Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 752 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: She has been locked away against her will, but Babydoll has not lost her will to survive. Determined to fight for her freedom, she urges four other young girls—the outspoken Rocket, the street-smart Blondie, the fiercely loyal Amber and the reluctant Sweet Pea—to band together and try toShe has been locked away against her will, but Babydoll has not lost her will to survive. Determined to fight for her freedom, she urges four other young girls—the outspoken Rocket, the street-smart Blondie, the fiercely loyal Amber and the reluctant Sweet Pea—to band together and try to escape their terrible fate at the hands of their captors, Blue, Madam Gorski and the High Roller. (Warner Bros. Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 24, 2011
    80
    Sucker Punch doesn't all work by a long shot, but it confirms my sense that Snyder belongs near the top of a very short list of directors who are trying to reinvent a personal, auteurist vision of cinema at the most commercial, mass-market, attention-disordered end of the spectrum.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 24, 2011
    75
    It's a film that's at once too much and not enough, laughable and groovy, dead serious and a total joke. And I mean no disrespect by any of that.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 27, 2011
    50
    An extremely boyish ode to girl power.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 27, 2011
    38
    This movie isn't bad in the way some incompetently made movies are bad; this is bad because there's much skill evident in a pointless endeavor.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 28, 2011
    30
    Sucker Punch has vast empty patches, deserts of dead air.
  6. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Mar 25, 2011
    25
    "The idea evolved and expanded," he (Snyder) says, "and took on a life of its own." Unfortunately, all of that life must have dribbled away as the project developed, because the resulting nonsense has none.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 24, 2011
    0
    Snyder must have known in preproduction that his greasy collection of near-rape fantasies and violent revenge scenarios disguised as a female-empowerment fairy tale wasn't going to satisfy anyone but himself.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 291
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    10
    First of all, consider the main characters schizophrenia before you say the movie "sucks because you can't follow the story" or "don't get whyFirst of all, consider the main characters schizophrenia before you say the movie "sucks because you can't follow the story" or "don't get why you see the fantasy world when its not actually there". Also, if you follow the story of her trying to escape both the asylum and herself, its REALLY good. The story is very deep, once you understand that the girls are shown that way to depict that they're abused and want freedom., and, once again, the main character is schizophrenic. The movie itself is very dark, and I don't recommend it for anyone under 15. Over all, very, very good movie. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    One of the most thoughtful movies I've seen all year. The action scenes by themselves can get a bit dull seeing as they are a bit too muchOne of the most thoughtful movies I've seen all year. The action scenes by themselves can get a bit dull seeing as they are a bit too much over the top, but the intensity of the drama, and the twist at the end that implicitly explains everything. Just amazing. I can't wait for this to come out again.

    If you see this movie, which I definitely recommend everyone does, pay close attention to everything. Especially the narration.
    Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    Sucker Punch, this movie was the best movie of 2011 hands down. The way they used reality and dreams were brilliant. And all of the charactersSucker Punch, this movie was the best movie of 2011 hands down. The way they used reality and dreams were brilliant. And all of the characters were, well KICK ASS. 5 woman taking control of their life and trying to escape from a place they will rot and die in. They are fighting for their last chance and it was amazing! All 5 of the actress were breathtaking, so was the Madame. It was dark but still had you cheering for the girls to get free. The battle scenes were excellent, so was the script. Now if you dont like this movie maybe you should go see "Justin Beibers" new movie, because this movie was deep some people wont be able to grasp its dark and excellent message. In the movie it says we have the weapons we need, now we have to survive and fight. And the entire movie was them surviving and fighting for what was right...their FREEDOM. It was worth my 10 dollars, matter of fact im going to see it again tonight. LOVED IT, and i dont compare it to other movies because it's its own movie and we magnificent! Expand
  4. May 3, 2011
    8
    Thiz is my most anticipated movie for thiz year. And ended up exactly as I expected, it is a mega visual feast that I have ever seen since THEThiz is my most anticipated movie for thiz year. And ended up exactly as I expected, it is a mega visual feast that I have ever seen since THE MATRIX (1999). In the hand of Zack Snyder (Director), everything has been set to a new level in height and adrenaline rush, I am talking about the visualisation aspect here. When 300 (2006) was booming, people keep questioning: whether Snyder was only able to assemble 300 muscly and brawny men to do those macho things? Well, now for the answer he brings us five sexy and deadly ladies to fight against Giant Samurai and Vicious Dragon in alternative World War II! Actually, the story centers on a girl named Baby Doll (Emily Browning) who is accused as a rebel and placed into mental institution. In that place, she meets Sweet Pea (Abbie Cornish), Rocket (Jena Malone), Blondie (Vanessa Hudgens), Amber (Jamie Chung). Together, they are setting up an escape plan through some reality and fantasy experiences. To accomplish the mission, they have to collect five items which are: a map, fire, a knife, a key and one last mysterious element. Emily Browning is perfectly cast as Baby Doll, her character is so innocent and unpredictably lethal at the same time. Other Casts worth mentioning here are: Carla Gugino, Oscar Isaac, Jon Hamm and the most unforgettable appearance, Scott Glenn as the Wise Man. I love the opening scene so much when it tells how Baby Doll was slandered by her abusive stepfather, the sequence tells so amazingly dramatic, dark comical and elegant. The camera movement is dynamic, the transition from one point to another is effective, and the music was superbly fit. Love every minute of it. For the ending, you might feel a little bit disappointed if you expect something more, but for me it was perfect! The ending put us in a floating situation and makes you keep wondering around even when you were walking out of theater. I always enjoy the movie which can dive into a blurred reality and explain cleverly what is the connection between the reality world. Commonly, thiz kind of movie always utters some new hidden philosophy. Just remember, If you do not stand for something, you will fall for anything.

    Visit My Blog on JONNYâ
    Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2011
    6
    I was amused by the first 3/4s of this movie. I'm a fan of ultra violence so chicks kicking ass got into this movie. I found myself wonderingI was amused by the first 3/4s of this movie. I'm a fan of ultra violence so chicks kicking ass got into this movie. I found myself wondering if anyone will understand this movie because I was barely following it. The main fantasy fight scenes were pretty epic and the music was amazing. I wanted one last over the top fight but in the end I felt like I was the one who got the Sucker Punch. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't get the point of this movie. I understand the set up of misogynist themes and the ensuing revenge tale, but it's too much to stomach watching low-life characters kill the daring heroes. Also, using a "lobotomy" as a plot device is just awful. Technically, this film is a marvel. The direction, the acting, the special effects are all wonderful achievements. The actors in this movie act out scenes of dialogue that are just ridiculous at times and still manage to make them believable and compelling somehow. The parts of the whole deserve great credit and the action scenes, while borrowing heavily from video games, are shockingly well done. And, to be frank, it's tough to not like the idea of our cast of heroes jumping out of airplanes and decimating steam-power zombie fascists (of all things).

    But, in the end, this is a movie where really the bad guys win. If Zack Snyder's aim was to break the formulaic mold that has persevered in the industry for so long, I can understand. But I don't think this was the way to do it. I love Zack Snyder and am eagerly awaiting his next project, being an enormous fan of his Watchmen (and its excellent treatment of the source material). He's remarkably talented and ahead of his time, but this film will be a learning experience for him. It's going to take me a week to get this terrible movie out of my head.
    Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2011
    0
    SUCKER PUNCH - as in youâ

See all 291 User Reviews

Trailers