Sucker Punch

Sucker Punch Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 811 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: She has been locked away against her will, but Babydoll has not lost her will to survive. Determined to fight for her freedom, she urges four other young girls—the outspoken Rocket, the street-smart Blondie, the fiercely loyal Amber and the reluctant Sweet Pea—to band together and try toShe has been locked away against her will, but Babydoll has not lost her will to survive. Determined to fight for her freedom, she urges four other young girls—the outspoken Rocket, the street-smart Blondie, the fiercely loyal Amber and the reluctant Sweet Pea—to band together and try to escape their terrible fate at the hands of their captors, Blue, Madam Gorski and the High Roller. (Warner Bros. Pictures)
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 15 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 24, 2011
    80
    Sucker Punch doesn't all work by a long shot, but it confirms my sense that Snyder belongs near the top of a very short list of directors who are trying to reinvent a personal, auteurist vision of cinema at the most commercial, mass-market, attention-disordered end of the spectrum.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 24, 2011
    75
    It's a film that's at once too much and not enough, laughable and groovy, dead serious and a total joke. And I mean no disrespect by any of that.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Jenkins
    Mar 27, 2011
    50
    An extremely boyish ode to girl power.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 27, 2011
    38
    This movie isn't bad in the way some incompetently made movies are bad; this is bad because there's much skill evident in a pointless endeavor.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Mar 28, 2011
    30
    Sucker Punch has vast empty patches, deserts of dead air.
  6. Reviewed by: Andy Klein
    Mar 25, 2011
    25
    "The idea evolved and expanded," he (Snyder) says, "and took on a life of its own." Unfortunately, all of that life must have dribbled away as the project developed, because the resulting nonsense has none.
  7. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Mar 24, 2011
    0
    Snyder must have known in preproduction that his greasy collection of near-rape fantasies and violent revenge scenarios disguised as a female-empowerment fairy tale wasn't going to satisfy anyone but himself.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 299
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    No es tan mala esta película, esta bien. La han infravaloraron por que parece que Hollywood odia a Zack Snyder y también los críticos, siempreNo es tan mala esta película, esta bien. La han infravaloraron por que parece que Hollywood odia a Zack Snyder y también los críticos, siempre con un pero. Yo le doy un 10 por el cariño que le tengo a este buen director. Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Sucker Punch, THE best movie of 2011! The way the dreams interlinked with their plans of escaping was great! You have 5 beautiful & kickassSucker Punch, THE best movie of 2011! The way the dreams interlinked with their plans of escaping was great! You have 5 beautiful & kickass characters, taking control of their fate. The message of the movie which was basically only you can control your fate, & you have the weapons, so fight for it, was simple yet the way it's presented was fantastic, each world was well designed. And whoever who thought the plot was 'overly simple', well your brain is the one that's simple, it was intruiging & kept me thinking, even after the movie, I was still mindf***ed! I'm watching it again this weekend, the movie was awesome, it keeps me wanting more. The music was great as well, fitted each scene perfectly, you can't compare it to any movie, its definitely way more complicated then Inception, I have to say. Everyone go see it, it was totally worth my $9. The only thing I didn't quite like was the length, which was too short, it could use some character development, so I could understand each character better, it could have been longer, but still it was fantastic, just a minor flaw, so definitely a 10/10! I LOVED IT, IT WAS AWESOME, it was good to finally see some originality in a movie, even though how everyone thought the concept was simple, no one could have done it better then Zack Snyder, this definitely goes into my list of favourite movies of all time! Most entertaining & intruiging movie this year! Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    Sucker Punch, this movie was the best movie of 2011 hands down. The way they used reality and dreams were brilliant. And all of the charactersSucker Punch, this movie was the best movie of 2011 hands down. The way they used reality and dreams were brilliant. And all of the characters were, well KICK ASS. 5 woman taking control of their life and trying to escape from a place they will rot and die in. They are fighting for their last chance and it was amazing! All 5 of the actress were breathtaking, so was the Madame. It was dark but still had you cheering for the girls to get free. The battle scenes were excellent, so was the script. Now if you dont like this movie maybe you should go see "Justin Beibers" new movie, because this movie was deep some people wont be able to grasp its dark and excellent message. In the movie it says we have the weapons we need, now we have to survive and fight. And the entire movie was them surviving and fighting for what was right...their FREEDOM. It was worth my 10 dollars, matter of fact im going to see it again tonight. LOVED IT, and i dont compare it to other movies because it's its own movie and we magnificent! Collapse
  4. May 3, 2011
    8
    Thiz is my most anticipated movie for thiz year. And ended up exactly as I expected, it is a mega visual feast that I have ever seen since THEThiz is my most anticipated movie for thiz year. And ended up exactly as I expected, it is a mega visual feast that I have ever seen since THE MATRIX (1999). In the hand of Zack Snyder (Director), everything has been set to a new level in height and adrenaline rush, I am talking about the visualisation aspect here. When 300 (2006) was booming, people keep questioning: whether Snyder was only able to assemble 300 muscly and brawny men to do those macho things? Well, now for the answer he brings us five sexy and deadly ladies to fight against Giant Samurai and Vicious Dragon in alternative World War II! Actually, the story centers on a girl named Baby Doll (Emily Browning) who is accused as a rebel and placed into mental institution. In that place, she meets Sweet Pea (Abbie Cornish), Rocket (Jena Malone), Blondie (Vanessa Hudgens), Amber (Jamie Chung). Together, they are setting up an escape plan through some reality and fantasy experiences. To accomplish the mission, they have to collect five items which are: a map, fire, a knife, a key and one last mysterious element. Emily Browning is perfectly cast as Baby Doll, her character is so innocent and unpredictably lethal at the same time. Other Casts worth mentioning here are: Carla Gugino, Oscar Isaac, Jon Hamm and the most unforgettable appearance, Scott Glenn as the Wise Man. I love the opening scene so much when it tells how Baby Doll was slandered by her abusive stepfather, the sequence tells so amazingly dramatic, dark comical and elegant. The camera movement is dynamic, the transition from one point to another is effective, and the music was superbly fit. Love every minute of it. For the ending, you might feel a little bit disappointed if you expect something more, but for me it was perfect! The ending put us in a floating situation and makes you keep wondering around even when you were walking out of theater. I always enjoy the movie which can dive into a blurred reality and explain cleverly what is the connection between the reality world. Commonly, thiz kind of movie always utters some new hidden philosophy. Just remember, If you do not stand for something, you will fall for anything.

    Visit My Blog on JONNYâ
    Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    6
    Sucker Punch is actually good for my opinion and I know that everybody else seems to hate it. Even, it's not as good as other films thatSucker Punch is actually good for my opinion and I know that everybody else seems to hate it. Even, it's not as good as other films that compare to Zack Synder's films like Dawn of the Dead and 300, especially Watchmen that I didn't like. But almost half fun for those hottest girls with terrific costumes to fight in the confusion of the video game world that surrounds the atmosphere, it's really cool. Although, the story is out of place that there's no explanation about the story that it didn't tell anything about the movie from the beginning to the end, it's really downsize of the entire movie that falls down of the silly scenes that keeps going and wondering what the story is really about. But at the time, it's almost good to the bad film and that's okay that it brings the girls into action and Synder is trying hard for the movie, it really brings the intention to a clever movie. It's worth seeing? I think so! So see this movie or rent it, or skip it that people think it really sucks! You won't regret for this. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't get the point of this movie. I understand the set up of misogynist themes and the ensuing revenge tale, but it's too much to stomach watching low-life characters kill the daring heroes. Also, using a "lobotomy" as a plot device is just awful. Technically, this film is a marvel. The direction, the acting, the special effects are all wonderful achievements. The actors in this movie act out scenes of dialogue that are just ridiculous at times and still manage to make them believable and compelling somehow. The parts of the whole deserve great credit and the action scenes, while borrowing heavily from video games, are shockingly well done. And, to be frank, it's tough to not like the idea of our cast of heroes jumping out of airplanes and decimating steam-power zombie fascists (of all things).

    But, in the end, this is a movie where really the bad guys win. If Zack Snyder's aim was to break the formulaic mold that has persevered in the industry for so long, I can understand. But I don't think this was the way to do it. I love Zack Snyder and am eagerly awaiting his next project, being an enormous fan of his Watchmen (and its excellent treatment of the source material). He's remarkably talented and ahead of his time, but this film will be a learning experience for him. It's going to take me a week to get this terrible movie out of my head.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2011
    0
    Ask yourself: do butt-kicking heroines have to be wearing nothing but underwear to be interesting? If not, then why are the ladies in thisAsk yourself: do butt-kicking heroines have to be wearing nothing but underwear to be interesting? If not, then why are the ladies in this movie all allergic to pants? What are we to make of the fact that empowerment in this schema seems to involve titillating 13-year old boys? Expand

See all 299 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Six Picks for the Week of March 21-27

    Six Picks for the Week of March 21-27 Image
    Published: March 20, 2011
    From "Sucker Punch" to the launch of the Nintendo 3DS to a new Strokes album to HBO's Emmy-baiting new miniseries, there's something for just about everyone this week.
  2. Spring Movie Preview: The 20 Most Anticipated Films

    Spring Movie Preview: The 20 Most Anticipated Films Image
    Published: March 3, 2011
    Get release dates and descriptions for films arriving over the next few months, including our 20 most anticipated movies of the season -- a list that ranges from "Sucker Punch" to "Your Highness."
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 25, 2011
    This week's roundup is filled with new trailers and clips, including the very first look at "The Hangover Part II" and new glimpses of "Battle: Los Angeles," "Source Code," "Sucker Punch," and "Bad Teacher." Plus, get the latest details on the next Bourne film and other upcoming movies.
  4. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  5. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  7. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.