Anchor Bay Entertainment | Release Date: September 5, 2008
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 30 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
15
Mixed:
3
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
RamenN.Sep 22, 2008
Really?! This was just an excuse to see nauseatingly good looking people prance around half naked wallowing in their own sense of self-satisfaction of awareness of being eyecandy, granted the chicks were pretty cute, but that's what Really?! This was just an excuse to see nauseatingly good looking people prance around half naked wallowing in their own sense of self-satisfaction of awareness of being eyecandy, granted the chicks were pretty cute, but that's what Maxim is for. Matt McConaughey has merit to be good actor, but now he's become one of those douchebags who knwingly relies on his looks in films. Don't believe me, look at tall the pieces of grabage on his resume that are all of the romantic comedies he's ever done. Time to Kill was good, he did well though Sam Jackson and Kevin Spacey stole the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AgathamaeFeb 13, 2009
I couldn't decide if it was made by stoners or made for stoners, but a stoner is the only one who can get anything out of this poor thing. Don't waste your time or your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LarryS.Jul 29, 2009
Dude, for someone who lived this in the 70's it brought back the past. It had that feel, as stupid as it seems now. No responsibility, just weed waves and youth. It was great while it lasted. F all of you who didn't like the film. Dude, for someone who lived this in the 70's it brought back the past. It had that feel, as stupid as it seems now. No responsibility, just weed waves and youth. It was great while it lasted. F all of you who didn't like the film. Go back to the video games.-- From Pleasures Point Santa Cruz. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JoJAug 21, 2009
Having wasted 84 minutes of my life watching this movie (laptop crashed at 84 minutes and didn't bother going back for the remaining 5), the main question circulating in my mind is what, exactly, is this movie trying to achieve? This Having wasted 84 minutes of my life watching this movie (laptop crashed at 84 minutes and didn't bother going back for the remaining 5), the main question circulating in my mind is what, exactly, is this movie trying to achieve? This movie is based on a period of 42 days sans waves - oh, good. That takes out the surfing audience. What surfing shots there are just happen to omit MaCoughnahey's face in the most blatant of ways - ok, fine he doesn't do his own stunts, but it's called subtlety. Secondly, the portrayal of marijuana - at best, it is a poor caricature of 'stoners' - at worst, it serves to reinforce offensive stereotypes pertaining to the apparent correlation between surfing and smoking drugs. Aside from these quibbles, character development was abysmal, the plot was confused and lacked direction and the cinematography was dire. This film was completely rubbish, and the only viewers who I can imagine taking any satisfaction from watching this contrived drivel are teenage girls ogling Macoughnahey's body. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LeonK.Jan 16, 2010
What the hell is this movie? That guy is a moron, this movie is one of the worst I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BudD.Sep 17, 2008
I have to say, i was STONED when i saw this flick, and i had a blast! Hollywood's puttin' out a TON of garbage but you can be entertained for 88 minutes with Surfer, Dude. Just remember, puff puff pass before you get inside, then I have to say, i was STONED when i saw this flick, and i had a blast! Hollywood's puttin' out a TON of garbage but you can be entertained for 88 minutes with Surfer, Dude. Just remember, puff puff pass before you get inside, then enjoy the ride!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
greenweenMay 10, 2009
Much rather see McConaughey in this then anything else he has done other than dazed and confused of course.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatHAug 6, 2009
If you surf, you get it. If not, you expected something else. The name of the movie is
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NicoCSep 26, 2009
Hollywod makes crap all the time, and we are tired of the Johnny Deeps and the Pitts and Angiulinas ,first it is good to see a new cast, bew faces. The movie has flaws , ok , it seems to be made on a tight budget , some overseas locations Hollywod makes crap all the time, and we are tired of the Johnny Deeps and the Pitts and Angiulinas ,first it is good to see a new cast, bew faces. The movie has flaws , ok , it seems to be made on a tight budget , some overseas locations would ve increase the rate. But it`s too hard to digest for these days` middle class serial guy o woman paying a mortgage , but if you ever had the chance to be inside a group of surfers and interact with them , well , you can no ask for more than waves, reggae,flirting , muscles and pot . The movie about surfers that you expect, `9 to 5 dude` doesn`t exist and it wont exist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
EdmundWSep 26, 2008
This movie is worse than John McCain's presidential campaign. And has worse acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
buzzTMar 31, 2009
Great vibes. And a great lifestyle for sure.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmitPDec 19, 2008
What the fuck was this???????? from Amistad and to for the money Matthew is hitting rock button, need money or something McConaughey? damn man start maken porn like woody or something way better then this shit, fuck!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JayHDec 19, 2008
An 85 minute excuse for narcissistic McConaughey to not wear a shirt. Dreadful film that looks as if it were all thrown together in a rush at the last minute. Degrading to women.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
Ninja7EverinAug 3, 2014
This is like a late night best friends camping in a living room kind of movie, with a lot of good laughs and good vibes. Although this movie is only an hour and a half long, its no wonder. There isn't much to tell. The constant use of alcoholThis is like a late night best friends camping in a living room kind of movie, with a lot of good laughs and good vibes. Although this movie is only an hour and a half long, its no wonder. There isn't much to tell. The constant use of alcohol and marijuana fits the main characters profile. Seeing Willie Nelson as a goat herder was hilarious. The girls were pretty hot. Like I said: Not much to tell. Decent movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
priffeOct 22, 2016
"Dude you just harshed my morning mellow".
Priceless stuff from ultra cool Woody and Matthew.
Finally a vehicle that explains how USA could become a world power.
Chill out folks
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews