User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 51
  2. Negative: 5 out of 51

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2015
    8
    For the 30th anniversary of Dustin Hoffman's classic film, Straw Dogs, the studio decided instead of re-releasing a special edition, that they would do a modern re-make of the film. For those unfamiliar with the story, it features a local girl, from a small Mississippi town, who has returned home with her new husband, after making it big in Hollywood. Once back in town, the new coupleFor the 30th anniversary of Dustin Hoffman's classic film, Straw Dogs, the studio decided instead of re-releasing a special edition, that they would do a modern re-make of the film. For those unfamiliar with the story, it features a local girl, from a small Mississippi town, who has returned home with her new husband, after making it big in Hollywood. Once back in town, the new couple needs some work on the old farm that she inherited and hire an old friend of hers to do the job. The team is the most qualified in town, but right from the start you can see the tension starting to build. Straw Dogs is far from being a unique story, but what I really enjoyed about it was how methodical it was. The jealousy and tension are obvious from the start, but they build it slowly, through a serious of events, which lends credibility to both sides of the argument. Things continue to build right up until the end of the film when all hell breaks loose, thanks to an incident that really shouldn't involve either the workers or the couple. James Marsden and Kate Bosworth star and are both very good, but the star that shines the brightest is Alexander Skarsgard. I've never seen him in anything before and had no expectations about the kind of job he'd do and I was blown away. He really had to play two different roles in this film and it leads to some shocking and unexpected moments. Comparing the 2011 re-make to the original film, the stories are very similar, whoever I found in parts where the original was a little slow, the re-make turns up the intensity, and that's the way things should be. A lot of re-makes don't even compare to the original and are seldom better, but in this case it was. The producers looked back at the old film and enhanced the parts of the original that were too slow or didn't make a whole lot of sense, before modernizing the whole thing. There are some people who will never admit to liking a re-make, but I think with Straw Dogs, the producers took a good film and turned it into a great one. Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    The Mississippi River runs red with the blood, as that's the menstrual blood of a glorified rape to the tune of beloved misogyny How lovely to be raped by Alexander Skarsgård, and have it glorified in a scene where the act or what should have been vile perversion, was portrayed as Mackenzie Phillips style "consensual rape". The only redeeming quality of the film is to watch James Woods'The Mississippi River runs red with the blood, as that's the menstrual blood of a glorified rape to the tune of beloved misogyny How lovely to be raped by Alexander Skarsgård, and have it glorified in a scene where the act or what should have been vile perversion, was portrayed as Mackenzie Phillips style "consensual rape". The only redeeming quality of the film is to watch James Woods' ..."deranged" descent into madness due to daddy's little girl being the cliched and misogynist-type casting as the high school slut. Collapse
  3. Oct 21, 2012
    7
    The fact that we're rooting for "the good guys" tells us something went wrong. That said, this remake is entertaining and quite competently put together as a revenge actioner.
  4. Sep 29, 2012
    7
    I think it had a great story line. I didn't get to see the first five minutes, but the rest was great. Slow beginning, though (which is typical). I thought would be another stupid movie, but I was incorrect. It is an amazing tale you have to see.
  5. Apr 21, 2012
    6
    I went into this with very low expectations and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Seeing the first hour or so I didn't think it was going to turn into anything interesting at all. But the last half hour or so makes up for it all. I love seeing the good people win in style. Style=Bear Trap.
  6. Jan 2, 2012
    5
    Straw Dogs did so much less then i what I expected . The Opening and Ending was good and the only time i felt like seeing a thriller movie . It wasn't hard to make it good . I mean A couple return to Early Home and Caught up with so crazy S*** all over the small town that's a good background but the script was too weak . James did good then i expected . But Kate and SkarsgårdStraw Dogs did so much less then i what I expected . The Opening and Ending was good and the only time i felt like seeing a thriller movie . It wasn't hard to make it good . I mean A couple return to Early Home and Caught up with so crazy S*** all over the small town that's a good background but the script was too weak . James did good then i expected . But Kate and Skarsgård did not, I (really)like both of their acting but not in this one . The small little town was really nice and Rod Lurie could get more out of it but sadly he failed . I really expected a good Physio-thriller but sadly I'm really disappointed . Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2011
    2
    Very good performances by very good actors, unfortunately failing to save this film. Entirely predictable (the setups are all way too obvious), the film ponders on forever with more or less only one thing to do - set up the final showdown. When that finally arrives, it all goes horribly wrong when it starts celebrating the violence that you had really hoped wasn't part of the hero'sVery good performances by very good actors, unfortunately failing to save this film. Entirely predictable (the setups are all way too obvious), the film ponders on forever with more or less only one thing to do - set up the final showdown. When that finally arrives, it all goes horribly wrong when it starts celebrating the violence that you had really hoped wasn't part of the hero's character. Yes, people got "what was coming to them," but the violence was too gratuitous and delivered with too much gusto, which made the main character (and the film) lose its moral high ground. Unpleasant and boring. Expand
  8. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    Straw Dogs is a remake of the 1971 film of the same name and starred Dustin Hoffman. Now I have never seen that version so I am unable to compare the two movies, but I am very interested in seeing the 1971 version just to see how tense and violent that one is cause I can tell you that this new version has quite a bit of both in it. Director Rod Lurie (The Contender, Nothing But The Truth)Straw Dogs is a remake of the 1971 film of the same name and starred Dustin Hoffman. Now I have never seen that version so I am unable to compare the two movies, but I am very interested in seeing the 1971 version just to see how tense and violent that one is cause I can tell you that this new version has quite a bit of both in it. Director Rod Lurie (The Contender, Nothing But The Truth) knows this movie has to take the audience to the edge without knocking you off of it. I donâ Expand
  9. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    disturbing though it may be, your attention is constantly gripped and you realy feel conected to the charectors which makes the set peice of the film even more thrilling, the fact that the violence isnt showy and over the top only drives home the true horror of the scenario, an absolute cult classic, id sugest watching it if its ever on tv, i dunno if id buy it unless it was cheap.
  10. Sep 23, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed the film - definitely surpassed my expectations. My main problem with the movie is the motivation of the Skarsgård character. Is he just crazy? What makes the guy tick? The set-up to the final confrontation shouldn't have been rooted in hiding the disabled guy. It gave the bad dudes a somewhat legitimate reason to get in the house. They should have laid siege onI enjoyed the film - definitely surpassed my expectations. My main problem with the movie is the motivation of the Skarsgård character. Is he just crazy? What makes the guy tick? The set-up to the final confrontation shouldn't have been rooted in hiding the disabled guy. It gave the bad dudes a somewhat legitimate reason to get in the house. They should have laid siege on the place out of pure rage, revenge, or because some other unjustified reason. Expand
  11. Sep 22, 2011
    10
    A disturbing but compelling film with very good performances.James Marsden shows that he can do more than appear in romantic comedies.Kate Bosworth is both cute and sexy and shows she can act too.
  12. Sep 19, 2011
    6
    I liked this film a lot more than the critics did. Not nearly in the class of the original with Dustin Hoffman, which is a classic, but still fairly entertaining. I thought the male lead was miscast, and lacked the goofy everyman quality of Hoffman, who played an average guy who has to show a real character arc. This chiseled actor could have played the hero or one of the bad guys, so theI liked this film a lot more than the critics did. Not nearly in the class of the original with Dustin Hoffman, which is a classic, but still fairly entertaining. I thought the male lead was miscast, and lacked the goofy everyman quality of Hoffman, who played an average guy who has to show a real character arc. This chiseled actor could have played the hero or one of the bad guys, so the director/producers/execs (who knows who to blame nowadays?) seriously misunderstood the material. Still, a good 'B' movie. A good bad movie, as I like to say. Expand
  13. KG3
    Sep 19, 2011
    9
    The movie was one of the best thrillers I have seen all year and one of the top six movies on the year that I have seen. Good acting, good story. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. If you are a fan of the Horror/thriller/Suspense genre as I am then you will enjoy this. Even though it's not much of a horror more thriller/suspense. But really good. I give it four out ofThe movie was one of the best thrillers I have seen all year and one of the top six movies on the year that I have seen. Good acting, good story. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie from beginning to end. If you are a fan of the Horror/thriller/Suspense genre as I am then you will enjoy this. Even though it's not much of a horror more thriller/suspense. But really good. I give it four out of five stars. It was really enjoying to watch. It's a realistic scenario that could happen in real life. Maybe not exactly how it transpired in the film, but if you watch it you will understand exactly what I mean. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 29
  2. Negative: 9 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Oct 31, 2011
    40
    Lurie's remake doesn't bring a lot of fresh ideas to the table. The thick fug of moral ambiguity, so disconcerting in Peckinpah's film, is missing, replaced by certainties rife in modern horror. The result is a bit of yawn enlivened only by James Woods' delirious bad guy.
  2. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Sep 22, 2011
    40
    Ultimately, the remake is, at best, rote and, at worst, totally unnecessary.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Sep 20, 2011
    20
    This one barely musters a pulse.