User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 622 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RickG.
    Jul 4, 2002
    5
    A major disappointment for a life long Star Wars fan. "Clones" has a bad, unispired screenplay that earns snickers from the audience, especially Anakin and Padme's romance. The Anakin and Padme romance abuses the audience with so many one line cliches I now call the movie "Attack of the Well-Worn Cliches." I don't know whether to blame the actors or the lousy screenplay writing A major disappointment for a life long Star Wars fan. "Clones" has a bad, unispired screenplay that earns snickers from the audience, especially Anakin and Padme's romance. The Anakin and Padme romance abuses the audience with so many one line cliches I now call the movie "Attack of the Well-Worn Cliches." I don't know whether to blame the actors or the lousy screenplay writing for the quality of the acting. The movie also looks terrible because Lucas insisted on recording it in digital. Ditigal simply does not have the resolution of film and it really shows in "Clones." It's a pity because the movie would be great to look at otherwise, as Episode I was. I've seen "Clones" in both film and ditigal and no matter how you look at it, it does not look as good as past Star Wars movies. Expand
  2. SteveM.
    Jun 3, 2002
    5
    Throughout the film was technically superb. But this is expected from Lucas. The acting of Hayden Christensen was simply abysmal. I am stunned that Lucas would permit that on screen. I am stunned that Christian Hayden could show his face at the premiere of the film! The script for the romance between Amidalah and Annikan was also poor. The dual punch of bad script and poor acting through Throughout the film was technically superb. But this is expected from Lucas. The acting of Hayden Christensen was simply abysmal. I am stunned that Lucas would permit that on screen. I am stunned that Christian Hayden could show his face at the premiere of the film! The script for the romance between Amidalah and Annikan was also poor. The dual punch of bad script and poor acting through the first half of the film caused me to squirm in my seat, wishing often I was somewhere else. Natalie Portman was good, if only for her ethereal beauty. I went into the film assuming that the critics had probably been too hard on the film, just as they had been so hard on Phantom Menace. I came out realizing that the critics when not getting thrown out of kilter by some trendy art flick like Mulholland Dr. know what they are talking about in general. I can only give the film a five, and that is being generous. Those who ooh and ah over the film are judging only on technical merits and nothing else. Or else have no capacity to judge a film based on its acting or script. Expand
  3. MattM.
    Oct 3, 2002
    3
    An unmitigated drag. Overlong, boring, self-involved, ostentatious prequel. An unequivocated disappointment.
  4. WillS.
    May 17, 2002
    3
    I agree with the New York Times. What an awful, boring, extravagant mess. This one is concentrated Lucas; bad acting (the WORST to date), worse dialog, a meandering story line and a heap o' slick CGI effects stuffed into every possible nook and cranny. This one truly blows.
  5. DonS.
    May 21, 2002
    1
    This movie had one of the worst scripts in movie history. and the acting from the guy who played anakin, and natalie portman was terrible. the only reason i give it a 1 is out of sympathy for ewan mcgregor for having to read such awful dialogue.
  6. RobertH.
    May 25, 2002
    3
    Where to begin? "Clones" is a far superior movie to "Menace" if that means anything? It appears that George Lucas made this movie simply to show the world he doesn't care what we think? All he wants to do is show off his new digital toys. The script is from a "B" movie; with the acting even worse. The actors appear as if they are reading from a cue card in a High School play. There Where to begin? "Clones" is a far superior movie to "Menace" if that means anything? It appears that George Lucas made this movie simply to show the world he doesn't care what we think? All he wants to do is show off his new digital toys. The script is from a "B" movie; with the acting even worse. The actors appear as if they are reading from a cue card in a High School play. There is simply no chemistry at all between the main characters. For example, Natalie Portman is gorgeous and all woman. Hayden Christensen is a handsome boy and acts the part. The thought that she could have any romantic feelings is simply unbelievable. He is immature, openly impressed with his own ability (conceited) and violates every rule of a Jedi. His contempt for Ewan McGregor, whom he describes as his father figure, is simply not to be believed. At times, it appears what he needs more than anything is a good spanking. When he kills in cold blood for revenge, Natalie mothers him and says it's okay. George, he is already on the dark side for murder as he belongs in jail. The only saving grace invoking a reaction from the audience is when Yoda walking with a limp and a cane puts on a dazzling spectacle show with a Laser sword worthy of an Olympian gymnast. George, I am afraid that you are in need of some serious help. Where did it all go wrong? Expand
  7. AJ
    Sep 6, 2002
    5
    From hearing some of the fan reactions I've got to include that anyone who claims to be a Star Wars fan that gives Episode II a perfect 10 is a 12 year old. You don't count as SW fans! This and Episode I were just terribly conceived movies. This didn't even feel like a Star Wars movie at all, and if it didn't belong to the franchise everyone would agree that this is a From hearing some of the fan reactions I've got to include that anyone who claims to be a Star Wars fan that gives Episode II a perfect 10 is a 12 year old. You don't count as SW fans! This and Episode I were just terribly conceived movies. This didn't even feel like a Star Wars movie at all, and if it didn't belong to the franchise everyone would agree that this is a totally forgetable movie. The REAL SW trilogy can be enjoyed on a child and adult level, whereas the only fans of the two prequels are going to be pre-teen boys. But they will be sad when they see this as an adult and realise what a pile of wank it really is. You don't go back to Empire after 10 years and say "what the hell did I enjoy about this movie". Natalie Portman was so crap in this movie. Carrie Fisher at least looked like she wanted to be in the movie. I swear Natalie was intentionally trying to get fired. Hayden was good, considering the hokey lines Lucas pissed into the script. Samuel Jackson was lamer than lame, and for some reason Yoda became Tetsuo from "Akira" at one point. Is it me or did Yoda's voice seem really deep? Or perhaps it was just his crappy lines. Considering Lucas had 20 years to come up with the prequel trilogy (which he always claimed was already written anyway), you'd think he'd have the time or sense to do a few re-writes. This thing didn't even feel proof-read. The truth is Lucas wrote this in a weekend in his garage. For two decades people have been saying Lucas is a visionary, and it must have swollen his head to think he can get away with this dreary excuse of a Star Wars flick. What happened to the "dark" plot he promised? Most of the scenes were filler and more useful to the video-game Lucas Arts will no-doubt make instead of the plot of the movie. This was a toy comercial. And while people always say the same thing about the Ewoks, but don't forget they were going to EAT Luke and Han, possibly even alive. Basically Watch RotJ Instead, you'll fell much more engrossed. Expand
  8. MichelleP.
    Oct 8, 2002
    3
    This was easily one of the worst movies I've seen. And these words are coming out of the mouth of a girl who loved "The Empire Strikes Back". The setting was polluted, the characters lacked humanity, and it was too computerized for me to handle. What happened to Lucas's charm?
  9. MissyJ
    May 16, 2002
    0
    A complete waste of time and money. And I so wanted this to be good. You just can't have a brain and a life and like this movie. The love story-HA!!! I think I'll go see Spider-Man again, someone who knows how to act and treat a lady
  10. RhysL.
    May 17, 2002
    3
    If I had not gone into the movie expecting nothing big I am sure I would have walked out very angry. Episode II was painful. After seeing the chaotic action scenes it just makes me wonder if Lucas made a pact with aspirin companies. The action was over done; The story was under done. Scenes with Ani and Padme were slow and the acting was flat. Scenes that were acctually /worth/ seeing ( If I had not gone into the movie expecting nothing big I am sure I would have walked out very angry. Episode II was painful. After seeing the chaotic action scenes it just makes me wonder if Lucas made a pact with aspirin companies. The action was over done; The story was under done. Scenes with Ani and Padme were slow and the acting was flat. Scenes that were acctually /worth/ seeing ( Yoda .... with a light saber did rule ) were cut short way to soon. It was like the scene hit a wall out of no where and it was onto the next part. Lucas has no original thought... he even goes as far as to rip off his own movies in hopes that it will be fresh and new now. No such luck Lucas, just let some one else finish the trilogy for you and go off to play with your pretty toys. Just do not make me sit though this again with Episode III. However, after I and II, I am afraid Episode III: Watch this movie because I am God ( In all seriousness at the rate Lucas is going this name is very possible. ) is just going to be another painful experience that would have all but the most deluded "Star Wars" fan "forming a grand army" and storming Lucas' house. Expand
  11. MichaelH.
    May 17, 2002
    3
    The StarWars saga just died for me tonight. Episode II is dull and lifeless. The only scene that roused the crowd was when we finally got to see Yoda in action. Yet, even this moment was cut short, as the few true moments are, while the rest is either painfully stagnant or a blur of incomprehensible action. The vaunted digital effects are overwhelming and actually detract from the The StarWars saga just died for me tonight. Episode II is dull and lifeless. The only scene that roused the crowd was when we finally got to see Yoda in action. Yet, even this moment was cut short, as the few true moments are, while the rest is either painfully stagnant or a blur of incomprehensible action. The vaunted digital effects are overwhelming and actually detract from the advancement of the story. You could forgive Episode I as the difficulty of getting back in the saddle after 20 years just like the ponderously bad first StarTrek movie. Episode II is a violation of the very spirit of adventure that StarWars brought to us all. Expand
  12. DanielZ.
    May 18, 2002
    3
    As one friend put it, "yoda owns", and i'd hafta agree with that, cause yoda does own, he owns the only good 2 and a half minutes in the entire film... I give this a 3 for special effects.
  13. RDuest
    May 20, 2002
    0
    One of the stupiest movies ever made, and probably the biggest opportunity lost. The story of good gone bad (Vaders tell) has SO much potential, but alas lucas is money grubbing fool that simply doesn't care. The 10's are by the legion of 10 yr olds out there; don't believe it. Read the NY Times review, it's the most right on of them all.
  14. ZachM.
    Jun 24, 2002
    1
    Lucas is so unskilled at directing actors that he turns talents like Samuel L. Jackson and Ewan McGregor into robotic one-liner machines, relegating them to the low level of Hayden Christiansen and Natalie Portman (maybe to make those no-talent hacks feel better about being beautiful yet utterly worthless?). He also intentionally fills the video (it ain't a film) with stereotypes and Lucas is so unskilled at directing actors that he turns talents like Samuel L. Jackson and Ewan McGregor into robotic one-liner machines, relegating them to the low level of Hayden Christiansen and Natalie Portman (maybe to make those no-talent hacks feel better about being beautiful yet utterly worthless?). He also intentionally fills the video (it ain't a film) with stereotypes and racism - check the creature with the Italian accent that's fat, sloppy and has flies buzzing around him, for example. The video also contains shameless anti-drug and pro-American propaganda. The city design and action sequences are ripped off from Blade Runner and The Fifth Element, which makes them entirely boring for even casual sci-fi fans. At least he added some spice by creating homosexual innuendo between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker, but that may very well have been unintentional. And why in the hell do the characters suddenly use contemporary American slang (e.g. "Good call, my young Padwan")??? Expand
  15. Yong-WooK.
    Jun 7, 2002
    3
    This movie is very boring for as I have remembered. The visual effects and the sound is quite good in some ways, but that still dosen't make the diffrence. The acting was disappointing and the story keeps on dragging. Not enough excitement compared to Star Wars: A new hope. The sound is good but not for the quality. This movie feels so long. I'm hoping that Episode 3 would be This movie is very boring for as I have remembered. The visual effects and the sound is quite good in some ways, but that still dosen't make the diffrence. The acting was disappointing and the story keeps on dragging. Not enough excitement compared to Star Wars: A new hope. The sound is good but not for the quality. This movie feels so long. I'm hoping that Episode 3 would be better. But I'm concerned after the disappointment that this movie has to face. (Except for the sound effects). Expand
  16. BobH.
    May 16, 2002
    4
    Exactly what you expect from George Lucas: great action sequences, but lousy pacing, laughable dialogue and often atrocious acting. (Who knew Anakin Skywalker sometimes speaks with a New York accent?) It's just not possible to create and sustain consistently credible performances with actors forced to stare at green screens for months at a time. But Lucas loves his FX more than his Exactly what you expect from George Lucas: great action sequences, but lousy pacing, laughable dialogue and often atrocious acting. (Who knew Anakin Skywalker sometimes speaks with a New York accent?) It's just not possible to create and sustain consistently credible performances with actors forced to stare at green screens for months at a time. But Lucas loves his FX more than his actors, and it shows in every frame. You can almost hear him shouting "look, mom, it's all digital!" for almost two and a half hours. As a result, Lucas' preoccupation with filmmaking gadgetry over story reduces the recent Star Wars movies to the most expensive student films ever made. Also, somebody's gotta teach this guy that making CGI metalwork gleam is something we can all do on our laptops now. (Look closely in the credits -- original design layouts were actually done in Apple Final Cut Pro.) Twenty minutes could be cut just by trimming all the lengthy shots of hey-look-what-we-made-with-our-new-software. So what you wind up with is boring as hell for most of the first two-thirds, then exciting enough in the last act -- when they finally get around to that oldest of cinematic devices, actual conflict between characters (otherwise known as "plot") -- that you almost walk away with some hope for the next installment. But only almost. Expand
  17. SethB.
    May 16, 2002
    0
    Awful movie. My problem with it is the acting. I can't get into the movie because I don't believe in the charachters. And what Marc D. said was totally right, the Obi-Wan storyline is much better than the love story thing which was pure stupidity. But that's what you get when you have a bunch of people who I suspect never had a girlfriend in life try to write a love story.
  18. ChadS.
    May 24, 2002
    4
    I liked Yoda.
  19. AppleH.
    May 26, 2002
    0
    What in the world is the message George Lucas is trying to send? Beside bad acting and a poor script, what values is he trying to teach the youth of America? He gives a boy (a conceited spoiled brat) special powers as a Jedi who abuses them. He constantly does not listen and disobeys his father and his elders. He is jealous, a braggart, and in constant competition to show his manhood. Why What in the world is the message George Lucas is trying to send? Beside bad acting and a poor script, what values is he trying to teach the youth of America? He gives a boy (a conceited spoiled brat) special powers as a Jedi who abuses them. He constantly does not listen and disobeys his father and his elders. He is jealous, a braggart, and in constant competition to show his manhood. Why in the world would these wise Jedi entrust him with power as he is truly undeserving? The kid desperately needs some professional counseling. George then sends the wrong message, in that in these trying times (terrorists), he says it's okay to kill an entire race of people as this brat murders them in their sleep for revenge. How parents can take their children to see this message is simply unbelievable? Absolutely terrible movie! Expand
  20. RobertoL.
    May 27, 2002
    0
    Sebastian M. I do not know how old you are but you seem like an impressionable young pre-teen? You will not impress girls by telling them that you are better than your elders and teachers and going out and committing mass murder. Believe me, you will never get the girl! Instead you receive about about fifty years to life in prison. Please do not look at Annakin as your role model. George Sebastian M. I do not know how old you are but you seem like an impressionable young pre-teen? You will not impress girls by telling them that you are better than your elders and teachers and going out and committing mass murder. Believe me, you will never get the girl! Instead you receive about about fifty years to life in prison. Please do not look at Annakin as your role model. George Lucas is this what you really intended? Expand
  21. MathewS.
    Jun 10, 2002
    5
    It's just too bad. It could have been good. The effects where amazing, believable. The relationships, the acting, was NOT believable. Oops.
  22. HarryH.
    Jun 4, 2002
    1
    Other than Yoda doing his Kung Fu, which at least got a reaction from the audience; otherwise, this movie was absolutely horrible. Terrible script, bad acting and all that busy digital special effects had my head spinning. Pretty boy, and I mean boy, Hayden Christensen acted as if he were a wooden Indian. How could anyone other than a teenager have any romantic feeling for him? He was so Other than Yoda doing his Kung Fu, which at least got a reaction from the audience; otherwise, this movie was absolutely horrible. Terrible script, bad acting and all that busy digital special effects had my head spinning. Pretty boy, and I mean boy, Hayden Christensen acted as if he were a wooden Indian. How could anyone other than a teenager have any romantic feeling for him? He was so bad in the role that it appeared as if it were a High School production. Enough already George. Expand
  23. TerryH.
    Aug 14, 2002
    0
    Sucked big time. The only reason why this got good ratings is because of die hard star wars fans defending this movie. It is heard that the whole world almost hated this movie. Except for America which had mixed reviews. Clones:17 million thumbs down.
  24. Amadala
    Mar 11, 2003
    5
    An okay film, but not worth seeing in the theatres.
  25. P.M.
    Nov 16, 2002
    4
    The movie is certainly a well - oiled production effort. It is held together by a cohesive plot that weaves part of the Star Wars saga, and of course, visually spectacular and technically amazing. But beneath the surface of advanced graphics and looking beyond the commercial hype of the series, the film certainly needs improvement on characterization and well, HUMANITY. I feel it is The movie is certainly a well - oiled production effort. It is held together by a cohesive plot that weaves part of the Star Wars saga, and of course, visually spectacular and technically amazing. But beneath the surface of advanced graphics and looking beyond the commercial hype of the series, the film certainly needs improvement on characterization and well, HUMANITY. I feel it is merely an imaginative mecha tale of mythological proportions, devoid [or lacking] of the moments that make us "feel" the movie. Did it make us cry? laugh? Were we moved? These questions are to be seriously considered and should be pondered upon, by Lucas and his contemporaries, before fashioning another lame souped - up final chapter. Expand
  26. JoshuaW.
    Nov 5, 2002
    5
    Everything that works in this film, the effects, grandure, good casting, ect...can be attributed to the great producing you get with Lucas. Everything that doesn't work in this film, the acting, the over use of effects and of course, a poor script can also be attributed to Lucas. He is a treasure trove of wonderful stories but he works best in collaborations; another screen writer or Everything that works in this film, the effects, grandure, good casting, ect...can be attributed to the great producing you get with Lucas. Everything that doesn't work in this film, the acting, the over use of effects and of course, a poor script can also be attributed to Lucas. He is a treasure trove of wonderful stories but he works best in collaborations; another screen writer or two could not have hurt the film and another director is no longer an option. Lucas has sat exclusively in the Producers chair for far too long and that's where he should stay. I wish he's let Spielberg direct the next and last film. Spielberg has expressed an extream interest and I'm sure he could do wonders for this floundering saga which I do love with every fiber of my being, which is why it hurts so much to see it so diminished. Expand
  27. B.S.
    Dec 6, 2002
    4
    Only part not predictable or boring is yoda.
  28. KenK.
    May 16, 2002
    4
    Oy! What can I say? Though this movie feels more epic in nature than the others, the disjointed editing left me confused and unsatisfied. Of course, the special effects and digital video presentation were awesome.
  29. BethyS.
    May 16, 2002
    0
    Totally a young boy's flick. A "minuteman" of a movie; at first I was interested, then sleepy for the next hour and 45 minutes.
  30. RickG.
    May 17, 2002
    0
    Bottom Line: If you are older (mentally or otherwise) than 10 you will be very dissappointed with this mess. While some would give it a rating above zero because of the special effects, I argue that at this time in history that's a no brainer -- anyone can do great effects -- so no points for the what we come to expect. Go see Lord of the Rings, that movie is everything a great Bottom Line: If you are older (mentally or otherwise) than 10 you will be very dissappointed with this mess. While some would give it a rating above zero because of the special effects, I argue that at this time in history that's a no brainer -- anyone can do great effects -- so no points for the what we come to expect. Go see Lord of the Rings, that movie is everything a great adventure film should be and forget you ever heard of Star Wars, at this rate the orignal three are becoming more worthless by the second. Expand
  31. EricL.
    May 17, 2002
    1
    Bad, bad, bad... Bad acting, bad story, even some poor cinematography. This film was a huge disappointment! Yoda in action was the only glimmer of hope that this film held and even that scene felt as if it was cut short. As for the rest of the movie it felt like a really slow drive down a very bumpy road...
  32. MichaelF.
    May 18, 2002
    5
    First off:George Lucas had over 15 years to do Episode 1, so he has NO excuse for it to suck, even though it did. But Episode 2 still sucks ass, but if it didn't have the last 30mins it would've been HORRIBLE. Hayden Christensen is bad bad bad, and does these stupid "evil" looks. Ewan has got this Obi-Wan thing down-pat. Sam Jackson kicks ass, but not as much as Yoda. Yoda kicks First off:George Lucas had over 15 years to do Episode 1, so he has NO excuse for it to suck, even though it did. But Episode 2 still sucks ass, but if it didn't have the last 30mins it would've been HORRIBLE. Hayden Christensen is bad bad bad, and does these stupid "evil" looks. Ewan has got this Obi-Wan thing down-pat. Sam Jackson kicks ass, but not as much as Yoda. Yoda kicks some serious ass in this movie. Chistopher Lee is Chritopher Lee, playing the same part that he did in Fellowship of the ring. AMAZING visuals. But the dialouge is so bad bad bad. The plot gets pretty, if not, too complicated. Natalie Portman is unbelievably hot! John Williams, who I personally cannot stand, did this completely over-blown score. His love theme was just laughable. But in the last 30mins it's just incredibly fun. Episode 3 is going to be great though. Expand
  33. AntonA.
    May 22, 2002
    4
    Okay, the special effects are great, but that can't save a bad movie. I was really relieved when the movie was over.
  34. PaulP.
    May 25, 2002
    3
    Boring for the most part. Some neat special effects which couldn't save bad script and acting. The yoda fight scene was pretty cool, though!
  35. BrianL.
    May 11, 2002
    6
    Better than Phantom Menace, but unfortunately that's not saying much.
  36. Mar 22, 2015
    3
    Although it has some good scenes, like Shmi Skywalker's death, and the duel between Anakin, Obi-Wan, and Count Dooku, Attack of The Clones still stands as the worst of the prequel series and as the worst in the entire saga due to atrocious dialogue and horrid characterisations.
  37. Jan 19, 2015
    0
    A superior sequel. Star Wars: Attack of the clones is better than Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (but so is smashing your head against the Bathroom mirror).
  38. Jan 23, 2015
    0
    I don't like sand. It's coarse, and rough, and irritating - and it gets everywhere. Just like this movie.

    Incredible Thriller - had me sobbing at the end.

    0/10 - Ben Hazelden
  39. RDG
    Jan 6, 2015
    0
    Worst Star Wars movie hands down. Cringe worthy dialogue and acting. A story that makes no sense and is full of plot holes. Outdated and cheap looking CGI environments, characters and battle scenes. An awful romance subplot.
    Lucas made some bad choices when making this film but the worst was giving Yoda and lightsaber and having him fight in a duel. The CGI fighting looked really bad and
    Worst Star Wars movie hands down. Cringe worthy dialogue and acting. A story that makes no sense and is full of plot holes. Outdated and cheap looking CGI environments, characters and battle scenes. An awful romance subplot.
    Lucas made some bad choices when making this film but the worst was giving Yoda and lightsaber and having him fight in a duel. The CGI fighting looked really bad and it overall ruined the wise and mystical character of Yoda from the Empire Strikes Back and turned him into some bulls*** action hero.
    Expand
  40. CharlieW.
    Feb 21, 2006
    0
    The only good thing I can say about this movie is that Jar-Jar is not in it... thank god...
  41. Apr 25, 2013
    2
    Even with the reduced Jar-Jar Binks screen time, Lucas' grueling, emo space opera some how achieves the dubious achievement of being worse than 'The Phantom Menace'. Even Though episode 1 was a bad movie, it contained a couple entertaining scenes e.g. The Pod race and The final duel. Episode 2 has the infuriating dilemma of having absolutely no engaging, memorable or even slightlyEven with the reduced Jar-Jar Binks screen time, Lucas' grueling, emo space opera some how achieves the dubious achievement of being worse than 'The Phantom Menace'. Even Though episode 1 was a bad movie, it contained a couple entertaining scenes e.g. The Pod race and The final duel. Episode 2 has the infuriating dilemma of having absolutely no engaging, memorable or even slightly entertaining scenes. Even the Yoda light saber scene reeks of desperate fan pleasing Collapse
  42. AndyS.
    May 17, 2002
    0
    So bad as to beggar the imagination. Bad as in dull, soul-numbing bad, not as in campy, amusing bad. That's right, folks, it's another massive eruption of anti-art from the bottomless well of idiot's drool otherwise known as Hollywood. The theater was pulsing with energy; spontaneous cheers went up at the appearance of the Lucasfilms logo. The next audience sound, other So bad as to beggar the imagination. Bad as in dull, soul-numbing bad, not as in campy, amusing bad. That's right, folks, it's another massive eruption of anti-art from the bottomless well of idiot's drool otherwise known as Hollywood. The theater was pulsing with energy; spontaneous cheers went up at the appearance of the Lucasfilms logo. The next audience sound, other than low, embarrassed laughter, happened more than two hours later (when Yoda .....). The rest was silence. As we were filing out past the incoming crowd of victims, one was heard to comment, "They don't look happy." We were not happy. Don't waste your time and money on this garbage; and please help discourage Mr. Lucas from committing further aesthetic war crimes by mercilessly ridiculing him and any of his blind, tone-deaf, mentally-challenged supporters. Expand
  43. Sep 24, 2011
    5
    George Lucas, similar to "The Phantom Menace", doesn't really give anything except for a high quality CGI battle in "Attack of the Clones".
  44. R.Smith
    Jul 21, 2007
    3
    What was George Lucas thinking? Has he completely lost his mind? As a long time Star Wars fan, this movie was so disappointing. The acting is awful, downright awful, and the plot has nothing going for it. The only good things about it were the light-saber fight at the end with Yoda, and that Jar Jar Binks wasn't in it. What a waste of talent, and expectation.
  45. bill
    Jul 15, 2009
    3
    For me this was the worst of the six star wars movies. As a matter of fact I wouldn't call it a movie until the last 20 minutes. The begining and middle of this film was boring and predictable. Only the dule between Dooku and Yoda saved this movie from being a big fat 0. But even then it was to little to late.
  46. matta.
    Oct 20, 2005
    2
    I hadn't seen this since the theaters over three years ago, and I remeber it being pretty bad then, but wow, last night when I decided to go back and see just how bad it was, boy was I treated to one of most shitty films in recent memory. With Lucas, it's a given that the dialogue, acting, and story are going to be bad, but even the visuals were terribly shoddy. During some I hadn't seen this since the theaters over three years ago, and I remeber it being pretty bad then, but wow, last night when I decided to go back and see just how bad it was, boy was I treated to one of most shitty films in recent memory. With Lucas, it's a given that the dialogue, acting, and story are going to be bad, but even the visuals were terribly shoddy. During some scenes I seriously thought that I was watching "Shrek 2." I used to think that this and the first of the prequels were about on par, but this one is without a doubt worse (Menace is still only a 3 mind you). Even taking this for what it is, a fantasy, sci-fi film, it is terrible. Diehard nerds may enjoy this poor excuse for filmmaking, but everyone else needs to stay away. Expand
  47. JackD.
    Jul 9, 2002
    6
    Silly me. I misread the title and thought I was seeing Attack of the CLOWNS..well, actually, maybe I was. A lot has been made of the bad acting in this movie..but it is the really awful dialog that causes it. Lucas should stay behind the camera and away from the word processor.
  48. DisappointedALot
    Oct 14, 2002
    3
    Neither this film, nor the the Phantom Menace, really feels like Star Wars. Lucas kept on saying how difficult it would be to meet audience's expectations after the first trilogy. But what what was he talking about? The first three films were stunning. When coming to these Prequels everything was already in place for Lucas to make a cracking trilogy. Instead we have the drivel which Neither this film, nor the the Phantom Menace, really feels like Star Wars. Lucas kept on saying how difficult it would be to meet audience's expectations after the first trilogy. But what what was he talking about? The first three films were stunning. When coming to these Prequels everything was already in place for Lucas to make a cracking trilogy. Instead we have the drivel which describes both Phantom and Clones. All audiences really expected was good acting (Mark Hamill, Harrisson Ford etc did seem to enjoy being in the film and they played the characters as if they BELIEVED they were real). Natalie Portman, Ewan etc, just don't believe in what they are doing. I am amazed at how bad their acting is..it is laughable. The script is terrible and doesn't allow the actors to put any emotion into their performances. The action sequences are just trash...even the car scene at the start of Clones soon degenerates into ridiculous farce with people falling thousands of feet and grabbing the bumpers of cars below. There is a sense in these films that nothing is at stake, the characters indestructible. The other nail in the coffin is the SFX...let's face it, the original trilogy looked a lot better. This computer generated garbage is over used..yes , it looks good for the cityscapes but the Jar Jar battle in Phantom was like watching an animation and the same goes for the final battle in clones. It looks crap, the monsters don't touch the likes of Jurrasic Park and it is very difficult to get involved with something that looks like a video game. CGI has its place, but Lucas has changed his philosophy of "effects being a merely a tool to sell a story". Here, the effects are the story. (The lightsaber fights are still Ok, though and the kung fu style of Darth maul gave it a good edge). The final problem for me is the forced humour which permeates these new films, especially Phantom. The jar Jar battle is all kidish nonsense that destroys the epci feel the first trilogy tried to create...there is no grit in these films and the "natural" humour we saw in Starwas and ESB is gone. What we have is that stupid, slapstick stuff that started to kick in a little with Jedi. Expand
  49. MichaelS.
    Oct 9, 2002
    6
    Please, say something to George Lucas! He's doing everything wrong! I hope his newest Star Wars can give us some hope, because this is one hell of a mess! Only the special effects and the soundtrack could save this movie!
  50. ChristopherS.
    May 17, 2002
    6
    Poor acting, poor dialogue. Lucas needs to learn pacing, and to hire a better writer.
  51. May 23, 2014
    1
    A film only good to make fun out of and rip apart when watching with friends. Another disgraceful chapter on Lucas' relentless mission to give people his unpolished mess of his Star Wars prequels vision.
    This film is a bundle of **** it has everything: bad dialogues, bland lifeless characters, probably the stupidest idea of a romance ever captured on the big screen, overuse of CGI to the
    A film only good to make fun out of and rip apart when watching with friends. Another disgraceful chapter on Lucas' relentless mission to give people his unpolished mess of his Star Wars prequels vision.
    This film is a bundle of **** it has everything: bad dialogues, bland lifeless characters, probably the stupidest idea of a romance ever captured on the big screen, overuse of CGI to the point it all looks like a videogame cutscene (like an expensive episode of Command and Conquer) and lore breaking decisions that were outright stupid (like giving Yoda a lightsaber). And at the epicenter of this butchering of the franchise is none other than Georgy, because like Phantom Menace it felt like there was no collaboration - they do only what George tells them to do without questioning his decisions (feels like George is the Emperor himself)
    Expand
  52. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    Still nowhere near as good as any movie in the original trilogy, but unlike Episode I, at least this one is actually watchable if you can put up with the lame dialog. It's a mediocre movie but there are some really cool scenes in it so I have bumped it up to an 8/10.
  53. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The locations are memorable and interesting; the craggy canyons of Geonosis and the torrential storms of Kamino were immediately imprinted in my head when I first saw them. The CGI strengthens the film-the action sequences look amazing, from the speeder chase at the film's beginning, to the ending confrontation between the Jedi and Count Dooku. Seeing Yoda finally whip out his lightsaber and fight was very exciting. I don't get why people complain about him jumping around during the fight, though; such acrobatics show an interesting contrast between Yoda's age, and his actual power in the Force, and skill in lightsaber combat. No one would expect a 874-year-old green troll to have such mobility. Each of the planets is a representation of what is happening on the planet. Coruscant is shrouded in fog, Kamino is shrouded in mystery, and Geonosis is shrouded in violence; each is part of the shroud of the dark side that is ever-present in the film-in one of the main characters, and in the events that move the story along. I liked the characters of Obi-Wan, Padmé, and Anakin, as well as each of the conflicts and struggles they faced in the film. Again, I didn't get the accusations of "wooden" acting and "boring" characters. When watching the film, I believed that the characters were the characters, not actors playing characters. Lucas delivered another good screenplay, with some help from Jonathan Hales, and the politics-as well as the machinations of the Sith, and the slow erosion of the Republic-are fantastically done. Not only that, but the characters are believable and realistic for the situations they are placed in. The romance between Anakin and Padmé has been ridiculed for being "cheesy" and "clichéd," but I think the moments and dialogue between them are perfect for their situation, as well as the universe that they live in. Besides, I love a romance between "star-crossed" lovers. Star Wars: Episode II: Attack of the Clones is a wonderfully-done film, and it is certainly worth your time to watch the second episode of the Star Wars saga. Expand
  54. May 29, 2013
    0
    I wanted to see more starfighters battle scenes than lightsaber battle scenes like Millennium Falcon from Return of the Jedi. I don't really like lightsaber. I like Rebel Assault II: The Hidden Empire than the movies.
    I wanted Jamison Jones to be in the movie.
    I don't like when there are too many people,aliens in the scene, like The Lord of the Rings, The Dark Knight Rises. Characters
    I wanted to see more starfighters battle scenes than lightsaber battle scenes like Millennium Falcon from Return of the Jedi. I don't really like lightsaber. I like Rebel Assault II: The Hidden Empire than the movies.
    I wanted Jamison Jones to be in the movie.
    I don't like when there are too many people,aliens in the scene, like The Lord of the Rings, The Dark Knight Rises.
    Characters were quite boring, I wanted to see characters with make-up, mask on, human form Alien, 4 leg aliens, monsters.
    Expand
  55. Dec 7, 2014
    3
    A superior sequel. Star Wars: Attack of the clones is better than Star Wars: The Phantom Menace (but so is smashing your head against the Bathroom mirror).
  56. Apr 25, 2015
    9
    -----REDONE REVIEW-----

    Attack of the Clones proves to be a worthy and improved successor of The Phantom Menace. The romance between Anakin and Padmé is a bit cringe-worthy at times but it certainly has its moments, making it not that huge of a complaint from me. New characters like Jango Fett and Count Dooku offer up amazing performances as the returning Obi-Wan goes on an engaging
    -----REDONE REVIEW-----

    Attack of the Clones proves to be a worthy and improved successor of The Phantom Menace. The romance between Anakin and Padmé is a bit cringe-worthy at times but it certainly has its moments, making it not that huge of a complaint from me. New characters like Jango Fett and Count Dooku offer up amazing performances as the returning Obi-Wan goes on an engaging detective-esque quest and discovers the Clone Army. It’s a great time throughout.
    9.3
    Expand
  57. DustinS.
    May 15, 2002
    10
    This is the definitive movie of Lucas's new Trilogy. It entails all of the classic elements of a great Star Wars movie, everything from great action, interesting politics, to the backbone love story. This movie returns the warmth that always seemed to accompany one when viewing the old trilogy, and that is a great thing.
  58. Feb 9, 2011
    5
    Hayden Christensen is one of the worst modern actors I can think of. To say that him and Natalie Portman (who had a surprisingly poor performance despite her being a fantastic actress) had any chemistry in this movie would be simply absurd. There are some pretty set pieces now and again, and it pushes the star wars story along nicely, but overall not a good movie. In fact its easily theHayden Christensen is one of the worst modern actors I can think of. To say that him and Natalie Portman (who had a surprisingly poor performance despite her being a fantastic actress) had any chemistry in this movie would be simply absurd. There are some pretty set pieces now and again, and it pushes the star wars story along nicely, but overall not a good movie. In fact its easily the worst of all 6. It should also be noted that Anakins speech about "sand" is one of the LAMEST, most PATHETIC, PUTRID, DESPICABLE, pieces of dialogue ive ever seen on film. I wanted to vomit all over George Lucas and burn down the theater. And i'm usually a calm person... Expand
  59. Jan 21, 2012
    3
    Lucas should've stuck with the muppets used in episodes IV - VI instead of the green screen CG characters. There's an obvious disconnect between the living breathing actors and those who are digitally created to the point it's just uncomfortable watching those scenes. And the dialogue. WOW . "Hold me, like you did by the lake on Naboo." Poor Natalie Portman.
  60. SimonN
    Oct 8, 2002
    10
    This movie was Very good.
  61. ScottH.
    May 30, 2002
    9
    This movie is GREAT!... The dialogue and love story, while not Oscar caliber, is much better than some critics are claiming. The film is spectaular to watch, and the plot is well developed and leaves us anticipating the last installment in 3 years.
  62. PontusB.
    May 16, 2002
    10
    This was one of the coolest movies i have seen in a long time, it was truly good and I am glad I stood in line 13 hours for a ticket.
  63. JayC.
    May 21, 2002
    8
    Excellent effects. Storyline brilliant. Animation outstanding. All good stuff. Only negative comment goes towards the ever so slightly soppy love scenes between the senator and anakin, but hey, someones gotta be in love in space (!)
  64. LyleK.
    May 24, 2002
    10
    Yoda Kicks ass. NEED I say more?
  65. CaptainStarr
    May 25, 2002
    8
    I am surprised that these "so-called"alleged fans even write. I will agree that the movie is slow in parts but so was the original. Those of you that rated this movie so low are not true fans. The scene with Yoda actually fighting is worth the price of admission. To see a young Skywalker going through the pains of adolescence and yet be this great Jedi is just what all young men go I am surprised that these "so-called"alleged fans even write. I will agree that the movie is slow in parts but so was the original. Those of you that rated this movie so low are not true fans. The scene with Yoda actually fighting is worth the price of admission. To see a young Skywalker going through the pains of adolescence and yet be this great Jedi is just what all young men go through. So what if he is a serial murderer killing about 100 men, women and children in cold blood in their sleep for revenge? It's just George's way of showing that you shouldn't mess with the soon-to-be Darth Vader. To be true to the story George had to turn him toward the dark side at some time. Like all children he just seems a little confused with his new power. The movie does has its moments. These "wannabe" fans want to be wowed every time. When it doesn't happen they become disenchanted. Overall, I enjoyed the movie and thought it was a good chapter setting up what promises to be a great final installment. Go see it and be amazed. Expand
  66. Jovi
    May 8, 2002
    10
    "At last the circle is complete..." Finally George Lucas has delivered! Attack of the Clones is a visual spectacle that assaults the senses. With every beautiful backdrop and every nailbitting fighting sequence, one can easily forget that Lucas has pushed the envelope once more in entertainment. Shot in pure digital, the movie is flawless; the effects, seamless. But there is more to "At last the circle is complete..." Finally George Lucas has delivered! Attack of the Clones is a visual spectacle that assaults the senses. With every beautiful backdrop and every nailbitting fighting sequence, one can easily forget that Lucas has pushed the envelope once more in entertainment. Shot in pure digital, the movie is flawless; the effects, seamless. But there is more to Episode Two than just cool effects and action... the story is not only solid but full of twists and surprises. It also takes us deep into the workings of the Dark side. The lies, the manipulations, the evil that is the Sith comes to light and it is here that we see how the Emperror comes to power and what it takes to turn a Jedi to the dark side. The acting on all parts surpasses the drone like performances of Episode 1... Everyone is exceptional and even the dialogue was tolerable. From the moment the music starts, the fun begins and it doesn't stop. Never a dull moment, and it delivers. Just like Empire Strikes Back, there will be a moment that will be remembered for a very long time. Too good to tell. Unlike Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones is dark and it is a love story. A combination that compliments one another as it takes you on an emotional rollercoaster ride in a galaxy far far away. Star Wars Attack of the Clones is what we have all been expecting and awaiting from the creator himself. This movie may have finally brought balance to the force. The only bad thing is that Episode Three wont be out for another couple of years!!!! Don't miss out! It's worth the wait, the lines, and getting dressed up as a wookie. Expand
  67. JessicaP.
    Jul 7, 2002
    8
    Hey, sure the movie was bad, but atleast George had good taste in cute gys, Hayden is sooo HOTT! I am sooo jealous of Natilie. That bitch.
  68. AlexC.
    Aug 21, 2002
    9
    excellent follow up to the disappointing phanton menace, enjoyed immensely. Can't wait for the next installment.
  69. JeffM.
    Aug 2, 2002
    6
    I dunno what people really expected. Granted that the trilogy still stands as the high standard for sci-fi movies, do you think it's really that easy to make a good movie as a PREQUEL? Sequels are bad enough but they don't have to already match what's happened. I understand that it could've been a hell of a lot better but it could've also been a hell of a lot I dunno what people really expected. Granted that the trilogy still stands as the high standard for sci-fi movies, do you think it's really that easy to make a good movie as a PREQUEL? Sequels are bad enough but they don't have to already match what's happened. I understand that it could've been a hell of a lot better but it could've also been a hell of a lot worse. Without the love scenes (the only TRULY bad part about the movie) this movie might deserve a passing grade. Expand
  70. guess2
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    The love story had to be in one of the movies!
  71. BillH.
    May 16, 2002
    9
    I was almost afraid to go see this movie, but now with the 2 hours and 12 minutes were over I can't wait for more. I don't understand the bad reviews at all. No it's not a great movie but it is a good movie and adds a lot to the Star Wars saga. If you love the series you'll love the movie. The action builds with out a hitch. And if you ever wondered how little Yoda I was almost afraid to go see this movie, but now with the 2 hours and 12 minutes were over I can't wait for more. I don't understand the bad reviews at all. No it's not a great movie but it is a good movie and adds a lot to the Star Wars saga. If you love the series you'll love the movie. The action builds with out a hitch. And if you ever wondered how little Yoda could be a Jedi Master you will wonder not longer. It was great to see him in action. Expand
  72. JaeK.
    May 16, 2002
    10
    Go see this one. Much better than phantom menace.
  73. LhiaR.
    May 18, 2002
    9
    This is everything you want in a star wars movie. Great battle and special effects, Yoda!, and a peek into Darth Vader's past....
  74. AllenA.
    May 18, 2002
    8
    I thought Anakin was great. A little too much computer animation for my tastes, but it bridged the gap from episode 1 and what will be 3 very well. Some classic SW stuff like when Anikin looks for his mother. Next movie has potential to be absolutely awsome. Oh, and C3PO's one liners were terrible, and I hate looking at battle droids, and they sound obnoxious. Loved the part where I thought Anakin was great. A little too much computer animation for my tastes, but it bridged the gap from episode 1 and what will be 3 very well. Some classic SW stuff like when Anikin looks for his mother. Next movie has potential to be absolutely awsome. Oh, and C3PO's one liners were terrible, and I hate looking at battle droids, and they sound obnoxious. Loved the part where Anakin fight with two sabers, fun. Expand
  75. Elrond
    May 18, 2002
    9
    It pisses me off to see that people dared to rate this movie bad when it was actually really good. This was definitely more of a "Star Wars" movie than Episode 1, which by the way I thought was great too. No, I don't think Episodes 1, 2, or 3 are/can be better than the original trilogy of 4,5, and 6. But they do kick ass in their own right!
  76. TravisW.
    May 20, 2002
    10
    This was such a great movie!!!!! The only thing i didn't like about it was the romantic scenes scattered throughout, but it was great!!! The beam swords were at their best this movie. By coincidence, i started liking star wars during episode 1, i saw it, and i saw episode 2, so im waiting for 3 and then to watch 4 5 and 6 and wait for 7 8 and 9. Lucas, YOU ARE AWESOME!
  77. StewartG.
    May 21, 2002
    6
    I give it 6 (Where 1 is the worst there is, 10 is the very best and 5 leaves me with no emotional reaction either way). This is from the point of view of a 30 year old. The bad acting and script left me not caring for any of the characters, but there were great moments, brilliant moments, here and there. Now and again the magic returned, but it felt like a car that kept on staling. Mr I give it 6 (Where 1 is the worst there is, 10 is the very best and 5 leaves me with no emotional reaction either way). This is from the point of view of a 30 year old. The bad acting and script left me not caring for any of the characters, but there were great moments, brilliant moments, here and there. Now and again the magic returned, but it felt like a car that kept on staling. Mr Lucas has done much for the industry. He's a visionary, but he's no director. Not any more. Expand
  78. MrP.
    May 22, 2002
    10
    This movie was great! Don't listen to all those other freaks! See it yourself and find out!
  79. KenH.
    May 24, 2002
    8
    Not as good as Empire Strikes Back. The movie does a great job in building towards the clash of the grand armies. The only slow part is the romance that seemed to be aimed at the 13-year-old female audience. But remember that great James Cameron directed a dreadful romance in Titanic, but that movie went on to be one of the greatest box office hits of all times.
  80. LauraT.
    May 24, 2002
    10
    I loved this movie. I really did not like Star Wars until this movie. I wish I could understand why people give this movie a negative review. I hated the last one and really can't stand the other ones but this was awesome.
  81. JackS.
    May 24, 2002
    10
    An exciting and well executed fantasy film that fits perfectly within the series. Better dialogue and acting than all the other Star Wars movies (save for The Empire Strikes Back). Lucas continues to direct his actors to perform too many "straight" moments (the last one was hampered by this) but there are enough moments that make up for this. Despite the many negative comments about this An exciting and well executed fantasy film that fits perfectly within the series. Better dialogue and acting than all the other Star Wars movies (save for The Empire Strikes Back). Lucas continues to direct his actors to perform too many "straight" moments (the last one was hampered by this) but there are enough moments that make up for this. Despite the many negative comments about this movie it is quite possibly the best in the series. Expand
  82. TinaS.
    May 25, 2002
    10
    it is one of the greatest movies I've ever seen!!! and i think hayden christensen is very,very sweet!
  83. JinC.
    May 31, 2002
    7
    If for no other reason, this movie will be remembered for being the first major motion picture to be shot and projected (albeit in few theaters) completely digitally - without ever having kissed film. anyhoo, the 'film' is completely flawed and imperfect with plot holes and detail gaffes large enough to drive whole death stars through... and yet, it is tremendously fun. itIf for no other reason, this movie will be remembered for being the first major motion picture to be shot and projected (albeit in few theaters) completely digitally - without ever having kissed film. anyhoo, the 'film' is completely flawed and imperfect with plot holes and detail gaffes large enough to drive whole death stars through... and yet, it is tremendously fun. it succeeds completely as a light hearted, swashbuckling B-MOVIE where even the truly bad moments are nonetheless pretty darn entertaining. and this is what star wars is best at being. forget all the hoity toity mythology/legacy/epic crap, if it succeeds as a good b-movie, it's done well what it has ever done well. it feels almost like lucas shrugged off the burden of an entire 'empire', gave up the 'grand epic' aspirations of episode 1 and just decided to make a fun picture. he chose well. he told spielberg during the making of raiders to 'just tell the story'. glad he listened to his own advice. and the romance works. it hits all its marks in a workmanlike fashion. and yes, there are moments that are completely goofy (adults should never ever FROLICK) but it has been engineered properly and it does do the job. fx are fantastic with really eye popping visuals that are all the better for serving the story. the space ship showdown between obiwan and jango fett is truly an amazing spectacle with perhaps the coolest explosion sound ever produced for a film. the cast is fine and would be better if they had more appropriate and substantial things to say. and i never noticed how sweet portman's voice is until this film.... all in all, not 'great cinema' but a fast and furious romp best served with popcorn. jin geek fact 1: first star wars movie ever to feature missile/rocket weapons. geek fact 2: the computer game jedi knight 2 actually captures a cool detail that the film misses - if you turn on a lightsaber in the rain, it should hiss and sizzle a lot. Expand
  84. AlexG.
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    Alright, i have seen lots of movies and if you want action, romance and Drama, this is the movie to see. You do not need to be a Starwars fan to love the great special effects and romance in this movie. This movie is the movie that tells us who Luke's & Leia's mother is. This movie shows you how much evergy an old Jedi has, at 640 yrs of age. Can you guess who?!?!?! I would like Alright, i have seen lots of movies and if you want action, romance and Drama, this is the movie to see. You do not need to be a Starwars fan to love the great special effects and romance in this movie. This movie is the movie that tells us who Luke's & Leia's mother is. This movie shows you how much evergy an old Jedi has, at 640 yrs of age. Can you guess who?!?!?! I would like to send my dissaprovement to anybody who rated the movie under an 8. This movie should be rated at least an 11. Thanks for your time. Expand
  85. SethD.
    Jul 7, 2002
    10
    it is obvious that star wars is not a film intended to quell the art house cynics and critics who believe that special effects and over the top production value destroy cinema. Then again serial adventures were never ment to be critisized. do you really think the old errol flynn movies or flash gordon serials would draw critical appeal in either it's time or in contemporary society, it is obvious that star wars is not a film intended to quell the art house cynics and critics who believe that special effects and over the top production value destroy cinema. Then again serial adventures were never ment to be critisized. do you really think the old errol flynn movies or flash gordon serials would draw critical appeal in either it's time or in contemporary society, hell no. so listen, Attack of the clones is cinematic escapism at it's best. nothing can top the visceral showmanship displayed in this movie. for my money this is the best recreation of a saturday matinee serial evermade. And for that reason the most succesful of the series, despite the wooden acting, over the top dialogue, and heavy reliance on effects, because these "problems" are staples of the foundation on which this film was based. Expand
  86. GuilleM.
    Mar 16, 2003
    10
    THE MOVIE ITS BETTER THAT episode I .the very good history tho the pass whit conections to the others episodes. and unexpected conections like the secret weapon ( the death star) etc..
  87. BrandonG.
    May 12, 2005
    9
    Started to bridge this series to the first - Hayden Christian and Natalie Portman trying to show us they were in love was the only true downfall of this movie due to the fact they are soulless shells that serve us better as lifesize cardboard cutout sthan real people
  88. Tonydannie
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    Simply the Third best film out of the Star Wars Saga. It has everything i wanted from the second chapter. Palpatine slowly pulling the strings, Anakin slowly turning to the darkside, etc. I love how this movie begins to bridge the saga with small moments like the appearence of the Death Star plans. The action is amazing and the visuals are outstandin.(Although I still Prefer the Asteroid Simply the Third best film out of the Star Wars Saga. It has everything i wanted from the second chapter. Palpatine slowly pulling the strings, Anakin slowly turning to the darkside, etc. I love how this movie begins to bridge the saga with small moments like the appearence of the Death Star plans. The action is amazing and the visuals are outstandin.(Although I still Prefer the Asteroid Chase in Empire Then the One in this Clones....Looks much more Real) The second to last shot of this film still brings chills down my spine. And the score is emotionally heart breaking. Specially The Love Theme. It is beautyfull but you know in the end this love story is not going to last. Great Film making! Expand
  89. MarkK
    Jan 9, 2009
    8
    A lot better than Phantom Menace but still not up to the standards of Empire Strikes Back.
  90. Chris
    Sep 14, 2009
    9
    It was awesome! The effects were great, the action scenes were well choreographed, and the acting was decent. Jango Fett is way better than Boba.
  91. TrystanS.
    Nov 15, 2002
    8
    The other movies, Star Wars, Empire Strikes Back, Return of the Jedi and the Phantom Menace were all very dull and boring for me. But I found this, Episode 2, Attack of the Clones more entertaining and my compliments to George Lucas, his movie is so Dial E for Excellent.
  92. BitBurn
    Nov 15, 2002
    6
    Well, It's not bad but the magic is not there anymore. The previous Phantom Menace was better because at least it had some great actors such as Liam Neeson. But this one feels a bit cold. Too much computer animation. Storyline a bit dull. Ah well...
  93. KostyaM.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    Star Wars: Attack of the Clones is the latest and greatest episode of the Star Wars saga yet. Packed with heaps more action than any other of its 5 predessors, AOTC takes viewers into the world of a real Star Wars galactic battle. The Clone War that was shown just blew me away, I have never seen a more intense, action-filled sequence in my life. I was thrilled with the choice of actors, Star Wars: Attack of the Clones is the latest and greatest episode of the Star Wars saga yet. Packed with heaps more action than any other of its 5 predessors, AOTC takes viewers into the world of a real Star Wars galactic battle. The Clone War that was shown just blew me away, I have never seen a more intense, action-filled sequence in my life. I was thrilled with the choice of actors, although in some parts Hayden Christensen struggled to show the relevent emotion. However, the atmosphere of this film makes up for it, and the CGI animatics used were brilliant, especially in bringing Yoda to life. Fantastic film, the only movie I see giving this one a run for its money is Episode III. May the Force be With You. Expand
  94. SigurbjornJ.
    May 11, 2002
    9
    This is a REAL Star Wars movie, not a kiddy movie like ep. 1. This movie has every thing the original trilogy had and then some. Action, humor, romance and the most amazing light saber action ever seen. The story is very good, here we see the events that will bring chaos to the galaxy, what it takes to turn a young Jedi to the dark side and not to say to much but we get to see why Yoda is This is a REAL Star Wars movie, not a kiddy movie like ep. 1. This movie has every thing the original trilogy had and then some. Action, humor, romance and the most amazing light saber action ever seen. The story is very good, here we see the events that will bring chaos to the galaxy, what it takes to turn a young Jedi to the dark side and not to say to much but we get to see why Yoda is the master of the Jedi order:-) We are intoduced to some new caracters that play a mayor role in the the events to unfold and we get to know some of our favorite caracters more personaly. The visual effects and the sound are as close to perfect as you can hope for. The only reason I don't give this film a 10 is that I fealt like the dialoge was some times strained and unrealistic and I didn't feel like Hayden Christensen delivered a poverfull enough a performance to be belivable as the future Darth Vader. Unlike ep. 1 this is a movie I'm going to see over and over again. To bad I have to wait a week to see it again. Expand
  95. EdB.
    May 15, 2002
    10
    Amazing! To the Village Voice reviewer: there is an odd cognitive dissonance at work in your review -- go watch Amelie and let the rest of us enjoy a great summer flick!
  96. MatthewB.
    May 16, 2002
    10
    This is by far the best of the series. Star Wars fan or not, you will love this one. Kudos George for reminding us why we love that universe in a galaxy far, far away.
  97. AdamM.
    May 16, 2002
    10
    What can you say. You just have to see it. The story is amazing. Les we not mention the special effects.
  98. ChrisC.
    May 16, 2002
    10
    This MOVIE was amazing, It beat all me expectations, I don't see how it is possible not to like this movie, if you don't maybe you should check your pulse and see if you are alive. It had all an SW fan could ask for and MORE.
  99. VincentaZ.
    May 17, 2002
    7
    Movie was worth its money, but one showing is enough. It's pretty dry, and long, and not enough stuff in between. However, The battle with the droid army and seeing yoda in action almost makes the movie worthwhile. Not as good as Spiderman though.
  100. AliL.
    May 21, 2002
    9
    What more could you ask for? Not much, this film was great!! Aliens, battles, Ewan McGregor... I like my movies to transport me to another world. Long live Star Wars!
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
  1. Attack of the Clones' high-definition surfaces are certainly impressive, but they offer no lifelight, nothing to put your arms around.
  2. Though the look aspires as usual to be both otherworldly and familiar, there's nothing that doesn't reek of southern California (as opposed to Hollywood) plastic, and this is as true of the characters as the decor.
  3. 50
    And while it was always clear that Lucas cared more about special effects than acting, here his lack of interest has produced phenomenally wooden performances from newcomers and veterans alike: Only the imperious Christopher Lee, as baleful Count Dooku, emerges unscathed.