Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 19, 1999
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1133 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
501
Mixed:
433
Negative:
199
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
NathanJonesSep 28, 2013
A good start to the Saga. The Podraces are awesome, Darth Maul is awesome, and the lightsaber fights are cool. I see everyone whining, moaning and complaining about this film just because for what it is, there is no reason for any of theA good start to the Saga. The Podraces are awesome, Darth Maul is awesome, and the lightsaber fights are cool. I see everyone whining, moaning and complaining about this film just because for what it is, there is no reason for any of the hate. F*** the haters. Score: 3/5. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
parsa2000Dec 2, 2014
A very good and fantastic movie. A very good screenplay good acts and good special effect. It is the best movie from Star Wars sries. I like this movie more than the others.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
J0eJan 15, 2016
I do not get all the hate for this movie it has an ok story it has good characters and some bad ones 2 cool bad guys and 2 bad ones has some bad acting but also good acting. Overall it is a good movie with a lot of flaws and I know it has notI do not get all the hate for this movie it has an ok story it has good characters and some bad ones 2 cool bad guys and 2 bad ones has some bad acting but also good acting. Overall it is a good movie with a lot of flaws and I know it has not aged very well but it still is cool has some awesome characters and awesome fight scenes. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
JoshLuck1995Aug 2, 2014
Some may wonder why i have rated it so highly im comparison to the average user score, well its just because of my age, it was the first star wars film i watched and its always stuck in my head as the favourite, however i dont believe itsSome may wonder why i have rated it so highly im comparison to the average user score, well its just because of my age, it was the first star wars film i watched and its always stuck in my head as the favourite, however i dont believe its better than the older ones its just this is a special memory from my childhood and i really do rate this film highly. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
AwesomeguyRApr 12, 2014
Worst movie of all time. It is so bad that I went back in time and shot myself to not see it. Na i'm just kidding the word is tone. It sucks like your mom last night.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
7
sil3nt_nickMar 24, 2013
Well written and amazing effects.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
SalvalarJan 4, 2015
The real score for this movie is an 8, but I score with a 10 because here are many people mad about the original trilogy of Star Wars that want to feel as the were 17 again... and that's not possible. I feel sorry for the people that see theThe real score for this movie is an 8, but I score with a 10 because here are many people mad about the original trilogy of Star Wars that want to feel as the were 17 again... and that's not possible. I feel sorry for the people that see the original trilogy at the right age and the see the second trilogy been so unfairly critic with it.

The real problem with this people is that they want to feel in Disneyland as they was 17, but the reality is that you have no 17 and you will never had. If you return to Disneyland with 40 sorry, you will not feel the same, the attractions doesn't change a lot, you are the one that change, you are harden to surprise, you are not a child, you are not an adolescent.

The film is below Star Wars and The Empire Strike Back, but is better than the Return of the Jedi for example, and the lightsaber battles are the best of all the two trilogies. The bad guy are good (valid me the contradiction), Jar Jar Binks are annoying is true, but they are kinds in the cinema that love it, I understand George Lucas position.

I understand the demand of the people of unaltered version of the original trilogy, and I am sure George Lucas or Disney will decide to release soon or late. But that is no a reason to make a documentary exaggeratedly criticize George Lucas and his legacy. Is no so awesome than the original trilogy, but is awesome. I know persons that see the second trilogy with the right age that really love it and think that the special effects of the original trilogy are poor.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
billJul 15, 2009
The problem with this one (for me at least) was that jar jar binks charactor. From start to finish he was so annoying I could not enjoy any of the scenes he was in, its to bad mr. Lucas didn't have the sense to kill him off. However, The problem with this one (for me at least) was that jar jar binks charactor. From start to finish he was so annoying I could not enjoy any of the scenes he was in, its to bad mr. Lucas didn't have the sense to kill him off. However, the pod race scene was well done and this star wars has possibly the best lightsaber fight in the history of star wars. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful
4
JBAug 12, 2006
Great special effects and music. Terrible acting, story, dialogue, characterizations and costumes. Anakin should never have been an enslaved toddler. There is no group cohesion, which is what made the exploits of the original trilogy's Great special effects and music. Terrible acting, story, dialogue, characterizations and costumes. Anakin should never have been an enslaved toddler. There is no group cohesion, which is what made the exploits of the original trilogy's cast so entertaining. Despite what may be said of the original acting in the first trilogy, I've always felt that it shined over poorly written lines ... not the case here. A poor work. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
flamed_steakFeb 22, 2011
The film represents a story that didn't need to be told. He could have started the prequel trilogy at Attack of the Clones, given himself greater room to breathe and left this story to the novelists. Unfortunately George Lucas didn't thinkThe film represents a story that didn't need to be told. He could have started the prequel trilogy at Attack of the Clones, given himself greater room to breathe and left this story to the novelists. Unfortunately George Lucas didn't think his charachters needed to develop as long as he sent the audience on a ride, which was something that worked in the 80's but didn't cut the mustard in '99. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SnafuFrankNov 17, 2011
This film has no tension, drama, suspense, focus, excitement, development, and most importantly, it has no story to tell. For what it is, it's a joyless ride of random nothingness filled with flat, undeveloped, boring stereotypicalThis film has no tension, drama, suspense, focus, excitement, development, and most importantly, it has no story to tell. For what it is, it's a joyless ride of random nothingness filled with flat, undeveloped, boring stereotypical characters that none of us would care about. Why didn't George Lucas hired others to direct the prequels just like he did in The Empire Strikes Back, and Return of the Jedi? Why didn't he? If he did, the prequels could have ended up way better. But no, he himself had to direct all the prequels, and for that he has destroyed his godlike reputation. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
MudgetJun 10, 2013
My dad brought me to see the first Star Wars movie (A New Hope) when I was 7 years old, back in 77, and it created a magical memory that will remain through the rest of my life. When this 'prequel' hit in 99, I took my elderly father to seeMy dad brought me to see the first Star Wars movie (A New Hope) when I was 7 years old, back in 77, and it created a magical memory that will remain through the rest of my life. When this 'prequel' hit in 99, I took my elderly father to see it with me. If only there could have been some magic in that experience. Instead, there was only confusion for my dad, and embarrassment for me. With an overemphasis on cartoon-like characters (and voices) and multi-zillion dollar animation and CGI, and an underemphasis on character development and coherent plot storytelling, the whole thing felt like one big mess (although a mess within a fireworks show, if that makes any sense quite nice to look at most of the time). It's amazing to see actors like Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor and Natalie Portman so absolutely rigid and cardboard-like. There is no equal to any of the characters of the original Star Wars series, no wet-behind-the-ears Luke to cheer on, no Leia to secretly lust for, no Han Solo to crack us up. Instead there is the inclusion of the most annoying characters ever to grace a screen, a character who constantly reminded me that, at 30ish years of age, I had no business being there at that movie, let alone taking my father to it. A far cry from the kind of mass appeal the first set had with all kinds (and ages) of people. I truly feel that these 'prequels' will go down in history as the most unnecessary movies of all time. And yet I own them, I am THAT connected to the franchise, that I own movies I probably won't watch again, purely in honor of the original series and the hope that maybe, just SOMEHOW, some kid somewhere felt the magic like I did when I was a kid. In this age where all action and sci-fi movies look and feel like these 'prequels', I find that unlikely, but I can hope. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Jedi_JettsonJul 16, 2012
The story is alright, but there are several plot holes, the script is bad and wooden, there isn't enough great action but the duel between Obi-Wan, Qui-Gon, and Darth Maul, and the acting is also bad, and Jar Jar Binks is annoying to the StarThe story is alright, but there are several plot holes, the script is bad and wooden, there isn't enough great action but the duel between Obi-Wan, Qui-Gon, and Darth Maul, and the acting is also bad, and Jar Jar Binks is annoying to the Star Wars Universe. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ZegilgameshDec 29, 2012
Although it's certainly accomplished from a technical level, the characters, dialogue, and story are certainly lacking, and this is a major fall in quality for a Star Wars movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
ryflemanJan 7, 2012
The lack of story and horrible characters make this into the worst of the saga (although its sequel was not far behind). Jar Jar, medichlorians, and a general lack of any true plot makes for a terrible movie, and the fact that it is Star WarsThe lack of story and horrible characters make this into the worst of the saga (although its sequel was not far behind). Jar Jar, medichlorians, and a general lack of any true plot makes for a terrible movie, and the fact that it is Star Wars and has Liam Neeson as the closest thing to a lead role makes it into an average, albeit mediocre adventure. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
GreatbealloFeb 8, 2012
This movie is a train wreck in slow motion. This is easily the worst of the franchise, mainly because Jar Jar and Anikan are insufferable and pollute the film with every uttered line. There are some strong moments. I particularly enjoy DarthThis movie is a train wreck in slow motion. This is easily the worst of the franchise, mainly because Jar Jar and Anikan are insufferable and pollute the film with every uttered line. There are some strong moments. I particularly enjoy Darth Maul and the podracing sequence, but these elements are fleeting, and the film stumbles along at a miserable pace. George Lucas has a wildly creative imagination, and some of his ideas are brilliant beyond measure, but he does not know how to direct or write. This movie could have been something great, but instead it is mediocre. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
skyminsterMay 21, 2012
Star wars: episode I: the phantom menace is kind of okay. A lot of it is boring politics, but some of it is exciting action. The good: some good action, good music, okay acting (mostly). The bad: boring politics, jar jar binks (I know it's aStar wars: episode I: the phantom menace is kind of okay. A lot of it is boring politics, but some of it is exciting action. The good: some good action, good music, okay acting (mostly). The bad: boring politics, jar jar binks (I know it's a name and names have capitals at the start of them, but this character doesn't deserve a capital.), not much of Darth maul (he's an alright enemy), it's really cheesy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ObbiePR18Apr 2, 2012
Soy muy joven, pero puedo decir cuando una pelicula es decepcionante. Despues de ver The Phantom Menace vi la trilogia anterior y tengo que decir que comparada con las viejas es desastrosa. Alguna de las cosas que no debieron serSoy muy joven, pero puedo decir cuando una pelicula es decepcionante. Despues de ver The Phantom Menace vi la trilogia anterior y tengo que decir que comparada con las viejas es desastrosa. Alguna de las cosas que no debieron ser añadidas fueron a un Jar Jar, un master Yoda computadorizado y a un joven Anakin con personalidad de niño aventurero. Hubiese sido mejor un niño con serios problemas de conducta o "raro", pero al final tenemos a un jovencito nada parecido al super-villano que seria...Vader. Expand
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
3
potatoes351Oct 31, 2012
For the start of a new trilogy in the Star Wars universe The Phantom Menace sure does show people how not to do it. This is the start of a trilogy to highlight the young Anakin and his inevitable journey to the dark side of the force andFor the start of a new trilogy in the Star Wars universe The Phantom Menace sure does show people how not to do it. This is the start of a trilogy to highlight the young Anakin and his inevitable journey to the dark side of the force and become Darth Vader and father to Luke Skywalker. This is Star Wars gone kiddy though, with the kid who plays a child Anakin being annoying as **** and having a stupid sub plot with a race of toad like people called Gungans who make painfully unfunny jokes. Good CGI but poor execution and Liam Neeson being the only saving grace. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
anshimanMay 18, 2014
I'm not sure which makes me feel more incomplete - the disbelief that an innocent little boy is destined to suffer and become profoundly evil, or the disappointment involved in watching a movie with the skeleton of a beautiful ShakespeareanI'm not sure which makes me feel more incomplete - the disbelief that an innocent little boy is destined to suffer and become profoundly evil, or the disappointment involved in watching a movie with the skeleton of a beautiful Shakespearean tragedy without the flesh that makes a film what it is. George Lucas did most of the things wrong in this film. Jar Jar Binks is an annoying, comic piece with no role in the film except frustrating viewers to the point of desperation. Young Anakin Skywalker apparently is not only good at fixing things, flying and being with the force, he's also good at being a bad actor. Combine this with the yawn-inducing main premise of intergalactic trade federation disputes, and you brew the recipe for disappointment. Although many pan this film as being lackluster, I perceive it as simply disappointing seeing the film shine in parts and show its true intention, only to be ruined by small mistakes that don't allow the film to truly express itself. It is clear (to me) that George Lucas had a fantastic vision for the prequel trilogy - darker themes, sombre tones and intense moral philosophy issues. Unfortunately his vision hasn't translated well to the screen. Perhaps J.J. Abrams won't make the same mistake again in 2016. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
HealthConnectTVDec 4, 2012
A clumsy attempt at creating the impetus for one of the greatest movie franchises of all-time. The film is very basic, but falls short of other titles in the series in every way imaginable. A shameful cash-in attempt that is still beingA clumsy attempt at creating the impetus for one of the greatest movie franchises of all-time. The film is very basic, but falls short of other titles in the series in every way imaginable. A shameful cash-in attempt that is still being milked through merchandise to this day. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Sergio2008Jan 3, 2016
This movie is the worst of the Stars Wars franchise. Poor acting, saturation of CGI, lack of character chemistry, and just flat-out boring at times. Phantom Menace was the first Star Wars film I saw, and even as a kid, the movie felt like aThis movie is the worst of the Stars Wars franchise. Poor acting, saturation of CGI, lack of character chemistry, and just flat-out boring at times. Phantom Menace was the first Star Wars film I saw, and even as a kid, the movie felt like a chore to watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
InlikeflynnJun 8, 2014
The problems that comes with this movie is that everything lacks grip...

Why are all the characters so dull and boring? I really can't imagine why made everyone so robotic; is hard to describe the characters because of their lack of
The problems that comes with this movie is that everything lacks grip...

Why are all the characters so dull and boring? I really can't imagine why made everyone so robotic; is hard to describe the characters because of their lack of personality, I just can't imagine the actors in my head trying to play out the lines in the script without any kind of passion in it or maybe the directing was non-existing. The special effects haven't aged well, I can tell that almost everything in this movie is CG and if I look closely I am sure I can find some texture raptures (Although I am not fully sure of that myself)... The general story is so boring that I can guarantee you that you will not care at all about what it's going on, stiff acting and odd concepts for the expansion of the star wars universe.

I can honestly say however that the soundtrack is great; with memorable tunes like "Duel of the Fates" that you won't get out of your head and the well choreographed fight scenes that are just fun to watch. The Phantom Menace has too many flaws to just be a passable flick but it's at least fun to enjoy thanks to it's few saving graces.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
pondeliciousApr 22, 2014
I feel like people are far too harsh on The Phantom Menace. Sure the movie had its flaws (especially Jar Jar Binks and the Gungans) but I feel like the film had many great moments as well and did a great job of setting up the prequels. QuiI feel like people are far too harsh on The Phantom Menace. Sure the movie had its flaws (especially Jar Jar Binks and the Gungans) but I feel like the film had many great moments as well and did a great job of setting up the prequels. Qui Gon Jinh and Darth Maul were both great characters who rank among my favourite of all current films. The Medichlorian thing was strange but it doesn't bother me that much. I also believe that Episode 1 thankfully lacked the painful dialogue (except for Gunguns) that plagued the second and third films. Ultimately a great film Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
MichaelBagamerySep 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I should probably have broken my promise to myself and gotten **** after watching this tripe. 'The Phantom Menace' is easily the worst 'Star Wars' movie, and a terrible film in general. Some lowlights:

Jar Jar. Just the most obvious of this movie's myriad artistic miscalculations, he's unfunny and stupid.

Acting. Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor are the only two actors in this movie who actually seem to be trying to rise above the material.

Pointless call-forwards. Actually, 'Attack of the Clones' is worst with this, but they're there and visible in 'The Phantom Menace' too.

Characterization. Whiny little Anakin is very true to how most little kids are; I should know, as, to my eternal chagrin, I used to be one. But this movie seems to be promulgating the notion that youthful pettiness makes one evil. No, no, it doesn't. Hopefully, once you turn fifteen or sixteen, you realize 'God, what an **** I've been' and resolve to be better than that.

Pod racing. Um...scratch that, counterproductive padding! From a narrative standpoint, it's obvious Anakin is supposed to win that race and win his freedom from...Watto (is that his name? I don't remember it being mentioned during the movie). From a logical standpoint, however, he should NOT win that race, since he's young and green as a conifer.

Midichlorians. Yes, I gathered from the original trilogy that the Force was an invisible forcefield which Jedi could manipulate to their own ends, but which bound every organism in the GFFA. So they have something in their blood which makes them one with the Force or something? That has either unfortunate implications or it's just an outright contradiction in the plot.

Action. As in, there's not nearly enough of it until the last fifteen minutes or so, and while it is exciting when we get it, by then it's too little too late.

Overall, this is easily the lamest Star Wars movie, never thought-provoking or even accidentally funny, though I will give a point for Darth Maul's double lightsaber. That was literally the only memorable part of the film that was thus for a good reason.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
owlman1996Jan 26, 2014
I really like this movie, and I seem to be the only one in a 500 mile radius who does. I love the lore and I love the story. The dialogue is what brings it down to a 6. It is nigh impossible to have a story without dialogue, and this movieI really like this movie, and I seem to be the only one in a 500 mile radius who does. I love the lore and I love the story. The dialogue is what brings it down to a 6. It is nigh impossible to have a story without dialogue, and this movie may as well have not had any. I really like the story and I really like the lore, though. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
NShep53Apr 17, 2015
The Phantom Menace definitely has it's flaws, Jar Jar Binks, podracing, and the like, but it is still Star Wars. Liam Neeson is the acting stand-out of this movie. It probably is the worst (live-action) Star Wars movie, but even the worstThe Phantom Menace definitely has it's flaws, Jar Jar Binks, podracing, and the like, but it is still Star Wars. Liam Neeson is the acting stand-out of this movie. It probably is the worst (live-action) Star Wars movie, but even the worst Star Wars movie is great in my book. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
BrakkenApr 28, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Phantom Plot!
What was the point? I was concerned about who would slap Ani's face the soonest, but as he turns into Vader anyway, I'm not sure how to care about a loud-mouthed, impudent child that is supposedly a slave. Mitochloreans (sp - I don't give a hoot enough to even check) are not a force, but are cells now: this destroys the whole point of faith and super-human justice: only those with enough correct cells are good enough Jedi. The first three movies established that faith - yeah, FAITH - prooves one's mettle. Oh well.

CGI swamped the movie and were accompanied by cardboard performances. The notion that any of this movie as being part of reality 'long, long ago' evaporated with GPUs. The first three movies still engage me, but this one was devoid of reason and extremely irritating. Ja-Ja say no more. I'm begging you.

Final Verdict: Eiw.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
unadeeMar 1, 2014
Entertainment Monthly; 67% 6.7The computer-driven effects are impressive, but the adventure is hampered by a flat screenplay, dull acting, and just a hint as to why the dark side of the Force will eventually transform cute little Anakin intoEntertainment Monthly; 67% 6.7The computer-driven effects are impressive, but the adventure is hampered by a flat screenplay, dull acting, and just a hint as to why the dark side of the Force will eventually transform cute little Anakin into the evil Darth Vader. This movie lacks interest and entertainment but there are a couple of cool scenes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
warrenworldMay 4, 2014
Though it lacks the epicness and lovable qualities of the original trilogy, The Phantom Menace still has a story to tell, as it gets through the journey against those setbacks and offers hope for improvement with the episodes that will follow it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RobobobFeb 1, 2016
Yes, Jar Jar is an annoying character, but he was a failed attempt at comedy relief. He was also made for the kids and if you watch carefully all of the adults in this movie are annoyed by his presence, so for that, Jar Jar still gets a passYes, Jar Jar is an annoying character, but he was a failed attempt at comedy relief. He was also made for the kids and if you watch carefully all of the adults in this movie are annoyed by his presence, so for that, Jar Jar still gets a pass for me. Casting Anakin Skywalker so young and with such a poor child actor was another major mistake. Aside from these 2 negatives, there is really a lot to enjoy about this movie that people forget about.
* Laim Neeson is great as the maverick Jedi Qui-Gon Jinn.
* As always, Ewan McGregor is perfect as a young Obi-Wan Kenobi.
* With this movie we got one of the best villains in Darth Maul and one of the best lightsaber fights.
* Many great one-liners Star Wars is known for like, "There's always a bigger fish." "He's a local." "The ability to speak does not make you intelligent." "We'll take the long way."
* The pod race was a fun scene unlike anything we've seen in a Star Wars movie.
Unfortunately, with this movie, you see George Lucas start to lose his grasp on his movie-making abilities and his understanding of what his fans want as the next couple films get progressively worse.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
yoshi8869May 23, 2017
I suppose I'll ostracize original trilogy fans far and wide by saying this, but I felt this film was a solid standalone flick. It was fun, adventurous, and had a great final duel, but it lacked in direction and writing. The story is promisingI suppose I'll ostracize original trilogy fans far and wide by saying this, but I felt this film was a solid standalone flick. It was fun, adventurous, and had a great final duel, but it lacked in direction and writing. The story is promising enough. The addition of the "Jesus-esque" theme is questionable but somewhat acceptable once you get into the surrounding lore. The plot is shaky and a little haphazard, but not altogether bad.

The story and plot suffer from a failure in the cinematography department. The film is gaudy and over-saturated in color and effects, little of which is practical. As a result, it loses novelty value.

The direction was abysmal. That's the root of everything wrong with the prequels and is most prevalent in the Phantom Menace. Lucas should not be allowed to direct alone and surround himself with yes-men. His arrogance and outlandish, unrelatable imagination can lead to his own downfall and does in this film.

The acting could've used some work, but the concepts and themes are sound. It really all came down to the fact that the good story was saturated with colors, flashy tech, obnoxious comedic relief, and cheesy dialogue. Also, midichlorians. Yeah, nope. 6.75/10 -JR
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JolexlarisDec 30, 2015
I've seen this movie three times this year and, guess what? I like it even more each time. The scale of the universe Lucas showed in the Original Trilogy is expanded in this movie to incomparable scales. And the politics, since I was aI've seen this movie three times this year and, guess what? I like it even more each time. The scale of the universe Lucas showed in the Original Trilogy is expanded in this movie to incomparable scales. And the politics, since I was a teenager I came to love Star Wars because it is more than just a plain good vs bad action story. And this would not had happen without episode I. Easily, at leas for me, the most important movie of all 7. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
DavidTejadaDec 10, 2016
After so many years, Star Wars lovers got this?? Even as a HUGE Star Wars fan I have to say this is the worst and most disappointing movie of them all. The couple of things that I saw appropriate to highlight were the visual effects, whichAfter so many years, Star Wars lovers got this?? Even as a HUGE Star Wars fan I have to say this is the worst and most disappointing movie of them all. The couple of things that I saw appropriate to highlight were the visual effects, which definitely were improved, and the lightsaber battle. (30%) Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
benbuttbusterJan 22, 2016
This is objectively the only good film ever made. Jar Jar Binks is a terrific character, and I'm excited to see how they will elaborate on this character in The Force Awakens. I'm gonna give this one a 10/10.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
nahtan1244Jan 7, 2017
I Love star wars. It's been a crucial part of my childhood and beyond. I fondly remember watching the prequels and thinking they were gods of a movie. It's not so much the case today. The thing about the phantom meance is Geroge lucas is aI Love star wars. It's been a crucial part of my childhood and beyond. I fondly remember watching the prequels and thinking they were gods of a movie. It's not so much the case today. The thing about the phantom meance is Geroge lucas is a great story teller. He has some excellent ideas that made the foundations of the story great but it was just executed very poorly. Too much exposition, Jar Jar, whoever thought he would make a great general? weird stereotyping in the voices, wooden acting all across the board. Seriously queen admadala barley cracks a smile and the way she delivers her lines make me want to go to sleep. The only good thing That makes this a 3 is the lifghsaber fight plus as I mentioned before the great outlying of the story. I think George lucas is a great story teller but he can't put his thoughts into action and make it a great movie. That's why the original trilogy was so good. Even though he inly made one star wars movie he wrote the story for all 3 and they were fantastic. I admire George lucas. I feel bad as he had to prepare for alot of backlash sense episode 1 and even if he is not a perfect director I thank him wholeheartedly for bringing star wars into my life and I am glad he was able to share it with his vision. all I have left to say is thank you lucas for not ruining my childhood but creating it. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
UNARMED_JORDFeb 26, 2017
More of a political negotiate movie than a star wars film, the phantom menace is a very disappointing start to the prequels that doesn't deliver in any way other than the bad ass Darth Maul
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
BananaCinemaJul 15, 2016
Three words: Jar Jar Binks, he flushed star wars down the drain and ruined both the movie and the prequel trilogy, HE'S JUST SOOOO ANNOYING, he's only there for comic relief, it feels like the movie was made for kids, the movie lacked drama,Three words: Jar Jar Binks, he flushed star wars down the drain and ruined both the movie and the prequel trilogy, HE'S JUST SOOOO ANNOYING, he's only there for comic relief, it feels like the movie was made for kids, the movie lacked drama, suspense and action, characters talked too much and politics, which no one cares about, especially the kids, the pod racing scene SUCKED (though i will admit, it generated an awesome video game), and it RUINED my all time favorite star wars character: darth vader, cause now, i'm supposed to accept the fact that Vader used to be some Blondie kid with a squeaky voice and bowl haircut, and who's so whiny (though the whiny part is only show in the later movies) and only joined the dark side because he didn't get what he wanted. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
3
Thatonenerd2187Dec 11, 2016
Star wars the phantom menace is the worst star wars movie by far in the franchise. With it's boring characters, terrible acting, terrible cgi that does not hold up well, and the fact that is completely boring makes this unwatchable.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Jk9785Feb 23, 2017
A fun but incredibly flawed film, Lucas' first entry in the Star Wars prequel trilogy is a disappointment to say the least, with bland characters, computer generated effects that don't hold up well (with a few exceptions), and a characterA fun but incredibly flawed film, Lucas' first entry in the Star Wars prequel trilogy is a disappointment to say the least, with bland characters, computer generated effects that don't hold up well (with a few exceptions), and a character who, in my opinion, is the most annoying character in cinema history. The one, the only, Jar Jar Binks. Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor's performances remain the only bright spots in this film for me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TiagoGM18Mar 27, 2017
I don't really think that Jar Jar Binks is the worst part of this movie, I really don't, if we were able to connect to some of the characters, Jar Jar would be easily overlooked, however, since Obi-Wan is the only charismatic character, theI don't really think that Jar Jar Binks is the worst part of this movie, I really don't, if we were able to connect to some of the characters, Jar Jar would be easily overlooked, however, since Obi-Wan is the only charismatic character, the movie gets really boring really fast but if you manage to sit through 2/3 of the movie, the last act will certainly pay off. P.S. betting on an 9 year old with little acting experience is always a risk, i'm sure Jake Lloyd performed as well as he could and I can't help but agreeing with Mark Hamill's take on the kid's critics Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
The_fantastic94May 3, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Star wars fans had to wait 16 years for another cinematic adventure to the galaxy far far away, unfortunately, the patience did not pay off. However just like with Darth Vader, there remains some good in it.
The predconditions could not have been better though: George Lucas, mastermind behind his big franchise, was back in the directing chair, John Williams composed the score and the cast had some pretty good names to offer.
Unfortunately, the movie is very disappointing. Bad dialogue, an overdose of CGI, a childish, whiny Anakin Skywalker who ought to be Darth Vader one day, and Jar Jar Binks, the probably worst movie character in history, make "The phantom menace" an unsatisfying and frankly rather terrible experience for moviegoers and Star wars fans. A badass Darth Maul, well portrayed Obi-wan Kenobi and the stunning lightsaber duel at the end prevent it to be a complete disaster like its successor, but cannot heal our wounds caused by the major flaws in the film. What a waste!
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
PaxsterSep 8, 2010
As much as Jar Jar Binks is disliked I actually quite liked him. I know I'll probably be killed by most fans for saying this but I did think he was alright. I felt Liam Neeson had a good performance but McGregor needed some serious work. TheAs much as Jar Jar Binks is disliked I actually quite liked him. I know I'll probably be killed by most fans for saying this but I did think he was alright. I felt Liam Neeson had a good performance but McGregor needed some serious work. The Pod Race was way to long and the kid playing Anakin kind of annoyed me. A fairly good movie but no classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
JacobNov 28, 2015
The Phantom Menace is a great tech demo for what CGI and ILM can accomplish. Some of the worlds created with CGI are stunning. The vehicles all look and sound great. The moments where the visuals and sound take over like in the Podrace andThe Phantom Menace is a great tech demo for what CGI and ILM can accomplish. Some of the worlds created with CGI are stunning. The vehicles all look and sound great. The moments where the visuals and sound take over like in the Podrace and final dull are when the movie is fun and Podrace feels like Star Wars. Unfortunately, once the characters start talking the movie is terrible. The story is weak with poor pacing, low stakes, and no clear threat. None of the characters are interesting ranging from dull to annoying and all of which are underdeveloped given dull/cheesy dialogue. In short the movie is either dull or boring and for the most part doesn’t feel like Star Wars. I loved this film a lot as a kid but that time is long gone. Regardless of how bad The Force Awakens may end up being it can’t be any worse than this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobFeb 16, 2015
Phantom Menace could have been so much better. What ruined it was the needless long pod race, the Gungans, and the laughable kid actor who played Anakin. It's one of those films I'd love to see remade because it truly could have been a masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
The original trilogy of Star Wars will always be classic. Nevertheless, The Phantom Menace does kick-off a compelling prequel trilogy. The visuals are better than ever--and because of our love of the original films we are easily invested inThe original trilogy of Star Wars will always be classic. Nevertheless, The Phantom Menace does kick-off a compelling prequel trilogy. The visuals are better than ever--and because of our love of the original films we are easily invested in the exploration that will lead into the age of Luke and Leia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OfficialDec 30, 2013
Not having watched the original "Star Wars" series, I thought that "The Phantom Menace" did not quite turn out as well as I expected. I mean, it has some cool scenes with the sabers and all that, but was quite boring and dull at times. I'mNot having watched the original "Star Wars" series, I thought that "The Phantom Menace" did not quite turn out as well as I expected. I mean, it has some cool scenes with the sabers and all that, but was quite boring and dull at times. I'm not even gonna mention some of the terrible acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SatiricalewokNov 9, 2014
As a child this was always my favourite star wars film. And while now I can see that it is riddled with faults, it still has some fantastic scenes, and contains the best lightsaber duel of the entire series. I know Jar Jar Binks was aAs a child this was always my favourite star wars film. And while now I can see that it is riddled with faults, it still has some fantastic scenes, and contains the best lightsaber duel of the entire series. I know Jar Jar Binks was a mistake, but if you put that to one side this is quite a good film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
PatrykGJun 9, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People say that the only way you can hate this movie is if you grew up with the originals and was hyped for The Phantom Menace in 1999...well let me tell you something. I was not even around when that film came out, I watched it for the first time in 2006, a day after seeing the original trilogy for the first time. Then I found out there was three more films, I thought that was weird, like they could have ended the series with three films but they made three more that were prequels. So before seeing Episode 1 for the first time I said to myself "Well this could go either way", so I watched it, with no knowledge of what the movie looks like, I only had a disc without a box, haven't seen any trailer or anything like that. So I'm watching this movie and I swear that I didn't understand a goddamn thing in it. Something about a senator (didn't know what that was) and a taxation (didn't know what that was), basically the only word I recognised from the opening crawl was "Jedi". Then stuff happens...blah blah blah...the Viceroy guy was like "This is impossible" when Qui Gon is cutting through the door (couldn't remember Qui Gon's name until years later) more political talk later, something about some treaty uh signing it will legalise THE INVASION OF AN ENTIRE PLANET?!! Whatever. They meet Jar Jar, who honestly I didn't find that annoying or funny I was just struggling to understand a single word he said...then after like 3 days the Trade Federation finally invade the Naboo...the jedi rescue the Queen, they go to tatooine, i was hoping that this would save the movie and it turns out that Tatooine is the worst part of this movie...nothing happens in it...Anakin was the most annoying character in the movie, and him building C3PO made turn off the movie and leave...but then I came back I had to finish this crap...stupid bet was made between Qui Gon and Watto (I still don't understand it) then the 10 minute race that felt like an hour, it's easily the most boring part of the movie it's not like Anakin used the force for the first time and won the race or anything like when Luke was the last one left to destroy the death star in the first film he was using the force for the first time, it wasn't trivial to the whole movie like the podrace scene was...then the mother just lets her son go just like that with some strangers they just met and yeah...but that's ok because he's eight years old and you don't make any mistakes at that age...then Coruscant...oh god...i can't continue but i will...some senate meeting about something, really do you think i cared anymore at this point? i gave up a long time ago...uh then the queen is like "I move for a vote of no confidence in Chancellor Valorum's leadership", and everyone's like "VOTE NOW VOTE NOW VOTE NOW" even though I was 7 then, I still knew that you can't get rid of someone with just one vote, how does this senate even work? That means anyone can just say this vote of no confidence and then they'll elect another one and that will happen to him and again a new guy and so on...Oh god the jedi scenes where they don't do anything but sit in chairs...whatever, SKIP!!! So then they go back to naboo, something uh happens blah blah then that devil guy shows up, yeah I'm sure he has a name, I'm just calling him devil guy, with the double bladed lightsaber, which i guess is supposed to compensate for his lack of character? So they fight him while like 3 other things are happening...BOOOOOOOOOOOOORIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIING!!! Some other things happen, Anakin blows up the ship by accident when all the naboo pilots couldn't do it...Qui Gon dies because Obi Wan keep up with the fight because some stupid red force shields were closing at any time Lucas wanted them to...uh yeah then Obi Wan kills devil guy and whatever, they burn his body, a parade happens and it's over...I honestly don't know what that was, but it wasn't a Star Wars film!!! I mean holy f*ck how do you not get more than one thing right about this series, it wasn't that difficult...the one good thing was the soundtrack, THAT'S IT!!! 3/10 Awful crap... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gzayas91Dec 21, 2014
I love The Phantom Menace. It is one my favorite films. This is life changing film of dream, destiny, will, love, and truth. I don't care what die hard fans says, I really admire this motion picture. It may not be perfect, but I think theI love The Phantom Menace. It is one my favorite films. This is life changing film of dream, destiny, will, love, and truth. I don't care what die hard fans says, I really admire this motion picture. It may not be perfect, but I think the story is great, the acting is fine, th cg fine, and writing is fine. And what did you expect about the pod racing? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TrilobiteGNov 7, 2015
An candy shop of visuals and lightsaber fights which is too easily consumed leaving a sick feeling of dry characters and the most tedious dialogue known to man. Jar Jar Binks you worthless excuse for comic relief. But, the visuals of battleAn candy shop of visuals and lightsaber fights which is too easily consumed leaving a sick feeling of dry characters and the most tedious dialogue known to man. Jar Jar Binks you worthless excuse for comic relief. But, the visuals of battle are always nice to see and the pod race was surprisingly intense...and you can appreciate how cheesy it is for that extra burst that doesn't make this movie complete garbage along with some added nostalgia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SEROJDec 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first part of the prequel is really not that great. The characters are unique and amazing, the story (for this part) is decent and the action is good but nothing special. The best scene in the movie remains the rally. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Movie1997Dec 22, 2015
Having not experienced Star Wars as a kid, I thought that I should watch all of them starting with "The Phantom Menace". Unfortunately, this did not kick things off to a good start. Right off the bat you get a lame and pathetic story aboutHaving not experienced Star Wars as a kid, I thought that I should watch all of them starting with "The Phantom Menace". Unfortunately, this did not kick things off to a good start. Right off the bat you get a lame and pathetic story about tax federations, weak characters and even worse performances. The visuals are completely overblown and suck you out of the movie. I don't think I need to say anymore about Jar Jar Binks. While I didn't find him to be the biggest abomination in cinema, he does leave a bad taste in the mouth of viewers. But it's a not a flat out terrible movie. There are some great light saber fights (even if they are too well choreographed), and there are even some (not many) but some moments of promise. However it doesn't fulfill the way that it should be use of George Lucas' direction. The problems this movie has are because George Lucas doesn't know how to write characters let alone get real performances out of his actors. You can tell he's more about style than substance. Overall, while not a terrible movie, it's boring storyline and dull characters make "The Phantom Menace" one to simply skip. I'm going to give it a C-! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tessara_VejganJan 20, 2015
Rewatched it recently on BD. Its an average mostly boring and annoying sf movie. The effects and fighting scenes are fantastic but the story and acting are horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GamingSoldierNov 23, 2014
Phantom Menace isn't as bad as some people make it out to be and it has some really good ideas. Unfortunetely, it fails to live up to it liscense

Pros -Music by John Williams is at best -Despite a weak script, Liam Neeson and Natalie
Phantom Menace isn't as bad as some people make it out to be and it has some really good ideas. Unfortunetely, it fails to live up to it liscense

Pros
-Music by John Williams is at best
-Despite a weak script, Liam Neeson and Natalie Portman do well with their material
-The pod race is exciting
-Darth Maul leaves the biggest impact a supporting character has left since Boba Fett
-The fight choreography, especially the duel between Obi-Wan, Qui-Gon, and Darth Maul near the end
-Interesting World
-Special effects are well done for the most part

Cons
-Jar Jar Binks
-Any villains that aren't Darth Maul
-Jar Jar Binks
-The Tatooine section drags on forever
-Jar Jar Binks
-Ewan McGregor as Obi-Wan is wasted
-Jar Jar Binks
-Anakin Skywalker is useless to the plot and shouldn't even be a child. Jake Llyod didn't do very well with the material
-DID I MENTION JAR JAR
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysApr 22, 2014
Episode I is a decent effort in the series. It's not the best, but it's not the worst. This is more of a "connecting movie" then an independent story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ThatCooperGuyDec 1, 2015
So it all “begins” with The Phantom Menace. OMG THE WORSE SHTER WERSH MUVIE EVERRRRRR…

No. The Phantom Menace is not the worst in the series, I’d watch it without an issue, it’s really “Attack of the Clones” that I’m reluctant to watch
So it all “begins” with The Phantom Menace. OMG THE WORSE SHTER WERSH MUVIE EVERRRRRR…

No. The Phantom Menace is not the worst in the series, I’d watch it without an issue, it’s really “Attack of the Clones” that I’m reluctant to watch again.

I don’t think the movie is all that bad, it’s just boring. I also don’t hate Jar Jar, he’s not that annoying but he’s a really useless character… Doesn’t help that he’s mostly CGI and none of the digital effects in this movie hope up that well…
With some positives: I do appreciate that 20% of this movie uses practical effects, Ewan McGregor is a great Obi-Wan, and I like the light saber duels in this movie. The Phantom Menace is boring and led to a much worst second episode, but it’s far from being the worst movie ever made.

However, I rarely ever go back to watch this movie, the last time I saw it was in theaters in 3D. My dad took me and we showed up about 15 minutes after the movie started… I assume my dad was not eager to watch this movie again…
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
epiclucaSep 4, 2014
This film is a travesty. The first Star Wars release for over a decade and after the epic trilogy that is A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of The Jedi, you would expect this movie to be much better. In the age of advancedThis film is a travesty. The first Star Wars release for over a decade and after the epic trilogy that is A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of The Jedi, you would expect this movie to be much better. In the age of advanced special effects and storytelling, it's a shame that this movie turned out how it did. A mixture of bad CGI and unrealistic story points (Such as an 8 year old winning a pod race, after he breaks down and takes about 30 seconds to start up again) just to explain how he can get out of slavery. The writing is lazy, and it comes off more as a childs fantasy film, rife with happy colours and the awful mess that is Jar Jar Binks, a character who mispronounces words and is really the jester of the movie, less funny more sad. Sad that in this age of cinema, a film series as epic as Star Wars has to stoop down and dumb down to appeal to children. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
marcmyworksDec 27, 2015
When I first saw this I was impressed with the action and CGI but having Jake "Yippee" Lloyd cast as Anakin Skywalker was piss-poor. I also just don't think this film aged well. Overall not bad, but need a lot of tweeking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MonsterlukeDec 24, 2013
There is Star wars, and then there's the Phantom menace. At first glance, this film has good visual effects especially for it's time good music and a lot of star wars fun. However then you begin to realise once you take away theThere is Star wars, and then there's the Phantom menace. At first glance, this film has good visual effects especially for it's time good music and a lot of star wars fun. However then you begin to realise once you take away the lightsabers, the film has very little in common with the original series. That being said, I still believe this film brought an entirely new and pretty awesome universe to Star wars which it expanded, and that's what I like about this film. I love the clones, what can I say.
On the other hand, I do have to say the delivery of this not so bad story can be better, the acting is not great, but compared to Jar Jar, everyone else looks Oscar worthy. And then you have the politics....the one good thing that about star wars was that there was no bureaucrat BS, no matter where you go now however there's politics everywhere. If they removed it then this film would be 100x better!
George Lucas turned his sci-fi master piece into a visually appearing chick flick really, lacking in the areas of good performance but boosting up his Space battles and Lightsaber duels. I mean he couldn't have made it any less obvious that palpatine was the Emperor, Padme was the queen, and Anakin was an I just hated that kid so much, I get the idea that he was not suppose to seem like evil but he was just so annoying and wooden. I almost hated him more than Jar Jar, but its far to say I might not hate Jar Jar compared to most people.
Above all else though, I did like how they brought up the return of the evil sith. The possibility of more than 1 dark lord and that fact the Jedi order will be the only ones to bring balance to the force once more. All in all, I admire for what George Lucas did to try and expand the Star Wars universe, I just wish he could have heard the music. It does leave me wanting more, I really want to know how this war will turn out and it leaves me wanting to see the others.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
oDjentoJan 2, 2015
I hate when people say the prequel films are terrible, they do still have some great scenes! With ep1, there were some definite let-downs, such as Jar Jar Binks and Anakins very average performance (but he is a kid i suppose), but theyI hate when people say the prequel films are terrible, they do still have some great scenes! With ep1, there were some definite let-downs, such as Jar Jar Binks and Anakins very average performance (but he is a kid i suppose), but they provided many other great things. The pod racing is a hella a lot of fun to watch, and The enviroments vary nicely in the film. Then also, they introduce possibly the most badass character in the Star Wars lore: Darth Maul. He is scary, awesome and just great to watch in this movie! And let me say, the end battle is possibly one of the best and well paced fights ever. Qui-gon and Obi against Darth Maul in those red laser barriers, that's how to rack up some brilliant tension. Many scenes in this film do save it from how bad people say it is, and i'd say watch it all the way through even if you do not like it just to see that final battle! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TimeOfTheChimpsFeb 8, 2016
Though it's at least a little salvaged by amazing performances by Ewan McGregor, Liam Neeson, and Natalie Portman, the miscast Anakin, the intolerable Jar Jar Binks, and the kindergarten level of writing destroys anything this had going for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
diogomendesMay 9, 2015
"Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" is occasionally cloying, utterly goofy and doesn't have much in terms of plot or characterization, but it's so fun. With that being said, I don't think it's a masterpiece, but it's not a terrible"Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" is occasionally cloying, utterly goofy and doesn't have much in terms of plot or characterization, but it's so fun. With that being said, I don't think it's a masterpiece, but it's not a terrible movie by any means. Definitely worth a watch, if you like sci-fi films.

Final Score: 5.5/10.

P.S: Dat race scene though...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
SpiderPlayerMay 22, 2015
Median film, the story is not very engaging or interesting, the special effects are good, but the film at some points gets to be tiring, but it's a film that you can watch quietly most of the time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Larry223Aug 24, 2014
La historia es... Muy simple, de echo no explican casi nada, según parece hay un ejercito separatista que quiere... No tengo idea, ¿un nuevo gobierno? por alguna razón quieren acabar con la republica un gobierno que ya estaba desde hace...La historia es... Muy simple, de echo no explican casi nada, según parece hay un ejercito separatista que quiere... No tengo idea, ¿un nuevo gobierno? por alguna razón quieren acabar con la republica un gobierno que ya estaba desde hace... Quien sabe cuanto, hay muy poca información. En fin, al inicio unos embajadores de la republica que son Jedi llegan para negociaciones y las cosas salen mal. Desde hay vemos como intentan salvar un planeta de la colonización separatista mientras encuentran a un nuevo Jedi y un personaje muy tonto que en ves de dar buen humor llega a molestar un poco, hay diálogos tontos y cosas sin sentido. Por ejemplo: según parece se puede medir el poder de la fuerza que alguien tiene por la sangre. Yo pensaba que la fuerza era una manifestación espiritual y sobrenatural que se podía manifestar en formas físicas de ves en cuando, pero no al punto de que tienes que tener células. Entonces ¿todas las especies del universo tienen las células necesarias para usar la fuerza? Y de ser así entonces ¿los humanos de la tierra en ese universo también podrían usar la fuerza? y si no es así entonces ¿solo una galaxia tiene ese poder? y si es así entonces ¿como se obtuvo eso? ¿fue algo especial o?.... Mejor lo dejo así, y algunos actores (tal ves la mayoría) tienen actuaciones malas y mediocres aparte de cosas tontas que decir. Lo que mejor tiene la película son los efectos, las escenas de acción y... Y creo que ya, no es una gran precuela pero tampoco puedo decir que sea del todo mala. Sin embargo esta muy cerca de eso, le doy un 05/10 un poco mejor que lo mediocre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheMasiMan1Jan 22, 2016
Ok, it isn's nearly as good as the originals, but is it really that bad? Answer is "maybe". Its boring but they do make it up by putting in action packed battles. Battle droids? They arent a threat, NO ONE has ever died from a Battle Droid.Ok, it isn's nearly as good as the originals, but is it really that bad? Answer is "maybe". Its boring but they do make it up by putting in action packed battles. Battle droids? They arent a threat, NO ONE has ever died from a Battle Droid. Liam Neeson and Samuel L Jackson? I'll give you a few points for that, I mean come on! Liam Neeson and Samuel L Jackson! Puppet Yoda dosent look good, but they replaced him with a CGI Yoda in the 2011 Blu Ray release. Politics? No thanks. Jar Jar Binks? Annoying, he didnt ruin the movie, I mean come on! One character ruins the movie? He dosent even have that much screen time.

In conclution:
Its not a bad movie, its worth seeing, even though NOTHING happens in this movie. NOTHING. Think about it: What happens here, that impacts the storyline whatsoever? Sith return? Anakin meets Obi-Wan? Thats about it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
anichelsJan 1, 2016
Jar Jar is not necessary to the story,I didn't mind the politics in the film, and it revamped how we look at Jedi. Quigon and Obi-Wan were pretty cool.
Pod racing gave us an idea of what Anakin's youth was like. - Being an exceptional
Jar Jar is not necessary to the story,I didn't mind the politics in the film, and it revamped how we look at Jedi. Quigon and Obi-Wan were pretty cool.
Pod racing gave us an idea of what Anakin's youth was like. - Being an exceptional force-sensitive child, it gives us a glimpse of what his hard skills are, as far-fetched as it is seeing a child pilot a fighter jet and successfully destroying a space station, at least there is some understandable precedent. (acting skills are not great, but it didn't kill the movie like JarJar did.)

Darth Maul is a fantastic and mysterious villain
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
horcrux2007Nov 28, 2015
I suppose I should start calling this "Confessions of a Star Wars Virgin"... Anyway, I've finally come to the much-maligned prequel series and a movie that gets considerable hate, The Phantom Menace. Maybe because I don't esteem the Star WarsI suppose I should start calling this "Confessions of a Star Wars Virgin"... Anyway, I've finally come to the much-maligned prequel series and a movie that gets considerable hate, The Phantom Menace. Maybe because I don't esteem the Star Wars film as the greatest films of all time, or maybe I just have lower standards than most, but I found The Phantom Menace to be the most fun Star Wars movie yet. Yes, there are enormous flaws with Episode I, but like every other film in the series, the good moments don't just excuse the bad; they topple them. The Phantom Menace follows Jedi Knight Qui-God Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi as they escort Queen Amidala on her travels to the planet Coruscant, hoping to find a peaceful end to an interplanetary trade dispute. They also encounter Anakin Skywalker, before he became a Jedi, who appears to have unusually strong powers of the Force. I was definitely surprised by how much I enjoyed the movie based on how much hate it has received. Being the first movie in a trilogy, The Phantom Menace is going to feature a lot of exposition and many seemingly stock characters. I would hope many of the plotlines and character arcs are continued in the next couple of movies because, but I have to at least give it the benefit of the doubt for now. The movie's good moments made me completely forget many of the bad ones that came before it. The pod race in particular was stunning as well as the final fight with Darth Maul; showing the Jedi in their prime made the lightsaber fights more fast-paced and exciting. Even though I enjoyed the movie, I can completely understand the hatred it has accumulated over the years. If I was a big fan of the original series, and I had to wait sixteen years for this, I would be pretty disappointed as well. Maybe being a Star Wars virgin allowed me to enjoy Episode I more than I should have, but, at least for me, The Phantom Menace was the most visually impressive and maybe even the most fun Star Wars movie yet by continuing to showcase the series' creativity and imagination. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
Set decades before the original "Star Wars" series, in the era of the Republic, The Phantom Menace is a prequel which introduces many of the major characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Red-Opposom-098Oct 7, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Star Wars TPM is directed by George Lucas (American Graffiti) and stars Ewan McGregor (Trainspotting) Liam Neeson (Taken) Natalie Portman (Black Swan) Ian McDiarmid (Restoration) and Ray Parks (Xmen)
I remember watching this as a kid and liking it but then time went by and I started to enjoy it less and less and then I didn't like it. The pod race scene is alright I guess. Okay now I realized why Ray Parks' (Darth Maul) voice was dubbed but why was Natalie Portman dubbed I mean was it necessary, no! The very end lightsaber fight kicks ass though, the duel of fates in the back makes it perfect. The acting isn't that great I mean you see some actors are trying to work around Lucas' writing but it just doesn't work, Liam Neeson accepted his role without reading one word of the script. I'm not eve going to anything about Jake Lloyd's performance or jar jar because everything that can be said has been said. It's a shame Maul was killed, he could of made a great prequel villain, now yes I'm aware they brought him back in clone wars. There was actually a pretty good fight somewhere in the middle of the film where Qui Gon gets attacked by Maul. One thing that's always bugged me is when Anakin and Obi Wan meet, it's nothing that kills the movie but it should of been done better. All in all this movie is a very mixed bag for me. This movie can be very boring at times but it still has a few moments that make some parts good.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
seventhbeaconDec 30, 2015
The only positive thing I can say about this movie is that it's better than "Attack of the Clones". Faint praise, I know, but apart from the terrible writing, ridiculous plot, and failed execution of filmmaking, there are still some amazingThe only positive thing I can say about this movie is that it's better than "Attack of the Clones". Faint praise, I know, but apart from the terrible writing, ridiculous plot, and failed execution of filmmaking, there are still some amazing musical and visual cues to be had. If only there was a way to mute the dialogue. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
koothrappaliFeb 1, 2016
Episódio I é de longe o pior e mais desnecessário filme de toda a franquia Star Wars. E quando eu falo desnecessário, eu quero dizer que: se você pular esse filme, não vai fazer a mínima diferença no entendimento da história. A única coisaEpisódio I é de longe o pior e mais desnecessário filme de toda a franquia Star Wars. E quando eu falo desnecessário, eu quero dizer que: se você pular esse filme, não vai fazer a mínima diferença no entendimento da história. A única coisa realmente importante que acontece nesse filme é a introdução do Anakin/Darth Vader e da melhor dupla de robôs que existe na história do cinema, porque de resto, o filme é uma verdadeira desgraça. E não podemos esquecer de mencionar o personagem mais chato que eu já vi em toda a minha vida: Jar Jar Binks. C-3PO e R2-D2, esse 6 são dedicados a vocês. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DBPirate1129Apr 25, 2015
-----REDONE REVIEW-----

Despite some flaws (particularly the overly kiddy Jar Jar Binks and the distracting Neimoidians), The Phantom Menace proves to be a fun romp that I didn’t find boring at all. It definitely does its action scenes
-----REDONE REVIEW-----

Despite some flaws (particularly the overly kiddy Jar Jar Binks and the distracting Neimoidians), The Phantom Menace proves to be a fun romp that I didn’t find boring at all. It definitely does its action scenes best but the moments on Tatooine and Coruscant didn’t bother me one bit. The movie provides convincing and mysterious villains like Darth Maul as well as great chemistry from heroes Qui-Gon Jinn, Obi-Wan Kenobi, and Anakin Skywalker.
9.1
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BernolsvenJan 26, 2015
[Portuguese] O filme é um pouco chato, só o final é interessante, porém este filme introduziu o começo de toda história de Star Wars, então é um filme importante.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JB562Jan 23, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although the movie does have its cool moments, particularly the lightsaber duel of Darth Maul VS Qui-Gon Jinn & Obi-Wan Kenobi, the majority of the film is filled with boring details and conversations. Also, Jar Jar Bins and the Gungans are unnecessary stereotypes to be in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
morganstephens5Aug 10, 2015
I would say this was the best of the prequels. It caught the heart of the original films the most. And Qui Gon was one of the best characters to have come out of the prequel trilogy. A very underrated film that deserves more praise than itI would say this was the best of the prequels. It caught the heart of the original films the most. And Qui Gon was one of the best characters to have come out of the prequel trilogy. A very underrated film that deserves more praise than it has gotten. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
IllusivemaN7Apr 20, 2015
There are two major issues with this film. Jar Jar and some excessive CGI that doesn't always look the best but other than that the plot is essential ground work to the rise of Palpatine. It may not be the best Star Wars film but it isThere are two major issues with this film. Jar Jar and some excessive CGI that doesn't always look the best but other than that the plot is essential ground work to the rise of Palpatine. It may not be the best Star Wars film but it is undeserving of all the criticism. A couple of the actors are less than stellar but it's a passable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
It's not a bad movie, just heavily flawed. Its acting and dialogue can be cringe-worthy, but its high points still make it an enjoyable cinematic experience. It is overall a visually-dazzling film with a stunningly complex plot andIt's not a bad movie, just heavily flawed. Its acting and dialogue can be cringe-worthy, but its high points still make it an enjoyable cinematic experience. It is overall a visually-dazzling film with a stunningly complex plot and heart-pounding action sequences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrMovieBuffDec 27, 2015
(I had to review this movie sooner or later, so here it is)

George Lucas returns in the director's chair for 'Star Wars: The Phantom Menace', the highly anticipated space opera prequel that will tell us the story of how the famous Darth
(I had to review this movie sooner or later, so here it is)

George Lucas returns in the director's chair for 'Star Wars: The Phantom Menace', the highly anticipated space opera prequel that will tell us the story of how the famous Darth Vader became...Darth Vader.

The movie stars Liam Neeson as Qui Gon Jinn, a legendary Jedi warrior with his accomplice Obi Wan Kenobi (Ewan McGregor) who travel to find a young boy they believe will bring balance to the force and will one day, become a legendary Jedi fighter.

The movie starts with promise, still giving us the iconic crawl text sequence with the iconic theme composed by the great John Williams. Some of the action sequences here do look impressive, as you would expect from a movie made in the late 1990s. We also meet the female protagonist in the movie named Padme (Natalie Portman) who gets on really well with the young Anakin Skywalker (Jake Lloyd) and they seem to have this strange romantic infatuation with one-another. I use the word "strange" simply because Anakin appears to be an eight-year-old boy, and Padme appears as a teenage girl...somewhere along the lines of 13, 14-years-old.

Director, George Lucas, who hasn't directed a well-known feature since "A New Hope" in 1977 clearly has shown how his skills as a filmmaker has somewhat fallen for the nearly 22 years he has taken between directing features. The story is an interesting story as we (mostly "Star Wars" fans) learn how one of the most iconic villains in motion picture history becomes the person we know them to be. Unfortunately, it's the execution of the movie and how the story is being told that comes off as a disappointment, which led many fans to react with outrage and hate towards this movie.

But we need to discuss the elephant in the room, or maybe the Gungan in the room, that is the ever so hated Jar Jar Binks (Ahmed Best). This character has gained some notorious hate because of his voice and antics on screen. Lucas clearly wanted to make a comic relief character similar to that of the Genie in 'Aladdin' (1992), where the jokes and obnoxious behavior would result in laughter, instead, the jokes result in frustration from the audience as we want to know, when will Jar Jar Binks shut up?

There are many moments where we see Binks constantly falling over, screaming, becoming the victim of slapstick, physical comedy and even just getting himself in danger so we could see him do something funny. Unfortunately, he is neither funny nor helpful, the movie wouldn't be any different without him, although, it would be slightly easier to watch.

Another trouble this movie faces is the dialogue, it is very expository where characters such as the legendary Qui Gon Jinn use very long words relating to "Star Wars" things and speaking like he is reciting poetry, or verses from the Bible. There is never a moment where we see the characters speak realistically, or even times where they are not trying to drill in your heads what the movie's plot is. The story execution is so thinly written, Lucas depends on dialogue to help the audience catch up.

The CGI here is the real deal, it is a very lush looking movie, in fact, that is pretty much the reason why it got made. Throughout the 1990s, with films like 'Terminator 2: Judgement Day' (1991) and 'Jurassic Park' (1993) have broke new ground with their almost realistic looking CGI as technology improves, even four years before "The Phantom Menace", an animated film called 'Toy Story' (1995) was released becoming the first ever CG-animated feature film.

We get many scenes where characters are in certain set-pieces standing before other CGI characters in a CGI hall-like room and we get many establishing shots and wide shots to showcase what a great looking movie this is. It is gorgeous and well-made, but that isn't enough to hide a bad script.

All in all, "The Phantom Menace" is only worth watching for the final fight between Obi Wan Kenobi, Qui Gon Jinn and the main antagonist, Darth Maul...this fight scene may look more like dancing due to the unnecessary flips and twirling of the lightsabers like they are batons...but it is pure eye-candy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Termin8terMar 4, 2016
It's finally here! The follow-up to Return of the Jedi! It's here, ready to blow everything else out of the water....... Just kidding, this movie is a massive flop. The acting is bad, there is far too much CGI, and Jar Jar Binks is the mostIt's finally here! The follow-up to Return of the Jedi! It's here, ready to blow everything else out of the water....... Just kidding, this movie is a massive flop. The acting is bad, there is far too much CGI, and Jar Jar Binks is the most annoying character in any movie of all time. The one redeeming quality is the awesome lightsabre battles, but they don't last that long. *sigh* Don't bother forcing yourself through this mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JosephASowellMay 13, 2015
It was good, however, it could have been so much more. George Lucas just needed some more help with this movie, and it would have been better. If you haven't seen the original trilogy this movie is just better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Things get off to a cold start with the much parodied credit crawl. Where Episode IV goes for the in media res jugular – “It is a time of civil war!” - problems in Episode I are not quite so pressing. Events are “alarming” perhaps, there’s certainly plenty of “turmoil” and we all know “taxation” is a thorny issue but the context is clear: like Anakin, this conflict still has some growing up to do. The menace is still phantom.

An inexcusably lazy establishing shot - the Jedi shuttle cruises past the camera - and lethargic opening sequence hardly help pick up the pace. In A New Hope’s famous opening salvo the bad guys fire first and ask questions later, in The Phantom Menace the Jedi are ushered into a meeting room while the semi-bad guys go into video conference with Darth Sidious about whether an invasion of Naboo is legal or not.

Critics complained that Lucas had got yet worse at writing for humans in the twenty-two years since Star Wars, in fact it is simply that, beyond Alec Guinness talking about the force, the plot of A New Hope requires no exposition - The Phantom Menace on the other hand is all explanation, much of it, like the midichlorians, unwanted and unnecessary. (To be fair, Lucas waited a generation before spoiling his enigmatic myth with background material, the Wachowski’s jumped that particular shark in film two.)

nd yet there is still much pleasure to be had watching our full-blown Jedi guides in action. Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan quickly discover that things are mercifully worse than the credit crawl predicted, a robot invasion force is being unpacked, Naboo is under actual threat. Sadly, we never actually see any of the massacres that are apparently taking place, instead we land somewhere that looks suspiciously like the woods near Leavesden and meet one of the galaxy’s more annoying comedy sidekicks (although not as annoying as fans frantically searching for a scapegoat would have you believe). After all, this film has at its hero a small boy – it cannot visit the dark 12A places.

Tatooine turns out to be a total bust. They leave Obi-Wan behind, Amidala pretends to be Padme for no good reason, Anakin whines a lot, there’s some mumbo jumbo about a mystical birth and at absolutely no point does Han Solo turn up. Bastard. This is a section so flabby that even the electrifying pod race goes on for one lap too long.

But hell, we meet Vader Jnr. and he says goodbye to his mother, which is the only essential action of the movie, so it’s almost worth the trip.

Despite the unspeakable Yoda puppet, more endless politicking and some iffy CGI, the arrival on Coruscant and the subsequent battle of Naboo provide most of the lasting excuses for forgiving The Phantom Menace. At last there are new worlds to explore, new creatures to encounter and new wrinkles to the Star Wars myth. On Coruscant we are free to marvel at the work of Doug Chiang’s design department - every bit the equal of the original trilogy. And during the saga’s very best lightsaber battle John Williams adds another classic theme (Duel Of The Fates) to his masterpiece. The final act is a mess of conflicting ideas and we are forced to root for a tweenage space pilot but you certainly can’t fault it for pace.

Perhaps best of all, we have the death of Qui-Gon. Liam Neeson has manfully carried the action on his shoulders throughout (the subsequent prequels desperately miss him) and his final words – “Obi-Wan, promise... Promise me you will train the boy” - provide the movie with its only real weight.

Lucas probably imagined that Anakin’s goodbye would be the real heartbreaker but he couldn’t write it and Jake Lloyd couldn’t act it. The irony is, we don’t need it. Given where he is destined to end up, Anakin doesn’t need to be innocence personified when we meet him. Indeed, we are told that the kid is too old to be trained and that the Jedi council fear him, facts that are utterly lost on an audience who see only a bowl-headed brat.

One of the most disappointing film of all time it remains, but with the galaxy of hype now far, far away Menace seems much less of a public menace than it did in the summer of 1999.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
Things get off to a cold start with the much parodied credit crawl. Where Episode IV goes for the in media res jugular – “It is a time of civil war!” - problems in Episode I are not quite so pressing. Events are “alarming” perhaps, there’sThings get off to a cold start with the much parodied credit crawl. Where Episode IV goes for the in media res jugular – “It is a time of civil war!” - problems in Episode I are not quite so pressing. Events are “alarming” perhaps, there’s certainly plenty of “turmoil” and we all know “taxation” is a thorny issue but the context is clear: like Anakin, this conflict still has some growing up to do. The menace is still phantom.

An inexcusably lazy establishing shot - the Jedi shuttle cruises past the camera - and lethargic opening sequence hardly help pick up the pace. In A New Hope’s famous opening salvo the bad guys fire first and ask questions later, in The Phantom Menace the Jedi are ushered into a meeting room while the semi-bad guys go into video conference with Darth Sidious about whether an invasion of Naboo is legal or not.

This arse-numbing inactivity recurs throughout The Phantom Menace: because the battles lines are not yet drawn and sides are still being taken there is always much explaining to be done, characters are forever having update meetings or being introduced to one another. The plot machinery lumbers through the gears, hampered further by the strange declarative dialogue and by an apparent disinterest in making these scenes visually interesting.

Critics complained that Lucas had got yet worse at writing for humans in the twenty-two years since Star Wars, in fact it is simply that, beyond Alec Guinness talking about the force, the plot of A New Hope requires no exposition - The Phantom Menace on the other hand is all explanation, much of it, like the midichlorians, unwanted and unnecessary. (To be fair, Lucas waited a generation before spoiling his enigmatic myth with background material, the Wachowski’s jumped that particular shark in film two.)

And yet there is still much pleasure to be had watching our full-blown Jedi guides in action. Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan quickly discover that things are mercifully worse than the credit crawl predicted, a robot invasion force is being unpacked, Naboo is under actual threat. Sadly, we never actually see any of the massacres that are apparently taking place, instead we land somewhere that looks suspiciously like the woods near Leavesden and meet one of the galaxy’s more annoying comedy sidekicks (although not as annoying as fans frantically searching for a scapegoat would have you believe). After all, this film has at its hero a small boy – it cannot visit the dark 12A places.

Tatooine turns out to be a total bust. They leave Obi-Wan behind, Amidala pretends to be Padme for no good reason, Anakin whines a lot, there’s some mumbo jumbo about a mystical birth and at absolutely no point does Han Solo turn up. Bastard. This is a section so flabby that even the electrifying pod race goes on for one lap too long.

But hell, we meet Vader Jnr. and he says goodbye to his mother, which is the only essential action of the movie, so it’s almost worth the trip.

Lucas probably imagined that Anakin’s goodbye would be the real heartbreaker but he couldn’t write it and Jake Lloyd couldn’t act it. The irony is, we don’t need it. Given where he is destined to end up, Anakin doesn’t need to be innocence personified when we meet him. Indeed, we are told that the kid is too old to be trained and that the Jedi council fear him, facts that are utterly lost on an audience who see only a bowl-headed brat.

Perhaps best of all, we have the death of Qui-Gon. Liam Neeson has manfully carried the action on his shoulders throughout (the subsequent prequels desperately miss him) and his final words – “Obi-Wan, promise... Promise me you will train the boy” - provide the movie with its only real weight.

And yet if only Lucas could have stopped thinking like a fearful father and acted more like the fearless myth-maker of old, there’s a quick fix that would change everything. Imagine for a moment a street urchin orphaned by the Clone Wars, a scoundrel scamming to survive, already using the force without even realising it. Imagine a cocky fifteen-year old robbing Qui-Gonn, competing with Obi-Wan and flirting with Padme. Imagine, for a second, an Anakin invested with the spirit of a young Han Solo…

The most disappointing film of all time it remains, but with the galaxy of hype now far, far away Menace seems much less of a public menace than it did in the summer of 1999. Alongside the obvious action highs, the ability to consume the saga in a single sitting has created a veritable feast for those fans still keen to mine for irony, with Palpatine’s Shakespearean scheming particularly delectable here.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BasquillyApr 28, 2015
The worst addition to the series, this movie suffers throughout from its failure to evolve from the original trilogy. The acting, editing and special effects are only marginally improved from the original franchise, but this stands more as aThe worst addition to the series, this movie suffers throughout from its failure to evolve from the original trilogy. The acting, editing and special effects are only marginally improved from the original franchise, but this stands more as a testament to the original movies than a failure of this one. Where this movie really falls down is the weak attempt to form a connection between the characters and the audience, and the stilted direction of the actors on the set. The curse of the child actor really hurts this movie as well, along with the cringey additions of characters like JarJar Binks and Nute Gunray. The movie saves itself some semblance of credibility through a few stellar action sequences, notably the pod racing on Tatooine and the dual between QuiGon Jinn, Obi Wan Kenobi and Darth Maul. The plot is also superior to any of the original trilogy, and sets up a solid story arch. Again however it suffers from excessive exposition, leaving no mystery to intrigue those watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TheDude-Jun 13, 2015
The phantom menace is said to be the most disappointing film of all time which is true poor character development, bad dialogue and jar jar binks made that happen a true fall from grace
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
waronassermanMay 3, 2015
George Lucas dissappointed most of his audiences! this movie was boring and just stupid! I am ashamed to like star wars with this movie being technically the starting point
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
Prequelhater878May 19, 2015
One of the worst movies I have ever seen. With dull writing, dull characters, and a dull plot this movie makes starring at a wall more fun and exciting
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Epik_NinnjaMay 22, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So the movie isn't as golden as the original trilogy. So Jar-Jar binks is annoying. This movie is still very enjoyable to watch and it's still a great entry to the saga, in my opinion. I don't care if Anakin is annoying, he's a little kid who will grow up to be evil! Is he supposed to be completely loveable? I think that the backstory on the original films is great and the lightsaber duel at the end (Obi-Wan and Qui-Gon vs. Darth Maul) was one of the best fihgt scenes in the saga. Ultimately, I find this movie to be rather entertaining not only as a piece of backstory to the original films but also as its own movie. The ending is massive-scale, the CGI was great at the time,a dn it's just a pretty fun movie all-around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
PrivataDec 16, 2016
This is a hard one.
Out of the prequels I find it to be the hardest one to watch.
However on the flip side I think it looks the most like a StarWars movie out of all the prequels. My issues with the movie is mostly the acting and jarjar (I
This is a hard one.
Out of the prequels I find it to be the hardest one to watch.

However on the flip side I think it looks the most like a StarWars movie out of all the prequels.

My issues with the movie is mostly the acting and jarjar (I mean fart jokes , walking in crap and his voice being set 300% louder than anyone else and the fact he acts dumber than anything from the SW universe)
But I like a lot of the visuals (yes the effects can be bad , but the art its self is very nice)

The plot is clever as well , but its told in a very clumsy way.
And the ''romance'' is a bit on the creepy side to me. Anyway , I dont hate it. I dont love it. I dont think I like it , but I do enjoy what it added to the StarWars lore.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hanneguacamoleJan 4, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In what should have been a deliberate and riveting prequel to arguably one of the best trilogies, The Phantom Menace shows its age – in the CGI animation and the time since the last installment. The dots simply do not connect, and I'm not sure that Episode I would have any success if it were not for the beginnings of Darth Vader himself.

Darth Vader is obviously a vital character in the franchise, so the portrayal of Anakin Skywalker here is understandable, but feels forced. Because he is strong with the Force. Ha! With the introduction of many new characters, the same level of closeness were not attained with the likes of Jar Jar Binks and Qui Jon. Star Wars has always been innovative with its stories and locations, but at the same time it dwells too much on fighting with clones and the plot device of destroying the Death Star (on accident?)

As a Star Wars fan, I apprecaite seeing young Anakin Skywalker, but I am disappointed. I love seeing the similarities between father and son, Luke, yet Luke's journey can't help but cast a shadow over his father's. The Phantom Menace's enemy is not nearly as well developed as the original trilogy, and the film struggles with reconciling Anakin's journey through the ages. Obi-Wan pulls it out though. As the connective tissue between generations, it is good to see the Jedi teachings passed along, even without the blessing of Yoda. But why the CGI? The special effects may have been the most disappointing to me – I love the nostalgia.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FawksJul 21, 2015
As for the first episode of prequels it had potential. Don't get me wrong the movie is bad, but you can see that Lucas wanted to make it good. Despite all the flaws it had the Star Wars feel in it. The problem was that Lucas is not a goodAs for the first episode of prequels it had potential. Don't get me wrong the movie is bad, but you can see that Lucas wanted to make it good. Despite all the flaws it had the Star Wars feel in it. The problem was that Lucas is not a good director or writer. If he would just write the story and remained a producer it could be much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shadow_13Jul 20, 2015
The story are good this movie is great I don't know why the others don't like it but this movie is good . good job.....................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoMay 9, 2016
"Star Wars: Episode 1: The Phantom Meneace " was a movie like this say, disappointing, precisely because of the very little action, and by no taste that left me, and that also left me if emotions, but it was good after completely.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
therealcritic79Aug 10, 2015
There is so much yet so little happening in this movie. There is a complicated story about the trade federation and politics, but it is so weird that it goes nowhere. It lacks the feel that made the first star wars so great. That and JAR JARThere is so much yet so little happening in this movie. There is a complicated story about the trade federation and politics, but it is so weird that it goes nowhere. It lacks the feel that made the first star wars so great. That and JAR JAR BINKS! Need I say more? Fans will enjoy this, but everyone else should just skip this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MagesticLeanAug 17, 2015
wasn't as bad as people say it deserves a six or seven not 0 i liked it i think i have seen this movie 1000000000000000 times and each time im like cool and i say f off anakin he was the worst part of star wars but your supposed to hate him
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
justinsirkin01Aug 21, 2015
In the 1980s the Star Wars franchise became one of the most beloved film sagas of all time with a striking line of toys, comics, books, costumes, games. Star Wars was huge. it told the story of a man who becomes a villain. After 15 years StarIn the 1980s the Star Wars franchise became one of the most beloved film sagas of all time with a striking line of toys, comics, books, costumes, games. Star Wars was huge. it told the story of a man who becomes a villain. After 15 years Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace was announced and the hype was enormous. We were finally going to see the story we wanted to see. We were finally going to see the origin of Darth Vader one of the most iconic movie characters of all time. Instead we were treated to something extremely different from what we expected. And I honestly have to say this...What was George Lucas thinking when he wrote this? Now before I express anymore i understand that this movie was made for children, and as a child I liked this film. But as an adult, I cannot believe that they screwed up a franchise as much as they did. In a list of Top 10 movies that derailed their own franchise The Phantom Menace would take the top spot. I really do not know why George decided to do this to his own franchise and make something that we all loved and make it into a bizarre childrens movie that barely keeps any of the love of the original Star Wars. Not alot of things that are positive about this film. For instance who is the main character? Shouldn't it be Anakin? But its not! That there is a major problem with this film. Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace is a weak addition to the Star Wars franchise and can probably be skipped in its entirety. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DanBurritoMar 24, 2016
With unimpressive acting, a poor script and an over-reliance on cgi, The Phantom Menace is a less-than-satisfying start to the infamous prequel trilogy. The pacing was painfully slow, and even Liam Neeson seems bored. Then of course, there'sWith unimpressive acting, a poor script and an over-reliance on cgi, The Phantom Menace is a less-than-satisfying start to the infamous prequel trilogy. The pacing was painfully slow, and even Liam Neeson seems bored. Then of course, there's the character of Jar Jar Binks, one of the most annoying characters in the history of cinema. Seriously, who thought HE was a good idea? Darth Maul was a cool villain, but he's barely even in it! The character development is practically non-existent, and much of the film is just a bunch of Jedi sitting around talking about taxation. The special effects were great, but the filmmakers seem to value them over story and characters. And just so you know, I am a HUGE Star Wars nerd. That's why this movie feels like a punch to the gut. FINAL VERDICT: This is a disappointing addition to a great franchise, and lacks the depth of previous instalments. 4.5/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
akerr2Oct 20, 2015
This film set the tone and the epic build up to Episode IV however it needed more explanation and perhaps a "movie between movies" as the transition from this one to Episode II was very loose. The underlying sith plot was not shown enoughThis film set the tone and the epic build up to Episode IV however it needed more explanation and perhaps a "movie between movies" as the transition from this one to Episode II was very loose. The underlying sith plot was not shown enough light for some of the audience to properly understand. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
HenryKrinkleOct 28, 2015
The bad - The writing, plot, acting, characters, dialogue, overuse of over ambitious CGI, the woeful attempts at humour.
The good - Ummm.... The music?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
YorkManJan 2, 2016
TPM is George Lucas' imagination gone into CGI overdrive. With every single whim unquestioned we get the first part of the original Six episodes of Star Wars delivered to us 16 years after RotJ, and what did we get...?

We got a bloated,
TPM is George Lucas' imagination gone into CGI overdrive. With every single whim unquestioned we get the first part of the original Six episodes of Star Wars delivered to us 16 years after RotJ, and what did we get...?

We got a bloated, borderline nonsensical tale of how a Jedi Master, his apprentice, a 14 year old Queen and some obnoxious, CGI abomination of a sentient, bidepal creature end up accidentally finding the one who will bring balance to the Force. The one being a 9 year old kid who has absolutely no charisma.

Political machinations fly left and right as the villain of the piece (who we all know is the dastardly political leader of the planet on which the Queen is the ruler) begins to move his pieces on Lucas' chessboard, culminating in a three-way battle between some fighter craft in space, a CGI robot army vs a CGI bipedal creature army, and the two Jedi squaring off against a nasty Sith Lord.

At the time of the film's release it was praised by audiences (check out the video clips of people coming out of the cinema in 1999!!!), and even most contemporary critics were blown away. It was only in retrospect, relatively quickly afterwards it has to be said, that people began to actually think about the film and what it was about, and the hate and anger lead many to the Dark Side of the Force!!

As a popcorn movie, it's fine. As a piece of pop-culture, it's referenced as the point where George Lucas stopped being revered as the creator of one of cinemas most enduring masterpieces. As the start of a new 'prequel' trilogy, it's piss-poor.

Unfortunately, however bad this film was/is...... Worse was to come.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews