Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Will Montgomery is a master thief who after being double-crossed in a heist gone awry is sent to prison for 8 years. Upon his release he’s ready to leave his criminal past behind and try to rebuild a relationship with his estranged daughter Allison. The FBI and his old cohorts believe that he hid the loot from the last heist 8 years ago, $10 Million in Bonds. To get his hands on it, his old partner Vincent kidnaps Allison and demands the entire $ 10 Million as ransom. Keeping her in the soundproofed trunk of a Taxi Cab, he’s able to stay mobile amongst the throngs of taxis out during Mardi Gras day making it nearly impossible to find. Montgomery only has one day to get the $10 Million ransom but much to the disbelief of the FBI on his trail and Vincent, Will doesn’t actually have it. Instead, he must trust his instincts and his old partner in crime, the beautiful, sexy and smart Riley, to do one more clever heist to get his daughter back alive before it's too late. (Millennium Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 12, 2012
    58
    He seems to have given up on making art long ago; these days, all he wants to do is entertain, and with Stolen, he succeeds, albeit only on the guilty-pleasure level. Like seemingly the sum of late-period Cage, Stolen is unashamedly cheese, but at least it's cheese of a pungent, flavorful vintage.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Sep 14, 2012
    45
    Stolen is less shameless than "Taken" - which featured evil Albanians and other assorted politically incorrect appurtenances - which also makes it less effective.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Sep 14, 2012
    42
    The longest stretch of logical plotting lasts about forty seconds, and the deep-rooted silliness makes it hard to take anything in the film seriously. But at least it has the decency never to ask us to.
  4. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jan 30, 2013
    38
    For all the heists, chases and shoot-outs, it's a sluggish picture. Characters feel the need to stop the action to explain themselves. Thoroughly.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    I thought it was a brilliant film. cage acted really well in it, as he does in his other films. overall, great film, great story line, great plot, a really really good film Collapse
  2. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    I really enjoyed this film. The story was good, the action intense, characters were solid and the movie reminded me alot of taken. just wish it was a little bit longer but awesome well made action movie nonetheless. I definitely recommend giving this movie a watch or two Expand
  3. May 14, 2013
    8
    Whenever I see Nicolas Cage's name on a movie poster, I know that no matter the film, I'm going to see a great performance. While Cage has done every conceivable genre, he is of course best know for his action films. In Stolen, Cage once again teams with his Director from Con Air, Simon West, to give us another exciting thriller. Cage plays Will Montgomery, a career criminal who has just spent eight years in prison. Montgomery comes out wanting to start a new life, but that's put on hold when he learns that a former enemy has kidnapped his daughter and is holding her for ransom. I guess no one has ever told Nicolas Cage that you're supposed to slow down with age, because he is just as good in this movie as he is in all his other films. Cage, notorious for performing his own stunts, does some amazing things in this film and is of course pure intensity. In this film he's paired with Josh Lucas who was in a film by the same title in 2009, not to be confused with that movie, Lucas plays Montgomery's partner in crime and throughout this film you can see him and Cage feed off of one another, too me, that was the best part. Lets be honest here, rarely do action films have a decent story to distinguish themselves from one another. Stolen is no different, a daughter in peril, held by a weird foul mouthed bad guy, who is being chased by a want to be hero with a less than stellar reputation, you've seen this dozens of times. What makes Stolen stand out from those other films is the cast, it's as simple as that. The cast really keeps you interested, even when the movie gets to be predictable and even when the stunts are impossible, the cast keep bringing you back to the edge of your seat, with their great performances and extreme intensity. For that reason, even though this is a familiar and predictable film, Stolen stood out from all the other action films I've seen lately. Expand
  4. May 1, 2013
    6
    Honestly, I thought it was a pretty enjoyable movie. It kept me interested from start to finish and was rather entertaining at times. The plot was very generic but then again so is every plot to every action film so I didn't mind. The acting was ok but what saved it wasn't Cage but the several B list actors on the cast. I agree with Extrafizz, while the film does everything at a solid overall level, It doesn't really do anything good. There isn't a single aspect of the film that really sticks out but I still enjoyed watching it and would recommend it. Expand
  5. Feb 23, 2013
    5
    A score of 5 is pretty generous. Honestly, Cage has become a caricature of himself. The plot is weak, the characters shallow and poorly developed. I will admit a few adrenaline rushes, but gunfire and car chases are tense. The tension was formulaic and not unique to Stolen. By the way, Stolen?! Terrible title. My favorite part was the soundtrack. It was so utterly campy that it became my favorite element. B score for a B movie. I saw it for free on XBOX Live so I have no regrets, but pay more than a few dollars for this one and you certainly will. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having been cut from the US box office, i felt lucky to get a viewing. This film commonly reminds me of 'Taken', the scenario with a kidnapped daughter, which from many aspect of blockbusters is becoming bland and boring. I mean maybe in 'Die Hard' and a few arnie schwarzenegger films, but in the 21st century you need more plot content and plot twists than the plain old story. The story is based around the farther (Nicholas Cage) being a bank robber, at firth thought i was hoping for an epic action packed film. However the film turns from an action packed first 10 minuets to a long predictable low budget middle. With a believe at least 30 minuets of a guy driving round in a yellow cab. There is poor character development, as well as a lack in creativity. The ending is highly predictable and reminds me of a low budget 80s film. The attempt at comedy is bleak at best.

    Not one of Cage's best efforts.
    Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2013
    0
    Don't bother with this mediocre crap. It unsurprisingly only made 2m$ at the theatres worldwide, but it should have been a direct-to-DVD release. The story is laughable and high unrealistic and the characters are bland and uninteresting. Even at 92 mins it seems too long for this ultra-thin script. My advice: avoid even when there's nothing else to see! Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers