User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1323 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NonApologeticAmerican
    May 20, 2005
    9
    [***SPOILERS***] When I first met Star Wars in 1977 at the age of 11, I was mesmerized. Yesterday, opening day, seated beside me on each side were my 9 and 12-year-old sons; each fans in their own right. I have to say, what a strange, wonderful, satisfying trip it has been. Has it really been 28 years? I choked back the tears as Anakin kneeled before the Emperor, but I let them flow as [***SPOILERS***] When I first met Star Wars in 1977 at the age of 11, I was mesmerized. Yesterday, opening day, seated beside me on each side were my 9 and 12-year-old sons; each fans in their own right. I have to say, what a strange, wonderful, satisfying trip it has been. Has it really been 28 years? I choked back the tears as Anakin kneeled before the Emperor, but I let them flow as the innocent, trusting younglings pleaded Anakin for help, not realizing he was about to kill them all. I felt Anakin needing, wanting, so much to be loved, and accepted, as many young men that grew up without a father. The Emperor was that father, though evil and he was able to give Anakin what he needed...unconditional acceptance; an acceptance of who Anakin was and what he wanted to be...someone who is all-powerful. We find that Anakin was conceived by his virgin mother immaculately, for one purpose, and that was to serve the dark side of the Force. The prophecy that Anakin would bring balance to the Force was misread, or at least a prophecy that will not come true for another generation depending on your point-of-view. We find that the anger and yearning in Anakin Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    Even with the cheesy lines it still makes it as one of the best movies ever.
  3. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Utapau is rocky and barren, like Tatooine and Geonosis, but the sinkholes make it distinguishable from the other planets that are of arid climate. Mustafar is one of the most unique planets in the saga, being a volcanic hotbed of fire, not only setting the stage of the final battle, but representing the psychological state of one of the main characters. The opening sequence is amazing; I felt like I was being whisked through a massive space battle-this was an amazing feeling. The additional CGI action sequences also look very good. Complimenting these battles are 5 lightsaber duels-the most in an individual Star Wars episode. Each features its own intriguing and interesting aspects, but, of course, the most iconic is the duel between Obi-Wan Kenobi and Anakin Skywalker/Darth Vader on Mustafar. The duel's combatants are both lightning fast-in fact, the duelists are the fastest in lightsaber use than any other duel in the saga-not only that, but the duel takes place in the most hazardous environment, which increases the tension. The emotional impact of the duel cannot be overstated; best friends/brothers fighting each other is undeniably a tragedy. Speaking of which, Anakin is the tragic/fallen hero in the film, while Palpatine is a devious mastermind who acts as a twisted father figure to Anakin. Obi-Wan, meanwhile, completes his transition from a High Jedi General-a commander in the Grand Army of the Republic, and a Jedi Master-to a hermit on Tatooine. Finally, the children of Anakin and Padmé are born, symbolizing the birth of hope. George Lucas' writing is still very good; the scene where Palpatine declares himself Galactic Emperor is one of the most chilling moments ever in a non-horror movie. The interactions between characters are well-done, and the dialogue makes sense, in those scenes. Episode III is the most tragic film of the saga-that is undeniable. The feeling of impending doom during the first half of the film is nearly palpable. When the second half begins, so does all the tragedy. I really felt for the 3 main characters as their worlds came undone around them, especially Anakin-during the entire prequel trilogy, he endures so much hardship and loss; he, in my opinion, is one of the most tragic protagonists in film history. Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith is an immensely satisfying conclusion to the prequel trilogy-the first half of the Star Wars saga-and perfectly sets up the original trilogy. What more could a Star Wars fan ask for? Expand
  4. CoryC.
    Jun 2, 2005
    9
    The morons whom talk about 'plot inconsistancies' obviously didn't pay very much attention to the story... Everything was tied together very cleverly.
  5. Jonathan
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    this movie was the best out of the new trilogy, but i think the only major flaw was how padme dies after giving birth and in episode 6 leia says she remembers her mom as a sad but beautiful woman. WTF is that?? great job george lucas, its your own story and you add obvious holes in it. other than that i think it was cool how it ties in to episodes 4-6.
  6. Dave
    May 17, 2005
    10
    Star Wars just got good again, and it's about time. Never before has a movie in this series moved me in such an emotional way...to the brink of tears. Sheer brilliance.
  7. MatthewA.
    May 19, 2005
    10
    Best movie of the three prequels by far I might even go as far as to say its second only to Empire,. The battle scenes are second to none. Very good movie.
  8. EnigmaPublius
    May 19, 2005
    9
    ROTS is a nearly perfect Star Wars movie. It certainly has as much humanity as any of the originals. And when you add to that the amazing visual beauty of this film, one can only conclude that this is an instant classic.
  9. StephenW.
    May 19, 2005
    9
    Well I can tell you need to see this movie on the big screen for sure, it's really worth it. Don't wait for it to come on DVD, because it will never do it justice. As for the film, it's dark, imagine Saving Private Ryan in sci-fi space and thats about the right feel for it. So go see it and make your own judgement. And honestly people who rate this film under 5 are either Well I can tell you need to see this movie on the big screen for sure, it's really worth it. Don't wait for it to come on DVD, because it will never do it justice. As for the film, it's dark, imagine Saving Private Ryan in sci-fi space and thats about the right feel for it. So go see it and make your own judgement. And honestly people who rate this film under 5 are either having a bad day or have another agenda. Expand
  10. PonR.
    May 20, 2005
    8
    Did the acting bug me? Not really. Was the dialogue heavy-handed? A bit, but not enough to be a distraction. So what got me down? The story, and that's really the point. As rushed as it might've been, the film did its job and told the story of Anakin's fall. People died. In droves. Hence, I couldn't really enjoy this because the whole plot revolved around cold, Did the acting bug me? Not really. Was the dialogue heavy-handed? A bit, but not enough to be a distraction. So what got me down? The story, and that's really the point. As rushed as it might've been, the film did its job and told the story of Anakin's fall. People died. In droves. Hence, I couldn't really enjoy this because the whole plot revolved around cold, relentless destruction. But I give credit where credit is due and to that end this film was executed well enough to fulfill its intended purpose so as to complete the circle, etc. So if Lucas wanted to leave an impression...he has. Expand
  11. JoyS.
    May 20, 2005
    9
    I gave this movie a 9 because, well, there were a few clunky bits of dialogue and acting between Hayden Christensen and Natalie Portman. But overall I was enthralled by this film, and came away from it both saddened that it was finally over and yet satisfied that "the circle is now complete." (BTW, I HATED Episodes I & II.) Don't let the snarky comments keep you away -- I'm a I gave this movie a 9 because, well, there were a few clunky bits of dialogue and acting between Hayden Christensen and Natalie Portman. But overall I was enthralled by this film, and came away from it both saddened that it was finally over and yet satisfied that "the circle is now complete." (BTW, I HATED Episodes I & II.) Don't let the snarky comments keep you away -- I'm a diehard fan from way back (used to run a national fan club and everything), and I loved ROTS! Expand
  12. RobW.
    May 20, 2005
    9
    Awesome finish to an incredible saga (episode I and II notwithstanding). I will be going back to see it again....and probably again. Visually stunning.
  13. JosephA.
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Completely delivered everything I'd hoped for. What is truly wonderful about EpIII, to me, is how beautifully it reaches out, pulls all 6 of these wonderful movies together, and actually adds to all of them. Thank you George Lucas for giving us this wonderful 6 part masterpiece of awesome adventure!!
  14. ElenaR.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    The movie's great, the casting is great, it's all great.
  15. AlexG.
    Apr 15, 2008
    8
    Best one ever...what i've been waiting to find out for years now how he went to the darkside, brilliant, superb, electryfying.
  16. TonyM.
    May 30, 2008
    10
    Ok, this movie was one of the greatest movies I've seen. Now i understand that episodes I and II weren't up to snuff, to put it softly, but, to say that the second trilogy had little or no plot or character development, is to discredit yourself of all intelligence. Anakin begins in epsiode one as a boy, wanting to do good. As he gets older, he becomes disillusioned with how the Ok, this movie was one of the greatest movies I've seen. Now i understand that episodes I and II weren't up to snuff, to put it softly, but, to say that the second trilogy had little or no plot or character development, is to discredit yourself of all intelligence. Anakin begins in epsiode one as a boy, wanting to do good. As he gets older, he becomes disillusioned with how the jedi council is treating him; he thinks he deserves more, and instead of keeping him from turing, they only make it worse. There is no need for breaking ANakin, because he is already broken. He wants his love to survive, but he knows she might not. Since he trusts Palpatine, he belives in his words, that there may be a way to save her. He's not bad, his misguided, and to say that is not true plot or character development, is just crazy! Expand
  17. OliverL.
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    This is the best film of the year and the best Star Wars film yet, even surpassing The Empire Strikes Back.
  18. Bobthebuilderthatscarecrowguy
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Insanly good movie. Good acting and graphics all around. Should buy it even if you're not a star wars fan.
  19. MorganF
    Jul 16, 2008
    10
    Pure brilliance. Leaves you in awe.
  20. GregC.
    Dec 24, 2009
    8
    I have seen all the Star Wars pictures(hey, I'm from North America, folks) even though I'm not particularly a Star Wars buff. Of all the Star Wars pictures, this is the only one with any serious emotional resonance for me. In the all the early Star Wars pictures, George Lucas was trying to recapture the old Flash Gordon serials in high tech terms with an overlay of New Age I have seen all the Star Wars pictures(hey, I'm from North America, folks) even though I'm not particularly a Star Wars buff. Of all the Star Wars pictures, this is the only one with any serious emotional resonance for me. In the all the early Star Wars pictures, George Lucas was trying to recapture the old Flash Gordon serials in high tech terms with an overlay of New Age mysticism. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't. This is the only movie, to be blunt, where I think George Lucas is doing some serious thinking. He's contemplating why someone might turn to (if one might use an old-fashioned term here) evil. This gives the whole thing a gravitas that the rest of the series simply doesn't have. While I suppose this film gives the viewer (to use a degraded bit of modern-day post-modern jargon) closure in respect to the character of Darth Vader, and the film ties up various plot and thematic odds and ends, it cuts much deeper. George, who has clearly read Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray", depicts how Anakin Skywalker's outer deformity grows out of his inner deformity. And George's perceptions here are on a higher level than the rest of the films. He appreciates that Evil (if, again, I may use the term) is often a strange combination of bad intentions and good intentions. That is a very 21st century perception, miles away from the original "Star Wars." And, surprisingly, there is even some wit here. At one point, a character arrives at a planet, proclaiming,'I have come in regards to the War." The alien replies,"There is no War here. Perhaps you brought one with you?" Ho, ho! Leave aside the whole question of highbrow and lowbrow. This is a great shaft of wit, period. If George had only written this one line, he'd deserve to live forever. This is, figuratively and literally, the darkest Star Wars picture and quite rightly so. The sadness and the sense of dark inevitability are oddly haunting in their way here. It is said that Japanese popular culture is obsessed with the Star Wars mythos. This is the film, in my opinion, that justifies the fascinationg. If I had to have only one Star Wars picture, this would be it. Greg Cameron, Surrey, B.C., Canada. Expand
  21. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    This movie is my favourite in the prequel trilogy. It reaches the emotional level the others fail to get near and the added dark 12 Rating element is exactly what was needed. Every base is covered to lead into Episode 4 and this is sure to give satisfaction to Star Wars fanatics.
  22. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    The Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,VThe Revenge of The Sith is definitely the best of the "new episodes", but the third episode also contains the same comprehensive failure of making a Star Wars movie for Star Wars fans...Three short reasons: 1) The storyline is too comprehensive for one movie, or at least, things are moving too fast. You don't feel that you're part of the same amazing and well told story as you have in IV,V & VI at any time 2) The storyline is tailored together by a George Lucas who clearly care more about the visual effects than basic dialogues or monologues - they are in fact horrible at times. 3) Enough is said about Hayden Christensen as Anakin Skywalker - but once more I have to say that that may one of the biggest casting-failures ever. Expand
  23. Aug 15, 2011
    7
    I watched all Star Wars movies. I like SF movie. I like Yoda. Yoda is very strong. I want to be a je dai.
    This movie is great and strong. æ
  24. RobertG.
    May 18, 2005
    10
    I can sum the movie up like this - it's a very good (to great) edition to the story-line, but don't expect a wild joy ride or to feel elation at the end. It
  25. Dean
    May 10, 2005
    10
    Unbelievably exciting. its a very thrilling film.
  26. EdsilP.
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Very Vivid Special Effects and Sounds is Great! Congrats!
  27. marshallm
    Oct 20, 2005
    7
    Eh, i've seen better. it was very entertaining but and the acting from hayden christansen was terrible, he should be nominated for a razzie, but the other actors did a fine job,christansen was the wrong guy to play anakin... i think this was better then the second one, but not as good as the phantom menace, and none of the prequals will ever match up with the originals.
  28. matta.
    Oct 20, 2005
    7
    Without a doubt the best in new trilogy (which isn't saying much) and probably better than Return of the Jedi (despite the duel between Luke and Darth being sweet, the ewoks are dreadful). The Dialogue is still terrible but finally some decent acting, the effects look better, and the story is obviously better.
  29. T.S.
    Sep 25, 2005
    10
    How could anybody think that was a bad movie?
  30. Jimbo
    Aug 16, 2008
    7
    Has the same issues as the other prequels: bad dialogue, bad acting, bad story. It has a few memorable moments and a satisfying ending, but it still doesn't come close to the original trilogy.
  31. RonR.
    Nov 1, 2005
    10
    Of the new Trilogy AND the movie to tie all 6 together, great job Lucas, thanks for waiting for the technology on these three, too bad people forget they are a Family Fantasy Series based around the classic Good vs. Evil concept. I'm not sure what these morons were expecting, but thanks for giving ME more incredible Star Wars content.
  32. EricO.
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Definately the best movie of the year.
  33. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall, a very good movie. A huge improvement over Attack of the Clones. This movie succeeds visually, as have all Star Wars, but this one also succeeds dramatically. Hayden Christensen was still bad, but Natalie Portman began to shine. Although having a very short appearance, Christopher Lee stole the show, with his villainous Count Dooku. Ian McDiarmind is graceful as Palpatine, showing how truly evil that character is. The writing marked an improvement over Attack, as there were less romantic scenes. You even started to feel bad for the Jedi, something unheard of in Attack. Portman makes Padme a tragic character, something very crucial to the film. The constant allegory to events such as Hitler's rise to power mirroring Palpatine's was unexpected, but great. And of course, the final battle on Mustafar was magnificent. Light saber battling has never looked so very real. Overall, a good film that marks an improvement over the past 3 installments. Revenge of the Sith is for all those who want to see a good movie, not just Star Wars fans. Expand
  34. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequel trilogy. At least, Lucas fulfills his promise of making a film that 'replicates' the spark of the original trilogy. Nevertheless, something is always missing. The problem lies with Lucas himself. He is more of a great businessman / producer than a director. He pays more attention to his CGI creations than his actors. That's why 'younger'Revenge of the Sith is the best of the prequel trilogy. At least, Lucas fulfills his promise of making a film that 'replicates' the spark of the original trilogy. Nevertheless, something is always missing. The problem lies with Lucas himself. He is more of a great businessman / producer than a director. He pays more attention to his CGI creations than his actors. That's why 'younger' directors such as James Cameron and Peter Jackson have exceeded him at this point. They always bring the 'best' from their actors, making their blockbusters more emotionally resonant. AVATAR has a very simple storyline for instance, but it works because of its actors (and golly gee, they're not even A listers). Revenge of the Sith works in some way because of the nostalgia factor. But it never, ever reach the same heights achieved by the original three. Game over man! Game over!! Expand
  35. Jan 4, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was worth a watch, that is the only good thing I'll say about it. Even then, only watch it when it's on T.V. and you have nothing better to do. Masturbation is a better use of your time.

    The most disappointing aspect of the 3 prequels is the lack of artistic integrity. The original 3 were works of imagination, initiative, clever writing, and wonderful story telling with a hint of special effects. The 3 new Star Wars movies are only special effects mixed with bad acting and simple story telling. There were no surprise twists or turns in the story line, it was utterly predictable and uninteresting. Anakin (Hayden Christensen) seemed to be a completely week minded, morally confused, hormonal teen-age girl. Coupled with Haydens terrible acting, it was almost embarrassing to watch. I feel like he got an acting certificate from a community college, or more accurate, Lucas pulled the first semi-decent looking man off the street with no previous acting experience and threw him in as the man who turned into Darth Vader. The Jedi were laughably powerful in some aspects and the actual power of the force was laughably feeble. Light saber duels were overly complicated and literally just a dance with pretty lights. So many questions that this movie doesn't answer and so many questions it raises. Why can Yoda move amazingly dextrous when fighting, yet so crotchety anywhere else? Why, with a council of 10 or so JEDI MASTERS not see this coming when I, a simple watcher of events, knew what was coming, even had I not watched the first films? Why, devoting his ENTIRE life to the Jedi order, did Anakin decide to turn against it with little more than 2 conversations with the emperor? Why was master Windu able to defeat Darth Citius(?) so easily yet Yoda, seemingly the Jedi leader, fall so easily to him? Why would you move to a lava filled, dangerous mining facility with magma splashing around to sword fight? Why is it that NOT ONE person said 'Hey, killing all the Jedi seems wrong.'? Why would the Jedi council put Anakin in charge of watching the emperor if he was obviously close and friendly with him, knowing that he was wildly impressionable? These are just a few of the questions that either needed to not be asked or could have been answered with some basic story telling. The Emperor has been working for YEARS building his power, planning out his take over, conserving his power, yet the plan was laughably feeble and relied far too heavily on events that were, in all realistically, EXTREMELY unlikely to happen. So many holes in the plot and unrealistic events. Bottom line, this movie seemed to be written by 14 year old boys saying "You know what would be cool? um... um... um... if they had a sword fight on lava! Or if um... all the clones were actually really mean instead of the valiant army of level headed clones!" The acting... oh the acting. Natalie Portman, with her disturbing attempt at loving and crying. Hayden was overly dramatic and switched from a dark, twisted lord to a lovey dovey husband and future father, both grossly different emotions for one character. There should have been come carry over but it was a terrible switch in roles. The only decent actor Ewan McGregor. Even Samuel L. Jacksons acting seemed forced. Its as if they did one take for every scene and said "Good enough!" and left it at that.

    All in all, doesn't deserve the title of Star Wars by any means, but its still a watchable moving if all you're expecting is flashy special effects.
    Expand
  36. May 21, 2012
    8
    Star wars: episode III: revenge of the sith is a great action/sci-fi movie, it's a big improvement on attack of the clones and an even bigger improvement on the phantom menace. Its got epic and exciting action sequences, only a bit of boring politics, a great and thought out well plot, awesome music, almost no jar jar binks, and great special effects. Well done, George Lucas, you've made aStar wars: episode III: revenge of the sith is a great action/sci-fi movie, it's a big improvement on attack of the clones and an even bigger improvement on the phantom menace. Its got epic and exciting action sequences, only a bit of boring politics, a great and thought out well plot, awesome music, almost no jar jar binks, and great special effects. Well done, George Lucas, you've made a good film again (after 28 whole years!) Expand
  37. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Lucas logra con el Episodio III mejorar grandemente el desastre cometido en The Phantom Menace. Tiene esa escencia de las anteriores y es satisfactoria. La verdad es que es digna la mejoria que ha hecho, pero ni siquiera se puede explicar que le paso por la cabeza cuando escribio The Phantom Menace. Revenge of the Sith tiene grandes momentos de accion, un mejor guion y mejor conclusion queLucas logra con el Episodio III mejorar grandemente el desastre cometido en The Phantom Menace. Tiene esa escencia de las anteriores y es satisfactoria. La verdad es que es digna la mejoria que ha hecho, pero ni siquiera se puede explicar que le paso por la cabeza cuando escribio The Phantom Menace. Revenge of the Sith tiene grandes momentos de accion, un mejor guion y mejor conclusion que la anterior y es se puede comparar con la trilogia anterior. Expand
  38. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    The best of the trilogy. The def. of epic. One of the saddest conflicted endings ever that provokes some of the strongest emotion felt in a movie ever.
  39. Jan 1, 2014
    3
    The best of the prequel trilogy undoubtedly but still in the disappointment zone when compared to the original trilogy. It has a good ending though I'll give it that.
  40. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    The best and final chapter of the prequel trilogy. A sequel that is darker than Return of the Jedi. The acting is good, action is great, the cg, the story, and the direction.
  41. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    The very best Episode from the prequels with a lot of revelations and stunning moments.
    An epic conclusion with splendid acting performances of Ewan Mcgregor and Hayden Christensen.
  42. Nov 29, 2013
    3
    This film was garbage, and carries on with the same mistakes made in the first two films. It has awful direction, awful scripting and dialogs, awful CGI- which itself is done to death, and has the inability to set a tone for the film.
  43. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    this is my favorite star wars movie because it shows how a anakin becomes darth vader. also great special effects and 5 different light saber battles. Epic!
  44. Mar 14, 2014
    3
    Oh my god, 3 was sooooooo bad. It was so boring, I could not bring myself to watch all of it. It isn't even bad enough for it's **** to be funny, its just bad and boring.
  45. RevanM.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Seriously, I don't understand all those bad ratings. This film is like the incarnation of the word "epic". The final fight scene is among the best ever created, filled with epic dialogues, awesome music composed by Mr. Williams and a fight with speed, power and energy. That's how a fight is supposed to be. And yet the film has more to offer than just action. It has a very dark Seriously, I don't understand all those bad ratings. This film is like the incarnation of the word "epic". The final fight scene is among the best ever created, filled with epic dialogues, awesome music composed by Mr. Williams and a fight with speed, power and energy. That's how a fight is supposed to be. And yet the film has more to offer than just action. It has a very dark atmosphere and a quite deep story for an action movie. Palpatine's corruption is well written and you even can see the movie as a metaphor to our real life in a few ways. This movie is just one of the best movies ever made, and it's even better than the original Star Wars a new hope. Why? Because it grew up, it's not just about good vs. uberevil, but it's a story of the chosen one, Anakin, who falls to the dark side because of love, and you can see what people are willing to do because of love. Tragic story and awesome movie, hands down. Expand
  46. Sep 24, 2011
    8
    Finally Lucas manages to create the final epic conclusion to his SF saga with a dark morale and splendid acting from Mcgregor with high tech CGI.
  47. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    Episode III is the best of the Star Wars prequel trilogy, which reveals the story behind Anakin Skywalker's transformation into Darth Vader and a couple other surprises.
  48. AndrewB
    Feb 26, 2009
    10
    Episode III is by far the greatest film in the new trilogy, and it stands against the original 3 in epic awesomeness. An incredible conclusion to the greatest saga ever told.
  49. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    Albeit flawed, Revenge of the Sith brings Star Wars to a satisfying close, is able to rectify George Lucas into a good film maker and draw many lost fans back into the universe. Don't expect another Empire, but also don't get into the mindset of it being as bad as the previous. All things considered, Revenge of the Sith is well filmed, well thought out and with a fantastic performance byAlbeit flawed, Revenge of the Sith brings Star Wars to a satisfying close, is able to rectify George Lucas into a good film maker and draw many lost fans back into the universe. Don't expect another Empire, but also don't get into the mindset of it being as bad as the previous. All things considered, Revenge of the Sith is well filmed, well thought out and with a fantastic performance by Ewan McGregor and a substantially improved performance from Hayden Christensen, Revenge is a pretty great film and worthy conclusion. Expand
  50. EddieD.
    Sep 9, 2008
    7
    An improvement. I think that people liked this movie WAAAAYYYY better than 1 and 2 because everyone was expecting crap. And I don't think we got crap.
  51. mikek
    May 27, 2009
    10
    Amazing the best of the prequels ...the darkness that was not seen in attack of the clones showers through in revenge of the sith and the movie gave me more than i was expecting to get plus they killed the worst character to me count dooku who is played by the great christopher lee who i loved in lord of the rings but hated in attack of the clones so his death was a great thing to Amazing the best of the prequels ...the darkness that was not seen in attack of the clones showers through in revenge of the sith and the movie gave me more than i was expecting to get plus they killed the worst character to me count dooku who is played by the great christopher lee who i loved in lord of the rings but hated in attack of the clones so his death was a great thing to me..plus brutle made it better for me....the clone war scenes are just what fans had been waiting for since the 70's when it was briefly talked about. Expand
  52. Oct 21, 2011
    4
    While not as bad as Attack of the Clones, Revenge of the Sith is still dire because of Lucasâ
  53. Aug 16, 2014
    0
    Absolute trash and a disgrace to the fans who made Lucas popular. Poor acting, poor story telling, entirely CGI and some of the worst dialogue I've ever heard in a movie.
  54. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    All of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition of dampening a film with false praise. Revenge of the Sith has some enjoyable scenes for sure, it also contains; a platitude of monotonous scenes, badAll of the positive reviews that I have read keep repeating the same statement, "Its the best of the prequels". This statement may be correct, it still does not count as a positive aspect of the film because, it is almost the definition of dampening a film with false praise. Revenge of the Sith has some enjoyable scenes for sure, it also contains; a platitude of monotonous scenes, bad pacing, piss-poor acting, and some of the worst dialogue of the entire prequel trilogy. It can be so disastrous at times its laughable "NOOOOOO!". For the people who liked the previous films you'll like this, however the only positive aspect of the film that comes to mind is the fact that it finally ends the prequel trilogy. Expand
  55. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    By far the worst Star Wars film. The dialogue is simply god awful and the acting is even worst. It's simply hilariously bad and very tough to watch. Simply can not stand it.
  56. Nov 25, 2012
    4
    As a fan of the first trilogy, I'm still forced to call this episode the 'best' of the second trilogy. Which doesn't help it much. A feeble attempt to 'bring things full circle ("The circle is now complete."???). Even the special effects seem hokey compared to the original 3 films. The only good thing I can say about this is that it's the last film in this set.
  57. Senselocke
    Feb 20, 2008
    3
    Abysmal. Pretty, yes, as to be expected, but Lucas thin and simplistic attempts at "plot" are pathetic. Here I was expecting the mindf.ck of the century, to twist Annakin into Vader, and instead it's like the character walked through the revolving door of morality. No twenty minutes of psychological twisting to break him, nothing just "la-di-da, I'm good! I must uphold Abysmal. Pretty, yes, as to be expected, but Lucas thin and simplistic attempts at "plot" are pathetic. Here I was expecting the mindf.ck of the century, to twist Annakin into Vader, and instead it's like the character walked through the revolving door of morality. No twenty minutes of psychological twisting to break him, nothing just "la-di-da, I'm good! I must uphold goodness!" "la di-da, I'm evil, let's kill some kids". And that's not even an exaggeration. This is the worst Star Wars movie ever made, hands down, and one of the worst movies PERIOD. NO amount of flash can take that away. In addition, Haden has the acting talent of my left testicle. He couldn't pull off a convincing CADAVER. In my mind, there are three star wars movies, only. The last three were pathetic attempts to leach money from fanboys and the unaware, with zero effort or skill put into dialogue, plot, or character development, and Lucas should be ashamed for prostituting his own creations so completely. Expand
  58. EvIlnIcE
    Sep 23, 2009
    0
    After writing a huge rant here I've chose to delete it all and replace it with something that is decent, relevent, amusing and that neatly sums everything up (Lucas take note) We watched the first 3 films. We cared about a mysterious force without explanation. We enjoyed hating Darth Vaders weezing. Harrison Ford was cool. We all wanted Liea in THAT bikini. We all wanted to own a After writing a huge rant here I've chose to delete it all and replace it with something that is decent, relevent, amusing and that neatly sums everything up (Lucas take note) We watched the first 3 films. We cared about a mysterious force without explanation. We enjoyed hating Darth Vaders weezing. Harrison Ford was cool. We all wanted Liea in THAT bikini. We all wanted to own a light sabre. We all thought the cute fluffy things we're cute and fluffy. We watched 3 more films. We didn't care about some fandangled unexplainable force. We all hated General Grievousnesses wheezing. Harrison Ford didn't continue his decade long trend of appearing in bad films. We all wanted Padme to slap Hannakin. We all got a light sabre for christmas. We all thought the clumsy, jokey characters were clumsy and jokey. But that's not why this film is bad. It's the final fight scene of the final Star Wars film. Good vs Evil, we've watched 6 films just to see how one of our favourite film baddies turns from a whimsical, indecisive, unemotional freak into an all powerful, unforgiving yet emotional freak. And what do we get? Handbags at dawn....... "You're evil" "No! You're evil!" "Well you're eviler!" "Well you're evilererer!!!" We then realise that all along we actually know all the story and that we're watching a pointless cash-in. Still our light sabers and all that merchandise was pretty cool huh? Expand
  59. Feb 16, 2011
    0
    I feel somewhat in the minority when I say that this is BY FAR the worst of the new trilogy, but it just plain is. Anakin's turn to the darkside is what makes it the worst. His turn was handled with all the delicacy of a monster truck rally. I will split this review up into parts. 1) Anakin turns to the darkside in about the time it takes you to scratch your ass. Nevermind all ofI feel somewhat in the minority when I say that this is BY FAR the worst of the new trilogy, but it just plain is. Anakin's turn to the darkside is what makes it the worst. His turn was handled with all the delicacy of a monster truck rally. I will split this review up into parts. 1) Anakin turns to the darkside in about the time it takes you to scratch your ass. Nevermind all of the horrible oddly specific speeches given to him by Palpatine throughout the movie. The scene where Anakin stumbles upon Sideous and Mace dueling and decides to side with Sideous is so awfully done. Basically Anakin is forced to rashly decide where his allegiance lies, with the people who have trained him and raised him since the age of 9, or with some creepy looking old dude who basically does the equivalent of luring a little kid into their van with the false promise of giving them candy. There is really no drama, intense thought or reasoning, or even any visible struggle in Anakin's decision. Then after its all over its like "well I guess I'll just do whatever you ask now". Really? Thats how he turns? He acts like a little **** the whole movie because his elder's don't think he is mature enough. More like teen angst than "turning to the darkside". 2) The dialogue is SO poor and pathetic that even Republicans were like "well we probably shouldn't exploit that one". I'm pretty sure a 7 year old with down syndrome could write better dialogue. Each line delivered with the stiffness of morning wood. I can only imagine the actors doing a table read of the script "Uh George.... should we REALLY say that? Like really?" 3) The characters are so flat and boring. Grevious? C'mon just call him generic bad guy with sinister voice. All of the Jedi Knights are clearly retarded for not seeing anything wrong with Anakin or Palpatine. Are they not supposed to be the most mindful creatures in the galaxy? Can they not move **** with their minds? Apparently they can't see anything thats happening right in front of them. Padme is pretty much rendered to random sobbing and crying. 4) The end where Vader screams NOOOOOOOO... self explanatory. Theres a whole bunch more, but this is clearly the worst of the new three. At least Phantom Menace had Liam Neeson, and Clones had a cool battle/war sequence. But pretty much every aspect of this movie is garbage I can't imagine anyone, from the director, to the actors, all the way down to the guy who sets up the sandwich spreads in between takes, had their heart in it at all. Expand
  60. FatulousD.
    May 10, 2005
    3
    This film sucks more than a $10 showgirl with no teeth. Obi Wan has a ridiculous beard, the actors always show slight bluescreen bewilderment, and massive space battles are about as impressive now as a playstation intro. This is less of a film than a two hour infomercial for Star Wars merchandise. Watch it on video if you really have to, and leave the cinema to the spotty goth sci-fi This film sucks more than a $10 showgirl with no teeth. Obi Wan has a ridiculous beard, the actors always show slight bluescreen bewilderment, and massive space battles are about as impressive now as a playstation intro. This is less of a film than a two hour infomercial for Star Wars merchandise. Watch it on video if you really have to, and leave the cinema to the spotty goth sci-fi obsessives who refuse to grow up. Expand
  61. JonathanC
    Jan 7, 2009
    0
    If I could spit in this text box instead of writing anything, I would.
  62. Skull
    Aug 23, 2005
    0
    I've given up even caring anymore. I've wasted too much of my time trying explain to the legions of brainwashed fans, new and old, how damaging these last three movies have been to the Star Wars mythos. I will not shed a tear when George is dead and gone.
  63. MarkM.
    May 20, 2005
    0
    When I was 7, I went to see the first Star Wars with my parents. From the moment the Imperial Cruiser came on the screen to the time when the Death Star blew up, I was engrossed in an adventure like none I'd ever seen. I cared for and liked the characters ... the story was interesting ... and everyone in the theater felt like they were passengers on a ride through the galaxy. These When I was 7, I went to see the first Star Wars with my parents. From the moment the Imperial Cruiser came on the screen to the time when the Death Star blew up, I was engrossed in an adventure like none I'd ever seen. I cared for and liked the characters ... the story was interesting ... and everyone in the theater felt like they were passengers on a ride through the galaxy. These feelings continued until the end of "Return of the Jedi," and even though the acting wasn't Oscar-quality, the actors seemed to have a chemistry together and you could relate to their characters. But now ... well, Lucas has thrown all that away to show off his love for special effects. He somehow, somewhere, lost the knowledge that it was the story, not the effects, that drew in people to the series. It was characters we cared about that made us want to see how it all ended. He has now given us a steaming pile of crap that is focused more on the look, rather than the feel, of the film. He seems more interested in merchandising opportunities than telling a great story. I ssooooooo wanted to like this movie, but felt insulted, saddened and, strangely, abandoned Expand
  64. JonW.
    May 20, 2005
    4
    Terrible. Chalkly dialogue; uninpsired acting; cartoonish special effects; fails to invoke any feeling. As a movie Episode III stands as a failure. As a series, the prequels succeed in nothing save some over the top effects. Why fight on a lava planet, with explosions, on friggin hoverboards with robots flying everywhere and rocky lava pouring down and imminent danger at every step...why Terrible. Chalkly dialogue; uninpsired acting; cartoonish special effects; fails to invoke any feeling. As a movie Episode III stands as a failure. As a series, the prequels succeed in nothing save some over the top effects. Why fight on a lava planet, with explosions, on friggin hoverboards with robots flying everywhere and rocky lava pouring down and imminent danger at every step...why not just fight a lightsaber duel in a simple room? WHY! Why the stupid, cartoonish chase scenes, great we know what CGI is capable of and frankly I dont care...The chase with Obi-wan and general greivous is freakin terrible. No suspense, I feel like I am watching the opening to a video game. Anakin - so he betrayed the republic, his friends, massacred children and comrades, and embraced a sketchy evil guy all because he THOUGHT that his wife might die? This guy is an idiot - and all he does is whine. I am sorry as a movie lover I am disapPointed as this is a poor film in every repect of the word (and I like cheese too if its done right - Judge Dredd is great) as a star wars fan this is a disgrace. D Expand
  65. AetonC.
    May 15, 2005
    2
    Massively disappointing. What else can I say but don't believe the hype, and walk in expected one of the best movies ever, or even one of the best Star Wars movies ever. It's just another prequel, with some flashy action sequences, but the same lack of magic and paper thin characters and crappy dialogue as the last two. Maybe this one is even worse, because this is the one that Massively disappointing. What else can I say but don't believe the hype, and walk in expected one of the best movies ever, or even one of the best Star Wars movies ever. It's just another prequel, with some flashy action sequences, but the same lack of magic and paper thin characters and crappy dialogue as the last two. Maybe this one is even worse, because this is the one that was supposed to span the gap and make the first two mediocre films suddenly worthwhile, it doesn't. In either case. Probably the emptiest film I've seen this year, and certainly the most disappointing one. And again, on the hype, don't swallow it. All that early "it's so cool, this is the best Star Wars film yet!" commentary ultimately rings just as false as the self same pre-release hype and positive early word did the last two times around. Collapse
  66. DavidT
    Nov 2, 2005
    4
    Whereas the original three films had a cheeky sense of ceomedic bravado that had you whooping in your seat for th hero, the three prequels are more like three Trekkies sitting up late at night dicussing the finer points of a Lithium Drive over Warp Speed - in other words, these films just take themselves way to seriously to be taken seriously. High Camp Performances all round. Sith Whereas the original three films had a cheeky sense of ceomedic bravado that had you whooping in your seat for th hero, the three prequels are more like three Trekkies sitting up late at night dicussing the finer points of a Lithium Drive over Warp Speed - in other words, these films just take themselves way to seriously to be taken seriously. High Camp Performances all round. Sith reminds me of another 4 letter word with using the same four letters - in other words, its CRAP. Expand
  67. HenryW
    Nov 8, 2005
    1
    How did George Lucas think he could get away with this, and - more importantly - how did he get away with this?
  68. AdrianK.
    May 17, 2005
    3
    Just got back from seeing this, and, wow, don't know where all this early good word is coming from frankly because this is every bit as mediocre as the last two, and the new and unimproved SE's for that matter. It has it's moments, but they are too few and far between, and it just has no heart to it underneath all the flash. If you like the last two you'll like this as Just got back from seeing this, and, wow, don't know where all this early good word is coming from frankly because this is every bit as mediocre as the last two, and the new and unimproved SE's for that matter. It has it's moments, but they are too few and far between, and it just has no heart to it underneath all the flash. If you like the last two you'll like this as well, but me I was quite disappointed overall. Expand
  69. StandaMan
    May 18, 2005
    0
    Just got back from this, and while I'm sure the videogame A.D.D. generation will love it for all the shiny fx work and visual bells and whistles, to me this was about as emotionally involving as watching a two hour plus video game cut scene. So much effort has been made on the (very cgi looking) visual flash that it seems like they spared no time or effort at all to focus on the Just got back from this, and while I'm sure the videogame A.D.D. generation will love it for all the shiny fx work and visual bells and whistles, to me this was about as emotionally involving as watching a two hour plus video game cut scene. So much effort has been made on the (very cgi looking) visual flash that it seems like they spared no time or effort at all to focus on the story side of the film. I'm sure it'll make a great demo disc for a home theatre when it hits dvd, but as an actual film, sadly, it's a dud. Was for me anyhow. Expand
  70. ShareeseC.
    May 18, 2005
    0
    Dud dud dud dud DUD!
  71. Janos
    May 19, 2005
    3
    Star Wars Revenge Of The Sith mediocrity be thy name.
  72. Nate
    May 19, 2005
    2
    Hilariously ham fisted final installment. it'd be almost funny if it wasn't so monumentally disappointing. what a waste.
  73. B.J.
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Public Enemy once said 'Don't Believe The Hype', I just wish I had listened. You got me again George. And while old Georgie boy doesn't seem all that much of a film maker these days, you've got to give him one thing, he's a hell of a marketeer. It's just a shame about the film.
  74. HarryC.
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Not just a poor film, a poor Star Wars film.
  75. RealBored
    May 19, 2005
    0
    Like many, I remember being astonished by the complexity and grandeur of Star Wars. After seeing this film, though, all I can wonder is how much good George Lucas could have done for humanity if he would have invested the material resources he put into these three stinkbombs in schools, medical research and poverty relief. It's said you can never go back home. Please stop trying, Mr. Lucas.
  76. ChickenGeorge
    May 19, 2005
    0
    What a turkey, gobble gobble...
  77. Jay2far
    May 19, 2005
    2
    This movie goes from embarrassed for actors, to embarrassed for Lucas, then embarrassed for self. I feel like I just had my house robbed. I swear I felt dirty when it was over. First thing I did when I came home was clean the kitchen. I grew up with this stuff and now I'm left with, "I guess I'll give it a 2 for rendering"! ... Cough, ugh... I think I'm gonna be grievous... This movie goes from embarrassed for actors, to embarrassed for Lucas, then embarrassed for self. I feel like I just had my house robbed. I swear I felt dirty when it was over. First thing I did when I came home was clean the kitchen. I grew up with this stuff and now I'm left with, "I guess I'll give it a 2 for rendering"! ... Cough, ugh... I think I'm gonna be grievous... blaaaaah. Expand
  78. Clark
    May 19, 2005
    3
    The epitome of average, empty headed almost-entertainment.
  79. kaiU.
    May 19, 2005
    3
    Just got back...*sigh*...that's really my only response. Totally JAP (Just Another Prequel).
  80. Larry
    May 19, 2005
    1
    Another empty-headed fx ride. Has moments of (visual) excellence, but little else really. And any of those defensives who keep trying to defend the prequels lack of quality in terms of story, acting and character, by attacking the originals clearly miss the point. The originals *did* have quality acting, they had character, and class, and a true sense of fun and adventure, we *cared* Another empty-headed fx ride. Has moments of (visual) excellence, but little else really. And any of those defensives who keep trying to defend the prequels lack of quality in terms of story, acting and character, by attacking the originals clearly miss the point. The originals *did* have quality acting, they had character, and class, and a true sense of fun and adventure, we *cared* about these characters, and were enraptured by their thrilling (not fake or forced) adventures. If we didn't not only would they never had been the successes that they were, but they never would have endured. These new ones won't endure, once the FX buzz wears off there's just nothing underneath in these recent efforts. The originals may not be flawless (yes there's dodgy dialogue here and there, but the actors make it work, and make us believe and go with it), but they work, they're fun, the characters work and connect with audiences, the adventure is thrilling, and everything comes together. They are classics, and deservedly so. The new ones are just empty fx fests, with lots of technical expertise, but no heart, they don't connect or truly thrill at all. The characters don't connect or mean anything, the plots drag, the fun and true sense of adventure is missing. It's hollow, it's Star Wars lite. Lucas spends so much time on the technical that the real important stuff, the character, the plot, the *fun*, is sorely lacking. I'd love to love the new films, but they have no heart, they just don't sweep me up, they're flat. Shiny, but flat. And this latest installment, which once again I really hoped against hope would break the cycle, or at least deliver one final fun ride, fell flat yet again. Back to the original trilogy to me. Expand
  81. RobertK.
    May 19, 2005
    2
    Ended, these prequels, have. And Thank God! Yet another missed opportunity and massive disappointment from Mr Lucas. Die hards will love it (of course), every one else...
  82. AngryDayton
    May 19, 2005
    0
    Makes the last two films better my a$$, doesn't even manage to make this one better. So bad I feel ripped off and like I've been lied to. In fact so bad, it actually made me angry, and I never have that kind of response to even the most disappointing of films usually.
  83. Adamd.
    May 19, 2005
    0
    Way 2 over hyped, the acting was some of the worst and most bland i have ever seen.
  84. Jamie
    May 19, 2005
    2
    What a let down.
  85. Chuckm76
    May 20, 2005
    5
    It's a shame that after all the critic talk surrounding episode 3 that it actually turns out to be only slightly better than the other 2 prequels. Other people will want to take this movie apart more than me, so i'll be quick. The direction and the script are terrible, the action scenes seems to happen without taking you along with them and some of the actors don't seem It's a shame that after all the critic talk surrounding episode 3 that it actually turns out to be only slightly better than the other 2 prequels. Other people will want to take this movie apart more than me, so i'll be quick. The direction and the script are terrible, the action scenes seems to happen without taking you along with them and some of the actors don't seem that interested. The space battle sucks and it really shouldn't, the special effects are great but everything moves so quick that it loses some of it's impact. It does contain one of the funniest lines I've ever heard in a film "Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!" it really is hilarious though completely unintentional. One more thing, where's Boba Fett? Expand
  86. PaulR.
    May 20, 2005
    6
    The opening scenes are rubbish. I was about to give up on it, but then it got a little better.The story of skywalkers downfall began and I really started to enjoy it. Hayden is cr*p and has about as much acting skills / presence as a t*rd. Yoda is excellent! I'd also like to know where lava doesn't burn you when its splashing around all over the place? Some of the scenes are The opening scenes are rubbish. I was about to give up on it, but then it got a little better.The story of skywalkers downfall began and I really started to enjoy it. Hayden is cr*p and has about as much acting skills / presence as a t*rd. Yoda is excellent! I'd also like to know where lava doesn't burn you when its splashing around all over the place? Some of the scenes are just ridiculous. For all you fanboys/girls out there. I too am a child of the 70's and was brought up with Star Wars. This and ep 1/2 are no match for the originals. Expand
  87. Robert
    May 21, 2005
    3
    One of the funniest films of the year. Too bad it wasn't supposed to be a comedy.
  88. JamieM.
    May 20, 2005
    3
    Honestly, if the movie wasn't a Star Wars movie there would be NO rating higher than a 5 here. It was terrible.
  89. SandyM/
    May 21, 2005
    2
    A truly boring piece of crap. Two amateurish and wooden male leads, talk, talk, talk, lousy editing, an inability to build tension. Best thing: when a monster space ship crash lands in the beginning of the film. That's about 30 seconds, so they owe $10.25!
  90. NatS.
    Jul 25, 2006
    5
    By far, the worst Star Wars movie. Apparently the only thing the critics like is death and destruction, once you compare this movie to the other Star Wars films. Acting is worse than than 1 and 2, and the storyline seems to be made up on the spot. I was in disbelief after I saw the first scene, with Obi-Wan and Anakin chatting back and forth during their ten minute ride through an By far, the worst Star Wars movie. Apparently the only thing the critics like is death and destruction, once you compare this movie to the other Star Wars films. Acting is worse than than 1 and 2, and the storyline seems to be made up on the spot. I was in disbelief after I saw the first scene, with Obi-Wan and Anakin chatting back and forth during their ten minute ride through an otherwise awesome battle. It's so stupid and cheesy it's laughable, and just like with Harry Potter 4, the only thing that will really get the critics votes is cheesy gloom and doom acting, and nothing else. Despite that, it's still Star Wars. Expand
  91. J.W
    Feb 6, 2007
    0
    I think I'd rather watch cut scenes from a video game. This was atrocious, the plot and especially acting. How bad is Anakin's final 'nooooo!' when he transforms into vader? I just pretend the whole I, II and III triology never happened.
  92. Dax
    Nov 17, 2005
    2
    It will take some mental exercises to erase this from my memory, but I think I might be able to like IV, V and VI again someday...as long as I can disassociate them from the prequels. Good...god.
  93. joeb
    Nov 9, 2005
    2
    I thought both of the lead actors were wimps. The acting over all is poor. The actors do not make you care about them or what they are doing. I was very dissappointed with this movie.
  94. JoshuaM.
    May 21, 2005
    4
    As everyone now knows, George Lucas is a terrible screenwriter and director, which may be why people are so symmpathetic to this last movie. More action and less awful dialog is a good thing, so is more fighting and less monotone line reading. But let's face it, if Star Wars didn't have street cred this movie would be straight to video.
  95. F.Fletch(UK)
    May 22, 2005
    3
    [Ed: Review posted and score estimated without the author's explicit permission. I doubt he would care, though. I just dug his magic trick metaphor.- md] Episode III was even worse than expected. First time I've ever seriously thought of walking out of a movie. The only thing that kept me there was the feeling that I ought to see how it ended. And to be fair, the last half-hour [Ed: Review posted and score estimated without the author's explicit permission. I doubt he would care, though. I just dug his magic trick metaphor.- md] Episode III was even worse than expected. First time I've ever seriously thought of walking out of a movie. The only thing that kept me there was the feeling that I ought to see how it ended. And to be fair, the last half-hour was entertaining, but only because it was bluntly (spoiler-style) explaining the mythology and background that was so well hinted at in the original trilogy, and made those first films seem all the more impressive as a result. (Starting a new, expensive film franchise on Episode IV is actually pretty inspired and brave when you think about it, eh?) An analogy. The original trilogy was the magic trick and the prequels just explain how it was done: They're not as good, they devalue the trick itself, and the best they can do is give you a cheap thrill by referencing the original and crudely filling in the gaps that made it 'magical' in the first place. But at least I didn't have to pay for my ticket :) Expand
  96. KeithM.
    Jul 9, 2006
    2
    Nearly unwatchable, completely unmoving. If not for the camp villainy of Ian McDiarmid and the game attempts of Ewan McGregor, what would distinguish this movie from Battlefield Earth? The dangerous, witty and noble reality of the first two movies in the series has collapsed into a bloated mess of unconvincing technology and inane scripting. The original vision proved that adolescent Nearly unwatchable, completely unmoving. If not for the camp villainy of Ian McDiarmid and the game attempts of Ewan McGregor, what would distinguish this movie from Battlefield Earth? The dangerous, witty and noble reality of the first two movies in the series has collapsed into a bloated mess of unconvincing technology and inane scripting. The original vision proved that adolescent auteurs had both hearts and minds. After nearly 30 years, those same moviemakers seem to have been running in place, losing much of both. Hayden Christensen's inexplicable casting, ticking like a time bomb through the last three movies, finally detonated any last hope of salvaging a satisfying close to the series. Mr. Lucas, please focus on special effects, the environment, world peace, or anything else that keeps you from the director's chair. Expand
  97. JB
    Aug 12, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering her mother in the original trilogy even though her mother, by film's end, dies giving shortly after giving birth to her. Far worse, it actually [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering her mother in the original trilogy even though her mother, by film's end, dies giving shortly after giving birth to her. Far worse, it actually makes clowns of both Palpatine and Yoda (during their duel, which was a shameful mockery of both characters) and thereby reduces the forces of good and evil in Lucas' universe (via their closest representatives) to clowns whose comedic sparring just happens to cost people millions of lives. The only good thing about this film is Anakin's duel with Obi-Wan, a duel that was brought about by circumstances wholly unconvincing to anyone with some degree of common sense. Just pretend that the prequels never happened. You'll be better off for it. Expand
  98. BobB.
    Sep 27, 2006
    2
    The first 2 Episodes in the saga will never be better than the original trilogy, but they still remain watchable, with smooth plotlines and decent acting. However, Episode 3 sinks the Star Wars saga into a new low. As JB said, it makes a complete mockery of the characters that were depicted in the trilogy as serious and had many similarities with real life people throughout history. The first 2 Episodes in the saga will never be better than the original trilogy, but they still remain watchable, with smooth plotlines and decent acting. However, Episode 3 sinks the Star Wars saga into a new low. As JB said, it makes a complete mockery of the characters that were depicted in the trilogy as serious and had many similarities with real life people throughout history. George Lucas tried to squeeze way too much into this movie, and he also tried to succumb to the likes of little 8 year olds who hardly understand what's going on. He sacrifices the inspiration, the wonder, the heroism, and the drama which were a main element in the trilogy movies all for the sake of special effects and not wanting to confuse 8 year olds. Along with forgetting how to direct actors, Lucas has also forgotten a lot of military strategy elements which were a part of the trilogy. Instead of making the opening scene a race to stop Grievous and his fleet from retreating, he turned the scene into a "2 Jedi storm the flagship, outnumbered 5000 to 1 and still beat them" kind of battle. The movie basically goes from the opening space battle, with good visuals, but crappy military realism and bad acting, to a few other battles which were all interrupted to create even more intricate plotlines, and during all these battles, all we see of Coruscant and daily life in the Republic is the view from Padme Expand
  99. bill
    Jul 15, 2009
    6
    This is the best star wars film since 'the empier strikes back' but thats not really saying much do to the fact the last three were below average. The last installment of star wars had enough action to get by although the acting was thin. The only thing that I really didn't like was that I thought some thing was missing from Vader's charactor at the end . I mean when This is the best star wars film since 'the empier strikes back' but thats not really saying much do to the fact the last three were below average. The last installment of star wars had enough action to get by although the acting was thin. The only thing that I really didn't like was that I thought some thing was missing from Vader's charactor at the end . I mean when Anakin is put into the black suite and becomes the vader we all know, he is crying about the death of his wife, so we have a sense that there is still good in him, a sense that we don't get again until 'return of the jedi'. So what made him the epitome of evil that we see in episode 4 and 5? Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. 88
    Only now can we truly step back and admire the full tapestry that it has taken George Lucas and his ILM wizards nearly three decades to weave.
  2. The final episode of George Lucas' cinematic epic "Star Wars" ends the six-movie series on such a high note that one feels like yelling out, "Rewind!" Yes, rewind through more than 13 hours of bravery, treachery, new worlds, odd creatures and human frailty.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Emerges as the best in the overall series since "The Empire Strikes Back."