Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 678 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the summer of 1979, a group of friends in a small Ohio town witness a catastrophic train crash while making a super 8 movie and soon suspect that it was not an accident. Shortly after, unusual disappearances and inexplicable events begin to take place in town, and the local Deputy tries to uncover the truth – something more terrifying than any of them could have imagined. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 9, 2011
    100
    The pacing is superb, quick and agile without being frenzied, and the special effects are jaw-dropping.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 9, 2011
    90
    This new film isn't perfect, and may not be a world-changer, but it's certainly a world-pleaser.
  3. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jun 9, 2011
    83
    It's spirited and funny and deeply entertaining, a summer movie for kids who think like adults and adults who feel like kids.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 9, 2011
    75
    Super 8 takes its place among the best B-grade science fiction movies of this generation by copying the best of the past 50 years.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 9, 2011
    65
    The timing couldn't be more opportunistic for a new Steven Spielberg movie that mines the thrilling uncertainties of childhood - even if it happens to have been made by J.J. Abrams.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 9, 2011
    60
    This uneven but often charming movie produced by Spielberg gets so many things right, including its practiced naivete. What's missing, however, is a crucial sense of connection to itself.
  7. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jun 2, 2011
    50
    It's in the moments Abrams attempts to combine emotional payoffs with popcorn-style thrills that the film rings most false.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 249
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Original. Superb acting (and yes, they're just kids!) - but this adult has nothing but admiration for the casting, pacing, direction, and whatever else goes with film making - yes, "super 8"! I'm not sure why some are trying to compare this with "ET"? This adult (ok old man), thinks this is more along the lines of "Goonies" - yes, that other classic, sprinkled with more thrill/suspense. Excellent mix of action and comedy - never cheesy nor "forced" - something most more "mature" films should learn how to do - I think we've all suffered through one or two lines in some movie that just try "too hard".

    Unsure what the "kid meter" for this film is. It should be great for the entire family - but again, this is not "ET" - it has more suspense and action in it and the underlying theme isn't as "wholesome".
    Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Super 8 is brilliant, it's just so good! How could anyone not like it, it's got a spectacular, interesting and thought out well plot, good acting, good character building, cool and different aliens and really exciting and tense action sequences. Why have so many people given this movie a five or lower, I just don't get it. It's very original and it's very clever and well made. I truly recommend this film to you if you haven't seen it already. I had a choice out of getting transformers: dark of the moon on DVD or this, and I chose this, what a wise choice I made. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    "Super 8" is a 2011 film directed by J.J. Abrams and starring Joel Courtney and Elle Fanning. The film follows the story of a group of kids who witness a train crash in the summer of 1979 and investigate the paranormal events of the that it has on this town. Well to be blatantly and frankly honest - I observed almost no problems in this movie whatsoever. The problems that I did observe are so trivial and insignificant that I'm not even going to waste my energy going over them. When I saw previews for this film, I saw that the prominent characters in it were mostly middle schoolers. Now, movies like this can go either one of two ways for me. One - the kids in this movie are so obnoxious as crap I don't even want to watch anymore. Two - the kids in this movie are portrayed in an enjoyable and original manner, that I can find myself relating to wholeheartedly. As you may have guessed the kids in "Super 8" are portrayed in the latter form. I found every child in this movie to be either hilarious or almost hauntingly familiar. In doing this, Abrams excels at portraying all of the interesting feelings and thoughts that go along with being a kid. The set pieces in this film are unbelievably breathtaking. I mean, the train crash in this movie is so astonishing, words can't even do it justice. The soundtrack by Michael Giacchino is incredibly diverse in emotions - it's scary, breathtaking, and thrilling all at once. The film in and of itself is a rollercoaster of emotions too. There were parts in this film where I couldn't stop laughing. Then there were parts where tension drew out like a blade. There were scenes that pulled at my heartstrings. I honestly can't say that for many of the films that have come out this year. All in all, I felt that "Super 8" was an almost relentlessly entertaining thrill ride. I can now see why Steven Spielberg wanted to be attached to this superbly thought out project. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    I cannot tell if this film is a beautiful homage to the films of Spielberg or a film that stands on its on, a fully original entity which could stand up to Spielberg's films in a fight for the top spot. On the one hand, Super 8 (Directed by JJ Abrams) is so engrossing as a window into a mourning town but it also tells a thrilling coming of age tale because of its extremely talented group of actors. Elle Fanning's character is like an onion, with so many layers to her character helping the viewer to feel with her, that when you are finished peeling you are crying like a baby. Sure there is a science fiction element that harks back to Spielberg but its execution is to embrace what made those films so imaginative and use it to improve the experience, embracing the sense of wonder that Spielberg film did. The ending is the major payoff with a beautiful finale with an awe inspiring set piece, rousing music and a great sense of forgiveness and amazement. Collapse
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    While nothing about the film really sticks out, It's a rather solid movie overall and I enjoyed watching it. The story was interesting and the acting was solid as well. I think lack of memorable scenes and a lackluster ending hurt the overall value of the film quite a bit. Still, It's worth checking out. Expand
  6. Sep 15, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. â Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    This movie is boring, dull, and uninteresting. The plot is unimaginative and plain dumb. Hard to believe Spielberg signed his name to this. Initially, I thought of scoring it one, but then I thought... NAH! Expand

See all 249 User Reviews

Trailers