Still Mine

Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Andrew Frisicano
    Jul 16, 2013
    60
    Providing the film’s foundation, Cromwell is adept at revealing emotional layers lurking under the surface of his flannel-clad old-timer.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Jul 11, 2013
    60
    The film is less effective as an inspirational saga than as a simple portrait of a marriage in its twilight years, with the house-in-progress serving as a metaphor for love that endures by being constantly renewed.
  3. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Jul 10, 2013
    58
    Cromwell delivers his defiantly gruff dialogue with amusing relish, while still grounding his protagonist’s actions in desperation and desolation. And his nostalgic conversations with Bujold while the two lay in bed have a naturalness that almost overshadows the creakiness of the surrounding material.
  4. Reviewed by: Leba Hertz
    Jul 25, 2013
    50
    Still Mine is uplifting and heartbreaking, a contradiction that results in the viewer exalting and being let down at the same time.
  5. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 18, 2013
    40
    If last year’s searing old-age tragedy, “Amour” — or 2006’s bravely blunt “Away From Her” — weren’t digestible enough for you, perhaps this mild romance will suffice.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    I think "Still Mine" is one of the unfairly neglected gems of 2013. I'm now starting my own "James Cromwell for Best Actor nomination"I think "Still Mine" is one of the unfairly neglected gems of 2013. I'm now starting my own "James Cromwell for Best Actor nomination" campaign. The Academy Awards twitter is @TheAcademy. I'm @MovieJay. Will now post regular gentle and cheerful reminders in the hopes that voters will not forget to at least consider his performance, his first lead in some 50 years.

    He plays an 87 yr-old New Brunswick man whose character is made of grit and sweat and self-determination. It's a full, rich, and captivating performance in a movie with characters we feel like we've met in our own lives. It's a perceptive story about how the indignities of aging and changing social values come in to sharp conflict with a proud, self-reliant man who has twice the vigor for life than most men half his age.

    It's a tough and crowded Oscar field this year. Ejiofor and McConaughey seem to have a lock on nominations. Elba as Mandela along with Dern and Redford seem to be the next three after that. And though I think Dern and Redford did fantastic work, I think THIS is the performance among the more mature actors that deserves the nomination. Hope you'll go to twitter and remind @TheAcademy to at least check out this wonderful movie.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 6, 2014
    9
    Small in ambition but huge in achievement. This beautifully written and wonderfully acted drama showcases the talents of two fine actors, bothSmall in ambition but huge in achievement. This beautifully written and wonderfully acted drama showcases the talents of two fine actors, both of whom have been underused by the cinema in leading roles. James Cromwell is amazing as the husband coping with his wife's worsening Alzheimer's whilst fighting with the authorities over his building of a new house. He is the main focus of the film and he totally transfixes you with the subtle richness of his very rewarding characterisation.
    It's also good to see Genevieve Bujold, one of my favourite actresses, back in a bigger role than usual and with little effort she breaks your heart. The Canadian locations are beautifully shot and the film slowly, but surely packs a powerful emotional wallop.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    There are two conflicts in the focus of this movie: the conflict between Life and Death and the other one, between common sense and GovernmentThere are two conflicts in the focus of this movie: the conflict between Life and Death and the other one, between common sense and Government regulations.
    In the former conflict the main character, 80+ Craig Morrison, still in his good health, is facing his wife of 60 years together slowly but surely loosing her physical and mental health. He has to take steps to address this issue and gets right into the latter conflict. What to do if a Law does not make any sense? To which extend should Government be allowed to control our life (and we still want to call ourselves free people)? These and many other questions are raised in the movie.
    It is not a masterpiece in my opinion but a very good, solid movie.
    Full Review »