Stranger Than Fiction

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 287 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 287
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    6
    Not one of those laugh out loud ha-ha comedies, yet you cannot watch this film without at least chuckling quite a bit. The film is mixed in with just the right dose of "emotion" and wit. While Ema Thompson, Dustin Hoffman and Maggie Gyllenhaal did all put on great performances (as we would expect) it was Will Farrell an actor with whom I had never bothered before that was theNot one of those laugh out loud ha-ha comedies, yet you cannot watch this film without at least chuckling quite a bit. The film is mixed in with just the right dose of "emotion" and wit. While Ema Thompson, Dustin Hoffman and Maggie Gyllenhaal did all put on great performances (as we would expect) it was Will Farrell an actor with whom I had never bothered before that was the show-stopper in this one! Expand
  2. WallyW.
    Nov 10, 2006
    5
    Just okay...premise was good, actors were good, but it in the end, it was fairly lite on laughs and the film failed to support the premise. It was clever...but I didn't care. Wait for the DVD.
  3. BrodyS.
    Jun 2, 2008
    4
    Based on its commercials, I went into this film thinking it would be a comedy. Boy was I wrong. There's few things I hate more in this world than romantic comedies, and this romantic TRAGEDY is one of them. I'm sure I may have enjoyed it more if I came to it expecting something different, but as it was advertised as a comedy, I'll hold it to its tremendous shortcomings in Based on its commercials, I went into this film thinking it would be a comedy. Boy was I wrong. There's few things I hate more in this world than romantic comedies, and this romantic TRAGEDY is one of them. I'm sure I may have enjoyed it more if I came to it expecting something different, but as it was advertised as a comedy, I'll hold it to its tremendous shortcomings in the funny departmant. Expand
  4. BrettK
    Nov 24, 2006
    6
    Not a comedy as the trailers for the movie suggest. More like a chick flick with a twist. It was... alright.
  5. DavidRutterRutter
    Mar 23, 2007
    4
    I'm sorry but there was not a minute of this movie that felt convincing or authentic. The writer and directer seemed so intent on making a whimsical, quirky Charlie Kaufman movie that they for got to just make a movie. This totally exemplifies my biggest complaint with Hollywood fare these days-That they always feel as if they were scientifically designed in a laboratory instead of I'm sorry but there was not a minute of this movie that felt convincing or authentic. The writer and directer seemed so intent on making a whimsical, quirky Charlie Kaufman movie that they for got to just make a movie. This totally exemplifies my biggest complaint with Hollywood fare these days-That they always feel as if they were scientifically designed in a laboratory instead of brought to life in the heart and mind of an artist. One more question now needs to asked as well. When did Dustin Hoffman change from being a great actor to a very bad one? I honestly can not remember the last time I saw him connect with anyone he was working with. He sucks whatever life this film has when he is onscreen. Expand
  6. AndrewH
    Mar 27, 2007
    4
    Could have been an interesting concept but the leaden production and wooden characters turn it into one big yawn. The only bright spark comes from Maggie Gyllenhaal's character Ana Pascal who seems to be delighted by her audit. She even manages to bring Will Ferrell's character to live for brief periods. A little more depth to the story and less mumbling on the part of the Could have been an interesting concept but the leaden production and wooden characters turn it into one big yawn. The only bright spark comes from Maggie Gyllenhaal's character Ana Pascal who seems to be delighted by her audit. She even manages to bring Will Ferrell's character to live for brief periods. A little more depth to the story and less mumbling on the part of the remaining cast and this could have been a quite entertaining movie. Instead I found myself checking the time to see how much more of this torture I had to endure before I found out the ultimate fate of Mr Crick Expand
  7. ChristopherW.
    Mar 2, 2007
    6
    'Stranger Than Fiction' is a film that joyfully toys with perception and reality and then, finally, offers both a formulaic and ambiguous conclusion. The performances are all quite good and the story is amusing and amusingly perplexing. Yet, even still, I found our hero's journey and eventual acceptance of his strange fate a tad bit forced to serve the needs of the plot. I 'Stranger Than Fiction' is a film that joyfully toys with perception and reality and then, finally, offers both a formulaic and ambiguous conclusion. The performances are all quite good and the story is amusing and amusingly perplexing. Yet, even still, I found our hero's journey and eventual acceptance of his strange fate a tad bit forced to serve the needs of the plot. I marginally recommend this film, but with pronounced reservations. Expand
  8. Aug 28, 2014
    5
    An echo to I Heart Huckabees and Spike Jonze's Adaptation., with a few less tricks. Stranger Than Fiction is certainly thought-provoking, but it doesn't always quite work. I commend Will Ferrell for his attempt outside of his box, but I'm not sure that it was a success.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. When Ferrell and Hoffman do their thing together, a charming bit of whimsy becomes something more. It becomes really, really funny.
  2. 75
    This is a Ferrell you've never seen before, nailing a role that calls for breakneck humor in the final race against the clock and touching gravity in the love scenes with Gyllenhaal.
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    70
    Sometimes becomes too self-consciously clever, and it doesn't entirely resolve its own central dilemma. But it remains inventive and funny to the end, features fine performances from Will Ferrell and especially Emma Thompson.