Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 19, 1999
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1329 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
591
Mixed:
513
Negative:
225
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
VincentV.Sep 28, 2008
Dear George, the story was okay, just okay, but the very boring race, jar jar binks and the failed tries to be funny just made it a long annoying movie...
16 of 21 users found this helpful
10
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
George Lucas's epic masterpiece before the dark times.
33 of 90 users found this helpful3357
All this user's reviews
10
SheidcraftApr 11, 2018
Easily my favorite Star Wars film. George Lucas' personal masterpiece that was everything a Star Wars film should be. Brilliant & emotional. Bombastic & subtle. Deep & Shining. While Revenge of the Sith may be a better film, this one shinesEasily my favorite Star Wars film. George Lucas' personal masterpiece that was everything a Star Wars film should be. Brilliant & emotional. Bombastic & subtle. Deep & Shining. While Revenge of the Sith may be a better film, this one shines to me personally. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JoseAngel47Feb 23, 2018
This movie does not deserve all the hate it gets. Its a fun joyride from beginning to end. Now this movie isn't perfect sure it has its problems which are just minor nitpicks. Seriously this movie is great go watch it
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
bishop04Mar 10, 2018
The Phantom Menace, the first story in the saga, is great at most parts. The pod race, light saber fights, music, and most of the story line. With a little less Jar Jar Binks, yes missa want to more of him, and politics, it is an enjoyableThe Phantom Menace, the first story in the saga, is great at most parts. The pod race, light saber fights, music, and most of the story line. With a little less Jar Jar Binks, yes missa want to more of him, and politics, it is an enjoyable film to watch. Every saga begins and The Phantom Menace deserves a 7/10. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
filmbuff96Mar 14, 2018
The films acting overall was great, despite a few young mistakes from young Anakin. Darth Maul stole the show, and its action made it, at least, a popcorn flick.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BobB.Sep 27, 2006
Okay, it wasn't the best, but it did include lots of things which were absent in Episode 3. The droids didn't run away from battle like un-trained civilians, they marched steadily forward, like a droid is supposed to. Also, the pod Okay, it wasn't the best, but it did include lots of things which were absent in Episode 3. The droids didn't run away from battle like un-trained civilians, they marched steadily forward, like a droid is supposed to. Also, the pod racing scene wasn't too shabby, either. All of this included with the best lightsaber duel in the series makes this movie very much worth watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PaulF.Apr 27, 2007
When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the When I first watched this I was about 16 and I have to admit that it blew me away at the time. It was a completely fresh aproach to the saga with cool enemies and set pieces. Who could forget the pod race, the first time you see the destroyer droids rolling into action and the Darth Maul battle at the end? Yes it isn't as good as the originals but IMO it's more than good enough to sit alongside them. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
TelimaktarMay 23, 2008
Till today I can watch this movie over and over again just like the rest of its family. Thank you George Lucas for this works of art.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
YashSMar 17, 2009
Darth Maul and Qui-Gon-Jinn are the BEST Obi-Wan went crazy at the final battle scene That was the best battle scene of the series I hate that Darth Maul died He is so cool Same with Qui-Gon Everything else was okay
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
mikekMay 27, 2009
I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of I remember the hype for this movie right after the special editions the new amazing character jar jar binks whom ended up hated by fans but whom i liked over the films anakin...other than that the movie was great....way better than attack of the clones..the darth maul is one of the best lightsaber duels in all the movies it was a sin the amount of time he got in the film after all the publicity it was an upset but what we get is great and qui gon was quite possibly the best performance in the whoel prequal trilogy. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
KipJun 14, 2009
By far the weakest of the Star Wars episodes. It only gets a 6 because it is Star Wars. Jar Jar Binks is perhaps the most annoying character ever created. Remove him and cut 80% of that damn pod race and I'd give it 7.5, maybe even an 8.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
JacobNov 28, 2015
The Phantom Menace is a great tech demo for what CGI and ILM can accomplish. Some of the worlds created with CGI are stunning. The vehicles all look and sound great. The moments where the visuals and sound take over like in the Podrace andThe Phantom Menace is a great tech demo for what CGI and ILM can accomplish. Some of the worlds created with CGI are stunning. The vehicles all look and sound great. The moments where the visuals and sound take over like in the Podrace and final dull are when the movie is fun and Podrace feels like Star Wars. Unfortunately, once the characters start talking the movie is terrible. The story is weak with poor pacing, low stakes, and no clear threat. None of the characters are interesting ranging from dull to annoying and all of which are underdeveloped given dull/cheesy dialogue. In short the movie is either dull or boring and for the most part doesn’t feel like Star Wars. I loved this film a lot as a kid but that time is long gone. Regardless of how bad The Force Awakens may end up being it can’t be any worse than this. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
PatrykGJun 9, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People say that the only way you can hate this movie is if you grew up with the originals and was hyped for The Phantom Menace in 1999...well let me tell you something. I was not even around when that film came out, I watched it for the first time in 2006, a day after seeing the original trilogy for the first time. Then I found out there was three more films, I thought that was weird, like they could have ended the series with three films but they made three more that were prequels. So before seeing Episode 1 for the first time I said to myself "Well this could go either way", so I watched it, with no knowledge of what the movie looks like, I only had a disc without a box, haven't seen any trailer or anything like that. So I'm watching this movie and I swear that I didn't understand a goddamn thing in it. Something about a senator (didn't know what that was) and a taxation (didn't know what that was), basically the only word I recognised from the opening crawl was "Jedi". Then stuff happens...blah blah blah...the Viceroy guy was like "This is impossible" when Qui Gon is cutting through the door (couldn't remember Qui Gon's name until years later) more political talk later, something about some treaty uh signing it will legalise THE INVASION OF AN ENTIRE PLANET?!! Whatever. They meet Jar Jar, who honestly I didn't find that annoying or funny I was just struggling to understand a single word he said...then after like 3 days the Trade Federation finally invade the Naboo...the jedi rescue the Queen, they go to tatooine, i was hoping that this would save the movie and it turns out that Tatooine is the worst part of this movie...nothing happens in it...Anakin was the most annoying character in the movie, and him building C3PO made turn off the movie and leave...but then I came back I had to finish this crap...stupid bet was made between Qui Gon and Watto (I still don't understand it) then the 10 minute race that felt like an hour, it's easily the most boring part of the movie it's not like Anakin used the force for the first time and won the race or anything like when Luke was the last one left to destroy the death star in the first film he was using the force for the first time, it wasn't trivial to the whole movie like the podrace scene was...then the mother just lets her son go just like that with some strangers they just met and yeah...but that's ok because he's eight years old and you don't make any mistakes at that age...then Coruscant...oh god...i can't continue but i will...some senate meeting about something, really do you think i cared anymore at this point? i gave up a long time ago...uh then the queen is like "I move for a vote of no confidence in Chancellor Valorum's leadership", and everyone's like "VOTE NOW VOTE NOW VOTE NOW" even though I was 7 then, I still knew that you can't get rid of someone with just one vote, how does this senate even work? That means anyone can just say this vote of no confidence and then they'll elect another one and that will happen to him and again a new guy and so on...Oh god the jedi scenes where they don't do anything but sit in chairs...whatever, SKIP!!! So then they go back to naboo, something uh happens blah blah then that devil guy shows up, yeah I'm sure he has a name, I'm just calling him devil guy, with the double bladed lightsaber, which i guess is supposed to compensate for his lack of character? So they fight him while like 3 other things are happening...BOOOOOOOOOOOOORIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIING!!! Some other things happen, Anakin blows up the ship by accident when all the naboo pilots couldn't do it...Qui Gon dies because Obi Wan keep up with the fight because some stupid red force shields were closing at any time Lucas wanted them to...uh yeah then Obi Wan kills devil guy and whatever, they burn his body, a parade happens and it's over...I honestly don't know what that was, but it wasn't a Star Wars film!!! I mean holy f*ck how do you not get more than one thing right about this series, it wasn't that difficult...the one good thing was the soundtrack, THAT'S IT!!! 3/10 Awful crap... Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
epiclucaSep 4, 2014
This film is a travesty. The first Star Wars release for over a decade and after the epic trilogy that is A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of The Jedi, you would expect this movie to be much better. In the age of advancedThis film is a travesty. The first Star Wars release for over a decade and after the epic trilogy that is A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of The Jedi, you would expect this movie to be much better. In the age of advanced special effects and storytelling, it's a shame that this movie turned out how it did. A mixture of bad CGI and unrealistic story points (Such as an 8 year old winning a pod race, after he breaks down and takes about 30 seconds to start up again) just to explain how he can get out of slavery. The writing is lazy, and it comes off more as a childs fantasy film, rife with happy colours and the awful mess that is Jar Jar Binks, a character who mispronounces words and is really the jester of the movie, less funny more sad. Sad that in this age of cinema, a film series as epic as Star Wars has to stoop down and dumb down to appeal to children. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
horcrux2007Nov 28, 2015
I suppose I should start calling this "Confessions of a Star Wars Virgin"... Anyway, I've finally come to the much-maligned prequel series and a movie that gets considerable hate, The Phantom Menace. Maybe because I don't esteem the Star WarsI suppose I should start calling this "Confessions of a Star Wars Virgin"... Anyway, I've finally come to the much-maligned prequel series and a movie that gets considerable hate, The Phantom Menace. Maybe because I don't esteem the Star Wars film as the greatest films of all time, or maybe I just have lower standards than most, but I found The Phantom Menace to be the most fun Star Wars movie yet. Yes, there are enormous flaws with Episode I, but like every other film in the series, the good moments don't just excuse the bad; they topple them. The Phantom Menace follows Jedi Knight Qui-God Jinn and his apprentice Obi-Wan Kenobi as they escort Queen Amidala on her travels to the planet Coruscant, hoping to find a peaceful end to an interplanetary trade dispute. They also encounter Anakin Skywalker, before he became a Jedi, who appears to have unusually strong powers of the Force. I was definitely surprised by how much I enjoyed the movie based on how much hate it has received. Being the first movie in a trilogy, The Phantom Menace is going to feature a lot of exposition and many seemingly stock characters. I would hope many of the plotlines and character arcs are continued in the next couple of movies because, but I have to at least give it the benefit of the doubt for now. The movie's good moments made me completely forget many of the bad ones that came before it. The pod race in particular was stunning as well as the final fight with Darth Maul; showing the Jedi in their prime made the lightsaber fights more fast-paced and exciting. Even though I enjoyed the movie, I can completely understand the hatred it has accumulated over the years. If I was a big fan of the original series, and I had to wait sixteen years for this, I would be pretty disappointed as well. Maybe being a Star Wars virgin allowed me to enjoy Episode I more than I should have, but, at least for me, The Phantom Menace was the most visually impressive and maybe even the most fun Star Wars movie yet by continuing to showcase the series' creativity and imagination. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
seventhbeaconDec 30, 2015
The only positive thing I can say about this movie is that it's better than "Attack of the Clones". Faint praise, I know, but apart from the terrible writing, ridiculous plot, and failed execution of filmmaking, there are still some amazingThe only positive thing I can say about this movie is that it's better than "Attack of the Clones". Faint praise, I know, but apart from the terrible writing, ridiculous plot, and failed execution of filmmaking, there are still some amazing musical and visual cues to be had. If only there was a way to mute the dialogue. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DBPirate1129Apr 25, 2015
SKIP TO THE END FOR REVIEW SUMMARY.

The Phantom Menace is a divisive film, to say the least. Fan expectations were extremely high in 1999 when the film was released. However, I'd say that it's by no means as bad as people think. The Phantom
SKIP TO THE END FOR REVIEW SUMMARY.

The Phantom Menace is a divisive film, to say the least. Fan expectations were extremely high in 1999 when the film was released. However, I'd say that it's by no means as bad as people think.

The Phantom Menace, the fourth Star Wars film but the first chronologically, follows Jedi Masters Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan Kenobi as they help Queen Amidala save her planet of Naboo from invasion. Along their adventure, they meet Anakin Skywalker, who Qui-Gon believes to be the prophesied Chosen One that will bring balance to the Force. While the film seems inconsequential at first glance, it proves to be a worthwhile addition to the saga.

There are a few awkward lines here and there, but I find that the movie's plot, soundtrack, action, and effects more than make up for it. Qui-Gon, who we follow for most of the movie, is a rogue and idealistic Jedi. About midway through the movie, we get to see the other members of the Jedi Order and it's interesting to see how Qui-Gon clashes with their beliefs. Jar Jar Binks' (the controversial comic relief in the film) presence in the movie has definitely been exaggerated over the years. He by no means ruins the movie and even serves the story well by helping to set up the ending battle sequence. And I'm sure that most of you know already that the famous lightsaber battle at the end of the movie is well worth seeing. The film also benefits from the chemistry between Qui-Gon (Liam Neeson), Shmi Skywalker (Pernilla August), and Anakin (Jake Lloyd).

I think that Star Wars fans today would really benefit from giving the prequels another go. They really aren't as bad as most people think. The Phantom Menace provides an engaging and interesting plot combined with some of the best action in the saga.

Review was redone ahead of The Last Jedi.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Tcurran2Dec 23, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film that is now synonymous with abject failure, Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace, is a monumental misstep from writer/director George Lucas. Though it possesses a great deal of visual imagination, Lucas's once epic space opera franchise is reduced to a complicated mess of a plot of taxation and trade federations. Devoid of any interesting characters, the only respite from this plodding affair comes in a final battle sequence between the horned villain Darth Maul (Ray Park), and our protagonists; Obi-Wan Kenobi (Ewan McGregor) and Qui-Gon Jinn (Liam Neeson). This sequence is also muddled, as Lucas cuts to three other events happening simultaneously, creating a tonally jarring climax whose execution even if perfect, could not have saved this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
timpfelFeb 10, 2018
The Phantom Menace has excellent prodction value (visuals, sound design, costumes..), great musical score, it also expands lore of the Star Wars universe (galactic republic, Jedi council, Sith) and has the best lightsaber duel of the sagaThe Phantom Menace has excellent prodction value (visuals, sound design, costumes..), great musical score, it also expands lore of the Star Wars universe (galactic republic, Jedi council, Sith) and has the best lightsaber duel of the saga (choreography-wise).

But it also suffers from annoying characters (Jar Jar, Anakin - should have been older), bad dialogue and some bad acting.

It still quite quite enjoyable.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
FilipeNetoFeb 23, 2018
This film, released more than ten years after the last film in the original trilogy, marks the start of the second Star Wars trilogy, a prequel to the original movies. It may even be considered that, if the first trilogy was the story of LukeThis film, released more than ten years after the last film in the original trilogy, marks the start of the second Star Wars trilogy, a prequel to the original movies. It may even be considered that, if the first trilogy was the story of Luke Skywalker, the second is the story of Darth Vader. In this film, directed and written by George Lucas, has the participation of Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor, Natalie Portman, Jake Lloyd, Ian McDiarmid, among other actors.

This is a film that seeks to begin a new trilogy but that's full of failures, with a single guilty: George Lucas. He made the script and the direction, but he seems so concerned about action and special effects that forgot everything else. The script is reasonable, the connection he makes with the previous films, although remote, is credible. However, it gives too much importance to things that don't matter (as the race where Anakin participates) and ignore events that, if they had been developed, would have made the film more interesting. This is the case of the Naboo's invasion, which should have been more dramatic, and Luke chose to observe coolly, from the Amidala's palace windows. Another flaw is the character's design. Lucas took all the emotional and psychological side, emptying them. There are even certain characters that shouldn't exist because they have no relevance, as Sebulba, a poor attempt to create a villain which is never threatening. The passion of Amidala and Anakin, who should have been intense and overwhelming, hardly goes beyond the exchange of glances, prudish and restrained, unable to move the audience. Its a film with plenty of action, but a huge emotional shyness, unable to make the audience shed a tear. The public sees and appreciates, but isn't attached to the characters. The most notable exception is Jar Jar, a humorous and well developed character, making the audience love him or hate him and leaving anyone indifferent. So, if by some chance the actors didn't seem to be particularly inspired in this film, we can blame Luke, as the actors did what was asked of them.

Action scenes and special effects deserve applause and are, truly, the great strong point of the film. The new technologies have enabled to make wonders apparently unbelievable at the time of the first film. The costumes, characterization and scenarios also deserve congratulations. The soundtrack wasn't particularly great but the editing and sound effects were at the highest level, leading to the Oscar nomination for Best Sound, Best Sound Effects and Best Visual Effects.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Sidious58Mar 8, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Un ottimo film con ottimi effetti speciali per l'epoca. Probabilmente è il film meno drammatico della saga data l'assenza di una guerra vera propria.Gli unici veri problemi sono una corsa degli sgusci tirata troppo per le lunghe e una battaglia su Naboo non troppo eccezionale Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
NolanLundgaardMay 11, 2018
Standing alone, Episode I is not a terrible film, with thrilling action scenes and (sometimes) enjoyable comic relief. That being said, it also has some terrible gags (cough Jar Jar cough) and the story is at times, choppy. Bottom line: AStanding alone, Episode I is not a terrible film, with thrilling action scenes and (sometimes) enjoyable comic relief. That being said, it also has some terrible gags (cough Jar Jar cough) and the story is at times, choppy. Bottom line: A little bit of a runt of the litter, The Phantom Menace unfortunately, does not live up to the greatness of its predecessors. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
gdiego135Dec 5, 2015
I know a lot of people hated the star wars prequels, because of overuse of cgi, But i still love them as equally as the the originals. this movie does have it's flaws but it's not a horrible movie actually i find more interesting than theI know a lot of people hated the star wars prequels, because of overuse of cgi, But i still love them as equally as the the originals. this movie does have it's flaws but it's not a horrible movie actually i find more interesting than the original because there's more color, in "a new hope" it was mostly in spaceships or tatooine so it's either all grey or orange, this movie makes star wars a lot more colorful, and the lightsaber battles are way better then they were in the originals, in the older films it looked friggin ridiculous in the prequels they made them badass. This movie is not horrible, but's not a masterpiece either, some of the acting is wooden but still worth watching because it's STAR WARS for crying out loud. Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
7
leofromthedarkDec 27, 2016
To this day still of the more beautiful movies I've watched, a true escape from reality. I've always viewed this as the Renaissance of Star Wars. People have often criticised the dialogue as 'wooden' but I think George did a great jobTo this day still of the more beautiful movies I've watched, a true escape from reality. I've always viewed this as the Renaissance of Star Wars. People have often criticised the dialogue as 'wooden' but I think George did a great job extinguishing it from the previous entries. Boasting an excellent soundtrack and iconic battle between Darth Maul, Qui-Gon Jinn and Obi-Wan Kenobi. Only cons I can say about this movie would the heavy feature of Jar-Jar in it, though I don't mind the character, felt a bit too much at times. The podrace always dragged on a bit and was a bit of bore. Despite that, Phantom Menace will always remain a classic and mainstay on my shelf as the years go by. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
7
Jollyjoe1000Dec 16, 2017
It is very forgettable and it is not fun for the most part. Especially Jar Jar Binks, but it is somewhat forgivable with the amazing darth maul battle and the pod racing, while everything else is forgettable.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
7
SantiDeisDec 16, 2017
Even if this movie isn't the best of the whole saga, George Lucas managed to tell a fantastic story about the beginning of Anakin Skywalker, accompanied with fantastic special and practical effects, great battles and an epic final duel withEven if this movie isn't the best of the whole saga, George Lucas managed to tell a fantastic story about the beginning of Anakin Skywalker, accompanied with fantastic special and practical effects, great battles and an epic final duel with the magic of Mr. Williams. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
GlennL.Nov 11, 2009
Excellent film which starts the prequel series of the Star Wars Trilogy.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
8
ZilcellNov 16, 2011
It may feel stretched out too long and the story may not be too powerful compared to episodes IV, V, and VI, but it still does have a strong tale to tell.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Movie-BuffDec 29, 2017
Easily my favorite Star Wars film. George Lucas' personal masterpiece that was everything a Star Wars film should be. Brilliant & emotional. Bombastic & subtle. Deep & Shining. While Revenge of the Sith may be a better film, this one shinesEasily my favorite Star Wars film. George Lucas' personal masterpiece that was everything a Star Wars film should be. Brilliant & emotional. Bombastic & subtle. Deep & Shining. While Revenge of the Sith may be a better film, this one shines to me personally. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
FormicSapienApr 6, 2012
Alongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previousAlongside seething anticipation and mountains of specific expectations for something this movie absolutely wasn't, people hated it. Lucas' problem was in make a movie in a franchise that wasn't comprised of 95% material presented in previous films. Lucas wanted to go beyond what he did before, when people were expecting the same. People wanted a movie that had some happy character development that reinforced their happy little lives, but they got way more than that, and all it did was piss them all off.

Episode I has high political commentary including the nature of politics and warfare, nearly unmatched special effects, depth of world and lore that only great sci-fi's have, and much more. Next time you want to not like this movie, really consider if it's based on what your friends say or how you felt while watching the movie.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
VulcanDec 24, 2017
I didnt like this movie much before, but compared to the roaring dumpster fire that is Episode 8, I think this movie was just miles better.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
JP32Jan 8, 2018
George Lucas' return to a galaxy far, far away is a triumph of creative vision. A movie that overcomes any and all of its narrative deficiencies through the pure drive of its creator to wow, thrill, and inspire.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
DatBoiSloth69Dec 14, 2017
It can be slow at times, with too much politics to be the best star wars, but it has one of the best duels in the series, and the climatic battle certainly lives up to expectations
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
Holds a special place in my list as the first movie I can remember seeing in a theatre with my father. It's a good movie, but the prequel trilogy is no comparison to the original films.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
PrincessZenaJan 10, 2016
I liked this movie, even though the acting could have been better. Darth Maul is a real badass, loved the Duel of the Fates. Compared to TFA it's a masterpiece.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
RETROBOTERDec 18, 2016
Star Wars Episode 1 gives a blast of a comeback to the former Movies after a break for more than 15 years.

The movie is great to watch, the world and the environments are well designed. The races living on the different planets looks
Star Wars Episode 1 gives a blast of a comeback to the former Movies after a break for more than 15 years.

The movie is great to watch, the world and the environments are well designed. The races living on the different planets looks awesome, like the special effects using in this +2 hours long masterpiece. One of the biggest wow moments is the pod race and the animated space, it feels so great. The new characters works perfect and the sound fx is eargasm like with Dolby 5.1 etc. nice job!
Well, if you are a Star Wars fan from begin, don´t vote bad , it´s unfair to give Episode 1 such a bad score, it´s a new kind of Star Wars (Anakin, Sith) with a lot good ideas that makes the movies unique, great comeback for fans, well done.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
3
Jailhouse_McGeeJan 8, 2013
Okay, let's face it: If episode I would have been the first star wars movie, there would not have been a episode II. If the only (good) thing everybody remembers about a movie are some eye-candy scenes (and I am talking of course about theOkay, let's face it: If episode I would have been the first star wars movie, there would not have been a episode II. If the only (good) thing everybody remembers about a movie are some eye-candy scenes (and I am talking of course about the pod race and the double light sabre duel), you know your movie is in trouble, because it fails on all other levels: storytelling, character development, acting, pacing and tone. This movie feels like a well-calculated commercial product that should deliver to all audiences, but it's all about a shiny surface and nothing beyond that. And let's not forget about Jarjar, the most annoying character ever to be put in a movie. Expand
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
10
oxward321May 10, 2011
The Phantom Menace is an UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE!!!!!

"The Phantom Menace" WOW! The audience went ape s-(well you know the rest) every time I saw it. I couldn't get it out of my head, I read the novel 3 times (after I seen the film) that
The Phantom Menace is an UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE!!!!!


"The Phantom Menace" WOW! The audience went ape s-(well you know the rest) every time I saw it. I couldn't get it out of my head, I read the novel 3 times (after I seen the film) that summer, as well as the screenplay. Man I love this film, and the more I see it the more I love it. Qui-Gon, Darth Maul and Watto three of my top ten favorite characters. 8 times between May and Dec. of '99, and every time I seen it the crowd cheered, and at the end erupted in applauds. It was cool, very cool. For me I didn't want to see a rehash of ANH, and what I got was a new twist to and old universe. I was pleasantly surprised by the out come, of all three prequels.

To this day I still LOVE this movie. It's just gets better and better!
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
smashbro1999Mar 19, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The locations and scenery are beautiful and exotic; the extremely well-done overall design of each planet and the specific places we are taken to is proof of that. From the lush and delectable beauty of Naboo to the vast and overwhelming city-planet of Coruscant, the environments are simply wonderful to behold. I simply don't understand why the use of CGI in the film is ridiculed as it is-CGI is something created by humans, just like animatronics-I don't believe CGI is "less human" than animatronics. The CGI enhances the visual quality of the environment and the characters that are CGI; this was what CGI was created to do, after all. The action sequences are amazing to behold, especially in the film's 20-minute climax; the pacing was perfect-the quick cuts between the three major conflicts matched the intense, fast-paced style of the battle-George Lucas' mastery in the visual arts was evident in the film. The symbolism and mythology-a Star Wars hallmark-is still a force to be reckoned with. Darth Maul's image, the duality in characters like Palpatine, and the symbiosis between prevalent organizations are all compelling, as well as the character types. Speaking of characters, I enjoyed Qui-Gon, Obi-Wan, Padmé, and Anakin. I was interested by each of their journeys, and where they began and ended. I cared about them, as well; they weren't "wooden" and "boring," and nor were the performances behind them. The writing was good-not written by a 5-year-old-Lucas kept me interested in the characters and the story. I liked the politics involved in the story, as I am very interested in politics. The pacing for the story was good, as well. The supposed "plot-holes" are easily explained and/or easily ignored, and are more like nit-picks than actual criticism. I realize the problems both certain fans and critics alike have with this film-I understand their criticisms, but, to me, they either hold no water, or aren't significant enough to undermine the film, as I see it. I thought at least some of Jar-Jar Binks' antics were funny; he didn't annoy me, and I'm willing to bet he didn't annoy most of the kids who watched the film. Not only was Jar-Jar a character for kids, but he represents a "wise fool" in the film. Additionally, I hope people realize that this film isn't "universally hated;" look at this site-62% of fans gave this film a 3.5/5, and 57% of critics, just 3 points under "fresh" status, gave the film a positive review. All in all, Star Wars: Episode I: The Phantom Menace is an excellent film, and a more than worthy beginning to the saga; if you haven't seen it already, it is at least worth watching once. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
7
UrbanlistenerJan 12, 2016
While not being a terrible film, the first installment in Lucas' prequels just leaves audiences with an empty stomach. There is a lot to love in the film, cool characters, Darth Maul, good action sequences and a lot of eye candy (for 1999).While not being a terrible film, the first installment in Lucas' prequels just leaves audiences with an empty stomach. There is a lot to love in the film, cool characters, Darth Maul, good action sequences and a lot of eye candy (for 1999). But there is also a lot to hate, not a lot of substance, some bad acting (Anakin), some bad and awkward dialogue, terrible characters like Jar Jar Binks and effects while ok for 1999 that look extremely bad today. But if you love Star Wars, it is definitely watchable and enjoyable, most of the time. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
SalmonpieSep 29, 2011
I just watched this for the first time since the theatre in 1999 and have to admit to rather enjoying. Back when it was released, I felt the same as nearly everyone else did but now, with 12 years and not a lot of thought about the Star WarsI just watched this for the first time since the theatre in 1999 and have to admit to rather enjoying. Back when it was released, I felt the same as nearly everyone else did but now, with 12 years and not a lot of thought about the Star Wars universe until the Bluray edition came out. I can say, this isn't as bad as I remember or as most people say. Its a children's film that a lot of adults spent way to much time getting upset about, take it for what it is and you can enjoy it. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
Ryzoft_StipeJan 4, 2017
A great movie, not much else to say. It's sad how some people prefer hypocriticy over bias. Sure, you were born 100 years ago and that gives you the right to bash on the prequels because you saw the original trilogy first? That is hypocrisy.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
anthonymurphy29Jan 10, 2017
Although The Phantom Menace hasn't received much praise from critics or fans alike, it nevertheless keeps alive the unique vibe or feeling of the Original trilogy while introducing new worlds and characters, as well as the neverseen beforeAlthough The Phantom Menace hasn't received much praise from critics or fans alike, it nevertheless keeps alive the unique vibe or feeling of the Original trilogy while introducing new worlds and characters, as well as the neverseen before political dynamic of the Republic. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
darthsoloDec 15, 2017
Compared to the piece of crap TLJ is, going back to real star wars feel so damn nice. TLJ may have very well ruined the SW ST. Only lucas films are cannon for me.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
KyleM.Dec 22, 2005
This is the best star wars ever. a terrifc beginning to the saga. a little predictable but u dont even notice it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
8
OpinionatedGuyAug 13, 2015
While not as bad as what people say about this movie, Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menance still however suffers from an interesting plot that fails to be engaging enough.

Rating: 7.5/10 Pros: +Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor are the
While not as bad as what people say about this movie, Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menance still however suffers from an interesting plot that fails to be engaging enough.

Rating: 7.5/10

Pros:
+Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor are the best parts of the movie.
+The special effects in this movie looks really impressive for a movie released at its time.
+The podracing scene took me on the edge of my seat.
+The Jedi battle scene makes me feel like I want to be a Jedi Knight!

Neutral:
.The plot is very interesting. However, it’s not engaging enough as it feels like it’s more of a set up for the next two movies of the prequel trilogy of Star Wars.

Cons:
-The acting of young Anakin Skywalker. Just terrible. It’s really hard to root for Anakin Skywalker because of this.
-Jar Jar Binks went from an interesting character to the most annoying character real quick. His comic relief humor is just terrible and unnecessary.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Duskycarp116Oct 2, 2015
There is a lot of hate for this and in my opinion it doesn't. It hasn't age well but it's still badass watching those fight scene and shows how much they improve since the older episodes. The story doesn't deserve any awards but itsThere is a lot of hate for this and in my opinion it doesn't. It hasn't age well but it's still badass watching those fight scene and shows how much they improve since the older episodes. The story doesn't deserve any awards but its enjoyable. I can go on and on but that's all I have to say about this movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
DanielDJan 28, 2018
Great movie, It deserves a 7 but i give it a 10 to improve the rating of the overall movie, Its unfair
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
Jar-Jar Binks didn't bother me that much. The attempts at comedy were pretty rough though as was the rest of the script. But this movie had some incredible moments. The bad acting couldn't destroy all the genius battles and other entertainingJar-Jar Binks didn't bother me that much. The attempts at comedy were pretty rough though as was the rest of the script. But this movie had some incredible moments. The bad acting couldn't destroy all the genius battles and other entertaining sequences such as the podrace Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
7
DukeJonApr 7, 2016
Yes, this film had Jar Jar Binks and annoying little Anakin. But look again; it also had Darth Maul, Qui Go Jin, an epic pod race, a huge land and space battle, epic light-sabre combat, a great score, and lots of original ideas (unlike theYes, this film had Jar Jar Binks and annoying little Anakin. But look again; it also had Darth Maul, Qui Go Jin, an epic pod race, a huge land and space battle, epic light-sabre combat, a great score, and lots of original ideas (unlike the recent "Force Awakens", which was just a rehash of bits of the original trilogy). For me this is a much better film than people give it credit for, and was unfortunately very much a victim of its own hype when it was released. Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
7
bfoore90Sep 11, 2016
Phantom Menace gets alot of flack for being bad or the worst of the prequels, I'm here to tell you that its not. Phantom has its flaws but the acting from Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor and Natalie Portman carry the movie and its a decent originPhantom Menace gets alot of flack for being bad or the worst of the prequels, I'm here to tell you that its not. Phantom has its flaws but the acting from Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor and Natalie Portman carry the movie and its a decent origin story for Anakin on Tattooine. Not to mention, Phantom Meance gave us a truly awesome character in Darth Maul. Again, Phantom has its flaws like the fact that the CGI is still a bit much, Jar Jar is still a horrible character and Jake Lloyd couldn't act. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
4
cowbell31Feb 5, 2012
When people say this movie is good, they can't back themselves up with the story, only with the effects. The movie continuously adds on to the characters character, we always question their decisions, and don't understand why anyone doesn'tWhen people say this movie is good, they can't back themselves up with the story, only with the effects. The movie continuously adds on to the characters character, we always question their decisions, and don't understand why anyone doesn't act like a normal person. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
3
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
Yes it does have impressive action and visual effects to spare, but Star Wars: The Phantom Menace fails to match the original trilogy's unique blend of characters, moments and scale.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
AndanteOct 31, 2016
A great movie, just the perfect start to introduce us to the prequel trilogy. Evan McGregor and Liam Neeson deliver world class acting, story has a very good flow and the final battle scene is magnificent. Comical additions with Jar Jar areA great movie, just the perfect start to introduce us to the prequel trilogy. Evan McGregor and Liam Neeson deliver world class acting, story has a very good flow and the final battle scene is magnificent. Comical additions with Jar Jar are very good and I cant understand why people are complaining. Music is as always genius and astonishing. I dare to say that this movie and the prequel trilogy as a whole is better than the original movie. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
Voodoo123Jun 13, 2014
Best Star wars film IMO. George lucas' film making experience upto 1999 meant he was no longer restricted by the physical limitations of 80's creature effects (which I love btw) lucasfilm could now seemlessly integrate the first full screenBest Star wars film IMO. George lucas' film making experience upto 1999 meant he was no longer restricted by the physical limitations of 80's creature effects (which I love btw) lucasfilm could now seemlessly integrate the first full screen cg character jar jar. I love jar jar! I love the complex political plot this new trilogy engage with and anyone who takes issue with jar jar need only look at innumerable animated cg 'kids' films to see how forward thinking that character design was. To me this is the perfect cinematic 'ride' encapsulating exciting moments of action, political drama and universe expanding delivered at a digestable pace wrapped in high art. Tastes fresh. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
asylumspadezNov 21, 2011
IMO the best Star Wars film. I thought it was great from start to finish. The acting was good, The story was far more interesting this time around as well.
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
3
MoviebuffreviewJun 19, 2011
The reboot or return to the widely successful and acclaimed Star Wars saga was disappointing in just about every way. With the exception of the Ewan McGregor and Liam Nesson, the acting was underwhelming, the dialogue made me barf in myThe reboot or return to the widely successful and acclaimed Star Wars saga was disappointing in just about every way. With the exception of the Ewan McGregor and Liam Nesson, the acting was underwhelming, the dialogue made me barf in my mouth, the pacing was awkward and often slow, and the villains were not only unclear and underdeveloped, but lacked the threat and power that Darth Vader and the emperor had in the original trilogy. The ending was a little better, with some solid action, and throughout there were some decent effects, but many of the actions scenes had no real weight to them and felt like they were there just for the sake of being there. Episode I is disappointing, boring, and not worth your time if you are a Star Wars fan. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
2
LarsC.Dec 8, 2003
I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had I loved the original Star Wars movies the moment I saw them. As I grew older, I learned to analyze movies for myself and found that they still held up (although Return of the Jedi was a slight letdown) to my good image of them. Since I had heard some bad buzz about the film before I saw it, I tried to keep my expectations at a rational level. Unfortunately, it sill managed to disappoint terribly. The effects, while good in theory, had no life to them, and many looked less real than even the corniest rubber puppet in the Mos Eisley cantina. I really tried to like this movie, I tried to convince myself that I had just bought into the hype machine. However, no matter how I analyzed it, I found it to be a colossal train wreck that shames the good name of Star Wars. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
NeilSApr 7, 2006
This film is what Lord of the Rings would have been if it had been filmed in a parking lot rather than New Zealand.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
KatherineFeb 25, 2007
Horrible. It was hard enough to get through the Jar Jar Binks crap. And the kid is the worst actor I have ever seen. George could have done waaaaay better then this.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
10
BrowniePointsJan 3, 2012
It begins as a great film, Liam Neeson is absolutely amazing!! But then comes in jar jar and Annakin, all at once this film becomes a kid's movie. I may be a hippocrit because I watched it when I was 5 and thought that jar jar was myIt begins as a great film, Liam Neeson is absolutely amazing!! But then comes in jar jar and Annakin, all at once this film becomes a kid's movie. I may be a hippocrit because I watched it when I was 5 and thought that jar jar was my favourite character from the new trilogy (Obi wan still is #1). The beggining and the end are amazing, but other than the car race, Annakin is waaaay too cutesy and jar jar's failed attemps at being funny make me face-palm. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
ReubenIsAGodDec 16, 2015
Really bad film, probably oneofthe worst films ive ever seen. Bad dialog,annoying chara ters. **** even watch he prequls . dont watch it, tis **** 101
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
NecromusDec 4, 2012
I absolutely loved the original trilogy as a kid. 17 years waiting in anticipation for the prequels (since Star Wars: A New Hope in 1977 stated it was "Chapter 4") raised expectations very high that almost no movie could live up to it. But II absolutely loved the original trilogy as a kid. 17 years waiting in anticipation for the prequels (since Star Wars: A New Hope in 1977 stated it was "Chapter 4") raised expectations very high that almost no movie could live up to it. But I didn't expect something as horrible as Episode I. A poorly rendered and annoying Jar Jar Binks ruins almost every scene with his clumsy antics bordering on racist (he behaves the way African-Americans were portrayed in old racist shows in the past and he's based on a Jamaican Rasta-man type character too!). The acting by Anakin was boring too, but it might not be his fault, after-all George Lucus somehow manages to take amazing actors like Ewen McGregor and Samuel L. Jackson and make them look mediocre. I saw this movie once in the theater and never wanted to see it again. Once it was on TV and I muted it while talking on the phone and noticed the visuals are absolutely beautiful, it is too bad the story and directing sucks so bad. However, there is a version of this movie out there called "The Phantom Edit 1.11" which is an edit of the movie by a Star Wars fan that cuts most of Jar Jar's annoying antics out of the movie along with all of the redundant scenes where the characters are explaining to other characters what you have just witnessed happening in the scene before. The Phantom Edit 1.11 is much more watchable and enjoyable, do yourself a favor and watch that one instead, it is way better than the official version. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
jfrotylpe532Dec 4, 2012
And so begins the terror of the prequels. Poorly made, not to mention some of the worst acting on the planet. Lucas could do way better than that. Sadly we need the prequels to know the beloved Star Wars began. Until next time Lucas you suck
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
mm007Oct 13, 2016
[8/10]
-------------
PROS: 1.Liam Neeson, Ewan Mcgregor, and Natalie Portman did good jobs. 2.The cute little boy anakin skywalker. Watching him was a charm. 3.Super action packed climax.Though Qui-Gon (Liam Neeson) dies. 4.After
[8/10]
-------------
PROS:
1.Liam Neeson, Ewan Mcgregor, and Natalie Portman did good jobs.
2.The cute little boy anakin skywalker. Watching him was a charm.
3.Super action packed climax.Though Qui-Gon (Liam Neeson) dies.
4.After watching the sequel triology, really wanted to know the back story (How and why Anakin Skywalker becomes Derth Vader).Back story started really beautifully.

CONS:
1. Boring race in the middle.
2. jar jar binks failed to be funny and just made it a long annoying movie.
3.Too much characters.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
cforthewinNov 13, 2016
I nice movie to stat with with good action, a good story, and mostly good characters. It is not a perfect movie but it is definitely a good movie and a great way to introduce kids to star wars.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
MarkKJan 9, 2009
A good story told at a slow pace. The stereotypical characters and boring fights don't help it either. Still good fun though.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
AlexG.Apr 15, 2008
Not bad, quite enjoyable, and actually quite a humorous and light movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
9
kittyJul 8, 2008
This is how I rate the new Star Wars movies; The Phantom Menace- I can live with background, overall entertaining. Attack of the clones- still entertaining, starting to go down a little here. Revenge of the Sith- People, what happened! Wake This is how I rate the new Star Wars movies; The Phantom Menace- I can live with background, overall entertaining. Attack of the clones- still entertaining, starting to go down a little here. Revenge of the Sith- People, what happened! Wake up and start being creative here! And while you're at it re-write the script! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
PaxsterSep 8, 2010
As much as Jar Jar Binks is disliked I actually quite liked him. I know I'll probably be killed by most fans for saying this but I did think he was alright. I felt Liam Neeson had a good performance but McGregor needed some serious work. TheAs much as Jar Jar Binks is disliked I actually quite liked him. I know I'll probably be killed by most fans for saying this but I did think he was alright. I felt Liam Neeson had a good performance but McGregor needed some serious work. The Pod Race was way to long and the kid playing Anakin kind of annoyed me. A fairly good movie but no classic. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
flamed_steakFeb 22, 2011
The film represents a story that didn't need to be told. He could have started the prequel trilogy at Attack of the Clones, given himself greater room to breathe and left this story to the novelists. Unfortunately George Lucas didn't thinkThe film represents a story that didn't need to be told. He could have started the prequel trilogy at Attack of the Clones, given himself greater room to breathe and left this story to the novelists. Unfortunately George Lucas didn't think his charachters needed to develop as long as he sent the audience on a ride, which was something that worked in the 80's but didn't cut the mustard in '99. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
The first of the three Star Wars prequels. The story and character development are mediocre, making this a considerable downgrade from the original Star Wars movies, but on the good side the special effects add more depth to battle scenes andThe first of the three Star Wars prequels. The story and character development are mediocre, making this a considerable downgrade from the original Star Wars movies, but on the good side the special effects add more depth to battle scenes and make them all the more impressive. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Sergio2008Jan 3, 2016
This movie is the worst of the Stars Wars franchise. Poor acting, saturation of CGI, lack of character chemistry, and just flat-out boring at times. Phantom Menace was the first Star Wars film I saw, and even as a kid, the movie felt like aThis movie is the worst of the Stars Wars franchise. Poor acting, saturation of CGI, lack of character chemistry, and just flat-out boring at times. Phantom Menace was the first Star Wars film I saw, and even as a kid, the movie felt like a chore to watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
MichaelBagamerySep 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I should probably have broken my promise to myself and gotten **** after watching this tripe. 'The Phantom Menace' is easily the worst 'Star Wars' movie, and a terrible film in general. Some lowlights:

Jar Jar. Just the most obvious of this movie's myriad artistic miscalculations, he's unfunny and stupid.

Acting. Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor are the only two actors in this movie who actually seem to be trying to rise above the material.

Pointless call-forwards. Actually, 'Attack of the Clones' is worst with this, but they're there and visible in 'The Phantom Menace' too.

Characterization. Whiny little Anakin is very true to how most little kids are; I should know, as, to my eternal chagrin, I used to be one. But this movie seems to be promulgating the notion that youthful pettiness makes one evil. No, no, it doesn't. Hopefully, once you turn fifteen or sixteen, you realize 'God, what an **** I've been' and resolve to be better than that.

Pod racing. Um...scratch that, counterproductive padding! From a narrative standpoint, it's obvious Anakin is supposed to win that race and win his freedom from...Watto (is that his name? I don't remember it being mentioned during the movie). From a logical standpoint, however, he should NOT win that race, since he's young and green as a conifer.

Midichlorians. Yes, I gathered from the original trilogy that the Force was an invisible forcefield which Jedi could manipulate to their own ends, but which bound every organism in the GFFA. So they have something in their blood which makes them one with the Force or something? That has either unfortunate implications or it's just an outright contradiction in the plot.

Action. As in, there's not nearly enough of it until the last fifteen minutes or so, and while it is exciting when we get it, by then it's too little too late.

Overall, this is easily the lamest Star Wars movie, never thought-provoking or even accidentally funny, though I will give a point for Darth Maul's double lightsaber. That was literally the only memorable part of the film that was thus for a good reason.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
BrakkenApr 28, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Phantom Plot!
What was the point? I was concerned about who would slap Ani's face the soonest, but as he turns into Vader anyway, I'm not sure how to care about a loud-mouthed, impudent child that is supposedly a slave. Mitochloreans (sp - I don't give a hoot enough to even check) are not a force, but are cells now: this destroys the whole point of faith and super-human justice: only those with enough correct cells are good enough Jedi. The first three movies established that faith - yeah, FAITH - prooves one's mettle. Oh well.

CGI swamped the movie and were accompanied by cardboard performances. The notion that any of this movie as being part of reality 'long, long ago' evaporated with GPUs. The first three movies still engage me, but this one was devoid of reason and extremely irritating. Ja-Ja say no more. I'm begging you.

Final Verdict: Eiw.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
oDjentoJan 2, 2015
I hate when people say the prequel films are terrible, they do still have some great scenes! With ep1, there were some definite let-downs, such as Jar Jar Binks and Anakins very average performance (but he is a kid i suppose), but theyI hate when people say the prequel films are terrible, they do still have some great scenes! With ep1, there were some definite let-downs, such as Jar Jar Binks and Anakins very average performance (but he is a kid i suppose), but they provided many other great things. The pod racing is a hella a lot of fun to watch, and The enviroments vary nicely in the film. Then also, they introduce possibly the most badass character in the Star Wars lore: Darth Maul. He is scary, awesome and just great to watch in this movie! And let me say, the end battle is possibly one of the best and well paced fights ever. Qui-gon and Obi against Darth Maul in those red laser barriers, that's how to rack up some brilliant tension. Many scenes in this film do save it from how bad people say it is, and i'd say watch it all the way through even if you do not like it just to see that final battle! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MiracSpectacJan 7, 2018
It's honestly hard to say this film is anything better or worse than "just ok". It doesn't accomplish very much, but it still has a certain level of classic Star Wars drama.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
It's not a bad movie, just heavily flawed. Its acting and dialogue can be cringe-worthy, but its high points still make it an enjoyable cinematic experience. It is overall a visually-dazzling film with a stunningly complex plot andIt's not a bad movie, just heavily flawed. Its acting and dialogue can be cringe-worthy, but its high points still make it an enjoyable cinematic experience. It is overall a visually-dazzling film with a stunningly complex plot and heart-pounding action sequences. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
YorkManJan 2, 2016
TPM is George Lucas' imagination gone into CGI overdrive. With every single whim unquestioned we get the first part of the original Six episodes of Star Wars delivered to us 16 years after RotJ, and what did we get...?

We got a bloated,
TPM is George Lucas' imagination gone into CGI overdrive. With every single whim unquestioned we get the first part of the original Six episodes of Star Wars delivered to us 16 years after RotJ, and what did we get...?

We got a bloated, borderline nonsensical tale of how a Jedi Master, his apprentice, a 14 year old Queen and some obnoxious, CGI abomination of a sentient, bidepal creature end up accidentally finding the one who will bring balance to the Force. The one being a 9 year old kid who has absolutely no charisma.

Political machinations fly left and right as the villain of the piece (who we all know is the dastardly political leader of the planet on which the Queen is the ruler) begins to move his pieces on Lucas' chessboard, culminating in a three-way battle between some fighter craft in space, a CGI robot army vs a CGI bipedal creature army, and the two Jedi squaring off against a nasty Sith Lord.

At the time of the film's release it was praised by audiences (check out the video clips of people coming out of the cinema in 1999!!!), and even most contemporary critics were blown away. It was only in retrospect, relatively quickly afterwards it has to be said, that people began to actually think about the film and what it was about, and the hate and anger lead many to the Dark Side of the Force!!

As a popcorn movie, it's fine. As a piece of pop-culture, it's referenced as the point where George Lucas stopped being revered as the creator of one of cinemas most enduring masterpieces. As the start of a new 'prequel' trilogy, it's piss-poor.

Unfortunately, however bad this film was/is...... Worse was to come.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
JPKJan 7, 2018
Has Flaws, But It's FAR From A Disaster
The Film Has Fantastic Special Effects (For 1999), Great Performances From Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor, And Ian McDiarmid, And Holy Sh*t, That Darth Maul Battle Was Awesome
But Then There's The Films
Has Flaws, But It's FAR From A Disaster
The Film Has Fantastic Special Effects (For 1999), Great Performances From Liam Neeson, Ewan McGregor, And Ian McDiarmid, And Holy Sh*t, That Darth Maul Battle Was Awesome
But Then There's The Films Flaws, Jar Jar Binks, Mediocre Storytelling, And Some Sloppy Acting.
Overall, The Phantom Menace Is Okay, Not Perfect, But Not Too Bad Either.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
mrdr4gonDec 15, 2017
One of the greatest cinematic blunders of all time. The fact nobody thought to put a stop to this is baffling. Resembles the original films of its parent franchise in name only.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
L.M.Jan 25, 2010
My score may be a bit biased for it being my first Star Wars in theaters but I still find it to be a great ride to this very day. The story's pace needed some tweaking but there was some great times where you knew the magic was there My score may be a bit biased for it being my first Star Wars in theaters but I still find it to be a great ride to this very day. The story's pace needed some tweaking but there was some great times where you knew the magic was there although some disappointments hurt the movie as well (Jar Jar isn't the bane of SW but not great either). Many great new characters to see and some old ones with new faces as well. Don't let the critics smearing this movie fool you, Phantom Menace is a great spectacle to behold but it does have a few blaring faults. Expand
6 of 13 users found this helpful
1
LaGuertaFeb 26, 2013
Jar Jar, midi-chlorians, droids, The Trade Federation, C3PO built by Darth Vader are just a few reasons why I have a mirror shatteringly bad feeling about this.
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
9
DibbHansenJul 15, 2013
It may not be as fun or funny as the original trilogy was (instead this new trilogy takes on the more serious tone), the film is still awesome. The action is epic, the visuals are top class and eye popping, the music is awesome (JohnIt may not be as fun or funny as the original trilogy was (instead this new trilogy takes on the more serious tone), the film is still awesome. The action is epic, the visuals are top class and eye popping, the music is awesome (John Williams does great here again). My only criticisms would be that Jar Jar Binks needed to die. HATED HIS CHARACTER. Also Natalie Portman really needed an acting lesson. Other than those two things, this film is a great installment to the series. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"The Phantom Menace" is a decent movie that I would overall recommend only to those obsessed with the franchise because the film is a explanation film that connects what happened before the age of Luke, not amazing CGI or powerful quotes like"The Phantom Menace" is a decent movie that I would overall recommend only to those obsessed with the franchise because the film is a explanation film that connects what happened before the age of Luke, not amazing CGI or powerful quotes like the other ones did. Expand
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
10
WinterfellJul 20, 2011
This one isn't only my favorite Star Wars film, it is my favorite movie of all time. I know, the story can be boring sometimes, Jar-Jar Binks and Anakin are annoying and many characters are useless, but at the time I watched it, in 1999, IThis one isn't only my favorite Star Wars film, it is my favorite movie of all time. I know, the story can be boring sometimes, Jar-Jar Binks and Anakin are annoying and many characters are useless, but at the time I watched it, in 1999, I had not seen any Star Wars before. Because of this, I watched every Star Wars the week after and became a great fan until... now. Fans of the first trilogy were disappointed, but I had nothing to be disppointed about. 10. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
CyberPunkFeb 13, 2012
Why George Lucas? Why? Way to completely ruin the backstory to Star Wars with these awful prequel films. Yes, every single one is bad. Each film lacks a decent plot, lacks good characters, and lacks any emotional involvement that made theWhy George Lucas? Why? Way to completely ruin the backstory to Star Wars with these awful prequel films. Yes, every single one is bad. Each film lacks a decent plot, lacks good characters, and lacks any emotional involvement that made the original films so great. If you think these movies are good, then I suggest you go on to Youtube and type in "Red Letter Media" and watch their in depth reviews of these terrible films. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
5
WhiteTalpaDec 6, 2012
Problems: Death mauls death (should have kept him alive.), Jar Jar Binks (awful character), two pointless battles. Bad attempt at trying to funny.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
cjohnson596Dec 27, 2013
George Lucas dumped all over this travesty of a movie. How can you not compare it to the original Star Wars episodes 4, 5, and 6? And in comparison I cannot sit through this entire movie and watch the painful train-wreck that it is. LikeGeorge Lucas dumped all over this travesty of a movie. How can you not compare it to the original Star Wars episodes 4, 5, and 6? And in comparison I cannot sit through this entire movie and watch the painful train-wreck that it is. Like watching a computer generated video game that frequently throws miserable one-liner humor at you. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
Star Wars I: the Phantom Menace is abysmally structured. I'm honestly having a very very hard time figuring out where all three Acts begin and end. Perhaps, it was meant to be that way. One can ask, is that ambitious or flawed? I vote forStar Wars I: the Phantom Menace is abysmally structured. I'm honestly having a very very hard time figuring out where all three Acts begin and end. Perhaps, it was meant to be that way. One can ask, is that ambitious or flawed? I vote for flawed. Not simply because I feel Lucas severely lacks the writing capabilities to write an abstract narrative but also because it's nothing like an abstract narrative. The problems start right from the opening shots and this is a problem in all the Star Wars movies. It starts off with backstory, with lines of narrative, scrolling up as John Williams' soundtrack plays along, serving as exposition for the upcoming events. Why couldn't they create a quick montage - a series of rapidly edited shots or just a basic sequence of still photos or simply start off before that. The entire purpose of film is to convey a story through the wonderful language of images. And when Lucas throws narrative at us, just as it appears in the script, let's just say it's a very underwhelming opening. Terrence Malick was able to briefly portray evolutionary progression and natural selection from the most elementary to the most multiplex of creatures, all in about 20 minutes in the Tree of Life. Lucas was asked to carry no such burden.Ewan McGregor is a decent actor but his role is so poorly written in the movie. For the most part, his job consists of 3 basic exercises. He walks alongside Liam Neeson stating the obvious, he looks up when he enters rooms and he keeps questioning Liam Neeson's "high intellectual Jedi converse" so that Liam Neeson can start explaining the plot. The entire Jedi counsel exists so that Lucas' characters can sit around and explain the plot to the audience. Jar Jar Binks may be the most annoying character I've ever had to witness on screen. But there are so many versions of him in this movie. It's intolerable.
Since, all of us have already seen Lucas' pantomime 1977 original, we should all agree that he's the master of oversimplification. The characters are all so black and white. There's not a single character even remotely leaning towards the second dimension. And in fact, this is a problem with all the Star Wars movies. They all show us distinctly, which characters are good and which characters are evil but none of them tell us why. In fact several movies like Apocalypse Now, Rashomon, Taxi Driver and in more recent years, Pans Labyrinth and the Dark Knight, have explored this idea of the relativity of morality so brilliantly. But of course Lucas doesn't bother with interesting objectives of that sort. The entire "dark side of the force should rule the galaxy" is as cliched as it gets. How many movies have been made where the bad guys want to take over the world? Too many to count.
But the part where I began to despise it, was the last 45 mins, which was literally jam-packed with mind-numbing CGI action. I found it amusing that Lucas thought he had the ability to juggle multiple story lines (rather I should just use action sequences instead of storyline) from the "epic" battle between the droids and Jar Jar's, to Anakin's random "attempts" to destroy the "what-ever the hell that was" all accompanied by a triumvirate lightsaber dual between Liam Neeson and Ewan McGregor with the man with the double ended light sabre. And then on top of all that, we have the dialogue. Now this is something that I am infuriated by. Lucas' writing skills are pre-school. A 10 year old could write better lines of dialogue and convey more emotion. Greeting Cards have exuded more passion than Lucas' raw use of words. It's as bad as I've ever seen (and that's not in any way an exaggerated statement).
The Phantom Menace is a disgrace to everything that contributed to the world of cinema and it opened the door for several other mindless action movies. It's over-filled with computer imagery and is completely hollow within. There's no psychology, no philosophy, basically no ideas in it whatsoever. It's the work of a machine rather than an artist and it was as entertaining as filling out your Income Tax forms. It may be appealing to adolescent boys who grew up with those characters but to me this is just a sad money making practice targeted at a series run out of control.
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
IntroduceJun 15, 2014
Everyone knows it,
Anyone who pardons e1PM is simply in server denial,
It will always be known as one of the great
disasters in cinematic history.
Sad but oh so true.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
Nakan22Jun 30, 2014
George Lucas ruined star wars with this terribleGeorge Lucas ruined star wars with this terrible film......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
BenHazeldenJan 23, 2015
This is a fantastic thriller fantasy action adventure! Please watch, much good. Experience incredibly developed characters - like Jar Jar Binks (my favourite). A cold hearted thriller.
0/10 - Ben Hazelden
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
JurassicWookieNov 7, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. as Mr. Plinkett says "This Movie SUUUCKS!" Special Effects look up Jar Jar Binks Then you can talk to me about BAD Special Effects..............Spoilers IT SUCKS! Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
3
Longbottom94Apr 27, 2013
The Phantom Menace may be one of the biggest cinematic disappointments of all time. Although it would have been almost impossible for this film to live up to the ridiculously high expectations that the fanboy's had but upon it, the finalThe Phantom Menace may be one of the biggest cinematic disappointments of all time. Although it would have been almost impossible for this film to live up to the ridiculously high expectations that the fanboy's had but upon it, the final product is so monstrously dull it has unearned the dubious honor of one of the worsts films I have seen. Although the pod race and final duel scenes were quite enjoyable, I can't shake the feeling that the only reason they stand out is because of the awfulness that surrounds the picture. Expand
5 of 12 users found this helpful57
All this user's reviews
2
ReviewerMan44Jul 1, 2011
The Phantom Menace takes away from everything the original Star Wars films were all about. A good story, likable and relatable characters, a universe that drawed you in, and good acting. The Phantom Menace (one of the most hyped andThe Phantom Menace takes away from everything the original Star Wars films were all about. A good story, likable and relatable characters, a universe that drawed you in, and good acting. The Phantom Menace (one of the most hyped and anticipated films of all time) manages to do almost none of these, trying to please our minds with childish humor, bright colors, and silly, ridiculous characters. *Hint* Jar-Jar Binks is one of the worst characters ever created in any movie...ever. The other problems arise with some utterly horrible character development and acting in general. Liam Neeson leads the cast as the strongest but still stumbles and falls here and there. Natalie Portman comes over as likable, but we never get to know her character enough to even care. The same goes for the new villain, Darth Maul, who would have been better if we had learned a bit of his backstory. Obi-Wan is played by Ewan McGregor, who fails on all fronts and just gives a bland impression. Lastly Anakin Skywalker just...well he's a kid, and he's an actor with a decent future but just comes across as though he is reading the script in front of him. Overall Phatnom Menace is a disaster and the worst Star Wars yet. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
7
TheApplegnomeDec 25, 2015
The only dialogs and characters 'The Craptom Menace' successfully did manage to deliver are the droid's. The rest are awful as they are **** But this **** is what I grew up to love and still does (somewhat).

In the end of the past
The only dialogs and characters 'The Craptom Menace' successfully did manage to deliver are the droid's. The rest are awful as they are **** But this **** is what I grew up to love and still does (somewhat).

In the end of the past millennium came several big blockbusters that eventually changed the movie industry. The CGI-era was introduced with several big blockbusters like 'Jurassic Park' and 'Independence Day'. But in 1999; 'Star Wars' was back and it arrived with glamorous effects that was way ahead of its time. But was the man named George Lucas still up for the job? Fans of the original films were disappointed and still are, even though it's been more than 15 years since. But it still managed to inspire a new generation of fans, like myself, to this universe that takes place in a galaxy far away.

Today; I'm still not sure if this is a somewhat good or a bad movie. I grew up with this space-opera and it still got a place in my heart. 'Star Wars: The Phantom Menace’ is still a movie full of stupid and hilarious flaws. The plot isn't simple, thats a big flaw right there. It's not that subtle, it keeps going, and it therefore often is very unpredictable (which is a good thing). But much of the story is vaguely written. Add a stupid amount of plot-holes and tonnes of silliness too; then you got this flick. George Lucas got a great feel for adding stupid and non-important subplots that just do more harm than good. The cool and entertaining podrace is one example. This is 'Star Wars', and I’m watching a race. Not a race to death but as in sport. Sure it’s the story of Anakin Skywalker and we see him in his younger age as a skilled and powerful pilot, but it’s still a race. Is this really a prequel to the 'Star Wars' George Lucas once invented? As mentioned; it’s a very messy and high-paced flick, which is noticeable near the third act. We see events take place on the ground, up in space and so on. The story is so spread out on different characters that no emotion nor empathy to them get’s real. Other disturbing aspects with the plot are the stupid and illogical decisions many characters keeps making over and over. It doesn't make anything better that many of the dialogs are expressed when the characters are sitting down, talking and debating; rather than during intense moments like what we saw in ’The Empire Strikes Back’.

The center of the film isn’t on one specific character and because of that; the whole movie is more of a ’previously’ than an origin story. ’The Phantom Menace’ should have been so much better if the center of the plot was on one character and one alone, and then develop and focus a great story on that specific individual. Not to add more non-important ones like Jar Jar Binks. Our main characters are on the other hand very well presented, and a very good performance from Liam Neeson! Nathalie Portman however; is very one-dimensional and dry with her dialogs. When it comes to the characters, are there not that much depth nor backstory to them. We don't really know that much about them and they don't impress that much if you must compare to the original films. The plot is as mentioned very high-paced, which I’ve grown up to love with its space-opera and action. But it might be a ”too plot centered” movie. There's no time to get to know our characters nor get to understand them. Our main protagonist Darth Maul is another example. He’s a very cool and badass villain, but how much do we know about him? How much does he say -- he’s just a baddie.

One aspect of these prequel-films are the incredibly forced moments where characters must show their emotion and what they see and think; through dialogs. Many dialogs are unnecessary, we know stuff, but they say it anyway. Look at the main protagonist and antagonists when they are confronting each other; how much interaction do they have on an emotional level? Do they really interact?

This was supposed to be the origin story of legendary characters like Darth Vader and Obi-wan Kenobi, but is it? It’s definitely a movie of many flaws, but it still got some positivity. I’ve always loved all the action, space-opera, battles, sound effects, music, cinematography and of course the overall adventures of the main antagonists. The main lead from Qui-Gon and Obi-Wan are somewhat solid but of course not that deep or relatable. The CGI are on the other hand very mind-blowing for a movie that came out over 15 years ago. I’ve always loved this movie, and I still do. Yes, I'm overly entertained by a ****ty movie that shouldn't be okay to like at all. But this was my first entry to the galaxy far away, and it still got a place in my heart. But it still is a pretty awful movie from a critical viewpoint; with horrible dialogs, one-dimensional characters and a very vague story. Add childish humor with fart and poop jokes and too-many-to-mention accidental save the day-moments; welcome to ’The Craptom Menace’.

Personal rating: 78/100
Critical rating: 42/100
Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
9
JoshLuck1995Aug 2, 2014
Some may wonder why i have rated it so highly im comparison to the average user score, well its just because of my age, it was the first star wars film i watched and its always stuck in my head as the favourite, however i dont believe itsSome may wonder why i have rated it so highly im comparison to the average user score, well its just because of my age, it was the first star wars film i watched and its always stuck in my head as the favourite, however i dont believe its better than the older ones its just this is a special memory from my childhood and i really do rate this film highly. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeMar 13, 2011
i loved the original trilogy and was so excited to see the new trilogy. it opens pretty good and i had a good feeling ... and then jar jar binks shows up and the horror starts . he can only be found humorous by 5 year olds any one older theni loved the original trilogy and was so excited to see the new trilogy. it opens pretty good and i had a good feeling ... and then jar jar binks shows up and the horror starts . he can only be found humorous by 5 year olds any one older then that will be preying dath maul takes his head off ASAP. it only keeps heading down hill after that. then we get to meet a young anikin skywalker and who ever this kid is who did his acting was horrendous and i dont put it all on this kid i give most of the blame to lucas who directed this mess. lucas pretty much abandoned one of the key features that made most of us love star wars so much . that being charicters we liked and rooted for . in this one there is no one outside of maybe obi wan and qui gon who i remotly thought where ok. lucus focases all his energy on special effects and nothing els . which yes do look good when i am not cursing jar jar and aniken. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews