Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 19, 1981
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 353 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
215
Mixed:
66
Negative:
72
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
MetalDoctorOct 7, 2010
Just the thought of this film being above the Godfather part1 and 2 is unbelievably angers me.We have two masterpieces and many more(like LOTR and Patton) being rated lower than this cheesy action flick.I don't think it should even beJust the thought of this film being above the Godfather part1 and 2 is unbelievably angers me.We have two masterpieces and many more(like LOTR and Patton) being rated lower than this cheesy action flick.I don't think it should even be included in the High Scores list because there are just 7 reviews. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
1
EvanSJul 20, 2007
Having just watched the Richard Donner cut, I don't get it. 99? The narrative is discombobulated, the acting is pure cheese, the bad guys are drab, the effects, script and character development were not as good as the first Superman Having just watched the Richard Donner cut, I don't get it. 99? The narrative is discombobulated, the acting is pure cheese, the bad guys are drab, the effects, script and character development were not as good as the first Superman movie. This movie's a mess and it's listed on this list of "best ever." How did this mistake happen? Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
1
BobStoddardJul 22, 2007
This movie is horribly overrated. Terrible.
1 of 4 users found this helpful
2
StoneP.Aug 4, 2006
Christopher Reeve died and that's sad, but let's not pretend for a moment that he was anything more than a soap-opera calibre actor. The most important thing he ever did in his life was fall off a horse. I lined up around the block Christopher Reeve died and that's sad, but let's not pretend for a moment that he was anything more than a soap-opera calibre actor. The most important thing he ever did in his life was fall off a horse. I lined up around the block for hours to see this movie when I was a kid. It hasn't withstood the test of time and I'm not sure that it was even good when it was made. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
0
BrianP-CNov 1, 2006
Two words: Richard Donner. I used to think this was the best Superman movie ever and one of the best movies period.....that is until I learned of the entire back story to Richard Donner's 'dismissal' from the project. I Two words: Richard Donner. I used to think this was the best Superman movie ever and one of the best movies period.....that is until I learned of the entire back story to Richard Donner's 'dismissal' from the project. I can't wait to se 'The Richard Donner Cut' of Superman II and say that his version should be held as the official version. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AnonymousMCOct 21, 2006
If there could be one reason why Metacritic is so unpopular than it is this- they lie. This movie, when you average the mere 7 reviews receives only a 91. And, in addition to that, it is not ever a great movie. It cannot be placed so high by If there could be one reason why Metacritic is so unpopular than it is this- they lie. This movie, when you average the mere 7 reviews receives only a 91. And, in addition to that, it is not ever a great movie. It cannot be placed so high by such a biased website. What a terrible thing! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
3
MikeC.Jul 18, 2006
The only thing to say here is this IS NOT the 2nd best film of all time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
DamonA.Jan 27, 2008
This just blows. A huge letdown. And 99/100!!! You have to be kidding me. The affects are cheesy, and tries to be a classic, but totally is not.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChrisL.Jun 28, 2006
I can't believe what a high rating this movie has. It's enjoyable, nostalgic cheese, but it's still cheese. The script is ham-handed, and the actors uniformly bludgeon them to death with overacting. Many sets appear to have I can't believe what a high rating this movie has. It's enjoyable, nostalgic cheese, but it's still cheese. The script is ham-handed, and the actors uniformly bludgeon them to death with overacting. Many sets appear to have been made with leftover props from high school dances. Folks, this is the sort of pompously inept movie that Mystery Science Theater thrived on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
fonzieJun 23, 2013
I was so impressionable as a kid that I had no idea how to criticize a movie or compare it to others on special effects. To me it was one of the greatest movies from a child's perspective. I grew up and now realize it was a B movie and I'mI was so impressionable as a kid that I had no idea how to criticize a movie or compare it to others on special effects. To me it was one of the greatest movies from a child's perspective. I grew up and now realize it was a B movie and I'm not comparing it to today's special effects films because that's unfair, instead I'm comparing it to Star Wars which is the movie which was truly ahead of its time in production, acting, storyline and special effects. Star Wars has truly stood the test of time. Sorry, but Superman II is a joke and people seem endeared to Christopher Reeves out of nostalgia and patriotism but he was a terrible actor. The only actor in that film worth anything was Gene Hackman Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
SteveWSep 12, 2009
You have got to be kidding me. The number #2 rated movie of all time?? It was OK for 1981, but just OK. By today's standard, the story is way too slow, and the characters too cheesy and simple. Unlike the other "greats," it hasn't You have got to be kidding me. The number #2 rated movie of all time?? It was OK for 1981, but just OK. By today's standard, the story is way too slow, and the characters too cheesy and simple. Unlike the other "greats," it hasn't stood the test of time. In my view, the 99 score shows a serious flaw with this system. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ABOct 4, 2006
I am in utter shock and disbelief at the idea that "Superman II" has a rating as high as it does. There is no possibility that this movie is better than "E.T.," Schindler's List," "Star Wars," and the "Lord of the Rings" series. These I am in utter shock and disbelief at the idea that "Superman II" has a rating as high as it does. There is no possibility that this movie is better than "E.T.," Schindler's List," "Star Wars," and the "Lord of the Rings" series. These reviews perfectly explain that critics are *not* always right. I have seen "Superman: The Movie" and I love it, but "Superman II" is nowhere near the classic status of the first, and it deserves nowhere near a score of 99. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ZakSSep 16, 2006
Wait. This is the second highest reviewed film of all time? You're kidding me, right? Seriously. Is this a joke? Did this site get hacked?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomC.Jan 27, 2008
Saw this in the summer, and whats the hype anyway? Super-man 2 and Superman the movie are both cheesy and corny shows. Christopher Reeve is terrible at acting, the script has a complex function. And it just sucks. Crappy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EvanC.Jan 27, 2008
Terrible, just terrible. My whole family hated it. It wasted my beautiful summer night. This could have been amazing, but is impossible to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LeonardoP.Apr 11, 2008
Its an horrible movie, a completely waste of time. I don't now why it was so loved by the critics. Its is terrible, like the others super heroes movies. I completely don't recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NicholasD.Jul 13, 2008
I have to agree with previous comments of how horribly overrated this movie is. I remember loving it as a kid, so hired it along with the supergirl movie. I was as disappointed with how bad the storyline, script, editing and general vision I have to agree with previous comments of how horribly overrated this movie is. I remember loving it as a kid, so hired it along with the supergirl movie. I was as disappointed with how bad the storyline, script, editing and general vision and morals were in this movie as much as I was pleasantly surprised with how good (most of) supergirl was. I am therefore surprised that most critics - including those whose opinions i generally hold in high regard, give this movie such a highscore and supergirl such a low score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EdwardC.Aug 11, 2008
It's a horrible and dull movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MichaelBSep 9, 2008
I re-watched this a few months ago, and it is just as awful as I remember it being. I cringe every time I see this movie in the #2 spot. Please, Metacritic, retire this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ChristopherE.May 7, 2009
This movie is practically unwatchable. The fact that it has earned "universal acclaim" and a score of 99 based on critics reviews throws the whole notion of the movie critic into doubt. Who are these people?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RobertB.Jul 31, 2006
Who the heck could ever vote this better than the first Superman? And if you like this as the 2nd best ever, where do you rate Superman 3....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
brianw.Apr 14, 2009
I agree with the other posters: this film is highly, highly overrated. Cheesy, poorly acted, overwrought and just plain stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JohnBDec 26, 2006
Bad. Bad. Bad. Is there no common sense at Metacritic? How could any reasonable mathmatical formula make this the second best movie of all time?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DarwinNov 16, 2011
I'm giving this movie a 2 because I like the idea of it. The actual implementation has much to be desired. The special effects are awful in context with the times. The fight scenes are laughable. Watching equally strong (invincible)I'm giving this movie a 2 because I like the idea of it. The actual implementation has much to be desired. The special effects are awful in context with the times. The fight scenes are laughable. Watching equally strong (invincible) superbeings fight is much more boring than watching a regular street fight. It always amazes me that Hollywood could never put together a great Superman movie. The original Superman movie was decent but fell apart in the second half. This movie is dumb from start to finish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
MundtyMay 10, 2013
Caught this on T.V. with my friend one night. Hadn't seen it since I was about 6 and it was cringe worthy to the point of not being able to look away. I wasn't expecting a timeless classic, you have to lower your standards this being aCaught this on T.V. with my friend one night. Hadn't seen it since I was about 6 and it was cringe worthy to the point of not being able to look away. I wasn't expecting a timeless classic, you have to lower your standards this being a super hero movie and being a product of the 80's. But my god, I was not expecting such a hilariously unwatchable disaster. It's not the bad special fx, or even the somewhat dated feel of the movie... Superman II's biggest problem is it's actors delivery and total lack of subtlety in their performance. Some of it can surely be blamed on the director for accepting the takes, but a lot of the lines are delivered so unbelievably bad you wonder how they made it past the cutting room floor. The story isn't much better, just an excuse to have an all out brawl in the middle of the city... you can see where directors like Michael Bay major influences are. Grab some popcorn and spend hour and a half re-familiarizing yourself with this movie. Even my friend who's fairly open to watching almost any mindless action flick couldn't contain his laughter re-watching this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews