Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 1259 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away... Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) is held hostage by the evil Imperial forces in their effort to quell the rebellion against the Galactic Empire. Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) and Captain Han Solo (Harrison Ford) team together with the lovable droidA long time ago in a galaxy far, far away... Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) is held hostage by the evil Imperial forces in their effort to quell the rebellion against the Galactic Empire. Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) and Captain Han Solo (Harrison Ford) team together with the lovable droid duo, R2-D2 and C-3PO, to rescue the beautiful princess and restore justice in the galaxy. [20th Century Fox] Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Gerald Clarke
    May 10, 2016
    100
    A grand and glorious film that may well be the smash hit of 1977, and certainly is the best movie of the year so far.
  2. 100
    An exhilarating update of "Flash Gordon," very much in the same half-jokey, half-earnest mood, but backed by special effects that, for once, really work and are intelligently integrated with the story.
  3. 100
    The aerial dogfight Dykstra and Stears have helped Lucas perfect as his climactic piece de resistance looks more exciting than its antecedents in live-action war movies. It’s the most gorgeous stylized combat sequence since the underwater battle at the end of "Thunderball," a project that won an Oscar for Stears.
  4. Reviewed by: Ron Pennington
    May 10, 2016
    100
    Lucas combines excellent comedy and drama and progresses it with exciting action on tremendously effective space battles. Likeable heroes on noble missions and despicable villains capable of the most dastardly deeds are all wrapped up in some of the most spectacular special effects ever to illuminate a motion picture screen. The result is spellbinding and totally captivating on all levels.
  5. Reviewed by:  Penelope Gilliatt
    May 10, 2016
    90
    There is something dazzling about a sci-fi film that manages to call upon the energies of both futurism and long-held faith. The movie is not to be compared in ferocity of imagination with Kubrick’s “2001”—significant that the music here is merely illustrative, never caustic or memorable, and that there is nothing of Kubrick’s vision of a blanched form of existence—but it is exuberantly entertaining.
  6. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Gene Siskel
    88
    Star Wars is not a great movie in the sense that it describes the human condition. It simply is a fun picture that will appeal to those who enjoy Buck Rogers-style adventures. What places it a sizable cut about the routine is its spectacular visual effects, the best since Stanley Kubrick's "2001." [27 May 1977]
  7. Reviewed by: Joy Gould Boyum
    May 10, 2016
    60
    Rendering all of its materials with a self-protective tongue-in-cheek tone, Star Wars is fun. But if the movie appeals to the child in all of us, it also may seem to the adult within a good deal less delightful. There's something depressing about seeing all these impressive cinematic gifts and all this extraordinary technological skills lavished on such puerile materials.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 218
  1. bill
    Jul 15, 2009
    10
    This is indeed the best sci-fi film ever. I loved this movie when I was three and still love it to this day. A great story.
  2. Nov 16, 2015
    10
    Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is a classic movie that I must have watched a million times when I was a boy. Now I'm old and have childrenStar Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope is a classic movie that I must have watched a million times when I was a boy. Now I'm old and have children of my own and sharing Star Wars with them was a magical moment. They love it! Stars Wars is a truly timeless film that still excites to this day. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2015
    10
    Without it, I doubt that many of today's blockbusters would exist. It may not have changed the way movies were told but it certainly changedWithout it, I doubt that many of today's blockbusters would exist. It may not have changed the way movies were told but it certainly changed the way they were made, introducing to us many new ideas and concepts in the visual effects medium. It is without a question the ultimate blockbuster, and that is just scraping the surface of how influential and great it is. Easily in my Top 10 Favorites list along with Episode 5. Expand
  4. May 5, 2015
    9
    Fantastic! its so hard to believe that a movie like this was achieved in the 70s. A monumental movie that starts a saga to live through theFantastic! its so hard to believe that a movie like this was achieved in the 70s. A monumental movie that starts a saga to live through the generations Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2014
    9
    Star Wars is a fantastic Sci-Fi & Fantasy Action Adventure movie that takes place:"A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away..." and tellsStar Wars is a fantastic Sci-Fi & Fantasy Action Adventure movie that takes place:"A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away..." and tells the story of a young boy who wants to become something more than what he was raised for.But without any preparations he enters in this dangerous adventure, finding dark secrets of his past, in order for him to become a hero that will save the universe.The movie is filled with fantastic quotable lines of dialogue and a classic adventure of good vs evil. Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2016
    8
    WHAT I LIKED: The first Star Wars could have easily been a miss, but it's Lucas' focus on these incredible characters that makes it. It's aWHAT I LIKED: The first Star Wars could have easily been a miss, but it's Lucas' focus on these incredible characters that makes it. It's a true joy seeing them interact with an amazing world and amazing scenarios, and it's for that reason that this film has stood the test of time and gone down in history. It truly changed film forever
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: Compared to later films, this one doesn't quite live up in terms of plot, and Lucas ruins aspects of it with every special edition
    VERDICT: It kick started the best franchise of all time with a bang thanks to Lucas' creative flair and focus on character. 'Episode 4' changed film forever
    Expand
  7. JaredC.
    Aug 21, 2007
    0
    The boringest, terribly edited Sci-Fi film to date.

See all 218 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises

    Ranked: The Best and Worst Film Franchises Image
    Published: August 8, 2012
    Can an ongoing film franchise maintain high quality over many years and multiple movies? This week's new Bourne movie only confirms how hard a task that is, though our rankings of 25 major film franchises shows that it isn't impossible.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.