Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 25, 1977
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1411 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,313
Mixed:
47
Negative:
51
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MaxBMay 10, 2009
Anyone who says this movie is crap is crazy. Star Wars IV a New Hope is and will always remain an epic classic. It's so well done with a nice balance of action, comedy, and a brilliant story. A New Hope is like nothing you've every Anyone who says this movie is crap is crazy. Star Wars IV a New Hope is and will always remain an epic classic. It's so well done with a nice balance of action, comedy, and a brilliant story. A New Hope is like nothing you've every seen or will see. It remains to be the best of the Star Wars franchise. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Mar 5, 2006
This film changed my life & the lives of thousands of kids who were receptive to the story this film told. We all wanted to be luke skywalker, to save the princess & defeat the Empire. I was an 18 year old lad & filled up as Luke stood This film changed my life & the lives of thousands of kids who were receptive to the story this film told. We all wanted to be luke skywalker, to save the princess & defeat the Empire. I was an 18 year old lad & filled up as Luke stood before the twin setting suns of tatooine, whishing he could leave the moisture farm & join the rebellion. This film will never be bettered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertW.Jun 20, 2008
Star Wars will forever be that timeless film we can watch time and time again and still feel the same way about it as we did in our youthful years.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
CharlieW.Feb 21, 2006
A fun and exciting movie. I hated to see Ben die.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AustinW.May 5, 2006
Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope Special Edition Re-Release. Wow. I thought it was a 2004 Re-Release. The thing that made me take several points off was that the graphics during the rematch Ben Kenobi Vs. Darth Vader were not clear. Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope Special Edition Re-Release. Wow. I thought it was a 2004 Re-Release. The thing that made me take several points off was that the graphics during the rematch Ben Kenobi Vs. Darth Vader were not clear. Otherwise, the story was perfect. The birth of Star Wars was great, after watching the film, American Graffiti. It was a fun and exciting movie, but, I prefer Revenge of the Sith. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
How many other films do people watch over and over?
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
ChristopherEMay 7, 2009
I emerged from the theater a changed 6 year old. Despite some bad acting and average directing, this movie remains one of the greatest in sci-fi.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JefferyB.Oct 12, 2005
It's a TEN. What more can me said about it. Whoever hasn't seen it, it's a crime. It's a moral imperative that every human person on this planet catch the magnitude of this story. It's too bad that this is not on It's a TEN. What more can me said about it. Whoever hasn't seen it, it's a crime. It's a moral imperative that every human person on this planet catch the magnitude of this story. It's too bad that this is not on DVD. It's a shame that we will probably never see it on DVD. Unless you can find it on VHS, younger generations will never truly appreciate the development of our heroes from this film to it relevant sequals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeD.Oct 3, 2006
This movie has to be the best movie ever made by man, this was probably the birth to almost 50% of the good movies we have today. This movie definitely changed the world.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.Apr 22, 2006
Pretty much flawless. The best film ever made in my opnion. I would love to see a new trilogy chronicling the story of Solo's and Leia's children in the style of the original trilogy, without the over reliance on CGI of the new Pretty much flawless. The best film ever made in my opnion. I would love to see a new trilogy chronicling the story of Solo's and Leia's children in the style of the original trilogy, without the over reliance on CGI of the new trilogy and witty diologue and characters you actually care about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
There is no sci-fi film better than star wars.. although i did prefer episode 3 :D, but i suppose thats due to my generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Mar 31, 2007
If you were a young child in the 70's then this is the first movie that left you in utter jaw dropping awe, the opening scene is classic, as are so many other scenes. It beats out all other movies becasue it's ground breaking WOW If you were a young child in the 70's then this is the first movie that left you in utter jaw dropping awe, the opening scene is classic, as are so many other scenes. It beats out all other movies becasue it's ground breaking WOW factor. After that no other movie could or would becasue our expectations were raised by that movie like no other that has come after it. The greatest film of the 20th century Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMOct 29, 2008
Michael. H., you are in denial. this film happens to be the most successful and popular movie ever made. i guess everyone's a nerd, because everyone's seen star wars.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
OliverL.Oct 3, 2008
The best movie of the decade and almost best of the century. The excellent characters, first rate performances and John Williams perfect musical score make it near perfect.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AlexG.Apr 15, 2008
Ignore the crappy sci-fi effects this was the late 70s but this is a film classic not to be missed....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Byronj.Apr 17, 2008
fantastic
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
S.B.MApr 25, 2008
If i know my star wars, this is probably the original version. if it is, then i would like to say this is way better than that crappy special edition one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexCFeb 8, 2009
I'm not sure what happened to the two sequels to this movie on Megacritic, but they were superb too. But the prequels were piles of crap. The story of the original Star Wars is the reason why I'm proud to say that I love the Star I'm not sure what happened to the two sequels to this movie on Megacritic, but they were superb too. But the prequels were piles of crap. The story of the original Star Wars is the reason why I'm proud to say that I love the Star Wars franchise. Except for episode 1-3. Oh well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
billJul 15, 2009
This is indeed the best sci-fi film ever. I loved this movie when I was three and still love it to this day. A great story.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
HDec 18, 2005
Awsome period. the birth of the best series ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMay 13, 2006
Star Wars: A New Hope is one of the few All-American science fiction movies that you can call "glorious entertainment." That is an cinema achievement right there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FurbydudeDec 14, 2007
Star Wars (Episode IV - A New Hope) is an old movie yet it's one of the most awesome movies ever! if anyone wanted to watch other popular sci-fi stuff I would recommend Star Trek, or BBC's Doctor Who (i meant no offense)
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
StephenC.May 13, 2007
The film was genius. Just a low score on graphics, even when it was remastered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mikekMay 27, 2009
The first star wars i saw the commercials for the special edition in 1997 and thought it was a new movie then my mom tells me that's already out and she went to the local video store and rented it i most of watched it ten times before The first star wars i saw the commercials for the special edition in 1997 and thought it was a new movie then my mom tells me that's already out and she went to the local video store and rented it i most of watched it ten times before returning it to find their where sequels...i actually saw return of the jedi before empire..which was confusing..but this movie i now today live by the jedi way or at least try i am a fanboy and feel foolish not to of seen it till i was 8 now i can't comprehend not knowing it i even have a darth vader tattoo on my should so this is the one that started everything and is still amazing today. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
SayantanC.Jul 16, 2009
This was great and behind empire strikes back is the best star wars film.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
10
PeterR.Dec 15, 2006
Possibly the best and most original movie (series) to ever grace the industry. It hit the world with an outstanding BOOM. It's legacy prevails for almost 4 decades now. Comedy from Harrison Ford is remarkable and makes him an Possibly the best and most original movie (series) to ever grace the industry. It hit the world with an outstanding BOOM. It's legacy prevails for almost 4 decades now. Comedy from Harrison Ford is remarkable and makes him an unforgettable character. Drama and Music are the best from the series (who would EVER forget the Main Title Theme? Let alone, the "I am your father.") With the re-release in 2004, it makes up for it's one flaw (but not back in 1977) bad CGI. Also, the ending is revisited and puts Anakin from Episode III next to Obi-Wan and Yoda, as spirits. A perfect ending. I felt complete after watching this movie, it would be great, but, I'm fine without any sequels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
This was a revolutionary movie that established scifi as a financially popular genre and allowed many more movies to come to the fore. The backstory might even be better than the actual movie.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
PaxsterSep 21, 2010
I don't think anyone can doubt the cult and classic status of this film. Great characters,original idea and an interesting storyline make it a good film. However, why not a 9 or a 10 then? Well, it probably doesn't help that I'm not theI don't think anyone can doubt the cult and classic status of this film. Great characters,original idea and an interesting storyline make it a good film. However, why not a 9 or a 10 then? Well, it probably doesn't help that I'm not the biggest fan of sci-fi blockbusters and to some people the chase sequence near the end is the best part but for me it goes on a little to long. Although vader is a classic image I don't think he is enough of an enigma. A shout out to Harrison Ford though,a great performance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PixarloverOct 17, 2012
Anyone who gave this a negative review were clearly out of their mind or they like Twilight. Who knows?

Star Wars... Come on, do I really have to go any further than just saying those two gorgeously combined words? This is where the
Anyone who gave this a negative review were clearly out of their mind or they like Twilight. Who knows?

Star Wars... Come on, do I really have to go any further than just saying those two gorgeously combined words? This is where the franchise began. This is where the epic story would continue into many other forms of media beyond film.

Star Wars is simply the greatest movie ever made and gave birth to the Hollywood blockbusters we know and love today. A wholly epic piece of cinema that continues to live on after its theatrical release 35 years ago.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JacobNov 24, 2015
Star Wars is fun. The characters and story are simple and nothing too deep, that’ll come later but they are functional. They are all effective at what they do and are people I’ve become invested in, the story is effectively based starting outStar Wars is fun. The characters and story are simple and nothing too deep, that’ll come later but they are functional. They are all effective at what they do and are people I’ve become invested in, the story is effectively based starting out exciting then slowing down and gradually speeding up constantly keeping the plot moving while slowly revealing information about the world as we need to know it. I feel like a lot of the love for this movie is nostalgia as again there’s nothing too deep about it and the film is a tad cheesy. There is one thing that holds up about Star Wars and even now blows me away and that’s the visuals. The visual spectacle is strong with this one. The costumes, score, and action all a wonder to look at as its become iconic for a reason. Star Wars is a fun movie but the particularly effective presentation combined with tons of nostalgia make it an enjoyable movie that I’m always willing to back to. It’s good to remember going into The Force Awakens that Star Wars was a fun movie with a lot of visual spectacle and didn’t have a deep story. While nostalgia may win allow this classic to win out in the end it makes me reason that even if the new movie is good that doesn’t mean that it failed because at the end of the day the original was a fun movie with presentation being an especial highlight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrScruffSep 3, 2012
A classic, pure imagination, creativity, and innovation went into creating this movie and it really stands out. The greatest sci-fi movie ever created.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 29, 2011
This was the movie that started it all. The reason the Star Wars saga still influences us in our daily lives was because of this one movie. Thank you George Lucas for giving us a masterpiece and creating the best saga ever!
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
excellent sequel in the series.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
nintendoid13Dec 22, 2010
Ok, movielonely94, you need to take a look at the DVD case again. A New Hope was the FIRST and the best of the STAR WARS series. Anyway, this movie has everything: story, actors, genius director, and the great mystery of Darth Vader. A-MAZING!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 21, 2011
Easily one of the greatest films of all time. A New Hope is a classic original sci-fi film that established George Lucas as one of the premire directors of our time. The only flaw is that the acting could have been a lot better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
A outstanding movie and the best of all the Star Wars movies, a true classic that is still a blast to watch today again and again, and because of this it gets a perfect 10, you must watch this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TokyochuchuNov 16, 2015
Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is a classic movie that I must have watched a million times when I was a boy. Now I'm old and have children of my own and sharing Star Wars with them was a magical moment. They love it! Stars Wars is a trulyStar Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is a classic movie that I must have watched a million times when I was a boy. Now I'm old and have children of my own and sharing Star Wars with them was a magical moment. They love it! Stars Wars is a truly timeless film that still excites to this day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J42HmusicDec 9, 2011
It is always good to see a film that relies on character development, and this is what we get. A wonderful mixture of science fiction action and clever ideas, which not only accompanies a journey to destroy the Death Star, but also a quest toIt is always good to see a film that relies on character development, and this is what we get. A wonderful mixture of science fiction action and clever ideas, which not only accompanies a journey to destroy the Death Star, but also a quest to connect a brilliantly-acted group of characters. If you don't see this film, you don't known what good science-fiction is... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tbagurdrumset94Jan 30, 2012
Just watched it for the millionth time... as always, I wanted to watch it again right away. Very few movies give me that feeling. The story is predictable, but in all the right ways. Besides, the unpredictability was to be saved for theJust watched it for the millionth time... as always, I wanted to watch it again right away. Very few movies give me that feeling. The story is predictable, but in all the right ways. Besides, the unpredictability was to be saved for the sequels... The acting? Does it LOOK like I care about the "bad" acting? Everyone is great. The characters are now so beloved, that there's no way for me to hate on them or the actors. Just go watch it again... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
This was the best of the original series and all the others after those 3 were awful. I actually liked the originals before the digital remastering. At the end the theater yelled hooray and clapped. Well, way back when.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
doctor2001Apr 25, 2011
One of the best films ever made only topped by episode V . It begins the best Sc-fi series of films ever made. George Lucas' second best film. Enough Said :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
j30Jan 30, 2012
Star Wars: A New Hope is a excellent piece of science-fiction that dreams big and never looks back.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
It started it all. This movie was the best back then and quite simply is just as magnificent and engaging now. It is a pivotal moment in American cinema and culture. You can't deny the genius of this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
For those who criticize "Star Wars: A New Hope" for its lack of character depth and uninspired story, shut up. George Lucas created a amazing adventure movie with extremely marvelous CGI...in 1977! Think twice before you criticize the movie, noobs.
12 of 24 users found this helpful1212
All this user's reviews
10
JSweek91Oct 4, 2011
This is without a shadow of a doubt the finest sci-fi film ever made and, I dare say, the greatest overall movie of all time. Should have won the best picture oscar instead of "Annie Hall". Absolute Classic!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
schwarz_kelloggDec 29, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Only a 7/10.
As a 1977 movie, the production is quite good I guess. However the movie seriously lack depth... Failed to portrait any sort of emotions of characters particularly in terms of death of people: death of uncle/aunt of Luke, death of pilots, and eventually death of Obi-Wan which things I have to say make the movie pretty plain and flat. Storyline-wise, it's pretty straight forward - no surprise
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
BrandonBonaseraDec 16, 2015
Star Wars is a groundbreaking, entertaining and highly enthralling film that helped influence not just the childhoods of many people but also revolutionised cinema as we know it. Almost everything about the film is near-perfect; theStar Wars is a groundbreaking, entertaining and highly enthralling film that helped influence not just the childhoods of many people but also revolutionised cinema as we know it. Almost everything about the film is near-perfect; the performances are fantastic, the characters are iconic, the dialogue is the brilliant, the filmmaking and practical effects are phenomenal and still hold up today and the score by John Williams is one of the best ever composed. The few flaws with the film include a couple shoddy lines of dialogue and some questionable actions made by the characters, but besides those it's a great and highly enjoyable film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
Star Wars started here. It has plenty of action and story and the characters are anything but lifeless. If you hate this then you are souless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KubrickFanNov 11, 2011
Possibly the most fun anyone can hope to get out of two hours of film, although it can come off as a little cheesy, under-budget, and badly acted in some places. Ignoring these bad points (as I'm sure we all do when we watch it) Star Wars isPossibly the most fun anyone can hope to get out of two hours of film, although it can come off as a little cheesy, under-budget, and badly acted in some places. Ignoring these bad points (as I'm sure we all do when we watch it) Star Wars is a brilliant film. It's an exciting and vibrant space drama, where everything in it has been done before, but at the same time it feels very original. Harrison Ford and Alec Guinness both have decent turns as Hans Solo and Obi wan Kenobi (or maybe they just look good next to Carrie Fisher and Mark Hamil), and James Earl Jones makes the character Darth Vader into a bold and intimidating villain with his powerfully deep voice. The plot just sort of takes the characters from one spectacular action seen to another, but with this film Lucas created a compelling world and characters, things that would be expanded in future instalments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MetallicCriticDec 13, 2011
"A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away..". This is the part where the dramatic music is supposed to play. But not wasting any time lets get started with the review. I have to say, one of the best sci-fi movies of all time. Also one of my"A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away..". This is the part where the dramatic music is supposed to play. But not wasting any time lets get started with the review. I have to say, one of the best sci-fi movies of all time. Also one of my personal favorites. I couldn't find anything wrong with this one. Except maybe the acting. The characters are spot on with there personality. So I was able to overlook the decent acting. Awesome special effects that changed film making for years to come. Started a huge franchise that I am personally a fan of. Star Wars took us on a journey light years away that made us believe that not everything in the future is shiny and brand new. My favorite part? Simple, when Luke blew up the Death Star. Imagine how that would have looked in a theater. In conclusion, I recommend this to movie lovers not just nerds. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
devo-ncSep 1, 2015
A visual landmark in cinema, and something for the ages, no matter how cheesy or plain-jane the story might be, it's a joy of sleek beginnings for the Sci-Fi genre, however it hasn't quite stood the test of time in a way where if it were toA visual landmark in cinema, and something for the ages, no matter how cheesy or plain-jane the story might be, it's a joy of sleek beginnings for the Sci-Fi genre, however it hasn't quite stood the test of time in a way where if it were to release now A New Hope would be a boring old dog with no new tricks. But from a 'certain point of view' it's like stepping back into the late 70's and immersing yourself into a wondrous cinematic experience of imagining what it must have been like in it's time. There's a magical presence in this film, it's a cherisher that gets put in the cupboard but has to be dusted off because it's been at least 7 years since the last viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Jun 23, 2012
The beginning of one of the most epic sagas of history. George Lucas has made ​​a huge masterpiece highly original that still manages to surprise everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryflemanJan 7, 2012
Truly unique and inspired, Star Wars (A New Hope) is a hallmark in film making and one of the best films ever made, it redefines it's genre and and set the groundwork for 5 sequels (unfortunately only 3 where good), countless spin off videoTruly unique and inspired, Star Wars (A New Hope) is a hallmark in film making and one of the best films ever made, it redefines it's genre and and set the groundwork for 5 sequels (unfortunately only 3 where good), countless spin off video games and easily a multibillion dollar franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobJun 9, 2013
While it was Phantom Menace that got me into Star Wars, A New Hope will always be the best film of the series. Hands down the best sci-fi film of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
GreatbealloFeb 8, 2012
George Lucas tapped into greatness with the original Star Wars trilogy. A New Hope was truly revolutionary when it was released in 77, and it holds up very well, despite some out of date special effects. This is a movie to be cherished andGeorge Lucas tapped into greatness with the original Star Wars trilogy. A New Hope was truly revolutionary when it was released in 77, and it holds up very well, despite some out of date special effects. This is a movie to be cherished and remembered as one of the greatest science fiction films ever produced. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
Classic film. The one and only reason this isn't rated a perfect 10 is because Empire Strikes Back is better, and needs to be rated higher in my books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeAug 24, 2014
This is where all of the magic begins. George Lucas' great cinematic adventure takes off just as it should. It's one for history. More than revolutionary for science-fiction in 1977.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
IplayGAMESone23Mar 23, 2012
Star Wars is one of the most revolutionary movies ever. It was edited in the studio now called Pixar which has produced some of the most AWESOME kids' movies EVER. I think it mixed different true movie aspects very well, and it definitelyStar Wars is one of the most revolutionary movies ever. It was edited in the studio now called Pixar which has produced some of the most AWESOME kids' movies EVER. I think it mixed different true movie aspects very well, and it definitely hits the spot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give this movie a 9.5 out of 10. Great 70s scifi film. Acting great. Mark, and Carrie, and Harrison all did good In this movie. Score is great. Classical star wars music is great. The story is also really good. TheFirst off, I would give this movie a 9.5 out of 10. Great 70s scifi film. Acting great. Mark, and Carrie, and Harrison all did good In this movie. Score is great. Classical star wars music is great. The story is also really good. The effects are really good to. Considering the time perod, they're stunning. Overall, New Hope is a great star wars film. A great way to start a successful franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ObbiePR18Apr 3, 2012
Esta pelicula debio sorprender a aquellos que pagaron su entreda en el 1977. Es completamente fantastica!, Star Wars: A New Hope es un clasico de la ciencia ficcion. Una pelicula que marco esquemas y que se ha convertido en una de las mejoresEsta pelicula debio sorprender a aquellos que pagaron su entreda en el 1977. Es completamente fantastica!, Star Wars: A New Hope es un clasico de la ciencia ficcion. Una pelicula que marco esquemas y que se ha convertido en una de las mejores peliculas de todos los tiempos.La verdad es que cuando la vi, quede sorprendido por la calidad de sus efectos especiales y por la historia. Es super entretenida. Una joya de pelicula. Gracias George Lucas! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
potatoes351Oct 31, 2012
The original Star wars film, one of the best and one that will live on in history forever. A New Hope tells the story of a now grown up Luke Skywalker, son of the fearsome Jedi knight Anakin who was killed by the dark side. After being foundThe original Star wars film, one of the best and one that will live on in history forever. A New Hope tells the story of a now grown up Luke Skywalker, son of the fearsome Jedi knight Anakin who was killed by the dark side. After being found by Ben Kenobi (Obi-Wan) Luke begins Jedi training to fight back against the Empire and its oppressive reign over the galaxy. Great CGI for 1977 and one of the best Sci-fi films ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WazzlesFeb 5, 2015
Excellent film that doesn't quite hold up today, due mostly to a somewhat slow pacing. The effects of the theatrical version, obviously, are also dated, but hold a certain charm due to how much effort was put into them. Most of these effectsExcellent film that doesn't quite hold up today, due mostly to a somewhat slow pacing. The effects of the theatrical version, obviously, are also dated, but hold a certain charm due to how much effort was put into them. Most of these effects were near the end of the film, and were completely replaced for the various Special Editions. On that note, I should mention the Special Editions. The only version of this film that truly matters is the 1977 original theatrical version. The SEs remove the ground-breaking, Oscar winning effects that changed movie making forever, replacing them with CGI. Story elements were also changed for the worse, the most obvious being the Han and Greedo scene. Rating the SEs, I would give all three SEs of Star Wars a 6.5-7/10.

This film and its two sequels are absolute must-sees, but only in their original versions. Seek out the ever-rarer DVD version or a widescreen VHS copy, and enjoy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
I've seen this movie so many times, and it never gets old. George Lucas redefined the science-fiction genre with this classic film. The special effects aren't in as good of shape as they are in the prequels, but every other aspect possible isI've seen this movie so many times, and it never gets old. George Lucas redefined the science-fiction genre with this classic film. The special effects aren't in as good of shape as they are in the prequels, but every other aspect possible is greater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodDec 16, 2015
One of the greatest scifi films of all time, such amazing depth to this intrrgalaxtic spaceopera it is amazing amd worth all your time. So go out and watch star wars
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
starwarsfanaticAug 1, 2012
Star Wars is still, in my opinion, the greatest film in this series and of all time. Yes, I think it is even better than Empire. Everything that happens and all the characters just feel right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 4, 2012
Definitely one of the best movies of all time, a classic that forever changed the Sci-Fi genre forever with its improvised special effects visuals and sounds that became staples of the Sci-Fi movies, TV shows and Video games of the future.Definitely one of the best movies of all time, a classic that forever changed the Sci-Fi genre forever with its improvised special effects visuals and sounds that became staples of the Sci-Fi movies, TV shows and Video games of the future. The musical score was absolutely amazing, John Williams is a great composer who added a lot to many great Hollywood films. The main characters were all great actors and actresses. (only the minor characters sucked "look sir droids!", etc. lol). The movie even accidentally spawned an amazing line of toys too! This film was epic and very few come to mind when I try to think of movies as epic that have been released since then. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Jack97Jan 4, 2014
I'm not a Star Wars fan, but I am a fan of Episode IV. It's not necessarily over the top in the action sequences and the characters are relatively likeable. It's one of the all time best science fiction films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
It lacks the depth and insight that great science fiction films have, such as 2001, but it was an astonishing technological accomplishment for its time, and brought inspiration for many films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jfrotylpe532Dec 4, 2012
The movie that changed the way we look at movies. With amazing special effects and out of this world sci-fi action makes this film an easy A+. Well done George Lucas for actually making a good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Feb 21, 2013
With a plethora of perfect characters, a classic story, a legendarily outstanding score,and a still-awe-inspiring set of technical triumphs, "Star Wars" still remains the representative pinnacle of action/adventure stories.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WhiteTalpaDec 6, 2012
Great story, amazing characters, good special effects (1977) and also some fantastic music by John Williams. Overall this film was amazing one of the best sci-fi films of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
SwatiDec 5, 2013
We get sucked right into the conflict that took place long ago on a galaxy far far away. Princess Leia is in possession of some secret documents that may help the rebels' cause against the tyranny of the empire. She is captured by theirWe get sucked right into the conflict that took place long ago on a galaxy far far away. Princess Leia is in possession of some secret documents that may help the rebels' cause against the tyranny of the empire. She is captured by their commander of forces, a black-armoured Darth Vader.

On a desert planet we meet young Luke Skywalker, who dreams big but has to help his uncle tend to his lands. He joins the conflict on the side of the rebels on Obi-Wan Kenobi's behest. They come across an ace pilot named Han Solo who agrees in return for a ridiculous amount of money to transport them to where they need to go. The empire has a huge space station called the Death Star, which can literally blow any planet they want to, and this is what the party runs into inadvertently.

Then follows a battle of wits and good luck as they escape capture on the ship while also trying to rescue the princess. In the last half hour we are introduced to the rebel main base hidden on a moon of some unknown planet. They must battle it out with the Death Star before it destroys the moon, which I found odd since the empire seems not to care much about anything, surely destroying the planet would have been an easier and much quicker way to destroy the moon, but I digress. Luke Skywalker rises to the occasion and shows the sign of promise he was destined for, according to Kenobi.

What pulled me out of the story is the complete failure of Luke to convince me how normal people behave when their close ones suffer in some way. He seemed without a soul. At one point a planet is destroyed, which according to one character had millions of people living on it, but not a single f*** is given. No one sheds a tear, not even the character whose homeland it seems to be. At one point Kenobi remarks about how the stormtroopers, the foot soldiers of the empire must have done something that needed a great marksmanship, yet later we witness their complete incompetence in the field they were hired for.

I must also make an observation that Star Wars is not a science fiction film, but a fantasy set in space. The galaxy is more like a single country, with planets like the different regions, some barren, others populated, with plenty of space to hide oneself. Perhaps science fantasy, as some people have called it, is a much more apt description. Lucas uses all the old elements of fantasy. A large dangerous world filled with fiendish villains, a boy at a farm who is called to an adventure and finds that he has a strength that someone who may have had years of learning and practice and much bigger resources could not hope to have. To his credit, Lucas establishes from the get-go that whatever follows has already happened a long time ago in some other galaxy. Its up to us if we want to see serious science fiction or a narrative with interesting characters set in space and other planets. Perhaps the fact that it was set in space is why this movie was so successful. People just didn't care if it was impossible.

Star Wars, later renamed Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope, must have been revolutionary for its time. The box office earnings show us how well the movie was received and made George Lucas a wealthy man overnight. But after decades of advancement in special effects, the sorry budget becomes more than obvious. That wouldn't have turned my view much if the story had been well handled, which was not. I couldn't really care about this conflict. Only when the three main characters are bickering between themselves is the movie entertaining. Lucas clearly had children in his mind as the target audience when he launched Star Wars, and it shows. It distracts from the story so much I couldn't ignore the gimmicks. Lucas realized to some extent that the audience were expecting more serious work from him, and the next instalment was a much better movie overall.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HealthConnectTVDec 4, 2012
One of the most important films of all-time. This is where it all started. Besides kickstarting a storied franchise, the film itself stands the test of time and is an absolute classic. If there were no other Star Wars episodes made toOne of the most important films of all-time. This is where it all started. Besides kickstarting a storied franchise, the film itself stands the test of time and is an absolute classic. If there were no other Star Wars episodes made to film, this movie would still have historical significance as an innovative and original story that brought new light to its genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
survivorfan989Sep 1, 2013
Its taken me a while but I have finally seen the first Star Wars film made! I'd previously seen Episodes 1 & 2 but didn't think much of them so I didn't bother to see the rest, but I'm giving them all a shot and so far I'm pretty impressed.Its taken me a while but I have finally seen the first Star Wars film made! I'd previously seen Episodes 1 & 2 but didn't think much of them so I didn't bother to see the rest, but I'm giving them all a shot and so far I'm pretty impressed. I'm not converted to a fan but it was an entertaining film and for its time quite effective I'm sure. I think perhaps if there were less politics and more action I'd show more interest, but overall a very good film and I'm looking forward to Episode 5! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Cole123Dec 1, 2013
Great action scenes,story and mind blowing special effects for the time(They still look good today).Without a doubt this is not just the best star wars movie but also the best sci-fi film ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
esuJan 20, 2013
It's quite laughable how some people compare movies like this to things like some Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocol movie. You think the effects aren't that good? Oh, I wonder why. This movie was made in 1977. Most of the half-brainedIt's quite laughable how some people compare movies like this to things like some Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocol movie. You think the effects aren't that good? Oh, I wonder why. This movie was made in 1977. Most of the half-brained morons who are giving this movie bad ratings were probably not even within 10 years of being born. Great movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
KenOysterFeb 9, 2013
Plot: universal size of created ambiance; you're immersed in, you're enjoying scenery, you meet a crazy-face creatures and you start to believe. (2/2)
Metaphors: yep, Good vs Evil... But the point is there are smallest details like facial
Plot: universal size of created ambiance; you're immersed in, you're enjoying scenery, you meet a crazy-face creatures and you start to believe. (2/2)
Metaphors: yep, Good vs Evil... But the point is there are smallest details like facial expressions or details that refers to another episodes or a global matters, and that delights when you know what they're saying. (2/2)
Actors: Anthony Daniels is gorgeous, and Harrison Ford's smirks just starting to annoy. (1/2)
Dynamics: however, you never be bored during the watching and that's don't have to. (2/2)
Slacks: what? they were?! (2/2) Total: undisputed cult and art-treasure! (9/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jyzmanMar 8, 2013
The special edition sucks. But the original film is outstanding, awesome story, good acting, bad lightsaber fight, awesome dialogue, and good characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mds03Apr 30, 2013
What an amazing creation. The story, acting, and special effects were fantastic. I will never get past how great the special effects were because this movie was made in 1977 and they look extremelyWhat an amazing creation. The story, acting, and special effects were fantastic. I will never get past how great the special effects were because this movie was made in 1977 and they look extremely real!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is probably the only movie in America that everyone has heard of. This is easily one of the best Science- Fiction movies ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJDec 22, 2015
With very few acting and sound editing issues. The first part of the original trilogy by George Lucas "Star Wars" is an amazing adventure, that no one should miss!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Sergio2008Jan 3, 2016
Innovative, beautiful, and thrilling to watch. Star Wars: Episode IV is a benchmark film that still hold up in 2016. Without question, one of the greatest films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Dec 23, 2015
Now this is where we get into the real fun. "Star Wars" is a fun time just watching a movie in general. There are fascinating characters involved with a very interesting premise. It has tremendous pace for a two hour long movie. And theNow this is where we get into the real fun. "Star Wars" is a fun time just watching a movie in general. There are fascinating characters involved with a very interesting premise. It has tremendous pace for a two hour long movie. And the spectacle of it all is still impressive to watch to this very day. It is what a movie should be. It has a little of everything. As far as issues I will say that the whole destroying the Death Star sub-plot felt kind of forced in. It just went from one story to another in my opinion. And it did have a very squeaky clean ending. I understand that it's probably because of the fact that no one expected a sequel after this movie became a humongous hit, but I wish it went for more of that feeling of there will be more. However, there is lots of up to be had with Star Wars. Great characters in a great story with tons of wit and true adventure. I give Star Wars an A-! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TerenceYiboFeb 3, 2014
虽然没有炫目的特效,但本片仍是所有科幻电影中的佼佼者,电影故事精彩,配乐激赞,拥有丰富的人物角色,外星人的设计都很有趣,现在看1977年的特效还是很为当时的电影人感到佩服。
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
J-ForceJun 11, 2013
This is one of the best movies ever. Star Wars is the classic legend of all sci-fi films. This movie has a fantastic story and a ton of special effects. This is one of those movies you can keep watching over and over, its a pretty old movieThis is one of the best movies ever. Star Wars is the classic legend of all sci-fi films. This movie has a fantastic story and a ton of special effects. This is one of those movies you can keep watching over and over, its a pretty old movie but it is still hot and it will be around forever. Its best to watch this film first before watching the other star wars movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ginam5Jun 15, 2013
This is at the top of my list of all time favorite movies completely perfect and completely unforgettable. I was a kid when I saw the original in theaters and now my children love it just as much. Can't wait for the next set of Star Wars movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
One of my favorite movies, Star Wars creates an incredible universe and characters that feel human, yet other-worldly. The directing is brilliantly done and the story flawlessly streamlines to the climatic goal. This is George Lucas'sOne of my favorite movies, Star Wars creates an incredible universe and characters that feel human, yet other-worldly. The directing is brilliantly done and the story flawlessly streamlines to the climatic goal. This is George Lucas's masterpiece, and is a classic that will be universally loved by generations to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jeff_reviewsJul 5, 2013
"Star Wars: Episode IV- A New Hope" is visually stunning, depth, originality, and a strong story. If one could say this movie in one word it would be epic. Wonderful fun for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 15, 2013
This is an awesome sci-fi film that boasts of a original and well written script, has great acting (Harrison Ford as Han Solo really makes this movie), the music is epic (John Williams is a magician with this music), the visuals are stillThis is an awesome sci-fi film that boasts of a original and well written script, has great acting (Harrison Ford as Han Solo really makes this movie), the music is epic (John Williams is a magician with this music), the visuals are still great...this film is a great classic that will live on forever with many generations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheApplegnomeDec 11, 2015
It's Star Wars. The movie that changed the movie-industry.

Nowadays many people, like me, would find this movie a bit to old-fashioned. But you got to think back how incredible it must have been to see this sci-fi film in the 70s. Imagine
It's Star Wars. The movie that changed the movie-industry.

Nowadays many people, like me, would find this movie a bit to old-fashioned. But you got to think back how incredible it must have been to see this sci-fi film in the 70s. Imagine seeing the main title go up and get stunned by the thrilling and touching music. Add the fascinating humor, spectacular action and one of the most inventive plots at the time; well that's Star Wars. It's not just a space-opera, it's a mysterious adventure of love, hatred, good and bad that just happens to play out in space. All these characters, humans as robots, exist in this common universe, and interact in a way that I've never seen before in movie-history is what makes this movie just as epic as it is. Sure; it might not be so "wow" or high paced today, as in the 70s, but it's still one of the greatest original movies ever made. The story, the characters, the music, the villain, I mean everything is perfect! It's a magical ride in a galaxy far far away. Star Wars changed the world, and it still does.

Personal rating: 87/100
Critical-rating: 90/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KabahalyAug 29, 2013
My personal best movie. The movie was just done so well, and who cares about character depth? The movie was meant to be action-y, this is one problem with today's movies, so much character development there is literally no action in it, whichMy personal best movie. The movie was just done so well, and who cares about character depth? The movie was meant to be action-y, this is one problem with today's movies, so much character development there is literally no action in it, which makes me get bored quickly. Sometimes, I cringe at movies with absolutely no action. Like the rest of the movies I rated, I rate movies by the amount of chills I get, and trust me, I got A LOT of chills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamerSpinJun 3, 2014
This may not be the best movie for all the people, but for me is completely amazing, the performance in incredible, the soundtrack is beautiful, visual effects are amazing for it year and over all. The story, is simply one of the best i haveThis may not be the best movie for all the people, but for me is completely amazing, the performance in incredible, the soundtrack is beautiful, visual effects are amazing for it year and over all. The story, is simply one of the best i have seen in my life, i love this movie, is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieGuysApr 22, 2014
While I'm not a Star Wars fan like many people out there, that doesn't mean I can't like the movies. I would not say this is my all-time favorite movie, but Lucas definitely succeeds here. The intricate world he has created is tough to beat.While I'm not a Star Wars fan like many people out there, that doesn't mean I can't like the movies. I would not say this is my all-time favorite movie, but Lucas definitely succeeds here. The intricate world he has created is tough to beat. The fact that there are still stories left untold is amazing to me. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BatFat09Feb 21, 2014
Star Wars in a whole is awesome. I cannot believe that it doesn't have an 100 rating. This classic movie is among the most influential movies of all time, I believe its popularity will stay huge just like wizard of oz.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ThatCooperGuyDec 12, 2015
The 70s was a pretty slow decade for movies. We did have greats like "Jaws" and maybe "Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory", but nothing that really took the audience for a fast paced ride. However, in 1977 this little movie called "StarThe 70s was a pretty slow decade for movies. We did have greats like "Jaws" and maybe "Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory", but nothing that really took the audience for a fast paced ride. However, in 1977 this little movie called "Star Wars" hit the market and took its audience by surprise. The film became a cultural phenomenon and essentially created the "movie fanboy" overnight, becoming one of the highest grossing movies ever made.

What exactly is so "great" about "Star Wars"? Some may say most people think it's great because it's a "CLASSIC MOVIE" and that it's only good because it's old or some shi- No, you're dumb. It's that simple, you're just dumb and don't know what you're talking about. The reason "Star Wars" is so great is because it, somehow after nearly 40 years, STILL holds up as a great movie. Is it perfect? No, there are flaws, but it's still an entertaining action-adventure space opera and should NOT be limited to being enjoyed by just "sci-fi dorks".

What made the "Star Wars prequels" so lame was that they were slow, boring, and had a very uninteresting plot narrative that is debatably a story that did not need to be told. Why? Well, a common joke by most amateur movie goers is "oh wow, they started with Part IV instead of Part I? How dumb." It's not dumb. Why? Because Part IV is where things got good. One of the many reasons people love the original SW trilogy is because of its characters. Luke, Han, Leia, 3PO, R2, etc., they're all unique characters. You remember each of them and you are interested in what their goals are. That's what the prequels failed at doing: having an emotional connection with its audience. (Plus: The bit where Han blasts the sh*t out of Greedo is so badass and Lucas should feel ashamed of himself for tinkering it.)

I don't like to refer to any of the Star Wars movies but their episode number, just by their subtitle. Even then, I always call this first movie "Star Wars" since that's what it was initially called when it first came out in 1977.

Another thing that helps this movie is the film score by the ever so talented John Williams, whose soundtrack for this movie won him his third Academy Award. Somehow, it's the glue that holds the movie together. Without John Williams' film score, that engaging feeling towards the end of the Death Star battle isn't the same. The music helps you get involved with what's happening, even after you've watched the movie a ba-gillion times like I have.

Really, what else can be said about "Star Wars" that just hasn't already been said for decades now? The cinematography is beautiful, the music is brilliant, the characters are great, and the directing is surprisingly good. This was probably the only good "Star Wars" movie George Lucas ever directed and he had several people making suggestions for him to try new things and maybe change his mind on a couple things.

It's like I always say, "One man can't make a movie."

Of course in January of 1997 (the film's 20th anniversary), Lucas released his "Special Edition" of Star Wars which included a lot of (very dated) CGI, Greedo shooting before Han (which is bullsh*t and ruins such a badass moment), changed the title to "Episode IV - A New Hope", and many other changes. I don't hate the "Special Editions" as much as many SW fans do, seeing how I think at least 80% of the same movie is still in tact. However, the one thing that makes me LOATHE the Special Editions is how George Lucas (almost like a spoiled, ungrateful child) didn't bother releasing the original versions of these movies along side the SEs.

This is not fair. The original cut of "Star Wars" won several awards and even won a Special Achievement Oscar for its sound effects. I don't like being forced (ha ha) to watch just one version of the movie that's heavily digitalized when the original versions hold up just fine. I may of said it's still 80% of the same movie, but the 20% that Lucas altered really does affect the movie for me... Whatever Lucas, but just know this: Those Academy Awards were given to the Original Unaltered Versions, not the Special Editions.

Yes I'm aware Lucas can't affect these movies anymore because Disney took ownership of Lucasfilm from him, but it's been 3 damn years and they haven't said anything releasing the original cuts of Star Wars. Guess I'll have to rely on Harmy and his OriginalTrilogy.com team. Sigh...

Despite this, I just can't describe how brilliant the original "Star Wars" is. If you could, hunt down the original version of this film (via VHS / 2006 DVD / Despecialized Edition) and enjoy 120 minutes of one of the most important and greatest movies ever made. It's not "A New Hope" and it's not "Episode IV". It's just simply "Star Wars".
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sammurphy66Jul 24, 2014
Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is without any doubt the greatest film ever created - and will remain in that prestigious position for years to come.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelBagamerySep 5, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes, this is a good movie, but not QUITE the classic I'd always been conditioned to expect. (That honour I reserve for 'The Empire Strikes Back'.) While the action is pretty thrilling, it also takes a while to get off the ground (no pun intended), which may have something to do with how heavy it is on the exposition, especially with the opening crawl. (Even if the movie was being funded by a then-dying studio, that's no excuse to disregard that old rule 'show, don't tell'.)

Having said that, I can see why this flick is so beloved. There's going into space, two protagonists who are more like us than we want to admit, and of course, what nearly everyone wants to do: saving the world. It looks really good, especially for 1977, though seeing as I had to watch the remastered version, the CGI sticks out pretty clearly.

It's worth your time to watch it, just a bit less so than its first sequel and later works like 'The Matrix' and 'Serenity'.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RakkieDOct 30, 2013
One of the best movie's to date. 100% I will show my kids this movie. This movie will forever and always be a Classic and I hope that the next generations will have the privilege of seeing it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksDec 27, 2015
This sci-fi fantasy is classic as it gets. This is a space western that was totally original and probably the finest of the genre at that time. It opened the door for new ideas. A fine classic film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews