Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Aug 8, 2014
    75
    It’s the rare movie that knows its limitations, but also understands how to use form to best convey its strengths, pulling together countless complicated dance scenes in which the relationships between teams and characters come through more clearly than they could through dialogue.
  2. Reviewed by: Inkoo Kang
    Aug 8, 2014
    70
    The film has a muscled buoyancy and thrilling, joyful spectacles that make the fifth installment of the popular franchise an energetic crowd-pleaser.
  3. Reviewed by: Kyle Anderson
    Aug 8, 2014
    67
    The space between the spectacles are just too laborious, creating the odd sensation that there's not quite enough dance in this dance movie.
  4. 60
    The fifth entry in the popular dance-off franchise is, like the others, a fantasia that upends the usual rules of filmmaking. Here, the more threadbare the scenario, and the more unmotivated an action, the better. Character and story just get in the way of all the awesome dancing.
  5. Reviewed by: Charlotte Runcie
    Aug 6, 2014
    60
    It’s preposterous, but I dare you not to smile at the high-kicking silliness on offer, or the sweetly old-fashioned undertones: as the inevitable final showdown looms, loyalty, hard work and fair play are just as important to the dancers as strutting their stuff.
  6. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Aug 8, 2014
    50
    The exuberant dance sequences have long been the series’ saving grace, but even those are starting to feel redundant and interchangeable.
  7. Reviewed by: Christy Lemire
    Aug 8, 2014
    50
    Even by the standards of this franchise—and this genre in general—Step Up All In is pretty laughable.
  8. Reviewed by: Ben Kenigsberg
    Aug 8, 2014
    50
    Step Up All In, directed by the dancer and choreographer Trish Sie, signals a slight retreat from the bonkers, protest-themed “Step Up Revolution."
  9. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Jul 16, 2014
    50
    With even less plot than in previous installments to get in the way of its inventive 3D dance scenes, this fifth pic delivers on spectacle... but lacks in chemistry.
  10. Reviewed by: Alonso Duralde
    Aug 8, 2014
    45
    Even if the big numbers in Step Up All In don't always hit the heights of its immediate predecessors, there are enough exultant moments – during the crew battles or Sean and Andie's pas de deux on a carnival ride — to tide you over until the inevitable Part Six.
  11. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Aug 14, 2014
    40
    Step Up All In cuts too fast, the way an MTV hack does when forced to disguise that a starlet can't move.
  12. Reviewed by: Penny Walker
    Aug 8, 2014
    40
    The finale's energy level and actor buy-in makes it vastly more enjoyable than the rest of the film.
  13. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Aug 6, 2014
    40
    This really doesn't have the fun or the zip of that earlier Miami adventure. The dialogue is even more tired and, crucially, the dance sequences themselves are looking less fresh this time around.
  14. 38
    The best that can be said for “Step V” is that it has some sparkling moments of choreography, clever gimmicks as themes for the dance-offs and lovely costumes.
  15. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Aug 8, 2014
    37
    First-time director Trish Sie, a music-video veteran, is more interested in spectacle than character, as she demonstrates even when nobody’s dancing.
  16. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Aug 13, 2014
    30
    Because “all in” – to me, at least – suggests a certain standard of enthusiasm, of emphaticness, and what this latest Step Up movie indifferently chunks out falls far short of that standard.
  17. Reviewed by: Boyd van Hoeij
    Jul 16, 2014
    30
    It is unlikely that a lot of viewers come to see a Step Up film for convincing dialogue or psychological insight into a group of young things trying to make it big in a ruthless industry. But there’s barely any humor that doesn’t feel third-rate and most of the plot threads are so thin that All In occasionally feels like a satire of a dance film.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Aug 14, 2014
    0
    Step Up: All In is a boring dance movie. Really. If you've seen the trailer, don't bother to watch this spoiled opportunity. STAI follows Sean played by Ryan Guzman who teams up with the previous actors from the previous instalments battle to see who is the best dancer of all. Sounds good, right? Well, director Trish Sie has done a poor, horrible and bad job on this film. The story is loose, the characters don't tie together, and the dance is also CGI made. It's just Battle Of The Year 2! Step Up 2 and Revelution were both good movies, but All In is an example of the series going downhill. Full Review »
  2. Aug 10, 2014
    4
    Step Up: All In is the 5th installment in the forgettable Step Up franchise. It is so formulaic, cliched and very predictable that if you have seen the trailer you have seen it all. Full Review »
  3. Aug 8, 2014
    5
    I was one of the first people to see the movie. In my coutry it released really early, I think it was 11th or 18th of July.

    People go to
    see Step Up movies not because of acting skills or special effects or story, but because of dancing skills and music. I've seen every single Step Up movie and all I can say, is that the 3rd installment of the franchise was the best one.
    Step Up 1 had great story and it kicked the sequels going
    Step Up 2 was nice, but the final dance was a diseaster in my opinion.
    Step Up 3- its story was nice, characters were great, music was amazing ( I can still hear some tracks in my head! ) DANCE WAS AMAZING. And the final dance was great. The best movie
    Step up 4 worse than the previous one but still enjoyable. Its story wasnt great, it was pretty generic, but the dancing was cool, as well as music. It felt original in some way.
    Step up 5 - Personally, I think it had a lot of potential that was wasted. A bunch of marvellous dancers and nothing spectacular that came out of it. Mainly because I think that we've seen al of this already in the previous movies. The only character that I'm gonna remember is Iza Miko's portrayal of Alexxa Brava, just because when i saw her on screen, I was in an actual shock. If I hadn't seen The Hunger Games prior to that, I am not sure if my body would be able to handle it.
    Dancing was ok, i liked it, but as I said previously, we've seen it before. What i hated tho, was the music. God it was awful. It was a typical techno-dubstep mush-up. Nothing original, nothing that went outside of the box. Music in this types of movies is a very important aspect and here it didnt work out. Thus I think it was below average, below the level, that the prevous movies established.
    Full Review »