Dimension Films | Release Date: March 28, 2008
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 129 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
22
Negative:
46
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
FreedomFightersNov 12, 2016
Everything about this movie just screams "typical spoof comedy film." There's nothing about this film that feels special. Sure, there are a few funny moments, but most of the film is just bland, tired, and just not consistently funny. It'sEverything about this movie just screams "typical spoof comedy film." There's nothing about this film that feels special. Sure, there are a few funny moments, but most of the film is just bland, tired, and just not consistently funny. It's not the worst thing you'll ever see, and it might even fall into the "so bad, it's good" camp, but "Superhero Movie" won't revitalize the spoof comedy genre and it should only be viewed by diehard fans of spoof films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JSpice50Jul 12, 2016
The only decent parody movie in a sea full of Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer spoof movies.

PROS: *Drake Bell does a great performance *Funnier than all Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer's movies *Parodies only a few movies instead of
The only decent parody movie in a sea full of Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer spoof movies.

PROS:
*Drake Bell does a great performance
*Funnier than all Jason Friedberg and Aaron Seltzer's movies
*Parodies only a few movies instead of many
*Leslie Nielsen
*Great scene that parodies Batman Begins
*Good performances
*Has a fart joke that's actually funny.

CONS:
*Too much unfunny slapstick
*Almost remakes it's main film target instead of parodying it
*Cliché jokes
*Tries too hard to be like Scary Movie
*Wasting Leslie Nielsen
*Including jokes that were already outdated by the time the movie came out
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
diogomendesJan 1, 2015
"Superhero Movie" provides some laughs, but on pure cinematic terms, this is a pathetically bad "Spider-Man" satire that doesn't fulfill a moviegoer's expectation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Gamer147Oct 15, 2014
Metascore reviewers suck once again! 33/100? That's hardly accurate, as this movie is funny as it is raunchy and distasteful (in all the right ways!). I'd watch the sequel without a second thought. Watch this especially if you liked moviesMetascore reviewers suck once again! 33/100? That's hardly accurate, as this movie is funny as it is raunchy and distasteful (in all the right ways!). I'd watch the sequel without a second thought. Watch this especially if you liked movies like Superbad or Kickass (1 or/and 2). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
oxanaAug 25, 2014
This movie actually had a consistent plot, and it made me chuckle and laught at various points thorough.

While shamelessly borrowing ideas, scenes, and dialogue from other movies, "Superhero Movie" manages to hold itself together to the
This movie actually had a consistent plot, and it made me chuckle and laught at various points thorough.

While shamelessly borrowing ideas, scenes, and dialogue from other movies, "Superhero Movie" manages to hold itself together to the very end. There is nothing we haven't seen before, but that is the point, isn't it?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Jack97Jan 1, 2014
This isn't the worst parody film ever made, but Superhero Movie does lack in laughs (with an exception of Leslie Neilson) and it's special effects are typical of it's genre. Drake Bell is ok.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
In an age of atrocious parodies, Superhero Movie is almost like a sigh of relief, no it wasn't necessarily a good parody film, but it was a lot funnier than the majority of them being made these years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Jamison12Jul 23, 2013
I'm not one to like spoof movies other than the first 2 Scary Movies. Superhero movie I think is a great spoof film. It's one of few other spoof movies that really focuses on plot and character development. Not to mention the jokes. AddingI'm not one to like spoof movies other than the first 2 Scary Movies. Superhero movie I think is a great spoof film. It's one of few other spoof movies that really focuses on plot and character development. Not to mention the jokes. Adding Leslie Nielsen was the right move to make a funny Spoof film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
ThegodfathersonJul 14, 2013
Superhero Movie just needs a psychiatrist. It's so stupid, that I would watch Troll 2 again instead of watching this piece of crap. Every character goes s**t in this movie. Craig Mazin doesn't know what Spiderman or sex jokes are if you usedSuperhero Movie just needs a psychiatrist. It's so stupid, that I would watch Troll 2 again instead of watching this piece of crap. Every character goes s**t in this movie. Craig Mazin doesn't know what Spiderman or sex jokes are if you used a spoof in a film. The actors FART in this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Annoymous1May 12, 2013
Believe me, this movie is a spoof, and all spoofs are always terrible, no question. Intimidated by this movie, seriously? Even a 7 year old can write better than this. But a 30 year old can't, BEYOND terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
SeriosityDec 13, 2012
The only thing this movie has going for it is that it quickly fades into obscurity not too long after you have seen it. Not the atrocity Meet The Spartans is, but still quite bad and uninspired.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
HalfwelshmanOct 1, 2012
Superhero Movie is not a completely satisfying comedy film. It works to an extent as an accurate Spider-Man parody. It has serviceable comedy performances from Drake Bell, Christopher McDonald and Leslie Nielsen and has an amusing minor roleSuperhero Movie is not a completely satisfying comedy film. It works to an extent as an accurate Spider-Man parody. It has serviceable comedy performances from Drake Bell, Christopher McDonald and Leslie Nielsen and has an amusing minor role for Jeffrey Tambor, and the whole cast make the very best they can of writer/director Craig Mazin's mostly uninspiring script. The film is far weaker when the story veers off on tangents and tries to spoof films other than Sam Raimi's Spider-Man films in obvious and embarrassingly unfunny ways, particularly criminal is the offensively bad X-Men parody featuring Tracy Morgan. Since it does make you laugh now and again (mostly from ZAZ-influenced jokes that likely resulted from David Zucker serving as one of the film's producers), Superhero Movie is definitely on the better side of bad films, and is far superior to the woeful Epic Movie and Disaster Movie. It's just a shame that it's not more consistently funny, as there is little left to hide Craig Mazin's pretty sloppy filmmaking technique when you're not laughing. At the end of the day, being "the best of the Scary Movie spin-offs" isn't really much of an accolade. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Sep 2, 2012
This movie tried to copy scary movie. I don't want to see any other type of these films again. Not funny, irritating, and insulting to movies as a whole. Completely and utterly stupid.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
gm101Apr 9, 2011
Yes, there were indeed some unfunny parts in the movie, but all the other funny jokes made me laugh so hard that tears came out of my eyes. Overall, very good parody of one of my favorite movie genres!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
If you ever watched one of the Scary Movies you'll feel the writers sense of humor throughout this movie, an excellent parody of super hero movie like X-Men, Spider-Man, Fantastic Four, Batman, and more, a hilarious movie, if your a fan ofIf you ever watched one of the Scary Movies you'll feel the writers sense of humor throughout this movie, an excellent parody of super hero movie like X-Men, Spider-Man, Fantastic Four, Batman, and more, a hilarious movie, if your a fan of the Scary Movie series, than this is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
xXAnthonyXxFeb 12, 2011
Don't listen to the hate, I loved it. I found it to be very hilarious. Some people just TRY to find flaws and not laugh to make the movie look like it sucks, it doesn't. Hilarious movie. Oddly enough, spoof movies suck but, this doesn't.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
luffyyJan 11, 2011
This film is the greatest comedy movie I've seen. It's so funny, I can't stop laughing. If you like a kind of that comedy, don't miss this movie. Believe me!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDJan 9, 2011
The best spoof movie I ever watched.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
LukeD.Oct 17, 2009
It was okay, its certainly better than 'Meet the Spartans' which is not saying much but still this spoof-movie scores a few laughs.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
HarrisonF.Sep 26, 2009
The story was quite good, and the comedy was HILARIOUS!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
DallinP.Sep 15, 2009
It is by far the best stupid comedy to come out in the last few years. If you don't like the stupid spoof genre, don't watch this movie. If you do like it, this one is the best since the old Jim Abrahams ones.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
ShaunHJul 25, 2008
Good....Lord..... I honestly don't think I can explain just how bad this film is using words.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
TylerS.Jul 23, 2008
I thought this movie was supposed to be funny, but i wasn't laughing. i thought it was boring and a waste of time and money, please save yourself the anguish and go see something else, anything else!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RudyS.Jul 20, 2008
Bad. Just bad. This may be the least funny movie in the "parody movie" series, that has really outlived it's welcome.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
BenJul 16, 2008
Had a couple of genuinely funny gags but a lot of tasteless ones. Could have deviated from the Spiderman storyline just a little bit... Pretty forgettable all up.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
ClintH.Jul 15, 2008
This film had better potential, but writer-director Craig Mazin believes that good comedy is only sex jokes, fart jokes, poop jokes, pop culture and internet references are the way to go. Scattershot satire is only good until the middle of This film had better potential, but writer-director Craig Mazin believes that good comedy is only sex jokes, fart jokes, poop jokes, pop culture and internet references are the way to go. Scattershot satire is only good until the middle of the movie. Better than Epic Movie, though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Jun 27, 2008
Okay, it's no classic comedy, but it did make me laugh. The cast is good, it has a funny premise. I enjoyed it. Cleverly written at times.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
SueJ.Jun 23, 2008
We took our 9 and 11 year old to see this. It was shocking. We couldn't believe it was a 12a. We were totally misled by the title and rating. The film sensors have obviously lost the plot! Even if was an 18 who wants to see a woman with We took our 9 and 11 year old to see this. It was shocking. We couldn't believe it was a 12a. We were totally misled by the title and rating. The film sensors have obviously lost the plot! Even if was an 18 who wants to see a woman with 2 tampax shoved up her nose. Total trash not suitable for any normal person to view let alone children. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
4
JoeyK.Jun 7, 2008
Not nearly as bad as I expected. Cinematically, it's horrid. Satirically, it's uninspired. Most of the jokes worked on some level, even if it was immaturity, and only a few gags were terrible. The real surprise was that there were Not nearly as bad as I expected. Cinematically, it's horrid. Satirically, it's uninspired. Most of the jokes worked on some level, even if it was immaturity, and only a few gags were terrible. The real surprise was that there were a couple of genuinely clever and funny jokes in there. This movie doesn't do anything to recover the reputation of gag based satires, but it succeeded just enough to be passable. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
DDMay 28, 2008
Sucky plot and dumb comedy....Rather watch Scary Movie 1 over and over again before I watch this again.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.May 25, 2008
Eric Holmberg, the narrator of "Hells Bells 2: The Dangers of Rock 'n' Roll", a right-wing, and occasionally right-on the money documentary about the inherent evil in popular music, complained that Hollywood often treats the Eric Holmberg, the narrator of "Hells Bells 2: The Dangers of Rock 'n' Roll", a right-wing, and occasionally right-on the money documentary about the inherent evil in popular music, complained that Hollywood often treats the Buddhists with kid gloves, while Christians have to deal with lampoon after lampoon about their faith on a regular basis. Well, Holmberg would certainly be pleased with "Superhero Movie", in which Dragonfly(Drake Bell) throws body blow after body blow into the Dalai Lama's solar plexus. Barry Andrews, the lead singer of Shreikback, wrote an amazing song called "Gunning for the Buddha"(from the album "Big Night Music"), that was incredibly offensive, but undeniably artful, and ultimately, provocative. "Superhero Movie" is not artful, or provocative. Beating up the Dalai Lama is just plain mean. The "Police Squad" movies, starring Leslie Nielsen, were irreverent, but nice. When Priscilla Presley stepped down from a ladder, and Lieutenant Frank Drebit said, "Nice beaver," before the King's widow produces an actual beaver. That was funny. What's not funny? Disturbing a scantily-dressed female corpse at an open casket burial. There's not an actor alive who could make this funny. Nielsen, he tries. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
EvanMay 5, 2008
This is the first film I've ever walked out on...it's hard to describe in words how low-brow and devoid of humour this film is. I didn't have any preconceptions of the movie before I saw it, so I wasn't already a hater. This is the first film I've ever walked out on...it's hard to describe in words how low-brow and devoid of humour this film is. I didn't have any preconceptions of the movie before I saw it, so I wasn't already a hater. Having said that, I certianly am now. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JakeMay 1, 2008
Cindy: Sex? Really? Sweet! I'm so going to see this one now. Any other suggestions?
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TomV.Apr 25, 2008
Fill of corny jokes - which are funny! I don't understand how its reviews are bad, it's supoosed to rip of Spidermarn and make it funny. It does that. Good to see a great 'Movie' film!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RandyF.Apr 19, 2008
I wish I could give this a lower vote, I was appauled at the sex in this movie marketed to children and teens. No wonder our society is falling apart. I am sad that children are probably going to this expecting a "Drake and Josh" type fun I wish I could give this a lower vote, I was appauled at the sex in this movie marketed to children and teens. No wonder our society is falling apart. I am sad that children are probably going to this expecting a "Drake and Josh" type fun film and could be exposed to images they should not be seeing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AlexG.Apr 11, 2008
An excellent spoof from the master's of parody themselves, although extremely offensive, the stephen hawking gags are phenomenally good.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
CindyApr 9, 2008
Shoud be a negative 100. It is just so awful. The whole movie theme is just about sex sex and sex. If people want to see sex they might as well watch porn.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
FrancisC.Apr 7, 2008
I don't know what is with the low rating. I'm with Mikhall on this it was a great and funny movie. I'd watch it again and again. My friends even agree with me. So come on people vote and increase this rating people diserve to I don't know what is with the low rating. I'm with Mikhall on this it was a great and funny movie. I'd watch it again and again. My friends even agree with me. So come on people vote and increase this rating people diserve to know how good this movie is. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
8
EmileF.Apr 4, 2008
A relly funny movie for the Superheros fan. The jokes are very very funny :)
1 of 2 users found this helpful
7
ShawnMar 30, 2008
True, this movie is bad, but that is the way it is supposed to be. The sole goal of this film is to take a popular movie and rip on it, which this does very well. I found it to be funny, but it obviously won't be nearly as funny if you True, this movie is bad, but that is the way it is supposed to be. The sole goal of this film is to take a popular movie and rip on it, which this does very well. I found it to be funny, but it obviously won't be nearly as funny if you have not seen the films it parodies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MikhailR.Mar 29, 2008
While I admit that SOME of the critisisms of this movie are well-founded, people seem to actually search for critisism rather then watch the movie for what it is. I for example, couldn't crack a frown during the course of the movie even While I admit that SOME of the critisisms of this movie are well-founded, people seem to actually search for critisism rather then watch the movie for what it is. I for example, couldn't crack a frown during the course of the movie even if I tried. The well-positioned gags, personal pot-shots, and never ending satire is absolutely impossible to ignore. I couldn't tell you how many times people gave me evil looks for bursting out in spontanious fits of laughter. I highly reccomend this movie for people who can laugh at random and satirical humor. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
LaraB.Mar 29, 2008
Thrown together and horrid. A long time ago, the Weinsteins made good movies. No more.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
RobertMar 28, 2008
How many of these ridiculously bad Zucker films can be put out. What is an outrage is that there's young, dedicated film makers out there with great ideas who only need a financial break to get their work put out - and yet we get these How many of these ridiculously bad Zucker films can be put out. What is an outrage is that there's young, dedicated film makers out there with great ideas who only need a financial break to get their work put out - and yet we get these kind of cornball movies that open big, and within 3 weeks fade into obscurity. For me, the only good film of this type was Scary Movie - which is the first. Every single one of its predecessors STINK, just like this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful