Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 28, 2006
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1195 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
690
Mixed:
208
Negative:
297
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
AgnesJul 2, 2006
Yes, we all love the superhero Superman. Having said that it doesn't mean that this turkey of a movie gets a free pass as most of you giving it a ten are doing. The script was awful, the acting wooden, except for Kevin Spacey as Lex Yes, we all love the superhero Superman. Having said that it doesn't mean that this turkey of a movie gets a free pass as most of you giving it a ten are doing. The script was awful, the acting wooden, except for Kevin Spacey as Lex Luthor, and the directing even worse. The cast was fine but now that they are back they need something to work with. To be perfectly honest I too adore Superman but this was a very slow moving innate effort by the producers. Call a spade a spade. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful
0
TinaB.Jul 1, 2006
Didn't enjoy this 'Christ in a cape' shlock-fest one bit. The plot was absurd and logically inconsistent, the action scenes were snore-inducing and there wasn't one performance worth a damn -- including the overrated Didn't enjoy this 'Christ in a cape' shlock-fest one bit. The plot was absurd and logically inconsistent, the action scenes were snore-inducing and there wasn't one performance worth a damn -- including the overrated Kevin Spacey. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
2
MattJan 2, 2007
One of the worst movies of the year for me. Dull, detached, and predictable to the last detail, Superman Returns fails miserably compared to other recent superhero films. The only positive note is Kevin Spacy's acceptable performance.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
3
RileyW.Nov 24, 2006
Dull, plodding, boring, pedestrian, lacking drama, lacking romance, and especially lacking ACTION. who thought it was a good idea to make a Superman movie without any action/adventure save one or two scenes? Awful flick.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
1
JoelC.Jul 10, 2006
Superman Returns is the worst movie that I have seen since "Batman & Robin". The movie completely lacks originality and I found myself on more than one occaision laughing with such gusto at the corny dialogue and leaps in logic, that I Superman Returns is the worst movie that I have seen since "Batman & Robin". The movie completely lacks originality and I found myself on more than one occaision laughing with such gusto at the corny dialogue and leaps in logic, that I nearly had to leave the theatre. I cannot believe that any studio would have spent 200M on a franchise movie with a script this poorly written, and overacting that would embarass a Soap Opera cast, (Kevin Spacey's Lex Luthor excluded). With Spiderman, Batman Returns, and X-men having raised the bar for super hero movies, I expected so much more. Instead I was treated to a movie that ripped of the original throughout, stole from several other action flicks for it's story line, and did nothing to develop the characters at all. This is movie making at it's worst. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
0
ChristopherB.Aug 1, 2006
It was all wrong christopher revee is superman and is the only person who can play superman and margot kidder is the only one who can play loz lane same for Lex Luther is played by gene hackman!
1 of 3 users found this helpful
3
LondonTrueloveNov 18, 2010
This movie sucks in so many ways it's hard to believe. It literally could've ended 10 times, but no, it just kept on dragging on. Way too long and extremely boring. It'd be more exciting to spend two and a half hours watching grass grow, orThis movie sucks in so many ways it's hard to believe. It literally could've ended 10 times, but no, it just kept on dragging on. Way too long and extremely boring. It'd be more exciting to spend two and a half hours watching grass grow, or paint dry, either will suffice. I gave it a 3 b/c I like superman, but damn this film blew. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
Chrismith7Aug 12, 2013
Oh lord why was this movie made is what I thought after seeing superman returns in the cinema. It was crap acting with a crap storyline and that's all I can say. It was definitely more joyful than man if steel but was much worse whilst man ofOh lord why was this movie made is what I thought after seeing superman returns in the cinema. It was crap acting with a crap storyline and that's all I can say. It was definitely more joyful than man if steel but was much worse whilst man of steel was a masterpiece. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
EdG.Dec 9, 2006
This was a shallow movie with a poor script and recycled ideas. I ABSOLUTELY cannot understand how anyone can like this movie. I realize this is Superman but HAVE MERCY the limitless cliche's were suffocating.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
BobS.Jun 24, 2006
This was full of it!!!! It was the most boring movie that i have ever seen!!! boooooooo!!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
TaimurA.Jun 20, 2008
If you read the comments of the critics its quite obvious that they are all a bunch of idiots. any one who calls this film "superb" is retarded. superman 1 and 2 are still etched in peoples minds. SR however is one of the most forgettable If you read the comments of the critics its quite obvious that they are all a bunch of idiots. any one who calls this film "superb" is retarded. superman 1 and 2 are still etched in peoples minds. SR however is one of the most forgettable movies of all time. some scenes were okay, So? I also hate the fact that each time we saw superman fly, it was a fake superman, as in, it was a digital reproduction, not the actual actor. I therefore could not connect with superman at all. i connected with chris reeves, because it was him doing the flying and he did it beautifuly. bottom line...they messed up...big time! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ScottDDec 17, 2006
Very boring... I kept watching hoping to see a big action scene and it never comes. Its a long boring movie.
0 of 3 users found this helpful
2
jeremyd99Sep 1, 2010
Superman returns with bad acting,a bad story,and bad charachters. The movie has only one reedeming quality and that is it its stunning visuals,that is the only reason I did not give it a zero. The story is really boring. Not even comic booksSuperman returns with bad acting,a bad story,and bad charachters. The movie has only one reedeming quality and that is it its stunning visuals,that is the only reason I did not give it a zero. The story is really boring. Not even comic books fans will enjoy this story. The movie has horrible acing and horrible everything else. Now that I am done (I know this is short) but this movie sucks and you should not see it. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
idohakerJul 5, 2013
boooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnngggg.that is all i got to say about this movie.this isboooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnngggg.that is all i got to say about this movie.this is not superman.this is a guy that protend that he is superman.and cant even give one punch to a dude.horrible.dissapointment,but if you want to see a good superman movie go to see man of steel.in the begining there is just talking,but belive me you will never forget the awsomeness of man of steel.for the end this movie is terrible,go see man of steel Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
domecJun 17, 2013
Eventough I was not born after superman IV I am a big fan. So I was overjoyed to hear a new movie is coming out. As I started watching the movie I was expecting a fight between Superman and hordes of henchmen. It turned out Superman did notEventough I was not born after superman IV I am a big fan. So I was overjoyed to hear a new movie is coming out. As I started watching the movie I was expecting a fight between Superman and hordes of henchmen. It turned out Superman did not throw even a punch. His son did more than that. Yes he has a son with Louis Lane. It was so dull to watch it that only thing keeping me awake was hope of seeing a fight. But it never came. I see this is a good film but this Superman and I expected more. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Jamison12Jun 6, 2013
Brandon Routh falls flat on his steel face. While if it wasn't about Superman, this may be a good film. But it IS about Superman. The most action going on in this film is when he gets shot in the eye. And unfortunately for anyone watching theBrandon Routh falls flat on his steel face. While if it wasn't about Superman, this may be a good film. But it IS about Superman. The most action going on in this film is when he gets shot in the eye. And unfortunately for anyone watching the movie, the movie doesn't end there. All i take away from this film are 3 things. 1) This plot has more holes than Swiss Cheese, 2) Brandon Routh sucks, and 3) Superman is a crappy parent. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
tskflavioJun 14, 2013
Bad movie, extremely boring and sleepy, I felt robbed in that epoch watched this movie in the theater, Superman load a kryptonite island was a much delayed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
AndreusJul 8, 2013
This is literally the worst movie I have ever seen as far as super heroes go. I should have been paid to see this movie not the other way around. What a waste of time, energy, money, and my faith for future superman movies...
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MovieGKMay 8, 2014
.Horrible! No it didn't have humor or romance or anything... wait maybe it did. But it doesn't matter! It was BORING! I haven't watched it for quite some time so i tried to rewatch it. Twice. Failed both times. I just saw the first and last.Horrible! No it didn't have humor or romance or anything... wait maybe it did. But it doesn't matter! It was BORING! I haven't watched it for quite some time so i tried to rewatch it. Twice. Failed both times. I just saw the first and last 15 minutes. Boring! Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
0
X-21Jun 27, 2014
a disgrace to the man of steel
movie sucks and you should see it, to mock it
huge letdown
crap screenplay
bad acting
crap script
no action
boring villain
boring storyline
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
1
DeathSladeJun 27, 2014
Superman's character was boring and there was no life in him
There was very little action
The story was bad
Bad movie overall
A disgrace to the man of steel
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
2
Cinemassacre94Mar 20, 2016
OK. Everyone release their collective breath. This movie is absolutely unforgivable! Not just disappointing, not just average, but terrible! As expected, the CGI was great--good thing too, because the story was nonexistent. Nonetheless, anOK. Everyone release their collective breath. This movie is absolutely unforgivable! Not just disappointing, not just average, but terrible! As expected, the CGI was great--good thing too, because the story was nonexistent. Nonetheless, an iconic screen shot here and there does not a movie make. Here are but a few of the problems:

1. The need for Superman's return is necessitated by the hero's 5 year leave of absence from earth, during which time, he presumably travels to Krypton in order to confirm its destruction. I say "presumably" since we never get to see any of this search, only a rehashed CGI effect of Krypton exploding. If you're going to use a return to Krypton as a plot device--and its an intriguing idea--develop it! Dont' leave it hanging there like an unzipped fly.

2. Lex Luthor is about as threatening as Star Jones in a verbal joust with Barbara Walters. The movie opens with him swindling an old widow out of her fortune. Are you shaking in your boots yet? Isn't this guy supposed to be the smartest guy on the planet? Sigh...I suppose the screenwriters, out of some misguided desire to one-up Hackman's original performance, decided complete emasculation of Superman's nemesis was the only route to go. Kudos on that guys! Oh yeah, and in case you missed the point that this guy has no penis, the movie made sure to show Parker Posey literally dump his "crystals" into the ocean. At least that was less painful than witnessing the relentless zinging of the movie's villain with "you're bald" jokes.

3. Lois Lane and Routh are as flat as pancakes. There is no emotional depth to the characters at all. I guess the writers realized this when they were penning the script because, a la "Family Ties", "The Cosby Show", "Phantom Menace", or "Full House", they decided to hide their faltering story by turning Lois Lane's 5 year old kid into a major character. As expected, this was typical bait and switch. Bring out the kid everytime we need a tear. And, for extra effect, lets make him speech impaired and only utter things like "Mommy, will he get better? I want him to get better."
Get my gun.

4. Luthor's plan to destroy Superman starts off well--steal Kryptonian technology and use it to conquer the world and kill Superman--but leaves something to be desired in the execution. Luthor uses a crystal from the Fortress of Solitude to create a new continent--one based on the crystaline geology of Krypton. OK, so far. What now? Build some kick-ass Kryptonian weapons? Revive some long-dormant Kryptonian A.I. that runs amok? Build a suit of Kryptonian battle armor to give Supes a run for his money? None of the above. If you said, kick back, smoke a cigar and play a couple of hands of No-Limit Texas Hold-Em, you'd be more on the right track. Yawn...

5. What else? Oh yeah. Lois has a live-in boyfriend played by X-Men's James Marsden. If only they had let Marsden unleash a well-placed optic blast to eleviate the mind-numbing boredom of watching him squirm from one insecurity complex to the next. I guess I can't blame the guy. If I knew my girlfriend's ex was the last son of Krypton, I'd probably be a little uneasy too. However, all sympathy for the character quickly evaporates as he is remorselessly turned into a Women's Sensitivity Seminar Poster Boy.

6. In the end, I didn't know what to be irritated by the most--the film's inability to engage me in any way by the story, or its heavy-handed attempts to endorse some limp-d--k vision of the sensitive, modern man.

There has been some recent attention surrounding the question, "Is Superman Returns a gay film"? I don't think "gay" quite hits the mark on this one. Rather, terms like "limp", "flacid",and "impotent" come to mind.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
JohnB.Jun 30, 2006
Superman Returns is the quintessential example of hollywood spectacle where logic, script, and film style are cast aside, replaced by effects and the grandiose. Whoever concocts these kinds of films must not give any respect for the Superman Returns is the quintessential example of hollywood spectacle where logic, script, and film style are cast aside, replaced by effects and the grandiose. Whoever concocts these kinds of films must not give any respect for the viewer's intelligence, attempting to make up something merely to distract the audience from its blatant errors from top to bottom. This isn't film, this is like watching a two and a half hour commercial with no real plot, but a purpose to gain one's attention long enough to justify the money you spent in the theater. It is a film like this one that makes me shake my head and wonder why I even bother to care for hollywood these days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
KingChadJul 1, 2006
SUPERMAN = Slow, Uneven, Poor, Egregious, Revolting, Misguided, Awful, Nauseating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JaredJul 1, 2006
REFUND!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JackT.Jul 1, 2006
This movie was is really bad. The plot was so boring. There's no suspense or tension in the storyline. Everything is so predicable. All the characters were so bland. The effects look so fake especially the IMAX 3D stuff. There was no This movie was is really bad. The plot was so boring. There's no suspense or tension in the storyline. Everything is so predicable. All the characters were so bland. The effects look so fake especially the IMAX 3D stuff. There was no originality. I'm not sure why some rave about the love story because there wasn't really much there. I liked the scene where Lois goes flying with Supe and is all flustered afterwards when she see's her finance as she's feeling a little guilty. But there's not much else there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RexJul 10, 2006
Possibly the worst summer action movie I have ever seen. I loved Superman when I was younger and this was a HUGE let down. Also, since it has been over 20 years since the movie was in theaters I feel the director could have done a much Possibly the worst summer action movie I have ever seen. I loved Superman when I was younger and this was a HUGE let down. Also, since it has been over 20 years since the movie was in theaters I feel the director could have done a much better job setting this movie up. I was almost like they assumed everyone would watch the first three movies right before coming to see the new one. There was almost no plot and Brandon Routh was BORING. Kevin Spacey and Kate Bosworth were good, but nothing could help this movie. In addition, the movie was 2 hours and 40 minutes long. . . . come on! I could go on and on about was I didn Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DWillyJul 2, 2006
Really bad; despicable even really for how little concern there is for motivation and consistency. Boy Superman's dog brings him a ball to play fetch with and he throws it miles away, that's nice; Kryptonite weakens him... oh, not Really bad; despicable even really for how little concern there is for motivation and consistency. Boy Superman's dog brings him a ball to play fetch with and he throws it miles away, that's nice; Kryptonite weakens him... oh, not so much in this scene anymore, he's in the hospital clinging to life, no, he's up, not sure why; he abandons Louis and his family... well, I guess that's suppose to be consistent with his special condition (like X-Men) being a metaphor for Bryan Singer's homosexuality. There's no look to the movie and, apart from occaisional flashes from Spacey, no acting. Why so many reviewers are rating this mess so highly is another of life's great mysteries to me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MC.Jul 5, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] The note reads something like this, "Help us, 70N 43W." 'Are they lottery numbers?' asks Perry White of The Daily Planet, one of many inept characters in this putrid, insulting, incoherent mess of a film. It's [***SPOILERS***] The note reads something like this, "Help us, 70N 43W." 'Are they lottery numbers?' asks Perry White of The Daily Planet, one of many inept characters in this putrid, insulting, incoherent mess of a film. It's apparent the hack writers and Singer imbued their film's asinine plot with as much complexity and forethought as their villain did his-- just add water, no one will care, it's just a dumb summer movie for average, easily entertained fools anyway. Yes, Superman Returns is, for anyone not blinded by love for an iconic character and possessed of a modicum of intelligence, a failure of a film. The reasons are so many,and on so many levels, it is daunting to stare up at the mountain I have to climb in listing them. However, I must try, so as to purge my brain of the poison consumed last night at a Hollywood crap purveyor, er, Cineplex. From the macro to the micro, this movie is garbage. Macro: there is simply no jeopardy, no real sense of danger, ever. Everytime someone is in trouble, you just know that Superman will show up and lift whatever object needs to be lifted. That is a problem the character faces, granted, and one with which any filmmakers would be saddled. Yet the filmmakers are to be indicted for making almost every action beat require the lifting of some big object. This beat was so redundant. Superman lifts this, that, OKAY, I get it. Then, what was the point of that staccato, cheesily shot action sequence where Superman was shot in the chest and eye-- was it merely to show us what we already knew: he is bulletproof? You wasted money on that scene why? With all the realistic, heart-wrenching tragedy and crime in the world today, they show us some cartoonish gatling gun on a cherry-picker and some slo-mo bullets we've seen a thousand times? Lame. The problem here is that the film's tone was at times serious, so then why this cartoonish gatling gun scene? Same for the over-the-top ham-fisted screenwriters' 'distraction' of Superman with the brake-less Mustang. Are we to believe that Lex just somehow KNEW Superman would be free to save Posey at that exact time? Why would Superman allow the one substance that can kill him to be so openly displayed in a museum? Why does he even work at The Daily Planet, if he is out to save people all the time-- what about all the people who die from tragedy and crime while he is wasting his time posing as a tool called Clark Kent? This whole character is tired and requires you to lower your IQ to stomach its conceits and contrivances. The villian's agenda in this film was the worst, most pathetic, absurd screenwriting creation of all time. Wasn't he already rich? Why not just hold the world hostage? Who would be left, after billions died, to spend money on and inhabit that hostile, spiky land mass Lex brought forth from the sea? How come PLANES stopped working when a tiny sliver of crystal was placed in water? It's not like planes and cars stop working in a BLACK OUT, for logic's sake. The film asks us to forget basic common sense and logic so much, but then it asks us to believe in tedious minutiae such as this: Lex is free because Superman wasn't available to GIVE TESTIMONY AT HIS APPEAL? What type of plebeian swallows this stupidity? Are we to believe that Superman has to testify at the trial of every criminal he apprehends? This is the best the highly paid studio development execs and writers and director and like ten producers could offer the public? Did anyone read the script b4 shooting? How could Lois and her husband see Superman's face in the roiling sea from such height in their plane? Wasn't the point of that beat that the child has SuperVision-- but then the parents see Superman below also. What a mess. Why doesn't Superman just kill Lex from above with an eye-ray or something at any random point-- oh, wait, because then there would be no film here. Another failure of the film is the casting; why do Superman and Lois look like they are 18 yrs old? Did she have that kid at 14? This wrecks the ability to invest in the story from the outset. It looked like the O.C. version of Superman. Olsen looked 12. How many times did Singer have to clobber us with stale, static visual exposition? Lois' (ha) Pulitzer, Lex's metorite book, shots of newspapers. How many shots of that fake Daily Planet ball were there, 20? Why? Give it a credit. Superman was somehow able to carry a Kryptonite land mass all the way up to space? Huh? The filmmakers suspend and bend the rules of their world to serve their idiotic plot; they can't even color within their own lines. Are we to assume that Marsden's character doesn't suspect the child is not his? Wouldn't the world, at least some, suspect that some five years after her 'I Spent The Night With Superman' article, with a five-year old child, the child might be Superman's? I guess everyone is as dumb as Perry White, with his reaction to that SOS fax (lucky that fax machine was handy!). Lois and Clark's reunion was so stale. Is that how good friends who haven't seen each other in five years act? Why is her kid always in the office, just because the filmmakers want to bludgeon us with the fact that it's Superman's kid? Why did Superman leave for 5 years without before checking (with a mere x-ray glance) if he got Lois pregnant (he had to know he didn't use protection)? Very callous of him. How weak and politically correct to cut out "and the American Way." How did Lois not get a scratch from that opening plane sequence? If they wanted to infuse their film with some verisimilitude and deepen their character, why not show how it's impossible for Superman to save everyone who needs saving at any given moment in time? Show us how hard it is for him to choose who to save. What a miss. As for those who'd say, 'Easy, it's a summer movie. It's Superman.' I respond this way: 250 million dollars and decades and you can't give us a tight, cogent story? Shame on everyone involved. When will the plebes who soak this stuff up get some standards and demand more? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FedUpJul 7, 2006
With a budget of over 200M how in the world can they make a movie that has no plot, no directing, no real dialogue, and wooden indians for actors? If this isn't bad enough it takes about an hour and a half before anything significant With a budget of over 200M how in the world can they make a movie that has no plot, no directing, no real dialogue, and wooden indians for actors? If this isn't bad enough it takes about an hour and a half before anything significant happens. By then the movie has lost the audience and only gets more amateurish by the minute. It's ridiculous that about 1.75M of the budget is wasted on CGI which is nothing more than a fancy video game. If any of these yahoo's giving this joke of a movie a ten can honestly say that this is a perfect flick than either I'll show you a kid with ADD or a moron who checked his brains in at the door or had a lobotomy. This is a disgrace and boring as hell. Where do the studio's find these yahoo's who waste their money. I love Superman as much as the next person but it is the end of the line for me. Terrible effort all the way around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RichardJ.Aug 10, 2006
Super pile of sh*T, so many holes in the plot and absoultely a waste of time! Watching paint dry would have been more intersting! The only thing i will give it a point for is Lex Luther! as he made it comical but apart from that don't Super pile of sh*T, so many holes in the plot and absoultely a waste of time! Watching paint dry would have been more intersting! The only thing i will give it a point for is Lex Luther! as he made it comical but apart from that don't watch this !Wait until Dark knight even watch X-men 3 or anything else, this film is even worse then catwomen and gigli put together! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JuanI.Aug 16, 2006
Boring, boring, boring.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MatthewZ.Jun 28, 2006
Dragged on way too long, not enough action, no heart! Poor showing
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SidiotJun 29, 2006
Are the critics bought and paid for? This is at best a mediocre effort in which all of the central characters belong in therapy, lying on a couch, with a psychiatrist taking notes. It is lame and excruiating slow to get started. Pretty poor Are the critics bought and paid for? This is at best a mediocre effort in which all of the central characters belong in therapy, lying on a couch, with a psychiatrist taking notes. It is lame and excruiating slow to get started. Pretty poor effort if you ask me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HadenJun 29, 2006
Just came back from seeing this mess and once again the critics are wrong. More than anything I wanted to be wisped away to another time to enjoy myself. What I got was a very slow beginning where I was thinking come on already get to the Just came back from seeing this mess and once again the critics are wrong. More than anything I wanted to be wisped away to another time to enjoy myself. What I got was a very slow beginning where I was thinking come on already get to the point. But truthfully, there was no point. Routh as the NEW Superman is OK. His main attribute is that in appearance, he reminds us of the late Christopher Reeve, but beyond that there is little else. Kate Bosworth plays a very hard bitchy type of Lois Lane. As you see how cruel she is to Clark Kent it makes you wonder if Superman has lost his mind as in be careful in what you wish for. Kevin Spacey is excellent as the Lex Luthor, probably better than Gene Hackman. When he is on screen the movie travels into another dimension, but as soon as he is off, it lumbers its way forward with everything becoming predicatable. By the movies end we have a few new characters introduced as Superman whispers The Father Becomes The Son and The Son Becomes The Father. Truer words were never spoken and I am not talking about the comic book character. As for the movie, the audience initially is all excited, only to see the film sputter out, crash and burn. I only wish I could have written a better review but I can't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PBBrownJun 30, 2006
I love Superman and think he is the greatest superhero ever but this Superman movie was a movie about nothing....and one of the most boring films I have seen in years. Just how young does Singer think Superman is supposed to be and I love Superman and think he is the greatest superhero ever but this Superman movie was a movie about nothing....and one of the most boring films I have seen in years. Just how young does Singer think Superman is supposed to be and what's up with the plagiarized lines from Superman 1. And can someone please tell me what was the point of having Lex Luthor in the film. His story line was totally ridiculous and Superman certainly had nothing to do with resolving it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LadyfingerJun 30, 2006
The one is for Kevin Spacey but even he can't save this boring slow moving poor excuse for a movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WorstOfAllTimeJun 30, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] Let's see JR was "pissed off" with the ending but that didn't stop him from giving it a perfect score of ten? OK JR back on your medicine. As for this Superman flick Kevin Spacey did the best job ever as Lex Luther [***SPOILERS***] Let's see JR was "pissed off" with the ending but that didn't stop him from giving it a perfect score of ten? OK JR back on your medicine. As for this Superman flick Kevin Spacey did the best job ever as Lex Luther and the rest of the cast were wooden indians. The movie wasted about an hour and portrayed Kate Bosworth as a hard nosed bitch who uses Richard White and only cares for her bastard son. By the way, she hates Superman and has won a Pulitizer Prize for her book on why the world does not need Superman. After all, he has only saved her life about a million times and countless others. Deep down she LOVES Superman, hasn't she always? Now they share a son as the director has chosen to humanize Superman even though he is an alien. His uniform has been modified from its bright red cape and S to a dark shadowry crimson/burgundy for the worse. As for the other characters they try their best but there isn't much to work with. The plot has more holes than Swiss Cheese. Once again most of the critics who rave how wonderful this movie is have been bought and paid for. The fact is that this franchise should have remained dead and burried. It is past it's time and this new version is as stale as a typewriter in the here and now computer age. Forget this turkey. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AndyC.Jul 1, 2006
I am very dissappointed with this film. I had to leave with 15 minutes left. I'm a big superman fan and you destroyed this one. Tell me how Lois Lane could be knocked around a jet without a mark on her body. The plot was so bad that I I am very dissappointed with this film. I had to leave with 15 minutes left. I'm a big superman fan and you destroyed this one. Tell me how Lois Lane could be knocked around a jet without a mark on her body. The plot was so bad that I wondered how it made it to the big screen. Gene Hackman was a much better Lex Luther. Opening night and there was 25 people in the theatre that holds about 500. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ElenaJul 1, 2006
Let's see Lex is asked will millions die? His answer is billions. So this illogical plot is to create a new continent, a new uninhabital island is more like it. But if billions die, who would be around or want to live on a pile of Let's see Lex is asked will millions die? His answer is billions. So this illogical plot is to create a new continent, a new uninhabital island is more like it. But if billions die, who would be around or want to live on a pile of rocks? Why let this little hole in the story stop this incredulous boring movie from continuing on for nearly three hours. Lois Lane played a real bitch and a cheating one at that. Both Richard White, Perry's nephew and Superman deserve better. Run boys run and don't let the door hit you on the way out. This movie is a mess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
BobbieJul 2, 2006
A snoozefest. Very slow with no plot...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SariahK.Jul 27, 2006
i didnt like this movie one bit. It should be called Lois Lane Returns. I mean come on. None of it made sense. The kid? Whats with the floppy hair?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BoredJul 3, 2006
Its official holywood ran out of movie ideas in 2002, first it was computer game to film then comic to film then it was remake all the good old movies now its lets try and follow a franchise that was arond 20 years ago and not call it a Its official holywood ran out of movie ideas in 2002, first it was computer game to film then comic to film then it was remake all the good old movies now its lets try and follow a franchise that was arond 20 years ago and not call it a remake. this film would have been better if it had been a proper remake and had gone down the batman begins route, at least then some of us would be able to follow what plot there was. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JerkyJul 4, 2006
[***SPOILER***] It's a bird alright. The bird is a turkey of super proportion. This movie drags on inevitably for what seems like eternity. The new Superman resembles the old Superman. Other than that fact they have nothing in common. [***SPOILER***] It's a bird alright. The bird is a turkey of super proportion. This movie drags on inevitably for what seems like eternity. The new Superman resembles the old Superman. Other than that fact they have nothing in common. The movie just drags on after a promising opening score. Clark and Supes On have been missing for 5 years but no one pays any attention to that. Lois acts cold to poor old Clark and melts when she sees her SUPE. Which is she: BITCH or TEENY BOPPER? The plot was ridiculous. If you kill billions who will want the rock pile that Lex created. All he did was resolve the overpopulation issue for the planet. Thanks Lex. Seriously other Kevin Spacey the acting was horrible. Some franchises are better off left dead and Superman is no exception. CGI can only go so far before it becomes an irritant. In this case, after 5 minutes of it I wanted to puke. C'mon Hollywood we don't all have ADD. Stop with the flashing lights, bells and whistles and give us crisp storylines, acting and directing. Avoid the BIRD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
GregJul 4, 2006
Walked into the movie without big expectations then walked out looking for the nearest oven to stick my head into. Terribly boring and unfunny (bar the part with the dog at the start) I can only say Kevin Spacey did a good job, Brandon Routh Walked into the movie without big expectations then walked out looking for the nearest oven to stick my head into. Terribly boring and unfunny (bar the part with the dog at the start) I can only say Kevin Spacey did a good job, Brandon Routh is promising but Kate Bosworth just didn't seem to pull it off. Back to the drawing board guys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
EnzoD.Jul 5, 2006
In a word, terrible. You ask me to suspend my belief just to swallow the whole superman backstory and then you give me a movie with massive plot wholes, horrid acting, poorly developed characters and a single action beat. Sitting through In a word, terrible. You ask me to suspend my belief just to swallow the whole superman backstory and then you give me a movie with massive plot wholes, horrid acting, poorly developed characters and a single action beat. Sitting through this movie was like watching a kitten get thrown against a wall of spikes. Superman Picks Things Up aka Superman Returns is complete trash. How anyone with a brain can give it a good rating is beyond me. Still waiting to see if they give the daily planet globe a credit on IMDB, it was by far the most interesting character here. COMPLETE TRASH. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DuragoJul 6, 2006
This movie is awful. The sooner it's forgotten the better. It's just a ripoff of the once powerful Superman franchise. Nothing works.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SalJul 6, 2006
I hated this movie. The characters were hokey and the plot was bland. The dialog was uninteresting. There was an overall lack of subtlety. Maybe it's a movie for kids....
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackPotJul 6, 2006
This movie was so bad that it had me wondering when I was going to see Jar Jar Binks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WyattJul 7, 2006
Woeful would be an understatement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JeffS.Jul 7, 2006
i was so oredm had no emotion for characters, no cliamx or battles in the lastt half hour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
StefanieA.Jul 8, 2006
There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this movie. Miserable script, heavyhanded imagery, annoying characters (I kept wishing someone would clock Lois Lane hard enough to kill her), no tension, terrible editing, pathetic directing, the There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this movie. Miserable script, heavyhanded imagery, annoying characters (I kept wishing someone would clock Lois Lane hard enough to kill her), no tension, terrible editing, pathetic directing, the CGI looked like it was from the mid-80s, and the use of process shots was so obvious as to be painful to watch - there was nothing stylish about it. Brandon Routh should go back to bartending, and the DP should be excommunicated from Hollywood. Sometimes terrible movies can at least be entertaining, but I was fighting off sleep the whole time. Had my moviegoing companion not been insistent on staying, I would have left halfway through and demanded a refund. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TYlerH.Jul 9, 2006
Dull, uninspiring and they didn't even keep "Truth, Justice and the American Way"; it was contorted (literally)into "Truth, Justice, and All that other stuff"..don't waste your money
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PeteRepeatAug 10, 2006
Overlong, overindulgent junk. Really wanted it to end after about 90 minutes for many reasons. Terrible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
DaveK.Aug 7, 2006
Slow boring and nothing like I expected. Spiderman and Batman movies were 10x better than this Superman one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
robertNov 4, 2008
All movies are big big .pride and that's not what god wanted to happen to this world but with modern women and the weak men of Hollywood this world wiil brought down hard because of them and there ways face it //// because Hollywood has All movies are big big .pride and that's not what god wanted to happen to this world but with modern women and the weak men of Hollywood this world wiil brought down hard because of them and there ways face it //// because Hollywood has turned into Hollywood/ the sin den p.s face it there has not been a good movie made since satin took over Hollywood movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MikeNov 30, 2006
What a bad movie! wow.... I still can't believe it and I really wanted to like this movie! Not even worth seeing on DVD. Stay away!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MikeHDec 4, 2006
I really didn't want to finish watching this movie. I felt like I was "enduring" the film. Way too long and boring. I really like Superman and other comic book films but this was just tragically hard to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DianeV.Dec 6, 2006
Singer should have stuck with X-Men. As a result we have two badly made movies...X3 (I liked how Jean Grey only had three lines in the entire movie) and Superman Returns (Kevin Spacey is unbearably obnoxious; Watching Brandon Routh "act" is Singer should have stuck with X-Men. As a result we have two badly made movies...X3 (I liked how Jean Grey only had three lines in the entire movie) and Superman Returns (Kevin Spacey is unbearably obnoxious; Watching Brandon Routh "act" is uncomfortable). I even watched this movie again on IMAX 3D, and it was still boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JessL.Jun 28, 2006
I have seen many bad movies in the past 2 years, this is the only one that I actually am willing to tell you how bad it was...I was waiting and waiting and waiting for it to get better, it just never did.... There was no plot, wasnt any I have seen many bad movies in the past 2 years, this is the only one that I actually am willing to tell you how bad it was...I was waiting and waiting and waiting for it to get better, it just never did.... There was no plot, wasnt any super fights, superman didnt even touch the villain. For how long they have waited to make this movie and how long audience have waited to watch this movie...a rating 2 is even overrated.. You can see a good intention in this movie and a HUGE potential to make it a great movie but they came up with a movie like this is very very disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JackR.Jun 28, 2006
Technically proficient and structurally sound, but Roger Ebert's review above has it pegged on many an issue (I, too, often wondered why Superman strains to lift anything in this movie-- he's Superman. Shouldn't Superman Technically proficient and structurally sound, but Roger Ebert's review above has it pegged on many an issue (I, too, often wondered why Superman strains to lift anything in this movie-- he's Superman. Shouldn't Superman anticipate Luthor's eventual use of Kryptonite? As for the villain, Luthor's evil agenda is cheesy and preposterous. 'It's only a summer movie,' is no excuse. Too much money and time went into this-- they should have done better with the villain's agenda. Perhaps more problematic, the actors lack chemistry and their performances seem bland. It appears those behind this film wanted to give Superman some angst, but they went too far; he instead appears muted and glum. I preferred Nolan's Batman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
FantasyJun 28, 2006
I have seen every single Superman dating back to the original TV series with George Reeves. The critics have once again blown this movie up to separate us from our hard earned money. It is a slow tedious boring movie with very little action. I have seen every single Superman dating back to the original TV series with George Reeves. The critics have once again blown this movie up to separate us from our hard earned money. It is a slow tedious boring movie with very little action. Keven Spacey as the Evil Lex Luthor is the only bright spot. As for the rest Superman returns after a 5 year absence. Lois has a kid about that age, hates Superman for leaving without saying goodbye, yada, yada, yada. Midway through the movie Lois loves Superman, the kid and Superman saves Lois. Lois saves Superman. See Lois whispers sweet nothings in Superman's ear. To be perfectly honest, this boring flick is much ado about nothing. You have been warned. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RODNEYC.Jun 28, 2006
No action! Too much romance!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JamesT.Jun 30, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] The special effects were great. Too bad it's nothing we haven't seen computers generate before. The opening credits were also pretty cool. That's about it unfortunately, now I'm going to mock the rest.[***SPOILERS***] The special effects were great. Too bad it's nothing we haven't seen computers generate before. The opening credits were also pretty cool. That's about it unfortunately, now I'm going to mock the rest. This films plot is simply terrible. Yes, spoilers will abound from here on in, luckily you can't really ruin a plot this bad by knowing in advance. First of, there is no actual battle between hero and villian. None. Apart from Supermans required fall from grace towards the 3/4 mark, him and Lex do not even share screen time. What an awesome climax, the villain runs away. His grand evil scheme is that he wants to make an island as a nice little real estate property. That's it. For no reason other than to be evil he's placing it over the united states, not to mention his island is a wasteland nobody would want to live on. Never fear though, who cares about plot? We know why we paid for this, to see cool stuff happen. Luckily for us, we get the same spectacle redone several times... Spectacle 1 - Superman lifts really heavy thing. Spectacle 2 - Superman lifts really heavy thing. Climax of film - Superman lifts really, really heavy thing. We're amazed at how heavy this thing he's lifting is. Seriously, it was average the first two times, but as a climax lifting stuff really takes the cake! Well that's it. Plot sucks. The big action scenes suck. Very, very disappointed. You might think from the tone of my review that I'm overemphasising this films pure lack of any merit. That's not the case, this movie stinks. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MattW.Jul 11, 2006
This seriously is one of the most boring movies I've ever seen. I've never been a huge fan of Singer's work - I've always felt he takes things too seriously - but this is an all-time low for him. At least with the X-Men This seriously is one of the most boring movies I've ever seen. I've never been a huge fan of Singer's work - I've always felt he takes things too seriously - but this is an all-time low for him. At least with the X-Men movies he brings up some interesting scenarios about alienation and such, and the action (as few scenes as there are) are entertaining. In Superman Returns, if you've seen the commercials, you have essentially seen the movie, action scenes and all. There is as much plot in the movie as there is in the 30 seconds of the commercials - in other words, very little to none. The most entertaining parts of the movie are also contained in the commercials. The action sequences are very few and far between, and very short, and are just all around a huge letdown. The acting was terrible, some of the logic was just pure nonsense, and the script was very weak. The only thing that makes me give this a 1 is Kevin Spacey as Lex Luthor. While even he isn't at the top of his game here, he seems to be having more fun than anyone else here, but still doesn't make the movie worth seeing. I mean, the movie isn't bad on a Uwe Boll level - everyone here seems to have a fairly firm grasp on how to make a film. But, at 2 hours 30 minutes, it's big, bloated, and empty. Cut 30 minutes from it, and I MIGHT give it a 4... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
MattE.Jul 1, 2006
I have never seen any other superman movie, never read superman comics or books. found this movie very slow moving, will a lot of references to other things i probably should of known about the superman story b4 seeing this movie. I have never seen any other superman movie, never read superman comics or books. found this movie very slow moving, will a lot of references to other things i probably should of known about the superman story b4 seeing this movie. unenjoyable. not worth your $10.00 stear clear. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
Andy1Jul 12, 2006
There's four reasons of why this movie is rubbish: 1:Only Christopher Reeve can be Superman(Hes not alive-Then dont do it) 2.Gene Hackman is Lex Luthor(Period) 3:Louis Lane:Margot Kidder 4:Can it be possible that the old Superman looks There's four reasons of why this movie is rubbish: 1:Only Christopher Reeve can be Superman(Hes not alive-Then dont do it) 2.Gene Hackman is Lex Luthor(Period) 3:Louis Lane:Margot Kidder 4:Can it be possible that the old Superman looks more real than this computer rubber thing? Really,Really pointless movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
IainS.Jul 16, 2006
A poor story line. Slow to start and slow to finish !! The only good actor was the superman himself. The trailers, i enjoyed better than the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JeremyJul 3, 2006
Spacey gets my one point for his role as Lex. As for the rest of this slow boring movie, I ony wish I could give it a minus a million. Awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
CongoGongoJul 3, 2006
You guys giving this mundane trash tens are insane. It had no plot, no directing and other than Lexie Poo the rest of the cast went about there business as if in a trance. Tell the truth guys can Lois be any bitchier than she was portrayed You guys giving this mundane trash tens are insane. It had no plot, no directing and other than Lexie Poo the rest of the cast went about there business as if in a trance. Tell the truth guys can Lois be any bitchier than she was portrayed by Bosworth in this flick? Who in their right mind would want anything to do with her. If I were Lex I would send her packing to Supie Poo as she is deadlier than Krytonite. Supe will want to commit Hari Kari after spending an eternity with that cold hearted bitch. Avoid this turkey at all costs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JohnG.Jul 6, 2006
This movie was dull and lifeless! I expected much more. The beginning of the movie contained a pointless sequence showing superman as a boy, and then took a good hour explaining why superman had left. The sub plot about Lois Lane's son This movie was dull and lifeless! I expected much more. The beginning of the movie contained a pointless sequence showing superman as a boy, and then took a good hour explaining why superman had left. The sub plot about Lois Lane's son was drawn out far too long, as was the ending of the movie. There was NOTHING redeeming about this movie, not even the cinematography! If you must see this movie, please don't waste your money in the theater; rent it, or wait for it to come on HBO. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChristopherA.Jul 6, 2006
Wow. The critics loved this movie. That's why I dont trust critics! I wanted this movie to be so much better. After Batman Returns, I thought, "Maybe there is hope!" Sigh. How much money was spent to make this forgettable film? Bland Wow. The critics loved this movie. That's why I dont trust critics! I wanted this movie to be so much better. After Batman Returns, I thought, "Maybe there is hope!" Sigh. How much money was spent to make this forgettable film? Bland and boring and ridiculous....I was so happy when it ended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TsongG.Jul 7, 2006
Corny movie! No substance at all. The story did not even try to answer what happened to Superman when he left. Crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MitchellM.Jul 7, 2006
Oh no. I knew we had trouble when Perry just can't say "...and the American way!" Guys...you may not like the fact that things are not your way in America at this time, but we know that the "American way" means all that IS good about Oh no. I knew we had trouble when Perry just can't say "...and the American way!" Guys...you may not like the fact that things are not your way in America at this time, but we know that the "American way" means all that IS good about this country. This film leaned a little too left from the start. A child out of wedlock, and the near bashing of the idea of the world having a "savior?' Yes you want adults to attend the film, but who would take their child to see this work. This film should have been fun. At least the latest Batman and Spiderman films tried to make a movie the whole audience would enjoy. Next time, have fun with the script. Then the director and the actors will have fun with the movie, and so will the fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
WAKOJAKOJul 8, 2006
Booooooooring!!! Impresive effects, when they finally come...but otherwise...boring. By the way, don't waste your extra hard earned dollars on the "3D" version. Ain't worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
G.JonesJul 9, 2006
This is, without a doubt, the biggest turd floating around in the Summer Movie pool. I can't believe that Warner Bros. allowed this abomination to hit the theatres. Did Singer, et al. even bother to pick up a Superman comic and see what This is, without a doubt, the biggest turd floating around in the Summer Movie pool. I can't believe that Warner Bros. allowed this abomination to hit the theatres. Did Singer, et al. even bother to pick up a Superman comic and see what the characters were all about? Apparently not. This whole melodramatic mess ignores cannon storylines and character integrity entirely. Superman=Deadbeat dad/Emo loser wannabe. Lois Lane=Stupid Whore. Lex Luthor= Retard. Jason Lane=Asthmatic Superboy Thing-That-Should-Not-Be? WTF? Storyline is inane. Characters twisted, empty shells of what they should be. Effects are great, but not enough to save this floater. Good gravy, no wonder "Pirates" raped and pillaged "Supersuck Retarded" at the box office this weekend. Hey, Bryan Singer and Warner Bros. Suits: THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU F*** THE FANS UP!!!! Do not alienate us. Do not promise us greatness and then deliver a s**t sandwich on a plastic tray, you jerks. This franchise never got what it deserved from day one and it's a crying shame. The end. Don't bother with VI. You killed Superman. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobertM.Aug 11, 2006
Dull, long and quite frankly to close to the superman in the late 70's early 80's. Nothing fresh or new, unlike the last batman movie which had a much darker edge. Maybe as a movie goer I want a little more these days, I wanted a Dull, long and quite frankly to close to the superman in the late 70's early 80's. Nothing fresh or new, unlike the last batman movie which had a much darker edge. Maybe as a movie goer I want a little more these days, I wanted a superman with a clear indication that he was affected by his constant interaction with humans in plight and crimainal activities. Have to say the score I give this is entirely due to Kevin Spacey's performance, over the top and in true movie villain style. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DanielV.Aug 12, 2006
ok the plot was just terrible. superman's enemy was a big rock! A ROCK! i hardly find that exciting in anyway. I made the movie enjoyable by teasing my friend throughout the movie since he was a big superman fan.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BatfanAug 20, 2006
Superman Returns was more like Super Bridget Jones! Desperate Post Feminist waffle that ruined the franchise. There's a reason why Catwoman and Elektra failed cos women don't wanna see those kinda movies and neither do men. Superman Returns was more like Super Bridget Jones! Desperate Post Feminist waffle that ruined the franchise. There's a reason why Catwoman and Elektra failed cos women don't wanna see those kinda movies and neither do men. Superman is a mans hero, trying to make the movie appeal to Women by having this Cosmo Stereo type chick was a big mistake. Women who go to Superman wanna see a strong man and they long to be the Damsel in Distress whatever they may say in polls you read. They want a hero and they want to be rescued. It's just typical of the state of movies these days, trying to appeal to your 50% female audience in a male movie just alienates the other 50% Superman Returns,? Well send him home! Very disappointing movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JerryDec 23, 2006
Bad concepts, poorly written script, too much rehashing and re-imagining of the Donner film. This is 2006, not the 70's. Superman should have had the treatment that was brought to Batman Begins. Spiderman 2 and Batman Begins are the Bad concepts, poorly written script, too much rehashing and re-imagining of the Donner film. This is 2006, not the 70's. Superman should have had the treatment that was brought to Batman Begins. Spiderman 2 and Batman Begins are the bench marks. Superman Returns never comes close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FrankDDec 26, 2006
A large number of critics not only endorsed this film, but actualy praised it??? Viewing lots of mind-numbing day after day obviously impired their judgement. This thing is a bg, bloated bore! Where's the pulse? DOA.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
NickL.Dec 4, 2006
What a disaster. Poor script, poor supporting characters. Singer - READ A COMIC BOOK, WE DONT WANT A REHASH OF THE 1ST ONE! Lacked the magic of the first 2 and although Christopher Reeve will always be the man for the job, Brandon Routh was What a disaster. Poor script, poor supporting characters. Singer - READ A COMIC BOOK, WE DONT WANT A REHASH OF THE 1ST ONE! Lacked the magic of the first 2 and although Christopher Reeve will always be the man for the job, Brandon Routh was ok and deserves another crack of the whip. Just get another director...PLEASE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EricS.Jun 26, 2006
Having seen an advanced screening of Superman Returns last Friday, I can honestly report that it is exactly what nostalgic fans will love: a campy rehash of the 1970s classic. Unfortunately, what was once exciting and original now comes Having seen an advanced screening of Superman Returns last Friday, I can honestly report that it is exactly what nostalgic fans will love: a campy rehash of the 1970s classic. Unfortunately, what was once exciting and original now comes across as a series of clichés. Director Brian Singer tries to hide this fact with "new" thematic elements (a world that no longer needs Superman), which ultimately end up being ignored throughout most of the film in favor of watching Superman catch things. Although it has been established for 50 years that Superman can lift heavy objects, the filmmakers evidently think that watching this for over 2 hours passes as excitement. Regardless of one's opinion of super heroes (I am actually a fan of both the films and comics), it seems natural to expect good fight sequences, if nothing else. The fact that Superman Returns fails to deliver in this area, even in the hands of a skilled director, is evidence that the problem is with the concept, not the execution. It is impossible to make a decent film out of an outdated rendition of a character that has changed little since the 1940s. The director, and the actors (who do the best they can in shallow, limited roles) are not to blame, but rather, it is the viewers who continue to gobble up sub par movies that remind them of their long-lost childhoods, or are mesmerized by shiny special effects and loud explosions. Superman Returns can't hope to compete (in terms of quality) with characters like the X-Men, Spiderman and hell, even the Hulk, who possess enough depth to be judged as movies rather than homages to 50 year old magazines. There is no doubt in my mind that Superman Returns will make billions and even receive good reviews from nostalgic fans and critics, but any discerning viewer will see it for what it really is: a shallow and self-indulgent parade of stars, CGI, and over the top set pieces meant to satisfy adolescents and nostalgic comic geeks (I fit into that last category, but at least I know a bad movie when I see one). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
C.D.Jun 27, 2006
This film flies away from logic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DaveJun 29, 2006
Great big steaming pile of superhero cliches. Singer should have stuck to ruining X-men movies. I went to the Tuesday night sneek peak and by Thursday I still have a bad taste in my mouth. Half the audience was under 20 and even these kids- Great big steaming pile of superhero cliches. Singer should have stuck to ruining X-men movies. I went to the Tuesday night sneek peak and by Thursday I still have a bad taste in my mouth. Half the audience was under 20 and even these kids- raised on low brow/low expectation Hollywood fare- were falling asleep. Boo! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
DInaD.Jul 14, 2006
How much more fake could you get? I was laughing at the corny plot the way through. Definitely what i was expecting. Also, Christorpher Reeve can be the only superman.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TedM.Jul 17, 2006
The only thing that propped it up this high were the IMAX and the 3D scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SarahH.Jul 22, 2006
Remember when the Incredibles get their new costumes, and are lectured about the dangers of capes? Try watching the opening action sequence of Superman with that in you head. I laughed till I cried.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KaySt.T.Jul 22, 2006
What a super boring movie. Weak script. Seems like only fanitics are giving it 10 to try and prop up the ratings. It's better to skip this movie so WB know that they have to do much better than this. They were too embarassed to show What a super boring movie. Weak script. Seems like only fanitics are giving it 10 to try and prop up the ratings. It's better to skip this movie so WB know that they have to do much better than this. They were too embarassed to show this at the Cannes Film festival. I can see why. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
DhardingJul 23, 2006
Routh was ok as Superman, but he didn't get the Clark Kent character quite right. Kent's clumsy, but not a complete dork. Bosworth just did not capture the Lois Lane character. Not enough pizazz. Special effects great, Lex great, Routh was ok as Superman, but he didn't get the Clark Kent character quite right. Kent's clumsy, but not a complete dork. Bosworth just did not capture the Lois Lane character. Not enough pizazz. Special effects great, Lex great, Perry white was great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JosephW.Aug 13, 2006
Worst Superhero movie. It was long and boring, and this movie plagiarized off the original one too much for me to enjoy. It's like the edited the original script and threw a son in the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
christianbSep 15, 2008
Worst Superman version ever made in history. Didn't gave it a zero because of Kevin Spacy, but besides his performance, the movie was a disgrace to Hollywood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HuckB.Dec 12, 2006
I found Superman creepy. Looking through walls to watch families eat. The chemistry was crap. The back story of the son was absurd. Do the math. Lois, shame on you! Too long.
0 of 0 users found this helpful