Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 19, 1999
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1025 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
462
Mixed:
372
Negative:
191
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
3
VincentV.Sep 28, 2008
Dear George, the story was okay, just okay, but the very boring race, jar jar binks and the failed tries to be funny just made it a long annoying movie...
16 of 21 users found this helpful
10
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
George Lucas's epic masterpiece before the dark times.
22 of 68 users found this helpful2246
All this user's reviews
5
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
Jar-Jar Binks didn't bother me that much. The attempts at comedy were pretty rough though as was the rest of the script. But this movie had some incredible moments. The bad acting couldn't destroy all the genius battles and other entertainingJar-Jar Binks didn't bother me that much. The attempts at comedy were pretty rough though as was the rest of the script. But this movie had some incredible moments. The bad acting couldn't destroy all the genius battles and other entertaining sequences such as the podrace Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
YellowKirbyDec 12, 2015
Ugh... this movie basically is all about the visuals. There's absolutely NO story whatsoever. It has too many CGI characters, and no REAL characters. Some of the acting is wooden, Darth Maul is only in it for like, ten seconds and there's aUgh... this movie basically is all about the visuals. There's absolutely NO story whatsoever. It has too many CGI characters, and no REAL characters. Some of the acting is wooden, Darth Maul is only in it for like, ten seconds and there's a really, really, REALLY long and boring race. Absolutely terrible. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
BitBurnOct 8, 2004
Liam Neeson's performance saved the day! And that baddie Darth Maul is wicked cool!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
CameronS.Mar 3, 2004
Episode I: The Phantom Menace is a grand display of visuals, and the first chapter in which Lucas lost sight of what was great about Star Wars. Episode I is by no means a great film, and now it is almost painful to watch it. Once Jar Jar Episode I: The Phantom Menace is a grand display of visuals, and the first chapter in which Lucas lost sight of what was great about Star Wars. Episode I is by no means a great film, and now it is almost painful to watch it. Once Jar Jar Binks appears, it just grows annoying. However, the visuals on the screen and the noises of the soundtrack are greatly appealing. While today, Episode I seems fairly mediocre, especially when being compared to the original trilogy. However, I saw it way too many times in theatres and home video not to reccomend it. I don't plan on watching it until it gets a grand 2005 IMAX release, when it can be seen the right way, not analyze with inanities. The film is slightly inferior to Attack of the Clones, which is nearly just as painful. It was fun when it came out, and it's painful now that it's old. The Phantom Edit is much better, I strongly reccomend downloading it in all its shortened glory. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
feliped.Apr 24, 2005
In the middle of the movie i was bored. but after that it was an action pack. this is a true star wars movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
LoganA.Apr 6, 2005
I'll be brutally honest, this is the worst Star Wars installment of the series. That said, it is still a decent movie. The acting may not be stellar in all respects, but once again, THIS IS STAR WARS. IT IS IN A DIFFERENT TIME AND I'll be brutally honest, this is the worst Star Wars installment of the series. That said, it is still a decent movie. The acting may not be stellar in all respects, but once again, THIS IS STAR WARS. IT IS IN A DIFFERENT TIME AND GALAXY. Besides, Liam Neeson, Ewan Mcgregor, and Natalie Portman did good jobs for what they were required to do. And asking everyone to give a "Castaway" Oscar nominated peformance is absurd. I know that's not what people said specifically, but I'm growing tired of ill-tempered imbociles comparing everything to an overtly critical scale of judgement when reviewing movies that weren't meant to be a typical film. This movie did what it was supposed to do; set up the series for the next episodes. I think it does a decent job of that. And in the end, "Duel of the Fates" is possibly one of the best lightsaber duels of all time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
IanEMay 25, 2005
This movie is not the best star wars movie, but the lightsaber duels and overall performance doesn't deserve all the 0's 2's and 3's that this movie is getting, it gets an 8 from me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
BobB.Sep 27, 2006
Okay, it wasn't the best, but it did include lots of things which were absent in Episode 3. The droids didn't run away from battle like un-trained civilians, they marched steadily forward, like a droid is supposed to. Also, the pod Okay, it wasn't the best, but it did include lots of things which were absent in Episode 3. The droids didn't run away from battle like un-trained civilians, they marched steadily forward, like a droid is supposed to. Also, the pod racing scene wasn't too shabby, either. All of this included with the best lightsaber duel in the series makes this movie very much worth watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Apr 27, 2007
When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the destroyer droids rolling into action and the Darth Maul battle at the end? Yes it isn't as good as the originals but IMO it's more than good enough to sit alongside them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TelimaktarMay 23, 2008
Till today I can watch this movie over and over again just like the rest of its family. Thank you George Lucas for this works of art.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
YashSMar 17, 2009
Darth Maul and Qui-Gon-Jinn are the BEST Obi-Wan went crazy at the final battle scene That was the best battle scene of the series I hate that Darth Maul died He is so cool Same with Qui-Gon Everything else was okay
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
mikekMay 27, 2009
I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of the clones..the darth maul is one of the best lightsaber duels in all the movies it was a sin the amount of time he got in the film after all the publicity it was an upset but what we get is great and qui gon was quite possibly the best performance in the whoel prequal trilogy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
GilbertNov 17, 2002
Not a bad movie in and of itself...no worse than "okay"...but not much better either. Neat idea - the fall of the Republic, the rise of the Empire, galaxy tumbling into a World of Sh.t - but poor execution. In fact, such poor execution that Not a bad movie in and of itself...no worse than "okay"...but not much better either. Neat idea - the fall of the Republic, the rise of the Empire, galaxy tumbling into a World of Sh.t - but poor execution. In fact, such poor execution that I have no idea what's going on. At all. It smacks of extended-toy-advert, with precious little film to hide it, unlike the other three. Especially the pod race: what the hell is the point in spending ten damn minutes on it? And that sub-Disney commentator arsehole! Why didn't someone beat him to death? And what, ANAKIN made C3PO? When he was a kid? Heck as like he did! Still, good preformances from Leeson (I mean Neeson), and Ewan, Portman and McDiarmid. Great design for the senate. Jar Jar Binks isn't really much more irritating than, say, the Ewoks, or those little jabbering desert twats from the first movie. Look, 7 out of ten is about what it deserves. It's got some great bits, but an equal number of crappy bits, and a hefty majority of average bits. It's one of the most average films ever made, and, since it must sit next to three of the best ever made (well, two of the best and a great one) makes it look sh.tty. Cemented George's (undeserved) reputation as a "hack". Hello? A New Hope and Empire Strikes Back (and Jedi) still exist, you damn ingrates! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
SimonD.Jun 26, 2003
To my surprise, I find that this film improves with each re-watching. OK, I wait to fast forward through the pointless journey from the Gungan city to Naboo's capital every time, but otherwise, this film is fun. It's not profound, To my surprise, I find that this film improves with each re-watching. OK, I wait to fast forward through the pointless journey from the Gungan city to Naboo's capital every time, but otherwise, this film is fun. It's not profound, or sharp, and Jar Jar is every bit as annoying as ever. But if you can accept this as a film for kids, you can perhaps let your inner kind enjoy it. A great performance by Liam Neeson, a good performance by a young Ewan MacGregor, and some spectacualr action scenes carry viewers through the slow parts. Also of note is John Williams' score, featuring a good deal of original music that serves to enhance the film. Watch this. Bring a kid. Make some popcorn, It's not the origianl Star Wars, but it's not half bad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewMAug 31, 2004
I am astounded that so many people were disappointed by this movie...seriously folks, surely you weren't expecting new re-creations of the first three!?! (Episodes 4-6) By that I mean new stories, of course, but given the same I am astounded that so many people were disappointed by this movie...seriously folks, surely you weren't expecting new re-creations of the first three!?! (Episodes 4-6) By that I mean new stories, of course, but given the same filmmaking treatment and methods as with the early films. For a start, they were made two decades ago - and in those 20 years since, technology (not just filmmaking) has changed dramatically. That alone should suggest that The Phantom Menace was always going to be somewhat unique amongst the Star Wars chronicles. At least until the sequels came out anyway. Secondly, the plot and most of the characters are totally new. This ain't the same time and place that Ep's 4-6 were set - how could the movie possibly feel the same? Anyway, I'm just a little confounded why so many people (including friends of mine) were expecting the impossible. Now, what did I think of this film? I liked it. I liked it a lot! Actually, I don't think Lucas could have done much more in opening the trilogy, than what he's done here. The script is not the strong point, but it never is in these films. It is however typically and appropriately storybook-style and it more than adequately illustrates the story. The characters are fascinating - though I too found Binks more than a little annoying - and the production sets are undeniably Lucas-worthy. It's a magnificent feat this film, and is truly up to Lucas's usual standards. What I like most about it, as is the case with all the Star Wars films, is that it is incessantly replayable. Plus, you will get more out of it each time. That's value for money! The film plays half an hour shorter than its' length and for me that is always a sign of an enjoyable film. And this is an immensely enjoyable one! Bring on the sequels! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
SamJun 16, 2005
A huge dissapointment. Lame acting, they kill 2 of the 3 cool characters (Qui-Gon and Darth Maul) and i wish Anakin wasn't Anakin so they could kill the little dorky bastard. However, it's got great action scenes though, and the A huge dissapointment. Lame acting, they kill 2 of the 3 cool characters (Qui-Gon and Darth Maul) and i wish Anakin wasn't Anakin so they could kill the little dorky bastard. However, it's got great action scenes though, and the pod-race was one of the most thrilling star wars scenes ever, but they could've used more of them. I hope Lucas remakes this one and number 2, which rumor has he will, but all he really needed to do was redo the dialouge and acting, that's it. Do it George, do it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TonydannieJun 17, 2005
I can't believe How much this movie is hated so. Granted it is not the best of the Star Wars films. And Jar jar is Annoying,But not as annoying as those pesky ewoks. Once you get pass all of that the movie is a great ride. This is I can't believe How much this movie is hated so. Granted it is not the best of the Star Wars films. And Jar jar is Annoying,But not as annoying as those pesky ewoks. Once you get pass all of that the movie is a great ride. This is suppose to be the first chapter of a biggier story. It sets everything for the other films. Palpatines plans. The Sith Urge for revenge. And The Relationship of Anakin and wife to be Padme. As well as his Relationship with Obi-wan. The Visual Effects are expectacullar. And the Music Soars when it should. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
KipJun 14, 2009
By far the weakest of the Star Wars episodes. It only gets a 6 because it is Star Wars. Jar Jar Binks is perhaps the most annoying character ever created. Remove him and cut 80% of that damn pod race and I'd give it 7.5, maybe even an 8.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
The first of the three Star Wars prequels. The story and character development are mediocre, making this a considerable downgrade from the original Star Wars movies, but on the good side the special effects add more depth to battle scenes andThe first of the three Star Wars prequels. The story and character development are mediocre, making this a considerable downgrade from the original Star Wars movies, but on the good side the special effects add more depth to battle scenes and make them all the more impressive. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
ReubenIsAGodDec 16, 2015
Really bad film, probably oneofthe worst films ive ever seen. Bad dialog,annoying chara ters. **** even watch he prequls . dont watch it, tis **** 101
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
gdiego135Dec 5, 2015
I know a lot of people hated the star wars prequels, because of overuse of cgi, But i still love them as equally as the the originals. this movie does have it's flaws but it's not a horrible movie actually i find more interesting than theI know a lot of people hated the star wars prequels, because of overuse of cgi, But i still love them as equally as the the originals. this movie does have it's flaws but it's not a horrible movie actually i find more interesting than the original because there's more color, in "a new hope" it was mostly in spaceships or tatooine so it's either all grey or orange, this movie makes star wars a lot more colorful, and the lightsaber battles are way better then they were in the originals, in the older films it looked friggin ridiculous in the prequels they made them badass. This movie is not horrible, but's not a masterpiece either, some of the acting is wooden but still worth watching because it's STAR WARS for crying out loud. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
GlennL.Nov 11, 2009
Excellent film which starts the prequel series of the Star Wars Trilogy.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
4
BrandonBonaseraDec 15, 2015
Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace, though having impressive art design, a fantastic score by John Williams, and an entertaining sequence or two, is a subpar first instalment in the prequel trilogy that is tainted by poor CG (despiteStar Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace, though having impressive art design, a fantastic score by John Williams, and an entertaining sequence or two, is a subpar first instalment in the prequel trilogy that is tainted by poor CG (despite some practical effects), a tonally confused and incoherent script, bad dialogue and performances, poor pacing, and lazy, half-hearted direction. This film might please some members of the audience, but die-hard fans will be left devastated at the missed opportunity that was this film. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
Yes it does have impressive action and visual effects to spare, but Star Wars: The Phantom Menace fails to match the original trilogy's unique blend of characters, moments and scale.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
Jailhouse_McGeeJan 8, 2013
Okay, let's face it: If episode I would have been the first star wars movie, there would not have been a episode II. If the only (good) thing everybody remembers about a movie are some eye-candy scenes (and I am talking of course about theOkay, let's face it: If episode I would have been the first star wars movie, there would not have been a episode II. If the only (good) thing everybody remembers about a movie are some eye-candy scenes (and I am talking of course about the pod race and the double light sabre duel), you know your movie is in trouble, because it fails on all other levels: storytelling, character development, acting, pacing and tone. This movie feels like a well-calculated commercial product that should deliver to all audiences, but it's all about a shiny surface and nothing beyond that. And let's not forget about Jarjar, the most annoying character ever to be put in a movie. Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
4
cowbell31Feb 5, 2012
When people say this movie is good, they can't back themselves up with the story, only with the effects. The movie continuously adds on to the characters character, we always question their decisions, and don't understand why anyone doesn'tWhen people say this movie is good, they can't back themselves up with the story, only with the effects. The movie continuously adds on to the characters character, we always question their decisions, and don't understand why anyone doesn't act like a normal person. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
3
MoviebuffreviewJun 19, 2011
The reboot or return to the widely successful and acclaimed Star Wars saga was disappointing in just about every way. With the exception of the Ewan McGregor and Liam Nesson, the acting was underwhelming, the dialogue made me barf in myThe reboot or return to the widely successful and acclaimed Star Wars saga was disappointing in just about every way. With the exception of the Ewan McGregor and Liam Nesson, the acting was underwhelming, the dialogue made me barf in my mouth, the pacing was awkward and often slow, and the villains were not only unclear and underdeveloped, but lacked the threat and power that Darth Vader and the emperor had in the original trilogy. The ending was a little better, with some solid action, and throughout there were some decent effects, but many of the actions scenes had no real weight to them and felt like they were there just for the sake of being there. Episode I is disappointing, boring, and not worth your time if you are a Star Wars fan. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
WhiteTalpaDec 6, 2012
Problems: Death mauls death (should have kept him alive.), Jar Jar Binks (awful character), two pointless battles. Bad attempt at trying to funny.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
cjohnson596Dec 27, 2013
George Lucas dumped all over this travesty of a movie. How can you not compare it to the original Star Wars episodes 4, 5, and 6? And in comparison I cannot sit through this entire movie and watch the painful train-wreck that it is. LikeGeorge Lucas dumped all over this travesty of a movie. How can you not compare it to the original Star Wars episodes 4, 5, and 6? And in comparison I cannot sit through this entire movie and watch the painful train-wreck that it is. Like watching a computer generated video game that frequently throws miserable one-liner humor at you. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
IntroduceJun 15, 2014
Everyone knows it,
Anyone who pardons e1PM is simply in server denial,
It will always be known as one of the great
disasters in cinematic history.
Sad but oh so true.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
BenHazeldenJan 23, 2015
This is a fantastic thriller fantasy action adventure! Please watch, much good. Experience incredibly developed characters - like Jar Jar Binks (my favourite). A cold hearted thriller.
0/10 - Ben Hazelden
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
UrbanlistenerJan 12, 2016
While not being a terrible film, the first installment in Lucas' prequels just leaves audiences with an empty stomach. There is a lot to love in the film, cool characters, Darth Maul, good action sequences and a lot of eye candy (for 1999).While not being a terrible film, the first installment in Lucas' prequels just leaves audiences with an empty stomach. There is a lot to love in the film, cool characters, Darth Maul, good action sequences and a lot of eye candy (for 1999). But there is also a lot to hate, not a lot of substance, some bad acting (Anakin), some bad and awkward dialogue, terrible characters like Jar Jar Binks and effects while ok for 1999 that look extremely bad today. But if you love Star Wars, it is definitely watchable and enjoyable, most of the time. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
MarkS.Jul 2, 2003
Before seating myself in the theatre to watch this highly anticipated prequel, I had already accepted the fact that it wouldn't have the same effect on me as Star Wars did when I was 5 years old. It's simply impossible -- a notion Before seating myself in the theatre to watch this highly anticipated prequel, I had already accepted the fact that it wouldn't have the same effect on me as Star Wars did when I was 5 years old. It's simply impossible -- a notion that many die-hard fans (who would later turn out to be the movie's harshest critics) were reluctant to entertain. The Phantom Menace isn't perfect. In some places it's shockingly lax, but it's not the complete disaster that many would have you think. There's a lot going for it -- Liam Neeson steals the show as Qui Gon Jin, the cinematography and special effects are occasionally breathtaking, the sound design is faultless and John Williams is clearly enjoying himself where the score's concerned. The film's major set pieces, particularly the pod race and the three-way Jedi duel are everything that good Star Wars should be. Naturally, there are also problems. Jake Lloyd is terribly miscast as Anakin, Jar Jar is a commendable CGI experiment but a dramatic albatross, the Trade Federation droids are too goofy and the screenplay itself is horribly unbalanced, needlessly overcomplex and in desperate need of a dialogue overhaul. Despite these shortcomings, The Phantom Menace still manages to entertain, expand the Star Wars mythology and set up the characters for the next two movies. It's just a shame that George Lucas wasn't willing to place his trust in another director to help realise his vision (Steven Spielberg was up for it -- with his keen eye for structure, a Darabont script polish and Haley Joel Osment on board as Anakin, this would have been the jaw-dropping, heart-breaking 10 out of 10 spectacular that everyone wanted). The Phantom Menace remains merely an enjoyable hi-tech matinee romp, which is good enough by any other standards, but we can't help but wish George Lucas had turned off his targeting computer and used the Force instead. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RobCJan 12, 2005
Due to the bad rap this movie has, i'll sequence this review in sections. I'll state a common complain and answer, explaining why this is a great film. ---The dialouge is too formal/proper!---- This is a different time period. It Due to the bad rap this movie has, i'll sequence this review in sections. I'll state a common complain and answer, explaining why this is a great film. ---The dialouge is too formal/proper!---- This is a different time period. It is before the fall of the Rebublic. A different time has a different dialect. (Do really think people are goning to be say fer-shizzle in 30 years?) ----The CGI ruins it!---- This topic angers me! If it had rubber puppets and strings on the ships, than the movie would be laughed out of the theaters. Were in the computer age, get used to it. ----The acting was bad!---- IT IS A MOVIE ABOUT ANOTHER GALAXY! IF YOU ARE CONCERNED ABOUT THE ACTING, YOU DONT GET IT!!! ----It was too long!---- And Titanic wasn't? ----Jar Jar is a disgrace!---- Yeah, he should die. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
KyleM.Dec 22, 2005
This is the best star wars ever. a terrifc beginning to the saga. a little predictable but u dont even notice it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
ArkonBladeMar 13, 2011
i loved the original trilogy and was so excited to see the new trilogy. it opens pretty good and i had a good feeling ... and then jar jar binks shows up and the horror starts . he can only be found humorous by 5 year olds any one older theni loved the original trilogy and was so excited to see the new trilogy. it opens pretty good and i had a good feeling ... and then jar jar binks shows up and the horror starts . he can only be found humorous by 5 year olds any one older then that will be preying dath maul takes his head off ASAP. it only keeps heading down hill after that. then we get to meet a young anikin skywalker and who ever this kid is who did his acting was horrendous and i dont put it all on this kid i give most of the blame to lucas who directed this mess. lucas pretty much abandoned one of the key features that made most of us love star wars so much . that being charicters we liked and rooted for . in this one there is no one outside of maybe obi wan and qui gon who i remotly thought where ok. lucus focases all his energy on special effects and nothing els . which yes do look good when i am not cursing jar jar and aniken. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
HomeCriticMay 23, 2014
An awful mess that shouldn't have been made in the first place...
Great actors wasted, plot that makes no bloody sense, unlikable bland characters that are completely unrelatable and **** JAR JAR. BINKS. Do I need to add more?..
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
TokyochuchuApr 28, 2013
Despite all the fanboy hate, Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace was a decent sci-fi adventure film. There are some impressive scenes like the pod race and the climactic light-saber duel. The political maneuvering of Palpatine is alsoDespite all the fanboy hate, Star Wars: Episode I The Phantom Menace was a decent sci-fi adventure film. There are some impressive scenes like the pod race and the climactic light-saber duel. The political maneuvering of Palpatine is also fun to watch. The movie is overlong, though, and slips in to tedium now and again. Still, nowhere near a bad movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
J42HmusicDec 9, 2011
If you loved the original trilogy, prepare to be shocked by the disaster that is 'Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace.' Bad acting and an annoying Jar Jar Binks cause excited Star Wars fans to lose the will to live when watching thisIf you loved the original trilogy, prepare to be shocked by the disaster that is 'Star Wars Episode 1: The Phantom Menace.' Bad acting and an annoying Jar Jar Binks cause excited Star Wars fans to lose the will to live when watching this film. Despite the messiness of the film, it is not a bad film as such, and I recommend you watch it before judging it by its lack of originality. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
I was extremely disappointed. There was too much CGI and not enough story. Although the series was always conceived to have a trilogy prior to the trilogy, you would think it was written, acted and directed just to make some more money.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
davenbettridgeOct 14, 2011
Metachlorines, Jar Jar Binks, Jake Lloyd, under developed characters, over reliance on special effects, awkward story pacing and weak acting - there will never be another movie more anticipated to then be so disappointing. Critics who claimMetachlorines, Jar Jar Binks, Jake Lloyd, under developed characters, over reliance on special effects, awkward story pacing and weak acting - there will never be another movie more anticipated to then be so disappointing. Critics who claim that there isnt some 'entertainment value' in this movie are not being honest but the Phantom Menace is mediocre, is the biggest missed opportunity in movie history, and people who think its a good movie are uncritically minded fan boys. With the privilege of making a movie comes the responsibility of making a good one, a responsibility to which has George failed. Collapse
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
hoops2448Oct 21, 2011
The Star Wars saga according to many a fan took a lot of hits with this instalment but in my opinion it took more from the Return of the Jedi (a overly long, preachy pile of hogwash). Phantom of the Menace is entertaining to say the least andThe Star Wars saga according to many a fan took a lot of hits with this instalment but in my opinion it took more from the Return of the Jedi (a overly long, preachy pile of hogwash). Phantom of the Menace is entertaining to say the least and while it doesnâ Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
dharmaJun 9, 2012
The Phantom Menace is one of the worst movie in the whole Star Wars saga. It has uneven pacing, wooden acting, weird screen play; on the other hand, it has some of the best set pieces in the whole saga. Lucas seems to be paying more attentionThe Phantom Menace is one of the worst movie in the whole Star Wars saga. It has uneven pacing, wooden acting, weird screen play; on the other hand, it has some of the best set pieces in the whole saga. Lucas seems to be paying more attention to ILM compared to his actors and it really shows. I still watch it regularly from time to time, but it shows how the master is starting to get left behind in the type of films (blockbuster movies) that he 'created' more than thirty years ago. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
JaySupertrampFeb 6, 2012
Im a Star Wars fan from since the beginning and in my opinion George Lucas should have let Episode I been were it was before ... in a drawer! But we cant go backwards in time so Im writing a review for this. For a movie on its own its aIm a Star Wars fan from since the beginning and in my opinion George Lucas should have let Episode I been were it was before ... in a drawer! But we cant go backwards in time so Im writing a review for this. For a movie on its own its a medium done work. The acting is good and for its time the special effects are good as well. The plot is important for the Star Wars Saga but all the rest is rubbish. Its way to much a kids movie - cant even try to mess with the originals. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Phantom Menace is easily the worst of the six Star Wars films, but is it really as bad as everyone says? No, it's not. They're all just pissed they had to wait 15 years to see it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
jyzmanMar 8, 2013
Not as good as the prequel trilogy, but this film is far more enjoyable than Attack Of The Clones. The Podrace was the highlight of the film, and the lightsaber battle at the end was good as well. Some of the film is a bit predictable and theNot as good as the prequel trilogy, but this film is far more enjoyable than Attack Of The Clones. The Podrace was the highlight of the film, and the lightsaber battle at the end was good as well. Some of the film is a bit predictable and the jokes a bit, and Jar Jar is very annoying, but the movie is still enjoyable. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
CiaranBohanApr 21, 2014
While living up to the brilliance of the revolutionary original trilogy could not be expected. The first instalment of Lucas's 'Prequel Trilogy' really sets the tone for how low star wars would sink. This tale, unlike the first three,While living up to the brilliance of the revolutionary original trilogy could not be expected. The first instalment of Lucas's 'Prequel Trilogy' really sets the tone for how low star wars would sink. This tale, unlike the first three, contains a story no human could understand and fails at its job to keep even the hardest of fans from shedding a tear at what star wars has become. The only reason I have rated the movie above 1/10 is simply due to John Williams once again incredible score, with 'Dual of the Fates' being a soundtrack masterpiece. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
Star Wars I: the Phantom Menace is abysmally structured. I'm honestly having a very very hard time figuring out where all three Acts begin and end. Perhaps, it was meant to be that way. One can ask, is that ambitious or flawed? I vote forStar Wars I: the Phantom Menace is abysmally structured. I'm honestly having a very very hard time figuring out where all three Acts begin and end. Perhaps, it was meant to be that way. One can ask, is that ambitious or flawed? I vote for flawed. Not simply because I feel Lucas severely lacks the writing capabilities to write an abstract narrative but also because it's nothing like an abstract narrative. The problems start right from the opening shots and this is a problem in all the Star Wars movies. It starts off with backstory, with lines of narrative, scrolling up as John Williams' soundtrack plays along, serving as exposition for the upcoming events. Why couldn't they create a quick montage - a series of rapidly edited shots or just a basic sequence of still photos or simply start off before that. The entire purpose of film is to convey a story through the wonderful language of images. And when Lucas throws narrative at us, just as it appears in the script, let's just say it's a very underwhelming opening. Terrence Malick was able to briefly portray evolutionary progression and natural selection from the most elementary to the most multiplex of creatures, all in about 20 minutes in the Tree of Life. Lucas was asked to carry no such burden.Ewan McGregor is a decent actor but his role is so poorly written in the movie. For the most part, his job consists of 3 basic exercises. He walks alongside Liam Neeson stating the obvious, he looks up when he enters rooms and he keeps questioning Liam Neeson's "high intellectual Jedi converse" so that Liam Neeson can start explaining the plot. The entire Jedi counsel exists so that Lucas' characters can sit around and explain the plot to the audience. Jar Jar Binks may be the most annoying character I've ever had to witness on screen. But there are so many versions of him in this movie. It's intolerable.
Since, all of us have already seen Lucas' pantomime 1977 original, we should all agree that he's the master of oversimplification. The characters are all so black and white. There's not a single character even remotely leaning towards the second dimension. And in fact, this is a problem with all the Star Wars movies. They all show us distinctly, which characters are good and which characters are evil but none of them tell us why. In fact several movies like Apocalypse Now, Rashomon, Taxi Driver and in more recent years, Pans Labyrinth and the Dark Knight, have explored this idea of the relativity of morality so brilliantly. But of course Lucas doesn't bother with interesting objectives of that sort. The entire "dark side of the force should rule the galaxy" is as cliched as it gets. How many movies have been made where the bad guys want to take over the world? Too many to count.
But the part where I began to despise it, was the last 45 mins, which was literally jam-packed with mind-numbing CGI action. I found it amusing that Lucas thought he had the ability to juggle multiple story lines (rather I should just use action sequences instead of storyline) from the "epic" battle between the droids and Jar Jar's, to Anakin's random "attempts" to destroy the "what-ever the hell that was" all accompanied by a triumvirate lightsaber dual between Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor with the man with the double ended light sabre. And then on top of all that, we have the dialogue. Now this is something that I am infuriated by. Lucas' writing skills are pre-school. A 10 year old could write better lines of dialogue and convey more emotion. Greeting Cards have exuded more passion than Lucas' raw use of words. It's as bad as I've ever seen (and that's not in any way an exaggerated statement).
The Phantom Menace is a disgrace to everything that contributed to the world of cinema and it opened the door for several other mindless action movies. It's over-filled with computer imagery and is completely hollow within. There's no psychology, no philosophy, basically no ideas in it whatsoever. It's the work of a machine rather than an artist and it was as entertaining as filling out your Income Tax forms. It may be appealing to adolescent boys who grew up with those characters but to me this is just a sad money making practice targeted at a series run out of control.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
Nakan22Jun 30, 2014
George Lucas ruined star wars with this terribleGeorge Lucas ruined star wars with this terrible film......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
LaGuertaFeb 26, 2013
Jar Jar, midi-chlorians, droids, The Trade Federation, C3PO built by Darth Vader are just a few reasons why I have a mirror shatteringly bad feeling about this.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
8
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
Holds a special place in my list as the first movie I can remember seeing in a theatre with my father. It's a good movie, but the prequel trilogy is no comparison to the original films.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
FormicSapienApr 6, 2012
Alongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previousAlongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previous films. Lucas wanted to go beyond what he did before, when people were expecting the same. People wanted a movie that had some happy character development that reinforced their happy little lives, but they got way more than that, and all it did was piss them all off.

Episode I has high political commentary including the nature of politics and warfare, nearly unmatched special effects, depth of world and lore that only great sci-fi's have, and much more. Next time you want to not like this movie, really consider if it's based on what your friends say or how you felt while watching the movie.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
AaronWasserman2May 3, 2014
Pathetic and down right embarressing. it barely gets a 4 just for effects, music, and some cool fights. aside from that this movie is BAD. Most people do not count it as part of the saga
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
PrincessZenaJan 10, 2016
I liked this movie, even though the acting could have been better. Darth Maul is a real badass, loved the Duel of the Fates. Compared to TFA it's a masterpiece.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"The Phantom Menace" is a decent movie that I would overall recommend only to those obsessed with the franchise because the film is a explanation film that connects what happened before the age of Luke, not amazing CGI or powerful quotes like"The Phantom Menace" is a decent movie that I would overall recommend only to those obsessed with the franchise because the film is a explanation film that connects what happened before the age of Luke, not amazing CGI or powerful quotes like the other ones did. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
10
asylumspadezNov 21, 2011
IMO the best Star Wars film. I thought it was great from start to finish. The acting was good, The story was far more interesting this time around as well.
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
2
ReviewerMan44Jul 1, 2011
The Phantom Menace takes away from everything the original Star Wars films were all about. A good story, likable and relatable characters, a universe that drawed you in, and good acting. The Phantom Menace (one of the most hyped andThe Phantom Menace takes away from everything the original Star Wars films were all about. A good story, likable and relatable characters, a universe that drawed you in, and good acting. The Phantom Menace (one of the most hyped and anticipated films of all time) manages to do almost none of these, trying to please our minds with childish humor, bright colors, and silly, ridiculous characters. *Hint* Jar-Jar Binks is one of the worst characters ever created in any movie...ever. The other problems arise with some utterly horrible character development and acting in general. Liam Neeson leads the cast as the strongest but still stumbles and falls here and there. Natalie Portman comes over as likable, but we never get to know her character enough to even care. The same goes for the new villain, Darth Maul, who would have been better if we had learned a bit of his backstory. Obi-Wan is played by Ewan McGregor, who fails on all fronts and just gives a bland impression. Lastly Anakin Skywalker just...well he's a kid, and he's an actor with a decent future but just comes across as though he is reading the script in front of him. Overall Phatnom Menace is a disaster and the worst Star Wars yet. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 25, 2012
classic.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
3
Longbottom94Apr 27, 2013
The Phantom Menace may be one of the biggest cinematic disappointments of all time. Although it would have been almost impossible for this film to live up to the ridiculously high expectations that the fanboy's had but upon it, the finalThe Phantom Menace may be one of the biggest cinematic disappointments of all time. Although it would have been almost impossible for this film to live up to the ridiculously high expectations that the fanboy's had but upon it, the final product is so monstrously dull it has unearned the dubious honor of one of the worsts films I have seen. Although the pod race and final duel scenes were quite enjoyable, I can't shake the feeling that the only reason they stand out is because of the awfulness that surrounds the picture. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
tonyGreenJun 17, 2011
Incoherent, dull. No characterization. clunky dialog. Headache-inducing overly busy CGI. If the original Star Wars movies had never been made this would be a forgotten cult movie watched merely for the lulz.â
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
dellamorteMay 10, 2011
I was one of the original SW fans who camped outside the multiplex up to a year before The Phantom Menace opened in May 1999. Fair enough this was the Odeon in Manchester, England (and not Sunny California), but hey at least I can say I wasI was one of the original SW fans who camped outside the multiplex up to a year before The Phantom Menace opened in May 1999. Fair enough this was the Odeon in Manchester, England (and not Sunny California), but hey at least I can say I was there, with the tramps and junkies, in the rain, mud and urine and semen... Yep a great time to be homeless it was. Anyway when the police finally told me the cinemas restraining order against me was no longer enforceable I went straight in to see this movie. And what a movie it was. First off I was really happy it had the original trilogy's opening (and closing) credits. I was also glad it was set in outer space, just like the other films. I was also glad they decided to re-use the original John Williams theme and not go for some rubbish modern pop music. As for the rest of the film, the acting across the board was on the whole cleverly under stated, with occasional moments of over statement. The length of the film was about average. Meanwhile the title of the film proved to be no where near as bad as other potential film titles such as: â Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
oxward321May 10, 2011
The Phantom Menace is an UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE!!!!!

"The Phantom Menace" WOW! The audience went ape s-(well you know the rest) every time I saw it. I couldn't get it out of my head, I read the novel 3 times (after I seen the film) that
The Phantom Menace is an UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE!!!!!


"The Phantom Menace" WOW! The audience went ape s-(well you know the rest) every time I saw it. I couldn't get it out of my head, I read the novel 3 times (after I seen the film) that summer, as well as the screenplay. Man I love this film, and the more I see it the more I love it. Qui-Gon, Darth Maul and Watto three of my top ten favorite characters. 8 times between May and Dec. of '99, and every time I seen it the crowd cheered, and at the end erupted in applauds. It was cool, very cool. For me I didn't want to see a rehash of ANH, and what I got was a new twist to and old universe. I was pleasantly surprised by the out come, of all three prequels.

To this day I still LOVE this movie. It's just gets better and better!
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
heloheApr 20, 2015
Utterly and completely disappointing. So much CGI has been crammed into this movie that it makes your eyes hurt from watching it. Everything looks fake. There is no charm no emotions as they have been to the original trilogy. The plot is justUtterly and completely disappointing. So much CGI has been crammed into this movie that it makes your eyes hurt from watching it. Everything looks fake. There is no charm no emotions as they have been to the original trilogy. The plot is just boring and lame, all characters are annoying and forgettable. The boy playing Anakin is just an awfully terrible actor. If you compare it to other young actors (see Game of Thrones) you will notice that at least with a somehow decent acting choice some part of the movie could have still been saved.
But then there is this terrible terrible Jar-Jar CGI abomination. It fails at everything, it fails at humor, it fails at having any benefit to the movie.
While the old trilogy had a clear story line, some very memorable scenes and characters. This has nothing. I can't remember a single scene that was interesting or that I liked.
George Lucas should have better listened to his advisors instead of trying to do everything himself.
I know he is a big fan of modern computer imagery / CGI and so on. It does not really make the movie any better. It actually makes it much worse. The carefully crafted models used in the old trilogy look way more realistic and better even after many many years.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
CottleJan 19, 2012
This film broke my star wars loving heart. I totally agree with this movie critic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxKtZmQgxrI . The 50 minute long roast of this scar on the star wars universe is by far more enjoyable than the movie.
Only
This film broke my star wars loving heart. I totally agree with this movie critic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxKtZmQgxrI . The 50 minute long roast of this scar on the star wars universe is by far more enjoyable than the movie.
Only redeeming feature was Darth Maul who was without a doubt the most interesting character.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
MetanarMay 21, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far from being a successor to the original trilogy, 'The Phantom Menace' (what were they thinking?) is boring, nonsensical and would, in fact, have been better if they had just gone all out with it being a child's cartoon so there was no implication that adults who enjoyed the original films were meant to enjoy this trash. It's clear this is meant to appeal to kids; you've got Jar Jar providing unfunny slapstick, an annoying brat who has no idea what's going on and somehow magically figures out how to pilot a ship in the end to save the day and simple one dimensional characters that any adult would recognise as cardboard cut outs of people. I don't think there's a single likeable character in this film. Obi-wan is whiny and does nothing for the whole film, Qui-Gon is just a flat boring character, Padme is similarly devoid of character, Jar Jar is a cartoon character and Anakin is just an annoying kid. The sure-fire best way to ruin the character of the fearsome Darth Vader was to make a new film that showed him to be a stupid kid who says "BOOM- they blow you UP!".

The plot doesn't make any damn sense, the characters are just awful and after watching this I'm left feeling like I just banged my head against a wall for half an hour because I feel about 50 IQ points dumber.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
smashbro1999Mar 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The locations and scenery are beautiful and exotic; the extremely well-done overall design of each planet and the specific places we are taken to is proof of that. From the lush and delectable beauty of Naboo to the vast and overwhelming city-planet of Coruscant, the environments are simply wonderful to behold. I simply don't understand why the use of CGI in the film is ridiculed as it is-CGI is something created by humans, just like animatronics-I don't believe CGI is "less human" than animatronics. The CGI enhances the visual quality of the environment and the characters that are CGI; this was what CGI was created to do, after all. The action sequences are amazing to behold, especially in the film's 20-minute climax; the pacing was perfect-the quick cuts between the three major conflicts matched the intense, fast-paced style of the battle-George Lucas' mastery in the visual arts was evident in the film. The symbolism and mythology-a Star Wars hallmark-is still a force to be reckoned with. Darth Maul's image, the duality in characters like Palpatine, and the symbiosis between prevalent organizations are all compelling, as well as the character types. Speaking of characters, I enjoyed Qui-Gon, Obi-Wan, Padmé, and Anakin. I was interested by each of their journeys, and where they began and ended. I cared about them, as well; they weren't "wooden" and "boring," and nor were the performances behind them. The writing was good-not written by a 5-year-old-Lucas kept me interested in the characters and the story. I liked the politics involved in the story, as I am very interested in politics. The pacing for the story was good, as well. The supposed "plot-holes" are easily explained and/or easily ignored, and are more like nit-picks than actual criticism. I realize the problems both certain fans and critics alike have with this film-I understand their criticisms, but, to me, they either hold no water, or aren't significant enough to undermine the film, as I see it. I thought at least some of Jar-Jar Binks' antics were funny; he didn't annoy me, and I'm willing to bet he didn't annoy most of the kids who watched the film. Not only was Jar-Jar a character for kids, but he represents a "wise fool" in the film. Additionally, I hope people realize that this film isn't "universally hated;" look at this site-62% of fans gave this film a 3.5/5, and 57% of critics, just 3 points under "fresh" status, gave the film a positive review. All in all, Star Wars: Episode I: The Phantom Menace is an excellent film, and a more than worthy beginning to the saga; if you haven't seen it already, it is at least worth watching once. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
igorgaviDec 27, 2015
"Star Wars: The Phantom Menace was the most disappointing thing since my son[...]And while my son eventually hanged himself in the bathroom of a gas station, the unfortunate reality of the Star Wars prequels is that they'll be around."Star Wars: The Phantom Menace was the most disappointing thing since my son[...]And while my son eventually hanged himself in the bathroom of a gas station, the unfortunate reality of the Star Wars prequels is that they'll be around. Forever." - Plinkett, Harry Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
JoanG.May 23, 2005
Usually, if I see a very bad movie a second time, it seems not quite so awful because my expectations are so low. Not so with Phantom Menance: This was such an abomination that, catching it a second time on TV, I was horrified to discover Usually, if I see a very bad movie a second time, it seems not quite so awful because my expectations are so low. Not so with Phantom Menance: This was such an abomination that, catching it a second time on TV, I was horrified to discover that it stank in many more ways than I had remembered. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
2
LarsC.Dec 8, 2003
I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had heard some bad buzz about the film before I saw it, I tried to keep my expectations at a rational level. Unfortunately, it sill managed to disappoint terribly. The effects, while good in theory, had no life to them, and many looked less real than even the corniest rubber puppet in the Mos Eisley cantina. I really tried to like this movie, I tried to convince myself that I had just bought into the hype machine. However, no matter how I analyzed it, I found it to be a colossal train wreck that shames the good name of Star Wars. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
PsychoStarWarsGuyJul 30, 2003
This was an insult to the cinematic experience of the original Star Wars movies. I wanted to like this but c'mon, Jar Jar? What the f*ck is that? really this movie made me cringe. Shame on you George Lucas. Damn shame.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
NeilSApr 7, 2006
This film is what Lord of the Rings would have been if it had been filmed in a parking lot rather than New Zealand.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
KatherineFeb 25, 2007
Horrible. It was hard enough to get through the Jar Jar Binks crap. And the kid is the worst actor I have ever seen. George could have done waaaaay better then this.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
SalmonpieSep 29, 2011
I just watched this for the first time since the theatre in 1999 and have to admit to rather enjoying. Back when it was released, I felt the same as nearly everyone else did but now, with 12 years and not a lot of thought about the Star WarsI just watched this for the first time since the theatre in 1999 and have to admit to rather enjoying. Back when it was released, I felt the same as nearly everyone else did but now, with 12 years and not a lot of thought about the Star Wars universe until the Bluray edition came out. I can say, this isn't as bad as I remember or as most people say. Its a children's film that a lot of adults spent way to much time getting upset about, take it for what it is and you can enjoy it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
DukeJonApr 7, 2016
Yes, this film had Jar Jar Binks and annoying little Anakin. But look again; it also had Darth Maul, Qui Go Jin, an epic pod race, a huge land and space battle, epic light-sabre combat, a great score, and lots of original ideas (unlike theYes, this film had Jar Jar Binks and annoying little Anakin. But look again; it also had Darth Maul, Qui Go Jin, an epic pod race, a huge land and space battle, epic light-sabre combat, a great score, and lots of original ideas (unlike the recent "Force Awakens", which was just a rehash of bits of the original trilogy). For me this is a much better film than people give it credit for, and was unfortunately very much a victim of its own hype when it was released. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
MarkKJan 9, 2009
A good story told at a slow pace. The stereotypical characters and boring fights don't help it either. Still good fun though.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
[Anonymous]Jun 29, 2005
This one wasn't very deep, but at least the visuals blow you away. Jar Jar wasn't intolerable to me, but it's irriitating how Lucas misses so many opportunities to explore and develop Anakin Skywalker. His ambition to be a This one wasn't very deep, but at least the visuals blow you away. Jar Jar wasn't intolerable to me, but it's irriitating how Lucas misses so many opportunities to explore and develop Anakin Skywalker. His ambition to be a podracer, to rise above his limits, his decision to take flight and fight hte federation battle ships, all those could've been used to develop him, but they weren't. If Lucas focused much more on developing anakin, this film could've been something greater, much greater. Overall, not so much a star wars film as a decent sci-fi film, good to look at, but marred by too many lost opportunities. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
AlexG.Apr 15, 2008
Not bad, quite enjoyable, and actually quite a humorous and light movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
kittyJul 8, 2008
This is how I rate the new Star Wars movies; The Phantom Menace- I can live with background, overall entertaining. Attack of the clones- still entertaining, starting to go down a little here. Revenge of the Sith- People, what happened! Wake This is how I rate the new Star Wars movies; The Phantom Menace- I can live with background, overall entertaining. Attack of the clones- still entertaining, starting to go down a little here. Revenge of the Sith- People, what happened! Wake up and start being creative here! And while you're at it re-write the script! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
RickJ.G.Oct 1, 2002
The movie's visual delights more than make up for its shortcomings. Yeah, not the most inspired screenplay and the parting of mother and son is dreadfully downplayed. I liked Neeson as Qui-Gon and I thought the saber battles were The movie's visual delights more than make up for its shortcomings. Yeah, not the most inspired screenplay and the parting of mother and son is dreadfully downplayed. I liked Neeson as Qui-Gon and I thought the saber battles were wonderfully choregraphed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
PaulM.Mar 16, 2003
A good movie and exciting, but Jar Jar kills the show. Liam Neeson and Ewan MCgregor are good as Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan. But there is no Harrison Ford, a person that gives the movie a more laid back type style movie. It's all too serious A good movie and exciting, but Jar Jar kills the show. Liam Neeson and Ewan MCgregor are good as Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan. But there is no Harrison Ford, a person that gives the movie a more laid back type style movie. It's all too serious (besides Jar Jar but he's just plain gay) for it's own good. The "duel of the fates" fight is the best lightsaber fight in all the movies combined, and the podrace was very exciting, but at the end you feel like they left out something, but you don't know exactly what. Like a foot without a big toe.(hahaha) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
YoonC.Sep 21, 2003
Horrible as sci-fi epic. Passable as self-mocking slapstick comedy. JarJar Binks is annoying but funny. Has some cool sabers duel scenes. Beautiful Portman outshines any expensive CGI effect. The kid is like Dennis the Phantom Menace.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
LarsC.Dec 8, 2003
I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had heard some bad buzz about the film before I saw it, I tried to keep my expectations at a rational level. Unfortunately, it sill managed to disappoint terribly. The effects, while good in theory, had no life to them, and many looked less real than even the corniest rubber puppet in the Mos Eisley cantina. I really tried to like this movie, I tried to convince myself that I had just bought into the hype machine. However, no matter how I analyzed it, I found it to be a colossal train wreck that shames the good name of Star Wars. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
4
Syn_againSep 28, 2010
The only reason this movie is not a 3 or lower is simply due to the fact that an interesting character - Darth Maul was introduced. Aside from this there are no good takeaways from this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ZilcellNov 16, 2011
It may feel stretched out too long and the story may not be too powerful compared to episodes IV, V, and VI, but it still does have a strong tale to tell.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Voodoo123Jun 13, 2014
For me this is the perfect family action film. All of George lucas' film making led to this point where lucasfilm could seemlessly integrate the first full screen cg character jar jar. I love jar jar! I love the complex political plot thisFor me this is the perfect family action film. All of George lucas' film making led to this point where lucasfilm could seemlessly integrate the first full screen cg character jar jar. I love jar jar! I love the complex political plot this new trilogy enabled and anyone who takes issue with jar jar need only look at mordern animated film like despicable me to see how forward thinking that character design was. The perfect example of a perfect cinematic 'ride' encapsulating everything previous star wars worked to show at a digestable pace wrapped in high art. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
OpinionatedGuyAug 13, 2015
While not as bad as what people say about this movie, Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menance still however suffers from an interesting plot that fails to be engaging enough.

Rating: 7.5/10 Pros: +Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor are the
While not as bad as what people say about this movie, Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menance still however suffers from an interesting plot that fails to be engaging enough.

Rating: 7.5/10

Pros:
+Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor are the best parts of the movie.
+The special effects in this movie looks really impressive for a movie released at its time.
+The podracing scene took me on the edge of my seat.
+The Jedi battle scene makes me feel like I want to be a Jedi Knight!

Neutral:
.The plot is very interesting. However, it’s not engaging enough as it feels like it’s more of a set up for the next two movies of the prequel trilogy of Star Wars.

Cons:
-The acting of young Anakin Skywalker. Just terrible. It’s really hard to root for Anakin Skywalker because of this.
-Jar Jar Binks went from an interesting character to the most annoying character real quick. His comic relief humor is just terrible and unnecessary.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Duskycarp116Oct 2, 2015
There is a lot of hate for this and in my opinion it doesn't. It hasn't age well but it's still badass watching those fight scene and shows how much they improve since the older episodes. The story doesn't deserve any awards but itsThere is a lot of hate for this and in my opinion it doesn't. It hasn't age well but it's still badass watching those fight scene and shows how much they improve since the older episodes. The story doesn't deserve any awards but its enjoyable. I can go on and on but that's all I have to say about this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
anakin_padme4evMar 7, 2016
STAR WARS THE PHANTOM MENACE IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE MY FAVORITE SCENE IS WHEN THEY TALK ABOUT MEDICHLORINES AND ALSO THE THE AWESOME LIGHTSABER FIGHTS THERES EVEN THAT GUY WITH THE PURBLE LIGHTSABER BUT I DONT THINK HES IN THIS ONE THESTAR WARS THE PHANTOM MENACE IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE MY FAVORITE SCENE IS WHEN THEY TALK ABOUT MEDICHLORINES AND ALSO THE THE AWESOME LIGHTSABER FIGHTS THERES EVEN THAT GUY WITH THE PURBLE LIGHTSABER BUT I DONT THINK HES IN THIS ONE THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN ANAKIN AND HIS GF PANDME IS SO SAD BUT REALLY WELL WRITTEN GEORGE LUCAS IS BRILLIANT BUT HE SHOULD OF HAD MORE JAR JARB INKS THEY WERE REALLY FUNNY I LAUGHED SO HAD WHEN HE WAS SPEAKING IN HIS VOICE OMG I ALMOST FORGOTT ABOU THE POD RACING SCENE THAT WASEVEN BITTER THEN THE CHRISTMAS SPECIAL MY FAVORITE PART OF THE MOVIE WAS WHEN ALL THE GONGANS FIGHT THE ROBOTS IN THE BLUE DOME THING THIS MOVIE IS A CLASSIC AND THE HATERS ARE JUST JEALUS OF GEORGE LUCAS BECAUSE HE'S RICH AND FU NNY AND HE DISCOVERED STAR WARS AND THEY ARE JUST DUMB HATERS THIS MOVIE IS SO GOOD ITS EVEN GOOD THAN IDIANA JONES AND THE KINGDOM OF THE CRYSTAL SKULL i like all caps because it makes my words louder so ill type this in lower case so i can post it Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
JurassicWookieNov 7, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. as Mr. Plinkett says "This Movie SUUUCKS!" Special Effects look up Jar Jar Binks Then you can talk to me about BAD Special Effects..............Spoilers IT SUCKS! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
L.M.Jan 25, 2010
My score may be a bit biased for it being my first Star Wars in theaters but I still find it to be a great ride to this very day. The story's pace needed some tweaking but there was some great times where you knew the magic was there My score may be a bit biased for it being my first Star Wars in theaters but I still find it to be a great ride to this very day. The story's pace needed some tweaking but there was some great times where you knew the magic was there although some disappointments hurt the movie as well (Jar Jar isn't the bane of SW but not great either). Many great new characters to see and some old ones with new faces as well. Don't let the critics smearing this movie fool you, Phantom Menace is a great spectacle to behold but it does have a few blaring faults. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful
10
ThroneBenderMay 21, 2012
Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate. Awesome movie, haters gonna hate.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
CyberPunkFeb 13, 2012
Why George Lucas? Why? Way to completely ruin the backstory to Star Wars with these awful prequel films. Yes, every single one is bad. Each film lacks a decent plot, lacks good characters, and lacks any emotional involvement that made theWhy George Lucas? Why? Way to completely ruin the backstory to Star Wars with these awful prequel films. Yes, every single one is bad. Each film lacks a decent plot, lacks good characters, and lacks any emotional involvement that made the original films so great. If you think these movies are good, then I suggest you go on to Youtube and type in "Red Letter Media" and watch their in depth reviews of these terrible films. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeDec 25, 2015
The only dialogs and characters 'The Craptom Menace' successfully did manage to deliver are the droid's. The rest are awful as they are **** But this **** is what I grew up to love and still does (somewhat).

In the end of the past
The only dialogs and characters 'The Craptom Menace' successfully did manage to deliver are the droid's. The rest are awful as they are **** But this **** is what I grew up to love and still does (somewhat).

In the end of the past millennium came several big blockbusters that eventually changed the movie industry. The CGI-era was introduced with several big blockbusters like 'Jurassic Park' and 'Independence Day'. But in 1999; 'Star Wars' was back and it arrived with glamorous effects that was way ahead of its time. But was the man named George Lucas still up for the job? Fans of the original films were disappointed and still are, even though it's been more than 15 years since. But it still managed to inspire a new generation of fans, like myself, to this universe that takes place in a galaxy far away.

Today; I'm still not sure if this is a somewhat good or a bad movie. I grew up with this space-opera and it still got a place in my heart. 'Star Wars: The Phantom Menace’ is still a movie full of stupid and hilarious flaws. The plot isn't simple, thats a big flaw right there. It's not that subtle, it keeps going, and it therefore often is very unpredictable (which is a good thing). But much of the story is vaguely written. Add a stupid amount of plot-holes and tonnes of silliness too; then you got this flick. George Lucas got a great feel for adding stupid and non-important subplots that just do more harm than good. The cool and entertaining podrace is one example. This is 'Star Wars', and I’m watching a race. Not a race to death but as in sport. Sure it’s the story of Anakin Skywalker and we see him in his younger age as a skilled and powerful pilot, but it’s still a race. Is this really a prequel to the 'Star Wars' George Lucas once invented? As mentioned; it’s a very messy and high-paced flick, which is noticeable near the third act. We see events take place on the ground, up in space and so on. The story is so spread out on different characters that no emotion nor empathy to them get’s real. Other disturbing aspects with the plot are the stupid and illogical decisions many characters keeps making over and over. It doesn't make anything better that many of the dialogs are expressed when the characters are sitting down, talking and debating; rather than during intense moments like what we saw in ’The Empire Strikes Back’.

The center of the film isn’t on one specific character and because of that; the whole movie is more of a ’previously’ than an origin story. ’The Phantom Menace’ should have been so much better if the center of the plot was on one character and one alone, and then develop and focus a great story on that specific individual. Not to add more non-important ones like Jar Jar Binks. Our main characters are on the other hand very well presented, and a very good performance from Liam Neeson! Nathalie Portman however; is very one-dimensional and dry with her dialogs. When it comes to the characters, are there not that much depth nor backstory to them. We don't really know that much about them and they don't impress that much if you must compare to the original films. The plot is as mentioned very high-paced, which I’ve grown up to love with its space-opera and action. But it might be a ”too plot centered” movie. There's no time to get to know our characters nor get to understand them. Our main protagonist Darth Maul is another example. He’s a very cool and badass villain, but how much do we know about him? How much does he say -- he’s just a baddie.

One aspect of these prequel-films are the incredibly forced moments where characters must show their emotion and what they see and think; through dialogs. Many dialogs are unnecessary, we know stuff, but they say it anyway. Look at the main protagonist and antagonists when they are confronting each other; how much interaction do they have on an emotional level? Do they really interact?

This was supposed to be the origin story of legendary characters like Darth Vader and Obi-wan Kenobi, but is it? It’s definitely a movie of many flaws, but it still got some positivity. I’ve always loved all the action, space-opera, battles, sound effects, music, cinematography and of course the overall adventures of the main antagonists. The main lead from Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan are somewhat solid but of course not that deep or relatable. The CGI are on the other hand very mind-blowing for a movie that came out over 15 years ago. I’ve always loved this movie, and I still do. Yes, I'm overly entertained by a ****ty movie that shouldn't be okay to like at all. But this was my first entry to the galaxy far away, and it still got a place in my heart. But it still is a pretty awful movie from a critical viewpoint; with horrible dialogs, one-dimensional characters and a very vague story. Add childish humor with fart and poop jokes and too-many-to-mention accidental save the day-moments; welcome to ’The Craptom Menace’.

Personal rating: 78/100
Critical rating: 42/100
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 28, 2011
Let me say a few things: 1. I love this movie just as much as the other five movies. 2. I actually like Jar Jar Binks. 3. I actually find the concept of midichlorians interesting. 4. I didn't think there was too much CGI, but rather, it wasLet me say a few things: 1. I love this movie just as much as the other five movies. 2. I actually like Jar Jar Binks. 3. I actually find the concept of midichlorians interesting. 4. I didn't think there was too much CGI, but rather, it was just the right amount. 5. I actually took interest in the Senate scene. 6. I didn't think there was a problem with Anakin being called "Ani" considering he was nine years old in the movie. 7. Acting was just as good as in the original trilogy.

You haters offended? Good, because you don't deserve any respect.
Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerFeb 19, 2011
This is just as good as the entries in the original trilogy, it has an enjoyable plot and characters, and great actors, and really gives you a feeling of excitement for the rest of the trilogy, a must see for Star Wars fans.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
WinterfellJul 20, 2011
This one isn't only my favorite Star Wars film, it is my favorite movie of all time. I know, the story can be boring sometimes, Jar-Jar Binks and Anakin are annoying and many characters are useless, but at the time I watched it, in 1999, IThis one isn't only my favorite Star Wars film, it is my favorite movie of all time. I know, the story can be boring sometimes, Jar-Jar Binks and Anakin are annoying and many characters are useless, but at the time I watched it, in 1999, I had not seen any Star Wars before. Because of this, I watched every Star Wars the week after and became a great fan until... now. Fans of the first trilogy were disappointed, but I had nothing to be disppointed about. 10. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
JoshLuck1995Aug 2, 2014
Some may wonder why i have rated it so highly im comparison to the average user score, well its just because of my age, it was the first star wars film i watched and its always stuck in my head as the favourite, however i dont believe itsSome may wonder why i have rated it so highly im comparison to the average user score, well its just because of my age, it was the first star wars film i watched and its always stuck in my head as the favourite, however i dont believe its better than the older ones its just this is a special memory from my childhood and i really do rate this film highly. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
FrozZL.Mar 12, 2007
This is a memorable movie. I liked to see the franchise in a new way. Deeper and artisticly perfect. Darth Maul is one of my favorite villain.
1 of 3 users found this helpful