Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 679 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the summer of 1979, a group of friends in a small Ohio town witness a catastrophic train crash while making a super 8 movie and soon suspect that it was not an accident. Shortly after, unusual disappearances and inexplicable events begin to take place in town, and the local Deputy tries to uncover the truth – something more terrifying than any of them could have imagined. (Paramount Pictures)
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 9, 2011
    100
    The pacing is superb, quick and agile without being frenzied, and the special effects are jaw-dropping.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Jun 9, 2011
    90
    This new film isn't perfect, and may not be a world-changer, but it's certainly a world-pleaser.
  3. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Jun 9, 2011
    83
    It's spirited and funny and deeply entertaining, a summer movie for kids who think like adults and adults who feel like kids.
  4. Reviewed by: Lawrence Toppman
    Jun 9, 2011
    75
    Super 8 takes its place among the best B-grade science fiction movies of this generation by copying the best of the past 50 years.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 9, 2011
    65
    The timing couldn't be more opportunistic for a new Steven Spielberg movie that mines the thrilling uncertainties of childhood - even if it happens to have been made by J.J. Abrams.
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 9, 2011
    60
    This uneven but often charming movie produced by Spielberg gets so many things right, including its practiced naivete. What's missing, however, is a crucial sense of connection to itself.
  7. Reviewed by: Todd Gilchrist
    Jun 2, 2011
    50
    It's in the moments Abrams attempts to combine emotional payoffs with popcorn-style thrills that the film rings most false.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 250
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    Original. Superb acting (and yes, they're just kids!) - but this adult has nothing but admiration for the casting, pacing, direction, and whatever else goes with film making - yes, "super 8"! I'm not sure why some are trying to compare this with "ET"? This adult (ok old man), thinks this is more along the lines of "Goonies" - yes, that other classic, sprinkled with more thrill/suspense. Excellent mix of action and comedy - never cheesy nor "forced" - something most more "mature" films should learn how to do - I think we've all suffered through one or two lines in some movie that just try "too hard".

    Unsure what the "kid meter" for this film is. It should be great for the entire family - but again, this is not "ET" - it has more suspense and action in it and the underlying theme isn't as "wholesome".
    Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Super 8 is brilliant, it's just so good! How could anyone not like it, it's got a spectacular, interesting and thought out well plot, good acting, good character building, cool and different aliens and really exciting and tense action sequences. Why have so many people given this movie a five or lower, I just don't get it. It's very original and it's very clever and well made. I truly recommend this film to you if you haven't seen it already. I had a choice out of getting transformers: dark of the moon on DVD or this, and I chose this, what a wise choice I made. Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    Fantastic movie following a group of kids making a movie that gets interrupted when a train crashes in their town carrying some rather suspicious cargo. The young talented cast are all great but its the creative idea and two brilliant minds (Abrams & Spielberg) put together that make this an amazing film. The train crash scene alone is just spectacular but the final few scenes are also just amazing. Overall a stand-out film from 2011 and one of my favourites for this genre. Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    I cannot tell if this film is a beautiful homage to the films of Spielberg or a film that stands on its on, a fully original entity which could stand up to Spielberg's films in a fight for the top spot. On the one hand, Super 8 (Directed by JJ Abrams) is so engrossing as a window into a mourning town but it also tells a thrilling coming of age tale because of its extremely talented group of actors. Elle Fanning's character is like an onion, with so many layers to her character helping the viewer to feel with her, that when you are finished peeling you are crying like a baby. Sure there is a science fiction element that harks back to Spielberg but its execution is to embrace what made those films so imaginative and use it to improve the experience, embracing the sense of wonder that Spielberg film did. The ending is the major payoff with a beautiful finale with an awe inspiring set piece, rousing music and a great sense of forgiveness and amazement. Collapse
  5. Dec 28, 2012
    7
    While nothing about the film really sticks out, It's a rather solid movie overall and I enjoyed watching it. The story was interesting and the acting was solid as well. I think lack of memorable scenes and a lackluster ending hurt the overall value of the film quite a bit. Still, It's worth checking out. Expand
  6. Sep 15, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. â Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2011
    0
    This movie is boring, dull, and uninteresting. The plot is unimaginative and plain dumb. Hard to believe Spielberg signed his name to this. Initially, I thought of scoring it one, but then I thought... NAH! Expand

See all 250 User Reviews

Trailers