Regent Releasing | Release Date: April 20, 2007
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 9 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
6
Mixed:
2
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
MichaelL.Apr 3, 2008
I really wanted to like this film. It started out promisingly, but quickly devolved into a big bore. That said, I'm male, and will never experience pregnancy first-hand; I hate to say it, but maybe it IS a "female thing"... 2 hrs. of I really wanted to like this film. It started out promisingly, but quickly devolved into a big bore. That said, I'm male, and will never experience pregnancy first-hand; I hate to say it, but maybe it IS a "female thing"... 2 hrs. of pregnancy angst is a bit much for this guy. Great performances, timely and important plot--but a lackluster script. Maybe less footage of Lydie peeing and more principle character interaction? And God, zero development of secondary characters. I have no idea who Lydie's husband was, or who Stephanie's parents were. Sadly, "Satin", to me, was the most interesting character in the film, and who knows her story? She was tossed in, then discarded like a bay leaf in chicken soup. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillS.Apr 20, 2007
My wife and I were knocked out by this movie. Amber Tamblyn and Tilda Swinton are absolutely AMAZING.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeiL.Apr 27, 2007
I don't think I breathed for 90 minutes. Hardcore and thought-provoking, with phenomenal acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KenGMay 17, 2007
Slow, flat dispassionate movie, that is relying much to much on its explosive premise to carry it. Considering that premise, there is a real lack of edge, tension, and electricity here. Plus, both actresses seem to be sleep-walking through Slow, flat dispassionate movie, that is relying much to much on its explosive premise to carry it. Considering that premise, there is a real lack of edge, tension, and electricity here. Plus, both actresses seem to be sleep-walking through their roles. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KevinMay 3, 2007
This is the kind of movie that makes you appreciate really good filmmaking. I can see how women might live wallowing in the rich emotional mess of this movie, but as a man, the plot holes, cliches, and tugging at the heartstrings kept taking This is the kind of movie that makes you appreciate really good filmmaking. I can see how women might live wallowing in the rich emotional mess of this movie, but as a man, the plot holes, cliches, and tugging at the heartstrings kept taking me out of the movie. It was also shot in such extreme closeup all the time that I thought I was watching a pan-and-scan version on TV instead of a film on a big screen. It could have been so much better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DavidOMay 5, 2007
I kept looking at my watch at least every five minutes during this movie. It was so boring. I would have left if I'd had a ride. The characters were all so passive and cowlike that there was no one to care about. [***SPOILER***]The big I kept looking at my watch at least every five minutes during this movie. It was so boring. I would have left if I'd had a ride. The characters were all so passive and cowlike that there was no one to care about. [***SPOILER***]The big climax is that the girl is drinking a glass of water and it breaks and cuts her hand. And the climax of the other plotline is that somebody else admits throwing something out of a car window. BFD. This was basically an NPR narrative, not a movie. All the characters were constantly fondling cats. Or looking in the cat box. This should have been a documentary about toxoplasmosis. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcK.Sep 22, 2007
It's rarely a disappointment if a movie has Tilda Swinton, but Amber Tamblyn shows off surprisingly great acting chops. Her performance deserves a Supporting Actress Oscar nomination at the very least, but since the film has been so It's rarely a disappointment if a movie has Tilda Swinton, but Amber Tamblyn shows off surprisingly great acting chops. Her performance deserves a Supporting Actress Oscar nomination at the very least, but since the film has been so little-seen, I won't be holding my breath. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful