story, as I am very interested in politics. The pacing for the story was good, as well. The supposed "plot-holes" are easily explained and/or easily ignored, and are more like nit-picks than actual criticism. I realize the problems both certain fans and critics alike have with this film-I understand their criticisms, but, to me, they either hold no water, or aren't significant enough to undermine the film, as I see it. I thought at least some of Jar-Jar Binks' antics were funny; he didn't annoy me, and I'm willing to bet he didn't annoy most of the kids who watched the film. Not only was Jar-Jar a character for kids, but he represents a "wise fool" in the film. Additionally, I hope people realize that this film isn't "universally hated;" look at this site-62% of fans gave this film a 3.5/5, and 57% of critics, just 3 points under "fresh" status, gave the film a positive review. All in all, Star Wars: Episode I: The Phantom Menace is an excellent film, and a more than worthy beginning to the saga; if you haven't seen it already, it is at least worth watching once. Expand
  43. Feb 26, 2013
    1
    Jar Jar, midi-chlorians, droids, The Trade Federation, C3PO built by Darth Vader are just a few reasons why I have a mirror shatteringly bad feeling about this.
  44. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    IMO the best Star Wars film. I thought it was great from start to finish. The acting was good, The story was far more interesting this time around as well.
  45. Apr 27, 2013
    3
    The Phantom Menace may be one of the biggest cinematic disappointments of all time. Although it would have been almost impossible for this film to live up to the ridiculously high expectations that the fanboy's had but upon it, the final product is so monstrously dull it has unearned the dubious honor of one of the worsts films I have seen. Although the pod race and final duel scenes wereThe Phantom Menace may be one of the biggest cinematic disappointments of all time. Although it would have been almost impossible for this film to live up to the ridiculously high expectations that the fanboy's had but upon it, the final product is so monstrously dull it has unearned the dubious honor of one of the worsts films I have seen. Although the pod race and final duel scenes were quite enjoyable, I can't shake the feeling that the only reason they stand out is because of the awfulness that surrounds the picture. Expand
  46. May 21, 2012
    10
    Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate.
  47. JoanG.
    May 23, 2005
    0
    Usually, if I see a very bad movie a second time, it seems not quite so awful because my expectations are so low. Not so with Phantom Menance: This was such an abomination that, catching it a second time on TV, I was horrified to discover that it stank in many more ways than I had remembered.
  48. LarsC.
    Dec 8, 2003
    2
    I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had heard some bad buzz about the film before I saw it, I tried to keep my expectations at a rational level. Unfortunately, it sill managed to disappoint I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had heard some bad buzz about the film before I saw it, I tried to keep my expectations at a rational level. Unfortunately, it sill managed to disappoint terribly. The effects, while good in theory, had no life to them, and many looked less real than even the corniest rubber puppet in the Mos Eisley cantina. I really tried to like this movie, I tried to convince myself that I had just bought into the hype machine. However, no matter how I analyzed it, I found it to be a colossal train wreck that shames the good name of Star Wars. Expand
  49. PsychoStarWarsGuy
    Jul 30, 2003
    0
    This was an insult to the cinematic experience of the original Star Wars movies. I wanted to like this but c'mon, Jar Jar? What the f*ck is that? really this movie made me cringe. Shame on you George Lucas. Damn shame.
  50. NeilS
    Apr 7, 2006
    0
    This film is what Lord of the Rings would have been if it had been filmed in a parking lot rather than New Zealand.
  51. Katherine
    Feb 25, 2007
    0
    Horrible. It was hard enough to get through the Jar Jar Binks crap. And the kid is the worst actor I have ever seen. George could have done waaaaay better then this.
  52. May 3, 2014
    4
    Pathetic and down right embarressing. it barely gets a 4 just for effects, music, and some cool fights. aside from that this movie is BAD. Most people do not count it as part of the saga
  53. MarkK
    Jan 9, 2009
    7
    A good story told at a slow pace. The stereotypical characters and boring fights don't help it either. Still good fun though.
  54. [Anonymous]
    Jun 29, 2005
    7
    This one wasn't very deep, but at least the visuals blow you away. Jar Jar wasn't intolerable to me, but it's irriitating how Lucas misses so many opportunities to explore and develop Anakin Skywalker. His ambition to be a podracer, to rise above his limits, his decision to take flight and fight hte federation battle ships, all those could've been used to develop him, This one wasn't very deep, but at least the visuals blow you away. Jar Jar wasn't intolerable to me, but it's irriitating how Lucas misses so many opportunities to explore and develop Anakin Skywalker. His ambition to be a podracer, to rise above his limits, his decision to take flight and fight hte federation battle ships, all those could've been used to develop him, but they weren't. If Lucas focused much more on developing anakin, this film could've been something greater, much greater. Overall, not so much a star wars film as a decent sci-fi film, good to look at, but marred by too many lost opportunities. Expand
  55. AlexG.
    Apr 15, 2008
    7
    Not bad, quite enjoyable, and actually quite a humorous and light movie.
  56. kitty
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    This is how I rate the new Star Wars movies; The Phantom Menace- I can live with background, overall entertaining. Attack of the clones- still entertaining, starting to go down a little here. Revenge of the Sith- People, what happened! Wake up and start being creative here! And while you're at it re-write the script!
  57. RickJ.G.
    Oct 1, 2002
    8
    The movie's visual delights more than make up for its shortcomings. Yeah, not the most inspired screenplay and the parting of mother and son is dreadfully downplayed. I liked Neeson as Qui-Gon and I thought the saber battles were wonderfully choregraphed.
  58. PaulM.
    Mar 16, 2003
    8
    A good movie and exciting, but Jar Jar kills the show. Liam Neeson and Ewan MCgregor are good as Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan. But there is no Harrison Ford, a person that gives the movie a more laid back type style movie. It's all too serious (besides Jar Jar but he's just plain gay) for it's own good. The "duel of the fates" fight is the best lightsaber fight in all the movies A good movie and exciting, but Jar Jar kills the show. Liam Neeson and Ewan MCgregor are good as Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan. But there is no Harrison Ford, a person that gives the movie a more laid back type style movie. It's all too serious (besides Jar Jar but he's just plain gay) for it's own good. The "duel of the fates" fight is the best lightsaber fight in all the movies combined, and the podrace was very exciting, but at the end you feel like they left out something, but you don't know exactly what. Like a foot without a big toe.(hahaha) Expand
  59. YoonC.
    Sep 21, 2003
    6
    Horrible as sci-fi epic. Passable as self-mocking slapstick comedy. JarJar Binks is annoying but funny. Has some cool sabers duel scenes. Beautiful Portman outshines any expensive CGI effect. The kid is like Dennis the Phantom Menace.
  60. LarsC.
    Dec 8, 2003
    2
    I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had heard some bad buzz about the film before I saw it, I tried to keep my expectations at a rational level. Unfortunately, it sill managed to disappoint I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had heard some bad buzz about the film before I saw it, I tried to keep my expectations at a rational level. Unfortunately, it sill managed to disappoint terribly. The effects, while good in theory, had no life to them, and many looked less real than even the corniest rubber puppet in the Mos Eisley cantina. I really tried to like this movie, I tried to convince myself that I had just bought into the hype machine. However, no matter how I analyzed it, I found it to be a colossal train wreck that shames the good name of Star Wars. Expand
  61. Mar 13, 2011
    3
    i loved the original trilogy and was so excited to see the new trilogy. it opens pretty good and i had a good feeling ... and then jar jar binks shows up and the horror starts . he can only be found humorous by 5 year olds any one older then that will be preying dath maul takes his head off ASAP. it only keeps heading down hill after that. then we get to meet a young anikin skywalker andi loved the original trilogy and was so excited to see the new trilogy. it opens pretty good and i had a good feeling ... and then jar jar binks shows up and the horror starts . he can only be found humorous by 5 year olds any one older then that will be preying dath maul takes his head off ASAP. it only keeps heading down hill after that. then we get to meet a young anikin skywalker and who ever this kid is who did his acting was horrendous and i dont put it all on this kid i give most of the blame to lucas who directed this mess. lucas pretty much abandoned one of the key features that made most of us love star wars so much . that being charicters we liked and rooted for . in this one there is no one outside of maybe obi wan and qui gon who i remotly thought where ok. lucus focases all his energy on special effects and nothing els . which yes do look good when i am not cursing jar jar and aniken. Expand
  62. Sep 28, 2010
    4
    The only reason this movie is not a 3 or lower is simply due to the fact that an interesting character - Darth Maul was introduced. Aside from this there are no good takeaways from this movie.
  63. May 23, 2014
    1
    An awful mess that shouldn't have been made in the first place...
    Great actors wasted, plot that makes no bloody sense, unlikable bland characters that are completely unrelatable and **** JAR JAR. BINKS. Do I need to add more?..
  64. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Despite all the fanboy hate, Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace was a decent sci-fi adventure film. There are some impressive scenes like the pod race and the climactic light-saber duel. The political maneuvering of Palpatine is also fun to watch. The movie is overlong, though, and slips in to tedium now and again. Still, nowhere near a bad movie.
  65. Jun 19, 2011
    3
    The reboot or return to the widely successful and acclaimed Star Wars saga was disappointing in just about every way. With the exception of the Ewan McGregor and Liam Nesson, the acting was underwhelming, the dialogue made me barf in my mouth, the pacing was awkward and often slow, and the villains were not only unclear and underdeveloped, but lacked the threat and power that Darth VaderThe reboot or return to the widely successful and acclaimed Star Wars saga was disappointing in just about every way. With the exception of the Ewan McGregor and Liam Nesson, the acting was underwhelming, the dialogue made me barf in my mouth, the pacing was awkward and often slow, and the villains were not only unclear and underdeveloped, but lacked the threat and power that Darth Vader and the emperor had in the original trilogy. The ending was a little better, with some solid action, and throughout there were some decent effects, but many of the actions scenes had no real weight to them and felt like they were there just for the sake of being there. Episode I is disappointing, boring, and not worth your time if you are a Star Wars fan. Expand
  66. Mar 4, 2011
    3
    I was extremely disappointed. There was too much CGI and not enough story. Although the series was always conceived to have a trilogy prior to the trilogy, you would think it was written, acted and directed just to make some more money.
  67. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    It begins as a great film, Liam Neeson is absolutely amazing!! But then comes in jar jar and Annakin, all at once this film becomes a kid's movie. I may be a hippocrit because I watched it when I was 5 and thought that jar jar was my favourite character from the new trilogy (Obi wan still is #1). The beggining and the end are amazing, but other than the car race, Annakin is waaaay tooIt begins as a great film, Liam Neeson is absolutely amazing!! But then comes in jar jar and Annakin, all at once this film becomes a kid's movie. I may be a hippocrit because I watched it when I was 5 and thought that jar jar was my favourite character from the new trilogy (Obi wan still is #1). The beggining and the end are amazing, but other than the car race, Annakin is waaaay too cutesy and jar jar's failed attemps at being funny make me face-palm. Expand
  68. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    Metachlorines, Jar Jar Binks, Jake Lloyd, under developed characters, over reliance on special effects, awkward story pacing and weak acting - there will never be another movie more anticipated to then be so disappointing. Critics who claim that there isnt some 'entertainment value' in this movie are not being honest but the Phantom Menace is mediocre, is the biggest missed opportunity inMetachlorines, Jar Jar Binks, Jake Lloyd, under developed characters, over reliance on special effects, awkward story pacing and weak acting - there will never be another movie more anticipated to then be so disappointing. Critics who claim that there isnt some 'entertainment value' in this movie are not being honest but the Phantom Menace is mediocre, is the biggest missed opportunity in movie history, and people who think its a good movie are uncritically minded fan boys. With the privilege of making a movie comes the responsibility of making a good one, a responsibility to which has George failed. Expand
  69. Oct 21, 2011
    6
    The Star Wars saga according to many a fan took a lot of hits with this instalment but in my opinion it took more from the Return of the Jedi (a overly long, preachy pile of hogwash). Phantom of the Menace is entertaining to say the least and while it doesnâ
  70. Dec 19, 2011
    8
    In 99, I didn't much care for Episode 1, but now, after watching it on blu ray in 2011, it's not as bad as I remembered. It's just the first chapter of the saga, and like many character introduction pieces, they can be a little dry. I just think that expectations were very high, and we all had our own version of how this was going to play out in 99. Don't close your mind to it, but justIn 99, I didn't much care for Episode 1, but now, after watching it on blu ray in 2011, it's not as bad as I remembered. It's just the first chapter of the saga, and like many character introduction pieces, they can be a little dry. I just think that expectations were very high, and we all had our own version of how this was going to play out in 99. Don't close your mind to it, but just rewatch and judge it removed from the anticipation. Expand
  71. Feb 6, 2012
    6
    Im a Star Wars fan from since the beginning and in my opinion George Lucas should have let Episode I been were it was before ... in a drawer! But we cant go backwards in time so Im writing a review for this. For a movie on its own its a medium done work. The acting is good and for its time the special effects are good as well. The plot is important for the Star Wars Saga but all the restIm a Star Wars fan from since the beginning and in my opinion George Lucas should have let Episode I been were it was before ... in a drawer! But we cant go backwards in time so Im writing a review for this. For a movie on its own its a medium done work. The acting is good and for its time the special effects are good as well. The plot is important for the Star Wars Saga but all the rest is rubbish. Its way to much a kids movie - cant even try to mess with the originals. Expand
  72. Nov 12, 2012
    6
    Phantom Menace is easily the worst of the six Star Wars films, but is it really as bad as everyone says? No, it's not. They're all just pissed they had to wait 15 years to see it.
  73. Jun 7, 2013
    2
    From the stupid Podrace plot to the terrible, boring story set on a forest world and featuring stereotypical characters, all what this movie does is not only ruins the backstory, but also turns Star Wars into an annoying kiddie movie with racist stereotypes, annoying dialogue and stupid characters. And apparently it was Darth Vader who made C3PO, a 9 year old kid. Star Wars Episode I TheFrom the stupid Podrace plot to the terrible, boring story set on a forest world and featuring stereotypical characters, all what this movie does is not only ruins the backstory, but also turns Star Wars into an annoying kiddie movie with racist stereotypes, annoying dialogue and stupid characters. And apparently it was Darth Vader who made C3PO, a 9 year old kid. Star Wars Episode I The Phantom Menace is a complete embarrassment towards the Star Wars fans and Star Wars itself. And Lucas tries to entertain us with that outrageous "Jar Jar Binks" trying to be funny, and guess what? nobodies laughing. Expand
  74. Dec 6, 2012
    5
    Problems: Death mauls death (should have kept him alive.), Jar Jar Binks (awful character), two pointless battles. Bad attempt at trying to funny.
  75. Mar 8, 2013
    6
    Not as good as the prequel trilogy, but this film is far more enjoyable than Attack Of The Clones. The Podrace was the highlight of the film, and the lightsaber battle at the end was good as well. Some of the film is a bit predictable and the jokes a bit, and Jar Jar is very annoying, but the movie is still enjoyable.
  76. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    It may not be as fun or funny as the original trilogy was (instead this new trilogy takes on the more serious tone), the film is still awesome. The action is epic, the visuals are top class and eye popping, the music is awesome (John Williams does great here again). My only criticisms would be that Jar Jar Binks needed to die. HATED HIS CHARACTER. Also Natalie Portman really needed anIt may not be as fun or funny as the original trilogy was (instead this new trilogy takes on the more serious tone), the film is still awesome. The action is epic, the visuals are top class and eye popping, the music is awesome (John Williams does great here again). My only criticisms would be that Jar Jar Binks needed to die. HATED HIS CHARACTER. Also Natalie Portman really needed an acting lesson. Other than those two things, this film is a great installment to the series. Expand
  77. Sep 28, 2013
    7
    A good start to the Saga. The Podraces are awesome, Darth Maul is awesome, and the lightsaber fights are cool. I see everyone whining, moaning and complaining about this film just because for what it is, there is no reason for any of the hate. F*** the haters. Score: 3/5.
  78. Apr 21, 2014
    2
    While living up to the brilliance of the revolutionary original trilogy could not be expected. The first instalment of Lucas's 'Prequel Trilogy' really sets the tone for how low star wars would sink. This tale, unlike the first three, contains a story no human could understand and fails at its job to keep even the hardest of fans from shedding a tear at what star wars has become. The onlyWhile living up to the brilliance of the revolutionary original trilogy could not be expected. The first instalment of Lucas's 'Prequel Trilogy' really sets the tone for how low star wars would sink. This tale, unlike the first three, contains a story no human could understand and fails at its job to keep even the hardest of fans from shedding a tear at what star wars has become. The only reason I have rated the movie above 1/10 is simply due to John Williams once again incredible score, with 'Dual of the Fates' being a soundtrack masterpiece. Expand
  79. Jun 30, 2014
    0
    George Lucas ruined star wars with this terrible film.........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  80. Jan 23, 2015
    0
    This is a fantastic thriller fantasy action adventure! Please watch, much good. Experience incredibly developed characters - like Jar Jar Binks (my favourite). A cold hearted thriller.
    0/10 - Ben Hazelden
  81. L.M.
    Jan 25, 2010
    9
    My score may be a bit biased for it being my first Star Wars in theaters but I still find it to be a great ride to this very day. The story's pace needed some tweaking but there was some great times where you knew the magic was there although some disappointments hurt the movie as well (Jar Jar isn't the bane of SW but not great either). Many great new characters to see and some My score may be a bit biased for it being my first Star Wars in theaters but I still find it to be a great ride to this very day. The story's pace needed some tweaking but there was some great times where you knew the magic was there although some disappointments hurt the movie as well (Jar Jar isn't the bane of SW but not great either). Many great new characters to see and some old ones with new faces as well. Don't let the critics smearing this movie fool you, Phantom Menace is a great spectacle to behold but it does have a few blaring faults. Expand
  82. Jul 1, 2011
    2
    The Phantom Menace takes away from everything the original Star Wars films were all about. A good story, likable and relatable characters, a universe that drawed you in, and good acting. The Phantom Menace (one of the most hyped and anticipated films of all time) manages to do almost none of these, trying to please our minds with childish humor, bright colors, and silly, ridiculousThe Phantom Menace takes away from everything the original Star Wars films were all about. A good story, likable and relatable characters, a universe that drawed you in, and good acting. The Phantom Menace (one of the most hyped and anticipated films of all time) manages to do almost none of these, trying to please our minds with childish humor, bright colors, and silly, ridiculous characters. *Hint* Jar-Jar Binks is one of the worst characters ever created in any movie...ever. The other problems arise with some utterly horrible character development and acting in general. Liam Neeson leads the cast as the strongest but still stumbles and falls here and there. Natalie Portman comes over as likable, but we never get to know her character enough to even care. The same goes for the new villain, Darth Maul, who would have been better if we had learned a bit of his backstory. Obi-Wan is played by Ewan McGregor, who fails on all fronts and just gives a bland impression. Lastly Anakin Skywalker just...well he's a kid, and he's an actor with a decent future but just comes across as though he is reading the script in front of him. Overall Phatnom Menace is a disaster and the worst Star Wars yet. Expand
  83. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    Incoherent, dull. No characterization. clunky dialog. Headache-inducing overly busy CGI. If the original Star Wars movies had never been made this would be a forgotten cult movie watched merely for the lulz.â
  84. May 10, 2011
    0
    I was one of the original SW fans who camped outside the multiplex up to a year before The Phantom Menace opened in May 1999. Fair enough this was the Odeon in Manchester, England (and not Sunny California), but hey at least I can say I was there, with the tramps and junkies, in the rain, mud and urine and semen... Yep a great time to be homeless it was. Anyway when the police finallyI was one of the original SW fans who camped outside the multiplex up to a year before The Phantom Menace opened in May 1999. Fair enough this was the Odeon in Manchester, England (and not Sunny California), but hey at least I can say I was there, with the tramps and junkies, in the rain, mud and urine and semen... Yep a great time to be homeless it was. Anyway when the police finally told me the cinemas restraining order against me was no longer enforceable I went straight in to see this movie. And what a movie it was. First off I was really happy it had the original trilogy's opening (and closing) credits. I was also glad it was set in outer space, just like the other films. I was also glad they decided to re-use the original John Williams theme and not go for some rubbish modern pop music. As for the rest of the film, the acting across the board was on the whole cleverly under stated, with occasional moments of over statement. The length of the film was about average. Meanwhile the title of the film proved to be no where near as bad as other potential film titles such as: â Expand
  85. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This one isn't only my favorite Star Wars film, it is my favorite movie of all time. I know, the story can be boring sometimes, Jar-Jar Binks and Anakin are annoying and many characters are useless, but at the time I watched it, in 1999, I had not seen any Star Wars before. Because of this, I watched every Star Wars the week after and became a great fan until... now. Fans of the firstThis one isn't only my favorite Star Wars film, it is my favorite movie of all time. I know, the story can be boring sometimes, Jar-Jar Binks and Anakin are annoying and many characters are useless, but at the time I watched it, in 1999, I had not seen any Star Wars before. Because of this, I watched every Star Wars the week after and became a great fan until... now. Fans of the first trilogy were disappointed, but I had nothing to be disppointed about. 10. Expand
  86. Jan 19, 2012
    0
    This film broke my star wars loving heart. I totally agree with this movie critic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxKtZmQgxrI . The 50 minute long roast of this scar on the star wars universe is by far more enjoyable than the movie.
    Only redeeming feature was Darth Maul who was without a doubt the most interesting character.
  87. Feb 13, 2012
    2
    Why George Lucas? Why? Way to completely ruin the backstory to Star Wars with these awful prequel films. Yes, every single one is bad. Each film lacks a decent plot, lacks good characters, and lacks any emotional involvement that made the original films so great. If you think these movies are good, then I suggest you go on to Youtube and type in "Red Letter Media" and watch their in depthWhy George Lucas? Why? Way to completely ruin the backstory to Star Wars with these awful prequel films. Yes, every single one is bad. Each film lacks a decent plot, lacks good characters, and lacks any emotional involvement that made the original films so great. If you think these movies are good, then I suggest you go on to Youtube and type in "Red Letter Media" and watch their in depth reviews of these terrible films. Expand
  88. May 21, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far from being a successor to the original trilogy, 'The Phantom Menace' (what were they thinking?) is boring, nonsensical and would, in fact, have been better if they had just gone all out with it being a child's cartoon so there was no implication that adults who enjoyed the original films were meant to enjoy this trash. It's clear this is meant to appeal to kids; you've got Jar Jar providing unfunny slapstick, an annoying brat who has no idea what's going on and somehow magically figures out how to pilot a ship in the end to save the day and simple one dimensional characters that any adult would recognise as cardboard cut outs of people. I don't think there's a single likeable character in this film. Obi-wan is whiny and does nothing for the whole film, Qui-Gon is just a flat boring character, Padme is similarly devoid of character, Jar Jar is a cartoon character and Anakin is just an annoying kid. The sure-fire best way to ruin the character of the fearsome Darth Vader was to make a new film that showed him to be a stupid kid who says "BOOM- they blow you UP!".

    The plot doesn't make any damn sense, the characters are just awful and after watching this I'm left feeling like I just banged my head against a wall for half an hour because I feel about 50 IQ points dumber.
    Expand
  89. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    Let me say a few things: 1. I love this movie just as much as the other five movies. 2. I actually like Jar Jar Binks. 3. I actually find the concept of midichlorians interesting. 4. I didn't think there was too much CGI, but rather, it was just the right amount. 5. I actually took interest in the Senate scene. 6. I didn't think there was a problem with Anakin being called "Ani"Let me say a few things: 1. I love this movie just as much as the other five movies. 2. I actually like Jar Jar Binks. 3. I actually find the concept of midichlorians interesting. 4. I didn't think there was too much CGI, but rather, it was just the right amount. 5. I actually took interest in the Senate scene. 6. I didn't think there was a problem with Anakin being called "Ani" considering he was nine years old in the movie. 7. Acting was just as good as in the original trilogy.

    You haters offended? Good, because you don't deserve any respect.
    Expand
  90. Feb 19, 2011
    10
    This is just as good as the entries in the original trilogy, it has an enjoyable plot and characters, and great actors, and really gives you a feeling of excitement for the rest of the trilogy, a must see for Star Wars fans.
  91. FrozZL.
    Mar 12, 2007
    9
    This is a memorable movie. I liked to see the franchise in a new way. Deeper and artisticly perfect. Darth Maul is one of my favorite villain.
  92. TF
    May 19, 2005
    2
    A huge disappointment. Really, really bad. Get one of the Phantom Edits instead.
  93. jakeK.
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    What movie did everybody else watch? I dont get how everybody on here didnt like it?? This is the best star wars yet. a lot of people really have no taste in movies.
  94. JaredC.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Its the Star Wars fans will kill for, its action is exciting, the story is excellent. Its a movie at top notch.
  95. Nov 12, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is alright, it's not bad, but still it was good.

    Jar jar binks was kinda annoying but he was funny at the same time.

    The action sequences were cool and the characters were good.
    Expand
  96. Feb 9, 2011
    5
    This was (regrettably) the first Star Wars film I saw. I was seven at the time and naturally I was enthralled by the undeniably good special effects. Several years on and I have fallen in love with the original trilogy as one should!! What separates the old trilogy from the new one is the distinction between good story telling, and good visual effects; George Lucas relied too much onThis was (regrettably) the first Star Wars film I saw. I was seven at the time and naturally I was enthralled by the undeniably good special effects. Several years on and I have fallen in love with the original trilogy as one should!! What separates the old trilogy from the new one is the distinction between good story telling, and good visual effects; George Lucas relied too much on effects in the prequels and forgot all about character development. Episode I does have some good aspects (Qui-Gon / Darth Maul) but the acting is so bland and the story so dull, not to mention the abomination known as Jar Jar - Lucas' defence is that it's a kid's film too but I think Jar Jar is even an insult to a three year old). The saddest thing about this film is the amount of hype that was created and the subsequent let down which has forever tarnished the Star Wars series. Yes it can be an enjoyable film, but it completely ruins the magic and heart of Star Wars. Expand
  97. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    I absolutely loved the original trilogy as a kid. 17 years waiting in anticipation for the prequels (since Star Wars: A New Hope in 1977 stated it was "Chapter 4") raised expectations very high that almost no movie could live up to it. But I didn't expect something as horrible as Episode I. A poorly rendered and annoying Jar Jar Binks ruins almost every scene with his clumsy anticsI absolutely loved the original trilogy as a kid. 17 years waiting in anticipation for the prequels (since Star Wars: A New Hope in 1977 stated it was "Chapter 4") raised expectations very high that almost no movie could live up to it. But I didn't expect something as horrible as Episode I. A poorly rendered and annoying Jar Jar Binks ruins almost every scene with his clumsy antics bordering on racist (he behaves the way African-Americans were portrayed in old racist shows in the past and he's based on a Jamaican Rasta-man type character too!). The acting by Anakin was boring too, but it might not be his fault, after-all George Lucus somehow manages to take amazing actors like Ewen McGregor and Samuel L. Jackson and make them look mediocre. I saw this movie once in the theater and never wanted to see it again. Once it was on TV and I muted it while talking on the phone and noticed the visuals are absolutely beautiful, it is too bad the story and directing sucks so bad. However, there is a version of this movie out there called "The Phantom Edit 1.11" which is an edit of the movie by a Star Wars fan that cuts most of Jar Jar's annoying antics out of the movie along with all of the redundant scenes where the characters are explaining to other characters what you have just witnessed happening in the scene before. The Phantom Edit 1.11 is much more watchable and enjoyable, do yourself a favor and watch that one instead, it is way better than the official version. Expand
  98. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    And so begins the terror of the prequels. Poorly made, not to mention some of the worst acting on the planet. Lucas could do way better than that. Sadly we need the prequels to know the beloved Star Wars began. Until next time Lucas you suck
  99. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    George Lucas's epic masterpiece before the dark times.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36
  1. Reviewed by: Calum Marsh
    Feb 5, 2012
    0
    It's difficult to discern precisely where this all went wrong, and even more difficult to speculate about possible improvements.
  2. 40
    The Empire strikes out.
  3. Reviewed by: Janet Maslin
    80
    It's up to snuff. It sustains the gee-whiz spirit of the series.