Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Director: Richard Lester
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Comedy
  • Rating: PG
  • Runtime: 125 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Cosford
    Mar 25, 2013
    75
    Credit goes to Richard Lester, who is much more than an action director and whose erratic brilliance occasionally transcends this material, and to Reeve, who has manfully refused to let on that he is tired of the part (as opposed to the Jedi principals, who phoned theirs in). [17 June 1983, p.D1]
  2. Reviewed by: Jack Kroll
    Mar 25, 2013
    70
    This is a cute, clever "Superman," without the epic audacity of Richard Donner's Supe I, one of the most underrated of movies, despite the $300 million it grossed. [20 June 1983, p.83]
  3. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 25, 2013
    63
    Superman III is the kind of movie I feared the original "Superman" would be. It's a cinematic comic book, shallow, silly, filled with stunts and action, without much human interest.
  4. Reviewed by: Staff [Not Credited]
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    Superman III emerges as a surprisingly soft-cored disappointment. Putting its emphasis on broad comedy at the expense of ingenious plotting and technical wizardry, it has virtually none of the mythic or cosmic sensibility that marked its predecessors.
  5. Reviewed by: Pauline Kael
    Mar 25, 2013
    40
    What's strange about the movie is that the best things in it aren't developed, and what Superman and the other characters do doesn't seem to have any weight. [11 July 1983, p.90]
  6. Reviewed by: Jay Scott
    Mar 25, 2013
    38
    There are two movies in Superman III, one a witless and obvious and often cruel comic strip, the other a blithe and subtle and often amusing exercise in middle-brow camp. Not only do the two halves never come together, they are in active opposition. [17 June 1983]
  7. Reviewed by: Gary Arnold
    Mar 25, 2013
    20
    Every composite shot in Superman III appears to be a careless affront to the willing suspension of disbelief. The flying sequences are a letdown, the cataclysms are a cheat, and even the settings are often exposed as a chintzy hoot. [17 June 1983, p.C1]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Nov 29, 2013
    5
    Its not that I hated it, but it didn't have that same thing that the first two movies had that made them good. I guess its originality. But this one had a bit less quality of acting, plus it had a terrible comic relief that made me laugh barely. I didn't hate it, but i never liked it. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    5
    There are some shinning moments in this hyped sequel, but unfortunately they are few and fleeting. Margot Kidders absence for most of the movie is probably the strangest but replacing the stoic tone for comedy is right up there as well. I was happy to see them take a risk with a new villain. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2014
    5
    this movie was average, it certainly has good points and bat points. One of the things i like about this movie is that it has much more humor than the previous two films.the storyline was not bad and the action was better.however, the intro was not john Williams theme and the storyline was not very interesting. Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    3
    Replacing its light comical material for slapstick, digressing in exciting action, and having a plot that's dry on and feasible ideas, Superman III is an unfortunate downfall for the series. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2013
    2
    While Christopher Reeve continues to soar as Superman here, the rest of the movie is nothing but a failed, crash landing. Awful plot, laughable characters and villains, a ridiculous sense of humor, a plot free from logic, and lackluster action make Superman III an awful sequel, especially after the acclaimed Superman II. Expand
  6. May 8, 2014
    2
    One or two good scenes... the rest.. unwatchable.. Nothing interesting going on in the plot, stupid jokes and humor, mostly bad acting. No i don't want to watch it again.. not even to laugh at its stupidity. Expand
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    0
    Umm how about no? I'm getting so sick and tired of these pointless remakes and sequels to great movies. Superman was a good movie but this sequel just threw away my appetite to ever watch another superhero movie again. Expand

See all 8 User Reviews

Trailers