Super

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 178

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "YOU DON'T BUTT IN LINE!"
    This was a surprisingly good movie, especially for an independent film. "Graphic violence" or "outlandish dark comedy" would definitely be appropriate ways of describing the movie. Granted, this movie was definitely not the typical 7/10 quality movie. It's budget was obviously low and there were parts, mainly towards the beginning, that feel pretty dull. Essentially, this is a movie about Dwight Schrute becoming a superhero. He's the same borderline crazy... no, completely deranged and out of touch with society type of character as he is in The Office. That makes it interesting and funny in a weird way but the movie really takes off and becomes, not only watchable but very entertaining and intriguing when Ellen Page's character, Libby, comes into the fold. Not only does she provide nearly all of the laughs with her sociopathic sense of humor but Ellen Page is also freaking beautiful and her character has this "thing" about her that she brings to a lot of her roles. Almost like she provides the film with this sophisticated innocence, if that makes any sense. However, I hate what befell her character in the end. I think that kinda goes to show how much you actually get into the film though when your reaction doesn't differ much from Rainn Wilson's character. In case my first sentence regarding graphic violence wasn't enough warning, this movie is not for everyone. However, if you don't mind arms being blown off, you might appreciate the realism hidden in the film's chaos.
    Expand
  2. sYs
    Aug 12, 2011
    10
    This movie was awesome mix of drama and insanity. +10from movie. Really enjoyed it. The acting was very well done and effects. This movie ads a new meaning to realism. One of the best 2011 movies so far.
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    This movie honestly surprised me. I went in expecting a quirky and fun nerd movie in the vein of Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, which is exactly the opposite of what I got until it wasn't, at which point it was exactly what I got, until it wasn't that either. Perhaps that requires some clarification. Keeping it spoiler free, this movie starts off as a mixture of bleakly depressing andThis movie honestly surprised me. I went in expecting a quirky and fun nerd movie in the vein of Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, which is exactly the opposite of what I got until it wasn't, at which point it was exactly what I got, until it wasn't that either. Perhaps that requires some clarification. Keeping it spoiler free, this movie starts off as a mixture of bleakly depressing and ball-twistingly awkward, but at the same time somewhat endearing for all that, before a somewhat drastic change of pace with an intentionally amateurish title animation set to Green Day-style 90s grunge. After the intro it wallows in pity for a little bit longer before buckling down and being legitimately funny and clever while still keeping up the incredibly awkward subtext. This culminates when our hero decides that his weapon of choice shall be a pipe wrench, graphically beating people in a short montage which seems for all the world as if it's being played for laughs, and which ends with him dropping a cinderblock on a criminal's head from a fire escape. However, shortly afterward there's a complete tonal inversion as it goes from quirky and lovable to serious and almost frightening within the space of a few minutes, and suddenly it seems as if that little comedic montage was not as funny as it first appeared. From that point forward the movie flits back and forth between gritty horrific delivery of its message, somewhat humorous stylization, and some honestly disturbingly psychotic moments that I honestly don't know if I was frightened or amused by. The movie really gets serious right near the end, when it simultaneously has a moderately impressive action scene, delivers a cuttingly real portrayal of what would actually happen if random people decided to be vigilantes, takes a hard look at morality and fanaticism while cashing in on the allegories to organized religion that have played a small part throughout the movie, and still manages to be somewhat funny at times throughout all of this. The ending feels simultaneously satisfying and like an absolute tease. All in all this movie has a lot more to it than I bargained for, and while I'm sure more than one of you will interpret everything I've said as the movie just seeming schizophrenic, I honestly think it melds together quite expertly in a way which is near impossible to explain. It's certainly worth a watch, because while I can't say with any certainty that you'll like it, I can say that you'll never see anything else like this movie and it deserves a view simply because of how astoundingly unique and intriguing it is. Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    Move over Batman... There is a new super hero in town, and he is ready to bash his way through the skulls of injustice with his pipe wrench of truth! James Gunn returns with another explosive cult-comedy starring Rainn Wilson as The Crimson Bolt, a self-made super hero that takes up crime-fighting after a seedy drug dealer makes off with his wife. Together with the help of his trustyMove over Batman... There is a new super hero in town, and he is ready to bash his way through the skulls of injustice with his pipe wrench of truth! James Gunn returns with another explosive cult-comedy starring Rainn Wilson as The Crimson Bolt, a self-made super hero that takes up crime-fighting after a seedy drug dealer makes off with his wife. Together with the help of his trusty side-kick, Boltie, they will squash evil in all of its many forms! In a James Gunn film, that includes beating people senseless over minor indiscretions like butting in line and keying cars, naturally. Gunn pulls no punches when it comes to crass, irreverent humor and exploitative violence, taking each to their veritable extremes while hiding behind the guise of a super hero film. Dig deep enough, and there are many powerful themes at work that speak directly towards the concept of the vigilante super hero and the essence of right and wrong. Rainn Wilson embodies the role of our deranged hero perfectly, providing an equal balance of sad ineptitude with never-ending hope and courage. Ellen Page's foul-mouthed Boltie adds an entertaining mix as well, when she is not taking the role too far over the top. As a wry wink to the super hero genre, SUPER cannot be beat! Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2013
    7
    Super succeeds as much as it fails in many areas. The film is not by any means close to perfect, nor is this a feel good hit of the summer. Some have argued that it fails at being :"funny" and that the entertainment values are lacking. I would argue that the film succeeds in what it set out to complete. Rainn Wilson plays a similar role to what we have seen him act before, but with someSuper succeeds as much as it fails in many areas. The film is not by any means close to perfect, nor is this a feel good hit of the summer. Some have argued that it fails at being :"funny" and that the entertainment values are lacking. I would argue that the film succeeds in what it set out to complete. Rainn Wilson plays a similar role to what we have seen him act before, but with some darker twists. Depending on how you view the movie, you might be disappointed at the odd conclusion or in some ways mesmerized by way Wilson develops during the course of the movie.

    Frank Darbo (Rainn Wilson) is a broken, slightly disturbed individual who is seen taking the law into his own hand. At first this is somewhat charming in a summer superhero movie way but when Frank's disturbed psyche is taken into context with the violence he is capable of committing. the result is unsettling (and yet meaningful).

    The result left me with a feeling somewhat similar to the same emotions I had after watching Donnie Darko for the first time. After finishing the film last night I looked at my wife and stated" I'm not sure if I ever want to see this again but there was something in this movie that I needed to see at least once."

    Give it a shot for what this film is, and see if you like what it brings to the table.
    Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    I am so glad movies like this get made. I really relate to it. Funny, its honest, and the ending leaves you sad, but happy. It would be a disservice to give away plot points. Because it does not follow the typical Holly Wood droll

    The film plays and will hint at following some Hollywood cliches and then it completely kills them. The film has this melancholy border around it,
    I am so glad movies like this get made. I really relate to it. Funny, its honest, and the ending leaves you sad, but happy. It would be a disservice to give away plot points. Because it does not follow the typical Holly Wood droll

    The film plays and will hint at following some Hollywood cliches and then it completely kills them. The film has this melancholy border around it, and will constantly touch base with it. What I really like about this film, every person with a speaking role has a personality some slight depth to give you some sense who they are. They were just more then Bad guy X or friend Y. They get that extra little bit of dialogue to give you a sense of who they are. Even Kevin Bacon's main bad guy character shows real affection and guilt for his girl. Ellen Pages character is amazing. Her character brings so much energy to every scene she is in. Her involvement adds another layer and another direction to the film, and toward the end of the film, her character rocks you again. She is this positive sadistic energy to compliments Dwight's lack of lust for his whole life. The film constantly steps "Dwight's " character into the insane realm but then immediately back pedals. It's fair to compare this to kick-ass but just the last half. When Kick-ass turns from teen romance comedy into a much more serious and violent film. At first I thought this film was written by the same guy, but maybe years before kick ass. I could see the violence turning away many. There's just something raw about taking a wrench and whacking someone five or six times. The violence however is more over the top, and kinda of zombie type setup then anything. In the end most wont like this film. The entire concept of someone reaching the point in their own life they need to dress up as a super hero, is kinda sad and depressing. But its suppose to be. And the film is honest with that. Thank you
    Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    I can't beleive its got such a bad score on here I thought it was brilliant. So dark and sad but constant between the lines humour all the way through! Very clever film, much deeper than it appears.
  8. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Super is a niche film that will only appeal to a certain group of people. Super will be and is compared to Kick Ass a lot, but it is not trying to be Kick Ass. This film is a dark comedy at heart and keeps to it; Super is far less over the top and is filled with a lot of insane fun for you but not the family.
  9. May 4, 2011
    10
    For me, this was easily the best movie of the year. It's certainly a visceral experience. The characters a mentally disturbed and they are meant to disturb you. The movie gets you to laugh at violence that will disturb you. If catching yourself laughing at that kind of thing makes you a sad panda, you won't be happy with this film. If you are the kind of person who would go to thisFor me, this was easily the best movie of the year. It's certainly a visceral experience. The characters a mentally disturbed and they are meant to disturb you. The movie gets you to laugh at violence that will disturb you. If catching yourself laughing at that kind of thing makes you a sad panda, you won't be happy with this film. If you are the kind of person who would go to this movie with the kiddos after your PTA meeting, you won't be happy with this film. If you are someone who is offbeat with a dark side, but still fun, you too will love this film. Expand
  10. Sep 2, 2012
    7
    For me, the star of the show was Ellen Page; she brought such enthusiasm to the role and I have to say, she was also pretty funny. To be honest, given the quality of the rest of the cast I ended up a little disappointed, I expected more somehow. Don
  11. May 21, 2012
    10
    A amazing film that was so much more than it initially appeared to be. It's a journey of self discovery for the main character Frank, and satirises religion and the superhero genre in general. Very gorey and very 'weird', and could only possibly suit a select type of film goer; namely those undiscouraged by the surreal, the grotesque who enjoy a film that goes beyond itself. The frequentA amazing film that was so much more than it initially appeared to be. It's a journey of self discovery for the main character Frank, and satirises religion and the superhero genre in general. Very gorey and very 'weird', and could only possibly suit a select type of film goer; namely those undiscouraged by the surreal, the grotesque who enjoy a film that goes beyond itself. The frequent comparisons to Kick-Ass are completely unjust, as it aims for a completely different effect. Expand
  12. Jun 25, 2015
    8
    A bizarre superhero movie that might require a specific taste to appreciate it, otherwise, you'll think it's disturbing trash. I like it, even with all the eff'd up stuff that's involved.
  13. Aug 14, 2011
    7
    This really isn't a feel good movie. If you want a fun loser turned superhero watch Kickass, this is closer to Defendor. The end is gruesomely bloody the middle is as well, it's pretty cool and very down to earth. I enjoyed most of it but it really was sad. Ellen Page played a crazier version of Juno and of course the star plays a character almost exactly like his character int he office.This really isn't a feel good movie. If you want a fun loser turned superhero watch Kickass, this is closer to Defendor. The end is gruesomely bloody the middle is as well, it's pretty cool and very down to earth. I enjoyed most of it but it really was sad. Ellen Page played a crazier version of Juno and of course the star plays a character almost exactly like his character int he office. Not that this is bad. it's not the greatest movie but you won't regret seeing it either. if you are interested in watching go for it but don't expect an epically awesome loserhero movie like kickass or Toxic Avenger, expect a kind of sad kind mix of Bibleman and Defendor that makes you feel uncomfortable when you can relate to the crazy guy. Expand
  14. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    Before watching this movie, I didn't expect much. Maybe some stylized violence, a few comedic moments, and a few good one liners. But what I got was far beyond that. The acting was really spot-on, the visual effects looked great and believable, the dialogue was dark and funny, and the plot was engaging and unique. For me, this is probably my favorite movie of the year. If you're into darkBefore watching this movie, I didn't expect much. Maybe some stylized violence, a few comedic moments, and a few good one liners. But what I got was far beyond that. The acting was really spot-on, the visual effects looked great and believable, the dialogue was dark and funny, and the plot was engaging and unique. For me, this is probably my favorite movie of the year. If you're into dark comedy and want to see something with less filler and more substance, this movie SHOULD NOT BE MISSED. Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2014
    8
    Errm. A peculiar flick that will make you think, laugh, cringe and if you're mentally disturbed enough (which I am), get emotional by the ending. I liked it and would have given it a six or a seven, but Ellen Page just made the pie so much sweeter with her wonderful character and acting, as well as that sex scene.
    Ludicrous, and it does ludicrous well. 7.5/10
  16. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    This film is realistic at the same time surreal. The score I give it high because there have been many times I've laughed, I kept thinking that somewhere in the world can have someone do this! ji ji ji
  17. Aug 9, 2014
    10
    I personally love this movie, Ellen Page is fantastic, Rainn Wilson is awesome in this SUPER movie. NATHAN FILLION is hilarious as The Holy Avenger!!
Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Kinnear
    Jan 18, 2015
    60
    It’s too raw and difficult for one target audience, but the erratic tone might leave sick puppies equally nonplussed. Gunn’s jibes at Bible-bashers and gun-nuts are as blunt as Frank’s attacks, and the clash of kooky comedy and violence is as awkward as it is ugly.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Apr 28, 2011
    20
    There are kernels here of a thoughtful and provocative picture, but they never pop – or POP!, for that matter.
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Apr 21, 2011
    50
    Take "Kick-Ass." Strip it of most of its wit and charm, amp up the violence, the sadism. Make it more crude and coarse and gory. And what you're left with is Super.