Surf's Up

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 131

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 6, 2012
    9
    So much fun! Awesome story and animation. Loved everything in this movie but the best is the chicken. Seriously I laught so much about it - tears were coming! It is not the best animated movie ever but really close to that! Enjoy
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Wonderfully add-libbed, hilariously entertaining, Surf's Up displays talented actors and animators.
  3. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Meu filme favorito em todos os sentidos ele perfeito e menos que um 10 a ele seria uma ofensa, aqui no Brasil a dublagem do João Frango ficou entre as melhores dublagens de todos os tempos, junto com a do Sid da Era do Gelo, filme realmente épico, engraçado, com muitas lições de vidas e também a melhor trilha sonora de filmes de animação de todos os tempos, BOM DEMAIS
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    This is easily the most underrated animated movie ever created. The entire film is just non-stop laugh out loud funny from start to finsh with clever jokes and great voice acting. Visually, this movie sings. Everything looks so good, especially the waves. The documentary style made the movie stand out in a very clever and unique way, and that helped it stand out from all of the otherThis is easily the most underrated animated movie ever created. The entire film is just non-stop laugh out loud funny from start to finsh with clever jokes and great voice acting. Visually, this movie sings. Everything looks so good, especially the waves. The documentary style made the movie stand out in a very clever and unique way, and that helped it stand out from all of the other penguin films around that time. Despite all of this the movie still manages to bring a great amount of heart that can rival a Pixar film! The best part about this movie is that, unlike most Dreamworks' films, this movie is funny when it needs to be, and serious when it needs to be. Overall this is an amazing animated movie and one of my favorite animated movies if not my favorite! It's such a shame that this movie didn't get the recognition it deserves. It's got more laughs than a Dreamworks film, and just as much heart as a Pixar film. Expand
  5. Streetsy
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    Seriously under rated. I enjoyed this film immensely and have watched it 5 times already. The animation, (for all those animation nerds out there like me) is top notch. The CG is fantastic. And the story is great.
  6. Jan 29, 2012
    8
    We have seen the films heart many times in that place in tons of films, but its dazzling animation, hilarious voice performances and it just being hilarious make it a nice and sweet family treat. I give this film 75%.
  7. NicoleGiroux
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    Fantastic fun family film. Clean. VERY incredibly realistic waves! WOW. Felt like I'm there in the ocean haning with the surfers. (especially realistic was when the surfers wipe out and are pounded by the surf - I actually winced!!)
  8. ShaktiP.
    Jun 10, 2007
    8
    This was delightful entertainment - great voice casting, and just plain fun. I was surprised at how good it was -- not boring at all. Too bad for those who are just "critics" -- they miss just having a good time at the movies .
  9. AnthonyJ.
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    Best kid's movie I've ever seen, and as the father of a 7 year-old, I've seen my share. I'm biased, because I'm a huge fan of The Endless Summer, but this one does more than mimic the surf documentary genre. It's also nice to see an animated movie that puts story before pixels--the animation has its moments, but it's not the star of the show. This one Best kid's movie I've ever seen, and as the father of a 7 year-old, I've seen my share. I'm biased, because I'm a huge fan of The Endless Summer, but this one does more than mimic the surf documentary genre. It's also nice to see an animated movie that puts story before pixels--the animation has its moments, but it's not the star of the show. This one has enough meat for the adults, while also sending the kiddos a good message. Expand
  10. DallasG.
    Jun 12, 2007
    9
    It was fun-filled entertainment. The humor was great and the graphics amazing.
  11. PaulK.
    Jun 15, 2007
    9
    Extremely well done. Worth seeing in the theater or a must on video.
  12. MatthewS.
    Jun 7, 2007
    3
    Surf's Up doesnt even attempt to use a single original idea, character, or storyline. Which makes it one of the most pridictible movies I have ever scene. The credit it does diserve is that it targets an extremely young audience with pleanty of poop jokes, and the fact that the water looks amazing. Beyond that there is not much to get from Surf's Up, if you are anyone above the Surf's Up doesnt even attempt to use a single original idea, character, or storyline. Which makes it one of the most pridictible movies I have ever scene. The credit it does diserve is that it targets an extremely young audience with pleanty of poop jokes, and the fact that the water looks amazing. Beyond that there is not much to get from Surf's Up, if you are anyone above the age of 4. Expand
  13. SamJ.
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Surfs up is a great movie with funny penguins. Hearing some of the jokes will make you laugh so hard.
  14. JaredC
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    A fun gripping animation film with epic and exciting sports action.
  15. AlexL.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    The movie is cool and funny. Besides surfing, a penguin toots and one penguin calls another penguin a dirty trash can full of poop. This was why the movie is cool and funny.
  16. ChadS.
    Dec 26, 2007
    6
    "Surf's Up" presents itself as a faux-doc and actually manages to be more objective than a real nature documentary film like "Winged Migration". The fake crew doesn't come to Cody's aid when he's drowning, or stop a tribe of wild penguins from converting Chicken Joe(Joe Heder) into a soup base. Worst of all, they allow Cody(Shia LeBeouf) to leave home on a whale "Surf's Up" presents itself as a faux-doc and actually manages to be more objective than a real nature documentary film like "Winged Migration". The fake crew doesn't come to Cody's aid when he's drowning, or stop a tribe of wild penguins from converting Chicken Joe(Joe Heder) into a soup base. Worst of all, they allow Cody(Shia LeBeouf) to leave home on a whale without notifying his parents. The notion of a documentary film, however, falls apart completely when Cody and Lani(Zooey Deschanel) shoot down a lava tube. There is no way a camera crew could've captured their torrid ride. "Surf's Up" is at its best when Big Z(Jeff Bridges) mentors Cody even though the vocal work by both Bridges and Shia LeBeouf are a little off the mark. The MTV-style surf contest seems too routine, in comparison to the film's ambitious beginning of establishing Cody's roots in Antarctica, complete with interviews and voiceovers. Expand
  17. JeffD.
    Jun 14, 2007
    9
    Animation is amazing. good story.A great mix of characters. Good humor. Entertainment for both children and adults. Fun for the whole family! ---Dude! catch a wave on into this movie!
  18. AK
    Feb 12, 2008
    6
    It wasn't bad and the mockumentary style was fresh, but it's nowhere near as good as Ratatoille.
  19. Jan 7, 2016
    5
    Surf’s Up has too many people trying to ride the same board. One person what’s the board to do flips and tricks, one wants to jazz it up, and the other one just wants to coast. The result is a board that manages to stay afloat but not without wobbling and rarely slowing down. Sony Pictures Animation were too busy trying to make a hip film when they should’ve let it coast and let the heartSurf’s Up has too many people trying to ride the same board. One person what’s the board to do flips and tricks, one wants to jazz it up, and the other one just wants to coast. The result is a board that manages to stay afloat but not without wobbling and rarely slowing down. Sony Pictures Animation were too busy trying to make a hip film when they should’ve let it coast and let the heart flow as the moments with Big Z wipe out the cartoonish elements. Instead, the abundance of writers/tones has led to a film that is a mixed bag. Expand
  20. Jul 25, 2015
    7
    Perhaps another movie but penguins surfing penguins enclima hot , do not believe them !. But hey good movie , good plot , good characters , good story great.
  21. Jan 27, 2016
    7
    Surf's Up's decent. A complete wave could've hurt this movie, but nope... it didn't. As decent, I meant decently good. An enjoyable movie to pass away the time.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Don't worry, parents, only you--and not your 5-year-old--will get that the chicken's stoned out of his gourd.
  2. A cheerful and frequently amusing bit of nonsense, which certainly will provoke children into giggles. The film does not measure up to "March of the Penguins" or "Happy Feet," both Oscar-winning efforts. Nor is it trying to.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    70
    Every bit as entertaining as the early Christopher Guest efforts.