User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 2 out of 34

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 27, 2014
    10
    Smart script, powerful story from start to finish, realistic style and terrific performance from Jack O'Connell, MacKenzie successfully makes "Starred Up" hitting your feeling and your mind as hard as the prison life always be. It's easily one of the best prison drama film I ever seen.
  2. Aug 27, 2014
    9
    This is a surprisingly powerful prison drama that manages to rise above the generally expected level for this type of genre film. Due to an excellent screenplay which balances grit with humour it is gripping from beginning to end. Relative newcomer Jack O'Connell in a star making performance (Angelina Jolie obviously took note) holds centre stage with ease as the junior offender who isThis is a surprisingly powerful prison drama that manages to rise above the generally expected level for this type of genre film. Due to an excellent screenplay which balances grit with humour it is gripping from beginning to end. Relative newcomer Jack O'Connell in a star making performance (Angelina Jolie obviously took note) holds centre stage with ease as the junior offender who is 'Starred Up' and finds himself transferred to an adult prison where he is unwittingly re-united with his dad. As the estranged and neglectful father Ben Mendelsohn demonstrates, yet again, what a great character actor he is (He all but stole 'Killing me Softly'). The film is very intense and one scene of violence is so shocking that it had me literally holding my breath!
    Technically I found the sound to be inaudible at times which, unfortunately, causes some of the humour to be lost. Never the less this is first rate stuff demonstrating cinema at its provocative best.
    Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    A film well worth watching as long as you're not feeling a bit vulnerable or depressed! Very accurate reflection of life in Britain's crumbling prison system, and the two main characters are both superbly acted.
  4. Aug 30, 2014
    8
    Jack O'Conmnell steals the show in this prison drama. Although hard to understand the accents at times, this movie held my interest and was realistic.
  5. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    It's an outstanding movie and the conversation starts and finishes with the brilliant cast. Both father and son are incredibly good. It almost feels like we're watching an entire season of Oz and one nice two hour chunk. This one is absolutely worth seeing on the big screen if it's playing in your neck of the woods.
  6. Sep 22, 2014
    8
    The latest British prison movie, which was partially based on the true story. The whole movie was shot inside a prison evolving into depicting the prison life. When a young, but a violent crime offender, Eric been transformed into an adult penitentiary, he meets his compeer. His strength will be tested against his counterparts who are two times older than him. The young fellow all preparedThe latest British prison movie, which was partially based on the true story. The whole movie was shot inside a prison evolving into depicting the prison life. When a young, but a violent crime offender, Eric been transformed into an adult penitentiary, he meets his compeer. His strength will be tested against his counterparts who are two times older than him. The young fellow all prepared to face the most dangerous criminals from the country. Thus his restless days begin to fight for survival. He signs for therapy meet which is forced by his father who is also an inmate. Like all the father, the story describes his role as a protector. Definitely not a melodrama, but deliberately aggressive and he can do anything to defend his son.

    ‘‘Starred up means you are leader.’’

    Impressive tricks by the felons who hide their weapons and other stuffs which can be useful for their defense. There is no exact story, scene by scene, it just replicates the real prison's daily activities and experiences that one can go through. It is not a greatest prison story ever told, but the contents were so powerful, like, as I said it was kind of inspired by a real person's. Jack O'Connell was unbelievably good in his role. He's having a wonderful time right now and I am eager for his next venture 'Unbroken'. The other characters were not that exposed as he was, but given equal good performances. I have not seen any prison related movie recently and this movie surprisingly met above my expectation.

    7.5/10
    Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 26, 2014
    60
    Starred Up isn't just violence for violence's sake. Rather, it is a surprisingly layered, hard-hitting human drama, one that cuts to the bone -- albeit with a homemade prison knife.
  2. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Sep 25, 2014
    75
    A potent and disturbing experience. Fortunately it’s much more, offering sharp performances and genuine drama.
  3. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Sep 18, 2014
    63
    For all its savagery and hopelessness, Starred Up manages to be sympathetic, not only because of O’Connell’s galvanizing turn, but also Asser and director David Mackenzie’s unwavering commitment to portraying his character with as much compassion as brutal honesty.