Columbia Pictures | Release Date: August 17, 2007
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 569 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
471
Mixed:
42
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EricK.Sep 3, 2009
I don't see why people think this is a bad movie. its a awesome kickass movie. although the ending sucked, the movie as a whole rocked and made me and my friends laugh and i think that's what counts.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
7
kingshahidJul 26, 2011
This movie reminded me of when I was young and in high school (even though only 4 years ago). The boy group with contrasting personalities existed in high school (at least in mine). Many pacts they formed (getting laid, being friends fromThis movie reminded me of when I was young and in high school (even though only 4 years ago). The boy group with contrasting personalities existed in high school (at least in mine). Many pacts they formed (getting laid, being friends from necessity) is very common in high school. Not to mention happy endings near prom! I would have enjoyed this more if I was still in high school but I'm not so it was a little less appealing than it would have been. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
extextJan 5, 2011
Michael Cera is hilarious in his socially ineptness, while many times Jonah Hill's salacious outbursts are unnecessary or unjustified in the movie's ethos.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NapW.Sep 7, 2007
The funniest film I've seen in years. I can't remember the last time I laughed so much.
8 of 9 users found this helpful
10
BillSAug 10, 2009
The bottom line is this movie made me laugh out loud and a lot. I really enjoyed it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
UNBJul 31, 2009
The best movie ever! The movie is full of laughs, teen comedy, sex and a true coming-of-age story just like American Pie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
nboley08Aug 16, 2010
Wildly funny, arguably the best "dirty" comedy of the 2000's, which is quite impressive considering how many are made these days ("The Hangover", "Pineapple Express", "Anchorman", etc.). The dialogue is funny almost line by line, that's howWildly funny, arguably the best "dirty" comedy of the 2000's, which is quite impressive considering how many are made these days ("The Hangover", "Pineapple Express", "Anchorman", etc.). The dialogue is funny almost line by line, that's how incredibly funny this movie is. The soundtrack adds a fantastic funky 70's vibe, and the film simply never gets boring or completely ridiculous. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
lovemusicMay 21, 2011
hahahahahahahahahahahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaahahahahahahahahahahahhahah funny as hell. good acting by all the characters. funny script. funny lines.hahahahahahahahahahahahhaahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahhahaahahahahahahahahahahahhahah funny as hell. good acting by all the characters. funny script. funny lines. great lines. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TarintinoCodFanDec 16, 2011
Such a funny film. Way better than the over apprciated 'The Hangover'. It has a great cast and the story between Mclovin and the cops is so great. It's only fault is it shouldn't be watched with parents, trust me...
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
FrederickSAug 16, 2007
This movie is amazingly well-made. It's entertaining, but it makes you think at the same time. I rarely give movies any score above a 6, but this movie is definitely worth seeing. I was lucky enough to get in to see a screener of it, This movie is amazingly well-made. It's entertaining, but it makes you think at the same time. I rarely give movies any score above a 6, but this movie is definitely worth seeing. I was lucky enough to get in to see a screener of it, and it was definitely worth it! You'll be glad you went to see it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SusanAug 20, 2007
Seth Rogen and Evan Goldberg have shown us what real comedy should be. The gags are hilarious and the dialogue is even better...GREAT movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JuanB.Aug 20, 2007
Very funny one of the best comedys i have seen in a long time from the first time seth and evan open there mouths you are laughing and it doesnt stop from there i think most males can relate to those two at some level its a great movie if Very funny one of the best comedys i have seen in a long time from the first time seth and evan open there mouths you are laughing and it doesnt stop from there i think most males can relate to those two at some level its a great movie if you like crude humor you will love this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ameliaOct 10, 2007
oh my god. fantastic. that's all i can say. LOVED LOVED LOVED it. It was hilarious. Brilliant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JGAug 19, 2007
Funniest movie in a long time...laughing the whole 2 hrs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AnonumusButtcheeksSep 1, 2007
Simply the funniest comedy movie ive ever seen (except for Borat 8-P). If your lookin' for *** and a good time, you will definitly love this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MorganPSep 3, 2007
Vulgar, hilarious, and, like knocked up, one of the most real, true-to-life comedies of the decade. It talks the way high school seniors talk and is hilarious every step of the way.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertB.Nov 8, 2007
I watched this movie 3 times. It was the best comedy this year. I can't wait for it to come on dvd. Everything from Mclovin to the Cops were great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MatthewH.Dec 21, 2007
FANTASTIC FILM, had me laughing from start to finish!!!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MattTOct 5, 2007
By the way people, being a cop does not elevate you to some godlike status. My neighbor was a cop (he just moved like two days ago) and from that I can certainly tell you that some of them are immature ass hats. He was cool as hell though By the way people, being a cop does not elevate you to some godlike status. My neighbor was a cop (he just moved like two days ago) and from that I can certainly tell you that some of them are immature ass hats. He was cool as hell though but used his badge for fun every chance he could Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
csw12Sep 8, 2012
Superbad is very crude, very nasty, and very funny. The movie comes across as very random and i believe that is were it thrives. The funniest movie of the year.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
bfoore90Feb 26, 2017
Great movie and a timeless comedy film. Wasn't interested in it when it first came out back in 09, my junior year in high school. I finally got to catch it a few summers ago and I instantly fell in love with it. Its funny, smart and originalGreat movie and a timeless comedy film. Wasn't interested in it when it first came out back in 09, my junior year in high school. I finally got to catch it a few summers ago and I instantly fell in love with it. Its funny, smart and original with a good look at those friendships in high school and how awkward and fun they can be. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MikeMAug 21, 2007
Judd Apatow is quickly becoming one of the most reliable sources for comedy. "40 Year-Old Virgin" was a terrific success, and it was only continued by what is the funniest movie of 2007, and oddly one of the most touching, "Knocked Up." He Judd Apatow is quickly becoming one of the most reliable sources for comedy. "40 Year-Old Virgin" was a terrific success, and it was only continued by what is the funniest movie of 2007, and oddly one of the most touching, "Knocked Up." He is able to dispense a complete sense of realism in absurd situations and each film has you laughing all the way to the credits. Superbad is no exception. Two kids, Seth and Evan (played by Jonah Hill and Michael Cera respectively), are coming to the end of their high school years, and are facing the fact that they will be separated by college next year. They both are lacking in the love department, and wish to enter college non-virgins. Their friend Fogell (played hilariously by Christopher Mintz-Plasse), gets a fake ID, which sets them up as alcohol-snatchers for a party the upcoming night, with Seths crush hosting, and Evans crush going. The events that follow are hilarious. Although these boys have never known a womans sexual touch, they are still complete perverts, and scenes like the one in the chemistry class will have you bursting your gut. Also, the friendship between Seth and Evan can parallel the best friend kinship many felt during the high school years, where you never noticed how you acted slightly homosexual with your best friend, running by their needs and wants, and having petty arguments with them. Plus, Mclovins trip with the cops is a complete breeze, giving you laughter throughout every scene. Mclovins sense of partying and his blind innocence to finally just enjoying life is endearing, in a very different sort of way. When the two boys get to the party, and hilarities ensue, they are set out to either receive sex, or possibly learn a lesson about what girls really want. Slightly not as funny as Knocked Up, it is still a perfect pick for a great time at the theaters. Go, enjoy, and party with McLovin! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulF.Aug 23, 2007
If you liked "Knocked Up" you'll probably like "Super Bad" starring some of the very same actors. The humor is super raunchy which rarely lets up. The subject matter mostly revolves around sex, drugs, and general bad boy and girl If you liked "Knocked Up" you'll probably like "Super Bad" starring some of the very same actors. The humor is super raunchy which rarely lets up. The subject matter mostly revolves around sex, drugs, and general bad boy and girl adolescent like behavior. There is not a lot of functionality about the characters at first, except maybe Evan who desires something more heartfelt. Yet even he succumbs halfway but does seem to hold true in the end. I would have thought this film to be somewhat nihilistic in overall philosophical outlook but by the end there does seem to be some deeper insights gained by the characters of their valued friendship and respect of the women in which they were tempted to objectify. This took a lot of internal fortitude as it seemingly went against the overarching cultural grain of the movie. Even many of the adults seemed to acts just as bad as the high schoolers, such as the police who seemed to be trying to relive their youth. Some of their stunts were silly and somewhat funny, especially one line with Fogell. However their excessive immaturity did not seem very realistic, though it helps just to go along it. "Mclovin" by the way just about stole the show with his half nerdy/half cool, and mostly lucky antics. However in the end it was he who was still trying to impress the chics with his faked IDs and staged arrests. Not much social redeeming value though I found it funny. "Super Bad" was neither super bad nor super good, though definitely worth a viewing. I did however think the film and many others lately push the envelope by using children to portray adult subject matter. Though I laughed at some of the private parts drawings it did seem to cross a line we rarely seem to question any more. I am concerned society is spinning in a less than wholesome direction. I am conflicted as to whether to support this film in light of this fact however it seems appropriate to deal with society in relation to how it is now and not some idealized moral standard. However it is my hope there will be a push for at least some cinematic restraints. In short "Super Bad" can entertain, offer some insight about friendship and treating others as human beings, but I doubt it will go down in the annals of film as a classic to forever be remembered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Aug 25, 2007
"Superbad" wasn't written by Judd Apatow, it just seems like it was. In "Knocked Up", Pete(Paul Rudd) would rather engage in fantasy baseball with the guys than hang out with his wife. Seth(Jonah Hill), at eighteen(too young to be "Superbad" wasn't written by Judd Apatow, it just seems like it was. In "Knocked Up", Pete(Paul Rudd) would rather engage in fantasy baseball with the guys than hang out with his wife. Seth(Jonah Hill), at eighteen(too young to be suffering a midlife crisis), is barely five seconds into his burgeoning romance with Jules(Emma Stone) before he starts missing Evan(Michael Cera). Penis life-drawings notwithstanding, I don't think Seth is supposed to be read as gay, he just enjoys homosocial (not homosexual) relationships. "Superbad" is not the uproarious comedy it's purported to be(I think the problem is that Christopher Mintz-Plasse is a little green), but it's a success because of the film's willingness to portray male friendships with a frank ickiness not previously seen in American mainstream cinema. It's as if the screenwriters read William S. Pollack's "Real Boys: Rescuing Our Sons From the Myth of Boyhood". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
VinnieOct 6, 2007
I don't know what the hell Wade is talking about because Judd Apatow didn't write nor direct this movie so to call it HIS gem is pretty stupid...its an alright movie, but Seth Rogen's (and Judd's) Knoacked up seems to be I don't know what the hell Wade is talking about because Judd Apatow didn't write nor direct this movie so to call it HIS gem is pretty stupid...its an alright movie, but Seth Rogen's (and Judd's) Knoacked up seems to be very much in the shadow of this film considering how much better that one was compared to Super Bad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanP.Aug 16, 2007
this is one of the funniest, smartest, and greatest comedies in years...better than Knocked Up and a true classic. Don't miss the amazing and absolutely gut bustingly funny comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PamS.Aug 17, 2007
Among all of the Apatow production films, this takes the cake for the most hilarious. Although this may to quite vulgar for some (do not bring anyone under 15), most of the theater was laughing non-stop. The characters are ingenious. Seth Among all of the Apatow production films, this takes the cake for the most hilarious. Although this may to quite vulgar for some (do not bring anyone under 15), most of the theater was laughing non-stop. The characters are ingenious. Seth Rogen has written the funniest film this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AdamSAug 18, 2007
Some of the hardest laughs I've had in a while. I agree with the review that said the movie "loses credibility" with the cops. There was too much of them and they got a little too ridiculous, but all in all I thought it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EricSAug 19, 2007
I have never written a reveiw of a movie on this site. Most user reviews tend to be rather polarizing and unreliable. But this film deserves the number i bestow upon it. This movie will be remembered next to Ferris Bueller's Day Off. I have never written a reveiw of a movie on this site. Most user reviews tend to be rather polarizing and unreliable. But this film deserves the number i bestow upon it. This movie will be remembered next to Ferris Bueller's Day Off. Absolute classic. Any fans of Arrested Development will be very happy to hear the masses laugh at Michael Cera. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TylerG.Aug 21, 2007
If you're a male teen that loves vulgar movie. See this film. It's the best in it's class. With memorable quotes in every line, loveable characters in every scene, this is the must see comedy of the summer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful