Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 19, 1981
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 354 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
215
Mixed:
66
Negative:
73
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
DanSOct 7, 2009
Still the greatest Superman movie ever made, and still one of the greatest super hero movies ever made.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChrisL.Jun 28, 2006
I can't believe what a high rating this movie has. It's enjoyable, nostalgic cheese, but it's still cheese. The script is ham-handed, and the actors uniformly bludgeon them to death with overacting. Many sets appear to have I can't believe what a high rating this movie has. It's enjoyable, nostalgic cheese, but it's still cheese. The script is ham-handed, and the actors uniformly bludgeon them to death with overacting. Many sets appear to have been made with leftover props from high school dances. Folks, this is the sort of pompously inept movie that Mystery Science Theater thrived on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
fonzieJun 23, 2013
I was so impressionable as a kid that I had no idea how to criticize a movie or compare it to others on special effects. To me it was one of the greatest movies from a child's perspective. I grew up and now realize it was a B movie and I'mI was so impressionable as a kid that I had no idea how to criticize a movie or compare it to others on special effects. To me it was one of the greatest movies from a child's perspective. I grew up and now realize it was a B movie and I'm not comparing it to today's special effects films because that's unfair, instead I'm comparing it to Star Wars which is the movie which was truly ahead of its time in production, acting, storyline and special effects. Star Wars has truly stood the test of time. Sorry, but Superman II is a joke and people seem endeared to Christopher Reeves out of nostalgia and patriotism but he was a terrible actor. The only actor in that film worth anything was Gene Hackman Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
tontoSep 12, 2012
It can be campy but it's fun and original, exploring a fallible side of Superman through his decision to rid himself of his powers for Lois Lane. Zod, of course, is classic. It's a shame Donner couldn't finish his version, but I feel LesterIt can be campy but it's fun and original, exploring a fallible side of Superman through his decision to rid himself of his powers for Lois Lane. Zod, of course, is classic. It's a shame Donner couldn't finish his version, but I feel Lester did a fine job finishing the project. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
McCorpseMar 2, 2013
liked this one a lot, in my opinion it was probably even better than the first one. One of the biggest reasons would probably be the villains. They are a physical match for superman so they pose more of a threat than lex luthers so calledliked this one a lot, in my opinion it was probably even better than the first one. One of the biggest reasons would probably be the villains. They are a physical match for superman so they pose more of a threat than lex luthers so called intelligence. Since supermans new villains can fly there is one really good scene of them battling it out and throwing large objects at each other and fighting while flying. The dated special effects add a cheese factor but its really fun to watch. There is also a very cool scene on the moon that felt very sci-fi like, this was a great scene i thought looked very cool. These two things were in my opinion better than anything that happened in the origonal. On the negative side though there was some pretty stupid plot elements that might be hard for some people to look passed, i personally just laughed and shrugged it off. One thing i found funny was how supermans mom tells him he can turn into a human but will never be able to regain his old powers and then he easilly gets his powers back using the green crystal, that was ridiculous, also lex luthers escape from jail in a hot air balloon was silly. Overall superman 2 is a cheesy good time i found more entertaining than the first Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
DollisJun 14, 2013
I seen the movie man of steel and i give 3 and a half star's that doesn't mean it is a bad movie., i like more Superman (1978) and Superman II (1980) and the soundtrack of Superman (1978) is better.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
GeorgeS.Jul 14, 2006
Not better that Superman: The Movie, but just as enjoyable!!!! Incredible movie for all Superman fans, comic book fans, and film fans in general!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DerekK.Aug 16, 2009
Ok for its time but doesn't age well. a bit soppy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DemetriS.Jan 5, 2007
Excellent movie. We all have likes and dislikes, but don't give this movie a 0-5 score because your'e mad it has such a avg. high score from the critics! Rate it what you truely think it deserves. I thought it was excellent in 1981 Excellent movie. We all have likes and dislikes, but don't give this movie a 0-5 score because your'e mad it has such a avg. high score from the critics! Rate it what you truely think it deserves. I thought it was excellent in 1981 and still do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BrendenS.Jul 24, 2008
Can someone tell me why the critics love this movie, and the average viewer watches it merely to mock it. Even for its time this movie was a joke. Sure it may have serious character involvement and a DECENT plot line, but in the end it looks Can someone tell me why the critics love this movie, and the average viewer watches it merely to mock it. Even for its time this movie was a joke. Sure it may have serious character involvement and a DECENT plot line, but in the end it looks cheap, feels cheap, and makes you feel like you just got cheated after you watch it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JonathanKDec 7, 2009
Is there some sort of Metacritic loophole here? I agree with the bulk of these reviews: This was a fun popcorn-chewer in its day, but it was never *that* good. I don't know if Reeves' tragic later life (and early death) may have Is there some sort of Metacritic loophole here? I agree with the bulk of these reviews: This was a fun popcorn-chewer in its day, but it was never *that* good. I don't know if Reeves' tragic later life (and early death) may have influenced these ratings, but it certainly seems that way. A year or two ago I decided to rent the first one to show my kids, owing to the (then) stellar MetaCritic rating. I remember enjoying the film when I saw it decades ago, and thought perhaps there was more to the movie than I was able to glean at the time. Not only did my kids think it was "nothing special", but it left me disappointed too. Perhaps the inflated score is an artifact of a valiant attempt by Metacritic to review older movies? If so, I hope it's temporary. Rotten Tomatoes' reviews of older movies are hopelessly skewed to the positive and thus completely unreliable. I would love to have a reliable alternative that's not hopelessly romanticized. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KPFeb 27, 2009
Although I don't have any problem with this film, it's 99 rating makes me question the entire metacritic system, more specifically the critic realm. This film is simply is no where near a 99.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveWSep 12, 2009
You have got to be kidding me. The number #2 rated movie of all time?? It was OK for 1981, but just OK. By today's standard, the story is way too slow, and the characters too cheesy and simple. Unlike the other "greats," it hasn't You have got to be kidding me. The number #2 rated movie of all time?? It was OK for 1981, but just OK. By today's standard, the story is way too slow, and the characters too cheesy and simple. Unlike the other "greats," it hasn't stood the test of time. In my view, the 99 score shows a serious flaw with this system. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulASep 9, 2009
OK, keep in mind that the reviews used to calculte the 99 score are most likely from when the movie came out and not current reviews! when Superman 2 came out it deserved this score! Has it aged well? maybe not, but it's still a damn OK, keep in mind that the reviews used to calculte the 99 score are most likely from when the movie came out and not current reviews! when Superman 2 came out it deserved this score! Has it aged well? maybe not, but it's still a damn good movie, and for it's time it very much deserved it's universal acclaim, now can we please move on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ABOct 4, 2006
I am in utter shock and disbelief at the idea that "Superman II" has a rating as high as it does. There is no possibility that this movie is better than "E.T.," Schindler's List," "Star Wars," and the "Lord of the Rings" series. These I am in utter shock and disbelief at the idea that "Superman II" has a rating as high as it does. There is no possibility that this movie is better than "E.T.," Schindler's List," "Star Wars," and the "Lord of the Rings" series. These reviews perfectly explain that critics are *not* always right. I have seen "Superman: The Movie" and I love it, but "Superman II" is nowhere near the classic status of the first, and it deserves nowhere near a score of 99. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MikeK.Jun 27, 2006
Not as good as everyone wants to think it is. The special effects got worse, the story is cheesy, the costumes ridiculous and the acting is terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeW.Aug 9, 2006
This movie is great because they actually made a great superman movie without ending it with kryptonite.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ZakSSep 16, 2006
Wait. This is the second highest reviewed film of all time? You're kidding me, right? Seriously. Is this a joke? Did this site get hacked?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ErikHDec 6, 2007
While it's not a bad movie, it's rating is far too high. I don't think it should be included on this list because its Metascore is based on only four credited reviews, not the minimum of seven. It's a movie overrated by a While it's not a bad movie, it's rating is far too high. I don't think it should be included on this list because its Metascore is based on only four credited reviews, not the minimum of seven. It's a movie overrated by a loop-hole. Superman: The Movie was better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChristianW.Jan 3, 2007
Back in 1981 this seemed like a good film. Boy has it aged. The last five minutes are particularly lame. The script is incredibly dumb. Metacritics credibility has been tarnished here.. or is it the credibility of reviewers? Rose-tinted Back in 1981 this seemed like a good film. Boy has it aged. The last five minutes are particularly lame. The script is incredibly dumb. Metacritics credibility has been tarnished here.. or is it the credibility of reviewers? Rose-tinted nostalgia has no place in film reviews if you ask me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanH.Jan 4, 2007
Statistics is why this movie rates inordinately highly. Only seven reviews listed here while most movies are subjected to as many as twenty on this site. And no low-scoring reviews are even listed... Could be a 99, but there's not Statistics is why this movie rates inordinately highly. Only seven reviews listed here while most movies are subjected to as many as twenty on this site. And no low-scoring reviews are even listed... Could be a 99, but there's not sufficient data on this site to tell. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryanH.Feb 4, 2007
Good but not great. Soundtrack, action and romance certainly don't stack this film against the classics. Even for Sci-Fi, it's no "Bladerunner".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LanceE.Mar 12, 2007
I have to agree with reviewer John B's comment "How could any reasonable mathmatical formula make this the second best movie of all time?" This is a mild escape movie. Several of Zod's lines are classics & the rampant product I have to agree with reviewer John B's comment "How could any reasonable mathmatical formula make this the second best movie of all time?" This is a mild escape movie. Several of Zod's lines are classics & the rampant product placement is fun to joke about, but I can think of a LOT-- a LOT!-- of films more deserving of the second place slot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TomC.Jan 27, 2008
Saw this in the summer, and whats the hype anyway? Super-man 2 and Superman the movie are both cheesy and corny shows. Christopher Reeve is terrible at acting, the script has a complex function. And it just sucks. Crappy movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EvanC.Jan 27, 2008
Terrible, just terrible. My whole family hated it. It wasted my beautiful summer night. This could have been amazing, but is impossible to be.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnMFeb 12, 2008
This film is one of the best superhero films of all time. I have one movie poster left on my wall and its this film, the poster has the villains flying up towards superman, with a burning metropolis underneath, an awesome image. But second This film is one of the best superhero films of all time. I have one movie poster left on my wall and its this film, the poster has the villains flying up towards superman, with a burning metropolis underneath, an awesome image. But second on this list seems kind of odd, in the top 50 yeah. Overall its a bit corny, makes up stupid super powers, but is fun romp for all ages. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LeonardoP.Apr 11, 2008
Its an horrible movie, a completely waste of time. I don't now why it was so loved by the critics. Its is terrible, like the others super heroes movies. I completely don't recommend it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NicholasD.Jul 13, 2008
I have to agree with previous comments of how horribly overrated this movie is. I remember loving it as a kid, so hired it along with the supergirl movie. I was as disappointed with how bad the storyline, script, editing and general vision I have to agree with previous comments of how horribly overrated this movie is. I remember loving it as a kid, so hired it along with the supergirl movie. I was as disappointed with how bad the storyline, script, editing and general vision and morals were in this movie as much as I was pleasantly surprised with how good (most of) supergirl was. I am therefore surprised that most critics - including those whose opinions i generally hold in high regard, give this movie such a highscore and supergirl such a low score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanF.Jul 23, 2008
My favorite Super Hero movie still of all time. This movie contains all the vital components that makes Comic Books so appealing. Action, Drama, Searching one's intersoul, redemption, and Earth's Greatest Protector against 3 My favorite Super Hero movie still of all time. This movie contains all the vital components that makes Comic Books so appealing. Action, Drama, Searching one's intersoul, redemption, and Earth's Greatest Protector against 3 equally powerful threats in the Greatest Showdown of our time. I wish this production team would gather together and do a remake of the story with new age special effects, minus Brandon Routh and Kate Boswell, but find the closest equals to Christopher Reeve and Margot Kidder. It would be an even bigger hit! But then again, I love the classics in their original form, so might as well leave it be. Check out the Richard Donner Cut, it is just as good! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EdwardC.Aug 11, 2008
It's a horrible and dull movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful