Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1323 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The final entry in the prequel trilogy chronicles that downfall of the Republic as the Clone Wars rage on and Anakin Skywalker makes the transition to the dark side of the force.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. All the "Star Wars" movies will continue to entertain us for many years to come. They were grand fun, and this last one's a corker.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    90
    Emerges as the best in the overall series since "The Empire Strikes Back."
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    88
    Once Palpatine's machinations set the cogs in motion for the creation of Vader, and the Clone Wars start getting bloody, Sith commences to cook in a way that no Star Wars movie has since "Empire."
  4. The most energetic of the prequels, the only one at all worth watching. But that doesn't mean it is without the weaknesses that scuttled its pair of predecessors. Quite the contrary.
  5. 67
    A vast improvement over the previous two outings, but still and all, it's no "Star Wars."
  6. 50
    Until the last half-hour, when Lucas actually does establish a emotional connection between the landmark he created in 1977 and the prequel investment portfolio he laid out in 1999, the movie is one spectacularly designed letdown after another.
  7. 10
    The general opinion of Revenge of the Sith seems to be that it marks a distinct improvement on the last two episodes, "The Phantom Menace" and "Attack of the Clones." True, but only in the same way that dying from natural causes is preferable to crucifixion.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. billy
    May 19, 2005
    10
    Amazing.
  2. Nov 24, 2014
    10
    The new trilogy is over! I really liked it and I also think it's superior to the original one, although most people disagree. Episode III wasThe new trilogy is over! I really liked it and I also think it's superior to the original one, although most people disagree. Episode III was epic and showed us Anakin's fall to the dark side perfectcly with excelent action scenes and special efects. I know that the dialogue scenes are quite boring, but is very better than the ones in Episodes I and II. The characters are good and the vilains are perfect (Lord Sidious is cruel and intelligent as a true Lord Sith must be and the rise of Darth Vader and the Jedi massacre is one of the best moments I ever saw in movie history). The lightsaber battles are intense, especially the final battle between Obi-Wan and Darth Vader. The final dialogue between Anakin and his old master is incredible, and Ewan MacGreggor does an excelent work showing Obi-Wan's pain when he cuts Darth Vader's legs and arm.
    So, it's an excelent movie and must see for Star Wars fans
    Expand
  3. RevanM.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Seriously, I don't understand all those bad ratings. This film is like the incarnation of the word "epic". The final fight scene is Seriously, I don't understand all those bad ratings. This film is like the incarnation of the word "epic". The final fight scene is among the best ever created, filled with epic dialogues, awesome music composed by Mr. Williams and a fight with speed, power and energy. That's how a fight is supposed to be. And yet the film has more to offer than just action. It has a very dark atmosphere and a quite deep story for an action movie. Palpatine's corruption is well written and you even can see the movie as a metaphor to our real life in a few ways. This movie is just one of the best movies ever made, and it's even better than the original Star Wars a new hope. Why? Because it grew up, it's not just about good vs. uberevil, but it's a story of the chosen one, Anakin, who falls to the dark side because of love, and you can see what people are willing to do because of love. Tragic story and awesome movie, hands down. Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    8
    It's a decent movie, with a pretty good story and some very impressive visuals. It's the only one out of the prequels that I would give such aIt's a decent movie, with a pretty good story and some very impressive visuals. It's the only one out of the prequels that I would give such a high score too. I give it an eight because of not only do I find the way to wrapped up the Clone Wars Era to be pretty awesome, but the soundtrack and visuals are very impressive.

    One thing I feel I have to address: It's completely unacceptable that Darth Vader would say "NOOOOOOO!" when finding out that his lover is dead, but yet it perfectly acceptable when Luke says "NOOOOOOOOO!" after finding out Darth Vader is his father in the original trilogy? You people are hypocritical morons, and it's not surprising since you people already have biased opinions on the prequel trilogy in the first place. Please, go back to pretending that the original trilogy was perfect and the prequels did nothing at all. The more you say it, the more I know who's worthless opinions to ignore.
    Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2012
    7
    The greatest of the Star Wars prequels. The opening sequence is lame but after that it becomes a dark, depressing and often sad movie, exactlyThe greatest of the Star Wars prequels. The opening sequence is lame but after that it becomes a dark, depressing and often sad movie, exactly as it should be. The special effects are once again impressive. Expand
  6. JB
    Aug 12, 2006
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying [***SPOILERS***] Touted by Star Wars fans as the redemption of the prequel series, Revenge of the Sith is rather the final gasp of a dying legacy. RoS introduces several inconsistencies into the Star Wars universe, such as Leia remembering her mother in the original trilogy even though her mother, by film's end, dies giving shortly after giving birth to her. Far worse, it actually makes clowns of both Palpatine and Yoda (during their duel, which was a shameful mockery of both characters) and thereby reduces the forces of good and evil in Lucas' universe (via their closest representatives) to clowns whose comedic sparring just happens to cost people millions of lives. The only good thing about this film is Anakin's duel with Obi-Wan, a duel that was brought about by circumstances wholly unconvincing to anyone with some degree of common sense. Just pretend that the prequels never happened. You'll be better off for it. Expand
  7. T
    Aug 31, 2005
    0
    I've seen piles of rotting veggies that were more entertaining.

See all 649 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.