Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: Based on true events and laced with wry humor, Still Mine tells the heartfelt tale of Craig Morrison (James Cromwell), who comes up against the system when he sets out to build a more suitable house for his ailing wife Irene (Geneviève Bujold). Although Morrison uses the same methods his father, an accomplished shipbuilder, taught him, times have changed. He quickly gets blindsided by local building codes and bureaucratic officials. As Irene becomes increasingly ill - and amidst a series of stop-work orders - Craig races to finish the house. Hauled into court and facing jail, Craig takes a final stance against all odds in a truly inspirational story. [Samuel Goldwyn Films] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jul 18, 2013
    90
    The film’s vision of a long-married couple keeping each other going with mutual love and support, and a shared resistance to outside interference, is more vital than a thousand movies populated by hot, squirming teenagers.
  2. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Jul 18, 2013
    88
    It’s nice to be reminded of what old people look like, since they are, at least in movies these days, ever more invisible.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Aug 1, 2013
    88
    Still Mine resonates in all the right ways.
  4. Reviewed by: Geoff Pevere
    Jul 8, 2013
    75
    Still Mine is a measured but considerably moving celebration of things hand-crafted, traditional and built to last.
  5. Reviewed by: Laura Emerick
    Jul 26, 2013
    75
    In a summer populated with comic-book superheroes, ersatz “Transformer” types and stupid buddy comedies, Still Mine lets viewers spend some quality time with real humans for a change.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jul 8, 2013
    63
    As far as films about couples dealing with the female partner losing her mind go, Still Mine is pretty pedestrian.
  7. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 18, 2013
    40
    If last year’s searing old-age tragedy, “Amour” — or 2006’s bravely blunt “Away From Her” — weren’t digestible enough for you, perhaps this mild romance will suffice.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Dec 16, 2013
    9
    I think "Still Mine" is one of the unfairly neglected gems of 2013. I'm now starting my own "James Cromwell for Best Actor nomination" campaign. The Academy Awards twitter is @TheAcademy. I'm @MovieJay. Will now post regular gentle and cheerful reminders in the hopes that voters will not forget to at least consider his performance, his first lead in some 50 years.

    He plays an 87 yr-old New Brunswick man whose character is made of grit and sweat and self-determination. It's a full, rich, and captivating performance in a movie with characters we feel like we've met in our own lives. It's a perceptive story about how the indignities of aging and changing social values come in to sharp conflict with a proud, self-reliant man who has twice the vigor for life than most men half his age.

    It's a tough and crowded Oscar field this year. Ejiofor and McConaughey seem to have a lock on nominations. Elba as Mandela along with Dern and Redford seem to be the next three after that. And though I think Dern and Redford did fantastic work, I think THIS is the performance among the more mature actors that deserves the nomination. Hope you'll go to twitter and remind @TheAcademy to at least check out this wonderful movie.
    Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2014
    9
    Small in ambition but huge in achievement. This beautifully written and wonderfully acted drama showcases the talents of two fine actors, both of whom have been underused by the cinema in leading roles. James Cromwell is amazing as the husband coping with his wife's worsening Alzheimer's whilst fighting with the authorities over his building of a new house. He is the main focus of the film and he totally transfixes you with the subtle richness of his very rewarding characterisation.
    It's also good to see Genevieve Bujold, one of my favourite actresses, back in a bigger role than usual and with little effort she breaks your heart. The Canadian locations are beautifully shot and the film slowly, but surely packs a powerful emotional wallop.
    Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    7
    There are two conflicts in the focus of this movie: the conflict between Life and Death and the other one, between common sense and Government regulations.
    In the former conflict the main character, 80+ Craig Morrison, still in his good health, is facing his wife of 60 years together slowly but surely loosing her physical and mental health. He has to take steps to address this issue and gets right into the latter conflict. What to do if a Law does not make any sense? To which extend should Government be allowed to control our life (and we still want to call ourselves free people)? These and many other questions are raised in the movie.
    It is not a masterpiece in my opinion but a very good, solid movie.
    Collapse

Trailers