Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 25, 1977
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1370 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,276
Mixed:
45
Negative:
49
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MaxBMay 10, 2009
Anyone who says this movie is crap is crazy. Star Wars IV a New Hope is and will always remain an epic classic. It's so well done with a nice balance of action, comedy, and a brilliant story. A New Hope is like nothing you've every Anyone who says this movie is crap is crazy. Star Wars IV a New Hope is and will always remain an epic classic. It's so well done with a nice balance of action, comedy, and a brilliant story. A New Hope is like nothing you've every seen or will see. It remains to be the best of the Star Wars franchise. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DavidH.Mar 5, 2006
This film changed my life & the lives of thousands of kids who were receptive to the story this film told. We all wanted to be luke skywalker, to save the princess & defeat the Empire. I was an 18 year old lad & filled up as Luke stood This film changed my life & the lives of thousands of kids who were receptive to the story this film told. We all wanted to be luke skywalker, to save the princess & defeat the Empire. I was an 18 year old lad & filled up as Luke stood before the twin setting suns of tatooine, whishing he could leave the moisture farm & join the rebellion. This film will never be bettered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobertW.Jun 20, 2008
Star Wars will forever be that timeless film we can watch time and time again and still feel the same way about it as we did in our youthful years.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
SusanL.Mar 1, 2008
How many other films do people watch over and over?
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JefferyB.Oct 12, 2005
It's a TEN. What more can me said about it. Whoever hasn't seen it, it's a crime. It's a moral imperative that every human person on this planet catch the magnitude of this story. It's too bad that this is not on It's a TEN. What more can me said about it. Whoever hasn't seen it, it's a crime. It's a moral imperative that every human person on this planet catch the magnitude of this story. It's too bad that this is not on DVD. It's a shame that we will probably never see it on DVD. Unless you can find it on VHS, younger generations will never truly appreciate the development of our heroes from this film to it relevant sequals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeD.Oct 3, 2006
This movie has to be the best movie ever made by man, this was probably the birth to almost 50% of the good movies we have today. This movie definitely changed the world.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidF.Apr 22, 2006
Pretty much flawless. The best film ever made in my opnion. I would love to see a new trilogy chronicling the story of Solo's and Leia's children in the style of the original trilogy, without the over reliance on CGI of the new Pretty much flawless. The best film ever made in my opnion. I would love to see a new trilogy chronicling the story of Solo's and Leia's children in the style of the original trilogy, without the over reliance on CGI of the new trilogy and witty diologue and characters you actually care about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PhilipR.Aug 19, 2006
There is no sci-fi film better than star wars.. although i did prefer episode 3 :D, but i suppose thats due to my generation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnW.Mar 31, 2007
If you were a young child in the 70's then this is the first movie that left you in utter jaw dropping awe, the opening scene is classic, as are so many other scenes. It beats out all other movies becasue it's ground breaking WOW If you were a young child in the 70's then this is the first movie that left you in utter jaw dropping awe, the opening scene is classic, as are so many other scenes. It beats out all other movies becasue it's ground breaking WOW factor. After that no other movie could or would becasue our expectations were raised by that movie like no other that has come after it. The greatest film of the 20th century Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OliverL.Oct 3, 2008
The best movie of the decade and almost best of the century. The excellent characters, first rate performances and John Williams perfect musical score make it near perfect.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Byronj.Apr 17, 2008
fantastic
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
S.B.MApr 25, 2008
If i know my star wars, this is probably the original version. if it is, then i would like to say this is way better than that crappy special edition one.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AlexCFeb 8, 2009
I'm not sure what happened to the two sequels to this movie on Megacritic, but they were superb too. But the prequels were piles of crap. The story of the original Star Wars is the reason why I'm proud to say that I love the Star I'm not sure what happened to the two sequels to this movie on Megacritic, but they were superb too. But the prequels were piles of crap. The story of the original Star Wars is the reason why I'm proud to say that I love the Star Wars franchise. Except for episode 1-3. Oh well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
billJul 15, 2009
This is indeed the best sci-fi film ever. I loved this movie when I was three and still love it to this day. A great story.
7 of 8 users found this helpful
10
HDec 18, 2005
Awsome period. the birth of the best series ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMay 13, 2006
Star Wars: A New Hope is one of the few All-American science fiction movies that you can call "glorious entertainment." That is an cinema achievement right there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FurbydudeDec 14, 2007
Star Wars (Episode IV - A New Hope) is an old movie yet it's one of the most awesome movies ever! if anyone wanted to watch other popular sci-fi stuff I would recommend Star Trek, or BBC's Doctor Who (i meant no offense)
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PeterR.Dec 15, 2006
Possibly the best and most original movie (series) to ever grace the industry. It hit the world with an outstanding BOOM. It's legacy prevails for almost 4 decades now. Comedy from Harrison Ford is remarkable and makes him an Possibly the best and most original movie (series) to ever grace the industry. It hit the world with an outstanding BOOM. It's legacy prevails for almost 4 decades now. Comedy from Harrison Ford is remarkable and makes him an unforgettable character. Drama and Music are the best from the series (who would EVER forget the Main Title Theme? Let alone, the "I am your father.") With the re-release in 2004, it makes up for it's one flaw (but not back in 1977) bad CGI. Also, the ending is revisited and puts Anakin from Episode III next to Obi-Wan and Yoda, as spirits. A perfect ending. I felt complete after watching this movie, it would be great, but, I'm fine without any sequels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PixarloverOct 17, 2012
Anyone who gave this a negative review were clearly out of their mind or they like Twilight. Who knows?

Star Wars... Come on, do I really have to go any further than just saying those two gorgeously combined words? This is where the
Anyone who gave this a negative review were clearly out of their mind or they like Twilight. Who knows?

Star Wars... Come on, do I really have to go any further than just saying those two gorgeously combined words? This is where the franchise began. This is where the epic story would continue into many other forms of media beyond film.

Star Wars is simply the greatest movie ever made and gave birth to the Hollywood blockbusters we know and love today. A wholly epic piece of cinema that continues to live on after its theatrical release 35 years ago.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MrScruffSep 3, 2012
A classic, pure imagination, creativity, and innovation went into creating this movie and it really stands out. The greatest sci-fi movie ever created.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Mar 29, 2011
This was the movie that started it all. The reason the Star Wars saga still influences us in our daily lives was because of this one movie. Thank you George Lucas for giving us a masterpiece and creating the best saga ever!
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
excellent sequel in the series.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
nintendoid13Dec 22, 2010
Ok, movielonely94, you need to take a look at the DVD case again. A New Hope was the FIRST and the best of the STAR WARS series. Anyway, this movie has everything: story, actors, genius director, and the great mystery of Darth Vader. A-MAZING!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerMar 19, 2011
A outstanding movie and the best of all the Star Wars movies, a true classic that is still a blast to watch today again and again, and because of this it gets a perfect 10, you must watch this movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TokyochuchuNov 16, 2015
Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is a classic movie that I must have watched a million times when I was a boy. Now I'm old and have children of my own and sharing Star Wars with them was a magical moment. They love it! Stars Wars is a trulyStar Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is a classic movie that I must have watched a million times when I was a boy. Now I'm old and have children of my own and sharing Star Wars with them was a magical moment. They love it! Stars Wars is a truly timeless film that still excites to this day. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tbagurdrumset94Jan 30, 2012
Just watched it for the millionth time... as always, I wanted to watch it again right away. Very few movies give me that feeling. The story is predictable, but in all the right ways. Besides, the unpredictability was to be saved for theJust watched it for the millionth time... as always, I wanted to watch it again right away. Very few movies give me that feeling. The story is predictable, but in all the right ways. Besides, the unpredictability was to be saved for the sequels... The acting? Does it LOOK like I care about the "bad" acting? Everyone is great. The characters are now so beloved, that there's no way for me to hate on them or the actors. Just go watch it again... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
This was the best of the original series and all the others after those 3 were awful. I actually liked the originals before the digital remastering. At the end the theater yelled hooray and clapped. Well, way back when.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
It started it all. This movie was the best back then and quite simply is just as magnificent and engaging now. It is a pivotal moment in American cinema and culture. You can't deny the genius of this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JSweek91Oct 4, 2011
This is without a shadow of a doubt the finest sci-fi film ever made and, I dare say, the greatest overall movie of all time. Should have won the best picture oscar instead of "Annie Hall". Absolute Classic!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
Star Wars started here. It has plenty of action and story and the characters are anything but lifeless. If you hate this then you are souless.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KubrickFanNov 11, 2011
Possibly the most fun anyone can hope to get out of two hours of film, although it can come off as a little cheesy, under-budget, and badly acted in some places. Ignoring these bad points (as I'm sure we all do when we watch it) Star Wars isPossibly the most fun anyone can hope to get out of two hours of film, although it can come off as a little cheesy, under-budget, and badly acted in some places. Ignoring these bad points (as I'm sure we all do when we watch it) Star Wars is a brilliant film. It's an exciting and vibrant space drama, where everything in it has been done before, but at the same time it feels very original. Harrison Ford and Alec Guinness both have decent turns as Hans Solo and Obi wan Kenobi (or maybe they just look good next to Carrie Fisher and Mark Hamil), and James Earl Jones makes the character Darth Vader into a bold and intimidating villain with his powerfully deep voice. The plot just sort of takes the characters from one spectacular action seen to another, but with this film Lucas created a compelling world and characters, things that would be expanded in future instalments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Jun 23, 2012
The beginning of one of the most epic sagas of history. George Lucas has made ​​a huge masterpiece highly original that still manages to surprise everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryflemanJan 7, 2012
Truly unique and inspired, Star Wars (A New Hope) is a hallmark in film making and one of the best films ever made, it redefines it's genre and and set the groundwork for 5 sequels (unfortunately only 3 where good), countless spin off videoTruly unique and inspired, Star Wars (A New Hope) is a hallmark in film making and one of the best films ever made, it redefines it's genre and and set the groundwork for 5 sequels (unfortunately only 3 where good), countless spin off video games and easily a multibillion dollar franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobJun 9, 2013
While it was Phantom Menace that got me into Star Wars, A New Hope will always be the best film of the series. Hands down the best sci-fi film of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
IplayGAMESone23Mar 23, 2012
Star Wars is one of the most revolutionary movies ever. It was edited in the studio now called Pixar which has produced some of the most AWESOME kids' movies EVER. I think it mixed different true movie aspects very well, and it definitelyStar Wars is one of the most revolutionary movies ever. It was edited in the studio now called Pixar which has produced some of the most AWESOME kids' movies EVER. I think it mixed different true movie aspects very well, and it definitely hits the spot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, I would give this movie a 9.5 out of 10. Great 70s scifi film. Acting great. Mark, and Carrie, and Harrison all did good In this movie. Score is great. Classical star wars music is great. The story is also really good. TheFirst off, I would give this movie a 9.5 out of 10. Great 70s scifi film. Acting great. Mark, and Carrie, and Harrison all did good In this movie. Score is great. Classical star wars music is great. The story is also really good. The effects are really good to. Considering the time perod, they're stunning. Overall, New Hope is a great star wars film. A great way to start a successful franchise. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ObbiePR18Apr 3, 2012
Esta pelicula debio sorprender a aquellos que pagaron su entreda en el 1977. Es completamente fantastica!, Star Wars: A New Hope es un clasico de la ciencia ficcion. Una pelicula que marco esquemas y que se ha convertido en una de las mejoresEsta pelicula debio sorprender a aquellos que pagaron su entreda en el 1977. Es completamente fantastica!, Star Wars: A New Hope es un clasico de la ciencia ficcion. Una pelicula que marco esquemas y que se ha convertido en una de las mejores peliculas de todos los tiempos.La verdad es que cuando la vi, quede sorprendido por la calidad de sus efectos especiales y por la historia. Es super entretenida. Una joya de pelicula. Gracias George Lucas! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
I've seen this movie so many times, and it never gets old. George Lucas redefined the science-fiction genre with this classic film. The special effects aren't in as good of shape as they are in the prequels, but every other aspect possible isI've seen this movie so many times, and it never gets old. George Lucas redefined the science-fiction genre with this classic film. The special effects aren't in as good of shape as they are in the prequels, but every other aspect possible is greater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodDec 16, 2015
One of the greatest scifi films of all time, such amazing depth to this intrrgalaxtic spaceopera it is amazing amd worth all your time. So go out and watch star wars
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
starwarsfanaticAug 1, 2012
Star Wars is still, in my opinion, the greatest film in this series and of all time. Yes, I think it is even better than Empire. Everything that happens and all the characters just feel right.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 4, 2012
Definitely one of the best movies of all time, a classic that forever changed the Sci-Fi genre forever with its improvised special effects visuals and sounds that became staples of the Sci-Fi movies, TV shows and Video games of the future.Definitely one of the best movies of all time, a classic that forever changed the Sci-Fi genre forever with its improvised special effects visuals and sounds that became staples of the Sci-Fi movies, TV shows and Video games of the future. The musical score was absolutely amazing, John Williams is a great composer who added a lot to many great Hollywood films. The main characters were all great actors and actresses. (only the minor characters sucked "look sir droids!", etc. lol). The movie even accidentally spawned an amazing line of toys too! This film was epic and very few come to mind when I try to think of movies as epic that have been released since then. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
jfrotylpe532Dec 4, 2012
The movie that changed the way we look at movies. With amazing special effects and out of this world sci-fi action makes this film an easy A+. Well done George Lucas for actually making a good film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HealthConnectTVDec 4, 2012
One of the most important films of all-time. This is where it all started. Besides kickstarting a storied franchise, the film itself stands the test of time and is an absolute classic. If there were no other Star Wars episodes made toOne of the most important films of all-time. This is where it all started. Besides kickstarting a storied franchise, the film itself stands the test of time and is an absolute classic. If there were no other Star Wars episodes made to film, this movie would still have historical significance as an innovative and original story that brought new light to its genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Cole123Dec 1, 2013
Great action scenes,story and mind blowing special effects for the time(They still look good today).Without a doubt this is not just the best star wars movie but also the best sci-fi film ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
esuJan 20, 2013
It's quite laughable how some people compare movies like this to things like some Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocol movie. You think the effects aren't that good? Oh, I wonder why. This movie was made in 1977. Most of the half-brainedIt's quite laughable how some people compare movies like this to things like some Mission Impossible - Ghost Protocol movie. You think the effects aren't that good? Oh, I wonder why. This movie was made in 1977. Most of the half-brained morons who are giving this movie bad ratings were probably not even within 10 years of being born. Great movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Sergio2008Jan 3, 2016
Innovative, beautiful, and thrilling to watch. Star Wars: Episode IV is a benchmark film that still hold up in 2016. Without question, one of the greatest films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
J-ForceJun 11, 2013
This is one of the best movies ever. Star Wars is the classic legend of all sci-fi films. This movie has a fantastic story and a ton of special effects. This is one of those movies you can keep watching over and over, its a pretty old movieThis is one of the best movies ever. Star Wars is the classic legend of all sci-fi films. This movie has a fantastic story and a ton of special effects. This is one of those movies you can keep watching over and over, its a pretty old movie but it is still hot and it will be around forever. Its best to watch this film first before watching the other star wars movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ginam5Jun 15, 2013
This is at the top of my list of all time favorite movies completely perfect and completely unforgettable. I was a kid when I saw the original in theaters and now my children love it just as much. Can't wait for the next set of Star Wars movies!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
One of my favorite movies, Star Wars creates an incredible universe and characters that feel human, yet other-worldly. The directing is brilliantly done and the story flawlessly streamlines to the climatic goal. This is George Lucas'sOne of my favorite movies, Star Wars creates an incredible universe and characters that feel human, yet other-worldly. The directing is brilliantly done and the story flawlessly streamlines to the climatic goal. This is George Lucas's masterpiece, and is a classic that will be universally loved by generations to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jeff_reviewsJul 5, 2013
"Star Wars: Episode IV- A New Hope" is visually stunning, depth, originality, and a strong story. If one could say this movie in one word it would be epic. Wonderful fun for everyone.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 15, 2013
This is an awesome sci-fi film that boasts of a original and well written script, has great acting (Harrison Ford as Han Solo really makes this movie), the music is epic (John Williams is a magician with this music), the visuals are stillThis is an awesome sci-fi film that boasts of a original and well written script, has great acting (Harrison Ford as Han Solo really makes this movie), the music is epic (John Williams is a magician with this music), the visuals are still great...this film is a great classic that will live on forever with many generations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KabahalyAug 29, 2013
My personal best movie. The movie was just done so well, and who cares about character depth? The movie was meant to be action-y, this is one problem with today's movies, so much character development there is literally no action in it, whichMy personal best movie. The movie was just done so well, and who cares about character depth? The movie was meant to be action-y, this is one problem with today's movies, so much character development there is literally no action in it, which makes me get bored quickly. Sometimes, I cringe at movies with absolutely no action. Like the rest of the movies I rated, I rate movies by the amount of chills I get, and trust me, I got A LOT of chills. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GamerSpinJun 3, 2014
This may not be the best movie for all the people, but for me is completely amazing, the performance in incredible, the soundtrack is beautiful, visual effects are amazing for it year and over all. The story, is simply one of the best i haveThis may not be the best movie for all the people, but for me is completely amazing, the performance in incredible, the soundtrack is beautiful, visual effects are amazing for it year and over all. The story, is simply one of the best i have seen in my life, i love this movie, is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BatFat09Feb 21, 2014
Star Wars in a whole is awesome. I cannot believe that it doesn't have an 100 rating. This classic movie is among the most influential movies of all time, I believe its popularity will stay huge just like wizard of oz.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sammurphy66Jul 24, 2014
Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is without any doubt the greatest film ever created - and will remain in that prestigious position for years to come.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RakkieDOct 30, 2013
One of the best movie's to date. 100% I will show my kids this movie. This movie will forever and always be a Classic and I hope that the next generations will have the privilege of seeing it
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jpz38_HetzerDec 1, 2013
Easily one of the greatest sci fi movie of all times. Second in the series only to empire strikes back. If you haven't seen this, you need to. Immediately.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mordovan89Mar 2, 2014
I personally do not give you 10 followed, but this movie is super entertaining, with a shuddering sound, unforgettable music and a wonderful story.
Although it is unrealistic, this will be the best science fiction movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TheMasiMan1Jan 22, 2016
The oldness of the film shines right through!... but can you blame it? Come on! Its over 40 years old! The fact that its over 40 years old and we are still talking about it, shows how great it is. I got nothing to complain about... oh wait IThe oldness of the film shines right through!... but can you blame it? Come on! Its over 40 years old! The fact that its over 40 years old and we are still talking about it, shows how great it is. I got nothing to complain about... oh wait I do: The Special Edition changes... but Im not gonna hold those against this movie. They were put in later. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Duskycarp116Oct 2, 2015
For a movie that was rush, this is amazing as **** at the point it gave me a nerd boner watching this and brings back the nostalgia. The story is really interesting and the characters have really good characteristic for it's time! The spaceFor a movie that was rush, this is amazing as **** at the point it gave me a nerd boner watching this and brings back the nostalgia. The story is really interesting and the characters have really good characteristic for it's time! The space fights are amazingly well made at the point it looks like George Lucas really push the limited for it's time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GoinBananazJul 26, 2014
It goes without saying that this is a legend of a movie and set a standard for sci-fi films. This is my all time favorite movie for several reasons, one of which is the very memorable characters, and the classic battle between good and evil.It goes without saying that this is a legend of a movie and set a standard for sci-fi films. This is my all time favorite movie for several reasons, one of which is the very memorable characters, and the classic battle between good and evil. I am really looking forward to seeing what they will do with Star Wars Episode 7. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away... Princess Leia (Fisher) is held hostage by the evil Imperial forces in their effort to quell the rebellion against the Galactic Empire. Luke Skywalker (Hamill) and Captain Han Solo (Ford) teamA long time ago in a galaxy far, far away... Princess Leia (Fisher) is held hostage by the evil Imperial forces in their effort to quell the rebellion against the Galactic Empire. Luke Skywalker (Hamill) and Captain Han Solo (Ford) team together with the lovable droid duo, R2-D2 and C-3PO, to rescue the beautiful princess and restore justice in the galaxy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
koothrappaliFeb 1, 2016
Esse filme é realmente um marco na história do cinema. A história e os personagens que todos amam se inicia nesse obra prima chamada Star Wars. Um verdadeiro ótimo filme.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Ham_CriticAug 22, 2015
Anybody that thinks this movie is bad, doesn't have good taste. This was the movie that changed the way films are made, the special effects were amazing for it's time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mm007Oct 12, 2016
This was a revolutionary movie that established scifi as a financially popular genre and allowed many more movies to come to the fore. The backstory might even be better than the actual movie.
AND YES, DARTH VADER ROCKSSS.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
Without this soundtrack, many people would not be playing musical instruments today. This has inspired an entire generation of musicians and John Williams will forever be remembered for his work with Star Wars. Without it, I would not be aWithout this soundtrack, many people would not be playing musical instruments today. This has inspired an entire generation of musicians and John Williams will forever be remembered for his work with Star Wars. Without it, I would not be a fan of Star Wars. I simply cannot overstate this soundtrack's importance to Western society. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffDec 16, 2015
One of the most (if not THE most) revolutionary and groundbreaking science fiction movies of all time, "Star Wars" (or "Episode IV: A New Hope") is a brilliantly inventive and always engaging science fiction adventure filled with charactersOne of the most (if not THE most) revolutionary and groundbreaking science fiction movies of all time, "Star Wars" (or "Episode IV: A New Hope") is a brilliantly inventive and always engaging science fiction adventure filled with characters who we come to know and love in the history of cinema and great special effects that may not hold up to this day, but for a movie made in 1977, you got to give it the benefit of the doubt.

Mark Hamill stars as the movie's main protagonist, Luke Skywalker, who is a young man that discovers that he can be so much more after meeting Obi-Wan Kenobi (Alec Guinness) who tells him about his history with his father and how he was trained.

Luke ends up meeting some more colorful characters on his journey to saving the Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) from the evil Darth Vader (voiced by James Earl Jones) whose plan is to destroy the Rebel Alliance. More characters that help out include Han Solo (Harrison Ford), his Wookiee Chewbacca (Peter Mayhew) and two droids, C-3PO (Anthony Daniels) and R2-D2 (Kenny Baker).

What writer and director George Lucas has created is a fantasy world of his own, and it became one of the most legendary, and culturally significant pieces of motion picture ever. The story is engaging and well told, and even well thought out. We come to care for the characters as soon as we're introduced to them, and we would never know where the motion picture would be today, if "Star Wars" never happened.

Little do we know, that there would be more engaging stories that follow.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
easily rememberable this is the greatest instant classic blockbuster ever created, a collage-esque homage to lots of long forgotten sci-fi b-movies George Lucas' out of this world Space opera venture is full with lots of thrills chills andeasily rememberable this is the greatest instant classic blockbuster ever created, a collage-esque homage to lots of long forgotten sci-fi b-movies George Lucas' out of this world Space opera venture is full with lots of thrills chills and inspires every young audiences alike filled with, good vs evil, hideous but lovable space creatures, a menacing nazi-like galactic empire, a planet destroying super weapon, a princess, a helmet wearing war lord, a rebellion, and a new hope. its a certified classic that easily cannot be missed theres just no way. lots of fun for the whole family who loves anything with action, comedy, romance, and SUSPENSE!!!!!
a film where the force now lies with you.....
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's tricky, but try to imagine a time before Star Wars. Close your eyes, concentrate hard, rewind those famous scrolling credits until there's just blackness. Good. Back in that dark, pre-enlightenment age, 20th Century Fox conducted some market research on their forthcoming sci-fi adventure.

Researchers armed only with a title and brief synopsis came back with some worrying results: only males under 25 expressed a desire to see a film called Star Wars. As a direct result of this research, Star Wars was deliberately packaged to attract older and female cinemagoers.

When Star Wars came out in the summer of 1977 it had been focus-grouped, and to great effect — everybody went to see it.

By November, it had dethroned Jaws in the all-time box office charts, a position it held until Independence Day. Blimey, even the novelisation sold two million copies, and let's not get started on the merchandising. So what happened? After all, nobody's attributing Star Wars' epoch-making, culture-shifting success to a wily decision to put Princess Leia on the posters. The answer is timing.

The 1970s, Hollywood's second golden age, were characterised by baby-boomer film students making pictures personal and dark enough to reflect the political morass of post-Watergate, in-Vietnam America. Though The Exorcist and Jaws are credited with kicking down the doors of the Blockbuster Age, these were not family films. Star Wars was. George Lucas, feted after American Graffiti had made $55 million off a $1.2 million budget, started writing his moralistic space opera in 1973.

Star Wars' timeless appeal lies in its easily identified, universal archetypes — goodies to root for, baddies to boo, a princess to be rescued and so on — and if it is most obviously dated to the 70s by the special effects, so be it. We all love the stormtrooper banging his head! To remove that digitally would be a crime. Mark Hamill said he felt "like a raisin in a giant fruit salad" when making Star Wars; 20 years later, Liam Neeson almost retired from screen acting after his experiences on The Phantom Menace. But George Lucas does not make actors' films — his interest is in the Star Wars myth, not the cult of some Hollywood star.

Isn't it ironic then, that Star Wars remains a rewatchable classic because of the characters and the performances behind them (especially Ford, Fisher, and James Earl Jones). Sure, you can **** at R2-D2 trundling along the sand like a wheelie-bin, but his signature beeps and clucks are as essential to the personality and momentum of the film as the rousing John Williams score. Just as it's hard to remember what cinema was like before Star Wars, it's impossible to view the original film in isolation now. In 1977, it was not Episode IV, it was a self-contained pleasure that made it okay again to cheer at the screen.

A product of its time, certainly, but like the myths that informed it, Star Wars will outlive the lot of us.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UrbanlistenerJan 10, 2016
Not a lot of things to say about this film that hasn't been said already. It is the best sci-fi film ever after episode V, that's what you have to know.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CineFilesApr 29, 2015
When one examines the roster of the tens of thousands of motion pictures produced since the late 1800s, not many stand out as trailblazers. One of the few inarguable members of that select cadre is George Lucas' soaring 1977 space opera, StarWhen one examines the roster of the tens of thousands of motion pictures produced since the late 1800s, not many stand out as trailblazers. One of the few inarguable members of that select cadre is George Lucas' soaring 1977 space opera, Star Wars (or, as it has since become known, Star Wars: A New Hope). Not only is this film a rousing adventure, but, upon its initial release, it revived science fiction as a viable movie medium, and, most importantly, began a special effects revolution that is still going on. Industrial Lights and Magic, the premiere special effects house of the '80s and '90s, was born as a result of Star Wars, and its manifest contributions to the industry have included everything from making the Starship Enterprise fly to breathing life into the dinosaurs of Jurassic Park. It's impossible to estimate the full ramifications of Star Wars, but that single movie has surely influenced much about the making and marketing of motion pictures over the last two decades.

When Star Wars was first released on the Wednesday before Memorial Day in 1977, it arrived in theaters with good reviews and excellent advance word. It didn't take long for it to become a phenomenon (although, admittedly, 1997's publicity for the Special Edition dwarfs that of the original 1977 release). It was a true family film -- perfect for kids and parents, a throwback to the space serials of the past and a look ahead to what the future might hold. Adults appreciated Lucas' masterful, magical movie-making. Children loved all the strange creatures. Suddenly, Star Wars was everywhere; there were bed sheets, lunch boxes, trading cards, action figures, comic books, picture books, posters, records, and just about anything else you could imagine.

The Star Wars fad, such as it was, lasted into the early '80s, and the original film received two additional theatrical runs. Then it was on to the small screen. But watching the movie on videotape, which has been the exclusive viewing experience of just about anyone under the age of twenty, isn't the same as seeing it in a packed theater. Now, however, with the advent of the original movie's twentieth anniversary and the promise of new films in another two years, Star Wars is as hot as it has ever been. Those predicting anything less than a financial windfall for the Special Edition don't have the world's pulse.

Another thing that's instantly recognizable about Star Wars is its music. When George Lucas first approached John Williams for an epic score, little did he imagine that the result would sell millions of copies and spawn a disco-era radio hit. Few motion picture themes are as well- known and often-played as that of Star Wars. Even the music from E.T., the current highest-grossing film, doesn't leap as readily to mind. Williams' evocative, grandiose score provides the perfect compliment to the Star Wars visual experience.

Star Wars borrows from numerous sources, but the most obvious inspirations are the serialized adventures of Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers, Arthurian legends, Greek mythology, and Akira Kurosawa's The Hidden Fortress. There are also multiple nods to Westerns and the dogfights of World War II movies. But, like all great craftsmen, Lucas has managed to fashion this material in a manner that not only honors the original sources, but makes it uniquely his own. Hacks rip off other movies; artists synthesize and pay homage to their inspirations. Compare Independence Day to Star Wars and the difference will become apparent.

During its original period of theatrical release, Star Wars' special effects were described as everything from "eye popping" to "mind blowing". And, indeed, for their time, they were. (Keep in mind that King Kong's rather cheesy visuals had won the Academy Award just two months before Star Wars was released.) In fact, they're not bad even by today's standards. But "not bad" wasn't good enough for Lucas, and his vision of what they should have been fills the screen in the Special Edition. This is most notable during three key sequences: Luke and Ben's entry into the city of Mos Eisley, Han's heretofore unseen hanger bay meeting with Jabba the Hut, and the final attack on the Death Star. However, in scenes both with and without effects improvements, Star Wars is just as compelling and invigorating a movie experience today as it was when it first came out, and the new stuff blends in seamlessly with the old.

Since 1977, there have been many science fiction movies, but none has managed to equal Star Wars' blend of adventure, likable characters, and epic storytelling. Like some indefatigable King of the Hill, it stands alone and triumphant, regardless of the many imitators that assail its position. As is true of Citizen Kane, Casablanca, and Gone with the Wind, Star Wars will endure long after its creators are gone. And watching this today is like coming home after a long journey and finding everything just as you remember it, if not better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheDude-Sep 9, 2015
A new hope is a fantastic science fiction film with a story that resembles that of greek mythology but brings it in the most exciting of ways with great characters and dialogue moments between eachother and the cherry on top is theA new hope is a fantastic science fiction film with a story that resembles that of greek mythology but brings it in the most exciting of ways with great characters and dialogue moments between eachother and the cherry on top is the groundbreaking special effects and action sequences. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Prequelhater878May 19, 2015
One of the greatest movies of all time. It wowed audiences in 1977 and it still wows people today. If you haven't seen this movie, stop whatever you are doing right now and go watch it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FarhanFirozOct 2, 2015
This is one of the best movies i've seen and this movie revolutionizes the whole cinema. This movie is a timeless classic.There is nothing to hate in the movie. The story is simple and great.The VFX were mind blowing when it was released inThis is one of the best movies i've seen and this movie revolutionizes the whole cinema. This movie is a timeless classic.There is nothing to hate in the movie. The story is simple and great.The VFX were mind blowing when it was released in 1977. And it still holds up till now. Darth Vader is one of most iconic villian's I've seen on the big screen. All the characters are likeable and you care for these characters too. The action was great in the movie. Han solo and Chewbacca brings all the laughs to the movie. The chemistry between obi wan and Luke was so good. The movie explores well the universe. The score of the movie is one of the best things which made the movie great. The only issue I had with the movie was the last fight between obi wan and Darth Vader wasn't impacting.

In the end star wars is a must see movie for all generation and your going to have a blast with it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleDec 23, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before watching this today, I had seen one Star Wars film – several years ago. I was bored out of my mind. But today I had a revelation. I was totally engrossed in the character's stories and even the violence occurring in A New Hope. I didn't want it to end, but lucky for me I have six more to go.

As a newly converted fan, I could honestly see myself watching this movie several more times and loving it more each go-round. That just cannot be said for so many movies. There's just this encapsulating complexity that you must find the answer to – even if it means spending your life waiting for the next release.

As for the movie itself, each character was developed in a way that it left room for growth at a later time, but still satisfied the need for characters that were complex and we cared about. From the "death" of Obi-Wan Kenobi to Han Solo's epiphany and, of course, the effervescence of Princess Leia and Luke Skywalker themselves, I was so enamored. Star Wars may be an action movie, but you're left with the feeling of something more... Perhaps like the force.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviefanatic15Jul 7, 2015
Star Wars. What can I say about it that hasn't been said before. To me Star wars is one of those films where you watch it over and over again. I think this film is full of almost every genre. Science-fiction, adventure, action, etc. EverStar Wars. What can I say about it that hasn't been said before. To me Star wars is one of those films where you watch it over and over again. I think this film is full of almost every genre. Science-fiction, adventure, action, etc. Ever since I saw this film, I have become a total movie fan and a star wars fan. If my life didn't have star wars in it, my life would be a dark place. I've seen this movie so many times that when I finish watching a screening, I feel like I haven't seen it enough times. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Cheesus00Jul 10, 2015
Without it, I doubt that many of today's blockbusters would exist. It may not have changed the way movies were told but it certainly changed the way they were made, introducing to us many new ideas and concepts in the visual effects medium.Without it, I doubt that many of today's blockbusters would exist. It may not have changed the way movies were told but it certainly changed the way they were made, introducing to us many new ideas and concepts in the visual effects medium. It is without a question the ultimate blockbuster, and that is just scraping the surface of how influential and great it is. Easily in my Top 10 Favorites list along with Episode 5. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
smiyamotNov 29, 2015
You have to remember this was made light years ago in a galaxy far, far away. At that time, sci-fi movies were really B grade movies so this was really something. Siskel and Ebert gave it 2 thumbs down and I think this led them to changeYou have to remember this was made light years ago in a galaxy far, far away. At that time, sci-fi movies were really B grade movies so this was really something. Siskel and Ebert gave it 2 thumbs down and I think this led them to change how they rated movies. A great movie needs a great villain and I give you Darth Vader, master of the dark side of the force. His mentor Obi Wan teaches young Luke to choose the right path, to avoid the dark forces. Hmmm, sounds like good parenting. The Empire has a planet destroying weapon so the good guys have to stop them. For those of us old enough to have seen this in the first run, there was no "Episode IV" in the title. After making mega bucks, George Lucas says "oh yeah, we wrote 9 episodes but the others were too boring." Now that we are up to number 7, who's kidding who? I have this DVD in my collection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NestriReviewsDec 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An incredible opening for the original Star Wars trilogy, A New Hope raised the bar for it's time when it comes to action and special effects. I certainly like this movie's story. It's a lot of fun, it's packed with incredible characters and the action is very cool. Han Solo steals the show in this movie, by being really entertaining and funny. Luke Skywalker is also a very good character, with charisma and with a charming personality. Leia is a fun, hot and badass female character. And, also, Vader (Anakin), the guy that I hate the most for being such an evil human being in Episode III, shines in this movie with his dark and enigmatic image. Obi One is one of my favorite, who is wise and awesome in this movie. So, A New Hope is fantastic and a masterpiece that everyone should watch and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EpicLadySpongeDec 30, 2015
A powerful Sci-Fi classic that will soon have a sequel that's better than its predecessor anyways. There's enough adventure in the saga waiting for you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gameguardian21Jan 7, 2016
This movie was a huge success, and I'm not just talking about the box office. I am talking about the history of movie making. This is my third favorite star wars movie after the empire strikes back and the force awakens. It has well madeThis movie was a huge success, and I'm not just talking about the box office. I am talking about the history of movie making. This is my third favorite star wars movie after the empire strikes back and the force awakens. It has well made characters, great special effects for it's time, and a great story line. I personally have no sin for this movie, because there is nothing really wrong with the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LepstrungJan 10, 2016
A new hope might not be best movie ever but it did start the best movie series ever. Everytime I see this movie I remember who great it was and its always morebetter then it was last time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OltgonFeb 12, 2016
So I Just watched the despecialized edition of Star Wars today, so there was no unnecessary cgi. Mixed with critical thinking and better movie knowledge, Star Wars ''a new hope'' is even better than I could remember.

Its directing and
So I Just watched the despecialized edition of Star Wars today, so there was no unnecessary cgi. Mixed with critical thinking and better movie knowledge, Star Wars ''a new hope'' is even better than I could remember.

Its directing and cinematography was neater than I remembered, there was many good looking shots, it feels bit of a rough and dirty job at times, though.

The chills from opening theme, to the epic throne room ending; John Williams succeed in composing a memorable and classic score, which helps setting the tone of emotions throughout the movie, simply brilliant.

Alec Guiness' performance is flawless, other than him; the film got a few weak performances. I was more impressed by the supporting actors, the leads seemed to struggle, though Harrison Ford's performance was decent.

Special effect masterpiece; looking at the opening sequence and the other sequences, nothing looks off, it holds up really well. And still looks epic, and blends in well. It has even aged better than return of the Jedi, return of the Jedi coming out six years after ''a new hope'', so the special effects crew of star wars did an excellent job.

It's a classic good versus evil story, it's seemed not to be written as a masterpiece, but more of adventurous fun, it's about the most fun you can have watching a movie. It's the hero with a thousand faces, but it's a reason it stands out - the relatable characters, development, design, world building, it feels grand and interesting. This movie is a perfect example of world building, showing off all kinds of creatures and areas, while continuously expanding the universe from scene to scene.

For the people who refuse to watch it just because they feel like it's ''overexposed'', I feel like you should at least give it a chance, then I'm fine with whatever opinion you have on it. Star Wars is one of my favourite movies, only Star Wars movie I like better is the empire strikes back. I highly recommend this for all kinds of movie goer, a reason it became such a pop culture phenomenon.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SanDiegoMar 14, 2016
I know this movie is the best of all time. My favourite character is Darth Vader because he's awesome. I like the future, the ships, the weapons and fight scenes. Everybody loves it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Antgiog1202Aug 9, 2016
Here begins the greatest cinematic achievement of all time, and arguably one of the greatest stories ever created. Originally conceived as a serialized popcorn fest, Star Wars surpassed even George's keen and bombastic imagination to become aHere begins the greatest cinematic achievement of all time, and arguably one of the greatest stories ever created. Originally conceived as a serialized popcorn fest, Star Wars surpassed even George's keen and bombastic imagination to become a central part of movie history. My point here is that Star Wars is a classic even to people who don't know Pulp Fiction from Twilight. It has everything you could possibly want: action, romance, midgets, quotable dialogue, and a reminiscent score by John Williams. Star Wars is the definition of success.

Rating: 10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CriticMLTJun 5, 2016
Thanks to this film I became such a huge star wars fan. It is one of the greatest sci-fi film every and i hope that the force will be with you. The story is well written and everything about this movie is great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
superbatJan 1, 2017
A New Hope laid the foundations for the sci-fi genre and for one of the greatest movie trilogies ever. Anyone seeing it for the first time will fall in love with it's main characters; Luke, Leia (RIP Carrie), Han Solo and Chew are all aA New Hope laid the foundations for the sci-fi genre and for one of the greatest movie trilogies ever. Anyone seeing it for the first time will fall in love with it's main characters; Luke, Leia (RIP Carrie), Han Solo and Chew are all a pleasure to watch. The story is well-balanced and the action is solid. There will never be another movie like it: it's a timeless classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 20, 2016
Star Wars changed the world. Literally. It is an epic space opera film about hope, romance, war, friendship, loss, and so much more. It is the first chapter of the greatest trilogy of movies of all time. There is nothing else I can say thatStar Wars changed the world. Literally. It is an epic space opera film about hope, romance, war, friendship, loss, and so much more. It is the first chapter of the greatest trilogy of movies of all time. There is nothing else I can say that has not been said already. If you're that one person in the galaxy that still somehow has not seen this movie, do yourself a favour and watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SchrebelsApr 10, 2017
One of my all time favorite movies. Really not much to say. Such a rich universe and the characters are so strong, not to mention one of the best villains of all time. Sci-Fi MASTERPIECE!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Cole_SoderstromOct 25, 2016
An amazing film and if you havn't seen it what have you been doing with your life? This film has an amazing cast of characters and is a classic tale of good vs evil. It is a much watch for anybody
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JurassicWookieNov 7, 2016
Its Star Wars [1977] SO WHAT DO YOU EXPECT? Special Effects Revolutionary! Story line is Awesome! and if you haven't seen it....uhhh...WATCH IT! You can't go wrong with the original trilogy!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thatonenerd2187Dec 11, 2016
This was the film that changed cinema for science fiction and movies alike. It's story, characters, and overall fun kept us invested, and the special effects and filming still hold up to this day, which is a big surprise to me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CharlieW.Feb 21, 2006
A fun and exciting movie. I hated to see Ben die.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattMOct 29, 2008
Michael. H., you are in denial. this film happens to be the most successful and popular movie ever made. i guess everyone's a nerd, because everyone's seen star wars.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AlexG.Apr 15, 2008
Ignore the crappy sci-fi effects this was the late 70s but this is a film classic not to be missed....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
stanleyh.Oct 27, 2005
Excellent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mikekMay 27, 2009
The first star wars i saw the commercials for the special edition in 1997 and thought it was a new movie then my mom tells me that's already out and she went to the local video store and rented it i most of watched it ten times before The first star wars i saw the commercials for the special edition in 1997 and thought it was a new movie then my mom tells me that's already out and she went to the local video store and rented it i most of watched it ten times before returning it to find their where sequels...i actually saw return of the jedi before empire..which was confusing..but this movie i now today live by the jedi way or at least try i am a fanboy and feel foolish not to of seen it till i was 8 now i can't comprehend not knowing it i even have a darth vader tattoo on my should so this is the one that started everything and is still amazing today. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
This was a revolutionary movie that established scifi as a financially popular genre and allowed many more movies to come to the fore. The backstory might even be better than the actual movie.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 21, 2011
Easily one of the greatest films of all time. A New Hope is a classic original sci-fi film that established George Lucas as one of the premire directors of our time. The only flaw is that the acting could have been a lot better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews