Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Chris Packham
    Jul 2, 2013
    70
    Writer-director Josh Boone populates Stuck in Love with smart characters breaking from emotional holding patterns of varying contours.
  2. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Jul 4, 2013
    63
    This romantic dramedy tries to cram enough plot twists for a season’s worth of TV episodes into an hour and a half, but is still worthwhile for its fine performances, including the best work that Greg Kinnear and Jennifer Connelly have done in quite a while.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 1, 2013
    63
    It’s just romantic enough and barely funny enough to qualify as a romantic comedy. But it works, despite never being graceful or unstuck enough to take flight.
  4. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Jul 2, 2013
    60
    The movie’s not especially urgent or inventive, but it has small moments of grace.
  5. Reviewed by: Helen O'Hara
    Jun 13, 2013
    60
    It’s no masterpiece, but this is a promising debut from Boone and a good showcase for his entire cast.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Jun 13, 2013
    60
    It’s a thoroughly warm diversion, whose lapses into cliché only make it cosier.
  7. Reviewed by: Emma Johnston
    Jun 9, 2013
    60
    The ending may be a little too tidy and obvious, but this is a sweet little study of the right royal mess people can make of relationships when they let their own neuroses take over, and a warm tribute to overcoming them.
  8. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Mar 19, 2013
    60
    Endearing performances buoy predictable film about love in the wake of divorce.
  9. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Jun 19, 2013
    50
    The movie aims for an admirable balance, but fatally upsets that equilibrium in its hurried resolutions.
  10. Reviewed by: Mike D'Angelo
    Jul 3, 2013
    42
    As writer-director Josh Boone introduces these characters, he superimposes words on the screen to suggest how they channel their thoughts and conversations into their work. But that’s the extent of the film’s interest in writing, which serves strictly as a “classy” backdrop for a series of painfully contrived amorous meltdowns among a family who might as well run a dry-cleaning business.
  11. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Jul 4, 2013
    40
    Although Stuck in Love is an indie film, it hews slavishly to Hollywood formulas.
  12. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 4, 2013
    40
    All those cliched literary trappings come together in Stuck in Love, but the final product feels more like a footnote than a finished work.
  13. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Jun 13, 2013
    40
    The sharp edges of the story are sentimentally sanded down; there's a fair bit of slush, and it's a pretty quaint view of what writers and a writer's life are actually like.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    It is a simple film with its failures and its successes, despite the cast being very enjoyable, he has nothing that we can take with us, the movie is just one more. Full Review »
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    8
    The characters in this movie are quite endearing, although they are never quite fully developed and are painted in unmistakable broad strokes. I liked this movie, a lot, actually. Which just reminds me how sentimental I am and how I like sentimental and almost quaint depictions of love and romance.

    The individual family members are more than two-dimensional characters but not by much. We can almost believe they are a family when they are on-screen together. But they are not so well-defined to be able to escape the cookie-cutter design that they came from.

    When we see the first talking scene of Logan Lerman's character, it's difficult to shake a feeling of deja vu. It's similar to his character in Perks of Being a Wallflower. But his dorky character works for him. Of course, every good guy has some sort of baggage, the cookie cutter dictates it. **spoiler alert** He has a sick mother. Part of the design to make him more endearing and desirable. A dork with a heart of gold. A fatal and fool-proof combination. **end spoiler**

    For me, the aim of this movie was to show three threads of people experience love/romance/relationship, all three being interchangeable for this discussion. The son, Rusty, experiences first love and the inevitable tumultuous end; Samantha, the sister, experiences a connection with Lou, and finds her jaded view on love replaced by a trusting and romantic love; and the father, going through a rut in his life, putting love aside for a casual friendship with benefits with the married neighbor. For the most part, it worked for me; this isn't a philosophical and introspective movie after all.

    I was thankful for the absence of the catty mean girls in high school plot line. But that isn't to say there were no plot lines that were abandoned or resolved with satisfaction. From the start we knew there was going to be a happy ending, but maybe it was too happy. Despite all it's flaws I would like to watch this in the future when I'm feeling down.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    Ok, Stuck in Love can not be one of the best movies of this year, maybe has some mistakes, but the rest of the movies is really great, the development of the story is fantastic, and interesting, the cast does an excellent job, the screenplay has much cool moments. Stuck in Love is one of the most interesting movies of this year. Full Review »