Starsky & Hutch

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 250 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 250

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. JamesG.
    Mar 6, 2004
    6
    I really hoped this movie would have been better. Owen is enjoyable to watch along with the rest. Ben Stiller was a weak link to me in this movie. He does try to make the best out of his role, but still falls short. With a couple changes, this movie could have been a 7.
  2. SpencerS.
    Mar 9, 2004
    6
    (**1/2-out of four stars) This is a lil' nice time killer & especially for those whom watched & even more-over liked the tv-series of the 1970's. Ben Stiller & 0wn Wilson-(I am a fan of the former, but not generally the latter) are a good team here. & the original guys David Soul & Paul Michael Glaser even as per expected have a cameo in the comedy as well. It's certainly (**1/2-out of four stars) This is a lil' nice time killer & especially for those whom watched & even more-over liked the tv-series of the 1970's. Ben Stiller & 0wn Wilson-(I am a fan of the former, but not generally the latter) are a good team here. & the original guys David Soul & Paul Michael Glaser even as per expected have a cameo in the comedy as well. It's certainly not "Passion of Christ!" Quite the opposite, but for a fun lil' time at the movies this is worth a look. Thank You Expand
  3. MarcW.
    May 3, 2004
    6
    It's a wild goofy ride and not too deep. But sometimes, that isn't a bad thing.
  4. ChadS.
    Jun 1, 2004
    6
    Some laughs, and they might be big ones, in the right theater with the right people, although one sight gag, which elicited the loudest response at my site, borrows from the big screen version of "Dragnet". Is Ben Stiller's Starsky supposed to have multiple personalities? He's supposed to be by-the-book and straight-laced, and yet he drives likes a demon. But "Starsky and Hutch" Some laughs, and they might be big ones, in the right theater with the right people, although one sight gag, which elicited the loudest response at my site, borrows from the big screen version of "Dragnet". Is Ben Stiller's Starsky supposed to have multiple personalities? He's supposed to be by-the-book and straight-laced, and yet he drives likes a demon. But "Starsky and Hutch" works, kinda, because the violence isn't graphic; it's benign like a television cop show from the seventies. Expand
  5. gNARly161
    Mar 31, 2004
    4
    A rip off of a classic show.
  6. RahulB.
    Mar 4, 2004
    4
    I found this movie to be mildly entertaining. Members of the audience felt like they were forced to laugh at every single joke on screen. The sad part was, most jokes fell flat. Completely. The best scenes weren't even exploited to their fullest extent. Very disappointing indeed. And one of the funniest scenes, with Ben Stiller and the pony, was SHOWN in the trailers. Urgh. I found this movie to be mildly entertaining. Members of the audience felt like they were forced to laugh at every single joke on screen. The sad part was, most jokes fell flat. Completely. The best scenes weren't even exploited to their fullest extent. Very disappointing indeed. And one of the funniest scenes, with Ben Stiller and the pony, was SHOWN in the trailers. Urgh. Could've been good. I'm giving it a 4 for having Snoop Dogg, Vince Vaughn, and Will Ferrell in the cast. Expand
  7. PeteM.
    Mar 6, 2004
    6
    eh... it was alright. Will Ferrell was great as always. I think he alone was worth the money to see it. Then again, there were a lot of hot girls in this movie....
  8. Tom
    Mar 8, 2004
    5
    The quintessential 5 out of 10. For every good thing, one bad thing. For every time I laughed at Owen Wilson, I cringed at yet ANOTHER Ben Stiller "hard luck guy shtick" joke. That guy needs a new routine, and FAST. This is a rental for sure.
  9. GregA.
    Apr 13, 2004
    5
    Disappointing. I enjoy watching both Stiller and Owen but they didn't pull it off this time. I must say there were a few hilarious moments in the movie but I would wait for the DVD. It is no competition for "Meet the Parents" and I only hope "Meet the Fockers" can equal it.
  10. JoeM.
    Mar 11, 2004
    6
    It was a funny movie at parts but it's on the boarderline of going to see it in theaters and not.
  11. MarkB.
    Jun 21, 2004
    4
    Unimaginative, half-hearted, would-be spoof that doesn't really try to re-enact the series (admittedly a forgettable one to begin with) but simply allows Wilson and Stiller to recycle their tired old paces as The Stoner Dude and The Uptight Neurotic. The only performances that work are Frec Williamson's and Will Farrell's; again, the Old School Elf adds energy and danger to Unimaginative, half-hearted, would-be spoof that doesn't really try to re-enact the series (admittedly a forgettable one to begin with) but simply allows Wilson and Stiller to recycle their tired old paces as The Stoner Dude and The Uptight Neurotic. The only performances that work are Frec Williamson's and Will Farrell's; again, the Old School Elf adds energy and danger to a project sorely lacking in both. The only gag that halfway scores is a nasty one reminiscent of a famous bit in Animal House, except in that classic the human victim was a sadistic ROTC instructor and here it's a sweet, innocent little girl. The central premise is as problematic as the execution: I'm as anxious to see Farrell's Anchorman as anyone, but isn't it time we recognized the 1970s as a watershed decade in which everything from the women's movement to the US military, to the relationship between the White House and the press to the reinvention of the Hollywood studio system was permanently and irrevocably altered in ways that are still affecting us---and not just as an endless source of lame disco-ball jokes? All in all, after the utterly routine SWAT, the flashy-but-trashy Charlie's Angels movies and this, perhaps it's time we declared a moratorium on movie adaptations of Aaaron Spelling-produced TV shows...unless, of course, someone wants to redo Dynasty and let Heather Locklear pick up where she left off! Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 40
  2. Negative: 4 out of 40
  1. 60
    S&H's chief pleasure is the spontaneous, sometimes quite touching rapport between the two stars.
  2. 70
    A textbook example of how a remade '70s show can feel like an enjoyable lark rather than cultural recycling run amok.
  3. Cruises along agreeably on the easy chemistry between Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson, who step in where Paul Michael Glaser and David Soul left off.