Step Up 2: The Streets Image
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Step Up 2 the Streets is the follow-up to the smash hit Step Up, which ignited theaters in August 2006. When rebellious street dancer Andie lands at the elite Maryland School of the Arts, she finds herself fighting to fit in while trying to hold onto her old life. When she joins forces withStep Up 2 the Streets is the follow-up to the smash hit Step Up, which ignited theaters in August 2006. When rebellious street dancer Andie lands at the elite Maryland School of the Arts, she finds herself fighting to fit in while trying to hold onto her old life. When she joins forces with the school's hottest dancer, Chase, to form a crew of classmate outcasts to compete in Baltimore's underground dance battle "The Streets," she ultimately finds a way to live her dream while building a bridge between her two separate worlds. (Touchstone Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Human-spirit cliches and all, the movie accomplishes job one: It moves. It also has a choice soundtrack, spiced by the likes of Missy Elliott’s “Shake Your Pom Pom” and Digital Underground’s immortal “Humpty Dance.”
  2. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    70
    Rather than mixing classical and modern styles the way "Step Up" did, this hip-hop-powered sequel is all about new moves, which should keep the kids coming back after the pic's initial Valentine's Day crush.
  3. The wall-to-wall soundtrack naturally features plenty of today's leading hip-hop and R&B artists, including Flo Rida, T-Pain, Missy Elliott and Trey Songz.
  4. Reviewed by: Felix Vasques Jr.
    50
    The only reason to watch Step Up 2 the Streets, and I mean the only reason, is Briana Evigan.
  5. 50
    The stepping is terrific and the climactic sequence, a knowing nod to the infamous Bollywood "wet sari" number, is a knock out. But the united colors of we-can-overcome cuties, predictable class conflicts and sanitized keeping-it-real bluster bring the story's intensely formulaic nature into the.
  6. 50
    The current, much better Canadian movie "How She Move" has a more realistic grip on the racial politics of hip-hop-dance.
  7. Let's wait for a movie where they do get it all right: story, acting and dancing. It'll happen, just not this time.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. ShaunaR.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    I really love this film, their dancing is amazing i would love to be able to dance like that, i also love dancing and this film is just the best.
  2. MirandaH.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    I loved it. There was some cussing but the amazing dance moves made up for it. There was everything in it from love to determination and the I loved it. There was some cussing but the amazing dance moves made up for it. There was everything in it from love to determination and the best movie I have seen in a while. Expand
  3. HannahG.
    Apr 6, 2008
    10
    I love this film. Loads of reviewers are saying it's terrible but to be fair it is a film for teenagers not some old adult who has no I love this film. Loads of reviewers are saying it's terrible but to be fair it is a film for teenagers not some old adult who has no sense of humor. So don't listen to the reviews it rocks! Expand
  4. RachelK.
    Mar 11, 2008
    8
    The acting wasn't amazing because they aren't trained professional actors. on the other hand, the dancing was absolutely fantastic.
  5. Apr 13, 2013
    8
    This was a decent sequel to the first Step Up film, despite being pretty corny. Anyone that loves a good dance flick will obviously enjoy it,This was a decent sequel to the first Step Up film, despite being pretty corny. Anyone that loves a good dance flick will obviously enjoy it, but if it's not what you like then stay away. I personally liked it as I like these types of films and the dancing looks great. It lacked a little in substance but made up for in visuals I guess, and even the acting was so-so at times, but the starts did shine when they needed to. Overall a decent sequel and a worthy addition to the series. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    6
    Enjoyable for a while, but not that great of a movie, again. The first 'Step Up' was mostly ballet, but 'Step Up 2: The Streets' is all streetEnjoyable for a while, but not that great of a movie, again. The first 'Step Up' was mostly ballet, but 'Step Up 2: The Streets' is all street dancing. The break dancing moves are actually pretty good for this sequel and and there's better character's in this as well. However, the acting and the plot are completely lackluster. Most of the actor's in this film aren't even actors or actresses, besides Briana Evigan and Will Kemp, but they can't even dance. It really is hard to find the right people who can dance and act at the same time for a film like this, and it shows. Expand
  7. RyanS.
    Mar 3, 2008
    1
    This is the kind of garbage that our youth think is cool? Wow, I feel bad for my fellow teenagers then. This movie sucks so bad, I don't This is the kind of garbage that our youth think is cool? Wow, I feel bad for my fellow teenagers then. This movie sucks so bad, I don't know where to begin. All the people giving this high reviews have no idea what the word cinematography means and clearly never want to learn it. They would rather watch mindless crap (the plot) with a touch of cardiovascular aerobics and ass shaking (the "dancing.") Don't get me wrong, I like a good ass shaking myself, but I don't need to go pay $9.50 for it. I can get that in real life, or worse comes to worst the internet for free. This movie is for idiotic teenie-bopper girls with nothing better going on in their real life... yea maybe one day you'll be in this girls shoes... only you'll be a stripper at a dirty nasty strip club in the ghetto. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews