Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 17, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 547 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
455
Mixed:
36
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
JamesOct 9, 2007
I love Freaks and Geeks, I liked 40-Year Old Virgin, and I actually really liked Knocked Up, but I know enough by now to expect Apatow to be consistent. Seriously, have any of you seen "Life As We Know It," or that awful college show he did? I love Freaks and Geeks, I liked 40-Year Old Virgin, and I actually really liked Knocked Up, but I know enough by now to expect Apatow to be consistent. Seriously, have any of you seen "Life As We Know It," or that awful college show he did? The cast is great, but the jokes just aren't funny if shock humor feels formulaic to you after the first ten or so. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
MichaelRMar 13, 2008
It had some funny moments but it was almost super bad. American Pie is by far better then this. I saw the unrated edition and I only liked one of the extras which was with two hot naked women making out.That part alone was better then the It had some funny moments but it was almost super bad. American Pie is by far better then this. I saw the unrated edition and I only liked one of the extras which was with two hot naked women making out.That part alone was better then the whole movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
EmanueleR.Sep 18, 2007
American Pie it's a Billy Wilder picture! How it's possible love a flat and boring movie like this?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
TatrTotzSep 3, 2011
There is lot's of hype around this movie, I think. Its really not that funny. Lots of penis jokes. It has its moments, but its not something I'd watch over and over again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Tranquilbez22Mar 22, 2012
Though the movie was enjoyable, I found it extremely over-rated mainly because of Michael Cera. Jonah Hill and Christopher Mintz- Passe do a fine job of being horny outcasts but, I only thought Cera's character was a bit of a drag because I'mThough the movie was enjoyable, I found it extremely over-rated mainly because of Michael Cera. Jonah Hill and Christopher Mintz- Passe do a fine job of being horny outcasts but, I only thought Cera's character was a bit of a drag because I'm sick of cera being type-casted as the shy nerd. Bill Hader and Seth Rogan are hilarious as the cops but I found some of the other jokes to be not funny, this movie is worth at least a rental Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
spadenxDec 9, 2011
Overrated, So overrated. It was a little funny but really it was just so stupid and unbelieveable that I couldnt look past it and I generally love comedies like this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
TeeMDec 10, 2007
After all the hype I really wanted to like this, but it was just okay. Amusing but not funny. While I liked the awkward interplay between the teenage characters, the constant swearing just seemed gratuitous and unrealistic, making the After all the hype I really wanted to like this, but it was just okay. Amusing but not funny. While I liked the awkward interplay between the teenage characters, the constant swearing just seemed gratuitous and unrealistic, making the characters come across as false in a way that's especially damning in a movie that's supposed to feel oh-so authentic. Uh...and the ending, with the girls? Sorry fat kid. Not gonna happen. Talk about unrealistic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DrewFSep 4, 2007
Highly overhyped and disappointing. It has it's moments that will make you laugh, but more often then not it falls flat. It's been done before, and much better. Can't stress how disappointed i was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GregAMay 25, 2008
It passed the time and provided some hilarious moments particularly in the first 30 minutes, but it dragged on too long, the cop scenes were not really that funny in the end. Compared to "Road Trip" this is comes a poor second.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BenF.Dec 14, 2007
Overrated, was expecting something awesome but it seem more of a rip off of super troopers. Not another teen movie was a lot funnier then this. There was nothing smart or clever about this movie. Worse part is, guy's like them never get Overrated, was expecting something awesome but it seem more of a rip off of super troopers. Not another teen movie was a lot funnier then this. There was nothing smart or clever about this movie. Worse part is, guy's like them never get girls like those. If all the girls were nerdy it would be believable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SteveKDec 18, 2007
Bill Cosby once famously said that you don't have to swear to be funny. Superbad starts slowly, almost entirely to its insistence in having the most vulgar dialogue in recent movie history. It gets better (much better AND funnier) as Bill Cosby once famously said that you don't have to swear to be funny. Superbad starts slowly, almost entirely to its insistence in having the most vulgar dialogue in recent movie history. It gets better (much better AND funnier) as the movie goes on, when they move on from the obvious and lowbrow humor and actually put the characters through some truly funny scenarios. The cops are hilarious and the dynamic between the two friends is touching. This is a gem of a movie that is dressed up like an unfortunate piece of turd. I just wish more moviemakers would realize that they don't need the "shock" factor of predictable "teen comedy" crap. It's like hearing a dirty joke for the first time. It might make you giggle (when you're 12) because somebody said the "F" word, but after hearing so many of these, the dirty joke stops being funny and just seems dirty. Just like many people grow up from those antics, here's hoping that movie making from Apatow and others grows up as well, because they have the potential to make some truly funny stuff, without the smut. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StanB.Aug 21, 2007
Typical male humor. Started out good, became increasingly tiresome toward the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JimG.Sep 15, 2007
Enjoyable raunch/romp updated for the oughts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JamesM.Oct 26, 2007
A good teenage movie. Nothing more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RickyQAug 23, 2007
It has some good laughs, but lots of the jokes just seemed to go too far and this is coming from a teenager.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RobinRFeb 22, 2008
5 minutes of watching drawings of dicks really isn't my thing... if its yours, great! i laughed, yes. but i laugh much more in a normal school day and I'm no class clown nor do i watch comedy central at all times so... Superbad 5 minutes of watching drawings of dicks really isn't my thing... if its yours, great! i laughed, yes. but i laugh much more in a normal school day and I'm no class clown nor do i watch comedy central at all times so... Superbad really wasn't that "super" after all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TrilobiteGJul 30, 2015
The Mclovin story is hands down the best part of this movie and should've been the only focus of this movie. Every other character's jokes fall flat most of the time apart from a few really good chuckles. Not a bad comedy, but I would ratherThe Mclovin story is hands down the best part of this movie and should've been the only focus of this movie. Every other character's jokes fall flat most of the time apart from a few really good chuckles. Not a bad comedy, but I would rather watch The Interview. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ardania22Aug 3, 2014
Definitely on the fence on this one. All those vulgar jokes and innuendos shoved in your face can really wear a guy down. But under it all, there's actually a strong beating heart and a touching tale of two friends who must learn to let go ofDefinitely on the fence on this one. All those vulgar jokes and innuendos shoved in your face can really wear a guy down. But under it all, there's actually a strong beating heart and a touching tale of two friends who must learn to let go of each other. You just have to have REALLY thick skin. Otherwise, it'll be one long squirm-fest. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SmileATTFeb 12, 2015
"Superbad," a raucous and raunchy comedy from producer Judd Apatow and
director Greg Mottola i must say it's another ultra-raunchy and
commercial sex comedy from the Judd Apatow laugh factory. The storyline is elemental and easy to catch.
"Superbad," a raucous and raunchy comedy from producer Judd Apatow and
director Greg Mottola i must say it's another ultra-raunchy and
commercial sex comedy from the Judd Apatow laugh factory. The storyline
is elemental and easy to catch. Two nerdy best friends trying to get
laid on a party night before going their separate ways to college.The
one is Seth played by Jonah Hill and Evan played by Michael Cera.Jonah
Hill character is a little bit vulgar and abusive but kind to just
enough to make it realistic and he play that very well . The thing that
bugs me is that "Superbad" is simply too long for the sort of picture
it is pic has some noticeable downtime, and it's all in the middle,
with too many goofy moments involving the cops and assorted fringe
characters that come and go. You really want the boys to get to the
party already and see what they get cooking with the girls.You cant
expect more from teenage comedy but you get a lot from that movie it's
fresh it will make you laugh but don't forget that's TEENAGE COMEDY not
more not less .
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews