Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: May 21, 1980
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1300 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,228
Mixed:
18
Negative:
54
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MarkS.Jul 5, 2006
See, this is a perfect example of why you should always be wary of trusting critics. This is not arguably the best Star Wars film, it just is. One of the best films of all time. The fact that the first is rated so much higher is disgusting. See, this is a perfect example of why you should always be wary of trusting critics. This is not arguably the best Star Wars film, it just is. One of the best films of all time. The fact that the first is rated so much higher is disgusting. Very few films truly deserve a 10. This is one of them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NASep 27, 2006
Best Star Wars of the whole series. Action packed from begining to end, very dark, and extremely unpredictable. I mean, there are very few people in the USA who don't know what "I am your father" means. Great battle at Hoth and really Best Star Wars of the whole series. Action packed from begining to end, very dark, and extremely unpredictable. I mean, there are very few people in the USA who don't know what "I am your father" means. Great battle at Hoth and really great chase in the asteroid scene. A perfect 10, Star Wars at its finest Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkKJan 9, 2009
Whoa! What's with all the low scores? This is a timeless classic and definitely the best of the original trilogy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jackbJul 5, 2009
What is wrong with these critics? a 78? Empire strikes back is easily one of the greatest movies ever made and almost universally agreed as THE best Star Wars movie 10 out of 10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannySOct 10, 2007
The Empire Strikes Back truly was a masterpeice. Not only was it a necessary film for the trilogy, but it was (in my opinion) the episode that brought out that "star wars feel" more than any of the other 5 films. It displayed the truth power The Empire Strikes Back truly was a masterpeice. Not only was it a necessary film for the trilogy, but it was (in my opinion) the episode that brought out that "star wars feel" more than any of the other 5 films. It displayed the truth power and nature of the dark side, and also the importance of the light side. With Yoda's teachings, came knowledge of the light side. With Vaders presence (and lukes duel with him), we truly grasped an understanding of the Dark Side. I feel that this movie, as well as Revenge of the Sith, were the only two movies that taught us of "The nature of the dark side." Along with all of these revelations, came a storyline of unparalleled beauty. The chemistry of this movie is amazing and the characters' performances shall go down in history. I give this movie a 10/10. Thank you again George Lucas and Metacritic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MacMFeb 3, 2008
This is Star Wars! An shining example of the best in Sci-fi/Fantasy film-making..A quite immersive film experience with lots of depth and feeling. You can really feel the danger that the Empire poses to the Rebellion here. George This is Star Wars! An shining example of the best in Sci-fi/Fantasy film-making..A quite immersive film experience with lots of depth and feeling. You can really feel the danger that the Empire poses to the Rebellion here. George Lucas's saga definitely benefited from the screenplay and direction being outsourced..John Williams's score is superb and flows perfectly with the on-screen action. A wonderful film that is both fascinating and delightful. The trilogy is so legendary mainly from the strength of this film. The saga started to go downhill in Return of the Jedi, though that film still had some strong scenes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikekMay 27, 2009
My favorite movie of all time and by far the best star wars film..the darkness is intense in this ..the characters are acted amazingly. the sets are unmistakable by any fan ..the snow battle on hoth is legendary and the final minutes between My favorite movie of all time and by far the best star wars film..the darkness is intense in this ..the characters are acted amazingly. the sets are unmistakable by any fan ..the snow battle on hoth is legendary and the final minutes between vader and luke are timeless....a must see for anyone with a little sense of that theirs more out their. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MBMJun 25, 2009
This film is a near masterpiece, it refuses to age and is capable of giving the most cynical viewer goosebumps if they give it a chance. It is a film that transcends genres, it's more than a kid's sci-fi yarn. For starters This film is a near masterpiece, it refuses to age and is capable of giving the most cynical viewer goosebumps if they give it a chance. It is a film that transcends genres, it's more than a kid's sci-fi yarn. For starters Kasdan's script is beautiful and makes the characters so much more than two dimentional cutouts. The look of the film is visual ambrosia from start to finish, especially the Bespin section of the film. The story evolves to mythological proportions. Mark Hamill's contribution is often underrated, his interaction with Frank Oz's Yoda helps give the puppet a heartbeat that the prequel version can't get close to. Of course John Williams tops it all of with a perfect moving score. In short, If you've ever wondered what the fuss is about the Star Wars franchise, all you need to do is watch this. On a personal note it is my all time favourite film, there is a time for Orsen Welles and Kirosawa, but there's always time for Empire. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Nov 16, 2008
I laugh at the low critics reviews for this movie. Even if they skipped the first one and had no idea what was going on, it would still be one of the best most complete sci-fi movies of all time. Think about the impact that Star Wars has I laugh at the low critics reviews for this movie. Even if they skipped the first one and had no idea what was going on, it would still be one of the best most complete sci-fi movies of all time. Think about the impact that Star Wars has made throughout the world. Almost everyone in every modern society knows about Luke Skywalker and his quest to understand the force, in order to save his family, friends, and without realizing it the galaxy. The environments, the vehicles, and the nature of rebellion are all impressive.... Most impressive! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeVr33zAug 30, 2010
Possibly the greatest science fiction film of all time, The Empire Strikes Back put the spirit of adventure and drama back into action movies. Watching it even now is still an incredible experience. I will admit that the acting may seem cornyPossibly the greatest science fiction film of all time, The Empire Strikes Back put the spirit of adventure and drama back into action movies. Watching it even now is still an incredible experience. I will admit that the acting may seem corny at times, but consider what the actors are working with. It's a space epic bigger than themselves, with characters that will be remembered for all time. 10/10 Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
JacobAug 14, 2013
The Empire Strikes Back is an amazing film. It has likeable characters and engaging story and is topped off by a fantastic presentation consisting of a great score and special effects that still hold up flawlessly even thirty years later. NotThe Empire Strikes Back is an amazing film. It has likeable characters and engaging story and is topped off by a fantastic presentation consisting of a great score and special effects that still hold up flawlessly even thirty years later. Not only that but it surpasses the original creating one of those rare sequels that is better than the first one and is the best of the franchise. On top of that this is one of those rare films that I have no problems with at all. My only gripes are the changes made in later versions of the film but those I can easily overlook. Alterations aside this is pretty much a perfect film that I have no problems with making this not only my favorite Star Wars movie but one of my favorite films of all time. I’ve watched the movie dozens of times and I am probably going to keep watching it for many years to come. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
great follow up to A New Hope.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
TokyochuchuNov 20, 2015
Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back is arguably the best film in the franchise. The plot is deeper, the tone is darker and the characters are more fleshed out. Not much more to say beyond that. I've seen this classic film manyStar Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back is arguably the best film in the franchise. The plot is deeper, the tone is darker and the characters are more fleshed out. Not much more to say beyond that. I've seen this classic film many times. I will see it many times more, I think. That is the mark of a truly great movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tbagurdrumset94Jan 30, 2012
The twist at the end almost makes me wish that I was older when I first watched this. Maybe it would have impacted me more? But then I think, "it is mandatory for all children to see the Star Wars films". And I certainly wont be denying myThe twist at the end almost makes me wish that I was older when I first watched this. Maybe it would have impacted me more? But then I think, "it is mandatory for all children to see the Star Wars films". And I certainly wont be denying my future children the opportunity to see them just so they can "understand" them better. While I enjoyed all 6 (yes, ALL 6 films), I think that I've determined this one to be my favourite. When I first saw it at age 6 or 7, there was a point late in the film where I was terrified of what might come next... The film had such an impact on me, that I didn't watch it again for quite a while. This is a good thing. And yes, I kind of contradicted myself with the whole "impact" thing... but that's what Star Wars will do to you. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
doctor2001Apr 25, 2011
The best film in the star wars saga because it's filled with action and has one of the most shocking scenes ever when you know happens. Yoda is first met in this film the best Jedi of them all.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
KaokashinJul 25, 2011
The best Star Wars movie! It takes a movie that seemed to have perfect characters with perfect interaction face reality as the movie took a turn towards the dark side(excuse the pun). We get the most memorable faces of the franchise. DarthThe best Star Wars movie! It takes a movie that seemed to have perfect characters with perfect interaction face reality as the movie took a turn towards the dark side(excuse the pun). We get the most memorable faces of the franchise. Darth Vader, Boba Fett, Han Solo, and even Yoda. This is where Star Wars went from being a fantasy story and became a story to be loved by those of all ages Expand
28 of 31 users found this helpful283
All this user's reviews
10
JawsPapi87Aug 9, 2011
This is one of the best films of all time. It's way darker than A New Hope and even more brilliant. Everything about it is genius. It's thought-provoking, too. Not to mention "The Scene" near the end.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
VulcanDec 24, 2017
The best Star Wars movie ever made. In some ways, the best movie ever made (the shot of "I am your father" will forever be one of the most memorable in movie history)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZilcellMay 28, 2012
I don't consider it to be the best Star Wars but it is still among the best in the sci-fi genre. This Star Wars presents a lot of unanswered questions that are answered in episode VI. Its a ton of fun to watch.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ryflemanJan 7, 2012
One of the few sequels that surpasses the original in every way, Empire Strikes Back is one of the closest examples to a perfect film that there is, and anyone who disagrees is either an imbecile or (and most likely this) has formed a biasedOne of the few sequels that surpasses the original in every way, Empire Strikes Back is one of the closest examples to a perfect film that there is, and anyone who disagrees is either an imbecile or (and most likely this) has formed a biased opinion that Star Wars is a nerd series that they are above (so an imbecile). Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloFeb 8, 2012
Star Wars steps it up a notch in Episode V. This is a captivating piece of cinema, with some of the most iconic characters and movie moments that ever have been, and ever will be. Other movies have tried to tap into what made this film great,Star Wars steps it up a notch in Episode V. This is a captivating piece of cinema, with some of the most iconic characters and movie moments that ever have been, and ever will be. Other movies have tried to tap into what made this film great, but the majority have failed. This is one of the most quotable movies ever. Simply flawless. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
OnAnarchyAug 18, 2012
One of the best films ever made. Taking the directors chair out from under Lucas allowed Kershner to craft this film into a masterpiece of cinema. Focusing not only on effects, the story is deep, dark, and profound. The standard 'heroOne of the best films ever made. Taking the directors chair out from under Lucas allowed Kershner to craft this film into a masterpiece of cinema. Focusing not only on effects, the story is deep, dark, and profound. The standard 'hero always wins' ending is omitted and replaced with a realistic and logical progression to one of the great epics ever created. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ObbiePR18Apr 3, 2012
Le mejor de todas. Es dificil lograr superar a la anterior y The Empire Strikes Back logra mejorar en todos los aspectos posibles. Es mas detallada, mas elaborada, con una historia mas definida y con una mejor personificacion de losLe mejor de todas. Es dificil lograr superar a la anterior y The Empire Strikes Back logra mejorar en todos los aspectos posibles. Es mas detallada, mas elaborada, con una historia mas definida y con una mejor personificacion de los personajes. La escena de el final es simplemente la mejor escena de la ciencia ficcion. La mejor pelicula de ciencia ficcion que he visto en toda mi vida! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
EverlongApr 7, 2012
This is easily the best science fiction film ever created and I can praise it to no end. The Empire Strikes Back is also one of those rare sequels that exceed the original in terms of excellence which is a testament to it's brilliance.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
WazzlesFeb 5, 2015
A far darker, more mature Star Wars. That 10/10 applies only to the theatrical version. Everything this film does works and works perfectly. I have nothing bad to say about its original form. The various Special Editions are still excellent,A far darker, more mature Star Wars. That 10/10 applies only to the theatrical version. Everything this film does works and works perfectly. I have nothing bad to say about its original form. The various Special Editions are still excellent, but I would rate them in the area of 8.5-9/10, with issues mostly being dialogue changes. See this film in any form, but the 1980 theatrical version is a must-see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
wesker2012Jun 1, 2012
Classic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
spydie777Oct 26, 2012
the best star wars movie of all time with a fantastic ending yeah!!!! but one thing is very akward in this movie, leia........why you kissed your brother???
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
jedijared182Apr 14, 2013
Honestly the 78 rating is wrong. The Empire Strikes Back is the best film of one of the most iconic trilogies of all time. It took all of the good parts from its predecessor and added a darker element to it. It is fun to watch Luke grow inHonestly the 78 rating is wrong. The Empire Strikes Back is the best film of one of the most iconic trilogies of all time. It took all of the good parts from its predecessor and added a darker element to it. It is fun to watch Luke grow in his quest to become a jedi and Han Solo remains one of the greatest supporting characters of all time. This is a great film. A must see! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MonsieurEamesJul 12, 2012
My favorite of all the Star Wars movies. Full of unexpected twists and epic battle scenes. This is that rare sequel that exceeds, if not improves on, the standards of its predecessor.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
starwarsfanaticAug 1, 2012
Still one of the best movies ever made, even though the original is better. The only complaint I could have is that Luke is not whiny enough and the Dagobah scenes are kinda boring, but overall an extremely good movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NecromusDec 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of those rare occurrences where the sequel to a movie surpasses the original. Once again we have great visuals, a great musical score by John Williams, great Actors and Actresses, a great story and great directing. I remember as a kid talking about how shocked we were that Darth Vader claimed to be Luke's father for years... A very dark movie with a cliffhanger that made you wait in anticipation to see the next Star Wars movie. Between the Yoda puppet voiced by Frank Oz was far superior to the CGI Yoda in the prequels imo (except for the Yoda fight scene was great which would have been difficult to do with the puppet). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
WhiteTalpaJan 4, 2013
This is my opinion is the best Star wars film. Not once did i ever myself bored, this film carries the story in an great direction. This film also creates and continues to develop some of the best characters seen in any star wars films.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
HealthConnectTVDec 4, 2012
My absolute favorite movie of all-time. There's nothing I could say here to do this film justice in what it meant to me and how much I enjoyed it. Not because it's dark and foreboding. Not because of the cliche-breaking ending. Because ofMy absolute favorite movie of all-time. There's nothing I could say here to do this film justice in what it meant to me and how much I enjoyed it. Not because it's dark and foreboding. Not because of the cliche-breaking ending. Because of the aesthetics. Because of the atmosphere. Because ... everything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NikoZguri1997Jun 6, 2014
not only is "The Empire Strikes Back" the best Star Wars movie ever made, but it's also one of the greatest movies ever made! it has everything what made the original Star Wars a huge phenomenon, improving the first movie in every single way.not only is "The Empire Strikes Back" the best Star Wars movie ever made, but it's also one of the greatest movies ever made! it has everything what made the original Star Wars a huge phenomenon, improving the first movie in every single way. like special effects are better here, the stakes are a lot higher, the characters are fantastic with perfect development and the story was absolutely top-notch! Darth Vader, Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, Boba Fett, Yoda, C3PO, R2D2, every single character in this movie are phenomenal! i loved it when i was kid, i still love it today Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
jyzmanMar 8, 2013
The best Star Wars. Harrison Ford is great in this movie. The story, lightsaber battle, dialogue, special effects, and characters are all awesome. Review is done but i needed to more characters to post it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheLulzinatorMar 28, 2013
How is this only a 78 metascore? Not only is this my favorite Star Wars movie but it is also what I consider to be the best sci-fi movie of all time. It climaxes the trilogy perfectly, it adds depth to the characters, there is a twist withHow is this only a 78 metascore? Not only is this my favorite Star Wars movie but it is also what I consider to be the best sci-fi movie of all time. It climaxes the trilogy perfectly, it adds depth to the characters, there is a twist with Darth Vader, and Luke learns of his faults and how to overcome them. Star Wars IV A New Hope is an amazing movie, but so was this movie. It even holds a 97% on Rotten Tomatos while A New Hope only holds a 94%. This movie is on every Top 10 sci-fi lists out there. How can any critic hate this movie? If you haven't seen it already, stop reading my review and go watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Sergio2008Jan 3, 2016
The pinnacle of all Star Wars films. Empire is the film with the most substance, character development, and memorability. The opening sequence is one of the most spectacular in all of cinema. The bad guys get the upper hand, but this onlyThe pinnacle of all Star Wars films. Empire is the film with the most substance, character development, and memorability. The opening sequence is one of the most spectacular in all of cinema. The bad guys get the upper hand, but this only fuels us to root more emotionally for our heroes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
J-ForceJun 11, 2013
This is the best Star Wars film of all time, and the best sci-fi movie in history. This movie has the best story of all the star wars films. When i first watched this movie it made be an even bigger star wars fan than i am now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
Star Wars introduces us to a universe and characters, The Empire Strikes Back takes us deeper into both. A daring and different sequel, Empire takes us on a journey. We see Luke train and grow while learning from Yoda and we see anStar Wars introduces us to a universe and characters, The Empire Strikes Back takes us deeper into both. A daring and different sequel, Empire takes us on a journey. We see Luke train and grow while learning from Yoda and we see an entertaining and heartfelt, not sappy, romance between Leia and Han. It is a darker movie than the original, and it takes the characters to their limits. The acting is great and the movie does a great job of building a connection to the entire audience. C-3PO and R2-D2 once again bring some comic relief to the film and it is flawlessly interjected. This is the best of the franchise and one of the best movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jeff_reviewsJul 5, 2013
Darker than the first, and in this case, it works. "Star Wars: Episode V The Empire Strikes Back" is dark, deep, and emotional that is stronger than the original, and it works very well. With a stellar ending and the memorable line "Luke, IDarker than the first, and in this case, it works. "Star Wars: Episode V The Empire Strikes Back" is dark, deep, and emotional that is stronger than the original, and it works very well. With a stellar ending and the memorable line "Luke, I am your father!", it's just great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DibbHansenJul 15, 2013
This is the BEST of the Star Wars films and the BEST of the original trilogy. It is darker, but it is also the most well written, best acted, most thought driven entry with additional amazing music, visuals and tone that really sets the barThis is the BEST of the Star Wars films and the BEST of the original trilogy. It is darker, but it is also the most well written, best acted, most thought driven entry with additional amazing music, visuals and tone that really sets the bar high for the series. The characters are really tested in this film and it really keeps you on the edge of your seat. A perfect and classic addition to the series. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheApplegnomeDec 11, 2015
One of the most successful, iconic, quoted, and beautifully made sci-fi continuation still holds up as a stunning adventure of both love and hope, that also's considerably deeper and much darker than the original.

Some things are
One of the most successful, iconic, quoted, and beautifully made sci-fi continuation still holds up as a stunning adventure of both love and hope, that also's considerably deeper and much darker than the original.

Some things are unnecessary to mention; like the effects, the music, the characters, the villain, the action-sequences and the ending. Because it's one of those aspects that are so perfectly done, and so artistic that I don't even need to mention them. What really matters is that this movie is incredible, and it really is one of the best ever made. It's a fun ride with funny and enjoyable characters, human as robots, in this galaxy far, far away. It's not just the humanitarian chemistry between Luke, Leia and Han; 3PO and R2 are the major players that keeps the movie going. It's not just a movie about wars, blasters and explosions; it's a spectacular story of love and emotions. The way the movie is done is so extraordinary, sure the practical effects are nothing to todays standards, but it's very well done by the time it was made. So don't you even dare to criticize the effects! It's stunning for its time!

Sure it might got some minor plot-holes (if you even can call them that) and yes it's no avatar with stunning eye-popping effects. But we are spoiled with today and its great effects, and movies are not just about that. Star Wars is about love and many other things that I hope you will love and keep close to your heart. Yes, because this movie still holds up as one of the greatest ever made, and it keeps impress me on every level. Every time I see it.

Personal Rating: 100/100
Critical rating: 95/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
arkhamcity96Aug 7, 2013
I love all of the settings of this movie and the mystery in it too. The light saber battle at the end is the best in the series. This is definitely the best Star Wars movie, and my favorite movie of all time!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThatCooperGuyDec 14, 2015
After you get a successful movie like "Star Wars", what else is there to do? Well, make a sequel of course. This time, however, George Lucas became full-time head of Lucasfilm and could not find the time to shoot the sequel to his acclaimedAfter you get a successful movie like "Star Wars", what else is there to do? Well, make a sequel of course. This time, however, George Lucas became full-time head of Lucasfilm and could not find the time to shoot the sequel to his acclaimed first movie. As a result, director Irvin Kershner was brought on to replace Lucas and two new writers were also hired: Leigh Brackett & Lawrence Kasdan. The legend goes that Leigh wrote a good first draft of Lucas' story outline, but she unfortunately died in March of 1978 before the script could be finalized for production. This led to Lawrence Kasdan being brought on board to finish up the script and to give it a new approach, also without getting rid of all the material Leigh worked on.

While Irvin Kershner had plenty of experience as a film maker, this ended up being the first movie Lawrence Kasdan ever wrote or worked on in general, and it just so happened to be a sequel to one of the most famous films of all time. So clearly, he and Kershner had a lot of pressure on their hands. How exactly do you top something as big as "Star Wars"? Well, somehow, Irvin & Lawrence not only managed to make a movie truly worthy of being a sequel to "Star Wars", but also a movie that completely tops it.

The original "Star Wars" may have a few issues holding it back from being perfect, but "The Empire Strikes Back"? F*cking flawless. Most sequels are NOTORIOUS for being poorly written and only made just to make large amounts of money. While Empire did make a lot of money, it had one of the best screenplays ever written, and it's all thanks to Lawrence Kasdan, who would thankfully stick around for Empire's sequel, "Return of the Jedi" and also came back to write Jedi's sequel, "The Force Awakens".

The writing is much darker and adds a lot more drama in the mix. Plus I'm sure Lawrence must not of had a difficult time writing this since all these characters were already established in the first movie. The story progresses in all the right ways. We see these characters continue to grow and they're not just thrown into this movie because, "Hey look! It's those characters from the first film, isn't that cool?" They all have a reason to be there and you're also just so glad to see them again.

Han Solo and Princess Leia start a romance. Luke is told by the ghost of Obi-Wan to go to some random planet to learn the ways of the force from this "Yoda" character. Darth Vader, who had little screen time in the first movie (though he did make a good first impression), has this new obsession where he's hunting down Luke for some strange reason. Sadly, seeing how iconic this movie is, we all know why he is hunting for Luke. We all know what he wants from Luke. It's one of the biggest plot twists of all time, but if you're one of the few people on this planet who aren't aware of the big reveal, I'll let you watch the movie for yourself. I won't spoil it for you.

Aside from previous characters returning, we also have new characters. We finally get a glimpse of The Emperor who was partially mentioned in the first movie. We meet Lando Calrissian and he's just as smooth and cool as Han Solo. Not to mention, Master Yoda is one of the greatest supporting characters ever brought on screen and he's a freaking muppet. You can tell he's a muppet, but somehow he's puppeteer-ed and voiced so perfectly that you believe he's a real living creature, and it's all thanks to the talents of Frank Oz with the help of Jim Henson's Creature Shop. Yoda's wisdom and his training scenes with Luke on Dagobah are so brilliant and entertaining. If I needed to just say one reason why Empire is better than Star Wars, my answer would be Yoda, he's such a pimp.

John Williams returned to compose this movie and like always, he has done a terrific job. I think his score here is better than the first movie, it's so beautiful and adds an extra layer of perfection for this movie. The effects are improved and they're just as spectacular as ever. In fact, they were so groundbreaking that the movie ended up winning a Special Achievement Oscar for its visuals effects, along with winning an Oscar for "Best Sound". (and it also should of won "Best Picture"...)

I'd really like that original cut on Blu-ray any time soon, Disney. Seeing how you're going to have full ownership of this movie in 2020...

If you couldn't tell at this point, I absolutely love The Empire Strikes Back. I do admire the original Star Wars for starting all of this, but Empire helped cement this series for me. This is the heart of Star Wars. THIS is Star Wars. It brings me so much joy every time I watch it. It's my favorite movie of all time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelBagamerySep 5, 2014
Now, this is a classic movie. This is very rightly regarded as Star Wars' finest hour (um, two). Luke maturing, Obi-Wan proving wisdom's transcendence of the life-death barrier, even more thrilling action than its predecessor, not to mentionNow, this is a classic movie. This is very rightly regarded as Star Wars' finest hour (um, two). Luke maturing, Obi-Wan proving wisdom's transcendence of the life-death barrier, even more thrilling action than its predecessor, not to mention The Big Reveal ... wow. Just, wow. I had to rethink the first movie a little bit before arriving on my 8/10 for it, but with 'Empire'? No compunction about the 10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tigerskin84Feb 19, 2015
Amazing, Best sci fi movie ever made! great perfomances, epic music ,epic finale, epic spaceship chase, asteroids, more darth vader, superb special effects, i can be all day
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
fusion_13May 25, 2014
This IS my favourite movie of ALL TIME. As a huge Star Wars fan this is the best star wars movie ever made. It made the story of the Trilogy much deeper and had the massive reveal of Darth Vader being Luke's F____r. This is an easy 10/10 for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aidon_mNov 18, 2013
The perfect sequel to a perfect film. Empire Strikes Back is narrowly the best star wars film, behind it's predecessor. The characters are incredible, none overplayed nor underplayed. This film really set the standard for what a sequel to aThe perfect sequel to a perfect film. Empire Strikes Back is narrowly the best star wars film, behind it's predecessor. The characters are incredible, none overplayed nor underplayed. This film really set the standard for what a sequel to a great movie should be like. It expanded on the star wars universe immensely, with lando calrissian, the ice planet of hoth, the swamps of dagobah and of course yoda make for the most quotable star wars film in the series. Luke finally harnesses his Jedi powers, which makes for his likability as a character much more involved.

Perhaps the most compelling aspect of the film is that the good guys are actually challenged. No holes in convenient places in this film. And it doesn't inevitably end with the good guys on top, which films don't risk too often, however this film does it perfectly.

Starting with a war and ending with a scene on a much smaller scale, the film is still enganging in the scenes that aren't packed with special effects.
This film is the reason there were six films and not just an excellent first outing with a terrible sequel. Raising the bar for sequel standards even to this day.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
callofduty99Dec 19, 2013
one of the best films of all time, the best star wars film, amazes me that critics gave this a 78. definitely a master piece. darth vader is the best movie character of all time
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoJan 2, 2015
BEST FILM OF THE FRANCHISE!!! With excellent performances by the actors really making you feel even more connected with them, great diversity in planets and enviroments, and memorable moments teeming in all over the film, there's a reasonBEST FILM OF THE FRANCHISE!!! With excellent performances by the actors really making you feel even more connected with them, great diversity in planets and enviroments, and memorable moments teeming in all over the film, there's a reason this is the best of the franchise! The story in this is the best as it's the darkest of all the films, and really invests in it's theme of good and evil. The fight between Darth Vader and Luke is brutal, and strangely realistic as well as tense. Not to mention it comes with one of the biggest twists in movie history. Also the ending is not at all happy and conclusive, which leaves it SUPERBLY up for the next film. Also, direction and cinematography is great in the film. Bravo at making possibly the best sci fi film of all time, and definitely one of my favourite films of all time! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheMasiMan1Jan 22, 2016
I think its a perfect movie. I seriously can't think of anything to complain about. Some minor things actually, like the fact that the gun the Empire was setting up before the Millenium Falcon left the hangar takes forever to set up, the factI think its a perfect movie. I seriously can't think of anything to complain about. Some minor things actually, like the fact that the gun the Empire was setting up before the Millenium Falcon left the hangar takes forever to set up, the fact the Luke just so happens to be right above the hangar the Millenium Falcon flies out of. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OpinionatedGuyAug 3, 2015
With a much more fleshed out plot and excellent character development, Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back is a worthy sequel to the original Star Wars movie as well as an excellent installment to the Star Wars saga.

Rating:
With a much more fleshed out plot and excellent character development, Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back is a worthy sequel to the original Star Wars movie as well as an excellent installment to the Star Wars saga.

Rating: 9.5/10

Pros:
+A much more fleshed out plot with a fair focus balance between Luke Skywalker’s plot and Princess Leia and Han Solo’s plot.
+More background about “The Force” mythology.
+Character development is excellent as the relationship between Princess Leia and Han Solo blossomed while Luke Skywalker discovers more about his past.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Duskycarp116Oct 2, 2015
I can tell that kids who loved Star Wars were very excited when they saw the trailer for the sequel to come out in 1980, for the adults idk maybe nerd boners idk. This film created one of the most recognizable battles of all time which is theI can tell that kids who loved Star Wars were very excited when they saw the trailer for the sequel to come out in 1980, for the adults idk maybe nerd boners idk. This film created one of the most recognizable battles of all time which is the Hoth Battle which gives me nerd boners when I see it and see how epic it is. WATCH IT NOW **** Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MiracSpectacJan 7, 2018
Episode V is, in many ways, the epitome of sci-fi and drama. An unforgettable movie with thrilling characters and stunning worlds. Though a bit slow in its telling, the story is simply masterful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Nov 27, 2015
Improving on almost every aspect of A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back manages to be the rare sequel to undeniably top its predecessor in both quality and entertainment value while still not feeling rehashed. This was the Star Wars I wantedImproving on almost every aspect of A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back manages to be the rare sequel to undeniably top its predecessor in both quality and entertainment value while still not feeling rehashed. This was the Star Wars I wanted with the original, and it was extremely satisfying. In The Empire Strikes Back, the Galactic empire is on the hunt for Luke Skywalker and the rest of the Rebel Alliance. While Darth Vader is chasing Han Solo, Princess Leia and others across the galaxy, Luke studies the force under Jedi Master Yoda. Structurally, the film isn't as controlled as A New Hope, featuring long action scenes intertwined with dialog-heavy scenes of characterization, but that's an easily forgiven issue. The intense action scenes and darker plot make this a more involving film than its predecessor, and the young actors seemed a lot more confident in their roles. The Empire Strikes Back is an exciting film from start to finish, especially during the final thirty minutes when Luke faces off with Darth Vader. George Lucas really knows how to make a memorable climax. Although it does get a little cheesy right at the end, The Empire Strikes Back is a great improvement to its predecessor, and it set a high bar for movie sequels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nick_knackSep 30, 2014
Much darker and grander than the original Star Wars, Empire succeeds in toppings its predecessor and creating a satisfying spectacle for all time while showing more character development.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
RainwholeOct 21, 2014
I'm not one to hang out 10's or perfect scores to any movie I like. In fact, I can't think of more than two or three movies that deserve a perfect score. Out of those three none is as deserving as Empire Strikes Back.

The movie is
I'm not one to hang out 10's or perfect scores to any movie I like. In fact, I can't think of more than two or three movies that deserve a perfect score. Out of those three none is as deserving as Empire Strikes Back.

The movie is perfection, there's nothing else to say about it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 18, 2014
Three years after the events of "Star Wars," Imperial forces continue to pursue the Rebels. After the Rebellion?s defeat on the ice planet Hoth, Luke journeys to the planet Dagobah to train with Jedi Master Yoda, who has lived in hiding sinceThree years after the events of "Star Wars," Imperial forces continue to pursue the Rebels. After the Rebellion?s defeat on the ice planet Hoth, Luke journeys to the planet Dagobah to train with Jedi Master Yoda, who has lived in hiding since the fall of the Republic. In an attempt to convert Luke to the dark side, Darth Vader lures young Skywalker into a trap in the Cloud City of Bespin. In the midst of a fierce lightsaber duel with the Sith Lord, Luke faces a startling revelation. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BrickNGamesDec 1, 2017
A calm comes over Luke, and he makes a decision. In the next instant he steps off the gantry platform into space. The Dark Lord looks over the platform and sees Luke falling far below. The wind begins to blow at Vader's cape and theA calm comes over Luke, and he makes a decision. In the next instant he steps off the gantry platform into space. The Dark Lord looks over the platform and sees Luke falling far below. The wind begins to blow at Vader's cape and the torrent finally forces him back, away from the edge. The wind soon fades and the wounded Jedi begins to drop fast, unable to grab onto anything to break his fall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tjman09Oct 28, 2015
Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back is arguably the best Star Wars film ever made, and one of the best films ever made. The film immortalized the already iconic characters that George Lucas created in Star Wars, while making a very dense andStar Wars: The Empire Strikes Back is arguably the best Star Wars film ever made, and one of the best films ever made. The film immortalized the already iconic characters that George Lucas created in Star Wars, while making a very dense and entertaining film. The Empire Strikes Back is so great because of the improvements made to Darth Vader, the ambitious tonal change, and the fact that it still contains one of the best twists ever. With enough analysis the most impressive thing about The Empire Strikes Back is how hard it is to find flaws in the film.
Darth Vader still stands, and probably always will stand as one of the best villains ever brought to the screen, second on my list only to The Dark Knight’s Joker. However, in Vader’s first appearance Vader is slightly inconsistent in that he’s a temperamental villain often yelling, which isn’t nearly as scary as a villain who remains calm. I would contest that the best villains act like they are always in control, whether they are not, it is in The Empire Strikes Back that Vader develops into this villain, while also systematically murdering his failing accomplices. It could be argued that Vader’s development helped the tonal change that Empire Strikes Back brought.
It’s another testament to the villain, when they are so chilling that the tone of the film seemingly dives with them. As Vader develops into the more controlled, systematic villain the tone of the film dives into a darker world. With Star Wars being considered, at least partially, a kids film it seems extremely ambitious of Lucas and Kershner to make a film directed at kids dark, something many filmmakers are unwilling to do today. The dark tone helps accentuate the character development as the characters hit their all time lows, and the film’s tone represents that the world isn’t always nice.
The story for Empire Strikes Back, being the middle film in the trilogy, had the most freedom, and used it accordingly. The story of Empire Strikes back is arguably, the strongest in the series, as the film was one of the earliest to say the bad guy can win, in a giant blockbuster, another very ambitious move. However, the best element of the story is the unpredictable turns it makes, in particular it’s iconic twist. The twist remains one of the most famous of all time, for a reason, and the film benefits from it.
In the end Empire Strikes Back has the best story in the trilogy, the best character development, is very ambitious, and immortalizes it’s iconic villain. On top of all of that it has been copied numerous times over the years, and remains one of the best films ever made. Empire Strikes Back still stands as the embodiment of what makes Star Wars so great.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TributeManDec 19, 2015
Do or do not. There is no try.

Imperium kontratakuje to najlepsza część z całej sagi. Dopiero przed chwilą uświadomiłem sobie, że ten film ma aż 35 lat! Zestarzeć się z taką klasą potrafią tylko Najlepsi. Brawo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DBPirate1129May 30, 2015
SKIP TO THE END FOR REVIEW SUMMARY.

It's very rare that a sequel manages to match or even best its predecessor. Empire Strikes Back managed to break that trend. Empire Strikes Back is, in every way, more compelling, emotionally involved,
SKIP TO THE END FOR REVIEW SUMMARY.

It's very rare that a sequel manages to match or even best its predecessor. Empire Strikes Back managed to break that trend.

Empire Strikes Back is, in every way, more compelling, emotionally involved, and dramatic than A New Hope. We get to see each character develop and face new struggles. I would argue that there is no standout actor in this movie. Each one is equal in their ability and serves their character well. Though, of course, James Earl Jones' Darth Vader must be mentioned. If there was another voice coming through the mask, he wouldn't be nearly as memorable.

Though I'm normally not a fan of slow starts, this one works in the film's favor. After several important character moments, we get to see an epic ground battle followed by an intense space chase through asteroids. Luke goes on a different path from Han and Leia in this film as he trains with the wise and interesting Master Yoda. Han and Leia have their own struggles as they deal with the foreboding Empire, which is at its best in this part of the trilogy. The movie really starts to shine as the climax draws nearer. Luke and Vader's confrontation, Han and Leia's romance, and Cloud City itself are simply amazing. The Empire Strikes Back's mastery is by no means exaggerated (even if it does mean the other films in the series don't get their deserved praise) and easily one of the best and most gripping installments of Star Wars.

Review redone ahead of The Last Jedi.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
morganstephens5Aug 10, 2015
Probably the best made Star Wars film. This is when the character development really shines better than the other films. The surprise reveal while ruined by pop culture was amazing for the time and still holds up even if you know what theProbably the best made Star Wars film. This is when the character development really shines better than the other films. The surprise reveal while ruined by pop culture was amazing for the time and still holds up even if you know what the heck is going to happen. The moment when Han gets lowered into the carbonite machine really pulls your strings. Since you had two full movies to get attached to him and care about him. The acting is much better this time around and it feels like this is the one that had a full story more than the other films. Again, probably the best made Star Wars film. But not quite my favorite. Yeah the love story was a little cheesy but it was fun and it provided a really good moment before Han got lowered into the carbon freezer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mm007Oct 12, 2016
[10/10]
Three years after the events of Star Wars, Imperial forces continue to pursue the Rebels. After the Rebellion?s defeat on the ice planet Hoth, Luke journeys to the planet Dagobah to train with Jedi Master Yoda, who has lived in
[10/10]
Three years after the events of Star Wars, Imperial forces continue to pursue the Rebels. After the Rebellion?s defeat on the ice planet Hoth, Luke journeys to the planet Dagobah to train with Jedi Master Yoda, who has lived in hiding since the fall of the Republic. In an attempt to convert Luke to the dark side, Darth Vader lures young Skywalker into a trap in the Cloud City of Bespin. In the midst of a fierce lightsaber duel with the Sith Lord, Luke faces a startling revelation.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best Star Wars movie! It takes a movie that seemed to have perfect characters with perfect interaction face reality as the movie took a turn towards the dark side(excuse the pun). We get the most memorable faces of the franchise. Darth Vader, Boba Fett, Han Solo, and even Yoda. This is where Star Wars went from being a fantasy story and became a story to be loved by those of all ages
AND YES, LORD VADER ROCKSS AS ALWAYS. :p
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
A darker, more mature, and more sophisticated Star Wars than the original. That doesn't necessarily make it a better film, as much of the freshness is gone and stripping Empire of its major revelation that is forever engraved in pop cultureA darker, more mature, and more sophisticated Star Wars than the original. That doesn't necessarily make it a better film, as much of the freshness is gone and stripping Empire of its major revelation that is forever engraved in pop culture hurts its overall impact that it had back when it was released. It's still a fantastic movie and continues the Star Wars saga. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffDec 16, 2015
There is almost nothing I can say that hasn't been said before about 'Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back', it is a great sequel, and the best "Star Wars" movie of all time.

The sequel is known for being darker and more personal than "A New
There is almost nothing I can say that hasn't been said before about 'Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back', it is a great sequel, and the best "Star Wars" movie of all time.

The sequel is known for being darker and more personal than "A New Hope" (1977). This is a more character-driven installment than the previous movie, but still contains the non-stop high energy fun that we remember.

We see our young hero Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) return after destroying the death star in the previous movie. Little does he know that he has become the victim of the evil Darth Vader's (voiced by James Earl Jones) vicious plan as he has become obsessed with finding him. Luke travels far along to meet up with a master Yoda (Frank Oz) as he trains to become a true Jedi and stop Vader at his tracks.

Meanwhile, Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) and Han Solo (Harrison Ford) attempt to hide in an asteroid field inside Han's Millennium Falcon which is where we see the romantic relationship between Han and Leia growing.

During Luke's journey to becoming a true Jedi and attempting to stop Vader at his tracks, Vader lets Luke realize why he is so important to him, in a plot point that would count as a spoiler still, but by this time, you'd know what information that is. Luke then tries to escape Vader at every turn, but no matter what happens, something will always draw him back.

This movie, like I said above, is more character driven than the original, it is also a little bit slower in pace than the original, but you are engaged more than ever simply because there seems to be more at risk here.

The characters show more emotion and the drama rises, the special effects also improve slightly, offering a dizzying, albeit, electrifying visual experience for anyone who is a fan of complex filmmaking.

All in all, 'Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back' truly is a sequel to end all sequels, and one cannot help but wonder what other adventure we will see these characters get up to, next.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
rkerwinJan 3, 2016
It is hard to believe this movie was made in 1980. The special effects were amazing for the time and plot even better. This is the best Star Wars movie in the series.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
more darker and intense than the previous fun-filled space drama of a beloved franchise, they sure really nailed it with this one, perfectly executed even the twist ending is way so unexpected.

Underrated from the first but I consider this
more darker and intense than the previous fun-filled space drama of a beloved franchise, they sure really nailed it with this one, perfectly executed even the twist ending is way so unexpected.

Underrated from the first but I consider this the greatest sequel to ever clash with the Godfather part 2 and a superior installment to the greatest sci-fi franchise in cinema history.

hold on to your butts because this thrill ride attraction is 100% warp speed guaranteed
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's generally agreed that The Empire Strikes Back is the best film of George Lucas' initial trilogy (despite a latter-day shift toward the original's storytelling purity). Not a sequel as such, but the next part of a continuing story, Empire marks enormous progression both in terms of the mythos of the series and in the filmmaking quality itself.

At once more graceful and melancholic than its predecessor, Kershner enhances the pensive mood of impending tragedy with an array of inhospitable worlds (we travel from the icescape of Hoth to the swamp of Dagobah to a sleek, sterile city in the clouds). Bespin, the Cloud City, the most awesome of any of the Star Wars arenas, is a beautiful exterior with a dark heart. The film culminates in a whirl of emotional intensity and the infernal machine of the carbon freezing chamber. With John Williams' breathtaking score and the dark red hellish lighting (the characters have arrived in Hell — this being the "second day" of the trilogy), the whole feel is of a Wagnerian opera: dark and epic.

Then there is the devastating confrontation between Luke and Vader. Masterfully choreographed, their duel culminates on a thin gantry
protruding out over the vast depths that are the hollow core of the Cloud City. Magnificently visualised, the dizzying vertiginous terror of the moment encapsulating Luke's disorientation and horror at Vader's revelation of paternalism. Significantly, Luke chooses death over the outstretched hand of the dark side and is eventully born again as a Jedi.

But Act 2 is never consumed by darkness. There is comedy: C-3PO is still fussily camp as the Shakespearean chorus; Solo cracks wiser than ever before and new entry Yoda's knack of getting straight-to-the-point via the syntactical equivalent of Spaghetti Junction ("No! Try not. Do... or do not. There is no try.") is pure delight. And effectswise it offers unforgettable, if sometimes impractical, marvels: the awesome AT-ATs marching on the rebel base on Hoth, whose lurching gait was modelled on elephants, or Solo piloting the Milennium Falcon straight into an asteroid field.

Empire slipped the insufficient Return Of The Jedi a hospital pass. There was too much to settle (the whole damn universe to be saved before tea), and we had been so exhilarated by Empire that teddy bears at war was inevitably trite.

Nothing in the Star Wars canon betters this.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UrbanlistenerJan 10, 2016
Simply, the best science fiction movie of all time. An epic space opera that still influence today's cinema and will continue to for decades. You can't beat episode V, you just can't, I mean, Darth Vader was officially crowned as the baddestSimply, the best science fiction movie of all time. An epic space opera that still influence today's cinema and will continue to for decades. You can't beat episode V, you just can't, I mean, Darth Vader was officially crowned as the baddest badass ever in this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
waronassermanMay 5, 2015
arguably the most amazing sequel there is. what a mature and beautiful direction to take this franchise. Also contains one of the greatest twists in cinema history
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Prequelhater878May 19, 2015
Empire strikes back? More like lighting strikes back. This movie is not only as good as the original, but it is even better. It did what a good sequel does: it took everything that made the first one so good and expanded on it. It's one ofEmpire strikes back? More like lighting strikes back. This movie is not only as good as the original, but it is even better. It did what a good sequel does: it took everything that made the first one so good and expanded on it. It's one of the greatest movies of all time, go watch it right now if you haven't already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FarhanFirozOct 2, 2015
This is one of the best sequels ever made. The beat thing of star wars movies is that they don't use complicated plot at all and use simple premise but very effective which most of the movies at the current generation fails to do. The movieThis is one of the best sequels ever made. The beat thing of star wars movies is that they don't use complicated plot at all and use simple premise but very effective which most of the movies at the current generation fails to do. The movie is absolutely entertaining! The movie had great visuals and action scenes . And again Han Solo's character is hilarious and likable. Darth Vader is still proves to be menacing. One of the best segment was the motivation segment between Yoda and Luke. The last act of the movie is the most famous one with a huge twist. The light saber fights were great better than the previous instalment. Only problem I had with the movie was that it kind of felt long.

In the End Star Wars the empire strikes back is a must see film and everyone will have a blast watching it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PrivataDec 16, 2016
Simply the best StarWars movie.
Actualy , no... its the best movie of all time. Forgot your ''citizen kane'' ''godfather'' or ''birdman'' this is the best movie ever in my opinion.
Its slow , sombre and you can feel the weight of the empire
Simply the best StarWars movie.
Actualy , no... its the best movie of all time. Forgot your ''citizen kane'' ''godfather'' or ''birdman'' this is the best movie ever in my opinion.

Its slow , sombre and you can feel the weight of the empire crushing down on the poor rebels during the episode.

I cant even think of a flaw in the movie , outside of dated special effects... but even then , they look fine and do the job well.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
hanneguacamoleDec 26, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Am I going to give every Star Wars movie five stars? Possibly. The Empire Strikes Back earned it. While watching – over 30 years later – I still get the sense that I'm seeing something revolutionary in the cinema world. The franchise is taking risks and creating adventure enjoyable to all – from young to old; casual to intense fans. I feel like I'm living in the prime of Star Wars right now and it is utterly amazing.

Episode V introduces just enough elements of suspense within the conflict between the rebels and the Empire to show how each side works. Yoda and Ben are excellent in their skills of explaining just how important it is for Luke to remain and train to become a Jedi, yet we see his devotion to his friends Han Solo, Princess Leia, Chewbacca, R2D2, and even C3PO.

Again setting up the future of the franchise, we wonder if Darth Vader truly is Luke Skywalker's father, will Luke become a Jedi, what is the fate of Han Solo, and has Luke succumbed to the dark side? With every question answered there is another to wonder about.

With a killer soundtrack, riveting storyline, sufficient drama, and the return of our favorite characters, The Empire Strikes Back is arguably the best in the series. My opinion remains yet to be seen.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BoogeeFilmGuyJul 14, 2015
This is the big one. The review to end all reviews. I'm reviewing The Empire Strikes Back. This is the movie that all science fiction lovers have seen hundreds of times and still watch it with excitement. Not one part of this film isThis is the big one. The review to end all reviews. I'm reviewing The Empire Strikes Back. This is the movie that all science fiction lovers have seen hundreds of times and still watch it with excitement. Not one part of this film is considered 'boring'. It has fantastic characters, a great story, fabulous visuals, the list goes on. This is an adventure not to be missed. Easily gets a 10/10 in my books. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MagesticLeanAug 17, 2015
temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison as bob fet greatest movie ever cause of it temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison temuera morrison
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GonzoDiamondNov 2, 2015
Если бы "звёздные войны" было возможно воспринимать не как цельную историю, а как отдельные фильмы в одной вселенной, то вторая часть стала бы ещё более культовой. Именно здесь мы понимаем устройство этого мира и саму историю, а также главнуюЕсли бы "звёздные войны" было возможно воспринимать не как цельную историю, а как отдельные фильмы в одной вселенной, то вторая часть стала бы ещё более культовой. Именно здесь мы понимаем устройство этого мира и саму историю, а также главную идею саги, которую в этот раз преподносят полностью. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NestriReviewsDec 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going to say this, Empire Strikes Back is probably the best movie of all time in my opinion. Why, you ask? I'm a sucker for action, and this movie has plenty of it and it is perfect. The story is much more exciting than it's predecessor's, and it has some fantastic plot twists. The character development here is perfect. Luke gets more experienced and gets trained by Yoda to control the force. Leia's and Han Solo's chemistry is beautiful and fitting. Also, in this movie Yoda gets introduced and he's quirky, funny and inspirational. Darth Vader is METAL as usual. So, this movie is the definition of 'fun' and 'epic'. I love it to death and it will forever be my favorite Star Wars movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ColeSoderstromDec 12, 2015
This movie is utterly amazing. It has the best plot twist of all time and has shaped my child hood. I had gosse bumps threw out the whole movie. amazing amazing amazing. Do yourself a favour and watch this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ndmattmDec 18, 2015
Best Star Wars. Instant Classic. I could watch in 1,000 more times. Love it! it really is the only sequel that is better than the original that I can think of... And A New Hope was pretty darn good!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 6, 2016
The best Star Wars movie! It takes a movie that seemed to have perfect characters with perfect interaction face reality as the movie took a turn towards the dark side(excuse the pun). We get the most memorable faces of the franchise. DarthThe best Star Wars movie! It takes a movie that seemed to have perfect characters with perfect interaction face reality as the movie took a turn towards the dark side(excuse the pun). We get the most memorable faces of the franchise. Darth Vader, Boba Fett, Han Solo, and even Yoda. This is where Star Wars went from being a fantasy story and became a story to be loved by those of all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EpicLadySpongeDec 30, 2015
One of the famous sequels that's better than its predecessor, the Empire Strikes Back will excite you with dark, eye-popping moments that I'm totally running out of words to say.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DavidTejadaJul 9, 2016
This is truly a masterpiece, not only in science fiction movies, it's of all time. A delightful work of Lucasfilm that will stay for many years and won't get tired of this magnificent job!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gameguardian21Mar 13, 2016
This is the star wars movie that everyone loves. It has great characters, story, suspense, special effects, everything about this movie is amazing. No wonder why it is still a recognized movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LepstrungJan 24, 2016
Great movie in great trilogy. One of the best movies of all time. Even thought its kind of old but I still enjoy watching it everytime. Also this movie has best ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OltgonFeb 12, 2016
he sequel to the world phenomenon, the original Star Wars.

Audience back in 1980 was disappointed over TESB, not because of it being bad, but because of lack of answers. People expected getting a complete story, not that this story is
he sequel to the world phenomenon, the original Star Wars.

Audience back in 1980 was disappointed over TESB, not because of it being bad, but because of lack of answers. People expected getting a complete story, not that this story is incomplete, but it creates more questions than it answers. It's not the most epic movie in the saga, but it's the most mysterious and interesting one. Some may say it's subjective, but the significant of questions it creates, the unclear foggy locations, mixed with intentionally mysterious compositions of John Williams, making this movie a movie where the audience seeks answer in mystery.

It's a visually beautiful movie, the more I analysed it, the more shocked I was to find out how good the directing and cinematography this masterpiece of a movie has. When cinematography and directing wasn't in my vocabulary, I wasn't focusing on those aspects of movies, unconsciously, I, as a kid, was still mesmerized over how visually pleasing the movie's cinematography and directing, without even being aware of it.

Empire's score composed by John Williams: Williams has perfectly written the music for this movie, it's powerful when they show the empire's greatness with ''the imperial march'', it's mysterious in unclear, foggy locations. In my opinion, the only Star Wars score that surpasses Empire's score is Return of the Jedi's score.

Not really any standout performances, but the actors and the writing gives the characters charm. We see the characters exchanging banter, and other well written interaction, developing the characters well, we also see them being a bit more developed since the previous installment.

Practical effects' durability is shown here; it still holds up, it even looks better than most modern movies, and most of my favourite movies are even modern movies.

It's the most well written Star Wars movie to-date, it's original and can't really be compared to many other movies. It's memorable, mysterious, shocking. Some may find the dialogue cheesy, some find it witty. It even brings a puppet to life, making him one of the best movie characters of all time. The universe expands from each scene, the universe feels grand. The movie's twists works, it's difficult to predict what will happen next.

It's a journey like nothing else, fun from beginning to its end. Fast paced adventure, exploring the Star Wars universe. Highly recommended for audience of all sorts, the movie has it all for people with all kinds of taste in movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HectorInTheMornJul 21, 2016
One of the Best Science Fiction, Action Films ever made and One of the best films of all time! I Loved This Movie! The Actin, Visuals, Characters, Humor, Writing, Directing, Cinematography, Pacing, and the Cliffhanger is so Incredible! IOne of the Best Science Fiction, Action Films ever made and One of the best films of all time! I Loved This Movie! The Actin, Visuals, Characters, Humor, Writing, Directing, Cinematography, Pacing, and the Cliffhanger is so Incredible! I think the Force Awakens is still better, But I absolutely adore this movie

10/10!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CaillouPettisOct 13, 2016
Simply amazing - Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back is a genre-defining science fiction action movie with tons of fun, and the best in the series.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aaron_WassermanMay 30, 2016
The Empire Strikes backs the greatest film in the Star Wars franchise, all 7 of them. Empire is one of those rare occasions where the sequel surpasses the original, and given the original was A New Hope, that shows how incredible Empire was.The Empire Strikes backs the greatest film in the Star Wars franchise, all 7 of them. Empire is one of those rare occasions where the sequel surpasses the original, and given the original was A New Hope, that shows how incredible Empire was. Empire brought the Star Wars saga to a more mature and darker tone that really did raise the stakes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CriticMLTJun 5, 2016
Best star wars film from all of them. From the begging to the end. I really enjoyed watching it and it really focus on the story not only on the graphics and fighting scenes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
superbatJan 1, 2017
The Empire Strikes Back is the best Star Wars film to date. It's one of the few sequels that actually improves on its predecessor. "Empire" takes everything you loved about "A New Hope", and builds on it. This film takes a dark turn andThe Empire Strikes Back is the best Star Wars film to date. It's one of the few sequels that actually improves on its predecessor. "Empire" takes everything you loved about "A New Hope", and builds on it. This film takes a dark turn and contains a deeper, more profound story than the previous one. One of the best films ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJul 20, 2016
The greatest film ever made in my opinion. The Empire Strikes Back is the middle chapter in the Star Wars saga and ultimately is the darkest and most emotionally driven. It holds the biggest plot twist in cinema history as well as theThe greatest film ever made in my opinion. The Empire Strikes Back is the middle chapter in the Star Wars saga and ultimately is the darkest and most emotionally driven. It holds the biggest plot twist in cinema history as well as the greatest villain in cinema history. Oh yeah, and John Williams. What more is there to say? If you haven't seen this movie yet, make sure you watch the first one beforehand and then watch this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Thatonenerd2187Dec 11, 2016
The sequel that improved over the original, star wars the empire strikes back is one of the best science fiction films ever made. The story is well written as well as the characters. The special effects are amazing, and the overall directionThe sequel that improved over the original, star wars the empire strikes back is one of the best science fiction films ever made. The story is well written as well as the characters. The special effects are amazing, and the overall direction this movie takes is an absolute masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jk9785Feb 25, 2017
The second cinematic outing in the now legendary Star Wars franchise, The Empire Strikes Back does exactly what a sequel should, developing the characters and keeping the story interesting to keep fans of the franchise waiting for more. TheThe second cinematic outing in the now legendary Star Wars franchise, The Empire Strikes Back does exactly what a sequel should, developing the characters and keeping the story interesting to keep fans of the franchise waiting for more. The sheer greatness of this film makes it the best of the franchise, perhaps matched only by 2015's Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TiagoGM18Mar 27, 2017
Even though this is not my original triology's favourite movie nostalgia-wise, I can easily say this is the best movie of the whole saga and ,most likely, one of the best movies of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SonicHD7Jun 1, 2017
The adventure continues in this "Star Wars" sequel. Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill), Han Solo (Harrison Ford), Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) and Chewbacca (Peter Mayhew) face attack by the Imperial forces and its AT-AT walkers on the ice planetThe adventure continues in this "Star Wars" sequel. Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill), Han Solo (Harrison Ford), Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher) and Chewbacca (Peter Mayhew) face attack by the Imperial forces and its AT-AT walkers on the ice planet Hoth. While Han and Leia escape in the Millennium Falcon, Luke travels to Dagobah in search of Yoda. Only with the Jedi master's help will Luke survive when the dark side of the Force beckons him into the ultimate duel with Darth Vader (David Prowse). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJan 7, 2018
One Of The Best Movies EVER MADE
Perfect, Flawless, And The Biggest Twist Not Only In Film History, But History Itself.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
The_fantastic94May 2, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The empire strikes back is the archetype of a perfect movie sequel. It not only flawlessly continues the compelling story of "Star wars", but gives the old characters much more depth, introduces several new iconic characters like Yoda, Boba Fett and Lando Calrissian, and marks Darth Vader as the greatest movie villain of all time. The new soundtrack is absolutely beautiful, the lightsaber duel is much better choreographed than its predecessor and the battle of Hoth remains a feast for eyes, regarding special effects, to this day. The darker tone of this film, the probably best-known and biggest plot twist ever and the evil Darth Vader (masterfully spoken by James Earl Jones) make "The empire strikes back" the best entry of our beloved franchise and, in my opinion, the greatest movie of all time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LillieyMay 28, 2017
The high stakes. The character moments. The iconic score. The Empire Strikes Back is still, in my opinion, the crowning achievement of the Star Wars saga, although two new entries have carried on tradition quite nicely. But if I had toThe high stakes. The character moments. The iconic score. The Empire Strikes Back is still, in my opinion, the crowning achievement of the Star Wars saga, although two new entries have carried on tradition quite nicely. But if I had to recommend only one Star Wars movie to watch, this hands down is the one. A+ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews