User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2014
    7
    This is like a late night best friends camping in a living room kind of movie, with a lot of good laughs and good vibes. Although this movie is only an hour and a half long, its no wonder. There isn't much to tell. The constant use of alcohol and marijuana fits the main characters profile. Seeing Willie Nelson as a goat herder was hilarious. The girls were pretty hot. Like I said: Not muchThis is like a late night best friends camping in a living room kind of movie, with a lot of good laughs and good vibes. Although this movie is only an hour and a half long, its no wonder. There isn't much to tell. The constant use of alcohol and marijuana fits the main characters profile. Seeing Willie Nelson as a goat herder was hilarious. The girls were pretty hot. Like I said: Not much to tell. Decent movie. Expand
  2. LeonK.
    Jan 16, 2010
    1
    What the hell is this movie? That guy is a moron, this movie is one of the worst I have ever seen.
  3. NicoC
    Sep 26, 2009
    6
    Hollywod makes crap all the time, and we are tired of the Johnny Deeps and the Pitts and Angiulinas ,first it is good to see a new cast, bew faces. The movie has flaws , ok , it seems to be made on a tight budget , some overseas locations would ve increase the rate. But it`s too hard to digest for these days` middle class serial guy o woman paying a mortgage , but if you ever had the Hollywod makes crap all the time, and we are tired of the Johnny Deeps and the Pitts and Angiulinas ,first it is good to see a new cast, bew faces. The movie has flaws , ok , it seems to be made on a tight budget , some overseas locations would ve increase the rate. But it`s too hard to digest for these days` middle class serial guy o woman paying a mortgage , but if you ever had the chance to be inside a group of surfers and interact with them , well , you can no ask for more than waves, reggae,flirting , muscles and pot . The movie about surfers that you expect, `9 to 5 dude` doesn`t exist and it wont exist. Collapse
  4. JoJ
    Aug 21, 2009
    0
    Having wasted 84 minutes of my life watching this movie (laptop crashed at 84 minutes and didn't bother going back for the remaining 5), the main question circulating in my mind is what, exactly, is this movie trying to achieve? This movie is based on a period of 42 days sans waves - oh, good. That takes out the surfing audience. What surfing shots there are just happen to omit Having wasted 84 minutes of my life watching this movie (laptop crashed at 84 minutes and didn't bother going back for the remaining 5), the main question circulating in my mind is what, exactly, is this movie trying to achieve? This movie is based on a period of 42 days sans waves - oh, good. That takes out the surfing audience. What surfing shots there are just happen to omit MaCoughnahey's face in the most blatant of ways - ok, fine he doesn't do his own stunts, but it's called subtlety. Secondly, the portrayal of marijuana - at best, it is a poor caricature of 'stoners' - at worst, it serves to reinforce offensive stereotypes pertaining to the apparent correlation between surfing and smoking drugs. Aside from these quibbles, character development was abysmal, the plot was confused and lacked direction and the cinematography was dire. This film was completely rubbish, and the only viewers who I can imagine taking any satisfaction from watching this contrived drivel are teenage girls ogling Macoughnahey's body. Expand
  5. PatH
    Aug 6, 2009
    9
    If you surf, you get it. If not, you expected something else. The name of the movie is
  6. LarryS.
    Jul 29, 2009
    8
    Dude, for someone who lived this in the 70's it brought back the past. It had that feel, as stupid as it seems now. No responsibility, just weed waves and youth. It was great while it lasted. F all of you who didn't like the film. Go back to the video games.-- From Pleasures Point Santa Cruz.
  7. greenween
    May 10, 2009
    10
    Much rather see McConaughey in this then anything else he has done other than dazed and confused of course.
  8. buzzT
    Mar 31, 2009
    10
    Great vibes. And a great lifestyle for sure.
  9. Agathamae
    Feb 13, 2009
    0
    I couldn't decide if it was made by stoners or made for stoners, but a stoner is the only one who can get anything out of this poor thing. Don't waste your time or your money.
  10. JayH
    Dec 19, 2008
    2
    An 85 minute excuse for narcissistic McConaughey to not wear a shirt. Dreadful film that looks as if it were all thrown together in a rush at the last minute. Degrading to women.
  11. AmitP
    Dec 19, 2008
    0
    What the fuck was this???????? from Amistad and to for the money Matthew is hitting rock button, need money or something McConaughey? damn man start maken porn like woody or something way better then this shit, fuck!!
  12. EdmundW
    Sep 26, 2008
    0
    This movie is worse than John McCain's presidential campaign. And has worse acting.
  13. RamenN.
    Sep 22, 2008
    0
    Really?! This was just an excuse to see nauseatingly good looking people prance around half naked wallowing in their own sense of self-satisfaction of awareness of being eyecandy, granted the chicks were pretty cute, but that's what Maxim is for. Matt McConaughey has merit to be good actor, but now he's become one of those douchebags who knwingly relies on his looks in films. Really?! This was just an excuse to see nauseatingly good looking people prance around half naked wallowing in their own sense of self-satisfaction of awareness of being eyecandy, granted the chicks were pretty cute, but that's what Maxim is for. Matt McConaughey has merit to be good actor, but now he's become one of those douchebags who knwingly relies on his looks in films. Don't believe me, look at tall the pieces of grabage on his resume that are all of the romantic comedies he's ever done. Time to Kill was good, he did well though Sam Jackson and Kevin Spacey stole the show. Expand
  14. BudD.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    I have to say, i was STONED when i saw this flick, and i had a blast! Hollywood's puttin' out a TON of garbage but you can be entertained for 88 minutes with Surfer, Dude. Just remember, puff puff pass before you get inside, then enjoy the ride!!!
Metascore
16

Overwhelming dislike - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 5 out of 6
  1. From "Hands on a Hard Body" to an 89-minute ogling of another hard body: It boggles the mind that 11 years after his engrossing documentary about an endurance competition to win a truck in Longview, Texas, filmmaker Bindler has channeled his talents into this regrettable comedy.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Farber
    40
    Someone else's vacation photos are never much fun to watch, and this beach party is a drag for onlookers.
  3. Reviewed by: Staff (Not credited)
    10
    Lacking even the train-wreck appeal of a brainless stoner comedy like "Half-Baked," Surfer, Dude is a numbing experience at just 89 minutes.