Stay Alive

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 93
  2. Negative: 46 out of 93

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MattC.
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    Call me crazy but I loved this movie! I can't believe all of the negative reviews it's recieved. I saw it with four friends who loved it as well. It was very terrifying at times (scored a few screams in the theater), but also very funny. The characters were amazing, as was the acting, especially Sophia Bush as October. The death scenes were not very bloody (the whole film was Call me crazy but I loved this movie! I can't believe all of the negative reviews it's recieved. I saw it with four friends who loved it as well. It was very terrifying at times (scored a few screams in the theater), but also very funny. The characters were amazing, as was the acting, especially Sophia Bush as October. The death scenes were not very bloody (the whole film was cut down to avoid an R rating, so I'm looking forward to the original director's cut on DVD), but they were creepy enough to give you chills. You'll never look at video games the same way again. So "Stay Alive" definitely gets a 10/10 from me. Collapse
  2. BeckyB.
    Mar 26, 2006
    8
    This movie was really good. It made me jump a few times in my seat, and I also love how it was based on a real pesron. Making it more scary than it would be if it was based on someone from the writers own imagenations. Having it based on the real Elizabeth Bathory had made it more creepy because you realize that there was a real person that would really do all the things in this movie. This movie was really good. It made me jump a few times in my seat, and I also love how it was based on a real pesron. Making it more scary than it would be if it was based on someone from the writers own imagenations. Having it based on the real Elizabeth Bathory had made it more creepy because you realize that there was a real person that would really do all the things in this movie. This movie was really good it will really creep you out if you see it. Expand
  3. FrancescaD.
    Apr 25, 2006
    8
    One of the best horror movies I have seen this year. Considering what has come out in the past including House of Wax and the Amittyville Horror, this movie has a stable plot with generally good acting. It was suspensful and, if not somewhat overdone, origional plot using Elizabeth Bathory. The use of history was very unique and actually fairly accurate with the exception of being set in One of the best horror movies I have seen this year. Considering what has come out in the past including House of Wax and the Amittyville Horror, this movie has a stable plot with generally good acting. It was suspensful and, if not somewhat overdone, origional plot using Elizabeth Bathory. The use of history was very unique and actually fairly accurate with the exception of being set in New Orleans. If you are looking for a movie that makes you jump and outlines the life of the "female Dracula" than Stay Alive is the movie to watch. Expand
  4. YourMom
    Apr 4, 2006
    7
    I really, really liked this movie. It was fun! The acting was much better than recent "horror" flicks, and the storyline, though cliched, kept my interest. I loved the references to games like fatal frame and silent hill. And the game in the movie actually looked like a game i would want to play, which has never been done before in the history of movies involving games. Most of the scares I really, really liked this movie. It was fun! The acting was much better than recent "horror" flicks, and the storyline, though cliched, kept my interest. I loved the references to games like fatal frame and silent hill. And the game in the movie actually looked like a game i would want to play, which has never been done before in the history of movies involving games. Most of the scares in the movie are bump-in-the-night, cheap-jump moments and i would have liked more gore, but overall it was acceptable. Most horror movies of late have totally sucked, and it's nice to see one that entertained me. Expand
  5. ErickE.
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    I think as a gamer it was good because it was creepy,and horrorfining. They should make a part 2 and it should be rated R. Me and my friends think there should be a video game for the playstation 3 because it would be a very good game!!!!
  6. PabloR.
    Mar 25, 2006
    8
    This movie was a WOW!! it is so scary and the point isn't very gray like i seen in a lot of horror movies! it has good acting...good script..the only thing that i didn't like so much was, the camera angles...they were difficult to see everything at once but w/e. You will get chills for ever if u c this movie.
  7. SashaS.
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    This movie was pretty scary and in my opinion very good.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Jul 21, 2006
    10
    Loved it. Suspense and horror, nice plot. Waitin' for DVD.
  9. MarianaA.
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    One of the best movie's I'v ever seen. For those who think the movie was a total waste of time, you are way off. You'r just mad because you can't make a movie.
Metascore
24

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 11 out of 17
  1. Horror buffs looking for a novel twist on genre formulas should look elsewhere, but this body-count potboiler about a sinister video game and the poor dopes who make the mistake of playing it is the movie equivalent of junk food: It's not good, but it's predictable and even satisfying, in a low-expectations way.
  2. A passable horror-thriller for the young crowd, assuming a movie can lure them away from PlayStations.
  3. There's a fascinating and terrifying story to be told about Elizabeth Bathory, the dramatically depraved 17th century sadist known as the Blood Countess.....This ain't it.