Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When sad-sack loser Frank sees his ex-addict wife willingly snatched by a seductive drug dealer, he finds himself bereft and wholly unable to cope. But soon he decides to fight back under the guise of a DIY superhero called Crimson Bolt. With a hand-made suit, a wrench, and a crazed sidekick named Boltie, the Crimson Bolt beats his way through the mean streets of crime in hopes of saving his wife. The rules were written a long time ago: You are not supposed to molest children, cut lines or key cars; if you do, prepare to face the wrath of the Crimson Bolt! (IFC Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 15, 2011
    75
    The libido and bloodlust flowing from the pint-size Page is the funniest thing in the movie, but elsewhere, the mix of the goofy and ghastly is hard to digest.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Smart, sick, and subversive, Super gives you what you want only to make you wonder why you want it.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Super is occasionally brilliant, sometimes awful and terribly confusing overall.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Mar 28, 2011
    50
    Waiting for Super to deliver the funny is an experience as long as the film itself.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 14, 2011
    50
    Shot on the cheap, with cheesy animated credits and comic-panel "Bams!" and "Pows!" splashed across the screen, Super has a jokey, low-rent quality (or lack of quality) that could be endearing, if Wilson's performance weren't so nihilistically dull, and if there were somebody in the picture who had a soul.
  6. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Wilson is basically playing an even more feckless version of his "Office" character, Dwight, another intense and self-deluded doofus. It's a character that works better in smaller doses.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 29, 2011
    20
    Skip this one, even if your hipster significant other whines a blue streak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. May 21, 2012
    10
    A amazing film that was so much more than it initially appeared to be. It's a journey of self discovery for the main character Frank, and satirises religion and the superhero genre in general. Very gorey and very 'weird', and could only possibly suit a select type of film goer; namely those undiscouraged by the surreal, the grotesque who enjoy a film that goes beyond itself. The frequent comparisons to Kick-Ass are completely unjust, as it aims for a completely different effect. Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    I am so glad movies like this get made. I really relate to it. Funny, its honest, and the ending leaves you sad, but happy. It would be a disservice to give away plot points. Because it does not follow the typical Holly Wood droll

    The film plays and will hint at following some Hollywood cliches and then it completely kills them. The film has this melancholy border around it, and will constantly touch base with it. What I really like about this film, every person with a speaking role has a personality some slight depth to give you some sense who they are. They were just more then Bad guy X or friend Y. They get that extra little bit of dialogue to give you a sense of who they are. Even Kevin Bacon's main bad guy character shows real affection and guilt for his girl. Ellen Pages character is amazing. Her character brings so much energy to every scene she is in. Her involvement adds another layer and another direction to the film, and toward the end of the film, her character rocks you again. She is this positive sadistic energy to compliments Dwight's lack of lust for his whole life. The film constantly steps "Dwight's " character into the insane realm but then immediately back pedals. It's fair to compare this to kick-ass but just the last half. When Kick-ass turns from teen romance comedy into a much more serious and violent film. At first I thought this film was written by the same guy, but maybe years before kick ass. I could see the violence turning away many. There's just something raw about taking a wrench and whacking someone five or six times. The violence however is more over the top, and kinda of zombie type setup then anything. In the end most wont like this film. The entire concept of someone reaching the point in their own life they need to dress up as a super hero, is kinda sad and depressing. But its suppose to be. And the film is honest with that. Thank you
    Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    Before watching this movie, I didn't expect much. Maybe some stylized violence, a few comedic moments, and a few good one liners. But what I got was far beyond that. The acting was really spot-on, the visual effects looked great and believable, the dialogue was dark and funny, and the plot was engaging and unique. For me, this is probably my favorite movie of the year. If you're into dark comedy and want to see something with less filler and more substance, this movie SHOULD NOT BE MISSED. Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2011
    6
    The movie's aesthetic is interesting; it starts a comedy apparently pretentious and slapstick, however the screenplay goes pushing on you and the movie keeps creating a way that you don't except, ending like a convincing drama. Right before the end I though "damn the guy kinda screwed all up, lost his team girl and all that only to save the woman who was despising him" but the end was really persuasive. Cool, the script much goes right so as much as it fails, but there are moments which are good, like the surreal divine messages, the heroic Christians episodes, nevertheless the violence really visceral. The initial comparisons with Kick-Ass are inevitable, but there is something more human and believable, the end just proves it. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2013
    6
    Being a low-budgeted independent film, Super has a surprising amount of mildly dark and amusing humor that works on many occasions, and a zealous lead in Rainn Wilson. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2011
    5
    This film was pretty insane. The story is pretty similar to Kick-Ass, the nerdy guy who tries to be a superhero with no powers. Super is a little more violent than Kick-Ass, but it lacks a lot of charm. Rainn Wilson was pretty good as a superhero, he's better than being a rock star for sure. He uses his same Dwight Schrute attitude to fight so-called crime with no superpowers, but a pipe wrench. Kevin Bacon was pretty good as the drug dealer who steals his wife from him. Ellen Page is probably what made this film funny, and not so much Rainn WIlson's stupidity as a superhero. Ellen was great as comic fan who loves violence and justice. Without a doubt one of her fiestiest roles ever. There were some good funny scenes with Rainn WIlson, it usual happens when he's first starting out as a hero. This film is really violent though. There is so much head-bashing and explosions. It was kinda funny seeing the action words pop up, but it seemed they kinda forgot to bring them back during the action sequences later in the movie. In the end, this was just okay. It was pretty funny and somewhat exciting until the last 20 minutes, where its gets extreme and really violent. A warped movie, but this Rainn Wilson film is far better than The Rocker. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    Completely awful, calling this a bad movie is too much of a compliment, I've seen bad movies before but this is the worst movie I've ever seen, it has no redeeming features at all, none of the characters are likable, it's not funny, and just a humongous waste of every ones time, honestly I came into this movie thinking I was going to love it because I love movies like Kick-Ass and Defendor where a regular guy just says he's had enough and becomes a super hero and this one was going to be a comedy also so I really was expecting to enjoy it, but as you can see I was extremely disappointed, I literally cannot begin to describe how awful this movie is, I seriously have no words other than this is literally the worst movie ever created, so do yourself and others a favor if you see a copy of this movie anywhere snap the disc in half, I believe the Crimson Bolt said it best when he said "how can something so stupid and idiotic exist?". Expand

See all 33 User Reviews

Trailers