Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: August 15, 2008
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 269 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
108
Mixed:
84
Negative:
77
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
grandpajoe6191Sep 28, 2011
"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" is basically for the Star Wars fans and kiddies. If your not into it, this will NEVER appeal to you. Never....
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
JaredC.Aug 6, 2008
Yes, a little fan of Star Wars, with high expectations from Phantom, astonishingly surprised myself with a cheesy cornstock of complete patheticness (ignore the horrible spelling grammar). My expectations for the Star Wars tirlogy from Yes, a little fan of Star Wars, with high expectations from Phantom, astonishingly surprised myself with a cheesy cornstock of complete patheticness (ignore the horrible spelling grammar). My expectations for the Star Wars tirlogy from Attack of the Clones, to Revenge got much lower. The second one was good, but the third had corny lines and bad acting (Hayden Christenson, razzi winner, mind you). I see a trailer in the cinemas while watching Get Smart on Aug. 1, and I see an animated Star Wars thing on the big screen. First of all, you can tell the script is awful by the cheesy lines they added in the teaser and theatrical. But then I randomly saw it, judging most aspects of the film to see how bad it really was after all. The special screening was interesting, and goodness, when this crap comes out in the cinemas, people will avoid it. Lioke seriously, what's the point of adding a remake of Revenge of the Sith, by changing almost everything around. It was very confusing. I don't know what Lucas was thinking while making this, but I think he's either on meth, or he's expecting to lose his career and laugh while people are watching him fail at his life -mostly taking back the reason why he won a life achievement award. But what a huge downfall in his career. In anutshell, its bad. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
PixarloverOct 25, 2012
This was utterly painful to sit through. Don't get me wrong I LOVE STAR WARS, but this isn't the Star Wars that we loved back in our childhoods. Where did all this go wrong? My guess is that George Lucas wanted to extend the lifespan of StarThis was utterly painful to sit through. Don't get me wrong I LOVE STAR WARS, but this isn't the Star Wars that we loved back in our childhoods. Where did all this go wrong? My guess is that George Lucas wanted to extend the lifespan of Star Wars merchandising by making a new Star Wars movie made up of the first 3 or 4 episodes The Clone Wars TV series, only to expand on the merchandising when the series came out.

This is not Star Wars. This is Star Wars: The Bored Wars. The battles are not exciting or engaging; they are the most formulaic thing in the film, and there is nothing much to add aside from how poorly edited this movie really was. Hell, the episodes, if they were kept in their original forms, would probably be just as bad as before even without the clumsy sandwiching they used to put them together in one under-produced film.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
unfortunatelysoMay 7, 2011
I suppose this movie was intended for a younger audience, seeing as the rating bar cannot go any lower. I consider this film to be the most despicable, disgraceful, dishonorable, disgusting, disenchanting, disregarding, demoralizing, dismalI suppose this movie was intended for a younger audience, seeing as the rating bar cannot go any lower. I consider this film to be the most despicable, disgraceful, dishonorable, disgusting, disenchanting, disregarding, demoralizing, dismal piece of **** I have ever seen. George Lucas, why did you have to go throw up on the Star Wars saga and then take a BIG @$$ **** ON IT?!?!?! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
bonnin40Feb 18, 2013
It still baffles me that they had to replace the fantastic cartoon network animated series that came out in early 2000'S, for this one. The original animated clone wars kept it simple, and linked the 2nd and third movies together perfectly,It still baffles me that they had to replace the fantastic cartoon network animated series that came out in early 2000'S, for this one. The original animated clone wars kept it simple, and linked the 2nd and third movies together perfectly, but this... this just adds a bunch of unneccessary characters, and adds cannon that doesnt fit, compared to the original animated series, which doesnt try to hard to cram in crap that clearly doesnt fit. like Anikan having a padawan, completely unneccessary. Youd have to be really young, or a very accepting star wars fan to get any enjoyment out of this. it does have good lightsaber duels, and its awesome to see more backstory on jedi in the council, but they executed the story in a completely wrong way, and the animation comes off as very kiddy as well. im not a huge star wars fan anymore, as ive basically grown out of it, and while i do still consider myself a starwars fan, and i do look foward to seeing 7, 8, and 9 in the theaters, this entire movie and animated series im just going to pretend didnt happen. this score is completely opinion based, but i stand by my opinions, and the opinions of many others, on this movie and even the tv series. good seeing jedi and great action scenes, but a story that doesnt fit and all together seems completely unneccessary, which makes it hard to get into. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
1
RikiegeFeb 2, 2013
A disaster movie made ​​only for those who saw the bad set of 'Star Wars: The Clone Wars'. The movie is terrible.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
aadityamudharJun 19, 2016
It still baffles me that they had to replace the fantastic cartoon network animated series that came out in early 2000'S, for this one. The original animated clone wars kept it simple, and linked the 2nd and third movies together perfectly,It still baffles me that they had to replace the fantastic cartoon network animated series that came out in early 2000'S, for this one. The original animated clone wars kept it simple, and linked the 2nd and third movies together perfectly, but this... this just adds a bunch of unneccessary characters, and adds cannon that doesnt fit, compared to the original animated series, which doesnt try to hard to cram in crap that clearly doesnt fit. like Anikan having a padawan, completely unneccessary. Youd have to be really young, or a very accepting star wars fan to get any enjoyment out of this. it does have good lightsaber duels, and its awesome to see more backstory on jedi in the council, but they executed the story in a completely wrong way, and the animation comes off as very kiddy as well. im not a huge star wars fan anymore, as ive basically grown out of it, and while i do still consider myself a starwars fan, and i do look forward to seeing 7, 8, and 9 in the theaters, this entire movie and animated series im just going to pretend didnt happen. this score is completely opinion based, but i stand by my opinions, and the opinions of many others, on this movie and even the tv series. good seeing jedi and great action scenes, but a story that doesnt fit and all together seems completely unneccessary, which makes it hard to get into. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
GazL.Aug 12, 2008
It
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CoalB.Oct 1, 2008
I am a religious star wars fan and this film is blasphemy. I can't believe Lucas let this happen. Star Wars is not fucking funny, it's not a f*cking comedy, this is serious shit and I piss on this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JaniceKAug 15, 2008
This was the first time I ever walked out of a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
rhAug 15, 2008
What has happened to George Lucas? After three of the greatest movies of all time... He gave us three of the most disappointing movies of all time. And now this! The company that pioneered CGI did such poor "cartoonish" work in the 3 star What has happened to George Lucas? After three of the greatest movies of all time... He gave us three of the most disappointing movies of all time. And now this! The company that pioneered CGI did such poor "cartoonish" work in the 3 star wars prequels, it looks like they've decided to do away with real actors, and just give us straight cartoons. And the overall quality continues to decline. GEORGE! Get out your DVD player and watch the original star wars again! It was groundbreaking and incredible. You can do it again! Give up on the kiddie flicks, and re-do the last 3 movies to the quality of the first! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesAug 15, 2008
Richard K. they have these things called pre-screenings. you can see the movie before it comes out. nothing fishy, you're just poorly informed. i saw this and i was stoked to get my 'star wars' on and i was so let down from Richard K. they have these things called pre-screenings. you can see the movie before it comes out. nothing fishy, you're just poorly informed. i saw this and i was stoked to get my 'star wars' on and i was so let down from this p.o.s story. i love the graphic style and direction, but a movie with no or poor story direction is as entertaining as staring at a wall for 98 mins. you'd have to have a mind of a 5 yr. old to think this movie could ever become a 10. no taste. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SkullAug 15, 2008
Another nail in the coffin of the once inspiring and transcendent legacy of Star Wars. Do I need to see this to rate it zero stars? No. Do you need to see this to rate it zero stars? No. Please do not see this movie you will only encourage Another nail in the coffin of the once inspiring and transcendent legacy of Star Wars. Do I need to see this to rate it zero stars? No. Do you need to see this to rate it zero stars? No. Please do not see this movie you will only encourage Lucas to continue the slaughter and desecration of the Star Wars legacy. Some one with the power in Hollywood please bar Lucas from making any more movies. It should be a crime for him to make any more movies. I Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DamonC.Aug 2, 2008
Absolutely Terrible! The graphics and visuals look even worse than a video games. And the idea that Anikan is the republics only hope is just plain stupid. In the REAL trilogy nobody trusts Annikan for what he may become. This is just some Absolutely Terrible! The graphics and visuals look even worse than a video games. And the idea that Anikan is the republics only hope is just plain stupid. In the REAL trilogy nobody trusts Annikan for what he may become. This is just some collosal bomb that has no knowledge of anything of Star Wars at all. I thought The Clone Wars had already been told, through the end of the second film and throughout the third. I don`t care if George Lucas executive produced this film. It was just very predictable, stupid, and plain awful. Lucas`s worst BY FAR!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EdawrdC.Aug 7, 2008
Sta Wars: The Clone Wars looked awful. And it turned out being absolutely terrible. I hated it. The acting and dialogue is stupid. And alike the first two star Wars movies. (The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones.) There is no life or Sta Wars: The Clone Wars looked awful. And it turned out being absolutely terrible. I hated it. The acting and dialogue is stupid. And alike the first two star Wars movies. (The Phantom Menace and Attack of the Clones.) There is no life or soul in this at all. It's predictable, it doesn't have any knowledge of other Star Wars movies. It's pointless, characters attitudes and perspectives have changed. Where is the basic philosophy in Star Wars? Anyway, I hate this movie. The graphics are terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WhysoseriousAug 9, 2008
What the f*ck is this movie? I Think that this movie should go in the garbage because the franchise of star wars is DEAD.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RichieR.Sep 10, 2008
Ok I see people saying that the animated characters seemed stiff and square and well was that so different from the rest of the star wars prequel acting? The movie seemed ok but not as fantastic as the movies that made the star wars Ok I see people saying that the animated characters seemed stiff and square and well was that so different from the rest of the star wars prequel acting? The movie seemed ok but not as fantastic as the movies that made the star wars franchise so popular (IV, V, VI). I give it one star for the efforts on the animation other from that *yawn* nothing special. The star wars stories are getting too drawn out with less appeal as it carries on (theatrically). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JayH.Nov 5, 2008
I did not find much of this movie interesting at all and frequently found myself bored. The animation was unimpressive, as are the voice overs. Ho hum.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MattP.Aug 12, 2008
I'm a self-proclaimed Star Wars fanboy, and I disliked this movie from the opening credits on. After about 45 minutes in, I walked out on the preview screening I attended. Even the prequels were better than this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandonS.Aug 15, 2008
On websites all over the internet, people are posting comments that essentially say that if you don't like something Star Wars-related you're not a "real fan." So if I recognize that the prequels were terrible, that this movie is On websites all over the internet, people are posting comments that essentially say that if you don't like something Star Wars-related you're not a "real fan." So if I recognize that the prequels were terrible, that this movie is awful, and that George Lucas has become an incompetent storyteller, I'm not longer a real fan of the original trilogy? Guess I'm not a real fan, then. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JosephAccettaAug 15, 2008
Im sorry, I'm the only one of my friends that liked the prequels and I still admit they're bad. We all enjoyed the Clone Wars on Cartoon Network, but this is the revelation. George Lucas is a whore and this is crap. I'm Im sorry, I'm the only one of my friends that liked the prequels and I still admit they're bad. We all enjoyed the Clone Wars on Cartoon Network, but this is the revelation. George Lucas is a whore and this is crap. I'm embarrassed to have payed to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ChristopherAug 15, 2008
Avoid this trainwreck! Wait for it on free TV if you must, but don't waste your hard earned money and time on this crap. Take your kids to see WALL-E again instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JamesC.Aug 2, 2008
I thought it would be okay for the expectation of a pretty good theatrical trailer and having George Lucas produce it. But I was wrong. Don't doubt me because there are quiet a bit of bad movies this year. Like 10000 BC, Rambo, I thought it would be okay for the expectation of a pretty good theatrical trailer and having George Lucas produce it. But I was wrong. Don't doubt me because there are quiet a bit of bad movies this year. Like 10000 BC, Rambo, Cloverfield, Jumper, Meet the Spartans, or Suphero Movie. Out of all of them and all movies of the year. This one is the worst. Hands down. This is stupid, repetitive, boring, dull, annoying, predictable, weak, and even embarrassing to watch. Lucas totally downs his career with this razzie-worthy shit. DON'T SEE THIS MOVIE!!!! It's an absolute terrible finish of the year for summer films. It sucks. And the effects, it's like watching yui-gio on TV. Terrible. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TimAug 26, 2008
Fool me once shame on you fool me twice shame on me. With that being said I will never attempt to watch any movie Lucas does again. Between this, episodes I, II, and III, and the last Indiana Jones movie I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PaulL.Aug 7, 2008
this is absolutely the worst movie i ever seen. There is so much cheap animation and the story didn't stick to the prequel star wars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JonKNov 29, 2008
This movie is so awful I found it offensive to watch. George Lucas has truly lost his mind. I have been a huge star wars fan since I was a little boy in the early 80s. I won't even waste time elaborating on all the plot holes and This movie is so awful I found it offensive to watch. George Lucas has truly lost his mind. I have been a huge star wars fan since I was a little boy in the early 80s. I won't even waste time elaborating on all the plot holes and inconsistencies that help make this movie completely ridiculous. Not to mention it is more of the same dull, uninspired, star wars dribble we have come to expect and become desensitized to since the Phantom Menace took a huge smelly dump on the Star Wars Universe several years ago. There is dialogue at the beginning of the movie which I believe sums up my thoughts on the movie and mirrors a conversation George Lucas might have had with the director: Anakin:"But that doesn't make any sense-" Obi Wan:"We'll sort that out later!" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LeoW.Aug 15, 2008
The movie is awful, a complete disrespect to the Star Wars Saga... AND A COMPLETE DISRESPECT TO THE FANS! They really messed up this time... How could Anakin have a padawan learner if he never completed his jedi training (never became a Jedi The movie is awful, a complete disrespect to the Star Wars Saga... AND A COMPLETE DISRESPECT TO THE FANS! They really messed up this time... How could Anakin have a padawan learner if he never completed his jedi training (never became a Jedi Knight)??? There are a lot of technical problems and incoherences and I don't think that the storyline makes sense taking in consideration the storyline of the Star Wars Saga (the six episodes). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RandyM.Aug 15, 2008
A blasphemy upon the Star Wars franchise. The force is not strong with this one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MartinM.Aug 17, 2008
George lucas, why do you destroy this great series?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TheAnti360FoxMay 8, 2011
I hope Warner Bros. can learn from this movie that unless you're actually trying to aim for at LEAST the Dreamworks level of animated films, computer animated films aren't really worth it, especially if they're low-budget, like this one (thisI hope Warner Bros. can learn from this movie that unless you're actually trying to aim for at LEAST the Dreamworks level of animated films, computer animated films aren't really worth it, especially if they're low-budget, like this one (this film took only 8.5 million to make). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Spielberg00Aug 2, 2011
This movie was never interesting. When it wasn't boring, it was just plain stupid and asinine. I feel bad for George Lucas to have been forced to be guilty of this worthless crap by association. I saw it in theaters, and it had awful voiceThis movie was never interesting. When it wasn't boring, it was just plain stupid and asinine. I feel bad for George Lucas to have been forced to be guilty of this worthless crap by association. I saw it in theaters, and it had awful voice acting. I was stupid enough to expect something like...say, an animated version of part of Episode II--when the Clone Wars took place in the Star Wars saga. I can't believe how STUPID I am! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
OfficialMar 8, 2014
After watching the film, I began wondering why I bothered watching it at all. I mean, seriously, there's no point in producing something like this. I think that if you're a hardcore Star Wars fan, you still don't like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
jeff_reviewsJul 25, 2013
"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" ultimately cannot bring enough to match itself with its live-action franchise, and its story lacks much of the wit put into their world. With its constant usage of action, without finess, the film suffers to be"Star Wars: The Clone Wars" ultimately cannot bring enough to match itself with its live-action franchise, and its story lacks much of the wit put into their world. With its constant usage of action, without finess, the film suffers to be nothing more than a movie made to make a few bucks. Though kids will be fine with it, older kids and adults will probably want to spend their money on other movies out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
ydnar4Jan 22, 2016
Star Wars: The Clone Wars is a waste of time. I don't care how big of a Star Wars fan you are this movie is really hard to like. The film offers a major role for a new character Ahsoka Tano, who is so annoying. The banter between her andStar Wars: The Clone Wars is a waste of time. I don't care how big of a Star Wars fan you are this movie is really hard to like. The film offers a major role for a new character Ahsoka Tano, who is so annoying. The banter between her and Anakin was so lame and childish. Most of the voices for the characters are new and completely flat. The movie also is way to confusing for kids but the dialogue is certainly dumbed down for kids. Don't bother with this crap. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
ChoBrooooDec 13, 2015
This is a movie that I didn't think was going to be bad. I was like 10 years old at the time when this came out. Instead of an awesome movie, I got a piece of **** movie. I love every single star wars movie, even the first one, which might beThis is a movie that I didn't think was going to be bad. I was like 10 years old at the time when this came out. Instead of an awesome movie, I got a piece of **** movie. I love every single star wars movie, even the first one, which might be my favorite (Sorry). But, this movie was SO BAD that I could not even finish it because I was in shock of how **** awful this thing was. This is not star wars, nor a mediocre movie. I would rather watch Freddy gets fingered 10 times than watch this piece of **** once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
When I was sitting in a theater during the summer of 1977 enthralled by the spectacle that was Star Wars, never did I imagine that, some 31 years later, I would find myself wishing it would go away. Overmerchandising, fan unfriendliness, andWhen I was sitting in a theater during the summer of 1977 enthralled by the spectacle that was Star Wars, never did I imagine that, some 31 years later, I would find myself wishing it would go away. Overmerchandising, fan unfriendliness, and greed have sapped all that was magical about the Star Wars name. The Clone Wars, as obvious a money-grab as there has ever been, stands alongside the infamous 1978 Star Wars Holiday Special as officially sanctioned productions that are better ignored or forgotten. The Clone Wars is the last nail in a coffin that has been propped up ever since George Lucas sold his creative soul in the quest for a few more pieces of gold.

It has been 25 years since the Star Wars saga has moved forward. In that time, we have gotten three movies' worth of back story, but there really hasn't been anything new. The prequels work well enough in the overall picture of things, but there's something a little underwhelming about watching the pieces fall into places where one knows they'll end up. The tragedy of Anakin's fall is less compelling because we know what will happen to him after that fall. Now, with the latest cinematic installment of Star Wars, does Lucas finally give us something new? No. He returns to the time period of the prequels (specifically, the gap between Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith) and gives us more back story. Only this time, we know the specific fates of all the characters. It's hard to imagine a more pointless endeavor.

To add insult to injury, this isn't even a live-action episode. It's animated. In fact, the movie is really the pilot for a TV series and looks about as stilted as one might expect from something with that pedigree. This isn't quality computer generated animation, it's cut rate stuff. It might look okay on a television but, blown up on the big screen, it looks cheesy. The space ships and droids are okay, but the humans have the appearance of old-time Christmas tree ornaments. The Star Wars action figures have more personality. Then there are the voices. Most of the actors declined invitations to provide their vocal talents, so we have a group of unfamiliar actors giving voice to the animated likenesses of Anakin, Obi-Wan, Yoda, and Padme. Only Samuel L. Jackson (as Mace Windu), Anthony Daniels (as C3PO), and Christopher Lee (as Count Dooku) provide a tenuous link to things past. (This gives Daniels the distinction of being the only actor to have participated in all seven Star Wars motion pictures.)

The Clone Wars is a good example of how action can be boring. Roughly 50% of the movie features droids and clone troopers blasting each other. Repetitive doesn't even begin to cover it. A lot of the other stuff is anti-climactic. For example, there's a lightsaber duel between Anakin and Count Dooku, but since we've already seen the final confrontation between the two in Revenge of the Sith, this feels more than a little unnecessary. From the moment it begins, we know it's destined to end in a stalemate, so what's the point?

Throughout the six live action films, Lucas created a number of memorable sidekick characters - some successful, some not so successful. C3PO and R2D2 rank at the top of the former category, and are viewed by many as the most endearing inhabitants of the Star Wars universe. Then there's Jar Jar Binks, and the less said about him, the better. (To his credit, Lucas heeded the negative feedback and phased Jar Jar out of the series after The Phantom Menace.) The Clone Wars gives us Ashoka Tano, a bratty teenage girl who is nearly an annoying as Jar Jar, but without the accent. Since she's nowhere to be found by the time we get to Revenge of the Sith, one must assume she's not going to make it through the TV series. Sadly, her demise does not occur at any time during The Clone Wars.

There's just enough of John Williams' main title to trick us into momentarily believing this is a true Star Wars movie, but even that has been re-mixed so it doesn't sound quite right. The incidental music is adequate but, considering what we have come to expect from the Star Wars features, it sounds pedestrian. It's another example of how much the entire project feels like a cheap knock-off - an attempt to prey on whatever little good will still exists in Star Wars fandom. Judging by the surprisingly sparse audience at the "free" promotional screening, however, there's not much enthusiasm out there for The Clone Wars. Gatherings for pre-release screenings of Revenge of the Sith were madhouses, with lines circling blocks. There were rows of empty seats for The Clone Wars. This surely won't be the last time Lucas attempts to wring blood from his Star Wars stone, but perhaps this golden egg is hard-boiled.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews