Paramount Pictures | Release Date: March 28, 2008
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 57 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
35
Mixed:
10
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JackMar 24, 2008
A simple minded embarrassment. I appreciate the notion of the film but the screenplay is just terrible - just a check list of war movie cliches. Very disappointing.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobsApr 5, 2008
yet another anti-american movie that will make no money and isn't even entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KenD.Mar 31, 2008
Should get 7 Razzie Nominations minimum! I'm sure the Hollywood blow hards all love this anti-war slam! Any thing that is anti-American is how they express their hatred for the USA. If they had their will we would have Castro as the Should get 7 Razzie Nominations minimum! I'm sure the Hollywood blow hards all love this anti-war slam! Any thing that is anti-American is how they express their hatred for the USA. If they had their will we would have Castro as the father of this country, and Chávez as president. Wake up Hollywood. No one wants to see your crap!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChrisW.Apr 1, 2008
Stop Loss is a mess of a human drama, devoid of any sembelance of realistic interaction. The basic premise is good. Unfortunately Stop Loss needs more than just a bit of tweaking to pass for anything close to good. It needs to re-think Stop Loss is a mess of a human drama, devoid of any sembelance of realistic interaction. The basic premise is good. Unfortunately Stop Loss needs more than just a bit of tweaking to pass for anything close to good. It needs to re-think itself entirely. The main problem that I found with the movie was that it seemed more concerned with informing the public about stop loss than telling a story. Much, if not most of the script was unbelievable, and the execution worse. Furthermore the conclusion was... well nonexistant really, leaving the audience unsettled, though not in the way the director undoubtedly intended. The three points I gave were simply for the attempt at a movie on so relevant a topic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BobWApr 22, 2008
Not bad acting just nothing to say except the usual screed about the war nobody likes. Not entertaining or informative. So I gave it a zero which is what I got for my money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JamesP.Mar 27, 2008
I thought his was another small minded approach taken to our soldiers to represent them as victims, fools, and crazies. This film was not good, it just followed the same ground as the Valley of Elah, rendition, etc.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JasonS.Mar 28, 2008
Insulting to the military and military families.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BetsyMMar 31, 2008
Terrible acting, terrible directing, phony story. Stop loss does happen but the Vietnam era underground railroad to Canada was ridiculous. Best example I can think of for the silly directing was the zoom in on the tires squealing in the Terrible acting, terrible directing, phony story. Stop loss does happen but the Vietnam era underground railroad to Canada was ridiculous. Best example I can think of for the silly directing was the zoom in on the tires squealing in the gravel. Twelve year olds might like that. As for the acting, not all Texans have stupid accents and wear cowboy boots and tight t-shirts while drinking beer and slow dancing. Ryan Phillipe is a joke. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful