Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 15, 2008
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 285 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
113
Mixed:
91
Negative:
81
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
GuyCAug 15, 2008
I saw an early screening of The Clone Wars yesterday and was pleasantly surprised after the debacle that was the prequel trilogy. This is in no way meant to be the 7th Star Wars movie (or even 2.5), nor does it try to be. Instead you get a I saw an early screening of The Clone Wars yesterday and was pleasantly surprised after the debacle that was the prequel trilogy. This is in no way meant to be the 7th Star Wars movie (or even 2.5), nor does it try to be. Instead you get a straightforward story, with some very good animation, and the most character development from a SW movie since Jedi. We actually see Anakin mature as a leader and Jedi Knight. Points are certainly lost on the cheesy dialogue of those annoying droids, the brother-sister yapping between Anakin and his Padawan, and the androgynous Hutt uncle. But overall this movie makes for a fun outing if not taken too seriously. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RichardK.Aug 13, 2008
Something stinks in these first reviews. First of all, how many C's do we need to review this film? Second, they are all filled with typos and horrible grammar. Third, they all score the film a 0 and several instruct people not to see Something stinks in these first reviews. First of all, how many C's do we need to review this film? Second, they are all filled with typos and horrible grammar. Third, they all score the film a 0 and several instruct people not to see the movie. Finally, they all have--apparently--seen the film before its release. There is something fishy here. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
benbenAug 11, 2008
I enjoyed the original cartoon network animations and found this on par with those, plenty of action to keep a REAL star wars fan happy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
JonB.Aug 21, 2008
It was definitely not a traditional Star Wars movie, but still enjoyable. For those of you who are strictly SW purist, you will not like the movie. If, however, you enjoy SW for the plot along with the cool tech, then you will probably like It was definitely not a traditional Star Wars movie, but still enjoyable. For those of you who are strictly SW purist, you will not like the movie. If, however, you enjoy SW for the plot along with the cool tech, then you will probably like it. Keep in mind this is the plug for the tv show coming to TNT sometime in the near future. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
asylumspadezNov 21, 2011
It was ok for an animated film but it doesnt really establish much for the Star Wars franchise. Its more like an experiment that was a minor sucess. The entire film is really just a build up to the animated series, Thats it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
christhebeast42Mar 28, 2013
Let me just say that I was super excited for this movie(it was the first star wars movie I got to see in theaters). I was very disappointed to see that this was just a 98-minute commercial for the tv show. There is practically no plot, andLet me just say that I was super excited for this movie(it was the first star wars movie I got to see in theaters). I was very disappointed to see that this was just a 98-minute commercial for the tv show. There is practically no plot, and Ahsoka is annoying, and doesn't fit into the timeline. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SkitteAug 3, 2014
I do not get it. You realize this has been released much before the series within. And it should be serving it like a prologue, showing the originality of each character. If you do not get the reason of having this, then, shut up.
First of
I do not get it. You realize this has been released much before the series within. And it should be serving it like a prologue, showing the originality of each character. If you do not get the reason of having this, then, shut up.
First of all, I am sorry that I have seen this muuuuch before I finished the series. And too bad it was cancelled. After all I understand a big part of the action.
I am over 15 and I like this. It it like an ordinary episode from the series, but a bit longer and rolling out for showing us the characters and the progression.
Stop arguing with fans. If you are not a fan, you will never understand. I do not get the scores. It has sense, it has story progression, it has everything... So... give us real reasons for hating this!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DBPirate1129Jan 11, 2015
While not as good as the show, the Clone Wars is a stellar Star Wars film that's definitely worth seeing. The introduction of Matt Lanter as Anakin and Ashley Eckstein as new Padawan Ahsoka Tano are great choices!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Feb 15, 2011
The problem is people are looking at this movie and expecting something like Episodes I-VI. It isn't. This was simply an hour and a half pilot for the only good show on Cartoon Network. And as a TV pilot, it was great. I'm sure that had thisThe problem is people are looking at this movie and expecting something like Episodes I-VI. It isn't. This was simply an hour and a half pilot for the only good show on Cartoon Network. And as a TV pilot, it was great. I'm sure that had this been released straight to TV rather than theaters, there would've been way less negativity. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
7
txrangersfan72Sep 19, 2010
I don't get it.

I've read review after review of this movie. Every fact has been accurate. My problem is with the emotional translation of the expectation. The Clone Wars was a good movie. If you are 8-12 years old. At 35, I was able to
I don't get it.

I've read review after review of this movie. Every fact has been accurate. My problem is with the emotional translation of the expectation.

The Clone Wars was a good movie. If you are 8-12 years old. At 35, I was able to enjoy it for what it was: a good kids movie set in the Star Wars universe.

What are these other reviewers wanting? I was 5 when Star Wars came out. 8 when Empire came out. 11 when Return came out. Most people who now claim to have been Star Wars fanatics fell right around the same age. This meant, at the peak of our hysteria, we were around 8. We thought (and still do) Empire was the best movie. And it is.

We were 8.

We wouldn't have, for a minute, been able to appreciate the dialogue of Pulp Fiction, the directing of Out of Africa, the story of Avalon or the acting in Glengarry Glen Ross.

We were 8.

So...I took my 8 year old to see The Clone Wars. And he was entranced. The action, the humor, the battles, Ritto the huttlett. Everything I've read as a complaint to this movie.

You know why? Because it was made for an 8 year old.

So was the original Star Wars trilogy.

Hey...my generation. Stop criticizing George Lucas for making movies for kids. It's what he did from the minute he made Star Wars until the day he gave into the mid-30's fanboy and created Revenge of the Sith. He enjoys it. That's why he made another Indiana Jones. It's why he can't stop making Star Wars things. HE LIKES IT. He does a great job appealing to that age. And the kids love it.

You aren't going to get the amazement of an 8 year old out of these movies while critiquing it with the intellect of a 36 year old. So stop trying.

If you have young kids who love Star Wars, take them to see it. Show George that there is a reason to keep making these things. Kids love it.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" is basically for the Star Wars fans and kiddies. If your not into it, this will NEVER appeal to you. Never....
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
JaredC.Aug 6, 2008
Yes, a little fan of Star Wars, with high expectations from Phantom, astonishingly surprised myself with a cheesy cornstock of complete patheticness (ignore the horrible spelling grammar). My expectations for the Star Wars tirlogy from Yes, a little fan of Star Wars, with high expectations from Phantom, astonishingly surprised myself with a cheesy cornstock of complete patheticness (ignore the horrible spelling grammar). My expectations for the Star Wars tirlogy from Attack of the Clones, to Revenge got much lower. The second one was good, but the third had corny lines and bad acting (Hayden Christenson, razzi winner, mind you). I see a trailer in the cinemas while watching Get Smart on Aug. 1, and I see an animated Star Wars thing on the big screen. First of all, you can tell the script is awful by the cheesy lines they added in the teaser and theatrical. But then I randomly saw it, judging most aspects of the film to see how bad it really was after all. The special screening was interesting, and goodness, when this crap comes out in the cinemas, people will avoid it. Lioke seriously, what's the point of adding a remake of Revenge of the Sith, by changing almost everything around. It was very confusing. I don't know what Lucas was thinking while making this, but I think he's either on meth, or he's expecting to lose his career and laugh while people are watching him fail at his life -mostly taking back the reason why he won a life achievement award. But what a huge downfall in his career. In anutshell, its bad. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PixarloverOct 25, 2012
This was utterly painful to sit through. Don't get me wrong I LOVE STAR WARS, but this isn't the Star Wars that we loved back in our childhoods. Where did all this go wrong? My guess is that George Lucas wanted to extend the lifespan of StarThis was utterly painful to sit through. Don't get me wrong I LOVE STAR WARS, but this isn't the Star Wars that we loved back in our childhoods. Where did all this go wrong? My guess is that George Lucas wanted to extend the lifespan of Star Wars merchandising by making a new Star Wars movie made up of the first 3 or 4 episodes The Clone Wars TV series, only to expand on the merchandising when the series came out.

This is not Star Wars. This is Star Wars: The Bored Wars. The battles are not exciting or engaging; they are the most formulaic thing in the film, and there is nothing much to add aside from how poorly edited this movie really was. Hell, the episodes, if they were kept in their original forms, would probably be just as bad as before even without the clumsy sandwiching they used to put them together in one under-produced film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
MovieLonely94Nov 4, 2010
not a terrible movie, but its just wasn't good enough. the animation was kind of cheesy and the storyline was kind of messed up, but the acting wasn't that bad and the visual effects were very good. Star Wars fans would like this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
unfortunatelysoMay 7, 2011
I suppose this movie was intended for a younger audience, seeing as the rating bar cannot go any lower. I consider this film to be the most despicable, disgraceful, dishonorable, disgusting, disenchanting, disregarding, demoralizing, dismalI suppose this movie was intended for a younger audience, seeing as the rating bar cannot go any lower. I consider this film to be the most despicable, disgraceful, dishonorable, disgusting, disenchanting, disregarding, demoralizing, dismal piece of **** I have ever seen. George Lucas, why did you have to go throw up on the Star Wars saga and then take a BIG @$$ **** ON IT?!?!?! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
bonnin40Feb 18, 2013
It still baffles me that they had to replace the fantastic cartoon network animated series that came out in early 2000'S, for this one. The original animated clone wars kept it simple, and linked the 2nd and third movies together perfectly,It still baffles me that they had to replace the fantastic cartoon network animated series that came out in early 2000'S, for this one. The original animated clone wars kept it simple, and linked the 2nd and third movies together perfectly, but this... this just adds a bunch of unneccessary characters, and adds cannon that doesnt fit, compared to the original animated series, which doesnt try to hard to cram in crap that clearly doesnt fit. like Anikan having a padawan, completely unneccessary. Youd have to be really young, or a very accepting star wars fan to get any enjoyment out of this. it does have good lightsaber duels, and its awesome to see more backstory on jedi in the council, but they executed the story in a completely wrong way, and the animation comes off as very kiddy as well. im not a huge star wars fan anymore, as ive basically grown out of it, and while i do still consider myself a starwars fan, and i do look foward to seeing 7, 8, and 9 in the theaters, this entire movie and animated series im just going to pretend didnt happen. this score is completely opinion based, but i stand by my opinions, and the opinions of many others, on this movie and even the tv series. good seeing jedi and great action scenes, but a story that doesnt fit and all together seems completely unneccessary, which makes it hard to get into. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
RikiegeFeb 2, 2013
A disaster movie made ​​only for those who saw the bad set of 'Star Wars: The Clone Wars'. The movie is terrible.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Larry223Nov 18, 2015
Es aburrida. Mientras que la serie tenia unos momentos algo tontos, estos te daban al menos alguna risa. También la serie es mas pausada, no lenta si no pausada, se toma momentos para poner a los personajes a hablar y evolucionar. Aquí no hayEs aburrida. Mientras que la serie tenia unos momentos algo tontos, estos te daban al menos alguna risa. También la serie es mas pausada, no lenta si no pausada, se toma momentos para poner a los personajes a hablar y evolucionar. Aquí no hay de eso y lo poco que hay no se siente nada natural. Asooka y Anakin interactuan como si se conocieran de hace mucho con una relación aprendiz-maestro con mucha confianza, pero en el contexto se han conocido apenas hace unas horas. Además todo el dialogo que en la serie resulta interesante y llevandose mas tiempo, aquí, lo cambian por peleas constantes y se vuelven aburridas.

No esperaba algo como un episodio de la saga actuada en vida real, pero esperaba algo mas que 1 episodio sumamente alargado con peleas. Es literalmente eso, un episodio al cual le añadieron mas peleas para alargar su duración de 1-2 capitulos a una película. 04/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
aadityamudharJun 19, 2016
It still baffles me that they had to replace the fantastic cartoon network animated series that came out in early 2000'S, for this one. The original animated clone wars kept it simple, and linked the 2nd and third movies together perfectly,It still baffles me that they had to replace the fantastic cartoon network animated series that came out in early 2000'S, for this one. The original animated clone wars kept it simple, and linked the 2nd and third movies together perfectly, but this... this just adds a bunch of unneccessary characters, and adds cannon that doesnt fit, compared to the original animated series, which doesnt try to hard to cram in crap that clearly doesnt fit. like Anikan having a padawan, completely unneccessary. Youd have to be really young, or a very accepting star wars fan to get any enjoyment out of this. it does have good lightsaber duels, and its awesome to see more backstory on jedi in the council, but they executed the story in a completely wrong way, and the animation comes off as very kiddy as well. im not a huge star wars fan anymore, as ive basically grown out of it, and while i do still consider myself a starwars fan, and i do look forward to seeing 7, 8, and 9 in the theaters, this entire movie and animated series im just going to pretend didnt happen. this score is completely opinion based, but i stand by my opinions, and the opinions of many others, on this movie and even the tv series. good seeing jedi and great action scenes, but a story that doesnt fit and all together seems completely unneccessary, which makes it hard to get into. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
GazL.Aug 12, 2008
It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DaveS.Aug 17, 2008
I gave it 5 for the graphics, I wasnt sure I would like the style but it grew on me in the end, but the movie didnt. It just didnt seem to fit into the other star wars movies which mostly I enjoyed far more than a 5. This just didnt cut the I gave it 5 for the graphics, I wasnt sure I would like the style but it grew on me in the end, but the movie didnt. It just didnt seem to fit into the other star wars movies which mostly I enjoyed far more than a 5. This just didnt cut the mustard. Wait for the dvd... you kids will enjoy it.. they really lucked out with the PG rating should have cut a bit of the violence and gone with a G because young kids are the only ones who will enjoy it. My kids 6 and 9 thought it was okay... but didnt get that excited. Maybe the next one?? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CoalB.Oct 1, 2008
I am a religious star wars fan and this film is blasphemy. I can't believe Lucas let this happen. Star Wars is not fucking funny, it's not a f*cking comedy, this is serious shit and I piss on this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SupaManAug 12, 2008
This is the best star wars movie ever, with the best graphics ever! Ok so no one has actually seen this movie so you can safely ignore all the haters below. I'm sure it is a nice little marketing movie, but if it is half as decent as This is the best star wars movie ever, with the best graphics ever! Ok so no one has actually seen this movie so you can safely ignore all the haters below. I'm sure it is a nice little marketing movie, but if it is half as decent as the Clone Wars series was on Cartoon Network then I'll still probably watch it. I might wait for DVD though, who knows. Those who bitch about the graphics haven't seen the Clone Wars series and have no clue why they look the way they do. It's called "style" people, they picked the style the animated series was made in and stuck with it. If you don't like it, tough. So it's not super fake looking CGI like the last three movies were, I don't care! At least it looks fake on purpose. So all you basement dwelling nerds can get off your high horses and go away until you've actually seen it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JaniceKAug 15, 2008
This was the first time I ever walked out of a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
rhAug 15, 2008
What has happened to George Lucas? After three of the greatest movies of all time... He gave us three of the most disappointing movies of all time. And now this! The company that pioneered CGI did such poor "cartoonish" work in the 3 star What has happened to George Lucas? After three of the greatest movies of all time... He gave us three of the most disappointing movies of all time. And now this! The company that pioneered CGI did such poor "cartoonish" work in the 3 star wars prequels, it looks like they've decided to do away with real actors, and just give us straight cartoons. And the overall quality continues to decline. GEORGE! Get out your DVD player and watch the original star wars again! It was groundbreaking and incredible. You can do it again! Give up on the kiddie flicks, and re-do the last 3 movies to the quality of the first! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesAug 15, 2008
Richard K. they have these things called pre-screenings. you can see the movie before it comes out. nothing fishy, you're just poorly informed. i saw this and i was stoked to get my 'star wars' on and i was so let down from Richard K. they have these things called pre-screenings. you can see the movie before it comes out. nothing fishy, you're just poorly informed. i saw this and i was stoked to get my 'star wars' on and i was so let down from this p.o.s story. i love the graphic style and direction, but a movie with no or poor story direction is as entertaining as staring at a wall for 98 mins. you'd have to have a mind of a 5 yr. old to think this movie could ever become a 10. no taste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SkullAug 15, 2008
Another nail in the coffin of the once inspiring and transcendent legacy of Star Wars. Do I need to see this to rate it zero stars? No. Do you need to see this to rate it zero stars? No. Please do not see this movie you will only encourage Another nail in the coffin of the once inspiring and transcendent legacy of Star Wars. Do I need to see this to rate it zero stars? No. Do you need to see this to rate it zero stars? No. Please do not see this movie you will only encourage Lucas to continue the slaughter and desecration of the Star Wars legacy. Some one with the power in Hollywood please bar Lucas from making any more movies. It should be a crime for him to make any more movies. I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DamonC.Aug 2, 2008
Absolutely Terrible! The graphics and visuals look even worse than a video games. And the idea that Anikan is the republics only hope is just plain stupid. In the REAL trilogy nobody trusts Annikan for what he may become. This is just some Absolutely Terrible! The graphics and visuals look even worse than a video games. And the idea that Anikan is the republics only hope is just plain stupid. In the REAL trilogy nobody trusts Annikan for what he may become. This is just some collosal bomb that has no knowledge of anything of Star Wars at all. I thought The Clone Wars had already been told, through the end of the second film and throughout the third. I don`t care if George Lucas executive produced this film. It was just very predictable, stupid, and plain awful. Lucas`s worst BY FAR!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EdawrdC.Aug 7, 2008
Sta Wars: The Clone Wars looked awful. And it turned out being absolutely terrible. I hated it. The acting and dialogue is stupid. And alike the first two star Wars movies. (The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones.) There is no life or Sta Wars: The Clone Wars looked awful. And it turned out being absolutely terrible. I hated it. The acting and dialogue is stupid. And alike the first two star Wars movies. (The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones.) There is no life or soul in this at all. It's predictable, it doesn't have any knowledge of other Star Wars movies. It's pointless, characters attitudes and perspectives have changed. Where is the basic philosophy in Star Wars? Anyway, I hate this movie. The graphics are terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WhysoseriousAug 9, 2008
What the f*ck is this movie? I Think that this movie should go in the garbage because the franchise of star wars is DEAD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RichieR.Sep 10, 2008
Ok I see people saying that the animated characters seemed stiff and square and well was that so different from the rest of the star wars prequel acting? The movie seemed ok but not as fantastic as the movies that made the star wars Ok I see people saying that the animated characters seemed stiff and square and well was that so different from the rest of the star wars prequel acting? The movie seemed ok but not as fantastic as the movies that made the star wars franchise so popular (IV, V, VI). I give it one star for the efforts on the animation other from that *yawn* nothing special. The star wars stories are getting too drawn out with less appeal as it carries on (theatrically). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
mawSep 3, 2008
It didn't even try to be a movie. It was content in being an overlong animated TV cartoon. Come to think of it, I would enjoy KOTOR's cutscenes put together than this movie. The fact that it was targeted for kids doesn't It didn't even try to be a movie. It was content in being an overlong animated TV cartoon. Come to think of it, I would enjoy KOTOR's cutscenes put together than this movie. The fact that it was targeted for kids doesn't excuse the simplified plot. Shrek was 10 times more enjoyable than this, if they can pull it off, why can't the Star Wars franchise do the same? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JacobL.Jan 4, 2009
Star Wars the Clone Wars is not as bad as some people say it is. While I will admit that for the opening battle there is a lot of corny dialogue but after a while it sort of dissapears. While it didn't feel like Star Wars and Hadyen Star Wars the Clone Wars is not as bad as some people say it is. While I will admit that for the opening battle there is a lot of corny dialogue but after a while it sort of dissapears. While it didn't feel like Star Wars and Hadyen Christian didn't reprise his roll as Anikan. The action and adventure was enough to make it worth my while. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TonyLNov 24, 2008
The most frustrating thing about this movie is that with all the possible Star Wars stories to choose from Lucas chooses to beat this dead horse. CN did Clone Wars already. Give us something NEW!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JayH.Nov 5, 2008
I did not find much of this movie interesting at all and frequently found myself bored. The animation was unimpressive, as are the voice overs. Ho hum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MattP.Aug 12, 2008
I'm a self-proclaimed Star Wars fanboy, and I disliked this movie from the opening credits on. After about 45 minutes in, I walked out on the preview screening I attended. Even the prequels were better than this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AaronAug 13, 2008
Great movie. Not as good as the main movies, but still great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Aug 15, 2008
If your a hardcore fanboy that gets upset if someone makes Yoda 1.3 meters instead of 1.2, don't see this movie. Or if you do, don't whine about "the little things". But if want to be entertained by a story in the Star Wars If your a hardcore fanboy that gets upset if someone makes Yoda 1.3 meters instead of 1.2, don't see this movie. Or if you do, don't whine about "the little things". But if want to be entertained by a story in the Star Wars universe, than by all means, go and enjoy. I took my 7 year old son and my 5 year old daughter and we all loved it. It was filled with action and humor and we all left wanting to see it again. My daughter, who likes but does not love Star Wars, loved that there was a girl Jedi that was kicking can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
NickBAug 15, 2008
A solid, fun animated film that's going to get heaps of criticism and praise, all overblow due to being part of the Star Wars franchise. I read the total trash review at aintitcool before seeing the movie, so I went to it's A solid, fun animated film that's going to get heaps of criticism and praise, all overblow due to being part of the Star Wars franchise. I read the total trash review at aintitcool before seeing the movie, so I went to it's midnigth show expecting garbage and was alarmed to discover that the real villain in Star Wars: The Clone Wars is the fanbois gone rabid. People who enjoyed the movies as kids and who have kids of their own will get the most out of this movie. Married men whose wives hate Star Wars like my own will enjoy it, too. But if you think you know how to make a better film than Lucas, and you're still all bent out of shape about Jar Jar, just sit this one out. It's meant to be relaxing fun, and you might be wound a litle too tight for this flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ThomasH.Aug 15, 2008
Well, not really a good story between star wars II and III, but I love the animation they created, and a lots of fun duel and battle sequence of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DamonB.Aug 15, 2008
I'm a hardcore fan and I LOVED this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandonS.Aug 15, 2008
On websites all over the internet, people are posting comments that essentially say that if you don't like something Star Wars-related you're not a "real fan." So if I recognize that the prequels were terrible, that this movie is On websites all over the internet, people are posting comments that essentially say that if you don't like something Star Wars-related you're not a "real fan." So if I recognize that the prequels were terrible, that this movie is awful, and that George Lucas has become an incompetent storyteller, I'm not longer a real fan of the original trilogy? Guess I'm not a real fan, then. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
WrenAug 15, 2008
Okay, it wasn't The Dark Knight, but for fans of Star Wars, this is perfectly serviceable movie...if you understand this is hard core aimed at the 10 y/o and under crowd (the opening crawl is spoken, not written, fyi). Obi-wan is good Okay, it wasn't The Dark Knight, but for fans of Star Wars, this is perfectly serviceable movie...if you understand this is hard core aimed at the 10 y/o and under crowd (the opening crawl is spoken, not written, fyi). Obi-wan is good in this, and Anakin is a lot more palatable here than in the live-action films. Its actually an okay story, so spend the 4 bucks and go see it if you like SW. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JosephAccettaAug 15, 2008
Im sorry, I'm the only one of my friends that liked the prequels and I still admit they're bad. We all enjoyed the Clone Wars on Cartoon Network, but this is the revelation. George Lucas is a whore and this is crap. I'm Im sorry, I'm the only one of my friends that liked the prequels and I still admit they're bad. We all enjoyed the Clone Wars on Cartoon Network, but this is the revelation. George Lucas is a whore and this is crap. I'm embarrassed to have payed to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChristopherAug 15, 2008
Avoid this trainwreck! Wait for it on free TV if you must, but don't waste your hard earned money and time on this crap. Take your kids to see WALL-E again instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshM.Aug 16, 2008
Stream lined goodness from start to finish. You havent seen anything like it before. Made me think that all the star wars films shoulda been in this style. Call me crazy but this film is a sleeper hit by far. And i will be the one to say it today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CaptainS.Aug 16, 2008
Well, I'm just here to tell you all that I consider myself to be neither A George Lucas hater (I remember "Howard The Duck") or a Lucas worshipper. Hey, I like some of his stuff and others I could care less (the latest trilogy I only Well, I'm just here to tell you all that I consider myself to be neither A George Lucas hater (I remember "Howard The Duck") or a Lucas worshipper. Hey, I like some of his stuff and others I could care less (the latest trilogy I only consider somewhat entertaining). I took my wife and my 5 year old daughter to see "Clone Wars" today and we all came out liking what we saw. Was it as good as live action? NO. Was it as bad as some critics here and abroad are acting? NO. It was action from beginning to end, fast paced and some of the action was every bit as good as the live action stuff. Was the artwork a little strange? YES, I didn't care for it all that much but it wasn't so bad to detract from the story. I'll say this, it ranks below the last trilogy (but barely), and miles above "Ewok Christmas". Besides, my 5 year old loved it! All in all, not a bad way to spend an afternoon, but not a movie I'd rush out to purchase when it comes out on DVD. Don't believe all the "Zeros" offered up here gang, nor all the "Tens". The truth lies somewhere in the middle. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RobH.Aug 16, 2008
First, you have to understand what this is: it's the first few episodes of a half-hour television series which will air on a children's cartoon channel. If you go in thinking it is the next epic "Episode" in the Star Wars saga, First, you have to understand what this is: it's the first few episodes of a half-hour television series which will air on a children's cartoon channel. If you go in thinking it is the next epic "Episode" in the Star Wars saga, you'll be sorely disappointed. But if you take it for what it really is, you will realize that it is going to be a very cool TV show! I went into this expecting to be disappointed -- I loved Genndy's animated Clone Wars and am a Star Wars geek, but the trailers for this 3D version hadn't impressed me. Instead, I was surprised to find myself very entertained by this, especially during the second half when it becomes more light-hearted and comical. (I'd even say I enjoyed it better than Pixar's Wall-E, for example.) We laughed a lot, and outside the theatre after the film all the kids were talking excitedly about their favourite aspect of the film: the comical battle droids. I'm really looking forward to watching more of this series on television with my kids! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CoryP.Aug 16, 2008
Just great fun to watch, animation style is cool, like a cross between anime and traditional american animation similar to the original clone wars cartoon. New characters like Ziro the Hutt are something different for star wars and the Just great fun to watch, animation style is cool, like a cross between anime and traditional american animation similar to the original clone wars cartoon. New characters like Ziro the Hutt are something different for star wars and the battle scenes are pretty epic and provide breaks from the OK story, so fun all round, mindless fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesC.Aug 2, 2008
I thought it would be okay for the expectation of a pretty good theatrical trailer and having George Lucas produce it. But I was wrong. Don't doubt me because there are quiet a bit of bad movies this year. Like 10000 BC, Rambo, I thought it would be okay for the expectation of a pretty good theatrical trailer and having George Lucas produce it. But I was wrong. Don't doubt me because there are quiet a bit of bad movies this year. Like 10000 BC, Rambo, Cloverfield, Jumper, Meet the Spartans, or Suphero Movie. Out of all of them and all movies of the year. This one is the worst. Hands down. This is stupid, repetitive, boring, dull, annoying, predictable, weak, and even embarrassing to watch. Lucas totally downs his career with this razzie-worthy shit. DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE!!!! It's an absolute terrible finish of the year for summer films. It sucks. And the effects, it's like watching yui-gio on TV. Terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TimAug 26, 2008
Fool me once shame on you fool me twice shame on me. With that being said I will never attempt to watch any movie Lucas does again. Between this, episodes I, II, and III, and the last Indiana Jones movie I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DecepticonPomAug 28, 2008
Looks great, but not as good as Episodes I-III, but lack of original voice talent, too much foppish dialogue and a not completely engaging plot make for a hollowingly disappointing experience. Oh, and no crawling intro-text renegades it from Looks great, but not as good as Episodes I-III, but lack of original voice talent, too much foppish dialogue and a not completely engaging plot make for a hollowingly disappointing experience. Oh, and no crawling intro-text renegades it from being a 'proper' Star Wars experience right from the get-go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulL.Aug 7, 2008
this is absolutely the worst movie i ever seen. There is so much cheap animation and the story didn't stick to the prequel star wars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MikeG.Sep 12, 2008
An ok movie for the young, I don't like skywalker, george lucas should have left winey jedi out of the order, anikin could still have turned to the dark side, but been more of a pleasure to watch as a jedi and the same for his supposed An ok movie for the young, I don't like skywalker, george lucas should have left winey jedi out of the order, anikin could still have turned to the dark side, but been more of a pleasure to watch as a jedi and the same for his supposed padawan that doesn't really fit the star wars universe. get someone else to make another real acting star wars trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonKNov 29, 2008
This movie is so awful I found it offensive to watch. George Lucas has truly lost his mind. I have been a huge star wars fan since I was a little boy in the early 80s. I won't even waste time elaborating on all the plot holes and This movie is so awful I found it offensive to watch. George Lucas has truly lost his mind. I have been a huge star wars fan since I was a little boy in the early 80s. I won't even waste time elaborating on all the plot holes and inconsistencies that help make this movie completely ridiculous. Not to mention it is more of the same dull, uninspired, star wars dribble we have come to expect and become desensitized to since the Phantom Menace took a huge smelly dump on the Star Wars Universe several years ago. There is dialogue at the beginning of the movie which I believe sums up my thoughts on the movie and mirrors a conversation George Lucas might have had with the director: Anakin:"But that doesn't make any sense-" Obi Wan:"We'll sort that out later!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TeliDec 28, 2008
I disagree with all the haters. This movie was a lot of fun and I'm personally looking forward to the entire series. An excellent addition to the Star Wars franchise.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffR.Aug 14, 2008
I loved it less than my kid loved it, but seeing his smile and listening to him talk about this *all week long* made me realize -- if he can love something this much, I'll love it, too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EdwardWAug 14, 2008
I don't get the hate. I had a better time at this movie than plodding through the nihilism of Dark Knight. Take it on its own terms -- it's showcasing something that was basically made for the "small" (50" is small?!) screen, and I don't get the hate. I had a better time at this movie than plodding through the nihilism of Dark Knight. Take it on its own terms -- it's showcasing something that was basically made for the "small" (50" is small?!) screen, and it makes me all the more excited for the TV series. It's wall-to-wall action, it's totally bizarre and cool animation, it's silly, it's funny and if it's "Star Wars" light, well, after watching Anakin whine his way through the last couple of films, that may be exactly what "Star Wars" needs. Loved every moment of it (except for about five weird minutes in which Obi-Wan "surrenders," which are absolutely bizarre). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanR.Aug 15, 2008
This is the TV premiere to the new series airing later this fall. Unfortunately, it wasn't decided to put the premiere in theaters until late in production. I mention this because you should know what you're paying for. If This is the TV premiere to the new series airing later this fall. Unfortunately, it wasn't decided to put the premiere in theaters until late in production. I mention this because you should know what you're paying for. If you're paying to see the seventh Star Wars movie, you'll probably be disappointed. But if you're paying for the opportunity to watch a TV premiere on a GIANT television, I think you'll be pretty happy. It doesn't quite reach "movie quality," but it goes above and beyond TV quality and knowing that we'll be treated to this same level quality on a weekly basis is very comforting to this Star Wars fan. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LeoW.Aug 15, 2008
The movie is awful, a complete disrespect to the Star Wars Saga... AND A COMPLETE DISRESPECT TO THE FANS! They really messed up this time... How could Anakin have a padawan learner if he never completed his jedi training (never became a Jedi The movie is awful, a complete disrespect to the Star Wars Saga... AND A COMPLETE DISRESPECT TO THE FANS! They really messed up this time... How could Anakin have a padawan learner if he never completed his jedi training (never became a Jedi Knight)??? There are a lot of technical problems and incoherences and I don't think that the storyline makes sense taking in consideration the storyline of the Star Wars Saga (the six episodes). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RandyM.Aug 15, 2008
A blasphemy upon the Star Wars franchise. The force is not strong with this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
GioDAug 15, 2008
Wow...this was TERRIBLE. I loved the original trilogy and i even liked the prequels but this? Holy hell this was bad. Clone Wars, to put it lightly, just feels hollow, empty, and soulless. Director Dave Filoni is a hack and should NEVER be Wow...this was TERRIBLE. I loved the original trilogy and i even liked the prequels but this? Holy hell this was bad. Clone Wars, to put it lightly, just feels hollow, empty, and soulless. Director Dave Filoni is a hack and should NEVER be near anything Star Wars ever again. Lets start with the good...Ummmmm....decent action scenes. Now the BAD...Ashoka Tano is SO ANNOYING and one of the worst additions to the Star Wars universe. They made her way too "teeny boppy", and her dialouge is atrocious. Then theres the CONSTANT bickering between her and Anakin and the dialouge just gets WORSE. She calls Anakin "Sky Guy", R2-D2 "Artooie", and Jabba the Hutts son "Stinky". It bears repeating, the dialouge is just pathetically juvinile. BAD BAD BAD on so many levels. Then theres the story which is no inconsiquential and adds NOTHING to the overall Star Wars mythology. And what the fuck is up with Ziro the Hutt!!??? Talk about your most racist and most ridiculous character EVER in a Star Wars flick, plus he speaks english? Umm, what? I'm actually going to stop my review here becuase the more i write about it the more pissed off i get. Do yourself a favor and DO NOT go see this travesty at the theater. Genndy Tartovosky's take on the Clone Wars was INFINETLY BETTER than this sh*t. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrandonMAug 16, 2008
What a fun film! This film was full of action from the beginning. Bar none, it has the best action sequences in the Star wars saga to date. The action was fantastic in nature and really engaging. On top of the action, the humor from the What a fun film! This film was full of action from the beginning. Bar none, it has the best action sequences in the Star wars saga to date. The action was fantastic in nature and really engaging. On top of the action, the humor from the original trilogy was there too. Humor was sorely missed throughout the prequel trilogy and it has thankfully returned. A large part of that humor comes from the relationship between Anakin and Ahsoka, his new padawan. Ahsoka is a great addition to the Star wars mythos. The scope of this movie and the Clone Wars lead to a nearly infinite amount of stories that could be told in this format. It takes a few minutes to get into the animation, but once settled in, you're happy to be along for the ride. I'll have to see it again, but this probably better than any of the prequel movies. I hope they continue to produce movies in tandem with the television show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MartinM.Aug 17, 2008
George lucas, why do you destroy this great series?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AndreT.Aug 23, 2008
I generally like the Star Wars universe. This movie was somewhat of a let down. First of all, the story is very shallow and very predictable. It's a pretext to the action scenes. Although I did like some of the humor in the movie, there I generally like the Star Wars universe. This movie was somewhat of a let down. First of all, the story is very shallow and very predictable. It's a pretext to the action scenes. Although I did like some of the humor in the movie, there was no real psychology to the characters. There is a sens of a rushing the story, like...let's get to the next action scene very fast, and let be done with it. The overall graphical style wasn't very good. It's precise and well executed but lifeless. All the models feels stiff and square. There is no real elegance about it in the animation process. In my view the models would have been 100% better, would they be made in Cell Shading with real motion capture. As an example, the tv series Skyland is far superior to that movie, in terms of animation and artistic touch. However the action scenes are very spectacular. Does it justify a movie by itself ? No. The sound is great and the music is supportive. Overall I feel ok with this average movie, but it's not great enough to attract me to watch the TV series, especially if it follows the same shallow path. I would have not seen that movie and it wouldn't have made a difference. A problem that is, I believe. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
EricPSep 27, 2008
I really wanted to try and like this movie, but it just wasn't that good. The script got a little silly at times with the forced puns, idiotic dialogue, terrible rants and obvious errors (Anakin is not a Master, for starters) which took I really wanted to try and like this movie, but it just wasn't that good. The script got a little silly at times with the forced puns, idiotic dialogue, terrible rants and obvious errors (Anakin is not a Master, for starters) which took away from the movie. The fight scenes, while few and far between, were not bad. I actually didn't have a problem with the animation style. It would have been nice to have more of the actors from the movies reprise their roles, but the fill-ins did an ok job. Overall, the movie just felt like a 90 minute trailer for the series due out this fall. It probably isn't worth your money, unless you're a hard-core Star Wars fan, or all the other movies left are chick flicks or terrible comedies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TheQuietGamerMay 27, 2012
A pretty smart idea by the people who made this movie and the TV show, they get the commercial for this show on Cartoon Network, kids who are Star Wars fans see it and tell there parent's about how much they want to see it, and parents takeA pretty smart idea by the people who made this movie and the TV show, they get the commercial for this show on Cartoon Network, kids who are Star Wars fans see it and tell there parent's about how much they want to see it, and parents take their kids to see it to make their kids happy and saying "Hey, it's a new Star Wars movie so I wont be bored out of my mind taking my kid/kids to see it". All the while the creators are raking in the money for the movie while simultaneously getting people pumped for the new TV show. As for the movie itself it's not that bad, it may only please the younger Star Wars fans, but older fans can get into it if they keep an open mind. It's basically just one battle scene after another with a simple plot behind it, and even adds some lightsaber duels and some touches of humor here and there, and does a good job of introducing a few of the new characters that you will be seeing in the TV show. It all turned out well in the end but I still can't help but feel like the movie could have been better, but it's not the worst thing that's happened to the Star Wars series (I'm talking about you Hayden Christensen). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
TheAnti360FoxMay 8, 2011
I hope Warner Bros. can learn from this movie that unless you're actually trying to aim for at LEAST the Dreamworks level of animated films, computer animated films aren't really worth it, especially if they're low-budget, like this one (thisI hope Warner Bros. can learn from this movie that unless you're actually trying to aim for at LEAST the Dreamworks level of animated films, computer animated films aren't really worth it, especially if they're low-budget, like this one (this film took only 8.5 million to make). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Spielberg00Aug 2, 2011
This movie was never interesting. When it wasn't boring, it was just plain stupid and asinine. I feel bad for George Lucas to have been forced to be guilty of this worthless crap by association. I saw it in theaters, and it had awful voiceThis movie was never interesting. When it wasn't boring, it was just plain stupid and asinine. I feel bad for George Lucas to have been forced to be guilty of this worthless crap by association. I saw it in theaters, and it had awful voice acting. I was stupid enough to expect something like...say, an animated version of part of Episode II--when the Clone Wars took place in the Star Wars saga. I can't believe how STUPID I am! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
OfficialMar 8, 2014
After watching the film, I began wondering why I bothered watching it at all. I mean, seriously, there's no point in producing something like this. I think that if you're a hardcore Star Wars fan, you still don't like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
InlikeflynnJun 9, 2014
If this movie was meant to be clumsy and fun... then mission accomplished!

Is hard to take the story seriously when there is no feel of urgency from the characters, is very simple to fallow the story and really doesn't need much brain
If this movie was meant to be clumsy and fun... then mission accomplished!

Is hard to take the story seriously when there is no feel of urgency from the characters, is very simple to fallow the story and really doesn't need much brain storming to fallow the main plot, even for kids; the characters are likable and memorable at least and is actually quite fun to watch... but the animation is clumsy and the character designs are just ugly, you could say even repulsive.

Is not a terrible film... I actually think is better than "The Phantom Menace" because at least things are happening and move in the story, but the weak plot, wacky animation and design takes me away from enjoying it more...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jeff_reviewsJul 25, 2013
"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" ultimately cannot bring enough to match itself with its live-action franchise, and its story lacks much of the wit put into their world. With its constant usage of action, without finess, the film suffers to be"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" ultimately cannot bring enough to match itself with its live-action franchise, and its story lacks much of the wit put into their world. With its constant usage of action, without finess, the film suffers to be nothing more than a movie made to make a few bucks. Though kids will be fine with it, older kids and adults will probably want to spend their money on other movies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheApplegnomeOct 31, 2015
What a marvelous idea, to make a film made of several episodes of the tv-show with the same name. George Lucas is full of surprises. "Jar Jar is the key to all this".

The show starts in a very fast way with tonne of action and blasters
What a marvelous idea, to make a film made of several episodes of the tv-show with the same name. George Lucas is full of surprises. "Jar Jar is the key to all this".

The show starts in a very fast way with tonne of action and blasters coming from every direction. The plot is quickly introduced and we follow Anakin and Obi-Wan through the struggles of the war. My first impression is the cinematography, which is so smooth and well combined with the events that happen throughout the whole movie. The action is actually pretty good. It got some moments of intensity and entertainment and it does deliver. But this is only one part of it. Later on the plot becomes a bit "meh"; it started to lack entertainment from a long-term perspective. It's no surprise why, it's the structure of the film that's the most crucial. Having three or four episodes of the tv-show with the same name combined into one film comes with some disadvantages. The tempo keeps going up and down over and over, and the plot keeps getting messier and messier. It shouldn't have been a movie, not by a long shot! The plot isn't as good as it could have been, but as a tv-show, it would have worked excellent! The negative aspects doesn't stop there; because the basics are very non-flawless. The characters are very well visualized but some of them does make very Illogical decisions, that they never would have done in the prequels. This is just for a few characters but it's so non-admirable to the source material. The main characters are good when it comes to interaction, but there are a lot of dry moments that could have been better. This includes the dialogs, which can be very dry, fact-based and very Lucas-alike (characters that show their emotions and tell what they think). That's a big flaw right there, we don't need to! We are human beings that can relate to characters through just a brief look at them.

There are a few positive aspects with this show, and except for what just was mentioned; are the a lot of connections with the prequels, both details and twists to those films. The plot is as mentioned very messy, but it can still be entertaining with a good villain and a somewhat okay tempo of action. But the flaws are very big, and that includes the horrible CGI. This is coming from a 2008-movie where CGI is supposed to be well-developed. Even the early days were better. Still, some details like ships are still somewhat okay to look at, but the rest can be so horrible that it's barely watchable. The last aspect that really is bad is the editing, especially when it comes to action-sequences where frames can be disorientated and very horrible done in a very flawed way. There are very few long and constant shots and it therefor can feel too CGI-ish and not real.

"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" is one of the most flawed movies I've seen. But personally; do I still find it somewhat okay even though I've already forgotten mostly of the plot.

Personal rating: 60/100
Critical rating: 36/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TimeOfTheChimpsMar 16, 2015
Characterisations in this film were way better than the prequels, and the lightsaber duels were amazing. Using the droids as the comic relief didn't work too well, though, which brings it down a bit. Otherwise, the film feels like genuineCharacterisations in this film were way better than the prequels, and the lightsaber duels were amazing. Using the droids as the comic relief didn't work too well, though, which brings it down a bit. Otherwise, the film feels like genuine Star Wars, and that's what makes it great. When I first searched this film, I though reviews were going to be positive. What I saw honestly shocked me. I guess the negative reviews are because people were forced to adjust to newer characters and settings, which they noticeably had a hard time doing. Me, though? I love a lot of things pertaining to Star Wars, and this is one of them. 9/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheMasiMan1Jan 22, 2016
I liked it. Shame there wasn't the real voices of the characters like Hayden Christiensen or Ewan McGregor. Good thing you got Christopher Lee back in tho. Its much like the prequels, but theres not Jar Jar or anybody or anything that annoysI liked it. Shame there wasn't the real voices of the characters like Hayden Christiensen or Ewan McGregor. Good thing you got Christopher Lee back in tho. Its much like the prequels, but theres not Jar Jar or anybody or anything that annoys you. Great... for an animated movie I mean. This isnt a good movie compared to the real-life Star Wars films, but it's as good as an animated movie is going to get. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ydnar4Jan 22, 2016
Star Wars: The Clone Wars is a waste of time. I don't care how big of a Star Wars fan you are this movie is really hard to like. The film offers a major role for a new character Ahsoka Tano, who is so annoying. The banter between her andStar Wars: The Clone Wars is a waste of time. I don't care how big of a Star Wars fan you are this movie is really hard to like. The film offers a major role for a new character Ahsoka Tano, who is so annoying. The banter between her and Anakin was so lame and childish. Most of the voices for the characters are new and completely flat. The movie also is way to confusing for kids but the dialogue is certainly dumbed down for kids. Don't bother with this crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ChoBrooooDec 13, 2015
This is a movie that I didn't think was going to be bad. I was like 10 years old at the time when this came out. Instead of an awesome movie, I got a piece of **** movie. I love every single star wars movie, even the first one, which might beThis is a movie that I didn't think was going to be bad. I was like 10 years old at the time when this came out. Instead of an awesome movie, I got a piece of **** movie. I love every single star wars movie, even the first one, which might be my favorite (Sorry). But, this movie was SO BAD that I could not even finish it because I was in shock of how **** awful this thing was. This is not star wars, nor a mediocre movie. I would rather watch Freddy gets fingered 10 times than watch this piece of **** once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
When I was sitting in a theater during the summer of 1977 enthralled by the spectacle that was Star Wars, never did I imagine that, some 31 years later, I would find myself wishing it would go away. Overmerchandising, fan unfriendliness, andWhen I was sitting in a theater during the summer of 1977 enthralled by the spectacle that was Star Wars, never did I imagine that, some 31 years later, I would find myself wishing it would go away. Overmerchandising, fan unfriendliness, and greed have sapped all that was magical about the Star Wars name. The Clone Wars, as obvious a money-grab as there has ever been, stands alongside the infamous 1978 Star Wars Holiday Special as officially sanctioned productions that are better ignored or forgotten. The Clone Wars is the last nail in a coffin that has been propped up ever since George Lucas sold his creative soul in the quest for a few more pieces of gold.

It has been 25 years since the Star Wars saga has moved forward. In that time, we have gotten three movies' worth of back story, but there really hasn't been anything new. The prequels work well enough in the overall picture of things, but there's something a little underwhelming about watching the pieces fall into places where one knows they'll end up. The tragedy of Anakin's fall is less compelling because we know what will happen to him after that fall. Now, with the latest cinematic installment of Star Wars, does Lucas finally give us something new? No. He returns to the time period of the prequels (specifically, the gap between Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith) and gives us more back story. Only this time, we know the specific fates of all the characters. It's hard to imagine a more pointless endeavor.

To add insult to injury, this isn't even a live-action episode. It's animated. In fact, the movie is really the pilot for a TV series and looks about as stilted as one might expect from something with that pedigree. This isn't quality computer generated animation, it's cut rate stuff. It might look okay on a television but, blown up on the big screen, it looks cheesy. The space ships and droids are okay, but the humans have the appearance of old-time Christmas tree ornaments. The Star Wars action figures have more personality. Then there are the voices. Most of the actors declined invitations to provide their vocal talents, so we have a group of unfamiliar actors giving voice to the animated likenesses of Anakin, Obi-Wan, Yoda, and Padme. Only Samuel L. Jackson (as Mace Windu), Anthony Daniels (as C3PO), and Christopher Lee (as Count Dooku) provide a tenuous link to things past. (This gives Daniels the distinction of being the only actor to have participated in all seven Star Wars motion pictures.)

The Clone Wars is a good example of how action can be boring. Roughly 50% of the movie features droids and clone troopers blasting each other. Repetitive doesn't even begin to cover it. A lot of the other stuff is anti-climactic. For example, there's a lightsaber duel between Anakin and Count Dooku, but since we've already seen the final confrontation between the two in Revenge of the Sith, this feels more than a little unnecessary. From the moment it begins, we know it's destined to end in a stalemate, so what's the point?

Throughout the six live action films, Lucas created a number of memorable sidekick characters - some successful, some not so successful. C3PO and R2D2 rank at the top of the former category, and are viewed by many as the most endearing inhabitants of the Star Wars universe. Then there's Jar Jar Binks, and the less said about him, the better. (To his credit, Lucas heeded the negative feedback and phased Jar Jar out of the series after The Phantom Menace.) The Clone Wars gives us Ashoka Tano, a bratty teenage girl who is nearly an annoying as Jar Jar, but without the accent. Since she's nowhere to be found by the time we get to Revenge of the Sith, one must assume she's not going to make it through the TV series. Sadly, her demise does not occur at any time during The Clone Wars.

There's just enough of John Williams' main title to trick us into momentarily believing this is a true Star Wars movie, but even that has been re-mixed so it doesn't sound quite right. The incidental music is adequate but, considering what we have come to expect from the Star Wars features, it sounds pedestrian. It's another example of how much the entire project feels like a cheap knock-off - an attempt to prey on whatever little good will still exists in Star Wars fandom. Judging by the surprisingly sparse audience at the "free" promotional screening, however, there's not much enthusiasm out there for The Clone Wars. Gatherings for pre-release screenings of Revenge of the Sith were madhouses, with lines circling blocks. There were rows of empty seats for The Clone Wars. This surely won't be the last time Lucas attempts to wring blood from his Star Wars stone, but perhaps this golden egg is hard-boiled.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
TheDude-Jun 13, 2015
the animation is fine with some decent moments but the characters are awfully written and film is extremely boring mainly because the plot and pacing are fractured in their structure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
therealcritic79Aug 10, 2015
Okay here we go. Well, it isn't as bad as the critics are saying, but... yeah let's just get this over with. The story is just boring and stupid and the acting is nothing like the live action movies. Even the animation looks horrible. IOkay here we go. Well, it isn't as bad as the critics are saying, but... yeah let's just get this over with. The story is just boring and stupid and the acting is nothing like the live action movies. Even the animation looks horrible. I wouldn't really even recommend this to fans of the tv show. Out of all the star wars movies, this one is undeniably the worst. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MagesticLeanJan 11, 2016
its 4 episodes of the clone wars TV SHOW turned into a movie, great battles, great locations, very creative retarded story. Its actually cool i remember, seeing it in Lisboa i was like wow cool im still like, k
R I P Christopher lee
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
To describe this movie in a review, Star Wars: The Clone Wars doesn't feel like a good installment... in the franchise or not. As a matter of fact, this felt like it should've been a straight-to-TV movie or felt like a pilot episode of theTo describe this movie in a review, Star Wars: The Clone Wars doesn't feel like a good installment... in the franchise or not. As a matter of fact, this felt like it should've been a straight-to-TV movie or felt like a pilot episode of the Clone Wars separated into three (or four if there's an extension scene) parts airing on Cartoon Network. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AdrenalinDec 28, 2016
When I was in the theatre for this I was quite disappointed. After all tho, Disney proved it could have been a lot worse and the movie at least had character.

The tv show is a solid 9/10 from season 3 to end, tho.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gameguardian21Mar 1, 2016
I think this movie is better than all the prequels. It has more developed characters, great animation, and a start to a new series. The plot is a bit stupid, but it is easily forgiven by the great action scenes. Rotta the hutt can getI think this movie is better than all the prequels. It has more developed characters, great animation, and a start to a new series. The plot is a bit stupid, but it is easily forgiven by the great action scenes. Rotta the hutt can get annoying at times, but not too much. Overall I enjoyed this movie, and it feels just like the cartoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Thatonenerd2187Dec 11, 2016
Im going to be completely honest, I actually think this is a solid movie. Even though the plot is pretty dumb, and some of the characters needed development, this was a fun star wars movie. The animation, action, and story were what made meIm going to be completely honest, I actually think this is a solid movie. Even though the plot is pretty dumb, and some of the characters needed development, this was a fun star wars movie. The animation, action, and story were what made me like this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Jk9785Feb 23, 2017
This film is enjoyable, but I personally wasn't that enamored with the story. The animation is well done, and it does a good job setting up one of my favorite TV series of all time, but I think this film could have and should have been done better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SonicHD7Jun 1, 2017
As more star systems get swept into the Clone Wars, the valiant Jedi knights struggle to maintain order. Anakin Skywalker and his Padawan learner Ahsoka Tano embark on a mission that brings them face-to-face with Jabba the Hutt. PlottingAs more star systems get swept into the Clone Wars, the valiant Jedi knights struggle to maintain order. Anakin Skywalker and his Padawan learner Ahsoka Tano embark on a mission that brings them face-to-face with Jabba the Hutt. Plotting against them is evil Count Dooku and his agent, Asajj Ventress, who would ensure that the Jedis fail. Meanwhile, Yoda and Obi-Wan Kenobi lead the clone army against the forces of the Dark Side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews