Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 17, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 535 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
443
Mixed:
36
Negative:
56
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
NikkiGAug 17, 2007
Simply awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EvanBlAug 17, 2007
Painfully funny. Both glaringly realistic and over the top. May contain the funniest dialogue in a movie all year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrendanCAug 17, 2007
OMFG! I havn't laughed that hard in ages! I had so-so expectations for this movie but it was the funniest thing I've seen in this, hell, it's even the funniest movie of the 21st century!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mikekAug 18, 2007
this is definitely the funniest movie of the year. the characters are so likable and easy to relate to. highly recommendable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TupacAug 18, 2007
wow this movie had some of the best one liners i have ever heard. It was funny until the middle when it got a little serious but got funny again at the end. The whole theater was laughing out loud which is rare. Not as good as Knocked Up wow this movie had some of the best one liners i have ever heard. It was funny until the middle when it got a little serious but got funny again at the end. The whole theater was laughing out loud which is rare. Not as good as Knocked Up imho but still a very funny movie that is worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JesseAug 19, 2007
superfunny! i would have given it at 10 but the police side story went a little too long for my taste. aside from that, i laughed the whole way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BriggsHAug 19, 2007
Pretty hysterical throughout; you're rapt from the retro 70s dance opening. Rarely does low brow subject matter feel so high brow. American Pie if it were written with true heart and wit, and cast with actors who look like real people. Pretty hysterical throughout; you're rapt from the retro 70s dance opening. Rarely does low brow subject matter feel so high brow. American Pie if it were written with true heart and wit, and cast with actors who look like real people. Michael Cera is a deadpan genius. The misstep is the Rogen and Hader as doofus cops section of the film which, while often very funny, feels like it's part of another movie. The world of the high school kids is so rigorously realized, the cops should have been played more straight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TracyS.Aug 24, 2007
Oh God. I saw this movie twice: the first time, I was thinking that somewhere in the 7/10 range would be more appropriate rating than what I'm giving it now. The second time, the perception I had of it from before was fresh in my mind. Oh God. I saw this movie twice: the first time, I was thinking that somewhere in the 7/10 range would be more appropriate rating than what I'm giving it now. The second time, the perception I had of it from before was fresh in my mind. Obviously, the script is riddled with jokes, and seeing it twice reinforced each one of them, as well as the facial expressions of the main characters, which is half the fun. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThisGuyAug 24, 2007
This movie is full of fart, dick and lame jokes, but thats what makes it good. It is a funny ride that is filled with a great supporting cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackDAug 25, 2007
American Pie was Hollywood GARBAGE! Superbad, is ten times better. It's smarter, funnier and has much better actors. "Apatow and Rogen are comedy poison"??? What the hell are you talking about... maybe you should stick to BRATZ.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanNAug 26, 2007
Funny because it's true. Superbad captures the late teen mindset perfectly. The dialogue passes as uncontrived, lending to its believability. Simply a great film, with a great story line that many can relate to. Just not one to see with Funny because it's true. Superbad captures the late teen mindset perfectly. The dialogue passes as uncontrived, lending to its believability. Simply a great film, with a great story line that many can relate to. Just not one to see with the parents. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeklandB.Aug 26, 2007
Superbad is a much needed alternative to todays irritatingly unrealistic superficial toyline-based teeny bopper "bitch flicks". It's perfectly awkward, real, and while raunchy and inappropriate, still possesses an overwhelming and Superbad is a much needed alternative to todays irritatingly unrealistic superficial toyline-based teeny bopper "bitch flicks". It's perfectly awkward, real, and while raunchy and inappropriate, still possesses an overwhelming and charming sincerity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianKAug 29, 2007
It did what many lesser comedies fail to do: make me laugh out loud throughout the entire film. Admittedly, there isn't much of a plot beyond three friends trying to get laid before leaving high school, causing me not to give Superbad a It did what many lesser comedies fail to do: make me laugh out loud throughout the entire film. Admittedly, there isn't much of a plot beyond three friends trying to get laid before leaving high school, causing me not to give Superbad a perfect score, but the lack of plot wasn't a huge problem. The film also contained curses in every other sentence, but the movie is aimed at the kinds of people who don't mind such language. In short, Superbad is a great comedy and Mclovin is a great character. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardSep 21, 2007
Don't take it too seriously. the fact is, it was probably the funniest movie I've seen in my entire life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BJ.Sep 21, 2007
I laughed heartily ever one or two minutes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WadeT.Sep 27, 2007
Another Apatow gem that accepts what society is and uncovers what's driving it. Two high school social outcasts face impending departures to college and try for one shot at teenage immortality by supplying booze to a end of year party. Another Apatow gem that accepts what society is and uncovers what's driving it. Two high school social outcasts face impending departures to college and try for one shot at teenage immortality by supplying booze to a end of year party. The simple chase to fine alcohol, and the possibility of drunken sex that drives it, is funny in that uncomfortably true way Apatow has for presenting down to earth situations. The teenagers in Superbad aren't role models, but they aren't horrible human beings either, they just seem plausible people with good and bad tendencies. Which is what drives much of the comedy as no matter how crude the language or scenarios presented, the main characters of Superbad carve out their own identities that seem relatable. Therefore the leads always appear just as lost as you would imagine two awkward teenagers out for a one shot at glory. Also, ladies don't kid yourselfs, you've all wound up with a less than Brad Pitt like love interest in your life. So these guys would have a shot with who they're after. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kevinrSep 27, 2007
b e, I'm sadly disappointed at your grammar (I and my friends). Also you say, "this is what older people thought high school to be like." In reality, Seth Rogen wrote the script with his friend, Evan Goldberg, when he was thirteen!b e, I'm sadly disappointed at your grammar (I and my friends). Also you say, "this is what older people thought high school to be like." In reality, Seth Rogen wrote the script with his friend, Evan Goldberg, when he was thirteen! Anyways, I thought this movie was so fucking hilarious. It is really only intended for a younger audience because we totally get it, but it's still every thing a comedy should be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonasH.Mar 18, 2008
This is the best movie I've seen for a long time. I'd say it's even better and more funny than American Pie, even though I'm a great fan of those.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MikeGDec 11, 2007
Very funny movie. However, after watching it a second time, it didn't seem all the funny to me. Sure there are some really funny moments, but it does seem a bit cliche at times. I would say out of the three films that Apatow has done, Very funny movie. However, after watching it a second time, it didn't seem all the funny to me. Sure there are some really funny moments, but it does seem a bit cliche at times. I would say out of the three films that Apatow has done, this is the least funny of them. Knocked up was probably the funniest, followed closely by The 40 Year Old Virgin. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LDuDec 16, 2007
This movie's frickin hilarious and a little gross: Penis drawings, a chick having period. Yeah...the losers never get the girls in real life but who gives a shit cause this film is the best high school comedy I've seen in a long This movie's frickin hilarious and a little gross: Penis drawings, a chick having period. Yeah...the losers never get the girls in real life but who gives a shit cause this film is the best high school comedy I've seen in a long time. but don't go watch it with your girlfriend (watch knocked up instead), watch with friends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MyBackLocationDec 25, 2007
You scratch your back we'll scratch yours The funny thing about my back is that its located on my... end of story Superbad is a 10 for so many reason McLOVIN THE COPS THE BLOOD STAIN THE "drawings" end of story its a 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DuffladJun 15, 2012
I have no idea where people come up with negative reviews about superbad. Is it that you're too old or that you expected a Artsy flick? It is what it is, and its amazing for that. Seth Rogen embodies the youth demographic in this hilariousI have no idea where people come up with negative reviews about superbad. Is it that you're too old or that you expected a Artsy flick? It is what it is, and its amazing for that. Seth Rogen embodies the youth demographic in this hilarious film of friends, determination, and social status. I love all the curve balls that make the journey that much more exciting. Then again, I am also particularly biased because I seem to love every Seth Rogen film thus far. Keep up the good work Rogen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StevenFMay 1, 2013
A film that delivers in every way it should, while still being hilarious and side-splitting from start to finish. Jonah Hill and Michael Cera lead at cast that at this point were relatively unknown, but have now escalated to brighterA film that delivers in every way it should, while still being hilarious and side-splitting from start to finish. Jonah Hill and Michael Cera lead at cast that at this point were relatively unknown, but have now escalated to brighter pastures. It's a coming of age film minus the subtlety, but very much plus the swearing and penis jokes a plenty.
Seth (Hill) and Evan (Cera) are hapless students not far off graduation, and are on a mission to not only lose their virginity, but also to leave high school on a high. But of course standing in their way is their 'acquaintance' Fogell (Christopher Mintz-Plasse) who is equally as deluded as his counterparts. He devises a plan to acquire a fake ID to purchase alcohol for a big party later that night, hosted by Jules (Emma Stone).
But of course everything goes downhill from there, but as predictable as the plot was, it was surprising at how hilarious it turned out being.
Fogell goes a bit silly with his ID and calls himself 'McLovin' and the reaction of his friends is simply priceless, and when he finally plucks up the courage to get the alcohol, certain events change how he thought his night was going to be. This is a teen film with an infusion of clever writing, a comedic play on stereotypes and memorable characters with their own story and own role to play. The film is fantastically written by Evan Goldberg and the unforgettable Seth Rogan, who also stars in the film as a bumbling police officer, arguably one of the highlights of the film.
What Superbad doesn't attempt to do is easily play to cliches of other teen dramas, the motive and outline is still there, but is played out in an entirely different fashion. Its crude but loveable because this really is how the current generation of hormonal teens get by in their day to day lives, with profanity laced tongues, but in this case to our very own enjoyment.
Again, a strong cast which is lead truly by the comedy genius of Jonah Hill, who combines jokes about his own physical appearance to downsize those who challenge him, which is Evan. Michael Cera plays the kid who would run from his own shadow, but plays to his strength of being the awkward teen at various parts in the film.
Superbad will leave you surprised at its ability to keep you laughing at the most bizarre of situations, with a cast who are trying so hard to grow up, but also find it difficult to break friendly routine.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GreatbealloFeb 22, 2012
The first time I watched this film I laughed so hard that I cried. It is incredibly raunchy, but high school kids are incredibly raunchy. They are often times much worse than they are depicted as in this film. If you don't like raunch then IThe first time I watched this film I laughed so hard that I cried. It is incredibly raunchy, but high school kids are incredibly raunchy. They are often times much worse than they are depicted as in this film. If you don't like raunch then I would advise against watching this film. It was just a lot of fun to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BigShotJoshMay 18, 2012
Superbad is great! This is one of my favorite movies of all time! everytime I watch it it still makes me laugh. If you din't watch it yet you owe it to your self to.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
geedupJul 8, 2012
Cult classic. One of the funniest coming of age flicks I've seen. Simple plot and familair character types. But everytime I watch this I laugh just as hard as the first time. McLovin baby.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleOct 25, 2013
Really funny movie. This one provided constant laughs from start to end and actually told an interesting story along the way. Good acting, etc. Certainly lived up the hype for me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
Fun as well as funny. What a foul mouthed little delight this is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
With some bitingly astute social commentary, beautifully timed comedic elements, and some really worthwhile drama sprinkled throughout, "Superbad" is an excellent piece of generation Z cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Jan 30, 2013
This is one very funny movie that any teen or young adult can totally relate to (well maybe not the cool cops part but you catch my drift). It's the memorable characters and hilarious events in the film that make this enjoyable to watch, andThis is one very funny movie that any teen or young adult can totally relate to (well maybe not the cool cops part but you catch my drift). It's the memorable characters and hilarious events in the film that make this enjoyable to watch, and while it's a little silly its also well written. The young cast are fantastic, props to the leads Jonah Hill & Michael Cera, as well as newbie 'McLovin'. Overall a top-notch comedy that is definitely bound to make you laugh. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SummersausageJan 6, 2013
Wow, I really did not expect to like this movie. It looks like another bad teenager sex movie but it actually was really funny. The cops are the kids grown up showing to sides of the same story with their story actually being funny with thereWow, I really did not expect to like this movie. It looks like another bad teenager sex movie but it actually was really funny. The cops are the kids grown up showing to sides of the same story with their story actually being funny with there over the top yelling really works for this movie. VERY funny would watch again but not paying to buy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
python2000Aug 13, 2013
A very clever comedy which never stops being funny. The characters are the funniest thing in the whole film, Christopher Mintz Plasse plays the now legendary McLovin (who's real name is Fogell), Michael Cera is the nice guy Evan and JonahA very clever comedy which never stops being funny. The characters are the funniest thing in the whole film, Christopher Mintz Plasse plays the now legendary McLovin (who's real name is Fogell), Michael Cera is the nice guy Evan and Jonah Hill is the unlikeable douche. Every scene is hysterical and the music gets you singing along. Superbad is one of my favorite comedies ever! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Movie1997Apr 13, 2013
Superbad turns out to Superhilarious. This rauchy teen comedy contains an all-star cast such as Jonah Hill, Michael Cera, Chris Mintz-Plasse, Seth Rogen, Bill Hader and so many others. I honestly didn't think it was going to be funny, but itSuperbad turns out to Superhilarious. This rauchy teen comedy contains an all-star cast such as Jonah Hill, Michael Cera, Chris Mintz-Plasse, Seth Rogen, Bill Hader and so many others. I honestly didn't think it was going to be funny, but it was the first comedy that really got me to end up enjoying the dirty side of life. This truly is a Judd Apatow classic. Overall, its a hilarious raunchy teen comedy that knows what its doing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NicomoviesJun 26, 2013
Es una pelicula muy buena,comica y para reirse a carcajadas,Buen guion,buenos actores y historia,muy buena pelicula y argumento,la recomiendo para verla con tus amigos.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Popcorn12345Jul 16, 2013
Good but not great. Extremely vulgar but in a comical way. Shows your average coming of age story: let's get drunk,laid and mess our lives up. Oh and there's juvenile cops too
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Superbad is really in ever sense of morality, Super-Bad.
A simple story of a high-school trio hoping to lose their virginity in a drunken party that they are invited to, without much surprise, it goes horribly wrong. The amount of raunchy
Superbad is really in ever sense of morality, Super-Bad.
A simple story of a high-school trio hoping to lose their virginity in a drunken party that they are invited to, without much surprise, it goes horribly wrong. The amount of raunchy material is vomit worthy yet the laughter is excessive. Superbad succeeds at being just that.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KaptainHutchinoDec 12, 2013
This hectic journey of two high-schoolers on a mission to get laid is fueled by hilarious one-liners, a nerdy friend and honest depiction of teenage life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Feb 26, 2017
Great movie and a timeless comedy film. Wasn't interested in it when it first came out back in 09, my junior year in high school. I finally got to catch it a few summers ago and I instantly fell in love with it. Its funny, smart and originalGreat movie and a timeless comedy film. Wasn't interested in it when it first came out back in 09, my junior year in high school. I finally got to catch it a few summers ago and I instantly fell in love with it. Its funny, smart and original with a good look at those friendships in high school and how awkward and fun they can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeMay 8, 2015
What I did not like is the fact that the guys were only thinking about having sex and it was pretty boring at the end.But the movie is funny and thanks to Seth Rogen and Jonah Hill's performances the movie is actually pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
keve16Mar 26, 2015
9.5/10................................................................................................................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CineAutoctonoDec 3, 2015
While crude comedy, uncensored but hilarious three words that describe Superbad , a great masterpiece of Judd Apatow , making it more fun starts hurting eroticism and vulgarity shown in this film .
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
aadityamudharApr 18, 2016
I don't see why people think this is a bad movie. its a awesome kickass movie. although the ending sucked, the movie as a whole rocked and made me and my friends laugh and i think that's what counts.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DoughBoiiApr 17, 2016
Pretty funny movie, premise is hilarious a few 18-19 year old's trying to acquire beer for a party in hopes of getting in a few females pants before heading off to college.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MasterRileyAug 10, 2016
Superbad is a really fun movie but also has some great themes and heart to it. The writing and characters are very well done, the comedy is great, and the performances are great. Its a comedy I would recommend for everyone to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
barriocordobaFeb 26, 2017
This movie is an original and became an instant occult classic right there with American Pie. This is a must see for a true look into the awkward-ness of being a high school kid and having that "McLovin" friend that is super smart in class,This movie is an original and became an instant occult classic right there with American Pie. This is a must see for a true look into the awkward-ness of being a high school kid and having that "McLovin" friend that is super smart in class, but no street smarts at all. I loved it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews