Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 19, 2005
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1429 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,083
Mixed:
214
Negative:
132
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
DartMay 18, 2005
I'll quote Dan R.: Very good movie. Only problems were the acting and the script. :-
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
M.J.Oct 3, 2006
Simply amazing just because they sell toy lightsabers in some shops doesn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JimGJan 7, 2006
I remember being amazed at the original Star Wars movie (Episode IV: A New Hope). The special effects were well beyond anything people had seen before, which was by itself enough to be excited, but it also offered a comforting mythological I remember being amazed at the original Star Wars movie (Episode IV: A New Hope). The special effects were well beyond anything people had seen before, which was by itself enough to be excited, but it also offered a comforting mythological good vs. evil feel-good in a whole new context, with good humor to boot. And it offered all of that with a dose of realism I hadn't focused on before in science fiction -- Luke's "car" was dusty and scratched rather than shiny and new like so many things in the fictional futures of the past; the characters get stuck in a garbage-disposal hell; robots run from new to well outdated models past their prime. In total, it was an exciting and fun, but certainly not profound, experience. Then something happened. What had seemed a simple story line with few enough characters to keep tabs on became a Tolkeinesk world of unmemorizable names and places and histories and the mood turned serious (read boring). I totally gave up and tuned out, until deciding to watch Revenge of the Sith. What a pleasant surpise to be excited again about the characters, and to see a new wave of delightful effects. I gave up worrying about all the ins and outs of the storyline, and looked for the lighter-hearted moments, ultimately enjoying the prequel. And, even though our now-trained eyes see the matting and other blatantly obvious special effects in the 1977 sequel, the one I'll always thing of as simply "Star Wars" is still the best of the series, reflecting the energies and passion of the younger George Lucas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CharlieW.Feb 21, 2006
Just a long string of saber fight after saber fight. Generally, I like it when movies actually have a STORY!!!! Shame on you Lucas...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AustinW.Mar 31, 2006
Well, after days of forcing my dad to buy me this DVD, I finally have it. This is the best Star Wars episode created by Geroge Lucas, though, a few improvements could not even be made. Oh, and the book of this novel. I could not put it down. Well, after days of forcing my dad to buy me this DVD, I finally have it. This is the best Star Wars episode created by Geroge Lucas, though, a few improvements could not even be made. Oh, and the book of this novel. I could not put it down. The graphics of Revenge of the Sith are same as the ones today, as it was made in 2005. The audio was the best yet on the Star Wars movies. I like the bit where the Order 66 is called to the clones and while the Jedi Knights battle Sidious. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesW.Apr 2, 2006
I was totally let down by this movie. I've waited too long for this trash movie to be this bad. I had high expectations for this film and that's my fault. They were too high apparently, since after viewing star wars 3, I'm I was totally let down by this movie. I've waited too long for this trash movie to be this bad. I had high expectations for this film and that's my fault. They were too high apparently, since after viewing star wars 3, I'm disgusted. First, I feel that I must add that I like the star wars story, as a whole. I got myself ready for this movie. I read all the comics & saw the clone wars cartoons. So, I was ready. The movie starts off great. Nice sound, nice visuals, lots of action. I'm feeling, "things are good". For the most part, things stay good, only if you don't notice the details. In my opinion, it's the attention to details that make star wars such a great story. Lucas is not consistent with the "big" details. I really can't explain without ruining the movie. I'm upset that other writers, people that worked on the comics & cartoons, put in a lot of work to make great stories for the build up to this movie, only for the movie to mess things up! A lot of the acting is laughable, the Grievous battle was a joke, Anakin is evil at the blink of an eye, and the "higher ground" law didn't apply in episode one. I think this movie is Hollywood trash and not good enough to give it anything near a ten. I wanted more and I'm pissed that I didn't get it. This is a mainstream movie, so the regular people will love it. But, for those of us who remember the original movies, read the comics & novels, and saw the clone wars cartoon, this movie is the third worst star wars movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathanJun 5, 2008
this movie was the best out of the new trilogy, but i think the only major flaw was how padme dies after giving birth and in episode 6 leia says she remembers her mom as a sad but beautiful woman. WTF is that?? great job george lucas, its this movie was the best out of the new trilogy, but i think the only major flaw was how padme dies after giving birth and in episode 6 leia says she remembers her mom as a sad but beautiful woman. WTF is that?? great job george lucas, its your own story and you add obvious holes in it. other than that i think it was cool how it ties in to episodes 4-6. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
JonathanCJan 7, 2009
If I could spit in this text box instead of writing anything, I would.
1 of 7 users found this helpful
6
ChrisPNov 1, 2005
Good action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DavidTNov 2, 2005
Whereas the original three films had a cheeky sense of ceomedic bravado that had you whooping in your seat for th hero, the three prequels are more like three Trekkies sitting up late at night dicussing the finer points of a Lithium Drive Whereas the original three films had a cheeky sense of ceomedic bravado that had you whooping in your seat for th hero, the three prequels are more like three Trekkies sitting up late at night dicussing the finer points of a Lithium Drive over Warp Speed - in other words, these films just take themselves way to seriously to be taken seriously. High Camp Performances all round. Sith reminds me of another 4 letter word with using the same four letters - in other words, its CRAP. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AdamL.Nov 28, 2005
Best of the Prequels. Cna't Match any of the Old One's, though. If you are an in depth Star Wars Geek (which is an actual catagory in Guiness world records) you'll agree, its got the best lightsaber fights of any Star Wars Best of the Prequels. Cna't Match any of the Old One's, though. If you are an in depth Star Wars Geek (which is an actual catagory in Guiness world records) you'll agree, its got the best lightsaber fights of any Star Wars movie to date, though I did notice one thing: The CG is a little...um...Plastic. Best one yet..Oh and Kris B., if I wasn't a guy, I'd be saying "Would you marry me?" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MattNov 30, 2005
Like reading your girlfriend's diary, it's weird seeing events unfolding as you knew they would yet mangled just enough to make it all slightly unsavoury. Anakin gets bad at last, we get to see him put in the suit, yet the acting Like reading your girlfriend's diary, it's weird seeing events unfolding as you knew they would yet mangled just enough to make it all slightly unsavoury. Anakin gets bad at last, we get to see him put in the suit, yet the acting is terrible all round as we've come to expect and McDiarmid's ham-fest takes some stomaching. So while Sith is enjoyable and undoubtedly the best of the prequels, it still never reaches the heights you hope it will. The kids will love it though, which is the main thing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoelNov 4, 2005
Hahaha how can you say that the prequels compare dont compare to the originals when they are graphically more up to date and the battle scenes contian alot more action than all three movies of the oringinal combined. Though Id have to say Hahaha how can you say that the prequels compare dont compare to the originals when they are graphically more up to date and the battle scenes contian alot more action than all three movies of the oringinal combined. Though Id have to say the story in the originals were far better to these prequels Revenge of the Sith wraps up a triliogy that ended nicely and is well follwed up by the originals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LisaD.Nov 4, 2005
Easily the best of the prequels, rivaling the critically acclaimed Empire Strikes Back, SW III is the breathless climax we've waited for for 28 years, and it doesn't even come close to a dissapointment. RIch in CGI, while sometimes Easily the best of the prequels, rivaling the critically acclaimed Empire Strikes Back, SW III is the breathless climax we've waited for for 28 years, and it doesn't even come close to a dissapointment. RIch in CGI, while sometimes short on heartfelt acting performances, Revenge of the Sith is still everything the best popcorn flicks are made of. A glorious finale to the greatest sci fi saga ever created. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LetheW.Nov 6, 2005
If anyone thinks they should listen to a word Lucas says, I dare any fan to watch the episodes in order I through VI (as Lucas says he intended all along). The plot holes will be large enough to drive an entire deathstar through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HenryWNov 8, 2005
How did George Lucas think he could get away with this, and - more importantly - how did he get away with this?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EdsilP.Oct 20, 2005
Very Vivid Special Effects and Sounds is Great! Congrats!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
RocketDec 2, 2005
All i wanna know is when Anakin was little, like 5 or so,he fell for Padme, who was more than twice his age and runnin the space gov't or something, and then by the 3rd film( ROTS), Anakin was grown and Padne hadnt aged a bit ( must be All i wanna know is when Anakin was little, like 5 or so,he fell for Padme, who was more than twice his age and runnin the space gov't or something, and then by the 3rd film( ROTS), Anakin was grown and Padne hadnt aged a bit ( must be that space gell she uses) but i guess she wasnt so old she still couldnt have sex and have babys( twins at that! ), hmm, if thats the future then i cant wait. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
marshallmOct 20, 2005
Eh, i've seen better. it was very entertaining but and the acting from hayden christansen was terrible, he should be nominated for a razzie, but the other actors did a fine job,christansen was the wrong guy to play anakin... i think Eh, i've seen better. it was very entertaining but and the acting from hayden christansen was terrible, he should be nominated for a razzie, but the other actors did a fine job,christansen was the wrong guy to play anakin... i think this was better then the second one, but not as good as the phantom menace, and none of the prequals will ever match up with the originals. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
C.DouglassMay 20, 2005
First of all people like Dawn who commented on this movie are very ignorant, and should avoid diarhea of the mouth... Dawn Revenge of the sith refers to the Sith (i.e. Sidious coming back to power, and dismantling the Jedi and for killing First of all people like Dawn who commented on this movie are very ignorant, and should avoid diarhea of the mouth... Dawn Revenge of the sith refers to the Sith (i.e. Sidious coming back to power, and dismantling the Jedi and for killing all but a few. the movie is fast paced, with good action and good acting by Obi-Wan, Palpatine, and Yoda. The effects were mostly good (except for the Stormtroopers heads with their helmets off.) Dialougue could use some improvement, but only one particular sequence do I still recall specifically as being lame. All in all a fun and exciting installment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomK.May 20, 2005
Awesome.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kadijaht.May 31, 2005
The movie was great i would give it a 10. it was hotter than 4 5 and 6. I mostly liked it because anaken was in it and he's the hottest guy in the world!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AaronM.May 30, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith is the epic conclusion to the Star Wars Saga. It starts out with the long-awaited death of the Sith Lord's dark apprentice Count Dooku and the end of the fiendish droid leader [***SPOILERS***] Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith is the epic conclusion to the Star Wars Saga. It starts out with the long-awaited death of the Sith Lord's dark apprentice Count Dooku and the end of the fiendish droid leader General Grievous. It then takes an unexpected turn as the Supreme Chancellor Palpatine slowly comes to reveal his true identity to the Jedi: the Sith Lord Darth Sidious! Things then start to heat up as Sidious pushes Anakin Skywalker to turn to the dark side. Anakin eventually gives in and becomes the one and only Darth Vader. The clone army is then turned into the storm troopers and, along with Vader, turn against the Jedi and kill them off, leaving only Obi-Wan Kenobi, Yoda, and Senator Organa (who have hidden from the storm troopers) alive. Sidious then sends Darth Vader to the volcanic Mustafar system, where he finds Obi-Wan, whom he challenges. His wife, the beautiful Padme Amidala, tries to intervene, but Anakin, twisted by the dark side, is convinced that she is only trying to help Obi-Wan kill him and force chokes her nearly to death. And so, the battle between Anakin and Obi-Wan begins. Meanwhile, Yoda confronts the evil Lord Sidious. Yoda starts out strong, but the Sith Lord won't be beaten that easily. Soon, Sidious unleashes his true power. Yoda is overwhelmed by his power; yet, he rushes to safety, hides and escapes. Back on Mustafar, the battle between the two Jedi knights and former friends rages on. Anakin pulls of some good moves, but ends up being burnt in the lava while Obi-Wan walks away, convinced that all hope for Anakin is lost. Meanwhile, Sidious is able to reorganize the Republic into a Galactic Empire with himself as the Emporer. He then travels to Mustafar and finds the disoriented Anakin on the ground. We now learn that this is how he got the breathing mask and suit he wears in the old movies. We, then, find Padme giving birth to her (and Anakin's) twin babies: Luke and Leia Skywalker. Because of the prior damage Anakin did to her, Padme barely survived to give birth, but afterwards died. Vader and the Emporer are then seen overseeing the construction of the Death Star. To ensure that the Emporer does not sense their presence, the three remaining Jedi seperate Luke and Leia from each other and go into hiding themselves, knowing that their attempt to use Anakin (the chosen one) to finish off the Sith had failed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NatS.Jul 25, 2006
By far, the worst Star Wars movie. Apparently the only thing the critics like is death and destruction, once you compare this movie to the other Star Wars films. Acting is worse than than 1 and 2, and the storyline seems to be made up on the By far, the worst Star Wars movie. Apparently the only thing the critics like is death and destruction, once you compare this movie to the other Star Wars films. Acting is worse than than 1 and 2, and the storyline seems to be made up on the spot. I was in disbelief after I saw the first scene, with Obi-Wan and Anakin chatting back and forth during their ten minute ride through an otherwise awesome battle. It's so stupid and cheesy it's laughable, and just like with Harry Potter 4, the only thing that will really get the critics votes is cheesy gloom and doom acting, and nothing else. Despite that, it's still Star Wars. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ElenaR.Dec 26, 2007
The movie's great, the casting is great, it's all great.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
0
J.WFeb 6, 2007
I think I'd rather watch cut scenes from a video game. This was atrocious, the plot and especially acting. How bad is Anakin's final 'nooooo!' when he transforms into vader? I just pretend the whole I, II and III triology I think I'd rather watch cut scenes from a video game. This was atrocious, the plot and especially acting. How bad is Anakin's final 'nooooo!' when he transforms into vader? I just pretend the whole I, II and III triology never happened. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
SenselockeFeb 20, 2008
Abysmal. Pretty, yes, as to be expected, but Lucas thin and simplistic attempts at "plot" are pathetic. Here I was expecting the mindf.ck of the century, to twist Annakin into Vader, and instead it's like the character walked through Abysmal. Pretty, yes, as to be expected, but Lucas thin and simplistic attempts at "plot" are pathetic. Here I was expecting the mindf.ck of the century, to twist Annakin into Vader, and instead it's like the character walked through the revolving door of morality. No twenty minutes of psychological twisting to break him, nothing just "la-di-da, I'm good! I must uphold goodness!" "la di-da, I'm evil, let's kill some kids". And that's not even an exaggeration. This is the worst Star Wars movie ever made, hands down, and one of the worst movies PERIOD. NO amount of flash can take that away. In addition, Haden has the acting talent of my left testicle. He couldn't pull off a convincing CADAVER. In my mind, there are three star wars movies, only. The last three were pathetic attempts to leach money from fanboys and the unaware, with zero effort or skill put into dialogue, plot, or character development, and Lucas should be ashamed for prostituting his own creations so completely. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful
8
AlexG.Apr 15, 2008
Best one ever...what i've been waiting to find out for years now how he went to the darkside, brilliant, superb, electryfying.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TonyM.May 30, 2008
Ok, this movie was one of the greatest movies I've seen. Now i understand that episodes I and II weren't up to snuff, to put it softly, but, to say that the second trilogy had little or no plot or character development, is to Ok, this movie was one of the greatest movies I've seen. Now i understand that episodes I and II weren't up to snuff, to put it softly, but, to say that the second trilogy had little or no plot or character development, is to discredit yourself of all intelligence. Anakin begins in epsiode one as a boy, wanting to do good. As he gets older, he becomes disillusioned with how the jedi council is treating him; he thinks he deserves more, and instead of keeping him from turing, they only make it worse. There is no need for breaking ANakin, because he is already broken. He wants his love to survive, but he knows she might not. Since he trusts Palpatine, he belives in his words, that there may be a way to save her. He's not bad, his misguided, and to say that is not true plot or character development, is just crazy! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AndrewBFeb 26, 2009
Episode III is by far the greatest film in the new trilogy, and it stands against the original 3 in epic awesomeness. An incredible conclusion to the greatest saga ever told.
6 of 7 users found this helpful
10
RevanM.Jan 25, 2010
Seriously, I don't understand all those bad ratings. This film is like the incarnation of the word "epic". The final fight scene is among the best ever created, filled with epic dialogues, awesome music composed by Mr. Williams and a Seriously, I don't understand all those bad ratings. This film is like the incarnation of the word "epic". The final fight scene is among the best ever created, filled with epic dialogues, awesome music composed by Mr. Williams and a fight with speed, power and energy. That's how a fight is supposed to be. And yet the film has more to offer than just action. It has a very dark atmosphere and a quite deep story for an action movie. Palpatine's corruption is well written and you even can see the movie as a metaphor to our real life in a few ways. This movie is just one of the best movies ever made, and it's even better than the original Star Wars a new hope. Why? Because it grew up, it's not just about good vs. uberevil, but it's a story of the chosen one, Anakin, who falls to the dark side because of love, and you can see what people are willing to do because of love. Tragic story and awesome movie, hands down. Expand
14 of 15 users found this helpful
10
davidNov 15, 2005
I totally aggree with kris. beside the score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DaxNov 17, 2005
It will take some mental exercises to erase this from my memory, but I think I might be able to like IV, V and VI again someday...as long as I can disassociate them from the prequels. Good...god.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SkullchristNov 8, 2005
The rating I gave this movie represents the amount of effort Lucas actually put into the prequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
joebNov 9, 2005
I thought both of the lead actors were wimps. The acting over all is poor. The actors do not make you care about them or what they are doing. I was very dissappointed with this movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
matta.Oct 20, 2005
Without a doubt the best in new trilogy (which isn't saying much) and probably better than Return of the Jedi (despite the duel between Luke and Darth being sweet, the ewoks are dreadful). The Dialogue is still terrible but finally some Without a doubt the best in new trilogy (which isn't saying much) and probably better than Return of the Jedi (despite the duel between Luke and Darth being sweet, the ewoks are dreadful). The Dialogue is still terrible but finally some decent acting, the effects look better, and the story is obviously better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
YrkOct 31, 2005
Absolutely the best of the new trilogy, but far inferior to any of the originals, despite what some critics are saying. Hayden just plain sucks as Anakin. I don't know who I despise more, him or Jar Jar. At least we only have to suffer Absolutely the best of the new trilogy, but far inferior to any of the originals, despite what some critics are saying. Hayden just plain sucks as Anakin. I don't know who I despise more, him or Jar Jar. At least we only have to suffer through basically one movie of Jar Jar, but Hayden is in all three prominently. Oh well. I'll buy this now, then buy the super mega six movie sumbytch when it finally gets released. A good watch, but I can't help but think how these new movies would have turned out with someone else writing them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarcD.May 19, 2005
This is the best film since Empire Strikes Back. The story is able to tie up a majority of the loose ends that needed closure. The action is great, and truly worthy of the Star Wars franchise. Also, please keep in mind that this film is by This is the best film since Empire Strikes Back. The story is able to tie up a majority of the loose ends that needed closure. The action is great, and truly worthy of the Star Wars franchise. Also, please keep in mind that this film is by far the darkest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
billyMay 19, 2005
Amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoshuaM.May 21, 2005
As everyone now knows, George Lucas is a terrible screenwriter and director, which may be why people are so symmpathetic to this last movie. More action and less awful dialog is a good thing, so is more fighting and less monotone line As everyone now knows, George Lucas is a terrible screenwriter and director, which may be why people are so symmpathetic to this last movie. More action and less awful dialog is a good thing, so is more fighting and less monotone line reading. But let's face it, if Star Wars didn't have street cred this movie would be straight to video. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SenatorBlutarskyMay 20, 2005
For those who are critical, I have no idea what movie they saw, or what they might have been smoking when they saw it. But I've seen ROTS twice now, and trust me -- this movie is the REAL DEAL! It is the most emotionally stirring, For those who are critical, I have no idea what movie they saw, or what they might have been smoking when they saw it. But I've seen ROTS twice now, and trust me -- this movie is the REAL DEAL! It is the most emotionally stirring, action-packed Star Wars movie, period. The acting was also surprisingly good, for a SW movie. I came in with very low expectations, having hated the first two prequels, and left completely astonished at how good this movie actually was. I mean, I really didn't expect it to be very good, and it was VERY good. Probably me new favorite of the six Star Wars movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
F.Fletch(UK)May 22, 2005
[Ed: Review posted and score estimated without the author's explicit permission. I doubt he would care, though. I just dug his magic trick metaphor.- md] Episode III was even worse than expected. First time I've ever seriously [Ed: Review posted and score estimated without the author's explicit permission. I doubt he would care, though. I just dug his magic trick metaphor.- md] Episode III was even worse than expected. First time I've ever seriously thought of walking out of a movie. The only thing that kept me there was the feeling that I ought to see how it ended. And to be fair, the last half-hour was entertaining, but only because it was bluntly (spoiler-style) explaining the mythology and background that was so well hinted at in the original trilogy, and made those first films seem all the more impressive as a result. (Starting a new, expensive film franchise on Episode IV is actually pretty inspired and brave when you think about it, eh?) An analogy. The original trilogy was the magic trick and the prequels just explain how it was done: They're not as good, they devalue the trick itself, and the best they can do is give you a cheap thrill by referencing the original and crudely filling in the gaps that made it 'magical' in the first place. But at least I didn't have to pay for my ticket :) Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
BenskAug 22, 2005
Hayden makes Darth Vader look like such a whiner, wheres the bad *** darth vader we know and love?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
T.S.Sep 25, 2005
How could anybody think that was a bad movie?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeK.Apr 23, 2006
Wow. Thats all i can say about how many people gave this movie a 1,2,3 and 4. How can u say there was bad acting and how it had no plot. I really dont get any of these people. I just watch it a little while ago and im still amazed. Wow. Thats all i can say about how many people gave this movie a 1,2,3 and 4. How can u say there was bad acting and how it had no plot. I really dont get any of these people. I just watch it a little while ago and im still amazed. [***SPOILERS***] The kashek battle, battle over corracant, the battle with general grevis, and who could forget, Obi wan and anaken fighting. These were all amazing. SHame on whoever bad-mouthed George Lucas and forwhoever said the star wars series was bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
KeithM.Jul 9, 2006
Nearly unwatchable, completely unmoving. If not for the camp villainy of Ian McDiarmid and the game attempts of Ewan McGregor, what would distinguish this movie from Battlefield Earth? The dangerous, witty and noble reality of the first two Nearly unwatchable, completely unmoving. If not for the camp villainy of Ian McDiarmid and the game attempts of Ewan McGregor, what would distinguish this movie from Battlefield Earth? The dangerous, witty and noble reality of the first two movies in the series has collapsed into a bloated mess of unconvincing technology and inane scripting. The original vision proved that adolescent auteurs had both hearts and minds. After nearly 30 years, those same moviemakers seem to have been running in place, losing much of both. Hayden Christensen's inexplicable casting, ticking like a time bomb through the last three movies, finally detonated any last hope of salvaging a satisfying close to the series. Mr. Lucas, please focus on special effects, the environment, world peace, or anything else that keeps you from the director's chair. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
5
JBAug 12, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering her mother in the original trilogy even though her mother, by film's end, dies giving shortly after giving birth to her. Far worse, it actually makes clowns of both Palpatine and Yoda (during their duel, which was a shameful mockery of both characters) and thereby reduces the forces of good and evil in Lucas' universe (via their closest representatives) to clowns whose comedic sparring just happens to cost people millions of lives. The only good thing about this film is Anakin's duel with Obi-Wan, a duel that was brought about by circumstances wholly unconvincing to anyone with some degree of common sense. Just pretend that the prequels never happened. You'll be better off for it. Expand
0 of 9 users found this helpful
9
ShaneD.Aug 2, 2006
Had some dull parts......but overall best in saga.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobB.Sep 27, 2006
The first 2 Episodes in the saga will never be better than the original trilogy, but they still remain watchable, with smooth plotlines and decent acting. However, Episode 3 sinks the Star Wars saga into a new low. As JB said, it makes a The first 2 Episodes in the saga will never be better than the original trilogy, but they still remain watchable, with smooth plotlines and decent acting. However, Episode 3 sinks the Star Wars saga into a new low. As JB said, it makes a complete mockery of the characters that were depicted in the trilogy as serious and had many similarities with real life people throughout history. George Lucas tried to squeeze way too much into this movie, and he also tried to succumb to the likes of little 8 year olds who hardly understand what's going on. He sacrifices the inspiration, the wonder, the heroism, and the drama which were a main element in the trilogy movies all for the sake of special effects and not wanting to confuse 8 year olds. Along with forgetting how to direct actors, Lucas has also forgotten a lot of military strategy elements which were a part of the trilogy. Instead of making the opening scene a race to stop Grievous and his fleet from retreating, he turned the scene into a "2 Jedi storm the flagship, outnumbered 5000 to 1 and still beat them" kind of battle. The movie basically goes from the opening space battle, with good visuals, but crappy military realism and bad acting, to a few other battles which were all interrupted to create even more intricate plotlines, and during all these battles, all we see of Coruscant and daily life in the Republic is the view from Padme Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DannyS.Oct 10, 2007
A True Gem in the Star Wars Universe Viewing the saga through the eyes of a Star Wars fan, I have rated this movie based on many factors. First you must understand the story. Second, you must understand the entertainment. Finally you must A True Gem in the Star Wars Universe Viewing the saga through the eyes of a Star Wars fan, I have rated this movie based on many factors. First you must understand the story. Second, you must understand the entertainment. Finally you must understand the message. The story seems to blend and transition well into Episode 4: A New Hope. Never before (in my opinion) has a SW movie been so entertaining. I truly was overwhelmed witnessing the final movie fold open before my eyes. Not only were the graphics/Visual Effects truly beyond their time, but the whole movie in general had humor and scenes of battle that entertained me to the very core. Finally, the message that this movie brought was unlike any other. A message of hope. A message of integrity. A message of honor and duty to ones beliefs. A message of redemption to come, which Lucas seems to implement at the end of every episode. The only downside I saw to this movie were perhaps 3 lines quoted by Hayden (Anakin Skywalker) that I felt were slightly childish and untalented. However, actors make mistakes, and these mistakes I am speaking of weren't even worth saying more than I already have. They were minor. Overall he played an amazing roll in the transition towards Darth Vader. I give this movie a 9.4/10, feeling slightly unique compared to the many other reviewers who have reviewed this movie based on the common "review methods" instead of reviewing it as a "star wars movie." Thank you again George Lucas. And Metacritic as well, for allowing me tp voice my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredB.Nov 5, 2007
As the "Star Wars" prequels go, this is the absolute best. It is also the most emotionally charged of the entire saga. Unlike the other films, there are moments that will bring you close to tears, unless you are a robot or completely As the "Star Wars" prequels go, this is the absolute best. It is also the most emotionally charged of the entire saga. Unlike the other films, there are moments that will bring you close to tears, unless you are a robot or completely heartless. The action scenes, the special effects, and the acting work together to craft an excellent finale to a wonderful film series. George Lucas, You da' man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JaredC.Aug 21, 2007
Its a Sci-Fi thriller, with action and adventure. It connects with the whole franchise in a resolving way. The saga is complete.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OliverL.Oct 3, 2008
This is the best film of the year and the best Star Wars film yet, even surpassing The Empire Strikes Back.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
JimboAug 16, 2008
Has the same issues as the other prequels: bad dialogue, bad acting, bad story. It has a few memorable moments and a satisfying ending, but it still doesn't come close to the original trilogy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
EddieD.Sep 9, 2008
An improvement. I think that people liked this movie WAAAAYYYY better than 1 and 2 because everyone was expecting crap. And I don't think we got crap.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
6
billJul 15, 2009
This is the best star wars film since 'the empier strikes back' but thats not really saying much do to the fact the last three were below average. The last installment of star wars had enough action to get by although the acting This is the best star wars film since 'the empier strikes back' but thats not really saying much do to the fact the last three were below average. The last installment of star wars had enough action to get by although the acting was thin. The only thing that I really didn't like was that I thought some thing was missing from Vader's charactor at the end . I mean when Anakin is put into the black suite and becomes the vader we all know, he is crying about the death of his wife, so we have a sense that there is still good in him, a sense that we don't get again until 'return of the jedi'. So what made him the epitome of evil that we see in episode 4 and 5? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RonR.Nov 1, 2005
Of the new Trilogy AND the movie to tie all 6 together, great job Lucas, thanks for waiting for the technology on these three, too bad people forget they are a Family Fantasy Series based around the classic Good vs. Evil concept. I'm Of the new Trilogy AND the movie to tie all 6 together, great job Lucas, thanks for waiting for the technology on these three, too bad people forget they are a Family Fantasy Series based around the classic Good vs. Evil concept. I'm not sure what these morons were expecting, but thanks for giving ME more incredible Star Wars content. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
evilDNov 14, 2005
This movie is what it is. Like the previous 2 prequels, the characters are paper thin, as are the plotlines. The lack of continuity between the prequels and the original three movies is striking, to say the least. I am always amazed at the This movie is what it is. Like the previous 2 prequels, the characters are paper thin, as are the plotlines. The lack of continuity between the prequels and the original three movies is striking, to say the least. I am always amazed at the HUGE technology gap between the two sets of trilogies. Just look at R2-D2. Where was all that stuff later? He can fly? What the @!#$%?! But the biggest continuity problem is that Anakin is such a freakin' little girl! I have a hard time believing that this whiny little girl turns into Darth Vader. C'mon! Vader is decisive, intelligent, calculating, and very, very strong. Anakin is operating on the level of a junior-high school girl. "I'm SO in love! I CAN'T lose her!" And yet he still FAILS to do ANYTHING to help her. I'm sorry, Kris B, I loved the original trilogy as much as ANYONE, but this flick DOES NOT wrap everything up in a neat little package, in fact it colors the characters we've loved for decades in a very bad light. Granted, the acting, dialogue, and writing in general were NEVER more than just adequate in ANY of the 6, but only goes to show that Lucas is a CRAPPY DIRECTOR, and an even worse writer. Like I started, with, this movie is what it is, but it could have, it SHOULD have been much, much more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
billCNov 2, 2005
It's no Casablanca, the story seems weak and the flow from Jedi to the dark side could have been told (an acted)much better. But , it's really just a action driven ,popcorn enjoying, Saturday matnee. It excells at that wonderfully, It's no Casablanca, the story seems weak and the flow from Jedi to the dark side could have been told (an acted)much better. But , it's really just a action driven ,popcorn enjoying, Saturday matnee. It excells at that wonderfully, and isn't that what Lucas said it was right from the start? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
georgea.Nov 21, 2005
I am bein generous giving it a 1, it realli is a waste of ur time watchin this film, it did not live up to my expectations. Another thing that annoys me about this film and the other two is the digital enchancements on Yoda, there was no I am bein generous giving it a 1, it realli is a waste of ur time watchin this film, it did not live up to my expectations. Another thing that annoys me about this film and the other two is the digital enchancements on Yoda, there was no need for this the old yoda looked far more impressive. This film is based so much on digital effects and how to get every part of the story across in a impressive way it seems they (director, producers etc) have lost sight of what makes a good movie. v. dissapointing however if u've seen the other two at least give this one a chance. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AntNov 2, 2005
Fans my age who enjoyed the first Trilogy in the theaters as kids need to let go of the nostalgia that elevates those films to some over-idealistic height and realize that many of the same flaws they see in the new Trilogy were there in the Fans my age who enjoyed the first Trilogy in the theaters as kids need to let go of the nostalgia that elevates those films to some over-idealistic height and realize that many of the same flaws they see in the new Trilogy were there in the beginning. Sure, the writing is weak, the dialog is almost laughable at times and the characters are mostly flimsy. Revenge of the Sith, though, is still the third-best Star Wars film, if only for the opening space battle scene, the Anakin-Padme staring out the windows at each other across the city scene, and the final Obi-Wan vs. Anakin fight alone. Talk to a child who was my age when I first experienced A New Hope (about 4 years old) and you'll see that these new fans are jazzed about the new Trilogy the same way. These are kids movies, afterall, and the toys sales and video games prove it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SlammerKoolNov 29, 2005
The greatest movie ever and the best possible sequil to the beggining 2 and the best possible ending to the star wars saga.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AmyNov 4, 2005
Darth Vader's 'Nooooooo!' at the end. Classic.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
w00keeNov 4, 2005
George Lucas can't direct or write to save his life. All of these most recent films are gobbling turkeys and this one is no exception. The acting is stiff, Obi Wan is a complete bore and kind of a goofball, Yoda has been turned into a George Lucas can't direct or write to save his life. All of these most recent films are gobbling turkeys and this one is no exception. The acting is stiff, Obi Wan is a complete bore and kind of a goofball, Yoda has been turned into a Mexican jumping bean, the mystical aspects once so enchanting are now totally absent, every frame has to have something amazing that you've never seen before, robot dialogue just doesn't work, there's a plethora of toys everywhere, the dialogue is so bad it reaches new levels of sheer banality, the love story doesn't feel at all real, how the Jedi order remains unaware of Anakin Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MarkWDec 7, 2005
Not only the worse Star Wars Episode but one the worse films I've seen. Extremely bland and elementary dialog. It just seemed to be short acts of basic information separated by computer graphics of locations. I'm sure the die hard Not only the worse Star Wars Episode but one the worse films I've seen. Extremely bland and elementary dialog. It just seemed to be short acts of basic information separated by computer graphics of locations. I'm sure the die hard S.W. Fans are happy but as a movie this just didn't hold up. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
WallyS.Dec 8, 2005
The best Star Wars film. Its action packed with stylish visual and sound effects that dazzle on the screen to add something to the great story creared by Lucas. An instant triunf, that will hardly be forgotten.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomK.May 24, 2005
Awesome.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SkullAug 23, 2005
I've given up even caring anymore. I've wasted too much of my time trying explain to the legions of brainwashed fans, new and old, how damaging these last three movies have been to the Star Wars mythos. I will not shed a tear when I've given up even caring anymore. I've wasted too much of my time trying explain to the legions of brainwashed fans, new and old, how damaging these last three movies have been to the Star Wars mythos. I will not shed a tear when George is dead and gone. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful
10
EricO.Aug 28, 2005
Definately the best movie of the year.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TAug 31, 2005
I've seen piles of rotting veggies that were more entertaining.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
BrettJun 22, 2006
One of the best movies I have ever seen so emotional and dramatic amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Guy!May 13, 2007
Best Star wars movie ever! No flaws, no dullness, and no bad acting like the 1st one, this movie is perfect in everyway. I still watch it today and I still love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
StephenC.May 13, 2007
One of the best movies. The plot is amazing, the lightsaber duels were spectacular and the way Anakin went sith was absolutely amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobthebuilderthatscarecrowguyApr 15, 2008
Insanly good movie. Good acting and graphics all around. Should buy it even if you're not a star wars fan.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MorganFJul 16, 2008
Pure brilliance. Leaves you in awe.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
GregC.Dec 24, 2009
I have seen all the Star Wars pictures(hey, I'm from North America, folks) even though I'm not particularly a Star Wars buff. Of all the Star Wars pictures, this is the only one with any serious emotional resonance for me. In the I have seen all the Star Wars pictures(hey, I'm from North America, folks) even though I'm not particularly a Star Wars buff. Of all the Star Wars pictures, this is the only one with any serious emotional resonance for me. In the all the early Star Wars pictures, George Lucas was trying to recapture the old Flash Gordon serials in high tech terms with an overlay of New Age mysticism. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. This is the only movie, to be blunt, where I think George Lucas is doing some serious thinking. He's contemplating why someone might turn to (if one might use an old-fashioned term here) evil. This gives the whole thing a gravitas that the rest of the series simply doesn't have. While I suppose this film gives the viewer (to use a degraded bit of modern-day post-modern jargon) closure in respect to the character of Darth Vader, and the film ties up various plot and thematic odds and ends, it cuts much deeper. George, who has clearly read Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray", depicts how Anakin Skywalker's outer deformity grows out of his inner deformity. And George's perceptions here are on a higher level than the rest of the films. He appreciates that Evil (if, again, I may use the term) is often a strange combination of bad intentions and good intentions. That is a very 21st century perception, miles away from the original "Star Wars." And, surprisingly, there is even some wit here. At one point, a character arrives at a planet, proclaiming,'I have come in regards to the War." The alien replies,"There is no War here. Perhaps you brought one with you?" Ho, ho! Leave aside the whole question of highbrow and lowbrow. This is a great shaft of wit, period. If George had only written this one line, he'd deserve to live forever. This is, figuratively and literally, the darkest Star Wars picture and quite rightly so. The sadness and the sense of dark inevitability are oddly haunting in their way here. It is said that Japanese popular culture is obsessed with the Star Wars mythos. This is the film, in my opinion, that justifies the fascinationg. If I had to have only one Star Wars picture, this would be it. Greg Cameron, Surrey, B.C., Canada. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
mikekMay 27, 2009
Amazing the best of the prequels ...the darkness that was not seen in attack of the clones showers through in revenge of the sith and the movie gave me more than i was expecting to get plus they killed the worst character to me count dooku Amazing the best of the prequels ...the darkness that was not seen in attack of the clones showers through in revenge of the sith and the movie gave me more than i was expecting to get plus they killed the worst character to me count dooku who is played by the great christopher lee who i loved in lord of the rings but hated in attack of the clones so his death was a great thing to me..plus brutle made it better for me....the clone war scenes are just what fans had been waiting for since the 70's when it was briefly talked about. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
0
EvIlnIcESep 23, 2009
After writing a huge rant here I've chose to delete it all and replace it with something that is decent, relevent, amusing and that neatly sums everything up (Lucas take note) We watched the first 3 films. We cared about a mysterious After writing a huge rant here I've chose to delete it all and replace it with something that is decent, relevent, amusing and that neatly sums everything up (Lucas take note) We watched the first 3 films. We cared about a mysterious force without explanation. We enjoyed hating Darth Vaders weezing. Harrison Ford was cool. We all wanted Liea in THAT bikini. We all wanted to own a light sabre. We all thought the cute fluffy things we're cute and fluffy. We watched 3 more films. We didn't care about some fandangled unexplainable force. We all hated General Grievousnesses wheezing. Harrison Ford didn't continue his decade long trend of appearing in bad films. We all wanted Padme to slap Hannakin. We all got a light sabre for christmas. We all thought the clumsy, jokey characters were clumsy and jokey. But that's not why this film is bad. It's the final fight scene of the final Star Wars film. Good vs Evil, we've watched 6 films just to see how one of our favourite film baddies turns from a whimsical, indecisive, unemotional freak into an all powerful, unforgiving yet emotional freak. And what do we get? Handbags at dawn....... "You're evil" "No! You're evil!" "Well you're eviler!" "Well you're evilererer!!!" We then realise that all along we actually know all the story and that we're watching a pointless cash-in. Still our light sabers and all that merchandise was pretty cool huh? Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful
9
KrisBNov 12, 2005
I have to hand it to all of you people. You say you've been let down by Lucas time and time again, yet you still give him money to see his movies. If what you're saying is true, you really don't stand for your beliefs. The I have to hand it to all of you people. You say you've been let down by Lucas time and time again, yet you still give him money to see his movies. If what you're saying is true, you really don't stand for your beliefs. The bottom line is: if you weren't a Starwars fan going into Episode III, you really didn't have any business being there in the first place. If you're like me, grew up with the films, and actually hold some things sacred, this movie gave you everything you wanted to see and more. If you went into this movie expecting good acting......well i just don't know what to tell you. To be honest, this movie could have been a lot worse and I still would have enjoyed it. After all, I'm a StarWars fan. However, it wasn't. It was a rich story changing pace as it went and considering it was the end of a 6 episode trilogy, I'd say it wrapped everything up nicely. If you've been waiting since your childhood to see the Emperor fight Yoda, the birth of Luke Skywalker, and the first breath of Darth Vader, you've come to the right place. If you're looking to bash George Lucas which is what some people set out to do long ago, save your money and just say what you said about the last two. No one's listening anyway. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MyNameNov 13, 2005
A waste of 3 very long hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaxsterSep 19, 2010
This movie is my favourite in the prequel trilogy. It reaches the emotional level the others fail to get near and the added dark 12 Rating element is exactly what was needed. Every base is covered to lead into Episode 4 and this is sure toThis movie is my favourite in the prequel trilogy. It reaches the emotional level the others fail to get near and the added dark 12 Rating element is exactly what was needed. Every base is covered to lead into Episode 4 and this is sure to give satisfaction to Star Wars fanatics. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
libnoJan 10, 2011
Even with the cheesy lines it still makes it as one of the best movies ever.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 28, 2011
What's wrong haters. Angry that Darth Vader was shown to be a tragic character all along instead of a typical one-dimensional bad guy? Sometimes I think you haters aren't even human to understand the point of the prequels. Oh well, hatersWhat's wrong haters. Angry that Darth Vader was shown to be a tragic character all along instead of a typical one-dimensional bad guy? Sometimes I think you haters aren't even human to understand the point of the prequels. Oh well, haters will be haters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JudddyOct 4, 2010
A well made and visually impressive finish to one of the greatest sagas of all time. 'Revenge of the Sith' finishes off the story perfectly and blends into the original trilogy quite well. There are plenty of thrills in this movie and theA well made and visually impressive finish to one of the greatest sagas of all time. 'Revenge of the Sith' finishes off the story perfectly and blends into the original trilogy quite well. There are plenty of thrills in this movie and the birth of Darth Vader is explored thoroughly and precisely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
the best of the prequels
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
2
asylumspadezNov 21, 2011
While it has seen some improvement, Episode 3 isnt all that better then the previous film. The acting still sucks, The story is a little better this time around but not by much, and it ended rather anti-climactic.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
saamundvgNov 1, 2010
The Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is tooThe Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,V & VI at any time 2) The storyline is tailored together by a George Lucas who clearly care more about the visual effects than basic dialogues or monologues - they are in fact horrible at times. 3) Enough is said about Hayden Christensen as Anakin Skywalker - but once more I have to say that that may one of the biggest casting-failures ever. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
TheOnlineGamerOct 28, 2013
Anakin Skywalker One of the greatest characters ever made!

This entire trilogy culminates in the EPIC finale which ties all loose ends and gives a satisfying conclusion to Darth Vader's character arc. Everything from the outstanding
Anakin Skywalker One of the greatest characters ever made!

This entire trilogy culminates in the EPIC finale which ties all loose ends and gives a satisfying conclusion to Darth Vader's character arc. Everything from the outstanding themes, story, amazing visuals and majestic soundtrack makes this one of my favourite films of all time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HarveyDMar 19, 2012
Finally the movie fans were waiting for. The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones could have easily been left out, or been used to explore other parts of Star Wars. Not the best movie, but not bad.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2016
George Lucas caps off the prequel trilogy with a stunning finale. One brimming with spectacle, excitement, and emotion. Even now in 2016 this is still a phenomenal looking movie. It blows away just about every modern movie in the specialGeorge Lucas caps off the prequel trilogy with a stunning finale. One brimming with spectacle, excitement, and emotion. Even now in 2016 this is still a phenomenal looking movie. It blows away just about every modern movie in the special effects department. The world of Star Wars has never looked more alive.

I've said it once and I'll say it again, George Lucas can craft an action scene like no other. The fights here are probably his best work. They're intense, powerful, and incredible to behold. Whether it's an all out war or a more personal one-on-one duel, Lucas delivers on all fronts. The action is a sight to behold.

So how's that writing? For starters Lucas gives the "romantic" dialog from Attack of the Clones a lot of much needed improvement. There's no cringe worthy dialog shared between Anakin and Padme here (some goofier lines are present, but incredibly rare). Not only that, but the politics so many hated listening too in the previous two movies of the prequel trilogy have once again been mercifully toned down. Without going into too much detail let me just say that everything that needed to be done to tie up the trilogy before moving into A New Hope has been handled masterfully.

This is an emotional, powerful ending that gives more depth to the original Star Wars films in ways I won't dare spoil. On top of all that, the movie is just really darn funny. The chemistry between McGregor (Obi-Wan) and Christensen (Anakin) is great. The relationship between the two characters is expanded upon and they have tons of dialog together that really only two close individuals could have. I leads to quite a few laughs. That's not to say those two are the only sources of humor. Lucas has provided many amusing moments throughout the course of the film. At least until it's time for things to get serious.

Diving a little bit deeper into Christensen's role as Anakin, I can thankfully say that actor has upped his game. Gone is the wooden, awkward performance from Episode II. He gives a respectable performance here and really does the character justice. Part of that is also due to improved writing for the character. The same can be said for the rest of the cast as well.

It's an exciting, emotion, dark, and enchanting close to the prequel trilogy. Lucas pulled out all of the stops to deliver a finale that could please even the most devoted prequel hater. Everything is wrapped up and we get the conclusion we deserve. Only a few minor quibbles here and there keep it from reaching perfection. I was amazed all the way though.

9.9/10
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuApr 30, 2013
After a couple of middling efforts, Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith finally delivers the goods. There's a lot of pay-off in this film, with all the threads tied off to satisfying ends. The actions scenes are plentiful and excitingAfter a couple of middling efforts, Star Wars: Episode III Revenge of the Sith finally delivers the goods. There's a lot of pay-off in this film, with all the threads tied off to satisfying ends. The actions scenes are plentiful and exciting (except the climactic duel lasting a bit longer than it should've), and the drama runs high. Despite one monumental, unforgivable fail ("Noooooooooo"), Revenge of the Sith makes for a great conclusion to the prequel trilogy. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
seiferJan 17, 2011
Yeah, oh yeah! Very good story and link between the films and I must say fabulous actors and actresses! This is one of the greats but I think not my favorite but very high up there!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
J42HmusicDec 9, 2011
'Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith' is certainly the best film in the prequel trilogy, and this time, George Lucas has created a film with plenty of dark ideas and substance. It is a satisfying end to the prequel trilogy, which'Star Wars Episode 3: Revenge of the Sith' is certainly the best film in the prequel trilogy, and this time, George Lucas has created a film with plenty of dark ideas and substance. It is a satisfying end to the prequel trilogy, which connects adequately with Episode 4. The mutiny within the republic is portrayed brilliantly and despite a boring prolonged light-saber battle at the end, (the music for which is excellent), the film is generally very good. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
JohnMcCartneyFeb 16, 2011
I feel somewhat in the minority when I say that this is BY FAR the worst of the new trilogy, but it just plain is. Anakin's turn to the darkside is what makes it the worst. His turn was handled with all the delicacy of a monster truck rally.I feel somewhat in the minority when I say that this is BY FAR the worst of the new trilogy, but it just plain is. Anakin's turn to the darkside is what makes it the worst. His turn was handled with all the delicacy of a monster truck rally. I will split this review up into parts. 1) Anakin turns to the darkside in about the time it takes you to scratch your ass. Nevermind all of the horrible oddly specific speeches given to him by Palpatine throughout the movie. The scene where Anakin stumbles upon Sideous and Mace dueling and decides to side with Sideous is so awfully done. Basically Anakin is forced to rashly decide where his allegiance lies, with the people who have trained him and raised him since the age of 9, or with some creepy looking old dude who basically does the equivalent of luring a little kid into their van with the false promise of giving them candy. There is really no drama, intense thought or reasoning, or even any visible struggle in Anakin's decision. Then after its all over its like "well I guess I'll just do whatever you ask now". Really? Thats how he turns? He acts like a little **** the whole movie because his elder's don't think he is mature enough. More like teen angst than "turning to the darkside". 2) The dialogue is SO poor and pathetic that even Republicans were like "well we probably shouldn't exploit that one". I'm pretty sure a 7 year old with down syndrome could write better dialogue. Each line delivered with the stiffness of morning wood. I can only imagine the actors doing a table read of the script "Uh George.... should we REALLY say that? Like really?" 3) The characters are so flat and boring. Grevious? C'mon just call him generic bad guy with sinister voice. All of the Jedi Knights are clearly retarded for not seeing anything wrong with Anakin or Palpatine. Are they not supposed to be the most mindful creatures in the galaxy? Can they not move **** with their minds? Apparently they can't see anything thats happening right in front of them. Padme is pretty much rendered to random sobbing and crying. 4) The end where Vader screams NOOOOOOOO... self explanatory. Theres a whole bunch more, but this is clearly the worst of the new three. At least Phantom Menace had Liam Neeson, and Clones had a cool battle/war sequence. But pretty much every aspect of this movie is garbage I can't imagine anyone, from the director, to the actors, all the way down to the guy who sets up the sandwich spreads in between takes, had their heart in it at all. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
4
flamed_steakFeb 22, 2011
Good god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable toGood god I wish I could enjoy this with all the rapture that the users do here. I can't even watch it anymore so terrible is the dissapointment of what could have been, as opposed to what we recieved. CG is a toy that Lucas was unable to handle and with no-one to reign him in he went at it with so much reckless abandon that all three movies have all the charm of a computer game intro. This however is the most infuriating of the 3, Anakins turn to the darkside was the most hamfisted fall of a charachter that has ever been devoted to film. "What have I done?" is a repentent statement, not one that immediately proceeds a lifelong devotion to evil. The worst of it though is that Anakin still remains a petulant whiny teen that no-one likes, not even the audience, so when Vader appears on screen it's not as a all encompassing bad-ass but as a **** weepy pinhead in a black suit. Noooooooo indeed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BrowniePointsJan 3, 2012
There is not one moment that I dislike in this film. Although Natalie Portman can be a bit annoying at times, the other actors make up for it. The fight scenes are amazing, and the cg is stunning. But the storyline of the corruption of theThere is not one moment that I dislike in this film. Although Natalie Portman can be a bit annoying at times, the other actors make up for it. The fight scenes are amazing, and the cg is stunning. But the storyline of the corruption of the republic is what is truely amazing. It's great to see everything that was planned from the 2 prequels fall into place for Darth Sidius. And how there are hints for what is yet to come. This film is absolutely amazing, and it truly shows the maturity of star wars from good side - bad side to no one really being a hero Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oxward321May 10, 2011
GREATEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!

Sith, oh man, Sith. What can be said about Sith besides BRILLIANT! I left the theater speechless. I was moved. I was blown away. Not only was it arguably the best film, it made all the others better as well.
GREATEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!

Sith, oh man, Sith. What can be said about Sith besides BRILLIANT! I left the theater speechless. I was moved. I was blown away. Not only was it arguably the best film, it made all the others better as well.

Revenge of the Sith: The most emotionally powerful, dramatic and visually stunning. In my opinion, best acted, written and directed of the Saga. I love every moment. The first 25min. is such a rush. R2-D2 rocked, the three way fight with Dooku, Star Wars at it's finest. Grievous is just awesome! 9 times , I've seen this film, the most I've ever seen one film at the movies, 9 times my heart shot up my throat hearing that painful cry when Anakin realizes he lost everything he loved, by his own hand at that. That cry sent a shiver up my spine every single time I heard it. Order 66. The Anakin/Obi-Wan duel, exciting, heart wrenching. This film is, for lack of a better word, BRILLIANT! It was everything I could have hoped for in a Star Wars movie, hell any movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
HalfwelshmanOct 10, 2011
Unlike The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones, which both have a damp squib of an opening sequence, Revenge of the Sith glues you to the screen right from the off, with a jaw-dropping scope of a huge battle raging in space above theUnlike The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones, which both have a damp squib of an opening sequence, Revenge of the Sith glues you to the screen right from the off, with a jaw-dropping scope of a huge battle raging in space above the glittering planet Coruscant. There are plenty of other moments that will etch themselves into your brain, from the fan-boy-pleasing (if a little brief) trip to the Wookie homeworld of Kashyyyk, to the beautifully executed, yet heartbreaking "Order 66" sequence, and of course the climactic lightsabre battle between Anakin and Obi-Wan on the volcanic planet Mustafar. George Lucas still can't do dialogue, and forces his poor actors to utter some of the most unintentionally hilarious lines in movie history (I'd have to say Obi-Wan's "younglings" line is the most offensive). The actors do their best with the material they have been given, but there is only so much verbal hamminess one can take. Hayden Christiansen is still awful, and Natalie Portman isn't much better. At least Ewan MacGregor attempts to channel a bit of Alec Guinness into his performance, but still has the tendency to fall back on generic "camp" when the script lets him down. The only actor who really impresses is the always excellent Ian McDiarmid, who takes his portrayal of Emperor Palpatine to Shakespearean villain extremes, and is an absolute joy to watch. The main thing that frustrates me about Revenge of the Sith, and about the Star Wars prequels in general though, is not that they aren't as good as the original trilogy. What really annoys me is the extent to which Lucas involved himself. I understand that Star Wars is his baby, and he'll never quite be able to let it go out into the real world without holding its hand. The thing is, Lucas isn't a great director. He doesn't have the charisma or the technical brilliance to be one. He's an ideas man. He really should have done what he did with Empire and Jedi - jotted down the story and left the front-of-house stuff to a more accomplished filmmaker. While i can still get some sort of enjoyment out of all the Star Wars prequels (even the very-nearly awful Attack of the Clones), I'm left annoyed that they could be so much better if Lucas had taken a step back from his baby and hired a script writer and a director. But when all's said and done, it may not be in the same league as any of the original trilogy, but Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequels by quite a margin, and provides just what you want from a Star Wars film - fantastic entertainment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AtTheMoviesJun 17, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, a very good movie. A huge improvement over Attack of the Clones. This movie succeeds visually, as have all Star Wars, but this one also succeeds dramatically. Hayden Christensen was still bad, but Natalie Portman began to shine. Although having a very short appearance, Christopher Lee stole the show, with his villainous Count Dooku. Ian McDiarmind is graceful as Palpatine, showing how truly evil that character is. The writing marked an improvement over Attack, as there were less romantic scenes. You even started to feel bad for the Jedi, something unheard of in Attack. Portman makes Padme a tragic character, something very crucial to the film. The constant allegory to events such as Hitler's rise to power mirroring Palpatine's was unexpected, but great. And of course, the final battle on Mustafar was magnificent. Light saber battling has never looked so very real. Overall, a good film that marks an improvement over the past 3 installments. Revenge of the Sith is for all those who want to see a good movie, not just Star Wars fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeFeb 6, 2012
Although Revenge of the Sith is the best of the Star Wars prequels, it's story is still muddled, the acting is either overdone or wooden, the characters were lacking, and the special effects were over used to make up for the lack ofAlthough Revenge of the Sith is the best of the Star Wars prequels, it's story is still muddled, the acting is either overdone or wooden, the characters were lacking, and the special effects were over used to make up for the lack of everything else. These movies had so much more potential but they are what they are - mediocre but watchable. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews