Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 16, 2002
6.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 985 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
459
Mixed:
322
Negative:
204
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
5
RickG.Jul 4, 2002
A major disappointment for a life long Star Wars fan. "Clones" has a bad, unispired screenplay that earns snickers from the audience, especially Anakin and Padme's romance. The Anakin and Padme romance abuses the audience with so many A major disappointment for a life long Star Wars fan. "Clones" has a bad, unispired screenplay that earns snickers from the audience, especially Anakin and Padme's romance. The Anakin and Padme romance abuses the audience with so many one line cliches I now call the movie "Attack of the Well-Worn Cliches." I don't know whether to blame the actors or the lousy screenplay writing for the quality of the acting. The movie also looks terrible because Lucas insisted on recording it in digital. Ditigal simply does not have the resolution of film and it really shows in "Clones." It's a pity because the movie would be great to look at otherwise, as Episode I was. I've seen "Clones" in both film and ditigal and no matter how you look at it, it does not look as good as past Star Wars movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
5
SteveM.Jun 3, 2002
Throughout the film was technically superb. But this is expected from Lucas. The acting of Hayden Christensen was simply abysmal. I am stunned that Lucas would permit that on screen. I am stunned that Christian Hayden could show his face at Throughout the film was technically superb. But this is expected from Lucas. The acting of Hayden Christensen was simply abysmal. I am stunned that Lucas would permit that on screen. I am stunned that Christian Hayden could show his face at the premiere of the film! The script for the romance between Amidalah and Annikan was also poor. The dual punch of bad script and poor acting through the first half of the film caused me to squirm in my seat, wishing often I was somewhere else. Natalie Portman was good, if only for her ethereal beauty. I went into the film assuming that the critics had probably been too hard on the film, just as they had been so hard on Phantom Menace. I came out realizing that the critics when not getting thrown out of kilter by some trendy art flick like Mulholland Dr. know what they are talking about in general. I can only give the film a five, and that is being generous. Those who ooh and ah over the film are judging only on technical merits and nothing else. Or else have no capacity to judge a film based on its acting or script. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
5
AJSep 6, 2002
From hearing some of the fan reactions I've got to include that anyone who claims to be a Star Wars fan that gives Episode II a perfect 10 is a 12 year old. You don't count as SW fans! This and Episode I were just terribly From hearing some of the fan reactions I've got to include that anyone who claims to be a Star Wars fan that gives Episode II a perfect 10 is a 12 year old. You don't count as SW fans! This and Episode I were just terribly conceived movies. This didn't even feel like a Star Wars movie at all, and if it didn't belong to the franchise everyone would agree that this is a totally forgetable movie. The REAL SW trilogy can be enjoyed on a child and adult level, whereas the only fans of the two prequels are going to be pre-teen boys. But they will be sad when they see this as an adult and realise what a pile of wank it really is. You don't go back to Empire after 10 years and say "what the hell did I enjoy about this movie". Natalie Portman was so crap in this movie. Carrie Fisher at least looked like she wanted to be in the movie. I swear Natalie was intentionally trying to get fired. Hayden was good, considering the hokey lines Lucas pissed into the script. Samuel Jackson was lamer than lame, and for some reason Yoda became Tetsuo from "Akira" at one point. Is it me or did Yoda's voice seem really deep? Or perhaps it was just his crappy lines. Considering Lucas had 20 years to come up with the prequel trilogy (which he always claimed was already written anyway), you'd think he'd have the time or sense to do a few re-writes. This thing didn't even feel proof-read. The truth is Lucas wrote this in a weekend in his garage. For two decades people have been saying Lucas is a visionary, and it must have swollen his head to think he can get away with this dreary excuse of a Star Wars flick. What happened to the "dark" plot he promised? Most of the scenes were filler and more useful to the video-game Lucas Arts will no-doubt make instead of the plot of the movie. This was a toy comercial. And while people always say the same thing about the Ewoks, but don't forget they were going to EAT Luke and Han, possibly even alive. Basically Watch RotJ Instead, you'll fell much more engrossed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
4
TheDude-Dec 9, 2015
Attack of the clones is the second installment in the star wars prequel trilogy saga, I will start off by saying that attack of the clones could have been a could have been a fantastic movie it just needed a few tweaks for example if theAttack of the clones is the second installment in the star wars prequel trilogy saga, I will start off by saying that attack of the clones could have been a could have been a fantastic movie it just needed a few tweaks for example if the relationship between Anakin and Padme was not written so awkwardly, if they didn't write Anakin like such a brat and if they had have put a bit more focus on the character building and we also could have used a lot more of Obi Wan Kenobi as he is the best character in the prequels, it could have been great, but that's not to say AOTC is terrible the action sequences are a lot of fun to watch and are well crafted, Ewan McGregor is brilliant as Obi Wan giving a lot of wit, sarcasm and bad assitude to the character and not to mention the movie has beautifully conceived landscapes and cinematography.
Verdict: Attack of the clones is aesthetically pleasing as it does have some great action sequences and cinematography and obi wan's sarcastic humour is very well written but the characters and story are nowhere near as fleshed out as I would have liked them to have been.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
DanBurritoSep 25, 2015
This is a joke right? Here is absolute proof that less Jar Jar doesn't necessarily equal good movie. What I wanna know is, who the €&@/ wrote the script? They weren't even TRYING! And furthermore, it's almost impossible to get over the factThis is a joke right? Here is absolute proof that less Jar Jar doesn't necessarily equal good movie. What I wanna know is, who the €&@/ wrote the script? They weren't even TRYING! And furthermore, it's almost impossible to get over the fact that Anakin was a child when Padmè was already an adult making their romance just creepy. Combine this with the fact that they have no chemistry (their so-called "love story" revolves around Anakin stalking her and becoming possessive of her) and it gets even worse. This is the WORST movie in the prequel trilogy- in fact, make that the whole franchise. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
BobH.May 16, 2002
Exactly what you expect from George Lucas: great action sequences, but lousy pacing, laughable dialogue and often atrocious acting. (Who knew Anakin Skywalker sometimes speaks with a New York accent?) It's just not possible to create Exactly what you expect from George Lucas: great action sequences, but lousy pacing, laughable dialogue and often atrocious acting. (Who knew Anakin Skywalker sometimes speaks with a New York accent?) It's just not possible to create and sustain consistently credible performances with actors forced to stare at green screens for months at a time. But Lucas loves his FX more than his actors, and it shows in every frame. You can almost hear him shouting "look, mom, it's all digital!" for almost two and a half hours. As a result, Lucas' preoccupation with filmmaking gadgetry over story reduces the recent Star Wars movies to the most expensive student films ever made. Also, somebody's gotta teach this guy that making CGI metalwork gleam is something we can all do on our laptops now. (Look closely in the credits -- original design layouts were actually done in Apple Final Cut Pro.) Twenty minutes could be cut just by trimming all the lengthy shots of hey-look-what-we-made-with-our-new-software. So what you wind up with is boring as hell for most of the first two-thirds, then exciting enough in the last act -- when they finally get around to that oldest of cinematic devices, actual conflict between characters (otherwise known as "plot") -- that you almost walk away with some hope for the next installment. But only almost. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
ChadS.May 24, 2002
I liked Yoda.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MathewS.Jun 10, 2002
It's just too bad. It could have been good. The effects where amazing, believable. The relationships, the acting, was NOT believable. Oops.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AmadalaMar 11, 2003
An okay film, but not worth seeing in the theatres.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
P.M.Nov 16, 2002
The movie is certainly a well - oiled production effort. It is held together by a cohesive plot that weaves part of the Star Wars saga, and of course, visually spectacular and technically amazing. But beneath the surface of advanced graphics The movie is certainly a well - oiled production effort. It is held together by a cohesive plot that weaves part of the Star Wars saga, and of course, visually spectacular and technically amazing. But beneath the surface of advanced graphics and looking beyond the commercial hype of the series, the film certainly needs improvement on characterization and well, HUMANITY. I feel it is merely an imaginative mecha tale of mythological proportions, devoid [or lacking] of the moments that make us "feel" the movie. Did it make us cry? laugh? Were we moved? These questions are to be seriously considered and should be pondered upon, by Lucas and his contemporaries, before fashioning another lame souped - up final chapter. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JoshuaW.Nov 5, 2002
Everything that works in this film, the effects, grandure, good casting, ect...can be attributed to the great producing you get with Lucas. Everything that doesn't work in this film, the acting, the over use of effects and of course, a Everything that works in this film, the effects, grandure, good casting, ect...can be attributed to the great producing you get with Lucas. Everything that doesn't work in this film, the acting, the over use of effects and of course, a poor script can also be attributed to Lucas. He is a treasure trove of wonderful stories but he works best in collaborations; another screen writer or two could not have hurt the film and another director is no longer an option. Lucas has sat exclusively in the Producers chair for far too long and that's where he should stay. I wish he's let Spielberg direct the next and last film. Spielberg has expressed an extream interest and I'm sure he could do wonders for this floundering saga which I do love with every fiber of my being, which is why it hurts so much to see it so diminished. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
B.S.Dec 6, 2002
Only part not predictable or boring is yoda.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
KenK.May 16, 2002
Oy! What can I say? Though this movie feels more epic in nature than the others, the disjointed editing left me confused and unsatisfied. Of course, the special effects and digital video presentation were awesome.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MichaelF.May 18, 2002
First off:George Lucas had over 15 years to do Episode 1, so he has NO excuse for it to suck, even though it did. But Episode 2 still sucks ass, but if it didn't have the last 30mins it would've been HORRIBLE. Hayden Christensen is First off:George Lucas had over 15 years to do Episode 1, so he has NO excuse for it to suck, even though it did. But Episode 2 still sucks ass, but if it didn't have the last 30mins it would've been HORRIBLE. Hayden Christensen is bad bad bad, and does these stupid "evil" looks. Ewan has got this Obi-Wan thing down-pat. Sam Jackson kicks ass, but not as much as Yoda. Yoda kicks some serious ass in this movie. Chistopher Lee is Chritopher Lee, playing the same part that he did in Fellowship of the ring. AMAZING visuals. But the dialouge is so bad bad bad. The plot gets pretty, if not, too complicated. Natalie Portman is unbelievably hot! John Williams, who I personally cannot stand, did this completely over-blown score. His love theme was just laughable. But in the last 30mins it's just incredibly fun. Episode 3 is going to be great though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
AntonA.May 22, 2002
Okay, the special effects are great, but that can't save a bad movie. I was really relieved when the movie was over.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BrianL.May 11, 2002
Better than Phantom Menace, but unfortunately that's not saying much.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
BrandonBonaseraDec 15, 2015
Despite being a more watchable and entertaining film than its predecessor, Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones is another disappointing entry in the prequel trilogy that provides some of the same issues seen in the previousDespite being a more watchable and entertaining film than its predecessor, Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones is another disappointing entry in the prequel trilogy that provides some of the same issues seen in the previous instalment including poor performances, pacing and directing. However, the worst of Attack of the Clones' problems comes from the laughably horrendous dialogue spawned off of the dreadfully boring romantic subplot, and the overuse of (poor) CG, having almost little to no practical effects. The result; a dull, soulless and sometimes entertaining entry into the franchise. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
SatiricalewokNov 9, 2014
This is without a doubt the worst of the six star wars films. The action is way too sporadic, and Hayden Christensen cannot act for toast. Having said that there is one good scene, but one good action scene does not a good movie create, andThis is without a doubt the worst of the six star wars films. The action is way too sporadic, and Hayden Christensen cannot act for toast. Having said that there is one good scene, but one good action scene does not a good movie create, and this is not a good movie. It also doesn't really explain or add to the overall storyline very much so you might as well just skip this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
ReubenIsAGodDec 17, 2015
unmemorable, uninspired and god awfully dull. Whilst not the worst in the prequel films it does suck that this is considered to be cannon. I think what all these films really needed was just another persons vision, because George Lucas didn'tunmemorable, uninspired and god awfully dull. Whilst not the worst in the prequel films it does suck that this is considered to be cannon. I think what all these films really needed was just another persons vision, because George Lucas didn't set out to please his fans, he just wanted money. The cuts are terrible, the Dialog is god-awfully cheesy and all the acting feels uninspired and just feels robotic. I honesty recommend you dont watch any of the prequel films, they really do just spoil the beauty and wonder of the original films. So do yourself a favor and skip this film, u well just leave feeling disappointed. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
oDjentoJan 2, 2015
I'd say this is the worst film of the franchise. It's got Anakin being a menstrual little b---h, and hardly any redeeming scenes unlike the last film. Christopher is a cool character as Count Dooku, but doesn't come close to Darth Maul. TheI'd say this is the worst film of the franchise. It's got Anakin being a menstrual little b---h, and hardly any redeeming scenes unlike the last film. Christopher is a cool character as Count Dooku, but doesn't come close to Darth Maul. The CGI gets a bit over used in this film making some scenes look a bit ridiculous at times. The main memorable scenes from this film i'd say would be when Obi goes to Kamino, and the collesium fight. But even jango Fett's introduction isn't great, nowhere near as badass as Jango Fett's previous helmet always on performance. And trying to be impressive finally showing yoda fighting doesn't work, the fight seems unpracticale to watch in this film as it's just lots of jumping around Dooku mainly. I still like this film because i love star wars, but this is the only one i'd call average. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
YellowKirbyDec 19, 2015
Like 'Phantom', this entry in the beloved 'Star Wars' saga is too much like a video game, and has a terrible script. Hayden Christensen and Natalie Portman were wooden,and Ewan McGregor wasn't much better.

The unnatural romance between
Like 'Phantom', this entry in the beloved 'Star Wars' saga is too much like a video game, and has a terrible script. Hayden Christensen and Natalie Portman were wooden,and Ewan McGregor wasn't much better.

The unnatural romance between Anakin and Padme is probably the film's biggest weakness. It portrays Anakin as a creepy stalker, and the script makes it worse. "I don't like sand."

Finally, it's too goddamn long! The war scene at the end becomes so boring, it's easy to lose track of who the hell is who and where the hell they are.

So, while defiantly an improvement on 'Phantom,' story-wise (but only marginally), Attack of the Clones doesn't do this beloved saga much justice.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
George Lucas, similar to "The Phantom Menace", doesn't really give anything except for a high quality CGI battle in "Attack of the Clones".
11 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
6
JackD.Jul 9, 2002
Silly me. I misread the title and thought I was seeing Attack of the CLOWNS..well, actually, maybe I was. A lot has been made of the bad acting in this movie..but it is the really awful dialog that causes it. Lucas should stay behind the Silly me. I misread the title and thought I was seeing Attack of the CLOWNS..well, actually, maybe I was. A lot has been made of the bad acting in this movie..but it is the really awful dialog that causes it. Lucas should stay behind the camera and away from the word processor. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
MichaelS.Oct 9, 2002
Please, say something to George Lucas! He's doing everything wrong! I hope his newest Star Wars can give us some hope, because this is one hell of a mess! Only the special effects and the soundtrack could save this movie!
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
ChristopherS.May 17, 2002
Poor acting, poor dialogue. Lucas needs to learn pacing, and to hire a better writer.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
5
ZorglyFeb 9, 2011
Hayden Christensen is one of the worst modern actors I can think of. To say that him and Natalie Portman (who had a surprisingly poor performance despite her being a fantastic actress) had any chemistry in this movie would be simply absurd.Hayden Christensen is one of the worst modern actors I can think of. To say that him and Natalie Portman (who had a surprisingly poor performance despite her being a fantastic actress) had any chemistry in this movie would be simply absurd. There are some pretty set pieces now and again, and it pushes the star wars story along nicely, but overall not a good movie. In fact its easily the worst of all 6. It should also be noted that Anakins speech about "sand" is one of the LAMEST, most PATHETIC, PUTRID, DESPICABLE, pieces of dialogue ive ever seen on film. I wanted to vomit all over George Lucas and burn down the theater. And i'm usually a calm person... Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobFeb 16, 2015
The complete miscast of Christensen tanked the movie but as a whole, It wasn't terrible. It had a few enjoyable moments but much like Phantom Menace, It left us wishing for a better end product.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
JeffM.Aug 2, 2002
I dunno what people really expected. Granted that the trilogy still stands as the high standard for sci-fi movies, do you think it's really that easy to make a good movie as a PREQUEL? Sequels are bad enough but they don't have to I dunno what people really expected. Granted that the trilogy still stands as the high standard for sci-fi movies, do you think it's really that easy to make a good movie as a PREQUEL? Sequels are bad enough but they don't have to already match what's happened. I understand that it could've been a hell of a lot better but it could've also been a hell of a lot worse. Without the love scenes (the only TRULY bad part about the movie) this movie might deserve a passing grade. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
StewartG.May 21, 2002
I give it 6 (Where 1 is the worst there is, 10 is the very best and 5 leaves me with no emotional reaction either way). This is from the point of view of a 30 year old. The bad acting and script left me not caring for any of the characters, I give it 6 (Where 1 is the worst there is, 10 is the very best and 5 leaves me with no emotional reaction either way). This is from the point of view of a 30 year old. The bad acting and script left me not caring for any of the characters, but there were great moments, brilliant moments, here and there. Now and again the magic returned, but it felt like a car that kept on staling. Mr Lucas has done much for the industry. He's a visionary, but he's no director. Not any more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
BitBurnNov 15, 2002
Well, It's not bad but the magic is not there anymore. The previous Phantom Menace was better because at least it had some great actors such as Liam Neeson. But this one feels a bit cold. Too much computer animation. Storyline a bit Well, It's not bad but the magic is not there anymore. The previous Phantom Menace was better because at least it had some great actors such as Liam Neeson. But this one feels a bit cold. Too much computer animation. Storyline a bit dull. Ah well... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
AtTheMoviesJul 8, 2011
As a moderate fan of Star Wars, I was disappointed by this installment. The action, special effects, and fight scenes were as good as ever, but where the movie truly failed was the acting and the writing. Hayden Christensen is an awful actor,As a moderate fan of Star Wars, I was disappointed by this installment. The action, special effects, and fight scenes were as good as ever, but where the movie truly failed was the acting and the writing. Hayden Christensen is an awful actor, and that is apparent here. Natalie Portman, although great, was not great in this movie. Ewan McGregor was pretty good, but not great. Although Christopher Lee was amazing, as always, his talents were not enough to save the acting. The writing was equally as pitiful. George Lucas may know how to make a movie look good, but he cannot write at all. The romantic scenes were vaguely reminiscent of a grade school playground. I cannot stress how bad those scenes were. Although from a visual standpoint, this was a great success, from a critical standpoint, this movie was very bad. A fan of Star Wars will surely want to see this, but someone who hasn't seen the rest of the series won't. See Revenge of the Sith or The Empire Strikes Back instead, just stay away from Attack of the Clones. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
CooterPatooterMar 7, 2012
From the arena scene until the end credits represent one of the most amazingly fun and exciting 40ish minutes I've ever seen on a theater screen. From the opening of the film until the start of the arena scene represents one of the mostFrom the arena scene until the end credits represent one of the most amazingly fun and exciting 40ish minutes I've ever seen on a theater screen. From the opening of the film until the start of the arena scene represents one of the most stilted, badly acted, face-palmingly awful drags I've ever seen on a theater screen. A sizable improvement over the monkey-at-a-typewriter bull crap that was Episode 1 but this is still in a galaxy far, far away from the original trilogy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
GreatbealloFeb 8, 2012
The original trilogy was thought provoking, original, and memorable. This trilogy is mind numbing, recycled, and forgettable. Although this movie is better than episode I, it still lacks nearly everything that I loved about the originals.The original trilogy was thought provoking, original, and memorable. This trilogy is mind numbing, recycled, and forgettable. Although this movie is better than episode I, it still lacks nearly everything that I loved about the originals. Anikan is such a **** The love story is stale. The plot is thin. This movie had some great ideas, but they were executed with clumsiness. Lucas should have hired some decent writers to help him, then perhaps we wouldn't have to struggle through the cliched dialogue. All in all there were some great action sequences, and Natalie Portman is always nice to look at, but this movie was not a success, and is insulting to the original trilogy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
All I can say is: WHY GEORGE LUCAS WHY. The conversation on Naboo about sand made me cringe in my seat. Hayden Christensen is HORRIBLE. The music is a saving grace of the film, but there are just too many problems with the acting, theAll I can say is: WHY GEORGE LUCAS WHY. The conversation on Naboo about sand made me cringe in my seat. Hayden Christensen is HORRIBLE. The music is a saving grace of the film, but there are just too many problems with the acting, the writing, everything. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
potatoes351Oct 31, 2012
Ill give this film the benefit of the doubt...it had some good action scenes. Now onto the second major event in Anakins turning to the dark side comes his love for Padme Amidala and the death of his mother. Attack of the Clones highlightsIll give this film the benefit of the doubt...it had some good action scenes. Now onto the second major event in Anakins turning to the dark side comes his love for Padme Amidala and the death of his mother. Attack of the Clones highlights how the clone wars began and how Anakin first started to break the Jedi order. Again good special effects but poor execution from the once great George Lucas. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
WhiteTalpaDec 8, 2012
If you thought episode 1 was bad then wait until you see this. Awful love story, it tries to be funny and fails badly and the plot is just plain boring. This has to be the worse out of all the star wars films, however jar jar isn't in it! (YAY)
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
jyzmanMar 8, 2013
The worst of the Star Wars films. The dialogue between Padme and Anakin is really bad, and the movie is pretty boring up until when the characters are chained up and attacked by animals and droids. The lightsaber fight at the end was tooThe worst of the Star Wars films. The dialogue between Padme and Anakin is really bad, and the movie is pretty boring up until when the characters are chained up and attacked by animals and droids. The lightsaber fight at the end was too short, it was good to watch Yoda fighting Dooku, but it was too short. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
SEROJDec 20, 2015
Without adding any spoilers, i would like to say that this part was actually not that great! Decent directing from George Lucas! The second part of the prequel "Clone wars" gets my 5/10!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
jeff_reviewsJul 5, 2013
While stronger than the first, but no where near the original trilogy, "Star Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones" has a weak script, and works against the film from the technology put to it, but is still full of fun and battling scenesWhile stronger than the first, but no where near the original trilogy, "Star Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones" has a weak script, and works against the film from the technology put to it, but is still full of fun and battling scenes that aren't too disappointing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
bfoore90Sep 10, 2016
Probably the worst adaption in the Star Wars universe. The action is cool and it makes it at least watchable, the acting is hit and miss as well when they are trying to act their way around Lucas's ultra crappy dialogue. To this day, JangoProbably the worst adaption in the Star Wars universe. The action is cool and it makes it at least watchable, the acting is hit and miss as well when they are trying to act their way around Lucas's ultra crappy dialogue. To this day, Jango Fett is the only character with any appeal to me but unfortunately he was almost entirely wasted in this god-forsaken CGI porn fest. The only reason Jango is there is to probably sell toys and to give Boba a backstory, which is cool but at least give Jango a solid foundation to stand on himself. I don't understand how people say the Phantom Menace was worse than this one because I really don't see it and still don't to this day. The plot is full of holes and inconsistencies, stuff comes out of nowhere and you feel like someone should took Lucas aside and told him "No, this sucks. Stop it." Theres not alot of structure to anything in this movie but the forced and sometimes creepy and awkward dialogue ultimately was what killed this movie, again this movie would have been better if someone took Lucas aside and said, "Stop it, this sucks. This is bad." The only reason I give this movie a 4 instead of a 0 is because its Star Wars and its something I have loved dearly since I was a child. Again, there are thing to like here(Jango Fett) but ultimately its buried by a dumpster full of CGI upped crap. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
AaronWasserman2May 3, 2014
Once again Lucas manages to kill our love for Star Wars. This movie, like its is bad but slightly, and i mean slightly better. This movie is just a badly written pile of crap. From crappy acting, to bad effects, to laughable dialouge. thisOnce again Lucas manages to kill our love for Star Wars. This movie, like its is bad but slightly, and i mean slightly better. This movie is just a badly written pile of crap. From crappy acting, to bad effects, to laughable dialouge. this movie is a train wreck. However the only reason it pulls a 5 is for the musical score which is fantastic. The fights are very entertaining. and less jar jar and no more stupid kid. Hayden may not be so good due to his wooden acting but ill take him over that crappy kid. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
Duskycarp116Oct 2, 2015
The only thing I like is the battle scenes and fight scenes. The CGI looks meh and the gun sound effects sound awkward at some scenes but it sounds cool for its time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
aadityamudharApr 6, 2016
A major disappointment for a life long Star Wars fan. "Clones" has a bad, uninspired screenplay that earns snickers from the audience, especially Anakin and Padme's romance. The Anakin and Padme romance abuses the audience with so many oneA major disappointment for a life long Star Wars fan. "Clones" has a bad, uninspired screenplay that earns snickers from the audience, especially Anakin and Padme's romance. The Anakin and Padme romance abuses the audience with so many one line cliches I now call the movie "Attack of the Well-Worn Cliches." I don't know whether to blame the actors or the lousy screenplay writing for the quality of the acting. The movie also looks terrible because Lucas insisted on recording it in digital. Digital simply does not have the resolution of film and it really shows in "Clones." It's a pity because the movie would be great to look at otherwise, as Episode I was. I've seen "Clones" in both film and Digital and no matter how you look at it, it does not look as good as past Star Wars movies. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RichardAug 16, 2002
Okay, diverting enough for a bit. The two romantic leads are just awful, but McGregor has some subtle fun with the proceedings. The much ballyhooed Yoda moment passes so quickly it's difficult to get a bead on him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
KevinF.Apr 15, 2003
Somewhat interesting action sequences interspersed with unnatural dialogue (seeing Portman and Christensen interact in the romance sequence actually made me squirm) hardly make for a movie, much less a film. It is a shame that Lucas has Somewhat interesting action sequences interspersed with unnatural dialogue (seeing Portman and Christensen interact in the romance sequence actually made me squirm) hardly make for a movie, much less a film. It is a shame that Lucas has truly dropped the ball on his own legacy. This flick is for die-hard fans only. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewM.Feb 8, 2005
An overblown mess! Lucas missed the mark with this one. Although he keeps this fascinating saga moving, there are way too many side-steps in Part 2. A lot of the story just doesn't gel; it's as though the story has become too big An overblown mess! Lucas missed the mark with this one. Although he keeps this fascinating saga moving, there are way too many side-steps in Part 2. A lot of the story just doesn't gel; it's as though the story has become too big for itself and Lucas is struggling to keep the wheels on. It's also way too long. I'm sure that a good 20 mins or so could have safely been removed without any detriment to the film, and that in itself would have been an improvement. But far and away the most irritating and disappointing aspect of this film (and it reaches across the spectrum to taint the whole trilogy) is the ridiculously shot "love" story between Christensen and Portman. To say it is unconvincing is an understatement. It is plain laughable! For a film that had so many talented hands involved, and so much moolah invested, Lucas should face the jury for this travesty. There is no chemistry between the two, the dialogue is weak and the editing slipshod. A big shame. In fairness, most of the rest of the film is fairly strong and at times (as we now expect!) riveting, especially the wonderful action sequences. But the overall effect of the film, driven by the central theme of its' story, is greatly diminished by....all the above. Thank God for Ewan Macgregor - he is mesmeric in every sense of the word! Bring on the third Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RickJ.G.Nov 2, 2002
Not even IMAX could save this visual disaster. Actually, remastering the film into the 70 mm format makes the poor quality of ditigal recording even more evident. The images on the six story IMAX screen I watched it on had the kind of Not even IMAX could save this visual disaster. Actually, remastering the film into the 70 mm format makes the poor quality of ditigal recording even more evident. The images on the six story IMAX screen I watched it on had the kind of distortion I'm used to seeing with ditigal imagery on my computer. I hope Lucas doesn't record Episode III in ditigal. This technology is simply not ready for prime time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AdamE.Nov 25, 2002
Not the best Star Wars film but the graphics are excellent and so are the actors. The story is pityful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinC.Dec 12, 2002
This film could've saved us all an hour of our lives without the horrible acting of Hayden Christensen. Han & Leia said more in a one-second stare then Anakin & Padome say in this entire film. Ugh... There are two good scenes. It might This film could've saved us all an hour of our lives without the horrible acting of Hayden Christensen. Han & Leia said more in a one-second stare then Anakin & Padome say in this entire film. Ugh... There are two good scenes. It might have been actually watchable if it were trimmed to 90 minutes....it might...but probably not. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeD.May 23, 2002
Ok, the script has its usual and expected corny aspects - I mean, its Star Wars, not Life is Beautiful. On the other hand, if you love, even LIKE the series, you will love this movie. It sets up the premise for the next movie beautifully, as Ok, the script has its usual and expected corny aspects - I mean, its Star Wars, not Life is Beautiful. On the other hand, if you love, even LIKE the series, you will love this movie. It sets up the premise for the next movie beautifully, as well as for the rest of the whole series. Nostalgia is the word! If you like Star Wars, see it. If you don't, than don't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
FredA.Aug 12, 2002
I felt so cheated. The whole movie was so fake both in it's wooden, mechanical acting and it's over blown special effects. It's not the actors fault though really, the script was extremely bad. Lucas tries hard to strike at I felt so cheated. The whole movie was so fake both in it's wooden, mechanical acting and it's over blown special effects. It's not the actors fault though really, the script was extremely bad. Lucas tries hard to strike at deep emotions like Anakin's pain for his mother. However these situations lack and "real" emotion. And make no sense? How come Anakin couldn't rescue his mother? With the help of the Jedi Council? The first 3 star wars had special effects. But they were model based. And it looked way better. At those times Lucas had to subdue his visions becuase technology did not allow him to do anything really grand. Now with PC technology it's incrediably overblown. Lucas just overdoses the senses with CGI effects. But it doesn't help the illusion it just ruins it, becuase you stop trying to think it's real becuase it's so damn ridiculous. A great triology ruined. Thank god Blade Runner will never have a sequel. Some movie should just remain by themselves but in these business driven times any story is re-hashed over and over again to make more money, it's jsut suprising Lucas did it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SimonD.Jun 26, 2003
This film entertained me to a very large degree in the theater, but a second viewing reveals that ther are two films. The first, starting the increasingly capable Ewan McGregor, focuses on an complex and insidious plot to bring the good guys This film entertained me to a very large degree in the theater, but a second viewing reveals that ther are two films. The first, starting the increasingly capable Ewan McGregor, focuses on an complex and insidious plot to bring the good guys and their Republic to its knees. Mysteries are unraveled, secrets are twisted, and good must decide how to fight evil. All fo this is very entertaining, with great FX to back up McGregor, Samuel L. Jackson, and Frank Oz's voice of Yoda. The second film is what does in the first. The romance of Anakin and Amidala is implausible and grows duller the second time around. Lucas, never one to discover great talent, runs aground with the choice of Hayden Christensen as Anakin. You never believe that he is anything but a petulant boy. It is this mediocre tyro who could undo what has the potential to be a very good tragedy in the form of the last film. This remains worth seeing for the FX, for McGregor and his part of the tale, and for Yoda. But have the fast forward button at the ready for the romance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeMay 13, 2005
Better then Phantom Menace. but the movie still doesnt capture the orginal star wars atmosphere. For me the whole star wars name has gone to the dogs. I no longer like star wars due to the crappy prequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TFMay 19, 2005
Better than Episode 1 Phantom Menace, but still absolute drivel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
HugoO.Dec 17, 2002
And to think, Yoda was once my hero... shame Lucas shame.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoeyM.Dec 17, 2003
Christensen has proven himself to be a good actor since this film was released. Heck, Portman has been decent in a few movies. The sad truth is that, for all his skills with special effects (which are amazing) Lucas just isn't an Christensen has proven himself to be a good actor since this film was released. Heck, Portman has been decent in a few movies. The sad truth is that, for all his skills with special effects (which are amazing) Lucas just isn't an actor's director. Really, he never has been - most Star Wars fans have heard endless stories about how Harrison Ford made Han Solo interesting by refusing to follow Lucas' direction, or about how Liam Neeson was prevented from showing basic human emotion - sometimes with the help of CGI. Anyhow, the point here is that if you ignore the dialogue (good luck) and the acting, this is a good film. No, seriously. If, on the other hand, acting and writing matter to you (and you have the ability to recognize good writing) this film will be laughable at best. Honestly, I found myself laughing harder at the love scenes in this film (and, alas, at the scene where the ur-Vader is reunited with his mother) than I did at "Battlefield Earth" or "Showgirls." they really are that bad - and didn't have to be. As far as Anniken's decent into Vaderness goes, the only way I can see this young man turning into Vader is if his head is chopped off in the next film and replaced with Christopher Lee's. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TokyochuchuApr 29, 2013
Star Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones has the biggest problem of any of the Star Wars films. Namely the romance between Padme and Anakin. Anakin spends most of the movie sneering and acting like a bottled up psychopath... And yet we'reStar Wars: Episode II Attack of the Clones has the biggest problem of any of the Star Wars films. Namely the romance between Padme and Anakin. Anakin spends most of the movie sneering and acting like a bottled up psychopath... And yet we're supposed to swallow that someone as smart as a senator falls head over heels in love with him? Unconvincing to say the least. Aside from that, however, Attack of the Clones impresses with some great action scenes, a terrific final reel and an appearance from Christopher Lee. Which pretty much balances things out in the long run. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
J42HmusicDec 9, 2011
Despite the improvement from its disastrous predocessor, 'Star Wars Episode 2: Attack of the Clones' offers little more than CGI and a feeble storyline. Yes, the battles are absolutley incredible, but it lacks a certain substance which givesDespite the improvement from its disastrous predocessor, 'Star Wars Episode 2: Attack of the Clones' offers little more than CGI and a feeble storyline. Yes, the battles are absolutley incredible, but it lacks a certain substance which gives a film emotional depth. However, brilliant music and battle scenes make the film incredibly exciting, resulting in nothing more than an average film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
HalfwelshmanOct 9, 2011
The Phantom Menace wasn't an awful film, and neither is Attack of the Clones, but by-golly it comes close. The acting is even more wooden than in Episode I, the story even less engaging, and guess what? Lucas still can't do dialogue. HaydenThe Phantom Menace wasn't an awful film, and neither is Attack of the Clones, but by-golly it comes close. The acting is even more wooden than in Episode I, the story even less engaging, and guess what? Lucas still can't do dialogue. Hayden Christiansen sets a whole new standard for drab lead performances. He takes the mopey teenager thing to the extreme (despite the fact he's in his twenties) and the so-called "love" scenes between Anakin and Padme are laughable. Soppy doesn't come close, these scenes are almost unwatchable (especially Anakin comparing his sweetheart to sand). Ewan MacGregor admirably soldiers on through the poor excuse for a script, and does so sporting a fine space-mullet. There is undeniably a lot wrong with Episode II, but it does have a few good points. Temuera Morrison is the very definition of cool, and all scenes featuring Jango Fett are entertaining. The Geonosis area fight featuring an army of Jedi is also a true spectacle. Finally, we get to see Yoda draw a lightsabre for the first time. Fans were divided over whether this is a good or bad thing. I believe the former - Yoda bouncing around like an angry jumping bean with a sword is awesome. Attack of the Clones moves the Star Wars saga dangerously close to parody through the poor quality of the script, acting and story, but somehow, Lucas still managed to make it enjoyable...but only just. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ReviewerMan44Jul 1, 2011
Attack of the Clones is much better than the Phantom Menace, undoubtedly the worst Star Wars ever made. But its not a New Hope, an Empire Strikes Back, or even a Return of the Jedi...sadly. Attack of the Clones succeeds in many areas butAttack of the Clones is much better than the Phantom Menace, undoubtedly the worst Star Wars ever made. But its not a New Hope, an Empire Strikes Back, or even a Return of the Jedi...sadly. Attack of the Clones succeeds in many areas but fails in many more. As said with the Phantom Menace review, the key things that made the original trilogy so magical were its story and characters, universe, and the good acting. Attack of the Clones ties together many, many loose ends lying around with the series, and brings in adult Anakin Skywalker played by Hayden Christensen, who is ultimately dull and boring as an actor and feels sadly even worse than his younger version seen in the Phantom Menace.
Ewan McGregor is however, much better in AotC than Phantom Menace, seeing an overall stronger performance. Natalie Portman has improved slightly too, but still gives a bit of a "I'm only here to fill in the role" look off. The performances are overall average, and nothing compared to the original trilogy.
The characters are interesting and while Jar-Jar Binks is briefly seen we don't have to deal with his abomination of a character on screen for long. We see Boba Fett's father, the birth of the stormtroopers, and Anakin Skywalker's looming fate, and its all very great. The new CGI produced Yoda and other aliens makes the experience all the more realistic and is cool.
But when it adds up for what it is, AotC is still a very, very, very flawed piece of work, that while action packed and fun, lacks the flair or audacity of the original three, and what made them so great.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
The script, acting and romantic theme are definitely pretty weak, but like The Phantom Menace, the entertaining moments and epic battle scenes topple the bad parts
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DukeJonApr 7, 2016
For me the weakest of all the Star Wars films. Hayden Christensen went a long way to killing this movie on his own as his performance was so wooden. Zero chemistry between him and Natalie Portman. Even Jango Fett and a cool clone wars battleFor me the weakest of all the Star Wars films. Hayden Christensen went a long way to killing this movie on his own as his performance was so wooden. Zero chemistry between him and Natalie Portman. Even Jango Fett and a cool clone wars battle at the end of the film couldn't save it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ZatchCMMJan 29, 2012
I enjoy Star Wars but this one is IMO the worst Film of the series (Not the entire franchise that goes to the holiday special) while the effects are nice the Romance crap just hurts Mr.Lucas you can't write dialogue so stop trying to, alsoI enjoy Star Wars but this one is IMO the worst Film of the series (Not the entire franchise that goes to the holiday special) while the effects are nice the Romance crap just hurts Mr.Lucas you can't write dialogue so stop trying to, also the pace is abysmal even as a kid I wanted little Jedi Annie and Padme to shut up so I can get to a well done Lightsaber fight. The acting by our romancing characters makes me want to hurl it's up to Ewan McGreggor, Samuel L. Jackson and Count Dracula himself Christopher Lee to salvage the thing but alas the were unable to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
skyminsterMay 21, 2012
Star wars: episode II: attack of the clones is alright, it's an improvement on episode I (only a small amount of an improvement, mainly because jar jar binks is hardly in it and that it has a little more action in it). The good: some excitingStar wars: episode II: attack of the clones is alright, it's an improvement on episode I (only a small amount of an improvement, mainly because jar jar binks is hardly in it and that it has a little more action in it). The good: some exciting action, good music, not much jar jar binks, clones, cool Yoda (not weird puppet). The bad: boring politics, really cheesy, terrible acting (except from Samuel l Jackson as mace windu). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
OfficialDec 30, 2013
"Attack of the Clones" is just slightly better than its predecessor. We have some cooler action sequences but still remains a bit dreary. At 142 minutes, it feels slightly overlong, and when you look back, there are quite a few dull and"Attack of the Clones" is just slightly better than its predecessor. We have some cooler action sequences but still remains a bit dreary. At 142 minutes, it feels slightly overlong, and when you look back, there are quite a few dull and unnecessary scenes that are in the film anyways. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MonsieurEamesJul 13, 2012
My least favorite of the Star Wars movies. Yes, the special effects are once again undeniably impressive, but the whole romance story is boring and the dialogue is sometimes ridiculous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleNov 27, 2015
Attack of the Clones is not bad. To me, people who have a major hatred towards this film look at the originals with nostalgia glasses on. While Episodes V and VI are great, A New Hope is horrifically bad at times. Featuring awful acting andAttack of the Clones is not bad. To me, people who have a major hatred towards this film look at the originals with nostalgia glasses on. While Episodes V and VI are great, A New Hope is horrifically bad at times. Featuring awful acting and even worse special effects and writing, the original Star Wars film seems to be the basis for the prequel trilogy, as Attack of the Clones has some awful, awful writing (particularly the cringeworthy romance scenes) and some bad sequences of CGI. However, I will say that the special effects on the whole are vast improved. The acting, while not good, is nowhere near as bad as it was in the original. The original felt like amateur hour. In this one, you can tell these people are professionals, while is good. The action sequences in Attack of the Clones are all very good and the fight choreography is vast improved when compared to its predecessors. Finally, there is some killer cinematography in this one that really underscores how much time was put into making this one good. Overall, Attack of the Clones is not as good as the best of the Star Wars franchise, but is far from being the worst entry in the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
The battle sequences are nothing short of brilliant. What I have a problem with, is the love story between Anakin and Padme. For how much it tried, it just couldn't convince me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HealthConnectTVDec 4, 2012
The second film of the prequel series manages to do better than the first, but still meanders about in telling its story. The movie isn't bad by any means, but it seems stuck in a place where the creative team knew they had to save most ofThe second film of the prequel series manages to do better than the first, but still meanders about in telling its story. The movie isn't bad by any means, but it seems stuck in a place where the creative team knew they had to save most of the best material for the following entry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
christhebeast42Apr 12, 2013
This is a completely stupid love story. That's it. That's the review. Why does Padme' marry Anakin? Watch redlettermedia's review on youtube. Also, I hate George Lucas.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Sergio2008Jan 3, 2016
An improvement over it's predecessor, but still suffers from the same mistakes. Boring, poor dialogue, uninteresting love angle, and a drag too watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TerenceYiboFeb 3, 2014
相较前传I,这部虽然有了很大的战斗场面,但那动画片的质感迟迟没有解决,故事比较无聊,也就尤达大师最后出来救个场。
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ThatCooperGuyDec 4, 2015
I was very reluctant to re-watch this movie because I literally have no good memories with this one, or any memories of it at all. That's the film's biggest problem, you can't recall anything in it, it's kind of just "there". Just sittingI was very reluctant to re-watch this movie because I literally have no good memories with this one, or any memories of it at all. That's the film's biggest problem, you can't recall anything in it, it's kind of just "there". Just sitting there, doing absolutely nothing. I feared it would be just as terrible and awful as any other Star Wars fan said it was, but to be honest, I didn't think it was that terrible to sit through.

Now, don't get me wrong. This film was bad, like... REALLY bad, but the writing was so tremendously awful that I found it really entertaining. It's not like "Phantom Menace" where it's sometimes bad and sometimes good. Instead it's sometimes really bad, but sometimes really funny. It seems George Lucas and this second writer (Jonathan Hales) had no idea what the hell they're doing, and it shows... it seriously shows...

There's barely anything I actually like in this movie. Ewan McGregor still does a good job as Obi-Wan and John Williams' score is alright, but it certainly is my least favorite Star Wars soundtrack.

One scene I like in concept and almost in execution was whenever Anakin finds his dying mother. She ends up saying "I love you" and dies in his arms, pretty cliché but it was pretty sad as well. Sadly, it's followed up by two really terrible scenes (one of them very funny).

The first scene is immediately after Anakin's mom dies, he slaughters all the Tuskin Raiders. Why? It's pretty clear Lucas is trying to show the audience that Anakin is moving towards the dark side with all these terrible things happening to him, but why does he have to kill the sand people? It would of been so much better if he had just snuck out of the camp with his mother's body and went back to Padme and his family members without killing anyone. Have him swallow the sadness like Luke did in the '77 Star Wars.

The second scene is when Anakin returns to Padme and has an outburst of how he killed all the sand people and how much he hates them, complete with him tearing up about it. It's so damn funny, but I feel really bad for Hayden Christensen (actor who plays Anakin). I get the impression that he's really trying to give a good performance, but Lucas' script is so terrible that it becomes so hilariously bad.

The digital effects are both pretty good and very bad, mostly suffering by the fact that instead of 20% practical effects it's now around 5%-10% practical, just about everything in this movie is a digital effect. A lot of it looks really bad, especially the greenscreen bits.

"Attack of the Clones" is so much worse than "Phantom Menace", it wasn't as horrendous to sit through like I thought it would be, but I still think it is definitely the worst Star Wars movie we ever got. I am never going back to watch this movie unless I'm in the mood for watching a movie that's "So bad it's funny".

I'm gonna try to make it my goal to see every Star Wars movie in a movie theater, but when I end up only having "Attack of the Clones" as the final movie to see, I hope it's with my friends so that we could have a "MST3K/RiffTrax" sort of commentary. That's how hilariously bad this movie is, I'll never be able to take it seriously.

I didn't even touch on how they gave Yoda a stupid baby sized lightsaber and how that goes against everything he stood for in the Original Trilogy...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
owlman1996Jan 26, 2014
The story is outstanding, the lore is incredible, and the dialogue is complete and utter garbage. Doesn't mean that it isn't good, though. This is where it really shows how the Republic is disintegrating and how Anakin is unstable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
tigerskin84Nov 7, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This episode is the worst of the entire saga, cheesy dialog too much cgi at the point the only thing real is the actors, the romance between anakin and padme seems to forced and bad performed (both of them), even the fights are not good, the final duel of dooku vs anakin is bad really bad ...saved a little by yoda. the whole movie looks like a video game, what was george thinking? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
diogomendesNov 22, 2015
"Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones" is a slight improvement over Phantom Menace, although not sure about the other people, but I thought the plot was all over the place, and when I say "over the place", I mean there was too much of"Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones" is a slight improvement over Phantom Menace, although not sure about the other people, but I thought the plot was all over the place, and when I say "over the place", I mean there was too much of it in this movie. Too much stuff going on and little to no character development. The goofy characters returned, but the humor this time around was a little more successful, unlike the previous film, which sometimes felt too corny to generate laughs. In spite of overabundance of plotting, I was actually invested in what was going on, especially when action and special effects came into play. Obviously the Star Wars franchise always had a knack on this department, and clearly shows it here.

Maybe I'm nitpicking here, but I found myself bummed how the scene transition never changed. Too often this movie switched from one subplot to the other subplot, with the same transition, and sometimes those scenes were so short you could blink and miss them. Perhaps not a problem factor for some, but for me it was just irritating.

The force is with this movie, and while not in its fullest, Episode II delivered the thrills 5 times better than the predecessor did.

Final Score: 6.5/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpiderPlayerMay 24, 2015
It's good, but not quite, history needed to be more engaging and interesting to a more than two-hour movie, despite having good special effects, he lost in history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
anichelsJan 1, 2016
By far the worst movie from the prequels. It focused more on the actual clone wars than
the Jedi or the universe.
Loved the inclusion of Jango Fett/Boba Fett, thought the scene where all of the Jedi going into combat together was neat, but
By far the worst movie from the prequels. It focused more on the actual clone wars than
the Jedi or the universe.
Loved the inclusion of Jango Fett/Boba Fett, thought the scene where all of the Jedi going into combat together was neat, but overdone.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DokaluJan 11, 2015
George Lucas brings the fifth movie of the Star Wars series, now showing Anakin Skywalker as a young apprentice who has already developed certain skills, in the process of becoming a Jedi Knight, and a love story between Anakin and PadméGeorge Lucas brings the fifth movie of the Star Wars series, now showing Anakin Skywalker as a young apprentice who has already developed certain skills, in the process of becoming a Jedi Knight, and a love story between Anakin and Padmé senator (Natalie Portman). Also, of course, the growing dispute between the Republic against the Confederacy.
Although this is a nice movie, it’s not more than that. It is just another sci-fi film that, despite all the imagination behind it, when it is brought to the big screen it doesn’t feel as well as it should. The acting seems a little forced and not as good as I would like, the special effects are just fine for the time it was released, and the story is pretty good and imaginative, but unfortunately it wasn’t told as well as I would have preferred. The only thing that stood out a little, was the soundtrack that, as in any Star Wars film, is quite awesome. I recommend this film to any fan of the series, and also to everyone who likes sci-fi and/or action and adventure movies. But do not expect the film of the year because it is far from it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
mm007Oct 14, 2016
[5/10]
PROS:
1.Anakin Skywalker was awesome. 2.Romance between Anakin and Padme. 3.against Count Dooku was awesome Master Yoda :p CONS: 1. Clones were boring, lifeless. 2.An unmitigated drag. Overlong, boring, self-involved,
[5/10]
PROS:
1.Anakin Skywalker was awesome.
2.Romance between Anakin and Padme.
3.against Count Dooku was awesome Master Yoda :p
CONS:
1. Clones were boring, lifeless.
2.An unmitigated drag. Overlong, boring, self-involved, ostentatious prequel.Quite disappointed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
woodelfFeb 10, 2016
so bad I've never managed to watch the whole movie, never resisted until the ending and I've tried twice. One of the worst movies I've ever seen in my life, and I'm 44.
Awful screenplay, flat characters, a lot of unintentional humor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
The collective fever that characterized the countdown to The Phantom Menace had long since dissipated by the time the first sequel prequel rolled off the ILM production line. Casual spectators, once stung, had decamped en masse to the newlyThe collective fever that characterized the countdown to The Phantom Menace had long since dissipated by the time the first sequel prequel rolled off the ILM production line. Casual spectators, once stung, had decamped en masse to the newly discovered Middle-Earth, leaving George Lucas with just the few million hardcore fans - true believers who, with all the apprehension of parents at a nativity play, willed their defrocked hero back towards respectability.

There are certainly stretches in the patchy Attack Of The Clones when Lucas’ flat-packed dialogue struggles to keep the hecklers quiet – Anakin’s seduction of the former Queen has all the charm of a teenage lunge behind the bike-sheds and none of the feeling – but by the time climactic ‘reel six’ cranks into high gear the saga’s reputation as the godfather of modern sci-fi spectacle is more or less restored. Indeed, when Yoda finally unsheathes his mini-saber and kicks Sith ass the faithful can reliably be found standing on seats hollering as if the outcome was never in doubt. But, as the little Jedi might say, in doubt it was.

Where Episode V fairly zipped around the galaxy with all the breezy confidence of youth, unafraid to travel anywhere, even dark places, the second middle child of the saga is saddled with an altogether heavier burden from which it struggles to escape. Empire hits the ground running on ice planet Hoth, Clones however, has a truly cold start to contend with, aware perhaps that the movie’s most pressing task is to simply atone for the more egregious sins of Episode I. Thus, Jar Jar is quickly sidelined, the upgraded CGI Yoda gets a showcase and those damn Amidala-clones are killed off on page one. On Coruscant we also meet the grown-up ‘Ani’ - okay so he’s a whiny teenager but that’s still a vast improvement on the bowl-haired moppet the world was asked to root for in 1999.

Also more powerful than when last we met is Ewan McGregor’s Obi-Wan, the Jedi who was simply wan in Menace is a much more forceful presence as a full-bearded Master, struggling manfully with the endless exposition and even landing the odd punchline.

Matters improve greatly in the final forty minutes: Christopher Lee’s Count Dooku arrives to provide some much needed gravitas, C-3PO turns up to do his C-3PO thing and Padme puts on a skin-tight white leotard. Best of all, Lucas finally cuts loose.

Also in the last reel we finally get to divine something of Lucas’ grand design, with ironic pay-offs for the fans still paying close attention - it is the witless Jar Jar who makes the creation of a clone army possible and Yoda who first leads what will become Stormtroopers into battle. In its own way, the end of Episode II is every bit as dark as the famous end of Episode V.

The middle episode that can make a virtue of its bridging role is rare indeed. And where The Empire Strikes Back dazzled with vertiginous cliffhangers, Clones is more typical of the breed, necessary but not vital.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
UrbanlistenerJan 12, 2016
Like the previous one, it is not a terrible film nor a good one it is just okay. No improvement over episode I, what was good is still good, but what was bad gets a bit worse, uh hum Hayden...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
waronassermanMay 3, 2015
uggg terrible! such a stupid movie, it really is, there's a couple of redeemable moments but not really, pretty lame Lucas, pretty lame. booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
hanneguacamoleJan 8, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can usually sense how much I like a movie for how long I will stay up at night to watch it. This episode took me nearly three days. While I certainly enjoyed Attack of the Clones more than The Phantom Menace, I hesitate to say that it truly was a superior movie. George Lucas tries to bring a sense of imagination and distance to each film, but in this case the aspects of Star Wars that originally made me love it were glaringly absent.

The plotline of Anakin and Padme could not have been more predictable, and with each passing minute I grew to dislike Anakin more and more. Knowing he will turn to the dark side, his character development is apparent, but not exciting, not memorable. The Attack of the Clones is not particularly clever and it reminded me strongly of being made with sadness rather than the wonder I sensed in the original trilogy.

I truly wish each character in Episode II would be as well-spoken as Yoda. I felt that the performances by Obi-Wan, but Anakin and Padme in particular, were quite lifeless. I wanted so much for them to light up the screen with their friendship, as we saw with Luke and Han and Leia, but in no way was this the same. All I sensed was disdain and resentment – a demure cousin to what we have known.

If only Lucas had realized that for this trilogy to be magnificent, it must be able to stand on its own and not serve solely as a prequel to the (obviously superior) original movies. Anakin's journey may be similar to his son's, but Luke Skywalker is infinitely more charismatic and entertaining to watch. I love Star Wars, and I always will, but this could have been so much more.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CineAutoctonoMay 20, 2016
Star Wars: "Episode II" was not good but it was better than the first , especially when you already were we presented the adventures of Anakin , Obi Wan and Padme , startup has not thrilled me , then I was conveying little emotion, and veryStar Wars: "Episode II" was not good but it was better than the first , especially when you already were we presented the adventures of Anakin , Obi Wan and Padme , startup has not thrilled me , then I was conveying little emotion, and very intriguing the end, but it did not like me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
IntelliCriticOct 30, 2015
Although the Attack of The Clones rests in my memory for its fantastical war scenes and glorious man-to-man combat, I cannot help but sigh at the real essence of this film: a sappy plot overflowing with uninteresting unlikeliness andAlthough the Attack of The Clones rests in my memory for its fantastical war scenes and glorious man-to-man combat, I cannot help but sigh at the real essence of this film: a sappy plot overflowing with uninteresting unlikeliness and predictable advances. I have heard some call the second film of the Star Wars prequels their favorite of the whole bunch, and while I fully understand from where these viewers formulate their preferences, I also see a certain horrible opinionated oversight therein. That is to say amidst entire worlds of explosion of emotional drama, Attack of The Clones slaughters any true notion of moral obligation and its inherent power. By this, I mean that the united force that is the Jedi Council is at most a colorful group of cerebral inquisitors, while the growing Dark Side is at least a seriously formidable twister of control through deception. Additionally, the confusedness and passionate rage of central character Anakin paints him too soon as the future agent of darkness, sapping out a potential element of surprise that the film failed to utilize. In the end, one should watch Attack of The Clones as a juvenile war cartoon, if one should even watch it at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FlickFreaks83Dec 11, 2015
There are certainly stretches in the patchy Attack Of The Clones when Lucas’ flat-packed dialogue struggles to keep the hecklers quiet – Anakin’s seduction of the former Queen has all the charm of a teenage lunge behind the bike-sheds andThere are certainly stretches in the patchy Attack Of The Clones when Lucas’ flat-packed dialogue struggles to keep the hecklers quiet – Anakin’s seduction of the former Queen has all the charm of a teenage lunge behind the bike-sheds and none of the feeling – but by the time climactic ‘reel six’ cranks into high gear the saga’s reputation as the godfather of modern sci-fi spectacle is more or less restored. Indeed, when Yoda finally unsheathes his mini-saber and kicks Sith ass the faithful can reliably be found standing on seats hollering as if the outcome was never in doubt. But, as the little Jedi might say, in doubt it was.

Where Episode V fairly zipped around the galaxy with all the breezy confidence of youth, unafraid to travel anywhere, even dark places, the second middle child of the saga is saddled with an altogether heavier burden from which it struggles to escape. Empire hits the ground running on ice planet Hoth, Clones however, has a truly cold start to contend with, aware perhaps that the movie’s most pressing task is to simply atone for the more egregious sins of Episode I. Thus, Jar Jar is quickly sidelined, the upgraded CGI Yoda gets a showcase and those damn Amidala-clones are killed off on page one. On Coruscant we also meet the grown-up ‘Ani’ - okay so he’s a whiny teenager but that’s still a vast improvement on the bowl-haired moppet the world was asked to root for in 1999.

Matters improve greatly in the final forty minutes: Christopher Lee’s Count Dooku arrives to provide some much needed gravitas, C-3PO turns up to do his C-3PO thing and Padme puts on a skin-tight white leotard. Best of all, Lucas finally cuts loose. The classic trilogy bristled with seat-of-your-pants filmmaking, our heroes bouncing from cliffhanger to cliffhanger, and in the final section of Episode II – almost four hours into this prequel enterprise - Lucas at last cranks up to this Saturday morning serial pace: from the Tex Avery goofiness of the droid factory, to the Cecil B. De Mille grandeur of the gladiator arena, the action never lets up.

Unsurprisingly, the least anticipated movie of the saga suffered at the box office – Episode IV raked in more money at the US box office back in 1977 – and remains largely unloved by the fanbase for its emphasis on the central love story but despite no real improvement in dialogue or acting it functions perfectly well as an old fashioned romantic epic, complete with standalone set-pieces, rich political intrigue and a painters’ pallette. Indeed, so indebted is Lucas to David O. Selznick here, ultimately he may have been better served abandoning his own trilogy structure and boiling both Episodes I and II down to a 3-hour Gone With The Wind style classic – an approach that would have at least halved all that damn anticipation.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NestriReviewsDec 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Star Wars: Episode II- Attack of the Clones is a huge improvement over it's predecessor, doing a better job by executing the story well. However, I just hate Anakin in this movie. He is poorly written, acted and he just lacks the charisma of Luke. He's so damn boring. And the relationship between Anakin and the Queen is just so damn corny and lacks elegance. However, I liked the villain here (Dooku), because he was interesting in this movie. As for the bounty hunter, he was nothing special. His personality is almost non-existent in this movie really, but he looked cool with the Bounty Hunter armor. But, the last 30 minutes were badass, and just because of those final minutes, this movie gets a solid 6. I mean, watching Jedi Masters fight together was epic indeed. So, this movie is nothing special, barely decent, but it's still a massive improvement Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ColeSoderstromDec 12, 2015
The worst Star Wars movie out of all 6. It was by no means a bad film but it had more bad quality so than good. The good was that Ewan Mcgreagor did a fantastic job as obi-wan jar jar was not in this film as much Yoda was badass great battlesThe worst Star Wars movie out of all 6. It was by no means a bad film but it had more bad quality so than good. The good was that Ewan Mcgreagor did a fantastic job as obi-wan jar jar was not in this film as much Yoda was badass great battles and action and jango fetc was pretty cool. The bad was the romance between Anakin and Padme. Don't get me wrong romance can be awesome in a Star Wars movie for an example Han Solo and Leia but this was just terrible. R2-D2 was CG that sucked. Hayden christiansens performence was bad. The story was meh. Lots of CG that was obviously fake. In conclusion this movie was not bad but not good just ok. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeDec 29, 2015
The one major problem that's preventing me from giving it a higher score: Hayden Christensen. The rest is pretty much averagely okay. Yoda is better as CGI in the prequels and he's always best as a puppet in the originals.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BarneyOnMTJan 5, 2016
WHAT I LIKED: Unlike with the Phantom Menace, this prequel actually has us excited. Thanks to two great plots switching back and forth for the majority of 'attack of the clones,' audiences can actually begin to feel tense or expectant. What'sWHAT I LIKED: Unlike with the Phantom Menace, this prequel actually has us excited. Thanks to two great plots switching back and forth for the majority of 'attack of the clones,' audiences can actually begin to feel tense or expectant. What's more is there's LOTS more action in place of people sitting and talking space rubbish.
WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's just so dragged out thanks to politics that'd baffle any non Star Wars fans, poor writing and one 45 minute explosion of CGI action at the end. Plus why Lucas feels the need for the injection of such awful humor is ridiculous.
VERDICT: Not as dull as it's predecessor, 'Attack of the clones' is fairly good until the third act where it's just senseless action.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
gameguardian21Jan 8, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was so disappointed in this film. It may have improved over the phantom menace, but that doesn't mean it is good. The worst part of this film is the love story. The worst I have seen in a film since twilight. It had terrible dialog, awkward scenes, and george should have never have written this mess. However, across the stars is a great peice of music, which focused on the love story. There are parts I do like about the movie, like the battle of geniosious. Seening the jedi as a group fighting gave me a exciting feeling. The lightsaber fight between anakin, obi wan, and dooku was pretty good, but the fight between yoda and dooku could have been longer and better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JarodyJan 27, 2016
The sequel to the phantom menace is much better than its predecessor, however that isn't saying much. This movie improves some of the mistakes made by the first one. For example it removes some of the cheesy kids characters as well as thisThe sequel to the phantom menace is much better than its predecessor, however that isn't saying much. This movie improves some of the mistakes made by the first one. For example it removes some of the cheesy kids characters as well as this movie actually feeling a bit like a star wars movie. However it doesn't fix the politics issue which is really the main problem with the prequels. Not only that but Anikan is a lot less cool than he should be and don't even get me started on him and padme. Despite these many problems, like the last movie the main thing that bolsters attack of the clones is the stunning visuals and epic lightsaber fights. Better than the first one but not nearly as good as the originals. 5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PachekoviskMar 17, 2016
BAD
The worst star wars film. (not including the holiday special)
Terrible acting
Weird romance
Excessive use of CGI
REALLY BORING, even as a kid I found this film boring!

Just Bad
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NehuenSep 30, 2016
Se reían de "The Phantom Menace" pero de entrada quiero decir que es hasta ahora la peor película de esta saga, hubiése sido una mejor película si no fuera por el romance soso que se desarrolla en toda la película y una historia pocoSe reían de "The Phantom Menace" pero de entrada quiero decir que es hasta ahora la peor película de esta saga, hubiése sido una mejor película si no fuera por el romance soso que se desarrolla en toda la película y una historia poco interesante. Natalie Portman no encaja bien con Hayden Christensen y se nota mucho, y además de que Hayden es el participe del peor personaje de la película, mala actuación y un romance forzado en una sola película, no digo que esté mal pero podían haber hecho de un mejor desarrollo. Por otra parte la subtrama de Obi-Wan Kenobi es lo único interesante de la película y salvando el final de la película. Ewan McGregor hace un gran papel de Obi-Wan, pero ahora con más participación en pantalla lo cual muestra lo mejor de la película: unas escenas más que interesantes y hasta atrapantes. Christopher Lee protagonizó a unos de los mejores siths de esta saga, el Conde Dooku, su participación a pesar de no estar en gran parte en pantalla (no a nivel de Darth Maul), sus minutos valen oro. La implementación de los Clones en la saga es fantástico y épico, como también los orígenes del Cazarrecompenzas de la trilogía original. Aquí Yoda se luce y tiene más participación y por fin podremos verlo en acción, cosa que fantaseábamos desde la trilogía original. Samuel Jackson es perfecto como Mace Windu y también lo veremos en acción, y su presencia está bien justificada. El final me pareció algo flojo pero a la vez entretenido, dejando con una sensación de hype. Y en la banda sonora John Williams se iguala o hasta supera en algunos sentidos en respecto con "The Phantom Menace". Personalmente creo que pudo haber sido mejor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Muskrat147May 31, 2016
Arguably the worst of the prequel films, Attack of the Clones is a decent entry in the saga. Though still riddled with poorly written dialogue and political chit-chat, the film featured many more action sequences with improved special effects.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Aaron_WassermanMay 31, 2016
A slight improvement over Episode I. Still a poor movie. Written with horrible dialogue, bad effects, stupid plot, bad acting. It really is just a mess. The main part of the movie, the love between Anakin and Padme, is just terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MasterRileyJul 20, 2016
While I enjoy this one more than Episode 1, it isn't much better. It still suffers from pretty much everything the first one did; too many digital effects, a poorly written script, and poor performances. It does have some great action and isWhile I enjoy this one more than Episode 1, it isn't much better. It still suffers from pretty much everything the first one did; too many digital effects, a poorly written script, and poor performances. It does have some great action and is still a enjoyable experience, just not to the same level of the original trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews