Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: When sad-sack loser Frank sees his ex-addict wife willingly snatched by a seductive drug dealer, he finds himself bereft and wholly unable to cope. But soon he decides to fight back under the guise of a DIY superhero called Crimson Bolt. With a hand-made suit, a wrench, and a crazed sidekickWhen sad-sack loser Frank sees his ex-addict wife willingly snatched by a seductive drug dealer, he finds himself bereft and wholly unable to cope. But soon he decides to fight back under the guise of a DIY superhero called Crimson Bolt. With a hand-made suit, a wrench, and a crazed sidekick named Boltie, the Crimson Bolt beats his way through the mean streets of crime in hopes of saving his wife. The rules were written a long time ago: You are not supposed to molest children, cut lines or key cars; if you do, prepare to face the wrath of the Crimson Bolt! (IFC Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 15, 2011
    75
    The libido and bloodlust flowing from the pint-size Page is the funniest thing in the movie, but elsewhere, the mix of the goofy and ghastly is hard to digest.
  2. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Mar 31, 2011
    75
    Smart, sick, and subversive, Super gives you what you want only to make you wonder why you want it.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Super is occasionally brilliant, sometimes awful and terribly confusing overall.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Nelson
    Mar 28, 2011
    50
    Waiting for Super to deliver the funny is an experience as long as the film itself.
  5. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Apr 14, 2011
    50
    Shot on the cheap, with cheesy animated credits and comic-panel "Bams!" and "Pows!" splashed across the screen, Super has a jokey, low-rent quality (or lack of quality) that could be endearing, if Wilson's performance weren't so nihilistically dull, and if there were somebody in the picture who had a soul.
  6. Reviewed by: Walter Addiego
    Mar 31, 2011
    50
    Wilson is basically playing an even more feckless version of his "Office" character, Dwight, another intense and self-deluded doofus. It's a character that works better in smaller doses.
  7. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 29, 2011
    20
    Skip this one, even if your hipster significant other whines a blue streak.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. May 4, 2011
    10
    For me, this was easily the best movie of the year. It's certainly a visceral experience. The characters a mentally disturbed and they areFor me, this was easily the best movie of the year. It's certainly a visceral experience. The characters a mentally disturbed and they are meant to disturb you. The movie gets you to laugh at violence that will disturb you. If catching yourself laughing at that kind of thing makes you a sad panda, you won't be happy with this film. If you are the kind of person who would go to this movie with the kiddos after your PTA meeting, you won't be happy with this film. If you are someone who is offbeat with a dark side, but still fun, you too will love this film. Expand
  2. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    I can't beleive its got such a bad score on here I thought it was brilliant. So dark and sad but constant between the lines humour all the wayI can't beleive its got such a bad score on here I thought it was brilliant. So dark and sad but constant between the lines humour all the way through! Very clever film, much deeper than it appears. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    Move over Batman... There is a new super hero in town, and he is ready to bash his way through the skulls of injustice with his pipe wrench ofMove over Batman... There is a new super hero in town, and he is ready to bash his way through the skulls of injustice with his pipe wrench of truth! James Gunn returns with another explosive cult-comedy starring Rainn Wilson as The Crimson Bolt, a self-made super hero that takes up crime-fighting after a seedy drug dealer makes off with his wife. Together with the help of his trusty side-kick, Boltie, they will squash evil in all of its many forms! In a James Gunn film, that includes beating people senseless over minor indiscretions like butting in line and keying cars, naturally. Gunn pulls no punches when it comes to crass, irreverent humor and exploitative violence, taking each to their veritable extremes while hiding behind the guise of a super hero film. Dig deep enough, and there are many powerful themes at work that speak directly towards the concept of the vigilante super hero and the essence of right and wrong. Rainn Wilson embodies the role of our deranged hero perfectly, providing an equal balance of sad ineptitude with never-ending hope and courage. Ellen Page's foul-mouthed Boltie adds an entertaining mix as well, when she is not taking the role too far over the top. As a wry wink to the super hero genre, SUPER cannot be beat! Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    Shut Up Crime! With a recent emergence of superhero movies aiming to be grittier and more realistic, Super is arguably the most accurateShut Up Crime! With a recent emergence of superhero movies aiming to be grittier and more realistic, Super is arguably the most accurate portrayal of what would happen if someone without powers or insane amounts of money decided to be a superhero. Super is super realistic...and super dark! The single solitary downfall of this movie is that it completely disregards expectations, but I'm pretty sure it couldn't have been done any other way. How do you advertise for a movie that is a perfect mix of drama, comedy, tragedy, thriller, parody and character-based gore-fest? How do you tell the uninformed movie-goer that what they're about to see is going to challenge them in ways that a super-hero movie could never be expected to? Casual movie goers may get turned off by the gritty violence and somewhat convoluted message. Yet the fun, the humor, the strength of character and the way Gunn challenges thematic notions raised by most superhero films definitely elevates "Super" in a way that suggests its future will be as "cult favorite" as opposed to "lauded superhero spoof." Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    6
    To clear up all the report's all those people who are saying He's ripping off "Kick-Ass", Here's the explanation.

    Director James Gunn had
    To clear up all the report's all those people who are saying He's ripping off "Kick-Ass", Here's the explanation.

    Director James Gunn had wrote the scipt in 2002 but had major problems getting it greenlit due to the nature of it's content. Mark Millar (Kick-Ass Creator) knows this because he is friends with Gunn and even showed the movie at his "Kapow!" comic book convention.

    In my eyes this is as good as the Kick-Ass Film (The Kick-Ass comic however is way superior, but that is not relevant). Nevertheless there are a few other DIY superhero movies such as "Defendor", Hero At Large" and "Special", all of which pre-date both Kick-Ass and Super so it just makes me wonder why Super is under such heat...

    Either way lets crack on with the review.

    Cafe Grill-Cook Frank (Rainn Wilson) is a Christian man who has only had 2 highlights in an otherwise unfair life, 1. his marriage to Sarah (Liv Tyler) 2. Helping an Officer who lost the trail of a handbag theif. Sarah is a recovering Drug addict who then falls into the clutches of a strip-club owner Jacques (Kevin Bacon) and his gang (among them is "Abe" played by the awesome Michael Rooker).

    Despite Frank's many plea's and method's to try and get Sarah back, they work to no avail. eventually after seeing "The Holy Avenger" (Kinda-like Bible Man) he has a vision where he is "Touched by the Finger of God" and is inspired to become "The Crimson Bolt" a crime fighter who in the lamest sense smacks people square in the face with a pipe wrench, all to realistic, gory over-the-topness.

    Getting all his Knowledge from comic-book shop worker Libby (Ellen Page) who eventually becomes Frank's sidekick "Boltie", both of them fight crime, fail, succeed, train and work their way towards Frank's goal of getting Sarah back.

    Though the Film came out in America back in 2010, it has only just made a release in the U.K as a straight to DVD release, Nevertheless late is better than never and in a nutshell, I really enjoyed it.

    Don't Forget this is James Gunn (The Guy who wrote and directed those 2 really bad live-action Sccoby-Doo movies), here he is really letting his hair down and the result is over-the-top goryness that isn't afraid to completely let loose and have fun with itself.

    Rainn Wilson (Dwight from the U.S version of "The Office") is a really entertaining lead and likable character, however i don't like Ellen Page's character who is without a doubt 10X more meniacle than Hit-Girl of Kick-Ass fame.

    Kevin Bacon is again in another role which totally lies in his element, Liv Tyler (for whatever reason is down played alot) is lovely as always, and Rooker is subtle as ever (not that it's really a big part he nevertheless is just doing what he always doing, and for this kind of movie that's all he needs).

    Other than that, the film has this quirky, surreal vibe to which it parodies the 60's Batman effects (often to hilarious bloody effect) and uncomfortable WTF moments.

    Final Verdict: For what it is (An Indie Movie) it sure has fun with itself, and it's cool to see these kind's of films can be done so well even where there filmed on a micro-budget.
    Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2011
    5
    Super is strange to say the least. The premise is completely conventional nowadays - a nobody decides to become a superhero and fight crimeSuper is strange to say the least. The premise is completely conventional nowadays - a nobody decides to become a superhero and fight crime despite a complete lack of skill. The problem with any film that follows this formula from now on is that it's not Kick-Ass. To be fair to Super, it's not trying to be Kick-Ass. It's more satirical, but also far darker. Every character has some form of mania that drives them, whether it's Wilson's religious epiphanes, Tyler's dependence on drugs or Page's full-blown insanity. The performance highlights of the film are Nathan Fillion's bizarre turn as a TV evangelical superhero, and Ellen Page who is just plain terrifying (and who is the dark heart of the film). It's often funny but other jokes are misjudged, the pacing of the film is a bit off and it's just too depraved. It might appeal to some, and I can see what it was trying to be, but Super goes a little too far for me. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    0
    Completely awful, calling this a bad movie is too much of a compliment, I've seen bad movies before but this is the worst movie I've everCompletely awful, calling this a bad movie is too much of a compliment, I've seen bad movies before but this is the worst movie I've ever seen, it has no redeeming features at all, none of the characters are likable, it's not funny, and just a humongous waste of every ones time, honestly I came into this movie thinking I was going to love it because I love movies like Kick-Ass and Defendor where a regular guy just says he's had enough and becomes a super hero and this one was going to be a comedy also so I really was expecting to enjoy it, but as you can see I was extremely disappointed, I literally cannot begin to describe how awful this movie is, I seriously have no words other than this is literally the worst movie ever created, so do yourself and others a favor if you see a copy of this movie anywhere snap the disc in half, I believe the Crimson Bolt said it best when he said "how can something so stupid and idiotic exist?". Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers