Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 19, 1999
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1133 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
501
Mixed:
433
Negative:
199
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
VincentV.Sep 28, 2008
Dear George, the story was okay, just okay, but the very boring race, jar jar binks and the failed tries to be funny just made it a long annoying movie...
16 of 21 users found this helpful
10
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
George Lucas's epic masterpiece before the dark times.
25 of 76 users found this helpful2551
All this user's reviews
5
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
Jar-Jar Binks didn't bother me that much. The attempts at comedy were pretty rough though as was the rest of the script. But this movie had some incredible moments. The bad acting couldn't destroy all the genius battles and other entertainingJar-Jar Binks didn't bother me that much. The attempts at comedy were pretty rough though as was the rest of the script. But this movie had some incredible moments. The bad acting couldn't destroy all the genius battles and other entertaining sequences such as the podrace Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
Ryzoft_StipeJan 4, 2017
A great movie, not much else to say. It's sad how some people prefer hypocriticy over bias. Sure, you were born 100 years ago and that gives you the right to bash on the prequels because you saw the original trilogy first? That is hypocrisy.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BobB.Sep 27, 2006
Okay, it wasn't the best, but it did include lots of things which were absent in Episode 3. The droids didn't run away from battle like un-trained civilians, they marched steadily forward, like a droid is supposed to. Also, the pod Okay, it wasn't the best, but it did include lots of things which were absent in Episode 3. The droids didn't run away from battle like un-trained civilians, they marched steadily forward, like a droid is supposed to. Also, the pod racing scene wasn't too shabby, either. All of this included with the best lightsaber duel in the series makes this movie very much worth watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Apr 27, 2007
When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the destroyer droids rolling into action and the Darth Maul battle at the end? Yes it isn't as good as the originals but IMO it's more than good enough to sit alongside them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TelimaktarMay 23, 2008
Till today I can watch this movie over and over again just like the rest of its family. Thank you George Lucas for this works of art.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
YashSMar 17, 2009
Darth Maul and Qui-Gon-Jinn are the BEST Obi-Wan went crazy at the final battle scene That was the best battle scene of the series I hate that Darth Maul died He is so cool Same with Qui-Gon Everything else was okay
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
mikekMay 27, 2009
I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of the clones..the darth maul is one of the best lightsaber duels in all the movies it was a sin the amount of time he got in the film after all the publicity it was an upset but what we get is great and qui gon was quite possibly the best performance in the whoel prequal trilogy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
KipJun 14, 2009
By far the weakest of the Star Wars episodes. It only gets a 6 because it is Star Wars. Jar Jar Binks is perhaps the most annoying character ever created. Remove him and cut 80% of that damn pod race and I'd give it 7.5, maybe even an 8.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
The first of the three Star Wars prequels. The story and character development are mediocre, making this a considerable downgrade from the original Star Wars movies, but on the good side the special effects add more depth to battle scenes andThe first of the three Star Wars prequels. The story and character development are mediocre, making this a considerable downgrade from the original Star Wars movies, but on the good side the special effects add more depth to battle scenes and make them all the more impressive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
leofromthedarkDec 27, 2016
To this day still of the more beautiful movies I've watched, a true escape from reality. I've always viewed this as the Renaissance of Star Wars. People have often criticised the dialogue as 'wooden' but I think George did a great jobTo this day still of the more beautiful movies I've watched, a true escape from reality. I've always viewed this as the Renaissance of Star Wars. People have often criticised the dialogue as 'wooden' but I think George did a great job extinguishing it from the previous entries. Boasting an excellent soundtrack and iconic battle between Darth Maul, Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan Kenobi. Only cons I can say about this movie would the heavy feature of Jar-Jar in it, though I don't mind the character, felt a bit too much at times. The podrace always dragged on a bit and was a bit of bore. Despite that, Phantom Menace will always remain a classic and mainstay on my shelf as the years go by. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DoritoDoggo77Oct 12, 2017
Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa WeesaMeesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa Meesa Weesa... never gets old 10/10! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
gdiego135Dec 5, 2015
I know a lot of people hated the star wars prequels, because of overuse of cgi, But i still love them as equally as the the originals. this movie does have it's flaws but it's not a horrible movie actually i find more interesting than theI know a lot of people hated the star wars prequels, because of overuse of cgi, But i still love them as equally as the the originals. this movie does have it's flaws but it's not a horrible movie actually i find more interesting than the original because there's more color, in "a new hope" it was mostly in spaceships or tatooine so it's either all grey or orange, this movie makes star wars a lot more colorful, and the lightsaber battles are way better then they were in the originals, in the older films it looked friggin ridiculous in the prequels they made them badass. This movie is not horrible, but's not a masterpiece either, some of the acting is wooden but still worth watching because it's STAR WARS for crying out loud. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
9
GlennL.Nov 11, 2009
Excellent film which starts the prequel series of the Star Wars Trilogy.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
4
cowbell31Feb 5, 2012
When people say this movie is good, they can't back themselves up with the story, only with the effects. The movie continuously adds on to the characters character, we always question their decisions, and don't understand why anyone doesn'tWhen people say this movie is good, they can't back themselves up with the story, only with the effects. The movie continuously adds on to the characters character, we always question their decisions, and don't understand why anyone doesn't act like a normal person. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
anthonymurphy29Jan 10, 2017
Although The Phantom Menace hasn't received much praise from critics or fans alike, it nevertheless keeps alive the unique vibe or feeling of the Original trilogy while introducing new worlds and characters, as well as the neverseen beforeAlthough The Phantom Menace hasn't received much praise from critics or fans alike, it nevertheless keeps alive the unique vibe or feeling of the Original trilogy while introducing new worlds and characters, as well as the neverseen before political dynamic of the Republic. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
Jailhouse_McGeeJan 8, 2013
Okay, let's face it: If episode I would have been the first star wars movie, there would not have been a episode II. If the only (good) thing everybody remembers about a movie are some eye-candy scenes (and I am talking of course about theOkay, let's face it: If episode I would have been the first star wars movie, there would not have been a episode II. If the only (good) thing everybody remembers about a movie are some eye-candy scenes (and I am talking of course about the pod race and the double light sabre duel), you know your movie is in trouble, because it fails on all other levels: storytelling, character development, acting, pacing and tone. This movie feels like a well-calculated commercial product that should deliver to all audiences, but it's all about a shiny surface and nothing beyond that. And let's not forget about Jarjar, the most annoying character ever to be put in a movie. Expand
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
7
DukeJonApr 7, 2016
Yes, this film had Jar Jar Binks and annoying little Anakin. But look again; it also had Darth Maul, Qui Go Jin, an epic pod race, a huge land and space battle, epic light-sabre combat, a great score, and lots of original ideas (unlike theYes, this film had Jar Jar Binks and annoying little Anakin. But look again; it also had Darth Maul, Qui Go Jin, an epic pod race, a huge land and space battle, epic light-sabre combat, a great score, and lots of original ideas (unlike the recent "Force Awakens", which was just a rehash of bits of the original trilogy). For me this is a much better film than people give it credit for, and was unfortunately very much a victim of its own hype when it was released. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
Holds a special place in my list as the first movie I can remember seeing in a theatre with my father. It's a good movie, but the prequel trilogy is no comparison to the original films.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
FormicSapienApr 6, 2012
Alongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previousAlongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previous films. Lucas wanted to go beyond what he did before, when people were expecting the same. People wanted a movie that had some happy character development that reinforced their happy little lives, but they got way more than that, and all it did was piss them all off.

Episode I has high political commentary including the nature of politics and warfare, nearly unmatched special effects, depth of world and lore that only great sci-fi's have, and much more. Next time you want to not like this movie, really consider if it's based on what your friends say or how you felt while watching the movie.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
Yes it does have impressive action and visual effects to spare, but Star Wars: The Phantom Menace fails to match the original trilogy's unique blend of characters, moments and scale.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
KyleM.Dec 22, 2005
This is the best star wars ever. a terrifc beginning to the saga. a little predictable but u dont even notice it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
6
TokyochuchuApr 28, 2013
Despite all the fanboy hate, Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace was a decent sci-fi adventure film. There are some impressive scenes like the pod race and the climactic light-saber duel. The political maneuvering of Palpatine is alsoDespite all the fanboy hate, Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace was a decent sci-fi adventure film. There are some impressive scenes like the pod race and the climactic light-saber duel. The political maneuvering of Palpatine is also fun to watch. The movie is overlong, though, and slips in to tedium now and again. Still, nowhere near a bad movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
J42HmusicDec 9, 2011
If you loved the original trilogy, prepare to be shocked by the disaster that is 'Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace.' Bad acting and an annoying Jar Jar Binks cause excited Star Wars fans to lose the will to live when watching thisIf you loved the original trilogy, prepare to be shocked by the disaster that is 'Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace.' Bad acting and an annoying Jar Jar Binks cause excited Star Wars fans to lose the will to live when watching this film. Despite the messiness of the film, it is not a bad film as such, and I recommend you watch it before judging it by its lack of originality. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
davenbettridgeOct 14, 2011
Metachlorines, Jar Jar Binks, Jake Lloyd, under developed characters, over reliance on special effects, awkward story pacing and weak acting - there will never be another movie more anticipated to then be so disappointing. Critics who claimMetachlorines, Jar Jar Binks, Jake Lloyd, under developed characters, over reliance on special effects, awkward story pacing and weak acting - there will never be another movie more anticipated to then be so disappointing. Critics who claim that there isnt some 'entertainment value' in this movie are not being honest but the Phantom Menace is mediocre, is the biggest missed opportunity in movie history, and people who think its a good movie are uncritically minded fan boys. With the privilege of making a movie comes the responsibility of making a good one, a responsibility to which has George failed. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Oct 21, 2011
The Star Wars saga according to many a fan took a lot of hits with this instalment but in my opinion it took more from the Return of the Jedi (a overly long, preachy pile of hogwash). Phantom of the Menace is entertaining to say the least andThe Star Wars saga according to many a fan took a lot of hits with this instalment but in my opinion it took more from the Return of the Jedi (a overly long, preachy pile of hogwash). Phantom of the Menace is entertaining to say the least and while it doesnâ Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 16, 2011
It may feel stretched out too long and the story may not be too powerful compared to episodes IV, V, and VI, but it still does have a strong tale to tell.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
dharmaJun 9, 2012
The Phantom Menace is one of the worst movie in the whole Star Wars saga. It has uneven pacing, wooden acting, weird screen play; on the other hand, it has some of the best set pieces in the whole saga. Lucas seems to be paying more attentionThe Phantom Menace is one of the worst movie in the whole Star Wars saga. It has uneven pacing, wooden acting, weird screen play; on the other hand, it has some of the best set pieces in the whole saga. Lucas seems to be paying more attention to ILM compared to his actors and it really shows. I still watch it regularly from time to time, but it shows how the master is starting to get left behind in the type of films (blockbuster movies) that he 'created' more than thirty years ago. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
Im a Star Wars fan from since the beginning and in my opinion George Lucas should have let Episode I been were it was before ... in a drawer! But we cant go backwards in time so Im writing a review for this. For a movie on its own its aIm a Star Wars fan from since the beginning and in my opinion George Lucas should have let Episode I been were it was before ... in a drawer! But we cant go backwards in time so Im writing a review for this. For a movie on its own its a medium done work. The acting is good and for its time the special effects are good as well. The plot is important for the Star Wars Saga but all the rest is rubbish. Its way to much a kids movie - cant even try to mess with the originals. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews