Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Cosford
    Mar 25, 2013
    75
    Credit goes to Richard Lester, who is much more than an action director and whose erratic brilliance occasionally transcends this material, and to Reeve, who has manfully refused to let on that he is tired of the part (as opposed to the Jedi principals, who phoned theirs in). [17 June 1983, p.D1]
  2. Reviewed by: Jack Kroll
    Mar 25, 2013
    70
    This is a cute, clever "Superman," without the epic audacity of Richard Donner's Supe I, one of the most underrated of movies, despite the $300 million it grossed. [20 June 1983, p.83]
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 25, 2013
    63
    Superman III is the kind of movie I feared the original "Superman" would be. It's a cinematic comic book, shallow, silly, filled with stunts and action, without much human interest.
  4. Reviewed by: Janet Maslin
    Mar 25, 2013
    50
    Anyone who has been following the ''Superman'' saga will find this installment enjoyable enough, but some of the magic is missing.
  5. Reviewed by: Pauline Kael
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    What's strange about the movie is that the best things in it aren't developed, and what Superman and the other characters do doesn't seem to have any weight. [11 July 1983, p.90]
  6. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Superman III emerges as a surprisingly soft-cored disappointment. Putting its emphasis on broad comedy at the expense of ingenious plotting and technical wizardry, it has virtually none of the mythic or cosmic sensibility that marked its predecessors.
  7. Reviewed by: Jay Scott
    Mar 25, 2013
    38
    There are two movies in Superman III, one a witless and obvious and often cruel comic strip, the other a blithe and subtle and often amusing exercise in middle-brow camp. Not only do the two halves never come together, they are in active opposition. [17 June 1983]
  8. Reviewed by: Derek Malcolm
    Mar 25, 2013
    30
    This is not a very good effort, seeming tired without being emotional. It looks like the end of the line...Superman III never flies as it should, or only does momentarily. [31 July 1983, p.21]
  9. Reviewed by: Gary Arnold
    Mar 25, 2013
    20
    Every composite shot in Superman III appears to be a careless affront to the willing suspension of disbelief. The flying sequences are a letdown, the cataclysms are a cheat, and even the settings are often exposed as a chintzy hoot. [17 June 1983, p.C1]
User Score
4.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Jul 9, 2013
    2
    While Christopher Reeve continues to soar as Superman here, the rest of the movie is nothing but a failed, crash landing. Awful plot,While Christopher Reeve continues to soar as Superman here, the rest of the movie is nothing but a failed, crash landing. Awful plot, laughable characters and villains, a ridiculous sense of humor, a plot free from logic, and lackluster action make Superman III an awful sequel, especially after the acclaimed Superman II. Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2014
    4
    Ok I don't hate the movie a lot it's just disappointing and for a film franchise which has a good story and my be campy but serious, this isOk I don't hate the movie a lot it's just disappointing and for a film franchise which has a good story and my be campy but serious, this is just cheesy. I like Richard Pryor but his not that funny in this, he is one of the best comedians of all time, but this is just a annoying performance. The series should have stop with superman 2. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2014
    5
    This seems to be a decent movie, I mean there's to much to laugh and it failed over the two first Superman films, but there's some best partsThis seems to be a decent movie, I mean there's to much to laugh and it failed over the two first Superman films, but there's some best parts of the movie, an epic battle between Clark Kent and the evil Superman also a scene of an evil computer battle in which Superman destroyed it that doesn't mean it's a bad movie,
    so Richard Pryor had it all.
    Full Review »