User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 62
  2. Negative: 10 out of 62
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MlouS
    Aug 8, 2010
    10
    Incredible unbelievable choreography! makes ya want to get up & move! would see it again.
  2. IanR
    Aug 7, 2010
    9
    An entertaining flick with probably the best 3D of any movie I've seen. Most 3D movies you get use to the effects but this movie will surprise you. Its as if they turned up the 3D effects to the max. The only bad thing about this movie is that the plot is predictable and some of the actors are horrible, but you watch this movie for the dancing anyways.
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    Great Movie dance moves make it worth a 10 well the story preety average but those dance moves makes u pumpin and den there s the 3d it makes u wanna dance but they really need to improve on the story as the plot is very predictable and find dancers that can act as well
  4. Dec 20, 2010
    7
    The whole franchise is just about a group of street dancers dancing in the street?! Obviously, the plot isn't what we are here to watch. The only reason anyone even see this franchise is because they want to see some dancing. Acting, plot, story-telling, and writing, screw all of that. The only thing they need is a good choreographer and a director who specializes in dancing. Jon Chu isThe whole franchise is just about a group of street dancers dancing in the street?! Obviously, the plot isn't what we are here to watch. The only reason anyone even see this franchise is because they want to see some dancing. Acting, plot, story-telling, and writing, screw all of that. The only thing they need is a good choreographer and a director who specializes in dancing. Jon Chu is the correct choice since he directed the first Step Up and he did a fine job on this one also. The eye-popping 3D is what I like in particular to this. Adding in the 3D is a very risky but also right move. Everyone loves to see a dancing film in 3D! Aside from the bad acting, no plot, and the improvised dialogue, Step Up 3D is the best dancing film of the year. Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2011
    7
    STEP UP 3D
    I feel like I just got home from a live concert, a good one! It gives you non-stop dance action since the opening credits roll. There are three important things that make thiz movie looks awesome: brilliant choreography, explosive music and terrific funky costume. About the predecessor itself, the rising star Channing Tatum took the first step in STEP UP in 2006 which it was
    STEP UP 3D
    I feel like I just got home from a live concert, a good one! It gives you non-stop dance action since the opening credits roll. There are three important things that make thiz movie looks awesome: brilliant choreography, explosive music and terrific funky costume. About the predecessor itself, the rising star Channing Tatum took the first step in STEP UP in 2006 which it was kind of conservative and boring. In 2008, Briana Evigan made a remarkable and memorable image via STEP UP 2: THE STREETS. Previous character the skinny and curly kid Robert Alexander III or we simply call him: Moose is swing back into action with Luke (Rick Malambri) and Briana Evigan look-alike, Natalie (Sharni Vinson). Together, they team-up with other passionate dancers including The Robotic Dance Master, Vladd (Chadd Smith) along with stunning harmonious Freestylers The Santiago Twins (Martin and Facundo Lombard) and others. They called themselves: Pirates, in order to compete on World Dance Jam contest. The Director is John M. Chu who has also directed the 2nd incredible movie. Let me summarize it for you, the storyline and conflict are zero and the dance experience is top-notch! It was just like watching music video clips, we actually put aside the story and just enjoying the visual delight and great music, that is it! That is how we can take benefit from thiz kind of genre. The Dance scenes look wonderful, not just the choreography but also the camera movement and additional effect as well, like: splashing water, powder mist, illuminated neon costume etc. They try to push beyond the boundaries in new creativity of dance revolution. I never talked about technical factor on my review before, but I had to say thiz one could be the best 3D experience since AVATAR (2009). I want to watch over and over again, we could almost think they are not coming from thiz planet! Maybe Luke is right, they are BFAB, simply Born From A BoomBox!

    Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    8
    The dancing scenes make it worth watching 10 times... The plot isn't the best part of the movie, and is pretty unconvincing. I would like to say that the soundtrack of the movie is unbelievable. The movie is also great because it's in 3-D. I would love to see it again, and I recommend that everyone does.
  7. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    One of the best movies I saw in my life.It has an amazing plot and wonderful dances.The dances are in the spotlight.The last dance is the best.A wonderful movie with coreography.
  8. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    The third addition in the Step Up series is probably just as good as the first and better than the third. Corny as they are there's no denying there is some great dancing in these films, and visually they look great! Don't know about the message they put out there when it comes to Moose skipping classes to dance, but Sevani is easily the most talented dancer in the film and plays a veryThe third addition in the Step Up series is probably just as good as the first and better than the third. Corny as they are there's no denying there is some great dancing in these films, and visually they look great! Don't know about the message they put out there when it comes to Moose skipping classes to dance, but Sevani is easily the most talented dancer in the film and plays a very funny character. Fans of the series will not be disappointed and dance fans alike will love it too Expand
  9. Mar 18, 2013
    7
    It's time to take the ultimate step into 3D! First the pros. This movie has great actors, great music, exceptional dances, good directing and writing, and of course It is the first dance movie to be in 3D and actually use it to the fullest which made it work. Cons. The story-line has been done before do this or do that which is it gonna be. The romance was kinda kiddie yes this is a DisneyIt's time to take the ultimate step into 3D! First the pros. This movie has great actors, great music, exceptional dances, good directing and writing, and of course It is the first dance movie to be in 3D and actually use it to the fullest which made it work. Cons. The story-line has been done before do this or do that which is it gonna be. The romance was kinda kiddie yes this is a Disney film but come on. But all in all it was very good to say the least. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 7 out of 23
  1. An exhilarating summer treat for all ages.
  2. 50
    The advanced 3-D technology of today meets the mothballed clich├ęs of yesteryear in Step Up 3D.
  3. Reviewed by: Julia Turner
    20
    Preposterous plot devices, leaden acting, and clunktastic dialogue are acceptable in a dance movie, but bad choreography is not, and it's during the dance scenes that Step Up 3D fails.