User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1323 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NonApologeticAmerican
    May 20, 2005
    9
    [***SPOILERS***] When I first met Star Wars in 1977 at the age of 11, I was mesmerized. Yesterday, opening day, seated beside me on each side were my 9 and 12-year-old sons; each fans in their own right. I have to say, what a strange, wonderful, satisfying trip it has been. Has it really been 28 years? I choked back the tears as Anakin kneeled before the Emperor, but I let them flow as [***SPOILERS***] When I first met Star Wars in 1977 at the age of 11, I was mesmerized. Yesterday, opening day, seated beside me on each side were my 9 and 12-year-old sons; each fans in their own right. I have to say, what a strange, wonderful, satisfying trip it has been. Has it really been 28 years? I choked back the tears as Anakin kneeled before the Emperor, but I let them flow as the innocent, trusting younglings pleaded Anakin for help, not realizing he was about to kill them all. I felt Anakin needing, wanting, so much to be loved, and accepted, as many young men that grew up without a father. The Emperor was that father, though evil and he was able to give Anakin what he needed...unconditional acceptance; an acceptance of who Anakin was and what he wanted to be...someone who is all-powerful. We find that Anakin was conceived by his virgin mother immaculately, for one purpose, and that was to serve the dark side of the Force. The prophecy that Anakin would bring balance to the Force was misread, or at least a prophecy that will not come true for another generation depending on your point-of-view. We find that the anger and yearning in Anakin Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    Even with the cheesy lines it still makes it as one of the best movies ever.
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Utapau is rocky and barren, like Tatooine and Geonosis, but the sinkholes make it distinguishable from the other planets that are of arid climate. Mustafar is one of the most unique planets in the saga, being a volcanic hotbed of fire, not only setting the stage of the final battle, but representing the psychological state of one of the main characters. The opening sequence is amazing; I felt like I was being whisked through a massive space battle-this was an amazing feeling. The additional CGI action sequences also look very good. Complimenting these battles are 5 lightsaber duels-the most in an individual Star Wars episode. Each features its own intriguing and interesting aspects, but, of course, the most iconic is the duel between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker/Darth Vader on Mustafar. The duel's combatants are both lightning fast-in fact, the duelists are the fastest in lightsaber use than any other duel in the saga-not only that, but the duel takes place in the most hazardous environment, which increases the tension. The emotional impact of the duel cannot be overstated; best friends/brothers fighting each other is undeniably a tragedy. Speaking of which, Anakin is the tragic/fallen hero in the film, while Palpatine is a devious mastermind who acts as a twisted father figure to Anakin. Obi-Wan, meanwhile, completes his transition from a High Jedi General-a commander in the Grand Army of the Republic, and a Jedi Master-to a hermit on Tatooine. Finally, the children of Anakin and Padmé are born, symbolizing the birth of hope. George Lucas' writing is still very good; the scene where Palpatine declares himself Galactic Emperor is one of the most chilling moments ever in a non-horror movie. The interactions between characters are well-done, and the dialogue makes sense, in those scenes. Episode III is the most tragic film of the saga-that is undeniable. The feeling of impending doom during the first half of the film is nearly palpable. When the second half begins, so does all the tragedy. I really felt for the 3 main characters as their worlds came undone around them, especially Anakin-during the entire prequel trilogy, he endures so much hardship and loss; he, in my opinion, is one of the most tragic protagonists in film history. Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith is an immensely satisfying conclusion to the prequel trilogy-the first half of the Star Wars saga-and perfectly sets up the original trilogy. What more could a Star Wars fan ask for? Expand
  4. CoryC.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    The morons whom talk about 'plot inconsistancies' obviously didn't pay very much attention to the story... Everything was tied together very cleverly.
  5. Jonathan
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    this movie was the best out of the new trilogy, but i think the only major flaw was how padme dies after giving birth and in episode 6 leia says she remembers her mom as a sad but beautiful woman. WTF is that?? great job george lucas, its your own story and you add obvious holes in it. other than that i think it was cool how it ties in to episodes 4-6.
  6. Dave
    May 17, 2005
    10
    Star Wars just got good again, and it's about time. Never before has a movie in this series moved me in such an emotional way...to the brink of tears. Sheer brilliance.
  7. MatthewA.
    May 19, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the three prequels by far I might even go as far as to say its second only to Empire,. The battle scenes are second to none. Very good movie.
  8. EnigmaPublius
    May 19, 2005
    9
    ROTS is a nearly perfect Star Wars movie. It certainly has as much humanity as any of the originals. And when you add to that the amazing visual beauty of this film, one can only conclude that this is an instant classic.
  9. StephenW.
    May 19, 2005
    9
    Well I can tell you need to see this movie on the big screen for sure, it's really worth it. Don't wait for it to come on DVD, because it will never do it justice. As for the film, it's dark, imagine Saving Private Ryan in sci-fi space and thats about the right feel for it. So go see it and make your own judgement. And honestly people who rate this film under 5 are either Well I can tell you need to see this movie on the big screen for sure, it's really worth it. Don't wait for it to come on DVD, because it will never do it justice. As for the film, it's dark, imagine Saving Private Ryan in sci-fi space and thats about the right feel for it. So go see it and make your own judgement. And honestly people who rate this film under 5 are either having a bad day or have another agenda. Expand
  10. PonR.
    May 20, 2005
    8
    Did the acting bug me? Not really. Was the dialogue heavy-handed? A bit, but not enough to be a distraction. So what got me down? The story, and that's really the point. As rushed as it might've been, the film did its job and told the story of Anakin's fall. People died. In droves. Hence, I couldn't really enjoy this because the whole plot revolved around cold, Did the acting bug me? Not really. Was the dialogue heavy-handed? A bit, but not enough to be a distraction. So what got me down? The story, and that's really the point. As rushed as it might've been, the film did its job and told the story of Anakin's fall. People died. In droves. Hence, I couldn't really enjoy this because the whole plot revolved around cold, relentless destruction. But I give credit where credit is due and to that end this film was executed well enough to fulfill its intended purpose so as to complete the circle, etc. So if Lucas wanted to leave an impression...he has. Expand
  11. JoyS.
    May 20, 2005
    9
    I gave this movie a 9 because, well, there were a few clunky bits of dialogue and acting between Hayden Christensen and Natalie Portman. But overall I was enthralled by this film, and came away from it both saddened that it was finally over and yet satisfied that "the circle is now complete." (BTW, I HATED Episodes I & II.) Don't let the snarky comments keep you away -- I'm a I gave this movie a 9 because, well, there were a few clunky bits of dialogue and acting between Hayden Christensen and Natalie Portman. But overall I was enthralled by this film, and came away from it both saddened that it was finally over and yet satisfied that "the circle is now complete." (BTW, I HATED Episodes I & II.) Don't let the snarky comments keep you away -- I'm a diehard fan from way back (used to run a national fan club and everything), and I loved ROTS! Expand
  12. RobW.
    May 20, 2005
    9
    Awesome finish to an incredible saga (episode I and II notwithstanding). I will be going back to see it again....and probably again. Visually stunning.
  13. JosephA.
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Completely delivered everything I'd hoped for. What is truly wonderful about EpIII, to me, is how beautifully it reaches out, pulls all 6 of these wonderful movies together, and actually adds to all of them. Thank you George Lucas for giving us this wonderful 6 part masterpiece of awesome adventure!!
  14. ElenaR.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    The movie's great, the casting is great, it's all great.
  15. AlexG.
    Apr 15, 2008
    8
    Best one ever...what i've been waiting to find out for years now how he went to the darkside, brilliant, superb, electryfying.
  16. TonyM.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Ok, this movie was one of the greatest movies I've seen. Now i understand that episodes I and II weren't up to snuff, to put it softly, but, to say that the second trilogy had little or no plot or character development, is to discredit yourself of all intelligence. Anakin begins in epsiode one as a boy, wanting to do good. As he gets older, he becomes disillusioned with how the Ok, this movie was one of the greatest movies I've seen. Now i understand that episodes I and II weren't up to snuff, to put it softly, but, to say that the second trilogy had little or no plot or character development, is to discredit yourself of all intelligence. Anakin begins in epsiode one as a boy, wanting to do good. As he gets older, he becomes disillusioned with how the jedi council is treating him; he thinks he deserves more, and instead of keeping him from turing, they only make it worse. There is no need for breaking ANakin, because he is already broken. He wants his love to survive, but he knows she might not. Since he trusts Palpatine, he belives in his words, that there may be a way to save her. He's not bad, his misguided, and to say that is not true plot or character development, is just crazy! Expand
  17. OliverL.
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    This is the best film of the year and the best Star Wars film yet, even surpassing The Empire Strikes Back.
  18. Bobthebuilderthatscarecrowguy
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Insanly good movie. Good acting and graphics all around. Should buy it even if you're not a star wars fan.
  19. MorganF
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Pure brilliance. Leaves you in awe.
  20. GregC.
    Dec 24, 2009
    8
    I have seen all the Star Wars pictures(hey, I'm from North America, folks) even though I'm not particularly a Star Wars buff. Of all the Star Wars pictures, this is the only one with any serious emotional resonance for me. In the all the early Star Wars pictures, George Lucas was trying to recapture the old Flash Gordon serials in high tech terms with an overlay of New Age I have seen all the Star Wars pictures(hey, I'm from North America, folks) even though I'm not particularly a Star Wars buff. Of all the Star Wars pictures, this is the only one with any serious emotional resonance for me. In the all the early Star Wars pictures, George Lucas was trying to recapture the old Flash Gordon serials in high tech terms with an overlay of New Age mysticism. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. This is the only movie, to be blunt, where I think George Lucas is doing some serious thinking. He's contemplating why someone might turn to (if one might use an old-fashioned term here) evil. This gives the whole thing a gravitas that the rest of the series simply doesn't have. While I suppose this film gives the viewer (to use a degraded bit of modern-day post-modern jargon) closure in respect to the character of Darth Vader, and the film ties up various plot and thematic odds and ends, it cuts much deeper. George, who has clearly read Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray", depicts how Anakin Skywalker's outer deformity grows out of his inner deformity. And George's perceptions here are on a higher level than the rest of the films. He appreciates that Evil (if, again, I may use the term) is often a strange combination of bad intentions and good intentions. That is a very 21st century perception, miles away from the original "Star Wars." And, surprisingly, there is even some wit here. At one point, a character arrives at a planet, proclaiming,'I have come in regards to the War." The alien replies,"There is no War here. Perhaps you brought one with you?" Ho, ho! Leave aside the whole question of highbrow and lowbrow. This is a great shaft of wit, period. If George had only written this one line, he'd deserve to live forever. This is, figuratively and literally, the darkest Star Wars picture and quite rightly so. The sadness and the sense of dark inevitability are oddly haunting in their way here. It is said that Japanese popular culture is obsessed with the Star Wars mythos. This is the film, in my opinion, that justifies the fascinationg. If I had to have only one Star Wars picture, this would be it. Greg Cameron, Surrey, B.C., Canada. Expand
  21. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    This movie is my favourite in the prequel trilogy. It reaches the emotional level the others fail to get near and the added dark 12 Rating element is exactly what was needed. Every base is covered to lead into Episode 4 and this is sure to give satisfaction to Star Wars fanatics.
  22. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    The Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,VThe Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,V & VI at any time 2) The storyline is tailored together by a George Lucas who clearly care more about the visual effects than basic dialogues or monologues - they are in fact horrible at times. 3) Enough is said about Hayden Christensen as Anakin Skywalker - but once more I have to say that that may one of the biggest casting-failures ever. Expand
  23. Aug 15, 2011
    7
    I watched all Star Wars movies. I like SF movie. I like Yoda. Yoda is very strong. I want to be a je dai.
    This movie is great and strong. æ
  24. RobertG.
    May 18, 2005
    10
    I can sum the movie up like this - it's a very good (to great) edition to the story-line, but don't expect a wild joy ride or to feel elation at the end. It
  25. Dean
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Unbelievably exciting. its a very thrilling film.
  26. EdsilP.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Very Vivid Special Effects and Sounds is Great! Congrats!
  27. marshallm
    Oct 20, 2005
    7
    Eh, i've seen better. it was very entertaining but and the acting from hayden christansen was terrible, he should be nominated for a razzie, but the other actors did a fine job,christansen was the wrong guy to play anakin... i think this was better then the second one, but not as good as the phantom menace, and none of the prequals will ever match up with the originals.
  28. matta.
    Oct 20, 2005
    7
    Without a doubt the best in new trilogy (which isn't saying much) and probably better than Return of the Jedi (despite the duel between Luke and Darth being sweet, the ewoks are dreadful). The Dialogue is still terrible but finally some decent acting, the effects look better, and the story is obviously better.
  29. T.S.
    Sep 25, 2005
    10
    How could anybody think that was a bad movie?
  30. Jimbo
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    Has the same issues as the other prequels: bad dialogue, bad acting, bad story. It has a few memorable moments and a satisfying ending, but it still doesn't come close to the original trilogy.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 88
    Only now can we truly step back and admire the full tapestry that it has taken George Lucas and his ILM wizards nearly three decades to weave.
  2. The final episode of George Lucas' cinematic epic "Star Wars" ends the six-movie series on such a high note that one feels like yelling out, "Rewind!" Yes, rewind through more than 13 hours of bravery, treachery, new worlds, odd creatures and human frailty.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Emerges as the best in the overall series since "The Empire Strikes Back."