User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 258
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    Its outstanding the work it has been done here.
    Boyles creative mind to set us in a ficcional but real struggle of humans extinction is incredible.
    I love the scenes of the planets, the stars, the worlds... the OST is pretty cool and do what it must.

    I´ve watched like ten times and i love it every time
  2. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Sunshine has a very intense atmosphere and the most unimaginable travel I've ever seen! The combination of beautiful pictures and a damn good soundtrack makes this movie for me unforgettable.

    The characters are good constructed in the first act and then they will even change during the movie. I have to admit this movie isn't for everyone: It has a deep philosophical aspect and little
    Sunshine has a very intense atmosphere and the most unimaginable travel I've ever seen! The combination of beautiful pictures and a damn good soundtrack makes this movie for me unforgettable.

    The characters are good constructed in the first act and then they will even change during the movie. I have to admit this movie isn't for everyone: It has a deep philosophical aspect and little action. But I'm really happy there's finally again a movie, which doesn't have stereotypical heroes like in Armageddon!

    Many people complain about the third act, but I think it matches to the movie, because think about the problems, which ALL the characters had to solve! This movie gets better every time I rewatch it and everything (also the third act) gets clearer. I rarely experience this. Yes, it's not completely realistic, but it's a science-FICTION-movie, so it doesn't really bother me.
    Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    This movie is just an amazing, very compelling and highly underrated Triumph! It has everything what a great movie needs. It is, exciting, thrilling, moving, visually outstanding, it plays with symbolism, asks and explores philosophical and moral questions in a profound way and and and the work and effort they have put in that movie is remarkable. A Masterpiece to me! ... Can't believe howThis movie is just an amazing, very compelling and highly underrated Triumph! It has everything what a great movie needs. It is, exciting, thrilling, moving, visually outstanding, it plays with symbolism, asks and explores philosophical and moral questions in a profound way and and and the work and effort they have put in that movie is remarkable. A Masterpiece to me! ... Can't believe how little it made in the box office ... Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2011
    9
    I got what I expected from Sunshine; a profound SF masterpiece that doesn't contain all those unnecessary dialogue and stupid characters. Though Danny Boyle was foolish to put a zombie into the movie, nevertheless its one of the year's best films.
  5. May 1, 2013
    10
    Spoiler alert!
    Reading reviews of Sunshine is a profoundly depressing experience, and reminds me that western culture is in its last death throes. Every single archetype, symbolism and cultural alliteration swushes as completely and utterly over the heads of reviewers as a Star Trek spaceship, before they proceed to complain about narratives they don`t understand because of illiteracy
    Spoiler alert!
    Reading reviews of Sunshine is a profoundly depressing experience, and reminds me that western culture is in its last death throes. Every single archetype, symbolism and cultural alliteration swushes as completely and utterly over the heads of reviewers as a Star Trek spaceship, before they proceed to complain about narratives they don`t understand because of illiteracy and an ending they understand even less for the same reason.
    On a first viewing, Sunshine is a visually impressive, if claustrophobic story of a group of scientists on their way to reignite the Sun with the largest nuclear bomb in NATO history. Nothing special there, and if this is all the movie remains for you, more impressive movies can certainly be found. But even on a first viewing it should be obvious that there is another story being told that reaches down into the very foundations of western cultural traditions. You`d think reviewers born and raised in the west might notice this therefore. No such luck!
    To mention all the symbolism, religious and cultural references contained in Sunshine is not easy; indeed I may not even have noticed them all. But from the basic allegory of the Sun as truth/God/creating force present in the Greek, Egyptian, Roman and Christian traditions, many of them are so evident I squirm with embarrassment on behalf of those who fail to notice even any of it.
    The first is the ship in which they travel, named Icarus after the Greek mythological figure who flew too close to the Sun so his wings fell off. As with everything else this is not a literal event being retold, but an allegory regarding the force of truth/God and the futility of trying to become God. If the entire movie is viewed as an allegory of the search for truth, you could easily see that most reviewers would need very powerful sunglasses indeed. If this is correct though, the gatekeeper of truth is the movie`s nemesis, Penbacker, who seeks to destroy the Icarus and prevent the crew from reigniting the Sun, by killing them all. Like a Syrian pillar hermit he has spent seven years close to God (the Sun) and presumes to have understood the futility of denying the death of God (truth), and aggressively seeks to prevent anyone from reigniting the Sun/remaking God/finding truth.
    The actual bomb is triggered from a cross-shaped scaffolding. The cross was traditionally a symbol of the rebirth of God, even before Christianity. Around this cross is a square, representing order. Logically then, as the bomb goes off and God (The Sun) is reborn on the Cross, the main character (Capo) transcends, is reborn as God and a new order begins.
    This is why the ending to the movie is the way it is. Not to be weird but to tell an allegorical story about God/truth/rebirth. To the allegorical illiterates in this weird society this is all nonsense of course, and Sunshine is a bad movie because it`s not simple enough for them.

    I could obviously talk more about all this, and it would be nice if at least one conversation about Sunshine would. Some people detest allegory and wouldn`t recognize a cultural symbol if it jumped up and gave them a haircut, which is perfectly fine. But it might be helpful if the people criticizing this splendid movie understood what an allegory is at least. Personally I firmly believe that certain things can`t be properly communicated without them, as my puny attempts to verbalize them here should illustrate, and I feel that movies with allegorical depth are the only ones that ever become classics. Much the same can be said of literature. And if it`s allegorical depth you want you can`t find a better movie than Sunshine. I defiantly vote 10!
    Expand
  6. David
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    An absolute masterpiece in cinematography; excellent scene transitions, intense and emotion-ridden soundtrack, and the sheer magnitude of their mission is enough to put chills down your spine. For instance the scene where Capa makes his jump from the Icarus II to the payload is one of the most powerful scenes I have seen in any movie. Absolutely fantastic and the best movie I have ever An absolute masterpiece in cinematography; excellent scene transitions, intense and emotion-ridden soundtrack, and the sheer magnitude of their mission is enough to put chills down your spine. For instance the scene where Capa makes his jump from the Icarus II to the payload is one of the most powerful scenes I have seen in any movie. Absolutely fantastic and the best movie I have ever seen. Period. Oh and to all of you 2 and 1 star-ers, consider this; if this movie didn't have the thriller aspect of the third act you would probably be here whining and complaining about the movie being too boring. Expand
  7. STS
    Jun 11, 2012
    9
    This is one of my favourite sci-fi films, though it can be hard to re-watch it after you know the story. It is a great example of a quiet and thoughtful science fiction film, moved by characters and some really solid acting. And in all honesty, I did NOT want to see it due to the initial premise. The sun going out, you say? Rubbish, I say. But once I sat down and actually watched it,This is one of my favourite sci-fi films, though it can be hard to re-watch it after you know the story. It is a great example of a quiet and thoughtful science fiction film, moved by characters and some really solid acting. And in all honesty, I did NOT want to see it due to the initial premise. The sun going out, you say? Rubbish, I say. But once I sat down and actually watched it, I really really enjoyed it. I guess it's one of those sci-fi films where you have to just agree to not worry too much about the actual science. Just accept the initial premise and go from there. Incredibly heart-wrenching at times, this is a great film. Expand
  8. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    wonderful!!! i absolutely loved it! acting - WOW! story - WOW! soundtrack - double WOW! i just can't believe that so few people saw it. i recomed to everybody to see this wonderful picture..... really well done
  9. SilvioJ.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    Amazing movie from start to finish. Most people missed this masterpiece, I'm telling everyone I know.
  10. jrocknyc
    Sep 3, 2007
    9
    Feels like "2001," except '2001" bored me to tears and this movie rocked.
  11. CharlesT.
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    Reading other comments made me think that this would be a run of the mill the earth is screwed type of science fiction movie. I was wrong. There were of course some cliches that dragged the movie down but the stunning visual effects made me ignore that. This isn't a movie for someone who likes to sit dumbfaced in front of a screen and let's things be completely explained to Reading other comments made me think that this would be a run of the mill the earth is screwed type of science fiction movie. I was wrong. There were of course some cliches that dragged the movie down but the stunning visual effects made me ignore that. This isn't a movie for someone who likes to sit dumbfaced in front of a screen and let's things be completely explained to them, it's more of a think-a-long movie. You do have to forgive the movie some of its tendencies to stray into the abstract but without those strays, it wouldn't be as special and meaningful. Overall this is a wonderful experience that deserves to be enjoyed. Collapse
  12. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    A very dramatic sci-fi thriller that leads to a very planned out plot and an exciting setting. I think the performances in this film were a little So and So.
  13. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Arguably the best sci movie of the last 20 years. If you cant handle that at the end of the movie the hero activates the payload inside the sun, its not for you. Partly horror, it still puts good movies like Armageddon, Deep impact and Event Horizon in another league.
  14. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Britain's best director Danny Boyle is back and this time with a interstellar epic. Dr Robert Capa is aboard the ship Icarus II along with several crew members sent to deliver a payload of universal proportions to the dying Sun, this payload will hopefully re-ignite it and save the human race from a new Ice Age and inevitable extinction. However they soon realise how the Icarus I's missionBritain's best director Danny Boyle is back and this time with a interstellar epic. Dr Robert Capa is aboard the ship Icarus II along with several crew members sent to deliver a payload of universal proportions to the dying Sun, this payload will hopefully re-ignite it and save the human race from a new Ice Age and inevitable extinction. However they soon realise how the Icarus I's mission to do the same job failed and find their own lives in danger as long as the rest of humanities. Mind blowing special effects, edge of your seat action and a touching story of isolation, friendship and teamwork. Sunshine is British film making at its best. Expand
  15. Nick
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    Although many will see this epic idea for a movie as deeply flawed (myself included), especially with the addition of the random zombie near the end of the movie (oh yah, this is a Danny Boyle movie...), it tackles extensive depth into the vastness, lonliness, and beauty of the universe. A beautiful movie people will look back on favorably, even if they don't see it that way now.
  16. DaleC.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite sci-fi movies in recent years. Amazing effects, a very realistic description of what a manned interplanetary mission might look like, and a soundtrack that will floor you. I get goosebumps just thinking about it.
  17. AZ
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    An intense thrill ride that never lets up.
  18. RyanP
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    The unnerving task of completing such a mission in the vastness of space is what made this good! Danny Boyle has mastered another genre when you look at the characters interactions with one another. after all, that's what he wanted, an "Ensemble cast" Anyone who ever looks up at the stars and wonders about space and what's out there and what can happen will enjoy this film. The unnerving task of completing such a mission in the vastness of space is what made this good! Danny Boyle has mastered another genre when you look at the characters interactions with one another. after all, that's what he wanted, an "Ensemble cast" Anyone who ever looks up at the stars and wonders about space and what's out there and what can happen will enjoy this film. Don't listen to those critics about the realism, even if it's not plausible it's still a highly entertaining movie! Expand
  19. DJS
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    Great movie, on the level of 2001: A Space Odyssey. Great character development and lot of interesting ideas as far as the ship they travel on. Sure the science reigniting a star is blurry and it would take much much bigger mass that what they have in the movie. One element which prevents me from scoring this movie as 10 is the fact they had to add that "slasher" scene near the end of the Great movie, on the level of 2001: A Space Odyssey. Great character development and lot of interesting ideas as far as the ship they travel on. Sure the science reigniting a star is blurry and it would take much much bigger mass that what they have in the movie. One element which prevents me from scoring this movie as 10 is the fact they had to add that "slasher" scene near the end of the movie so that teen audience is satisfied... it ruins the movie a bit. Expand
  20. AaronS.
    Aug 11, 2007
    9
    A very good film. Boyle takes bits from other classic SF films and meshes them together with his own ideas. The result is not the mess I had expected after reading a few mixed reviews. Rather, this is an intense even elegant film-not the kind of picture you expect to find in the wastelands that is Summer film season. The first hour of the film is sensational-filled with breathtaking A very good film. Boyle takes bits from other classic SF films and meshes them together with his own ideas. The result is not the mess I had expected after reading a few mixed reviews. Rather, this is an intense even elegant film-not the kind of picture you expect to find in the wastelands that is Summer film season. The first hour of the film is sensational-filled with breathtaking visuals, interesting concepts and ideas. And then in the latter part of the film, Boyle and his screenwriter Alex Garland pull out a left field plot twist that is jarring to say the least. While it takes a HUGE suspension of disbelief to swallow (mind you this is science fiction), I guess I'm in the camp that felt it didn't destroy the film. It just takes it to a different place than I had expected. The ending is chaotic-but so intense and involving I didn't mind the sharp turn into horror 'Sunshine' took. The final scenes are actually quite moving-no part due to the amazing soundtrack composed by Underworld. The less you know of the film, the more you'll enjoy it. And it really should be seen on a big screen to appreciate the visuals. I'd also be remiss if I didn't mention the beautifully eerie sound work on the film. It's as stunning as the visuals are. 'Sunshine' really looks like a more expensive film than it really is-Hollywood should take note on what you can do on a lesser budget. Great film-enjoyed the hell out of it. A complete surprise. Easily one of the better films in 2007. Oh and that '0' review "written" by J.K C - I'm mean really now. What is up with that. If you avoid this film because of those poorly written remarks then I don't know. Expand
  21. RolandS
    Aug 2, 2007
    9
    If you like science fiction, you'll enjoy this movie and forsake it's subtle flaws (I don't consider the 3rd act a flaw BTW) I hope there is a director's cut that is four hours long. Good use of the cognitive and social sciences, I felt my two years at community college finally paid off.
  22. SeanT.
    Aug 4, 2007
    9
    This movie is not nearly as cerebral as many viewers and critics have asserted. Having worried that the movie would be reminiscent of Solaris (Soderbergh)--plodding, pointless, hopelessly pretentious--I was very pleasantly surprised with this bit of cinema. Sure, the cast is young; however, that does not detract from the overall visual style of the movie nor the plotting nor the This movie is not nearly as cerebral as many viewers and critics have asserted. Having worried that the movie would be reminiscent of Solaris (Soderbergh)--plodding, pointless, hopelessly pretentious--I was very pleasantly surprised with this bit of cinema. Sure, the cast is young; however, that does not detract from the overall visual style of the movie nor the plotting nor the characterization. The attractiveness of the cast apparently miffed the SF Chronicle reviewer, and his diatribe's logic reduces to the following: only an ugly actor is a good actor. An infuriating implication for anyone that has tried to be judged on the basis of anything other than their looks. It's hard to find science fiction that isn't simple-minded and violent or (conversely) pretentious and dull. Boyle has struck the right balance with this picture. Go see it!! Expand
  23. Marina
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Saw it FIVE times in two weeks! What is wrong with this world when so many people cannot decidedly sit and watch a film for the enjoyment of what is offered? It's certainly not boring! It's definitely not visually dark and dull. Just sit and enjoy for the pure entertainment of it! That's why it is classified as fiction and not as a documentary. What is it? No cartoon Saw it FIVE times in two weeks! What is wrong with this world when so many people cannot decidedly sit and watch a film for the enjoyment of what is offered? It's certainly not boring! It's definitely not visually dark and dull. Just sit and enjoy for the pure entertainment of it! That's why it is classified as fiction and not as a documentary. What is it? No cartoon characters? No male/female relationship problems, cheating, unwanted pergnancies, shoot 'em ups, car chases, sex, or other similarly bane plots? I really don't understand what some people think makes a good film. It was a two-fer: space and a monster! ENJOY the FUN! After all, it was Danny Boyle and Alex Garland! Expand
  24. CoryG
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing. With the perfect soundtrack to boot!
  25. samj.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Certainly not for everyone, but die hard sci-fi fans will certainly be pleased.
  26. BillySingerle
    Jul 27, 2007
    9
    When Stanley Kubrick died in 1999, I thanked the movie Gods that it my lifetime I was witness to the entire career of the one true cinematic genius in the history of motion pictures. Today, after seeing Sunshine, I thank the movie Gods that I am alive to witness the early career of the next cinematic genius! Danny Boyle is without a doubt, the new Stanley Kubrick. Sunshine is one of a When Stanley Kubrick died in 1999, I thanked the movie Gods that it my lifetime I was witness to the entire career of the one true cinematic genius in the history of motion pictures. Today, after seeing Sunshine, I thank the movie Gods that I am alive to witness the early career of the next cinematic genius! Danny Boyle is without a doubt, the new Stanley Kubrick. Sunshine is one of a handful of films that you can say "I left the theatre in AWE!" Theres no sense in trying to describe it because it is undescibable. It is simply a jaw-dropping trip into celluloid heaven and Danny Boyle, after Shallow Grave, Trainspotting, The Beach, 28 Days Later, Millions and now Sunshine, is my new cinema God! Expand
  27. MarcelRamagnano
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    This year's best film, by far. Really, just an amazing movie in general; fantastic story line and seriously incredible visuals. One of the best sci-fi movies in a LONG time. I think even people not very big on sci-fi would find it incredibly enjoyable. A beautiful, stunning film.
  28. ThomasL
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    Sunshine is classic sci-fi filmmaking at its absolute best. It's been a while since I've seen a pure sci-fi film, esp. one that is set in space. The visuals of the sun and Icarus I & II spacecraft were mesmerizing. Excellent & diverse cast, too.
  29. SSeverin
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    intense, fun, the cast is physically attractive, if you're able to silence the tiny voice of disbelief, you will have fun w/ this one
  30. IanB
    Aug 12, 2007
    9
    Wonderful Film. To those who complain about the homages to such greats in the genre as "Alien" "2001" "Event Horizon" "Solaris (not the George clooney one)" I think you are missing the point. The movie is wonderfully art directed and uses elements from those films and then pushes them further into a spiritual journey undertaken by the crew. P.S: Who knew Chris Evans could act? Brilliant.
  31. NickA.
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    Reputable in his line of duty, British director Danny Boyle can
  32. helloyou
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    Dunno what some of these guys are talking about. It's a movie, so you can't base it completely in our reality. But even if you do, nothing is too absurd to believe in this movie. I really enjoyed this movie. I rented it with 3:10 to Yuma and ended up watching both the same day and Sunshine sticks in my mind far more. The beautiful imagery alone is worth watching this movie. On Dunno what some of these guys are talking about. It's a movie, so you can't base it completely in our reality. But even if you do, nothing is too absurd to believe in this movie. I really enjoyed this movie. I rented it with 3:10 to Yuma and ended up watching both the same day and Sunshine sticks in my mind far more. The beautiful imagery alone is worth watching this movie. On top of that the cast was great all around, especially Cillain Murphy (as usual) and the guy from the Fanastic Four movies was suprising excellent (dunno his name atm). Both these guys really carried the movie for me. Once you think you have seen everything there is to see in the movie and think it may start to get a bit redundant it completely throws you a new angle a little more than halfway through. Some people have a problem with this...I don't know why...for me it was the best part of the entire movie. Expand
  33. Sam
    May 11, 2008
    10
    Spoilers Why was the 'slahser flick' section 'shoehorned' in? Because the movie wouldn't have worked without it. We have Capa, a man who fears two things: the sun, and failure to deliver the payload. Then the oxygen garden is destroyed, leaving them with one option: go to the supposedly abandonned Icarus I. Since it becamse their only option, the possibilites on Spoilers Why was the 'slahser flick' section 'shoehorned' in? Because the movie wouldn't have worked without it. We have Capa, a man who fears two things: the sun, and failure to deliver the payload. Then the oxygen garden is destroyed, leaving them with one option: go to the supposedly abandonned Icarus I. Since it becamse their only option, the possibilites on what happened over there are even more thought of and beyond terrifying. When they get there, nothing. They can't control the ship at all, but behold, we have Pinbacker, a man whose sole intentions are to protect what Capa fears and destroy what he needs to protect. Tell me, haters, how would you have ended it? Take away Pinbacker and you have no closure to what happened on Icarus I, which is a huge focus in the film. The movie could not have ended without Pinbacker. Without him, there is no final third. Without him, you take away one of the best things about what is possibly the best sci-fi film of the decade. Expand
  34. KendoJ
    May 31, 2009
    10
    Very awesome movie. Gets a 9 for an excellent tragedy/triumph flick and a bonus mark for having the soundtrack of 2007.
  35. equality7-2521
    Jul 21, 2007
    9
    Cinematic poetry. I think Danny Boyle is my fave filmmaker now. Really inspiring. I think the majority of American audiences want Transformers type sci fi and therefore will not fully appreciate this film. Like I care. So fortunate that we can find gems like this released in mid-Summer. I heard the soundtrack will be released in September. Obviously, another great score from John Murphy.
  36. PaulK
    Jul 26, 2007
    9
    Visually stunning and washed in brilliant memorizing orange, this movie is anything but light. The closer to the sun, the darker it gets...If you've seen the extended trailer, you won't be disappointed. But really, with Cillian Murphy in the lead and Danny Boyle at the helm, seeing this is a no brainer. See it on the big screen, if you can.
  37. D.B.
    Jul 28, 2007
    10
    I must stake claim that Sunshine is the best Science fiction film of the last 20 years. It's simply magnificent. The story borders on the metaphysical as it leads the viewer on a spellbinding journey into the mind. I must commend Danny Boyle on his bravery in tackling such a risk taking venture into space. With a budget of 45 million, please tell me who else could have made such a I must stake claim that Sunshine is the best Science fiction film of the last 20 years. It's simply magnificent. The story borders on the metaphysical as it leads the viewer on a spellbinding journey into the mind. I must commend Danny Boyle on his bravery in tackling such a risk taking venture into space. With a budget of 45 million, please tell me who else could have made such a masterpiece. It's just a reflection of the talent and genius of this great director. Films like this just don't get made anymore, where you don't need a special effects extravaganza to reach for some element of quality. Don Expand
  38. SteveC
    Jul 29, 2007
    9
    Its seems that all the reviewers who don't like this film have taken issue with the realism of the piece. Suspension of disbelief is necessary to enjoy any type of non-fiction, especially sci-fi. Aside from the awkward "horror movie" ending, the film is actually really good.
  39. LalitD
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    Brilliant, Majestic, Beautiful. Sunshine is a movie with edge of your seat suspense every minute. Realistic Visual Effects, Focused Acting, Superb Directing, all topped off with a imaginative plotline, after watching the movie you will be thinking and having a reaction of awe as you leave the theatre. A true Science Fiction classic.
  40. AntonK.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    Thrilling. Amazing script. Perfect visuals. The crew are faced with constant life and death dilemmas. Fantastic cast and performances.
  41. AlexanderM
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    This is a wonderful move; one of my all-time favorites. My initial interest was in the sci-fi aspect of the movie, but after the 'rising action' starts it becomes a lot more than a typical "save-the-world-in-a-spaceship" and forces you to think a lot about life, mortality and human purpose. A lot of the ideas are just beneath the surface. If you can shrug-off some of the This is a wonderful move; one of my all-time favorites. My initial interest was in the sci-fi aspect of the movie, but after the 'rising action' starts it becomes a lot more than a typical "save-the-world-in-a-spaceship" and forces you to think a lot about life, mortality and human purpose. A lot of the ideas are just beneath the surface. If you can shrug-off some of the insensibilities, suspend your disbelief and enter with an open mind, you might find a new movie to add to your favorites. If you just can't get past all the little imperfections, you're in for a rough ride. I loved this movie -- an instant favorite for me. Expand
  42. Steve
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    I was a little skeptical at first, but this turned out to be a terrific movie. Very interesting story and nicely produced.
  43. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie... I loved it since I came out in Theaters. So I'll try to be as objective as I can. My review has a critical goal this time: to let the people who doesn't know it that this movie was a really outstanding space science fiction film, while it was so underrated and not even popular. The strongest points in this film: the atmosphere of the space isolated people far away from having communication with other people, that made me feel so immersed in this ''kind of'' claustrophobia thing. The OST music, all of the tracks, mixed with spectacular scenes, I mean from one side the scenes were so good, not forced in any time, in the other side the music fitted perfectly in each scene. The characters are all good and essential, all of then have an objective for being there. I liked all this stuff. Plus: it reaches your heart, makes you feel, as I said, immersed in the desperation, the rush, the claustrophobia, the anger, the sadness, the greatness of the space! Those are the good points. I also mentioned I was going to (or trying) be objective. These are my ''bad''. All the Pinbacker plot... I liked the Icarus I thing, all was good until they appeared to be some sort of entity, non human, he didn't die at full sun brightness, he had no skin... he was strongest than anyone else, while I've seen the rest fight and stop just because of ''losing oxygen'' he was in his full capacities. That was pretty unreal. Adding that effect of blurring him... they tried to make him a ''monster'' for a horror B movie. I didn't like it, not because is a bad plot... because is was hard to believe, even for a scify movie. Also... maybe strange decisions in the directing: the faces of the Icarus I members all around... and I don't get it. My guess: they wanted to be somehow creepy, to scare... but they lose their target there. Is this a Scify or a Horror movie? They had a lot of thing to be ''suspense'', the isolated people idea, the mystery of the space, the Icarus I atmosphere, no needed for a ''bad guy'' or a ''monster'' or ''floating faces''. I love this movie, those things don't make me change my mind, but they are mistakes that prevented this movie to be an (maybe) Oscar winning film. Expand
  44. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    This movie althought some will argue that it wasnt "realistic" or it had some "blurry" scenes was actually beautiful and if you know what you expect to see its even better. Most people who said it wasnt that good were expecting to see sex & the city or borat or i dont know what else was on their mind. For the script-scenario of this film it was perfect. IF people dont like this movie andThis movie althought some will argue that it wasnt "realistic" or it had some "blurry" scenes was actually beautiful and if you know what you expect to see its even better. Most people who said it wasnt that good were expecting to see sex & the city or borat or i dont know what else was on their mind. For the script-scenario of this film it was perfect. IF people dont like this movie and just write a mindless review awarding 0 in this movie then they have no clue. If that movie gets negative reviews IMAGINE what scores should 99.999% of the rest trash movies that they throw us on our face every day... Event horizon, moon, sunshine are almost equally good but the later is kinda on top. Expand
  45. May 17, 2015
    9
    I' want to start this review by saying that you must not trust the critics in this one, Sunshine it's an amazing movie, you should know that.
    The direction is astonishing, visually the movie it's perfect, filled with symbolism and eye-popping images. The acting it's also very good, especially the performances of Cilian Murphy and Chris Evans, who are playing the main characters.
    The
    I' want to start this review by saying that you must not trust the critics in this one, Sunshine it's an amazing movie, you should know that.
    The direction is astonishing, visually the movie it's perfect, filled with symbolism and eye-popping images. The acting it's also very good, especially the performances of Cilian Murphy and Chris Evans, who are playing the main characters.
    The music it's really a highlight of this movie, filled with incredible melodies like "Adagio in D Minor", you are bound to like the soundtrack.
    If you like sci-fi movies, i recommend it.
    Expand
  46. Feb 9, 2015
    9
    Danny Boyle's films always sound great. He listens to music and has definitely been hanging out where the experimental music gets played, possibly on a certain site that shall remain nameless that is still free for citizens of his country, while most of the rest of the world got shunted over the paywall. Anyway he employs superb sound design including music/foley/ambience/everything.Danny Boyle's films always sound great. He listens to music and has definitely been hanging out where the experimental music gets played, possibly on a certain site that shall remain nameless that is still free for citizens of his country, while most of the rest of the world got shunted over the paywall. Anyway he employs superb sound design including music/foley/ambience/everything. Sunshine's is the best of the three I've seen. To me all are collectible.
    So I'm already hooked and love the film to bits whatever happens. Also really enjoy the juddery, schlocky editing. And the lean, impactful script. And Rose Byrne reading grocery lists if someone would commit that to film.
    OK, the physics got preposterous and the baddie was boring, but the themes of love and sacrifice, courage in the face of death, reason vs superstition, leadership, democracy and justice, hope and action vs madness and entropy were compelling.
    A few suggestions:
    Colonel Kurtze, for example, was a more magnetic villain by dint of ponderous, inertial epicenter of horror stillness. Our villain here tended to rant histrionically, which might cause some viewers to glaze over.
    Cillian safe millimetres from a wall of fission/sun fire and dipping his fingertips in leaped balletically over the shark, trailing tinsel and sequins. Perhaps a better shot might have had him suspended weightless in a twinkling constellation of scintillations in the payload, merging with its 'beauty' as he saw it.
    But this director isn't much into restraint, so it's all told in superlatives. I'm OK with that. There was so much to love in this film that its few flaws are wholeheartedly forgiven.
    Consider every shot of the ships- spectacularly beautiful-, the protection and the impediment presented by the pressure suits, the powerful physicality of the travails of the characters as they strive to survive and deliver.
    Bring it on please. This and much much more of it, wondrous sci fi.
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. They’ve taken "2001" and Tarkovsky’s "Solaris" and "Silent Running," mixed in stuff from save-the-earth pictures like "The Core" and "Deep Impact," and thrown in a cheesy climax out of "Alien."
  2. Reviewed by: Derek Elley
    60
    Like a collapsing star, Sunshine initially burns brightly but finally implodes into a dramatic black hole.
  3. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    60
    Ideas scintillate over the surface of Sunshine without ever quite igniting, but at least the movie sparkles. What it doesn't do is cohere. Action flick, sci-fi thriller, metaphysical adventure, incoherent allegory, ethical hypothesis, and horror film all at once, this mad multitasker has the agenda of a dozen movies. Problem is, we know which ones.